Military Review

Why the president of Egypt threatens the Libyan PNS: on the situation in Libya

19

Neighboring Egypt may enter the war in Libya. President Abdel Fatah al-Sisi demanded that the Government of National Accord Faiz Saraj stop the attack on Sirte and Al-Joufra.


Why al-Sisi threatens the Libyan PNS


Recently, the forces of Faiz Saraj have managed to gain a number of decisive victories over the Libyan national army of Khalifa Haftar. These victories, which actually made it possible to clear Tripolitania from the forces of the LNA, were possible thanks to the strong support that the PNS receives from Turkey. Unmanned aerial vehicles, military equipment, "cannon fodder" in the form of fighters from the Syrian Idlib became a significant help to the PNS troops. However, the success of the PNS in May-June 2020. The countries supporting Haftar were seriously alarmed, and first of all, the UAE, Saudi Arabia and Egypt.

The main task of the Arab regional powers is to prevent the strengthening of the influence of Turkey operating in North Africa, including Egypt and Libya, through the support of the Muslim Brotherhood (a banned organization). The Libyan national army of Khalifa Haftar is currently regarded as the only powerful armed force in the country capable of hampering the assertion of power by the Tripolitan government associated with Turkey.

Seeing that it was becoming increasingly difficult for Haftar’s troops to resist the onslaught of Saraj’s army, supported by Turkey, Field Marshal’s patrons took extreme measures: their readiness to intervene in the situation in Libya, as VO has already reported, said Egyptian President Abdel Fatah al-Sisi.

This threat should be taken very carefully, because Egypt has the largest armed forces in the Arab world. Meanwhile, a member of the Presidential Council of Libya, Mohamed Amari Zayed, has already called the statement by the Egyptian president a de facto declaration of war. Given that counting on one's own strengths in the confrontation with Cairo Tripoli is very stupid, after the start of the conflict with Egypt, the situation of Sarajah will completely depend on Turkey.

Turkey vs Egypt: war is undesirable for both countries


For Turkey, confronting the Egyptians in Libya can be all the more difficult because Turkey does not have a direct land border with Libya, but Egypt does. And Cairo can throw into Libya almost all of its numerous land army, which Turkey can never do. There will be hope only for the constant supply of weapons and mercenaries to the forces of the LNA, but then hostilities will unfold between Egyptian and Turkish fleets in the Mediterranean, which the Alliance is unlikely to allow.


So pro-Turkish forces see the balance of power in Libya


A Russian flag is marked on the map of pro-Turkish formations - places where PMCs from the Russian Federation are allegedly present.

Now Turkey, supporting Sarajah, is insisting on surrendering to the troops of the PNS Sirte and Al-Jufra. But Haftar refuses to surrender Sirte, and Saraj and his supporting Ankara are not ready to go for a truce. Moreover, Tripoli cannot arrange it: the Egyptian president demands not only to retreat from Al-Jufra and Sirte, but also to disarm most of the PNS formations.

It is possible that if the storming of Sirte begins, Egypt will send its troops into Libya. Another question is how decisive Al-Sisi will be in his actions in the neighboring state: the invasion may be limited to creating a buffer zone on the Libyan-Egyptian border, according to the model tested by Turkey in Syrian Idlib. The Egyptians can also proceed through the territories controlled by Haftar’s troops to the border with the zones of control of Saraj and prevent the latter from moving east to Cyrenaica, which, due to its geographical position, Egypt considers to be its sphere of influence.

If we talk about the worst case scenario, then Turkey will have no choice but to enter into a large-scale war in North Africa. After all, the Egyptian army will instantly destroy the troops of Saraj and under the control of opponents of Turkey will be almost the entire territory of Libya. Ankara does not want to allow this, but Turkey is clearly not ready for a war with Egypt. The waryness of France, the FRG, and Italy, which made a demand for an immediate cessation of foreign intervention in the Libyan conflict, is understandable.

France is dissatisfied with Turkish President Recep Erdogan, but given that Turkey is a member of NATO, it is extremely convenient for French President Emmanuel Macron to raise the issue of the need to reformat the entire defense and security system in Europe. After all, the French leader is known for his negative attitude towards NATO and frequent statements about the desirability of creating a separate European military bloc. Turkey will no longer have a place in this military alliance of the European Union.
Author:
Photos used:
Twitter / Egypt Defense Review, tarihpolitika
19 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. parusnik
    parusnik 26 June 2020 16: 13 New
    +2
    There is only one conclusion: Libya does not need an independent Libya. A snake ball of interests of different countries. Not one snake will prevent another snake from prevailing.
    1. NIKN
      NIKN 26 June 2020 16: 55 New
      +4
      Quote: parusnik
      There is only one conclusion: Libya does not need an independent Libya. A snake ball of interests of different countries. Not one snake will prevent another snake from prevailing.

      And this is so ..., Once again, it is clear that the people themselves are not interested in anyone. There is simply a blatant plunder, and all the United Nations and other organizations created supposedly for good purposes are just a weapon. recourse
      1. alone
        alone 26 June 2020 20: 10 New
        +7
        Quote: NIKNN
        Once again, it is clear that the people themselves are not interested in anyone.

        Nobody ever thinks about the people ..
  2. alone
    alone 26 June 2020 16: 14 New
    +7
    Egypt is not easy now .. In the Sinai, the Igilovites are still sitting, who from time to time beat the government troops from the ambush, Ethiopia, which with its dam practically endangered the entire Egyptian economy, which is highly dependent on the water level in the Nile .. An uneasy relationship with Sudan..And now also Libya, where along with Libya it will be necessary to fight with Turkey, with Qatar .. It is possible that if Egypt enters Libya, it will also face Tunisia and Algeria, which are also not so hot with Egypt .. And Algeria has the most powerful air force in Africa ..
    Hoping for the French is somehow unreasonable .. And just the United States began intensive negotiations with the PNS ... The Commander of the US troops in Africa became frequent there.
    So it’s very difficult to foresee something ...
    1. Gargantua
      Gargantua 26 June 2020 17: 39 New
      +7
      You may not believe it, but it is beneficial for Russia if a large batch with the participation of Egypt, Turkey and Algeria begins in Libya. Moreover, if such a conflict begins, a paradoxical situation will arise, Russia will be able to support all parties to the conflict at the same time in exchange for its conditions, greatly strengthening its influence in North Africa and the world as a whole.
      1. Hyperborean
        Hyperborean 27 June 2020 21: 19 New
        0
        Right to 100500%. This is the war most beneficial for Russia. And it’s profitable in everything: economically, politically and socially .. If it starts, then one can only hope that it will last as long as possible. Moreover, it is desirable that there is no clear winner at the end of the conflict ..
    2. bayard
      bayard 26 June 2020 18: 26 New
      0
      Quote: lonely
      Algeria has the most powerful air force in Africa ..

      Quote: lonely
      Hoping for the French is somehow unreasonable

      Egypt has already begun to receive 4 ++ Su-35 heavy fighters from Russia. And even earlier, MiG-29M2 fighters and S-300VE air defense systems were delivered to Egypt.
      Splitting and then abolishing NATO amid the riots, the collapse, and possibly the US civil war, is the cherished dream of the "old Europeans", and to create a united EU force. smile And Turkey will definitely not be in this community and military bloc. So the defeat of the Turkish expeditionary force in Libya is beneficial not only to Egypt, the United Arab Emirates, SA, France, etc., but also to many in old Europe.
      Turkey will tear harem pants on Libyan-Iraqi-Qatari-Syrian twine. And Russia will have absolutely nothing to do with this next catastrophe of Turkish statehood - Arabs and Europeans will do everything. And Russia will simply trade and supply weapons. yes
  3. knn54
    knn54 26 June 2020 16: 16 New
    +5
    War for peace.
    1. tech3030
      tech3030 26 June 2020 16: 22 New
      +3
      A paradox, but it is.
  4. Poetry
    Poetry 26 June 2020 16: 26 New
    +2
    The spiders in the spider jar began to eat each other.
  5. prior
    prior 26 June 2020 16: 35 New
    +2
    Europe kindled a "fire" in Libya. Now all the little hands are pulling to warm up.
    And what did these, if I may say so, "civilized" Europeans think ?!
    Cannibals, as cannibals are.
    It would be divine if the same boomerang massacre returned to Italy, France and other countries that participated in the aggression against Gaddafi.
  6. Pavel57
    Pavel57 26 June 2020 18: 06 New
    +1
    Everyone needs a small victorious war.
  7. Mavrikiy
    Mavrikiy 26 June 2020 18: 33 New
    -1
    So pro-Turkish forces see the balance of power in Libya
    Indelicate question. repeat Where are the flags of Turkey? There is none of them. So maybe she shut up! angry
  8. iouris
    iouris 26 June 2020 19: 10 New
    -1
    Most likely, NATO not only will not "intervene" in the conflict between the Turks and the Egyptians, but, most likely, is behind Egypt's back. It is noteworthy that the identity of the planes attacking Turkish forces in Libya has not yet been "established." This is pretty revealing.
  9. alone
    alone 26 June 2020 20: 08 New
    +2
    Quote: bayard
    And Turkey will definitely not be in this community and military bloc

    Without a second army, NATO has nothing to do with it .. NATO also knows that .. Turkey is the southern border of NATO .. ​​If Turkey is thrown out of NATO, the Black Sea, the borders of Transcaucasia are lost, and a final bold cross will be put on all NATO plans in this direction. ..I’m still silent about the large base in Incirlik .. Do you think that they don’t understand this at the NATO General Staff?
    1. iouris
      iouris 26 June 2020 23: 22 New
      -1
      Quote: lonely
      Turkey is the southern boundary of NATO ..

      Milestone on the way of what? NATO is an aggressive bloc (and this is not a slogan, the whole history of NATO indicates this).
    2. KURT330
      KURT330 27 June 2020 11: 21 New
      0
      He himself knows everything perfectly, just scribbles his wet dreams))
      He just wants to wink
  10. VyacheSeymour
    VyacheSeymour 27 June 2020 15: 46 New
    0
    And Cairo can throw into Libya almost all of its numerous land army, which Turkey can never do.

    Straight after all the whole army ???? ...- Nonsense !!! Only in Egypt itself is order, and the regime is supported by the army! But there are also external threats ... Yes, and the Muslim Brothers have not gone anywhere, and if there were no army, the fate of Al-Sisi would be sad ... And add here a significant part of the population (even without the Muslim Brotherhood), subject to the traditional influence of the Turks , - the picture for Egypt looms
    not rainbow ...

    After all, the Egyptian army will instantly destroy the troops of Saraj and under the control of opponents of Turkey will be almost the entire territory of Libya.

    What !!! -Arb coalition in Ymen also thought so ..- yes, the Hussites were not aware of this ...
  11. APASUS
    APASUS 27 June 2020 23: 32 New
    0
    First of all, Europe does not want another leap of refugees from Libya and this worries Macron. Well, they can’t afford to stay away from the division of oil wealth of the country, because it was not for nothing that they overthrew Gaddafi. Egypt needs an enemy to consolidate the society around the government and here many people need an enemy. Strangely enough, but everything goes to a global conflict

Военное обозрение

Почему президент Египта угрожает ливийскому ПНС: о ситуации в Ливии

19

В войну в Ливии может вступить соседний Египет. Президент Абдель Фатах ас-Сиси потребовал от Правительства национального согласия Фаиза Сараджа прекратить наступление на Сирт и Эль-Джуфру.


Почему ас-Сиси угрожает ливийскому ПНС


В последнее время войскам Фаиза Сараджа удалось одержать целый ряд решительных побед над Ливийской национальной армией Халифы Хафтара. Эти победы, фактически позволившие очистить Триполитанию от сил ЛНА, оказались возможными благодаря мощной поддержке, которую ПНС получает от Турции. Беспилотные летательные аппараты, военная техника, «пушечное мясо» в виде боевиков из сирийского Идлиба стали существенной помощью войскам ПНС. Однако успехи ПНС в мае-июне 2020 гг. серьезно насторожили страны, поддерживающие Хафтара, и в первую очередь – ОАЭ, Саудовскую Аравию и Египет.

Главная задача арабских региональных держав – не допустить усиления влияния Турции, действующей в Северной Африке, включая и Египет, и Ливию посредством поддержки «Братьев-мусульман» (запрещенная организация). Ливийская национальная армия Халифы Хафтара в настоящее время рассматривается как единственная мощная вооруженная сила в стране, способная помешать утверждению власти связанного с Турцией триполитанского правительства.

Видя, что войскам Хафтара становится все тяжелее противостоять натиску армии Сараджа, поддерживаемой Турцией, покровители фельдмаршала пошли на крайнюю меру: о своей готовности вмешаться в ситуацию в Ливии, как уже сообщало "ВО", заявил президент Египта Абдель Фатах ас-Сиси.

К этой угрозе стоит отнестись очень внимательно, поскольку Египет обладает крупнейшими в арабском мире вооруженными силами. Между тем, член Президентского совета Ливии Мохамед Амари Заид уже назвал заявление египетского президента фактическим объявлением войны. Учитывая, что рассчитывать на собственные силы в противостоянии с Каиру Триполи очень глупо, после начала конфликта с Египтом положение Сараджа будет полностью зависеть от Турции.

Турция vs Египет: война нежелательна обеим странам


Для Турции противостоять египтянам в Ливии может быть тем сложнее, что прямой сухопутной границы у Турции с Ливией нет, а у Египта есть. И Каир может бросить в Ливию практически всю свою многочисленную сухопутную армию, чего никогда не сможет сделать Турция. Останется надежда лишь на постоянные поставки вооружения и наемников силам ЛНА, но тогда развернутся боевые действия между египетским и турецким флотами в Средиземном море, что вряд ли допустит Североатлантический альянс.


Таким протурецкие силы видят расклад сил в Ливии


На карте протурецких формирований отмечен российский флаг - места, где якобы присутствуют ЧВК из РФ.

Сейчас Турция, поддерживающая Сараджа, настаивает на сдаче войскам ПНС Сирта и Эль-Джуфры. Но Хафтар сдать Сирт отказывается, а Сарадж и поддерживающая его Анкара на перемирие идти не готовы. Тем более, что условия его устроить Триполи не могут: египетский президент требует не только отступить от Эль-Джуфры и Сирта, но и разоружить большую часть формирований ПНС.

Не исключено, что если начнется штурм Сирта, Египет введет свои войска в Ливию. Другой вопрос, сколь решителен будет ас-Сиси в своих действиях в соседнем государстве: вторжение может ограничиться созданием буферной зоны на ливийско-египетской границе, по модели, опробованной Турцией в сирийском Идлибе. Также египтяне могут проследовать через контролируемые войсками Хафтара территории до границы с зонами контроля Сараджа и помешать продвижению последнего на восток, в Киренаику, которую, в силу географического положения, Египет считает своей сферой влияния.

Если говорить о самом худшем варианте развития событий, то Турции не останется иного выхода, как вступить в крупномасштабную войну в Северной Африке. Ведь египетская армия моментально уничтожит войска Сараджа и под контролем противников Турции окажется практически вся территория Ливии. Этого в Анкаре допустить не хотят, но и к войне с Египтом Турция явно не готова. Понятна настороженность Франции, ФРГ и Италии, которые выступили с требованием немедленного прекращения вмешательства иностранных государств в ливийский конфликт.

Франция недовольна турецким президентом Реджепом Эрдоганом, но если учесть, что Турция – член НАТО, для французского президента Эммануэля Макрона наступает крайне удобное время вновь поднять вопрос о необходимости переформатирования всей системы обороны и безопасности в Европе. Ведь французский лидер известен негативным отношением к НАТО и частыми заявлениями о желательности создания отдельного европейского военного блока. В этом военном альянсе Евросоюза Турции уже не будет места.
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
Twitter/Egypt Defence Review, tarihpolitika
19 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. parusnik
    parusnik 26 июня 2020 16:13 Новый
    +2
    Вывод один,не зависимая Ливия ни кому не нужна.Змеиный клубок интересов разных стран.Ни одна змея, не даст другой змее превалировать.
    1. НИКНН
      НИКНН 26 июня 2020 16:55 Новый
      +4
      Цитата: parusnik
      Вывод один,не зависимая Ливия ни кому не нужна.Змеиный клубок интересов разных стран.Ни одна змея, не даст другой змее превалировать.

      И это так..., В очередной раз видно , что сам по себе народ ни кого не интересует. Идет просто наглое разграбление, и все ооны и остальные организации созданные якобы в благих целях всего лишь чьето оружие. recourse
      1. одинокий
        одинокий 26 июня 2020 20:10 Новый
        +7
        Цитата: НИКНН
        В очередной раз видно , что сам по себе народ ни кого не интересует.

        Про народ никто никогда не думает..
  2. одинокий
    одинокий 26 июня 2020 16:14 Новый
    +7
    Египту сейчас непросто..В Синае до сих пор сидят Игиловцы,которые время от времени бьют по правительственным войскам из засады,Эфиопия ,которая со своей плотиной практически поставил под угрозу всю Египетскую экономику ,которая сильно зависит от уровня воды в Ниле..Непростые отношения с Суданом..А теперь еще и Ливия,где с наряду с Ливией придется боротся с Турцией,с Катаром..Не исключено что,если Египет войдет в Ливию,придется столкнутся еще и Тунисом и Алжиром,которые также с Египтом не ахти..А у Алжира самые мощные ВВС в Африке..
    Надеятся на Французов как то неразумно..А как раз США начали интенсивные переговоры с ПНС ...Туда зачастил Командующий войсками США в Африке.
    Так что конкретно что то предвидеть очень сложно...
    1. Гаргантюа
      Гаргантюа 26 июня 2020 17:39 Новый
      +7
      Можете не верить, но России выгодно, если в Ливии начнется крупный замес с участием Египта, Турции и Алжира. Более того, в случае начала такого конфликта сложится парадоксальная ситуация, Россия сможет поддерживать все стороны конфликта одновременно в обмен на свои условия, очень сильно усилив свое влияние в Северной Африке и в мире в целом.
      1. Гипербореец
        Гипербореец 27 июня 2020 21:19 Новый
        0
        Правы на 100500%. Это максимально выгодная для России война. Причем выгодная во всем:экономически,политически и социально.. Если она начнется,то остаётся надеяться,что продлится как можно дольше. При этом желательно чтобы не было однозначного победителя в конце конфликта..
    2. bayard
      bayard 26 июня 2020 18:26 Новый
      0
      Цитата: одинокий
      у Алжира самые мощные ВВС в Африке..

      Цитата: одинокий
      Надеятся на Французов как то неразумно

      Египет уже начал получать из России тяжелые истребители 4++ Су-35 . А ещё раньше в Египет были поставлены истребители МиГ-29М2 и ЗРК С-300ВЭ .
      Расколоть , а затем и упразднить НАТО на фоне мятежей , развала , а возможно и гражданской войны США , заветная мечта "старых европейцев" , и создать объединённые силы ЕС . smile И Турции в этом сообществе и военном блоке точно не будет . Так что разгром турецкого экспедиционного корпуса в Ливии выгоден не только Египту , ОАЭ , СА , Франции и пр. , но и многим в старой Европе .
      Турция порвёт шаровары на Ливийско-Иракско-Катарско-Сирийском шпагате . И Россия в этой очередной катастрофе туркцкой государственности будет абсолютно не при чём - всё сделают арабы и европейцы . А Россия будет просто торговать и поставлять оружие . yes
  3. knn54
    knn54 26 июня 2020 16:16 Новый
    +5
    Война за мир.
    1. tech3030
      tech3030 26 июня 2020 16:22 Новый
      +3
      Парадокс, но это так.
  4. Поэтиззаугла
    Поэтиззаугла 26 июня 2020 16:26 Новый
    +2
    Пауки в паучьей банке стали жрать друг друга.
  5. prior
    prior 26 июня 2020 16:35 Новый
    +2
    Разожгла Европа "костерок" в Ливии. Теперь все ручонки тянут, чтобы погреться.
    И чем только эти, с позволения сказать, "цивилизованные" европейцы думали?!
    Людоеды, как есть людоеды.
    Было бы по-божески, если бы такая же бойня бумерангом вернулась в Италию, во Францию и прочие страны, участвовавшие в агрессии против Каддафи.
  6. Pavel57
    Pavel57 26 июня 2020 18:06 Новый
    +1
    Всем нужна маленькая победоносная война.
  7. Mavrikiy
    Mavrikiy 26 июня 2020 18:33 Новый
    -1
    Таким протурецкие силы видят расклад сил в Ливии
    Нескромный вопрос. feel А где флажки Турции? Их нет. Так может она заткнется! angry
  8. iouris
    iouris 26 июня 2020 19:10 Новый
    -1
    Скорее всего, НАТО не только не "вмешается" в конфликт между турками и египтянами, но, скорее всего, и стоит за спиной Египта. Обращает на себя внимание, что принадлежность самолётов, атакующих турецкие силы в Ливии, до сих пор "не установлена". Это довольно показательно.
  9. одинокий
    одинокий 26 июня 2020 20:08 Новый
    +2
    Цитата: bayard
    И Турции в этом сообществе и военном блоке точно не будет

    Без второй армии НАТО не на что негодится..Этого знают и в НАТО..Турция южный рубеж НАТО..Если Турцию выкинут из НАТО ,потеряют Черное море,границы Закавказье,и на все планы НАТО на этом направлении будет поставлен окончательный жирный крест...Я еще молчу про крупную базу в Инджирлике..Думаете в Генштабе НАТО этого не понимают?
    1. iouris
      iouris 26 июня 2020 23:22 Новый
      -1
      Цитата: одинокий
      Турция южный рубеж НАТО..

      Рубеж на пути чего? НАТО - агрессивный блок (и это не лозунг, вся история НАТО указывает на это).
    2. KURT330
      KURT330 27 июня 2020 11:21 Новый
      0
      Он сам всё отлично знает, просто строчит свои влажные мечты))
      Ему просто так хочется wink
  10. ВячеSeymour
    ВячеSeymour 27 июня 2020 15:46 Новый
    0
    И Каир может бросить в Ливию практически всю свою многочисленную сухопутную армию, чего никогда не сможет сделать Турция.

    Прям уж таки всю армию ????...- БРЕД !!! Только лишь в самом Египте порядок , да и режим держатся на армии ! А ведь есть еще и внешнии угрозы ... Да и "Братья мусульмане " никуда не згинули , и не будь армии судьба Аль-Сиси будет печально...А добавте сюда значительную часть населения ( даже без Братьев мусульман) , подверженную традиционному влиянию турок ,- картина для Египта вырисовывается
    не радужная...

    Ведь египетская армия моментально уничтожит войска Сараджа и под контролем противников Турции окажется практически вся территория Ливии.

    Во как!!! -Арбская коаллиция в Ймене тоже так думала ..- да хуситы оказывается были не в курсе этого ...
  11. APASUS
    APASUS 27 июня 2020 23:32 Новый
    0
    Европа прежде всего не хочет очередного скачка беженцев из Ливии и это беспокоит Макрона .Ну и остаться в стороне ,от дележа нефтяных богатств страны тоже не могут себе позволить,ведь не зря они свергали Каддафи .Египту нужен враг ,для консолидации общества ,вокруг власти и тут многим враг нужен.Как ни странно ,но все идет к глобальному конфликту