About the infantry of Ancient Russia and its weapons

About the infantry of Ancient Russia and its weapons

The main military force of the Middle Ages is infantry. These are the most massive armed formations in those centuries when Russia passed through its formation. One of the issues discussed in this context is related to how infantry units were formed, where they came from weapon and what kind of weapon it was.


If we talk about the armament of the medieval foot soldiers, then it is definitely impossible to say that the weapons were "issued by conscripts." For the reason that for the Middle Ages there were no "state arsenals" of weapons from which the same infantrymen could receive blades, axes, etc. for themselves. Good weapons were in price, and if we are talking about an infantryman, most often representing a militia from among the farmers, then this price for him could simply be unbearable.

There were several options for obtaining weapons. One of the most common is to get on the battlefield from the enemy. But in order to get weapons, you must still initially have at least some kind of own weapon. Rescued what was cheaper - without much frills, with possible minimal usability. Nevertheless, even such weapons allowed the infantryman, not from among the representatives of wealthy families, to achieve certain success on the battlefield.

The story of Klim Zhukov about the medieval infantry - the infantry of Ancient Russia:

Photos used:
Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

12 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. svp67 18 May 2020 10: 13 New
    • 9
    • 0
    +9
    “Small infantry ...” and the “Queen of the Fields” has always been treated with a certain prejudice and looking from high ... from the heights of a horse, ship, artillery tractor, tank or plane. But everyone, everyone on the battlefield "works" for the success of a simple infantryman, since it was his actions that determined whether we could win or not
  2. Cyril G ... 18 May 2020 10: 20 New
    • 5
    • 1
    +4
    Who needs that video Zhukov watched a very long time. Of course, there are a number of nuances that personally raised questions for me, but nonetheless. The main question is why this article, for the sake of filling content? At least they tried to analyze the available material.
  3. Free wind 18 May 2020 10: 35 New
    • 3
    • 0
    +3
    Zhukov has interesting programs. I looked only at the beginning of the round shield. And here are the problems. Thickness is from 6 to 9 mm, to make such a shield from one solid wood is problematic, even now. You need to find a straight-layer spruce, on the trunk you make a backlog, and you watch how the layers go., Dumped, take a block of wood longer than the diameter of the shield, and thrust wedges along along the middle, then next to get the chopping block, then process it. But I don’t believe in the strength of such a board. Now the boards are thinner than 15 mm and the sawmills do not undertake to saw, and you know where the material goes to coffins for social burials. I will continue the time then.
    1. Albert1988 18 May 2020 16: 36 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      Quote: Free Wind
      Thickness is from 6 to 9 mm, to make such a shield from one solid wood is problematic, even now.

      At that time, oaks were more common in our latitude, from which it is easier to obtain a similar mass of wood, and the strength of the wood is very good.
  4. Archon 18 May 2020 10: 43 New
    • 11
    • 1
    +10
    I do not like to watch videos - to read much faster, the text loads faster and easier and does not spend much Internet package. Therefore, this article was empty, I did not find out anything.
    1. Catfish 18 May 2020 11: 05 New
      • 5
      • 1
      +4
      I agree with you, it’s necessary to write articles about such things, and not launch videos.
  5. Charlie 18 May 2020 11: 11 New
    • 2
    • 2
    0
    And where is the dislike put here. See me video watch on the phone
  6. knn54 18 May 2020 11: 15 New
    • 2
    • 0
    +2
    In the Polish film “Crusaders” they showed very colorful zemait militias from Lithuanian Zhmudi.
  7. Mavrikiy 18 May 2020 12: 19 New
    • 3
    • 5
    -2
    Zhukov is a “clown” with whom you will lead. Goblin grabbed, so he sits on the cinderella, razrazkalovo. Infantry = infantry + stomp, stomp. Horseless, low social status, what to respect. Militias, they don’t know the battle, but here they’re going to work, respected specialist masters.
    2:40 says that all the neighbors of the Slavs everywhere had only infantry. I do not believe. Poland?
    1. Bersaglieri 18 May 2020 12: 54 New
      • 2
      • 0
      +2
      Well, actually, Klim- candidate of historical sciences, the thesis was just about the topic. What does the Goblin have to do with it?
  8. Bersaglieri 18 May 2020 12: 53 New
    • 3
    • 2
    +1
    Klim - well done!
  9. Maks1995 18 May 2020 18: 50 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Right! Roller year ago.

Военное обозрение

О пехоте Древней Руси и её вооружении

13
О пехоте Древней Руси и её вооружении

Основная военная сила Средневековья – пехота. Это наиболее массовые вооружённые формирования в те века, когда Русь проходила через своё становление. Один из обсуждаемых в этом контексте вопросов связан с тем, как пехотные подразделения формировались, откуда брали оружие и каким вообще это оружие было.


Если говорить о вооружении средневековых пехотинцев, то точно нельзя сказать, что оружие «призывниками выдавалось». По той причине, что для времён Средневековья не существовало «государственных арсеналов» оружия, из которых те же пехотинцы могли бы получать клинки, топоры и пр. для себя. Хорошее оружие было в цене, а если речь идёт о пехотинце, чаще всего представляющем собой ополченца из числа земледельцев, то цена эта для него могла быть просто неподъёмной.

Вариантов получения оружия было несколько. Один из распространённых – добыть на поле боя у врага. Но для того, чтобы оружие добыть, необходимо всё же изначально располагать хотя бы каким-то собственным оружием. Выручало то, что было дешевле – без особых изысков, с возможным минимальным удобством при использовании. Но тем не менее и такое оружие позволяло пехотинцу не из числа представителей зажиточных семей добиваться на поле брани определённого успеха.

Рассказ Клима Жукова о средневековой пехоте – пехоте Древней Руси:

Использованы фотографии:
Минобороны РФ
13 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. svp67
    svp67 18 мая 2020 10:13 Новый
    +9
    "Пехота-мелкота..." да уж к "царице полей" всегда относились с неким предубеждением и поглядывая с высока... с высоты коня, корабля, артиллерийского тягача, танка или самолета. А ведь все, все на поле боя "работают" ради успеха простого пехотинца, так как именно его действия определяют смогли мы одержать победу или нет
  2. Кирилл Г...
    Кирилл Г... 18 мая 2020 10:20 Новый
    +4
    Кому надо тот ролик Жукова посмотрел очень давно. Есть конечно ряд ньюансов, которые лично для меня поставили вопросы, но тем не менее. Главный вопрос зачем эта статья, ради наполнения контента? Хотя бы попытались про анализировать имеемый материал.
  3. Вольный ветер
    Вольный ветер 18 мая 2020 10:35 Новый
    +3
    У Жукова интересные передачи бывают. Посмотрел только начало про круглый щит. И тут проблемы. Толщина от 6 до 9 мм, сделать такой щит из одного массива дерева проблемно, даже сейчас. Нужно найти прямослойную ель, на стволе делаешь затес, и смотришь как идут слои., свалил, берешь чурбак большей длинны чем диаметр щита, и клиньями колешь по вдоль , по середине, потом рядом , что бы получить плаху, потом обрабатываешь. Но мне сто то не верится в прочности такой доски. Сейчас доски тоньше 15 мм и пилорамы то не берутся пилить, и то знаете куда идет материал, на гробы для социальных захоронений. Будет время потом продолжу.
    1. Albert1988
      Albert1988 18 мая 2020 16:36 Новый
      0
      Цитата: Вольный ветер
      Толщина от 6 до 9 мм, сделать такой щит из одного массива дерева проблемно, даже сейчас.

      В тот период в нашей широте были более распространены дубы, из которых подобный массив древесины получить легче, да и прочность древесины очень неплохая.
  4. Архонт
    Архонт 18 мая 2020 10:43 Новый
    +10
    Не люблю смотреть ролики - читать намного быстрее, текст грузится быстрее и легче и не тратит сильно пакет интернета. Поэтому, эта статья была пустой, я ничего не узнал.
    1. Морской Кот
      Морской Кот 18 мая 2020 11:05 Новый
      +4
      Согласен с Вами, о таких вещах необходимо писать статьи, а не запускать ролики.
  5. Charlie
    Charlie 18 мая 2020 11:11 Новый
    0
    А где тут дизлайк поставить. Нафиг мне видео смотреть по телефону
  6. knn54
    knn54 18 мая 2020 11:15 Новый
    +2
    В польском фильме "Крестоносцы" очень красочно показали жемайтов-ополченцев из литовской Жмуди.
  7. Mavrikiy
    Mavrikiy 18 мая 2020 12:19 Новый
    -2
    Жуков - "кловун", с кем поведешься. Нахватался у Гоблина, так тот на кинушках сидит, разлекалово. Пехота = пехом+топтать, топать. Безлошадники, низкое социальное положение, что уважать. Ополченцы, боя не знают, а тут на дело идти, уважают спецов-мастеров.
    2:40 говорит что у всех соседей славян везде была только пехота. Не верю. Польша?
    1. Bersaglieri
      Bersaglieri 18 мая 2020 12:54 Новый
      +2
      Ну, вообще-то, Клим- к.и.н, диссер- как раз по теме оной был. При чем тут Гоблин?
  8. Bersaglieri
    Bersaglieri 18 мая 2020 12:53 Новый
    +1
    Клим- молодец!
  9. Макс1995
    Макс1995 18 мая 2020 18:50 Новый
    0
    Верно! Ролик годовой давности.
  10. Сергей Сфыеду
    Сергей Сфыеду 29 июня 2020 21:13 Новый
    0
    Хм. "Основная военная сила Средневековья – пехота" В первый раз такое слышу. М.б. где то там в Китае. Что в Европах, что на Востоке основной военной силой в Средние века была конница. Пехота - на подхвате. ЕЕ звездный час настал уже фактически в Новое время, с появлением на поле боя швейцарских наемников и испанских терций. На исторических форумах вообще распространено мнение, что пехоты как таковой на Руси в средние века не было. Ополчение не в счет оно использовалось при осаде и оброне городов, а в полевых сражениях - якобы не участвовало (так это или нет - не знаю, я не специалист в этой области).