Military Review

The defeat of the Turkish-Tatar army at the Ryaba Graves

3
The defeat of the Turkish-Tatar army at the Ryaba Graves

Russian commander Peter Alexandrovich Rumyantsev


250 years ago, on June 17, 1770, the Russian army under the command of Rumyantsev defeated the superior Turkish-Tatar forces at the Ryaba Graves.

prehistory


The Russo-Turkish war of 1768-1774 was caused by the desire of the Ports to maintain their positions in the Northern Black Sea region. Constantinople sought to prevent the Russians from gaining a foothold in the Black Sea and pushing them deeper into the continent. Turkey was pushed by France. Paris supported the Polish Confederates, who fought against their king Stanislav Ponyatovsky and Russia. The reason for the war was a border incident in the town of Balta.

Turkey started the war, counting on the support of France, Austria's friendly neutrality and alliance with the Polish Confederates. The Ottomans hoped, together with the Poles, to capture Kiev, restoring the Commonwealth within the borders of the XNUMXth century. Second Turkish Army supported fleet had to take possession of Azov and Taganrog. The Crimean horde acted in alliance with the Turks. Russian troops were led by Golitsyn and Rumyantsev. The remainder of 1768 passed in the military preparations of the two powers.


1769 Campaign


During the campaign of 1769, at the beginning of the year, Rumyantsev repelled the invasion of the Turkish-Tatar forces in Ukraine, strengthened the garrisons of Azov and Taganrog. Moldova rebelled against the Ottomans and asked for Russian citizenship. However, Golitsyn’s army, instead of going to Iasi, in April was bogged down by Khotin and was unable to take the fortress. Then, due to food shortages, the prince moved to Podolia, at which time the Turks crushed the uprising in Bessarabia. The great vizier acted listlessly, like Golitsyn. At first I wanted to join the Poles, but they did not want the appearance in Poland of a huge horde of such allies. Then the vizier began moving to Novorossia, against Rumyantsev. However, under the influence of rumors that Rumyantsev successfully distributed, the vizier overestimated the forces of the Russian army and did not dare to force the Dniester, returned to Prut. The main forces of the Turkish army stood in the area of ​​the Ryaba Mogila. Vizier sent to Khotyn seraskira Moldavanchi Pasha.

Catherine II was outraged by the passivity of Golitsyn and demanded to take Khotin. In late June, Golitsyn’s army again went to Khotin. Golitsyn’s troops captured the Turkish-Tatar forces in several skirmishes. However, when large enemy formations appeared under the command of the seraskir Moldavanchi Pasha and the Crimean Khan Devlet-Girey, Golitsyn again lifted the siege and retreated beyond the Dniester. The commander of the 1st Army believed that he had solved the main task - to distract the enemy from New Russia. Golitsyn adhered to the school of maneuver warfare. Like, in war, the main thing is not battles, but maneuvers. St. Petersburg was very annoyed by his actions. And the Prussian king Frederick II, when he found out about this event, burst out laughing and said:

"There she is, a fight of curves with the blind."

The passivity of the vizier and his theft on a particularly large scale caused discontent of Istanbul. The new commander in chief was appointed Moldavanchi Pasha. The new vizier received orders to launch an offensive and occupy Podolia. The offensive ended disastrously for the Turkish army. At the end of August, 80 thousand Moldavanchi Ali Pasha’s army crossed the Dniester, but Golitsyn’s troops threw the enemy into the river. In early September, the Turkish corps crossed the Dniester to collect food and fodder and was completely destroyed. Military failure, the threat of hunger and disease completely demoralized the Turkish army, which mainly consisted of an irregular militia and Tatar cavalry. Almost all the troops deserted. The vizier himself was nearly killed. The 100th Turkish army dispersed without a fight. There remained only a strong garrison in Bender and troops in the Danube fortresses, as well as the Crimean Tatar horde in Kaushany.

Golitsyn did not use the extremely favorable situation to complete the military campaign in favor of Russia. He only in September occupied without a fight the Turks left Khotin. Then again, for the third time, he led the army beyond the Dniester. Catherine's patience snapped, she recalled the prince from the army. The first army was headed by Rumyantsev, he transferred the 1nd army to Panin. Rumyantsev arrived in the army at the end of October. He moved the 2th Moldavian corps of General Stofeln (mainly the cavalry) over the Dniester and the Prut. Stofeln acted energetically and decisively. In November, he occupied Moldova and most of Wallachia. Russian troops occupied Falchi, Galati and Bucharest. At this time, Rumyantsev brought the army in order.

1770 Campaign


In winter, fighting continued. The Turkish-Tatar troops, taking advantage of the small number and dispersal of forces of the Moldavian corps, tried to go on the counterattack. In December 1769, 10 thousand the corps of Suleiman-Aga launched an offensive from Ruschuk to Bucharest, and about 3 thousand seraskir Abda Pasha marched from Brailov to Fokshany. Suleiman Pasha besieged a small detachment of Lieutenant Colonel Karazin in the monastery of Komanu. But he could not take it due to the lack of siege artillery. To the aid of Karazin, a small detachment of the rangers of Major Anrep (350 rangers, 30 Cossacks and Arnauts, 2 cannons) came forward. The Ottomans surrounded and defeated Anrep’s detachment. However, the Ottomans themselves lost in a fierce battle up to 2 thousand people.

After the battle at Coman, Suleiman-Aga decided to go to the Fokshans to connect with the detachment of Abdy Pasha. The Ottomans planned to defeat our troops in Focsani, cut off Bucharest from Iasi. However, Stofeln successfully defeated the enemy. On January 3, 1770, the detachment of Abdy Pasha crossed the Rymnu River and started a battle with Russian posts at Fokshan. Major General Podgorichani (about 600 soldiers in total) attacked the enemy with three hussar regiments. The troops of Abda Pasha on Rymn were defeated and fled. The Ottomans lost up to 100 people. Then the Turks pulled in new forces, regrouped and went on the offensive again. The Ottomans pressed our troops, but the hussars again counterattacked and overthrew the enemy.

On January 4, 8 thousand arrived at the Fokshans. Suleiman Pasha detachment (2 thousand infantry and 6 thousand cavalry). The Russian garrison in Fokshany numbered 1,5 infantry, Major General Potemkin, 600 hussars Count Podgorichani and about 300 volunteers (volunteers) and Cossacks. In the morning the Ottomans went on the offensive again. Due to the overwhelming superiority of the enemy cavalry, Russian commanders this time decided not to get involved in cavalry combat and put infantry in the front line. The soldiers were built in three squares, flanks and the rear were covered by hussars, Cossacks and Arnauts. The Turks, on the contrary, placed cavalry in the first line, and in the infantry in the second. The Ottomans hit with the entire cavalry, mixed the hussar, but the infantry withstood and threw the enemy back. Then our troops attacked 2 thousand Janissaries, and the Turkish cavalry went to the rear. Despite the difficult situation, the Russian square survived the blow. Then the Turks attacked a third time. Janissaries were able to break into the middle square, but during a fierce hand-to-hand fight they were knocked out. After that, the Turkish corps was demoralized, the Russians launched a counterattack and knocked out the enemy over the river. Milku. Our light troops pursued the enemy all day and captured the convoy.

On January 14, the detachment of Major General Zamyatin repelled an enemy attack on Bucharest. Then the troops of Stofeln took Brailov (except for the citadel) and burned the city, because they could not hold it. In early February, a brave general defeated the enemy at Zhurzhi. Unfortunately, in the spring, a decisive and skilled commander fell victim to an epidemic. Stofeln’s operations again demoralized the enemy.

However, Porta decided to continue the war. The Sultan showed great energy, not sparing the treasury, formed a new army. Khan Devlet-Girey, who was not active and began to lean toward peace with the Russians, was replaced by Kaplan-Girey, who was ordered to go to Iasi. As a result, the Turks had to strike from the west to Bucharest and Fokshany, and the Crimean Tatars from the east to Iasi. The Turkish command planned to return the Danube principalities and defeat the Moldavian corps before the approach of the main forces of Rumyantsev.

The Russian commander in chief was preparing for the offensive in order to defeat the main forces of the enemy, preventing the Turks from forcing the Danube. Meanwhile, the 2nd Army was to take Bender and defend Little Russia. In addition, the Russian fleet under the command of Orlov was supposed to create a threat to Constantinople in the Mediterranean Sea. The news of the preparation of the enemy offensive forced Rumyantsev not to wait for the replenishment and to speak ahead of schedule. Shtofeln, in the small number of his forces, was ordered to clear Wallachia and confine himself to the defense of the eastern part of Moldova.


The plan of the battle of Focsani on January 4, 1770. Source: A.N. Petrov. The influence of Turkish wars from half the last century on the development of Russian military art

Battle of the Pockmarked Graves


In May 1770, Rumyantsev’s troops concentrated near Khotin. Under his command there were 32 thousand soldiers (not counting several thousand non-combatant and sick). Only 10 infantry and 4 cavalry brigades, combined into three divisions under the command of Olits, Plemyannikov and Bruce. In Moldova, a plague raged, so Rumyantsev first wanted to stay in Northern Bessarabia. However, the plague mowed most of the Moldavian corps and Stofeln himself. The remains of the corps were led by Prince Repnin, who took up positions at the Ryaba of the Grave. Since May 20, Repnin’s corps has beaten off attacks by the superior forces of the Crimean Tatar horde Kaplan-Girey and the Ottomans (over 70 thousand people).

The critical situation of the Russian avant-garde forced Rumyantsev to begin the campaign. On June 10, the vanguard of General Baur (5 grenadier, 1 jaeger and 3 musketeer battalions, 12 cavalry squadrons and 14 field cannons) repelled an attack by the enemy, which underestimated the strength of the Russians. The Turks believed that Rumyantsev was afraid of infection and would not perform so early. Baur’s troops entered into contact with the Repnin detachment. On June 15, enemy cavalry attacked the corps of Repnin and Baur, but was repelled. On the night of June 16, the main forces of Rumyantsev approached, detained by poor roads. Baur informed the Commander-in-Chief that the enemy has a strong position from the front. There were steep heights and a swampy stream. Also, the Turks managed to dig in and put 44 guns. The left flank also adjoined the steep descents; below was the swampy valley of the Prut. Only the right flank was open to attack.

Despite the superior strength of the enemy and his strong position, the Russian commander launched an attack on June 17. The Baur corps was supposed to attack head-on, the main forces of Rumyantsev supported Baur and advanced on the right flank of the enemy. Repnin’s corps received a task on the right flank to go behind the Ottomans, cutting off their escape routes. Upon discovering that the Russians were delivering the main blow on the right flank, the Turkish-Tatar troops mixed together. The camp was taken off; infantry, artillery and convoys sent back. And the numerous cavalry was supposed to attack Repnin's corps, covering up the retreat. Prince Repnin threw a hussar into the attack. The enemy cavalry could not stand the blow and fled. Only a small detachment of the khan's guard with the son of the khan sat in a ravine and tried to stop the movement of the Russian cavalry. However, the enemy was easily crushed. Noticing the flight of the enemy on the right flank, Rumyantsev sent Repnin all the heavy cavalry under the command of Count Saltykov. The cavalry began to pursue the enemy. Meanwhile, Baur and the grenadiers occupied the enemy trenches.

As a result, the heavily fortified Turkish-Tatar camp under Ryaboy Grave was taken by a wide detour. The enemy fled to Bessarabia. Our troops lost only 46 people, the enemy - up to 400 people killed. The Crimean Khan took a strong position on the Larga River and waited for the arrival of the main forces of the Turkish army, which crossed the Danube, and 15 thousand. the horse corps of Abaz Pasha, which came from Brailov. Rumyantsev continued the offensive.


Plan of the battle at the Pockmarked Grave June 17, 1770 Source: A.K. Bayov. Course stories Russian military art
Author:
Photos used:
https://ru.wikipedia.org/ https://runivers.ru/
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Olgovich
    Olgovich 17 June 2020 06: 31 New
    13
    It is remarkable that VO celebrated the glorious 250th anniversary of the Battle of the Pockmarked Grave. one of the important steps to expel the Turks from these places forever.
    Thank you

    I hope that such anniversaries of -250 years of battles on the Larga and Cahul rivers will also be celebrated.

    You may recall that young Suvorov and Kutuzov, Grigory Potemkin and Emelyan Pugachev fought in the army of Rumyatsev.

    The battle itself has entered in the history of military art. In the battle near the Ryaba of the Grave, Rumyantsev applied a new combat formation of troops - a divisional square. If in the past steppe campaigns the Russian commanders (in particular, B.K. Minikh) built an army in one huge bristle with bayonets, then Rumyantsev divided it into separate divisions. In addition, he destroyed in his troops the barrage slingshots that existed to repel the enemy onslaught. As a result, the battle order of the Russian troops became more mobile, maneuverable and offensive. This allowed the Russian infantry to conduct more active offensive operations from several sides. Until now, the offensive was carried out by a continuous mass of troops lined up in a line. At the Battle of the Pockmarked Grave of the Rumyantsev for the first time in European military history applied concentric offensive division. The success of this tactic, as subsequent practice showed, was overwhelming. (C)

    On these hills stood Russian artillery and divisional squares during the battle:
    Н


    The famous builder of New Russia, Grigory Potemkin, immediately took part in the battle.

    It is interesting that the place of his death is not far from the Ryaba of the Grave and is marked by a majestic stele, still standing
    1. Shahno
      Shahno 17 June 2020 16: 21 New
      0
      It is very interesting to read about the victories of the Russians. Glorious moments.
      Ps. It is very sad that the work does not allow me to describe the glorious moments of Jewish history. I hope to pull myself together ... And take up a hobby.
    2. Theodore
      Theodore 17 June 2020 17: 55 New
      0
      Grigory Potemkin - Immediately

      FAQ, FAQ?

Военное обозрение

Разгром турецко-татарской армии у Рябой Могилы

3
Разгром турецко-татарской армии у Рябой Могилы

Русский полководец Пётр Александрович Румянцев


250 лет назад, 17 июня 1770 года, русская армия под командованием Румянцева разгромила превосходящие турецко-татарские силы у Рябой Могилы.

Предыстория


Русско-турецкая война 1768—1774 годов была вызвана стремлением Порты сохранить свои позиции в Северном Причерноморье. Константинополь стремился не дать русским закрепиться на Чёрном море и оттеснить их в глубь континента. Турцию подначивала Франция. Париж поддерживал польских конфедератов, которые воевали против своего короля Станислава Понятовского и России. Поводом к войне стал пограничный инцидент в местечке Балта.

Турция начала войну, рассчитывая на поддержку Франции, дружественный нейтралитет Австрии и союз с польскими конфедератами. Османы рассчитывали вместе с поляками захватить Киев, восстанавливая Речь Посполитую в границах XVII столетия. Вторая турецкая армия при поддержке флота должна была овладеть Азовом и Таганрогом. В союзе с турками выступала крымская орда. Русские войска возглавляли Голицын и Румянцев. Остаток 1768 года прошёл в военных приготовлениях двух держав.


Кампания 1769 года


В ходе кампании 1769 года Румянцев в начале года отбил вторжение турецко-татарских войск на Украину, усилил гарнизоны Азова и Таганрога. Молдавия восстала против османов и просилась в русское подданство. Однако армия Голицына, вместо того чтобы идти на Яссы, в апреле увязла в осаде Хотина и так не смогла взять крепость. Затем князь из-за нехватки продовольствия отошёл в Подолию, в это время турки подавили восстание в Бессарабии. Великий визирь действовал вяло, как и Голицын. Сначала хотел идти на соединение с поляками, но те не захотели появления в Польше огромной орды таких союзников. Затем визирь начал движение на Новороссию, против Румянцева. Однако под воздействием слухов, которые удачно распространял Румянцев, визирь переоценил силы русской армии и не решился форсировать Днестр, вернулся на Прут. Основные силы турецкой армии стояли в районе Рябой Могилы. Визирь направив в Хотин сераскира Молдаванчи-пашу.

Екатерина II была возмущена пассивностью Голицына и потребовала взять Хотин. В конце июня армия Голицына снова вышла к Хотину. Войска Голицына взяли разбили турецко-татарские силы в нескольких стычках. Однако, когда появились крупные соединения врага под началом сераскира Молдаванчи-паши и крымского хана Девлет-Гирея, Голицын снова снял осаду и отступил за Днестр. Командующий 1-й армией считал, что решил основную задачу – отвлёк врага от Новороссии. Голицын придерживался школы маневренной войны. Мол, на войне главное не битвы, а маневры. В Петербурге были очень раздражены его действиями. А прусский король Фридрих II, когда узнал об этом событии, расхохотался и сказал:

«Вот она, драка кривых со слепыми».

Пассивность визиря и его воровство в особо крупных размерах вызвали недовольство Стамбула. Новым главнокомандующим был назначен Молдаванчи-паша. Новый визирь получил приказ начать наступление и занять Подолию. Наступление закончилось для турецкой армии плачевно. В конце августа 80 тыс. армия Молдаванчи Али-паши форсировала Днестр, но войска Голицына сбросили врага в реку. В начале сентября турецкий корпус перешёл Днестр для сбора продовольствия и фуража и был полностью уничтожен. Военные неудачи, угроза голода и болезни полностью деморализовали турецкую армию, которая в основном состояла из нерегулярного ополчения и татарской конницы. Практически все войска дезертировали. Самого визиря едва не убили. 100-тысячная турецкая армия рассеялась без боя. Остались только сильный гарнизон в Бендерах и войска в дунайских крепостях, а также крымско-татарская орда в Каушанах.

Голицын не использовал крайне благоприятную ситуацию, чтобы завершить военную кампанию в пользу России. Он только в сентябре занял без боя оставленный турками Хотин. Затем снова, в третий раз, увёл армию за Днестр. Терпение Екатерины лопнуло, она отозвала князя из армии. 1-ю армию возглавил Румянцев, 2-ю армию он передала Панину. Румянцев прибыл в армию в конце октября. Он двинул за Днестр и Прут 17-тысячный Молдавский корпус генерала Штофельна (в основном конницу). Штофельн действовал энергично и решительно. В ноябре он занял Молдавию и большую часть Валахии. Русские войска заняли Фальчи, Галац и Бухарест. В это время Румянцев привёл армию в порядок.

Кампания 1770 года


Зимой боевые действия продолжались. Турецко-татарские войска, пользуясь малочисленностью и распылением сил Молдавского корпуса, пытались перейти в контрнаступление. В декабре 1769 года 10-тыс. корпус Сулеймана-Аги начал наступление из Рущука на Бухарест, и около 3 тысяч сераскира Абда-паши выступили из Браилова на Фокшаны. Сулейман-паши осадил небольшой отряд подполковника Каразина в монастыре Коману. Но взять его не смог из-за отсутствия осадной артиллерии. На помощь Каразину выступил небольшой отряд егерей майора Анрепа (350 егерей, 30 казаков и арнаутов, 2 пушки). Османы окружили и разбили отряд Анрепа. Однако сами османы потеряли в жестокой схватке до 2 тыс. человек.

После боя при Комане Сулейман-Ага решил направиться к Фокшанам, чтобы соединиться с отрядом Абды-паши. Османы планировали разбить наши войска в Фокшанах, отрезать Бухарест от Ясс. Однако Штофельн успешно разгромил противника. 3 января 1770 года отряд Абды-паши форсировал реку Рымну и завязал бой с русскими постами у Фокшан. Противника атаковал с тремя гусарскими полками генерал-майор Подгоричани (всего около 600 бойцов). Войска Абды-паши на Рымне были разбиты и бежали. Османы потеряли до 100 человек. Затем турки подтянули новые силы, перегруппировались и снова пошли в наступление. Османы потеснили наши войска, но гусары снова контратаковали и опрокинули врага.

4 января к Фокшанам прибыл 8-тыс. отряд Сулеймана-паши (2 тыс. пехоты и 6 тыс. конницы). Русский гарнизон в Фокшанах насчитывал 1,5 тыс. пехоты генерал-майора Потёмкина, 600 гусар графа Подгоричани и около 300 волонтеров (добровольцев) и казаков. Утром османы снова пошли в наступление. Из-за подавляющего превосходства вражеской конницы русские командиры в этот раз решили не ввязываться в кавалерийский бой и поставили пехоту в первой линии. Солдаты были построены в три каре, фланги и тыл прикрывали гусары, казаки и арнауты. Турки, наоборот, поставили конницу в первой линии, в пехоту – во второй. Османы ударили всей конницей, смешали гусар, но пехота выдержала и отбросила противника. Затем наши войска атаковали 2 тыс. янычар, а турецкая конница зашла в тыл. Несмотря на тяжёлую ситуацию, русские каре выдержали удар. Тогда турки атаковали третий раз. Янычары смогли прорваться в среднее каре, но в ходе жестокого рукопашного боя их выбили. После этого турецкий корпус был деморализован, русские пошли в контратаку и выбили противника за р. Мильку. Наши легкие войска преследовали неприятеля весь день и захватили обоз.

14 января отряд генерал-майора Замятина отразил нападение противника на Бухарест. Затем войска Штофельна взяли Браилов (кроме самой цитадели) и сожгли город, так как не могли его удержать. В начале февраля храбрый генерал разбил противника у Журжи. К сожалению, весной решительный и умелый полководец стал жертвой эпидемии. Операции Штофельна снова деморализовали противника.

Однако Порта решила продолжить войну. Султан проявил большую энергию, не жалея казны, сформировал новую армию. Хан Девлет-Гирей, который не проявлял активности и стал склоняться к миру с русскими, был сменён на Каплан-Гирея, которому приказали идти на Яссы. В результате турки должны были ударить с запада на Бухарест и Фокшаны, а крымские татары – с востока на Яссы. Турецкое командование планировало вернуть дунайские княжества и разгромить Молдавский корпус до подхода главных сил Румянцева.

Русский главнокомандующий готовился к наступлению с целью разгрома основных сил врага, не дав туркам форсировать Дунай. Тем временем 2-я армия должна была взять Бендеры и защищать Малороссию. Кроме того, русский флот под командованием Орлова должен был в Средиземном море создать угрозу Константинополю. Известие о подготовке вражеского наступления вынудило Румянцева не дожидаться пополнений и выступить раньше запланированного времени. Штофельну, в условиях малочисленности его сил, приказали очистить Валахию и ограничиться обороной восточной части Молдавии.


План сражения при Фокшанах 4 января 1770 года. Источник: А. Н. Петров. Влияние турецких войн с половины прошлого столетия на развитие русского военного искусства

Битва у Рябой Могилы


В мае 1770 года войска Румянцева сосредоточились у Хотина. Под его началом было 32 тыс. солдат (не считая нескольких тысяч нестроевых и больных). Всего 10 пехотных и 4 кавалерийские бригады, сведенные в три дивизии под командованием Олица, Племянникова и Брюса. В Молдавии свирепствовала чума, поэтому Румянцев сначала хотел задержаться в Северной Бессарабии. Однако чума скосила большую часть Молдавского корпуса и самого Штофельна. Остатки корпуса возглавил князь Репнин, который занял позиции у Рябой Могилы. С 20 мая корпус Репнина отбивал атаки превосходящих сил крымско-татарской орды Каплан-Гирея и османов (свыше 70 тыс. человек).

Критическое положение русского авангарда заставила Румянцева начать поход. 10 июня авангард генерала Баура (5 гренадерских, 1 егерских и 3 мушкетерских батальона, 12 эскадронов кавалерии и 14 полевых пушек) отразил атаку противника, который недооценил силы русских. Турки считали, что Румянцев испугался заразы и не выступит так рано. Войска Баура вступили в связь с отрядом Репнина. 15 июня вражеская конница атаковала корпуса Репнина и Баура, но была отражена. В ночь на 16 июня подошли главные силы Румянцева, задержанные плохими дорогами. Баур сообщил главнокомандующему, что противник имеет сильную позицию с фронта. Здесь были крутые высоты и болотистый ручей. Также турки успели окопаться и выставили 44 пушки. Левый фланг также примыкал к крутым спускам, внизу была болотистая долина Прута. Только правый фланг был открыт для атаки.

Несмотря на превосходящие силы противника и его крепкую позицию, русский полководец 17 июня начал атаку. Корпус Баура должен был атаковать в лоб, основные силы Румянцева поддерживали Баура и наступали на правый фланг врага. Корпус Репнина получил задачу по правому флангу зайти в тыл османам, отрезая им пути отхода. Обнаружив, что русские наносят главный удар на правом фланге, турецко-татарские войска смешались. Лагерь сняли; пехоту, артиллерию и обозы направили назад. А многочисленная конница должна была атаковать корпус Репнина, прикрывая отступление. Князь Репнин бросил в атаку гусар. Вражеская конница не выдержала удара и бежала. Только небольшой отряд ханской гвардии с сыном хана засел в овраге и пытался остановить движение русской конницы. Однако противника легко смяли. Заметив бегство противника на правом фланге, Румянцев направил Репнину всю тяжелую кавалерию под началом графа Салтыкова. Кавалерия начала преследование неприятеля. Тем временем Баур с гренадерами занял вражеские окопы.

В результате сильно укрепленный турецко-татарский лагерь при Рябой Могиле был взят широким обходным движением. Противник бежал в Бессарабию. Наши войска потеряли всего 46 человек, противник – до 400 человек убитыми. Крымский хан занял сильную позицию на реке Ларга и стал ждать прибытия главных сил турецкой армии, которые форсировали Дунай, и 15-тыс. конного корпуса Абаза-паши, который шёл от Браилова. Румянцев продолжил наступление.


План сражения при Рябой Могиле 17 июня 1770 г. Источник: А. К. Байов. Курс истории русского военного искусства
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
https://ru.wikipedia.org/ https://runivers.ru/
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Ольгович
    Ольгович 17 июня 2020 06:31 Новый
    +13
    Замечательно, что ВО отметило славный 250летний юбилей битвы при Рябой Могиле. один из важных шагов по изгнанию турок из этих мест навсегда.
    Спасибо

    Надеюсь, что такие юбилеи -250 лет- битв на реке Ларге и Кагуле также будут отмечены.

    Можно вспомнить , что в армии Румяцева воевали молодые Суворов и Кутузов, Григорий Потемкин и Емельян Пугачев.

    Само сражение вошло в историю военного искусства. В бою у Рябой Могилы Румянцев применил новое боевое построение войск — дивизионное каре. Если в прошлых степных походах русские полководцы (в частности, Б.К. Миних) строили армию в одно огромное ощетинившееся штыками каре, то Румянцев расчленил его на отдельные дивизии. Кроме того, он уничтожил в своих войсках заградительные рогатки, существовавшие для отражения неприятельского натиска. В результате боевой порядок русских войск стал более подвижным, маневренным и наступательным. Это позволило российской пехоте вести более активные наступательные действия с нескольких сторон. До сих пор наступление осуществлялось сплошной массой выстроенных в линию войск. В битве при Рябой Могиле Румянцев впервые в европейской военной истории применил концентрическое наступление дивизионными каре. Успех этой тактики, как показала дальнейшая практика, оказался ошеломляющим.(с)

    На этих холмиках стояли русская артиллерия и дивизионные каре во время битвы:
    Н


    Знаменитый строитель Новороссии Григорий Потемкин-непосрелссвенно принимал участие в битве.

    Интересно, что место его смерти находится недалеко Рябой Могилы и отмечно величественной стелой, стоящей до сих пор
    1. Shahno
      Shahno 17 июня 2020 16:21 Новый
      0
      Очень интересно читать про победы русских. Славные моменты.
      Пс. Очень печально,что работа не дает мне описать славные моменты еврейской истории. Надеюсь взять себя в руки.. И заняться уже хобби.
    2. ФЕОДОР
      ФЕОДОР 17 июня 2020 17:55 Новый
      0
      Григорий Потемкин-непосрелссвенно

      Чаво, чаво ?