Military Review

Japan is the guardian of shipping in the Indian Ocean

17

Japanese Air Force F-35A prepares for departure


In modern Japanese military strategy, things that are quite unexpected at first glance appear from time to time. Although, how to say, unexpected ... If you think about it, then there is a certain logic in the latest aspirations.

In Japan, a rather large-scale military strategy is definitely being developed, in general, of course, oriented to the USA, but providing for greater independence of Japan in a number of issues. Due to well-known constitutional restrictions, little is said about this strategy. However, the awl in a bag cannot be hidden. Many plans can be judged by the various military activities, which are reported in the open press.

Japanese Interest - India


In 2020, Japan and India were to conduct joint air exercises, in which combat aircraft were to take part for the first time. However, these exercises were postponed due to the coronavirus epidemic. The security arrangements between the two countries remain in force, and it is likely that these exercises will take place after the lifting of restrictions on the virus.

These failed exercises show the growth of Japan's military involvement in military activity in the Indian Ocean, over-duty participation in various peacekeeping operations. The Japanese Air Force is clearly preparing to operate away from its shores, not only in the South China Sea with Australia or Singapore, but further to the west. Participation in such aviation the exercise in India means practicing the transfer of Japanese aviation (at least a squadron) to a region very remote from Japan. This is working out flight routes, which is not easy, especially if a combat option is being worked out, which provides for bypassing the airspace of non-allied and unfriendly countries, refueling in the air, ground-based and servicing. Such experience, in principle, allows Japan, in the event of an aggravation of the situation, to transfer part of its aviation to India within about a day.

The question arises: what exactly is Japan going to defend in the Indian Ocean and how much does all this correspond to the doctrine of self-defense?

In this regard, the Japanese experts on security have an almost unanimous opinion: free shipping. Japan purchases a large amount of oil and liquefied gas from the Gulf countries, as well as raw materials and industrial semi-finished products from the countries of South Asia and East Africa. Japan purchased 2019 million tons of oil from the Persian Gulf countries in 122,6, which is about 90% of Japanese oil imports. Japan purchased about 2019 million tons of liquefied natural gas in 77. Owing to this circumstance, shipping to the Indian Ocean for Japan is a very important issue, perhaps even the most important issue of the country's economic security.

Meanwhile, the aggravation of the situation in the Middle East has put this energy flow at risk. In July 2019, a Japanese tanker was attacked in the Persian Gulf.


Map of the incident in which the Japanese tanker Kokuka Courageous was damaged

So there is a certain logic in the development of military activity in the Indian Ocean. Great damage to Japan will be caused not only by a direct attack, but also by blocking energy transportation. Japan, after a reduction in the production of electricity at nuclear power plants, became more dependent on them. Therefore, shipping protection is also part of Japan’s self-defense.

These countries are a large market. At the end of 2016, Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe announced a program for investments in port infrastructure in the Indian Ocean for a total of up to $ 30 billion, including $ 7,9 billion in priority projects (the port of Mumbai in India, Dway and Yangon in Myanmar, Matabar in Bangladesh and others).

In light of all this, Japan is developing military cooperation with India, considering it as its key ally in the Indian Ocean, without which it is hardly possible to count on maintaining sustainable shipping security.

Japan offers some countries with which it wants to strengthen military cooperation. These include investments, access to technologies that the countries of the region cannot get in the USA or China. Japan and India, for example, are jointly developing ground-based combat robots. The list of proposals also includes mediation in military cooperation with the United States. Japan puts forward a curious concept of the formation in the Indian Ocean of an alliance led by the United States, in which Japan plays the role of mediator. For countries that fear the strengthening of India, cooperation with Japan also looks more attractive. Thus, the Japanese strategy is not purely military, it also includes economic, technological and political elements, taking into account the balance of interests in the region.

Preparations against China


The main potential threat is China. In recent years, China has carried out a very large-scale expansion in South Asia and Africa, building ports (which can also be the supply base for the Navy). The Chinese Navy is already present at the following points:
Djibouti is the base.
Port Victoria, Seychelles - refueling.
Coco Island, Myanmar - radar surveillance post.
Port Gwadar, Pakistan - radar surveillance post.

Japan is the guardian of shipping in the Indian Ocean

Diagram showing Chinese strategic interests in the Indian Ocean.

It is also planned to establish naval bases in Gwadar, in the port of Chittagong in Bangladesh, in the port of Hambatota in Sri Lanka. In principle, bases only in Djibouti and Gwadar are already enough to cause a serious threat to the shipping of countries that have unfriendly relations with China. Gwadar is the most important point because it is very close to the main route for transporting oil to Japan. In fact, Gwadar is blocking the exit from the Persian Gulf, and the deployment of Chinese aircraft there is a serious threat.

What can Japan do in response? It can be assumed that the Japanese Air Force exercises in India include three possible scenarios of action to repel a possible threat of navigation: the Pakistan Air Force counteraction, a raid on the Navy base in Gwadar, and the search and attack of hostile ships at sea in order to protect civilian ships. Any exercises include the development of real combat missions. These tasks can be performed not only by land aviation, but also by sea-based aviation. Since 2017, Izumo and Kaga aircraft carriers have been visiting Indian ports every year.

China is unlikely to be able to deploy large air forces and large forces in this region fleet. So a pair of Japanese squadrons of the latest aircraft with experienced pilots trained in advance, based on American or Indian airbases, as well as aircraft carriers, can very well perform the tasks of guarding shipping, escorting merchant ships and repelling possible attacks.

The Indian Ocean seems too big for Japanese forces. Many ships and aircraft for this region will not be allocated. Japanese experts admit this. However, if we look at the map of ports and military bases, it will become clear that only the northern and western parts of the Indian Ocean are of importance, the coastal strip with a width of about 500-600 miles, in which the main shipping routes pass. The central and especially southern part of the Indian Ocean is slightly navigable, remote from the coast and therefore does not matter much.


Shipping in the Indian Ocean according to maritime traffic. Pay attention to the red lines - the busiest shipping routes


In this coastal strip some points are really of strategic importance: the Andaman Islands, Sri Lanka, Maldives, the Chagos archipelago with the Diego Garcia air base, Seychelles, Madagascar, as well as the sea and air space around them within a radius of about 400-600 miles. He who controls these points controls all shipping in the Indian Ocean.
Author:
17 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. wehr
    25 June 2020 15: 22 New
    +2
    And what, no one is skipping from the plans of the Japanese military? laughing
    1. knn54
      knn54 25 June 2020 19: 34 New
      +3
      A little less than half of the global supply is transported across the Indian Ocean.
      The fight is serious.
      France, which holds bases on the islands of Reunion and Mayotte.
      Even the Turkish authorities in Sudan have leased the Turks for 99 years the port of Suakin on the Red Sea, once part of the Ottoman Empire. A training center in Somalia. And very actively "actively" defend the Rohingya Muslims in Myanmar.
      The Yankees put forward the concept of the Indo-Pacific region. In the document, they consider India a strategic partner. Japan actively supports the idea of ​​an anti-Chinese union of the USA, India, Australia and Japan.
    2. Gaubvaxta
      Gaubvaxta 25 June 2020 19: 54 New
      -7
      Quote: wehr
      And what, no one is skipping from the plans of the Japanese military? laughing

      Somehow not really laughing ..Japanese were torn and we will tear together with their current masters. They still have to return Kolchak’s gold with interest, etc. .

      The Northern Sea Route is an alternative to the future flow ...
      1. Nastia makarova
        Nastia makarova 26 June 2020 12: 01 New
        0
        Bolsheviks found Kolchak's gold
    3. Civil
      Civil 26 June 2020 09: 29 New
      0
      The axis China-Pakistan against the axis India-Japan. India and Japan are creating a very exotic union.
      1. wehr
        26 June 2020 14: 38 New
        -1
        There may be exotic unions and aerial battles in unexpected locations
  2. evgen1221
    evgen1221 25 June 2020 19: 00 New
    -2
    He wants to want an elephant, but he will give it to him.)) Everyone has plans to protect their sea lanes, something is worried.
  3. FIR FIR
    FIR FIR 25 June 2020 19: 07 New
    +1
    Japan will coordinate all its plans with the United States. We can say that these are not Japanese, but American plans, in which a faithful Asian vassal will help to restrain the red dragon, who has recently learned to swim.
    1. Lopatov
      Lopatov 25 June 2020 19: 19 New
      -2
      Quote: FIR FIR
      faithful Asian vassal will help restrain the red dragon

      At one time, to "contain" the USSR, the Americans managed to create a coalition of themselves, NATO countries, Australia, Japan and China. With affiliated oil producers led by Saudi Arabia

      The current round dance around the former Cold War ally is clearly not pulled to that level. Grinded the Americans.
      But China, if not cool, is the first world economy.
      1. FIR FIR
        FIR FIR 25 June 2020 19: 27 New
        +1
        whatever you say, the first world economy.

        You yourself answered an almost rhetorical question.
        The USSR was a powerful resource and industrial giant, but not a global economic giant. The USSR was not the main trading partner and investor in most countries in the world. He was locked in a socialist "cocoon", where he, in spite of everything, developed decently. But inside myself. And China is more difficult to fight. Trade and business interests metastasized everywhere, including the United States. But what can I say, Huawei was going to lead 5G in the USA, the Americans miraculously caught themselves and covered up these undertakings at home, but not in the world. Metastases are difficult, long and painful to remove ...
    2. Zaurbek
      Zaurbek 27 June 2020 12: 43 New
      0
      And the supply of technology, too.
  4. Lopatov
    Lopatov 25 June 2020 19: 12 New
    -1
    Americans have something really bad with the "Great Wall of China"
    1. Gaubvaxta
      Gaubvaxta 25 June 2020 19: 57 New
      -1
      Quote: Spade
      Americans have something really bad with the "Great Wall of China"

      It didn’t turn out for them to annul their debts to China .. A new wave begins! Oh well
  5. Ryaruav
    Ryaruav 25 June 2020 19: 28 New
    -1
    all the countries of NATO, Japan, Australia, Israel and New Zealand without the United States are simply no one to call, kids with dirty butt, what India, China they can not cope with Vietnam alone, the times of the colonization of Africa and Asia have a long history
    1. Gaubvaxta
      Gaubvaxta 25 June 2020 20: 00 New
      -7
      Quote: Ryaruav
      all the countries of NATO, Japan, Australia, Israel and New Zealand without the United States are simply no one to call, kids with dirty butt, what India, China they can not cope with Vietnam alone, the times of the colonization of Africa and Asia have a long history

      All right, another attempt to return something .. Time has passed gentlemen! There will be no world hegemony, Russia has tried ...
  6. Poetry
    Poetry 25 June 2020 22: 36 New
    -3
    Japanese yell, Our Kuril Islands demand back,
    They behave inappropriately, they behave disgustingly.
    I will tell all the Japanese, only between us:
    Wouldn’t you go to your Japanese mother ?!

    The Japanese blather, but for some reason, not there,
    Americans blew you cities.
    Friends are Americans, or just Yankees,
    World champions in filth and vileness.

    Do you want war, or what? Doesn't live in peace?
    I suggest everyone offended to do hara-kiri! ..
    Friends trained with a stick like a dog
    When they friendly blasted Hiroshima.
  7. Alexander Yaroshenko
    Alexander Yaroshenko 3 July 2020 01: 37 New
    0
    Thank you, an interesting aspect of the future war with China.

Военное обозрение

Япония на страже судоходства в Индийском океане

17

F-35A ВВС Японии готовится к вылету


В современной японской военной стратегии время от времени появляются достаточно неожиданные на первый взгляд вещи. Хотя, как сказать, неожиданные… Если подумать, то определенная логика в новейших устремлениях есть.

В Японии определенно разрабатывается достаточно крупномасштабная военная стратегия, в целом, конечно, ориентированная на США, но предусматривающая большую самостоятельность Японии в целом ряде вопросов. В силу известных конституционных ограничений об этой стратегии мало что говорится. Однако шила в мешке не утаишь. О многих замыслах можно судить по различной военной активности, о которой сообщается в открытой печати.

Японский интерес — Индия


В 2020 году Япония и Индия должны были проводить совместные военно-воздушные учения, в которых впервые должны были принимать участие боевые самолеты. Однако эти учения из-за эпидемии коронавируса были отложены. Договоренности между двумя странами в сфере безопасности остаются в силе, и, вероятно, эти учения состоятся после отмены ограничений, связанных с вирусом.

Эти несостоявшиеся учения показывают рост военной вовлеченности Японии в военную активность в Индийском океане сверх дежурного участия в различных миротворческих операциях. ВВС Японии явно готовятся к тому, чтобы действовать вдали от своих берегов, не только в Южно-Китайском море совместно с Австралией или Сингапуром, но и дальше на запад. Само по себе участие в подобных авиационных учениях в Индии означает отработку переброски японской авиации (по крайней мере, эскадрильи) в очень отдаленный от Японии регион. Это отработка маршрутов перелета, что непросто, особенно если отрабатывается боевой вариант, предусматривающий обход воздушного пространства несоюзных и недружественных стран, дозаправки в воздухе, наземного базирования и обслуживания. Такой опыт, в принципе, позволяет Японии в случае обострения обстановки перебросить часть своей авиации в Индию в течение примерно суток.

Встает вопрос: что именно собирается защищать Япония в Индийском океане и насколько все это соответствует доктрине самообороны?

По этому поводу у японских экспертов по безопасности мнение практически единодушное: свободное судоходство. Япония закупает большое количество нефти и сжиженного газа в странах Персидского залива, а также сырье и промышленные полуфабрикаты в странах Южной Азии и Восточной Африки. Одной нефти Япония закупила в странах Персидского залива в 2019 году 122,6 млн. тонн, что составляет около 90% японского импорта нефти. Сжиженного природного газа Япония в 2019 году закупила около 77 млн. тонн. В силу этого обстоятельства для Японии судоходство в Индийском океане является очень важным вопросом, пожалуй, даже, наиболее важным вопросом экономической безопасности страны.

Между тем обострение обстановки на Ближнем Востоке поставило этот поток энергоносителей под угрозу. В июле 2019 года японский танкер был атакован в Персидском заливе.


Карта инцидента, в котором получил повреждения танкер Kokuka Courageous, принадлежащий японской компании

Так что определенная логика в разворачивании военной активности в Индийском океане есть. Большой ущерб Японии нанесет не только прямое нападение, но и блокирование перевозок энергоносителей. От них Япония после сокращения производства электроэнергии на атомных электростанциях стала зависеть сильнее. Поэтому защита судоходства также входит в задачи по самообороне Японии.

Эти же страны — крупный рынок сбыта. Для этой торговли премьер-министр Японии Синдзо Абэ еще в конце 2016 года провозгласил программу инвестиций в портовую инфраструктуру в Индийском океане в общей сложности до 30 млрд. долларов, в том числе 7,9 млрд. долларов в первоочередные проекты (порт Мумбаи в Индии, Давей и Янгон в Мьянме, Матабар в Бангладеш и другие).

В свете всего этого Япония развивает военное сотрудничество с Индией, рассматривая ее как своего ключевого союзника в Индийском океане, без которого вряд ли можно рассчитывать на поддержание устойчивой безопасности судоходства.

Япония предлагает странам, с которыми желает укрепить военное сотрудничество, некоторые возможности. К ним относятся инвестиции, доступ к технологиям, которые странам региона нельзя получить в США или Китае. Япония и Индия, к примеру, ведут совместные разработки наземных боевых роботов. Также в список предложений входит посредничество в военном сотрудничестве с США. Япония выдвигает любопытную концепцию формирования в Индийском океане альянса, возглавляемого США, в котором Япония играет роль медиатора. Для стран, которые опасаются усиления Индии, сотрудничество с Японией также выглядит более привлекательно. Таким образом, японская стратегия не чисто военная, она также включает в себя экономические, технологические и политические элементы с учетом баланса интересов в регионе.

Приготовления против Китая


Основная потенциальная угроза — Китай. В последние годы Китай осуществляет весьма масштабную экспансию в Южной Азии и Африке, строит порты (которые могут быть также базами снабжения ВМФ). ВМФ Китая уже присутствуют в следующих пунктах:
Джибути — база.
Порт Виктория, Сейшельские острова — дозаправка.
Остров Коко, Мьянма — пост радиолокационного наблюдения.
Порт Гвадар, Пакистан — пост радиолокационного наблюдения.

Япония на страже судоходства в Индийском океане

Схема, отображающая китайские стратегические интересы в Индийском океане

Планируется также создание военно-морских баз в Гвадаре, в порту Читтагонг в Бангладеш, в порту Хамбатота на Шри-Ланке. В принципе, баз только в Джибути и Гвадаре уже достаточно, чтобы возникла серьезная угроза для судоходства стран, у которых с Китаем недружественные отношения. Гвадар — самый важный пункт, поскольку он находится очень близко к основному маршруту перевозки нефти в Японию. Фактически Гвадар запирает выход из Персидского залива, и размещение там китайской авиации есть серьезная угроза.

Что Япония может предпринять в качестве ответа? Можно полагать, что учения ВВС Японии в Индии включают три возможных сценария действий по отражению возможной угрозы судоходства: противодействие ВВС Пакистана, налет на базу ВМФ в Гвадаре, а также поиск и атака враждебных кораблей в море с целью защиты гражданских судов. Любые учения предусматривают отработку реальных боевых задач. Эти задачи может выполнять не только сухопутная авиация, но и авиация морского базирования. Авианосцы Izumo и Kaga с 2017 года ежегодно посещают индийские порты.

Китай вряд ли сможет разместить в этом регионе крупные воздушные силы и крупные силы флота. Так что пара японских эскадрилий новейших самолетов с опытными пилотами, заранее прошедших подготовку, базирующихся на американских или индийских авиабазах, а также на авианесущих кораблях, вполне может выполнять задачи по охране судоходства, сопровождению торговых судов и отражению возможных атак.

Индийский океан кажется слишком большим для японских сил. Много кораблей и самолетов для этого региона не будет выделено. Японские эксперты это признают. Однако если мы посмотрим на карту портов и военных баз, то станет ясно, что значение имеет лишь северная и западная часть Индийского океана, прибрежная полоса шириной примерно 500-600 миль, в которой и проходят основные судоходные маршруты. Центральная и особенно южная часть Индийского океана мало судоходная, удалена от побережья и потому большого значения не имеет.


Судоходство в Индийском океане по данным морского трафика. Обратите внимание на красные линии — наиболее загруженные судоходные маршруты


В этой прибрежной полосе действительно стратегическое значение имеют некоторые пункты: Андаманские острова, Шри-Ланка, Мальдивы, архипелаг Чагос с авиабазой Диего-Гарсия, Сейшельские острова, Мадагаскар, а также морское и воздушное пространство вокруг них в радиусе примерно 400-600 миль. Кто контролирует эти пункты, тот и контролирует все судоходство в Индийском океане.
Автор:
17 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. wehr
    25 июня 2020 15:22 Новый
    +2
    И что, ни у кого не ёкает от замыслов японской военщины? laughing
    1. knn54
      knn54 25 июня 2020 19:34 Новый
      +3
      Через Индийский океан перевозится чуть меньше половины мировогоого объёма поставок.
      Борьба идет нешуточная.
      Франция, которая держит базы на островах Реюньон и Майотта.
      Даже турки- власти Судана отдали туркам в аренду на 99 лет порт Суакин на Красном море, когда то входивший в состав Османской империи.Тренировочный центр в Сомали. И очень активно "активно" защищают мусульман-рохинья в Мьянме.
      Янкесы выдвинули концепцию Индо-Тихоокеанского региона. В документе они считают Индию стратегическим партнёром. Япония активно поддерживает идею антикитайского союза США, Индии, Австралии и Японии.
    2. Gaubvaxta
      Gaubvaxta 25 июня 2020 19:54 Новый
      -7
      Цитата: wehr
      И что, ни у кого не ёкает от замыслов японской военщины? laughing

      Как то не особо laughing ..Японцев драли и будем драть вместе с их хозяевами нынешними.Они нам золото Колчака еще должны вернуть с процентами и т.д. .

      Северный морской путь вот альтернатива будущего потока ...
      1. Nastia Makarova
        Nastia Makarova 26 июня 2020 12:01 Новый
        0
        золото колчака нашли большевики
    3. Гражданский
      Гражданский 26 июня 2020 09:29 Новый
      0
      Ось Китай-Пакистан против оси Индия-Япония. Индия и Япония весьма экзотический союз получается.
      1. wehr
        26 июня 2020 14:38 Новый
        -1
        Могут быть экзотические союзы и воздушные бои в неожиданных локациях
  2. evgen1221
    evgen1221 25 июня 2020 19:00 Новый
    -2
    Хотеть слон хочет да ктож ему даст.)) Планы по защите своих морских коммуникаций у всех есть,чего беспокоится то.
  3. FIR FIR
    FIR FIR 25 июня 2020 19:07 Новый
    +1
    Все свои замыслы Япония будет координировать с США. Можно сказать, что это не японские, а американские замыслы, в которых верный азиатский вассал будет помогать сдерживать красного дракона, который в последнее время еще и плавать нехило научился.
    1. Лопатов
      Лопатов 25 июня 2020 19:19 Новый
      -2
      Цитата: FIR FIR
      верный азиатский вассал будет помогать сдерживать красного дракона

      В своё время для "сдерживания" СССР американцам удалось создать коалицию из самих себя, стран НАТО, Австралии, Японии и Китая. С примкнувшими нефтедобытчиками во главе с Саудовской Аравией

      Нынешние хороводы вокруг бывшего союзника по Холодной войне явно не тянут на тот уровень. Измельчали американцы.
      А ведь Китай, как не крути, первая мировая экономика.
      1. FIR FIR
        FIR FIR 25 июня 2020 19:27 Новый
        +1
        как не крути, первая мировая экономика.

        Вы сами ответили на почти риторический вопрос.
        СССР был могучим ресурсно-промышленным гигантом, но не экономическим гигантом мирового масштаба. СССР не был основным торговым партнером и инвестором большинства стран мира. Его заперли в социалистический "кокон", где он, не смотря ни на что прилично развивался. Но внутри себя. А с Китаем сложней бороться. Торговые и бизнес-интересы как метастазы проникли всюду, в том числе и в США. Да что говорить, Хуавей собралась в США 5G вести, американцы чудом спохватились и прикрыли эти начинания у себя, но не в мире. Метастазы трудно, долго и больно удалять...
    2. Zaurbek
      Zaurbek 27 июня 2020 12:43 Новый
      0
      И поставку технологий тоже.
  4. Лопатов
    Лопатов 25 июня 2020 19:12 Новый
    -1
    Что-то у американцев совсем плохо с "Великой Антикитайской Стеной"
    1. Gaubvaxta
      Gaubvaxta 25 июня 2020 19:57 Новый
      -1
      Цитата: Лопатов
      Что-то у американцев совсем плохо с "Великой Антикитайской Стеной"

      Неполучилось у них анулировать свои долги перед Китаем ..Начинается новая волна ! Ну ну
  5. Ryaruav
    Ryaruav 25 июня 2020 19:28 Новый
    -1
    все страны нато,япония,австралия ,израиль и новая зеландия без сша просто никто и звать никак ,малыши с грязными попками,какая индия ,китай им с вьетнамом не справиться в одиночку, времена колонизации африки и азии уже давно история
    1. Gaubvaxta
      Gaubvaxta 25 июня 2020 20:00 Новый
      -7
      Цитата: Ryaruav
      все страны нато,япония,австралия ,израиль и новая зеландия без сша просто никто и звать никак ,малыши с грязными попками,какая индия ,китай им с вьетнамом не справиться в одиночку, времена колонизации африки и азии уже давно история

      Все верно очередные попытки ,что то вернуть..Время ушло господа ! Гегемонии мировой уже не будет ,Россия постаралась ...
  6. Поэтиззаугла
    Поэтиззаугла 25 июня 2020 22:36 Новый
    -3
    Орут японцы, Курилы наши требуют обратно,
    Неподобающе ведут себя, ведут себя отвратно.
    Скажу я всем японцам, только между нами :
    А не пошли бы вы, к своей японской маме?!

    Японцы вякают, но почему-то не туда,
    Американцы вам взорвали города.
    Друзья американцы, или просто янки,
    Чемпионы мира по гадству и подлянке.

    Войны хотите, что ли? Не живётся в мире?
    Предлагаю всем обиженным делать харакири!..
    Друзья дрессировали палкой, будто псину,
    Когда они по-дружески взорвали Хиросиму.
  7. Александр Ярошенко
    Александр Ярошенко 3 июля 2020 01:37 Новый
    0
    Спасибо, интересный аспект будущей войны с китаем