Military Review

Little-known wars of the Russian state: the fight against the Crimean Khanate in the second half of the XVI century.

5
Little-known wars of the Russian state: the fight against the Crimean Khanate in the second half of the XVI century. The successful actions of Moscow against the Kazan and Astrakhan khanates, the strengthening of the Russian positions in the Nogai Horde could not alarm the rulers of the Crimea and the Ottoman Empire. There was a threat to the domination of the Crimean Tatars and Turks in the southern Russian steppes. In the summer of 1550, the Russian commanders twice led the troops to prevent the attack of the Crimean troops on the Seversk, Ryazan and Meshchersk lands. So, in August, Russian troops came out to meet 30 thousand. Tatar army, the enemy did not accept the battle and retreated. In the fall, the Crimean troops attacked the Russian frontier lands, trying to ease Moscow’s pressure on Kazan. The attack of the Tatars was repulsed. Another attack was repelled in December 1550. Russian commanders managed to control the situation in southern Ukraine. The Russian government, despite the heavy war with Kazan, was forced to strengthen the southern borders. In April, the new city of Mikhailov was built on the Prone River, 1551. The city became an important link in the defense of the southern borders.

The situation deteriorated sharply when Devlet-Girey came to power in Bakhchisarai, with the help of Turkish troops who occupied the Khanate in 1551 year. In the summer of 1552, he began his first campaign against the Russian state. Moscow received several warnings about the attack and managed to prepare well. The Crimean army originally went to the Ryazan land as a racket to break through to Kolomna. However, soon the Crimean Khan received the news that Tsar Ivan IV was standing near Kolomna with most of his army, waiting for the Crimean troops. Tatars changed their plans and turned to Tula. But this step of the enemy did not change the situation, the Russian army was assembled to march on Kazan, and it could be sent to any Russian city that was attacked.

21 June in Kolomna received a message about the entry of the Crimean horde in the Russian limits. On this day, advanced Tatar detachments approached Tula. To support the forces of the Tula garrison (commanded by voivode Grigory Temkin-Rostovsky), regiments were moved from Kashira, Rostislavl and Kolychev (15 thousand soldiers). At this time, news came to Kolomna that another detachment approached Tula, followed by the Crimean Khan himself with the main forces, the Janissaries and the artillery. Having received this news, Ivan Vasilyevich sent an army under the command of Prince Ivan Mstislavsky for Oka, and at the head of the Tsar's Regiment and the Novgorod ratification he went to Kashira.

At this time, the enemy began to assault Tula, trying to capture it before the arrival of the Russian troops. On July 22, the Tatars fired at the city with cannons, and then went on an attack, and the Janissaries of the Turkish Sultan also participated in it. The assault was repulsed with great difficulty. In the morning the battle was to resume. However, the defenders of Tula, having received news of the arrival of reinforcements, were encouraged and made a sortie in the morning. The attack of the Russian soldiers was unexpected for the enemy, and the Tatars suffered heavy losses. In addition, the defenders of Tula captured all Turkish artillery. This defeat forced Devlet Giray to lift the siege and retreat. The courage of Tula’s defenders largely predetermined the fate of Kazan, which was seized by October 2 1552. The Crimean Khanate could not bind the Russian forces in the south to support Kazan.

However, frequent insurrections and uprisings, in particular the Cheremis war of 1552 — 1557, forced the Russian government to keep a significant military grouping in Kazan. This weakened the combat capabilities of the Russian army. In the struggle against the Crimean Khanate, Moscow had to limit itself to the strategic defense of the southern borders of the state. In 1553, the town of Shatsk was set up in the underground places on the Sacha River. He was supposed to cover the passage to Meshcherskaya and Ryazan lands through the so-called. Shatsky gates. In 1554, on the river Shivorone, on the site of the ancient Dedoslavl, the city of Dedilov was founded. He was supposed to defend the Tula lands from the Tatar detachments marching along the Muravskaya road. In 1555, the city of Bolkhov was erected on the Nugr River, which covered Meshchersk, Kozel and Mtsensk places. In 1557, the city of Whatman City was built on the River Hupta, near Ryaskoye Pole, later renamed Ryazhsk. This fortress was supposed to cover the Ryazan land more reliably. Gradually, the border of the Russian state moved further south, freeing up vast areas of fertile land for economic activity. Therefore, we had to change the strategy of the defense of the Russian land. The frontier along the Oka River and the Prioksky fortresses began to play the role of a rear line that defended the central regions of the state. Russian commanders began to act more decisively, trying to intercept the enemy troops in the "Field". An important role in the confrontation with the Crimean horde began to play the Cossacks. They warned the royal governors of the movement of the enemy detachments and they met the enemy on the approach to the Russian borders.

Sudbishchenskaya battle

In 1555, an attempt was made to attack the enemy on its territory. It occurred after the breakdown of the peace talks with Devlet-Girey. Ivan the Terrible sent to Mamai-Meadow 13-th. army under the command of the boyar Ivan Sheremetev and the okolnichy Lev Saltykov. Rat marched on a campaign 23 June (2 July) 1555 g. Russian regiments marched south by the Muravsky Way. In the upper reaches of the Mzhi and Kolomak rivers, the Sheremetev and Saltykov troops joined up with the Ignati Bludov detachment. The governors received the news that Devlet Giray is leading the army to the Ryazan and Tula lands. With the Crimean cavalry were Turkish janissaries and artillery.

Having learned the route of the movement of the Crimean troops, the Russian commanders divided their army into two parts. 6-thousand a detachment under the command of Shiryay Kobyakova and Grigory Zhelobov attacked and captured an enemy wagon train (there were up to 60 thousand horses in it). The second detachment, in which 7 was thou. Thousands of warriors led by Sheremetyev went to the main enemy forces, although the enemy had an overwhelming superiority in forces (the Crimean "tsar" led the 60-thousand army). The Russian governors hoped to catch the enemy in a "war" when the Tatar army was divided into penguin troops with the aim of seizing full. But Devlet-Girey, having learned about the concentration of significant Russian forces on the border, did not disband the army into troops to plunder villages and capture people, he retreated to the steppe. As a result, the Russian detachment encountered in open battle with the entire Tatar horde, angered by the failure and loss of the convoy.

24 June (3 July) 1555 of the year near the village of Sudbishchi (modern Novoderevenkovsky district, Oryol region) Russian 7-th. detachment entered into a difficult two-day battle with the Crimean Tatars. After a fierce battle, the detachment of Ivan Sheremetev was defeated, the governor himself was seriously wounded. Part of the Russian forces under the leadership of the governor Alexei Basmanov and Stepan Sidorov (remnants of the Forward and Watchtower regiments, numbering about 2 thousand soldiers) withstood the oak forest, where the military train was stationed, it was strengthened in it. Other surviving warriors made their way to them. The Russians successfully repelled all enemy attacks, which continued until the deep evening. Crimean Khan Devlet-Girey, fearing the approach of the Russian troops from Tula, stopped the battle and led the troops beyond the Sosnu River.

Despite the defeat of the Sheremetev detachment, the Devlet-Girey campaign against Russia was considered unsuccessful in Bakhchisarai and Moscow. The Tatar army was forced to retreat from the Russian border without pollen and loot, the Tatars lost their wagon train ("Kosh").

Further fighting

In 1556, Russian troops inflicted a series of small, but painful "injections" on the Crimean Khanate. At first, the serving Cossacks, under the command of Mikhail Groshev, defeated the Crimean detachment in Dikoy Pole. Then the army was sent to the Dnieper River under the command of Matvey Dyak Rzhevsky. On the way, she was joined by a squad from 300 Zaporozhye Cossacks from Kanev. Moscow and Zaporozhye warriors on light riverboats descended down the Dnieper and devastated the neighborhoods of the Turkish fortresses of Islam-Kerman and Ochakov. On the way back, the Russian warriors repulsed the attack of the Crimean detachment pursuing them and returned safely, passing to their borders along the Lithuanian side of the r. Dnieper.

Simultaneously with the detachment of Rzhevsky, troops were sent under the command of Dinili Chulkov and Ivan Maltsev to the River Don. Russian soldiers descended to Azov and destroyed a small Crimean detachment, captured the "tongues" with important information. In the same year, the Crimean Khanate attacked the Don Cossacks. Their army, under the command of Ataman Mikhail Cherkashenin, crossed the Sea of ​​Azov and destroyed the environs of Kerch.

In 1556, Ataman Mikhail Eskovich arrived at the tsar Ivan the Terrible. On behalf of the Kanev elder, Prince Dmitry Vishnevetsky, who left the Lithuanian service, he asked the sovereign of Moscow to take into his hand the Cossack settlement he set up on the island of Khortytsya. The children of the boyars, Andrei Shchepotev, Nechay Rtischev and Ataman Mikhail Cherkashenin, were urgently sent to the Dnieper. They brought Zaporozhye Cossacks royal salary and certificate, where they were called to serve Moscow. In October, the Moscow ambassadors returned and reported that Vishnevetsky "went to fight the Crimean uluses", taking the service of the sovereign of Russia. The Cossacks of Vishnevetsky managed to seize Islam-Kermen fortress with a sudden blow, destroyed the garrison there and took out the guns to Khortytsya.

Russian governors continued to conduct long-range reconnaissance in Dikoy Pole. The squad of Matthew Rzhevsky and Yuri Bulgakov retired from their borders more than 300 versts. In October, the governors reported that the Crimean "king" disbanded the army. Only small penguards of 50-200 people went to Russia. They did not represent a great danger and Ivan IV was able to withdraw shelves from Kaluga, Vorotynsk, Kozelsk and other cities, leaving small barrage detachments.

The Crimean Khan was concerned about the activity of the Russian forces and the emerging alliance of Moscow and Zaporizhzhya Cossacks, as well as the attack of the Don Cossacks on the east coast of the Crimean peninsula. He sent Ivan Vasilyevich a message about the desire to resume peace negotiations with the Russian state. However, the Devlet-Girey peace proposals did not apply to Zaporizhzhya Cossacks. In the spring of 1557, the Crimean ruler, without stopping negotiations with Moscow, attacked a Cossack town on Khortitsa with a large army. For almost a month (24 of the day), the Crimean Tatars tried to seize the island, but the Cossacks fought off all their attacks. The Tatars were defeated and retreated "with great shame." Dmitry Vishnevetsky, expecting support from Moscow, announced the victory to the Russian government. However, at this time there was an intensive preparation for war with Livonia, and Moscow lost interest in continuing the war with the Crimean Khanate. Bakhchisarai did not want to annoy, so as not to wage war on two fronts. D. Vishnevetsky had to clear the island, transfer Cherkasy and Kanev to the Grand Duchy of Lithuania and go to Moscow. The prince was generously rewarded, he was given the city of Belev "with all the suburbs, estates and townships" in possession.

To be continued ...
Author:
5 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Deniska999
    Deniska999 1 August 2012 09: 08
    +5
    I love such articles about half-forgotten wars. Thank.
  2. Sakhalininsk
    Sakhalininsk 1 August 2012 09: 20
    +4
    To the author of "+" and many thanks for the interesting historical essay.
  3. datur
    datur 1 August 2012 14: 29
    +3
    Yes, our ancestors of unchrist drove not childishly !!!!! laughing
  4. KOMOd Shpakov
    KOMOd Shpakov 2 August 2012 02: 33
    0
    And rightly so however. laughing drove
  5. Simon
    Simon 2 October 2012 14: 32
    0
    The formation of the Russian State was difficult. There were many enemies, but Rusich survived everywhere. soldier

Малоизвестные войны русского государства: борьба с Крымским ханством во второй половине XVI в.

Малоизвестные войны русского государства: борьба с Крымским ханством во второй половине XVI в. Успешные действия Москвы против Казанского и Астраханского ханств, усиление русских позиций в Ногайской орде не могли встревожить правителей Крыма и Османской империи. Возникла угроза господству крымских татар и турок в южнорусских степях. Летом 1550 года русские воеводы дважды выводили войска, чтобы предотвратить нападение крымских отрядов на Северскую, Рязанскую и Мещерскую земли. Так, в августе русские войска вышли навстречу 30 тыс. татарскому войску, неприятель не принял боя и отступил. Осенью крымские войска атаковали на русские пограничные земли, стараясь ослабить давление Москвы на Казань. Нападение татар было отбито. Ещё одно нападение было отражено в декабре 1550 года. Русским воеводам удавалось контролировать ситуацию на южной украйне. Русское правительство, несмотря на тяжёлую войну с Казанью, было вынуждено укреплять южные рубежи. В апреле 1551 г. на реке Проне стали строить новый город Михайлов. Город стал важным звеном в обороне южных границ.

Положение резко ухудшилось, когда в Бахчисарае, при помощи турецких войск занявших ханство в 1551 году, пришел к власти Девлет-Гирей. Летом 1552 года он начал свой первый поход на Русское государство. Москва получила несколько предупреждений о нападении и успела хорошо подготовиться. Крымская армия первоначально шла Изюмским шляхом к Рязанской земле, чтобы прорваться к Коломне. Однако вскоре крымский хан получил известие о том, что государь Иван IV стоит под Коломной с большей частью своей армии, ожидая крымские отряды. Татары изменили свои планы и повернули к Туле. Но этот шаг противника не изменил ситуацию, русская рать была собрана для похода на Казань, и её можно было направить к любому русскому городу, который подвергся нападению.

21 июня в Коломну пришло сообщение о вступление Крымской орды в русские пределы. В этот день к Туле подошли передовые татарские отряды. Для поддержки сил тульского гарнизона (им командовал воевода Григорий Темкин-Ростовский) были двинуты полки из Каширы, Ростиславля и Колычева (15 тыс. воинов). В это время в Коломну пришли известия о том, что к Туле подошел ещё один отряд, а за ним сам крымский хан с основными силами, янычарами и артиллерией. Получив эти вести, Иван Васильевич отправил за Оку войско под началом князя Ивана Мстиславского, а сам во главе Царского полка и новгородской рати перешёл к Кашире.


В это время неприятель начал штурм Тулы, стараясь захватить её до прихода русских войск. 22 июля татары обстреливали город из пушек, а затем пошли на приступ, в нём участвовали и янычары турецкого султана. Штурм отбили с большим трудом. Утром сражение должно было возобновиться. Однако защитники Тулы, получив известие о приближении подкрепления, были воодушевлены и утром сделали вылазку. Нападение русских воинов было неожиданным для противника, и татары понесли большие потери. Кроме того, защитники Тулы захватили всю турецкую артиллерию. Это поражение вынудило Девлет-Гирея снять осаду и отступить. Мужество защитников Тулы во многом предопределило судьбу Казани, которая была захвачена 2 октября 1552 года. Крымское ханство не смогло связать русские силы на юге, чтобы поддержать Казань.

Однако частые мятежи и восстания, в частности черемисская война 1552—1557 гг., вынуждали русское правительство держать в Казанской земле значительную военную группировку. Это ослабляло боевые возможности русской армии. Москве пришлось в борьбе с Крымским ханством ограничиться стратегической обороной южных границ государства. В 1553 году в мещерских местах на реке Шача был поставлен город Шацк. Он должен был прикрыть проход к Мещерской и Рязанской землям через т. н. Шацкие ворота. В 1554 году на реке Шивороне, на месте древнего Дедославля, был заложен город Дедилов. Он был должен оборонять Тульские земли от идущих по Муравской дороге татарских отрядов. В 1555 году на реке Нугрь был возведён город Болхов, который прикрыл мещерские, козельские и мценские места. В 1557 году на речке Хупте у Рясского поля строят город Ватман, позднее его переименовали в Ряжск. Эта крепость должна была более надежно прикрыть Рязанскую землю. Постепенно граница Русского государства отодвигалась дальше на юг, высвобождая для хозяйственной деятельности огромные пространства с плодородными землями. Поэтому пришлось сменить стратегию обороны Русской земли. Рубеж по реке Оке и приокские крепости стали играть роль тылового рубежа, защищавшего центральные области государства. Русские воеводы стали действовать более решительно, стараясь перехватить вражеские отряды ещё в «Поле». Важную роль в противоборстве с Крымской ордой стали играть казаки. Они предупреждали царских воевод о движении вражеских отрядов и те встречали врага на подходе к русским границам.

Судбищенская битва

В 1555 году была предпринята попытка атаковать неприятеля на его территории. Она произошла после срыва мирных переговоров с Девлет-Гиреем. Иван Грозный послал на Мамай-луг 13-тыс. войско под началом боярина Ивана Шереметева и окольничего Льва Салтыкова. Рать выступила в поход 23 июня (2 июля) 1555 г. Русские полки шли на юг Муравским шляхом. В верховьях рек Мжи и Коломака войско Шереметева и Салтыкова соединилось с отрядом Игнатия Блудова. Воеводы получили известие, что Девлет-Гирей ведёт армию к Рязанской и Тульской землям. С крымской конницей были турецкие янычары и артиллерия.

Узнав маршрут движения крымского войска, русские воеводы раздели свою рать на две части. 6-тыс. отряд под началом Ширяя Кобякова и Григория Желобова атаковал и захватил вражеский обоз (в нём было до 60 тыс. лошадей). Второй отряд, в котором было 7 тыс. воинов во главе с Шереметевым пошёл на главные силы противника, хотя у противника было подавляющее превосходство в силах (крымский «царь» вел 60-тыс. армию). Русские воеводы рассчитывали застать противника на «войне», когда татарское войско делилось на загонные отряды с целью захвата полона. Но Девлет-Гирей узнав о сосредоточение значительных русских сил на границе, не стал распускать войско на отряды для разграбления селений и захвата людей, он отступил в степь. В результате русский отряд столкнулся в открытом бою со всей татарской ордой, разозлённой неудачей и потерей обоза.

24 июня (3 июля) 1555 года у села Судбищи (современный Новодеревеньковский район Орловской области) русский 7-тыс. отряд вступил в тяжёлое двухдневное сражение с крымскими татарами. После ожесточённого боя, отряд Ивана Шереметева потерпел поражение, сам воевода был тяжело ранен. Часть русских сил под началом воевод Алексея Басманова и Степана Сидорова (остатки Передового и Сторожевого полков, численностью около 2 тыс. воинов) устояла и отступив дубраву, где стоял войсковой обоз, укрепилась в нём. К ним пробились другие уцелевшие воины. Русские успешно отразили все вражеские атаки, которые продолжались до глубокого вечера. Крымский хан Девлет-Гирей, опасаясь подхода русских войск идущих от Тулы, остановил сражение и увел войска за реку Сосну.

Несмотря на поражение отряда Шереметева, в Бахчисарае и Москве поход Девлет-Гирея на Русь считался неудачным. Татарское войско вынудили отступить от русской границы без полона и добычи, татары потеряли обоз («кош»).

Дальнейшие боевые действия

В 1556 году русские войска нанесли по Крымскому ханству ряд небольших, но болезненных «уколов». Сначала служилые казаки под началом Михаила Грошева разгромили в «Диком поле» крымский отряд. Затем на реку Днепр была направлена рать под началом Матвея Дьяка Ржевского. По пути к ней присоединился отряд из 300 запорожских казаков из Канева. Московские и запорожские воины на легких речных судах спустились вниз по Днепру и опустошили окрестности турецких крепостей Ислам-Кермена и Очакова. На обратном пути русские воины отбили нападение преследовавшего их крымского отряда и благополучно вернулись назад, пройдя к своим границам по литовской стороне р. Днепр.

Одновременно с отрядом Ржевского на реку Дон были посланы войска под началом Динилы Чулкова и Ивана Мальцева. Русские воины спустились к Азову и уничтожили небольшой крымский отряд, захватили «языков» с важными сведениями. В этом же году Крымское ханство атаковали донские казаки. Их войско под командованием атамана Михаила Черкашенина на стругах пересекло Азовское море и разорило окрестности Керчи.

В 1556 году к царю Ивану Грозному прибыл атаман Михаил Ескович. Он от имени каневского старосты князя Дмитрия Вишневецкого, который оставил литовскую службу, попросил московского государя принять под свою руку устроенное им казачье поселение на острове Хортица. На Днепр срочно отправили детей боярских Андрея Щепотева, Нечая Ртищева и атамана Михаила Черкашенина. Они отвезли запорожским казакам царское жалованье и грамоту, где их звали на службу Москве. В октябре московские послы вернулись и сообщили о том, что Вишневецкий «пошёл воевать крымские улусы», приняв службу государя Руси. Казаки Вишневецкого смогли внезапным ударом захватить крепость Ислам-Кермен, уничтожили тамошний гарнизон и вывезли пушки на Хортицу.

Русские воеводы продолжали вести дальнюю разведку в Диком Поле. Отряд Матвея Ржевского и Юрия Булгакова удалился от своих границ на расстояние более 300 верст. В октябре воеводы сообщили, что крымский «царь» распустил войско. На Русь отправились только небольшие загонные отряды по 50-200 человек. Большой опасности они не представляли и Иван IV смог отвести полки из Калуги, Воротынска, Козельска и других городов, оставив небольшие заградительные отряды.

Крымский хан был обеспокоен активностью русских сил и наметившимся союзом Москвы и запорожских казаков, а также нападением донских казаков на восточное побережье Крымского полуострова. Он послал Ивану Васильевичу сообщение о желание возобновить мирные переговоры с Русским государством. Однако мирные предложения Девлет-Гирея не распространялись на запорожских казаков. Весной 1557 года крымский владыка, не прекращая переговоров с Москвой, с большим войском атаковал казачий городок на Хортице. Почти месяц (24 дня) крымские татары пытались захватить остров, но казаки отбивали все их атаки. Татары потерпели поражение и отступили «с великим срамом». Дмитрий Вишневецкий, ожидая поддержки Москвы, сообщил о победе русскому правительству. Однако в это время шла усиленная подготовка к войне с Ливонией, и Москва потеряла интерес к продолжению войны с Крымским ханством. Раздражать Бахчисарай не хотели, чтобы не вести войну на два фронта. Д. Вишневецкому пришлось очистить остров, передать Черкассы и Канев Великому княжеству Литовскому и уйти в Москву. Князя щедро наградили, ему дали город Белев «со всеми пригородками, вотчинами и волостями» во владение.

Продолжение следует…
Автор: Самсонов Александр


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 5
  1. Deniska999 1 августа 2012 09:08
    Люблю такие статьи про полузабытые войны. Спасибо.
  2. Сахалинец 1 августа 2012 09:20
    Автору "+" и большое спасибо за интересный исторический очерк.
  3. datur 1 августа 2012 14:29
    да гоняли наши предки нехристей не по детски!!!!! laughing
  4. КомОд Шпаков 2 августа 2012 02:33
    И поделом однако. laughing гоняли
    КомОд Шпаков
  5. Симон 2 октября 2012 14:32
    Тяжело было становление Русского Государства. Много врагов было, но русичи везде выстояли. soldier

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня