Military Review

In the US, they argue over whom to develop a tracking system for hypersonic weapons

12

The American leadership is dissatisfied with certain points in the activities of the United States Missile Defense Agency. Because of this, the structure responsible for missile defense can be reassigned to another deputy defense minister.


The United States Missile Defense Agency is currently subordinate to Under Secretary of Defense for Research and Development Michael Griffin. It is his actions that raise questions in Congress. As analyst Nathan Straut notes, questions have arisen, including on the proposal to create a space low-orbit sensor layer of sensors that track hypersonic weapon probable adversary. Note that the Missile Defense Agency requested $ 2020 million for 157,4 to develop hypersonic missile defense.

Throughout 2019, Michael Griffin, with the support of the presidential administration, defended his point of view on the future of the program “Hypersonic Ballistic Tracking Space Sensors, HBTSS”. Congressmen argued that the Missile Defense Agency should assume the full responsibility for the development of the system, while the White House believed that it was worth sharing the load between the Missile Defense Agency and the Space Development Agency, which also reports to Deputy Defense Minister Griffin.

As a result, Congress managed to defend its position, after which all responsibility for the development of the system was assigned to the Missile Defense Agency. However, then questions arose for the agency itself, as congressmen felt that it was not investing enough in the HBTSS program.


Derek Tornir - Director, Space Development Agency

At the same time, interestingly, their own work on creating a system for intercepting hypersonic weapons is being carried out at the Space Development Agency. Its leader, Derek Tornir, announced work to create a large constellation of low-orbit satellites, which are said to be able to detect and track Russian and Chinese hypersonic missiles.

After that, questions arose in Congress regarding the actions of the Space Development Agency, which moved forward with its developments, without waiting for the missile defense agency to submit a plan for the deployment of the system. But Derek Tornir reacted to the congressmen's questions rather harshly:

You start a debate about what happened before - a chicken or an egg. We are going to deploy both systems simultaneously. I’ll say that neither of them is more complicated than the other, and both systems are necessary for the United States,

- emphasized the head of the Space Development Agency.

In any case, the debate itself over who will be responsible for the sensor program and for its financing is unlikely to damage the future of development. It is clear that the United States is extremely interested in creating a hypersonic missile tracking system, especially considering that even American experts acknowledge their country's lag in hypersonic weapons from Russia and China. Moreover, it is precisely this reason that explains the increased interest of congressmen in the development and their desire to streamline the development and achieve the greatest possible efficiency and effectiveness in creating such a system.
Author:
Photos used:
Northrop Grumman
12 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Invoce
    Invoce 23 June 2020 13: 33 New
    +3
    While the American leadership is dissatisfied with someone’s activity on this issue, at this time the crisis in the USA deepens, separatism is growing ...
    It may happen that the "last" president of the United States does not agree with the Pentagon’s requests (for economic reasons), or a country such as the United States will not
    1. Sergey39
      Sergey39 23 June 2020 13: 55 New
      +2
      In anticipation of the collapse of the United States, all this looks a lot like the division of finance and resources.
      1. Tom Johnson
        Tom Johnson 25 June 2020 22: 27 New
        0
        Do not hold your breath
    2. Vicontas
      Vicontas 23 June 2020 17: 17 New
      0
      As folklore says - "Seven nannies will have a child without eyes!" But let it be only their problems.
  2. Doccor18
    Doccor18 23 June 2020 13: 34 New
    +2
    There was a heated debate on budget development ..
    1. bk0010
      bk0010 23 June 2020 14: 16 New
      +2
      Some state general said: "The Russians are the opponent, the enemy is the fleet!"
  3. rocket757
    rocket757 23 June 2020 13: 57 New
    0
    Everywhere and always opportunistic affairs / showdowns. However, they can "root" for the cause.
  4. tralflot1832
    tralflot1832 23 June 2020 13: 58 New
    +1
    Covid 19 would be handled, otherwise they may not need anti-hypersonic weapons.
  5. Nikolaevich I
    Nikolaevich I 23 June 2020 14: 18 New
    0
    It is possible to create a detection, tracking, pointing system against hypersonic weapons and without the use of spacecraft! This system is local and "individual" ... although protection of ships in the "wake" of the "leader" is not excluded ...!
  6. Vrungeli
    Vrungeli 23 June 2020 17: 07 New
    0
    So much for "Putin's cartoons" stir in the aspen nest ... And then the "gas station" lapatnaya Russia ... Move gentlemen and catch up if you can ..
  7. faterdom
    faterdom 23 June 2020 21: 43 New
    0
    The main thing who needs to allocate money for this from the budget is African-Americans! Anything else will be flagrantly unfair! They also want to cut the Pentagon's budget, because it is the largest!
  8. Tom Johnson
    Tom Johnson 25 June 2020 07: 50 New
    0
    Xtop I am an a American I could say beware, but you cannot protect your nature gas line

Военное обозрение

В США спорят, кому разрабатывать систему слежения за гиперзвуковым оружием

12

Американское руководство недовольно определенными моментами в деятельности Агентства по противоракетной обороне США. Из-за этого структуру, отвечающую за ПРО, могут переподчинить другому заместителю министра обороны.


В настоящее время Агентство по противоракетной обороне Соединенных Штатов Америки подчинено заместителю министра обороны США по исследованиям и разработкам Майклу Гриффину. Именно его действия и вызывают вопросы в Конгрессе. Как отмечает аналитик Нэйтан Страут, вопросы возникли, в том числе, по предложению о создании космического низкоорбитального сенсорного слоя датчиков, отслеживающих гиперзвуковое оружие вероятного противника. Отметим, что Агентство по противоракетной обороне запрашивало на 2020 год 157,4 млн долларов на разработку гиперзвуковой противоракетной обороны.

Весь 2019 год Майкл Гриффин при поддержке администрации президента отстаивал свою точку зрения по вопросу о будущем программы «Космические сенсоры гиперзвукового баллистического сопровождения» (Hypersonic Ballistic Tracking Space Sensors, HBTSS). Конгрессмены утверждали, что всю полноту ответственности за разработку системы должно взять на себя Агентство противоракетной обороны, тогда как в Белом доме считали, что стоит распределить нагрузку между Агентством противоракетной обороны и Агентством космического развития, которое также подчиняется заместителю министра обороны Гриффину.

В итоге Конгрессу удалось отстоять свою позицию, после чего вся ответственность за разработку системы была возложена на Агентство противоракетной обороны. Однако затем появились вопросы уже к самому агентству, поскольку конгрессмены сочли, что оно недостаточно инвестирует в программу HBTSS.


Дерек Торнир - директор Агентства космического развития

В то же время, что интересно, собственную работу над созданием системы перехвата гиперзвукового оружия ведут в Агентстве космического развития. Его руководитель Дерек Торнир анонсировал работы по созданию большой группировки низкоорбитальных спутников, которые, как утверждается, смогут обнаруживать и сопровождать российские и китайские гиперзвуковые ракеты.

После этого в Конгрессе возникли вопросы относительно действий Агентства космического развития, которое продвинулось со своими разработками вперед, не дожидаясь представления плана развертывания системы от Агентства противоракетной обороны. Но Дерек Торнир отреагировал на вопросы конгрессменов довольно жестко:

Вы начинаете спор о том, что было раньше - курица или яйцо. Мы собираемся развернуть одновременно обе системы. Я скажу, что ни одна из них не сложнее другой, и обе системы необходимы Соединенным Штатам,

- подчеркнул глава Агентства космического развития.

В любом случае, сам спор из-за того, кто будет отвечать за программу создания сенсоров и за ее финансирование, вряд ли способен повредить будущему разработок. Понятно, что в США крайне заинтересованы в создании системы отслеживания гиперзвуковых ракет, особенно если учитывать, что даже американские эксперты признают отставание своей страны в сфере гиперзвукового оружия от России и Китая. Более того, именно этой причиной и объясняется повышенный интерес конгрессменов к разработкам и их стремление упорядочить разработки и добиться как можно большей оперативности и эффективности в создании такой системы.
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
Northrop Grumman
12 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Invoce
    Invoce 23 июня 2020 13:33
    +3
    Пока американское руководство недовольно чьей то деятельностью, по данному вопросу, в это время кризис в США углубляется, сепаратизм растет...
    Может так случиться, что "последний" президент США не согласится с запросами Пентагона (по экономическим соображением), либо страны такой как США не будет
    1. Сергей39
      Сергей39 23 июня 2020 13:55
      +2
      В предчувствии блзкого развала США все это сильно смахивает на раздел финансов и ресурсов.
      1. Tom Johnson
        Tom Johnson 25 июня 2020 22:27
        0
        Do not hold your breath
    2. Vicontas
      Vicontas 23 июня 2020 17:17
      0
      Как говорит фольклор - "У семи нянек дитя без глаз останется"! Но пусть это будут только их проблемы.
  2. Doccor18
    Doccor18 23 июня 2020 13:34
    +2
    Шли жаркие дебаты по освоению бюджета..
    1. bk0010
      bk0010 23 июня 2020 14:16
      +2
      Какой-то штатовский генерал сказал: "Русские - это оппонент, враг - это флот!"
  3. rocket757
    rocket757 23 июня 2020 13:57
    0
    Везде и всегда конъюнктурные дела\разборки. Впрочем, могут и за дело "болеть".
  4. tralflot1832
    tralflot1832 23 июня 2020 13:58
    +1
    С ковид 19 бы справились,а то им противогиперзвуковое оружие может и не понадобиться.
  5. Nikolaevich I
    Nikolaevich I 23 июня 2020 14:18
    0
    Возможно создание системы обнаружения, слежения , наведения против гиперзвукового оружия и без использования космических аппаратов ! Эта система- локальная и "индивидуальная"...хотя не исключается защита судов в "кильватере" "лидера"...!
  6. Vrungeli
    Vrungeli 23 июня 2020 17:07
    0
    Вот вам и "мультики Путина" зашевелились в осинном гнезде...А то "бензоколонка " лапатная Россия ...Шевелитесь господа и догоняйте ,если сможете..
  7. faterdom
    faterdom 23 июня 2020 21:43
    0
    Главное кому необходимо выделить на это деньги из бюджета - афроамериканцам! Все иное будет вопиюще несправедливо! Они тоже хотят пилить бюджет Пентагона, потому что он самый большой!
  8. Tom Johnson
    Tom Johnson 25 июня 2020 07:50
    0
    Xtop I am an a American I could say beware, but you cannot protect your nature gas line