Military Review

Chesme battle was the most important

10

It is believed that one of the white stripes on the turn-down blue collar of the uniform of sailors and foremen of the Russian Navy symbolizes the outstanding victory of the Russian sailors fleet over Turkish in the Chesme battle. Some clever man even “nailed” this version to Wikipedia, forever misleading the current readers. In fact, this battle has nothing to do with the number of stripes on the sailor’s guis. If only because the outstanding victories at sea among Russian sailors were much greater. But the fact that the naval battle in the Chesme Bay on July 7, 1770 became the largest in the era of the sailing fleet and predetermined the defeat of the Ottoman Empire in the Russian-Turkish war of 1768-1774, is beyond doubt.


Russians always appeared where they were not expected


XVIII century entered history as a period of constant clashes between the Russian and Ottoman empires. The interests of the two states intersected not only in the border region, but also in the Balkans, in the Transcaucasus, in the Crimea and even in Poland. One of the episodes of these clashes was the support of the national liberation movement in Greece in order to destabilize the situation within the Ottoman Empire. By decision of Catherine II, the Morea expedition was sent to the area of ​​upcoming military operations from the Baltic Sea to the Aegean, the general leadership of which was carried out by Count Alexei Orlov. The main shock force of the expedition was the squadron under the command of Admiral Grigory Spiridov.

Some sources mistakenly indicate the name of the admiral as follows: Sviridov. And they indicate that his grandchildren and great-grandchildren served in the fleet until our times, when Rear Admiral Viktor Sviridov headed the 30th division of surface ships of the Black Sea Fleet. This was denied by Viktor Petrovich himself, the son of simple parents, in our conversation with him. And he explained that in the footsteps of Admiral Grigory Spiridov, only his son, Alexei Grigoryevich, who also rose to the rank of admiral, went.

By the wildest coincidence (some ships suffered serious damage when crossing the sea, others suffered a contagious epidemic among the crews, and the two-masted sailboat “Lapomnik” hit the reefs and sank), by the end of autumn 1769 only one could approach Gibraltar from the whole Russian squadron 66-gun battleship "St. Eustathius Placida. " The command of the Russian fleet had to hurry to understaff the squadron with other ships. And by March next year, Spiridov's squadron consisted of seven pennants. It still remains unclear why the Turkish fleet did not take the opportunity to destroy the Russian ships one by one. Most likely, it just didn’t occur to them that the Russians might appear from the direction from which they were not expected.

Not by number, but by reduction. And by the power of the spirit


The first operations of our ships were exclusively landing. The main target of the paratroopers was the Greek rebels on the Peloponnese. While the Russian sailors thus “pumped up muscles”, reinforcements arrived to help our squadron. And by the beginning of summer, when the main battle at sea was brewing, the Russian squadron consisted of nine battleships, one bombardier ship, three frigates, and several small ships that played auxiliary roles. The total number of crews was about 6,5 thousand people.

The Turkish fleet was more impressive both in the total number of pennants (almost three times) and in the number of personnel. The only, but very significant advantage of the Russian crews was that the Turkish military commanders had almost no naval training, since they did not go further than the coastal waters of the Aegean. And the very first clash in the Gulf of Chios on July 5th demonstrated this. Even despite the unsuccessful start of the battle for our sailors.

The lead ships could not synchronize the approach maneuver; as a result, the battle order was disrupted. Despite this, Admiral Spiridov, located on "St. Efstafii ”, went a direct course to the 80-gun Turkish flagship“ Real Mustafa ”. The crew of our flagship behaved very worthy. Fighting the fire that arose from direct hits from Mustafa, Efstafy continued to move until he came close to the enemy ship. In a fierce boarding battle, Russian sailors set fire to and captured the Turkish flagship. The burning mast fell from him to Efstathius, causing a severe explosion. This destroyed both ships.

But here, our sailors, including from neighboring ships that organized the struggle to save those who were overboard, did not panic. Among those saved from the water were both Count Orlov and Admiral Spiridov. The Turks behaved completely differently, who were literally demoralized by what happened. As a result, of the 775 crew of the Real Mustafa crew, only 63 escaped. The Turkish naval commanders made an urgent decision to retreat with all their ships to Chesme Bay. Firstly, in order to recover and gain time, and secondly (mainly), counting on the fact that the Russians simply do not tuck into the bay, knowing about the powerful Turkish coastal artillery.

There was a fleet and no fleet


But our sailors could not be stopped. On the evening of July 6, the Baltic squadron with onboard guns from the battleships "Europe" and "Rostislav" began to shell Turkish ships that entered the bay. The shooting was more psychological in nature and at the same time was supposed to distract the Turks from the beginning of the movement of firewalls (a kamikaze ship used to set fire or undermine an enemy ship), which had been converted from small auxiliary vessels the day before. Of the four firewalls, only one reached the location of the Turkish fleet and set fire to the battleship. The explosion of the powder cellar on the ship caused truly gigantic destruction. Burning debris flew into other ships, spreading fire, and the sailing wooden ships of the Turks flashed one after another, like matches.

Further battle was pointless, and the Russian sailors, having ceased firing, began to rescue the surviving sailors - their yesterday’s enemies. By 8 a.m. on July 7, everything was over. The Ottoman Empire in just one night lost most of its fleet. Killed 15 battleships and 6 frigates; one ship and five galleys were captured.

Victory in the battle of Chesme became a real triumph of our fleet. She not only demonstrated to everyone how Russian sailors can fight, but also served as a weighty argument at the conclusion of the Kuchuk-Kainardzhi peace, which ended the Russo-Turkish war.

By the way, according to the Kuchuk-Kainardzhi peace treaty of 1774, the Crimean Khanate, which since 1580 has officially been a vassal of the Ottoman Empire, was recognized as independent from Turkey. And nine years later, with a census of Catherine II, Crimea, Taman and Kuban were annexed to Russia.

In memory of the victory near the fortress city of Chesma, a medal was minted, which depicted one of the scenes of the death of the Turkish fleet. In addition to the place and date of the battle, the medal had only one word: “Byl”. Which meant: "There was a Turkish fleet, but not now."
Author:
Photos used:
painting by I. Aivazovsky, commons.wikimedia.org
10 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. rocket757
    rocket757 7 July 2020 10: 29
    +7
    Great deeds, glorious victories of our ancestors.
    Remember everything and always praise.
  2. steelmaker
    steelmaker 7 July 2020 10: 45
    10
    In our history of exploits and heroism "a carriage and a small cart". But why does our cinema shoot all sorts of rubbish at the level of fantasy in a perverted form? The film, without an evil NKVD-schnik or commissar, is no longer filmed. Thank you for the article.
    Article 13, Part 1-2 of the Constitution, recognizes ideological diversity in the Russian Federation. No ideology can be established as state or mandatory.
    That is, a national ideology is prohibited, Russian ideology cannot be supported by the state! I want to remind some that the amendments to the Constitution did not concern this article. But Putin is not to blame here !?
  3. Olgovich
    Olgovich 7 July 2020 10: 50
    +9
    In memory of the victory near the fortress city of Chesma, a medal was minted, which depicted one of the scenes of the death of the Turkish fleet. In addition to the place and date of the battle, the medal had only one word: “Byl”. Which meant: "There was a Turkish fleet, but not now."
    Not only: in honor of this great victory by Catherine the Great, magnificent monuments were erected:
    the most beautiful Chesme Church in St. Petersburg

    Chesmenskaya (Oryol) column in Tsarskoye Selo

    And Count Orlov became Chesme
  4. Ragnar Lodbrok
    Ragnar Lodbrok 7 July 2020 10: 57
    15
    And he was Hannibal's father,
    Before whom amid the Chesme abysses
    A bunch of ships flared up
    And for the first time Navarin fell.



    Admiral G.A. Spiridov reported about this “maritime Victoria” to Empress Catherine II: “We attacked the enemy fleet, broke it, broke it, burned it, put it into heaven, turned it to ashes: but we ourselves became dominant in the whole archipelago.”
    Russian fleet under the command of admirals G.A. Spiridova and S.K. Greig blocked the Turkish fleet in Chesma Bay (Cesme) on the coast of Asia Minor and destroyed it, which ensured the Russian fleet dominance in the Aegean Sea and the blockade of the Dardanelles. The Turks lost 10 people in the battle, the Russians lost 000 people. Vivat !!!
    1. Sidor Amenpodestovich
      Sidor Amenpodestovich 7 July 2020 12: 17
      +2
      For this and drink is not a sin.
      Vivat!
  5. Sahalinets
    Sahalinets 7 July 2020 15: 58
    +2
    To quote Klyuchevsky:
    Combining with the other Elphingsston squadron, which had come up at the same time, Orlov pursued the Turkish fleet and in the Chios Strait near the Chesme fortresses he overtook the armada in the number of ships more than twice as strong as the Russian fleet. The daredevil was frightened when he saw the “building”, but the horror of the situation breathed in the desperate courage that was communicated to the entire crew, “to fall or destroy the enemy.” After a four-hour battle, when, after the Russian Eustache, the Turkish admiral ship set on fire also took off, the Turks took refuge in Chesme Bay (June 24, 1770). A day later, on a moonlit night, the Russians launched firewalls and in the morning the Turkish fleet crowded in the bay was burned down (June 26). As far back as 1768, on the occasion of the just undertaken sea expedition, Catherine wrote to one of her ambassadors: “If you please God, you will see miracles.” And miracles had already begun, one thing was clear: in the Archipelago there was a fleet worse than the Russian, and Orlov himself wrote from Livorno about this Russian fleet that “if we hadn’t dealt with the Turks, everyone would have been easily transferred.”

    So let's not fall into hysterical patriotism. Vasily Osipovich is much more authoritative than any of us, and is not even seen in Russophobia ... winked
    1. Bez 310
      Bez 310 7 July 2020 16: 11
      0
      All right!
      In the future, our fleet did not particularly shine with victories, unfortunately ...
      1. Sahalinets
        Sahalinets 7 July 2020 16: 16
        +1
        The Turks and Swedes defeated. They frankly saved before the English. Well, about the Japanese I will not ...
        1. Bez 310
          Bez 310 7 July 2020 16: 20
          0
          Well, I mean ...
  6. seagull
    seagull 8 July 2020 19: 03
    +1
    Previously, ships were wooden, and people were steel .... Now, on the contrary, ships are made of steel ....

Военное обозрение

Чесменский бой был важным самым

10

Бытует мнение, что одна из белых полос на отложном синем воротнике форменной одежды матросов и старшин ВМФ России символизирует выдающуюся победу моряков русского флота над турецким в Чесменском сражении. Какой-то умник даже «пригвоздил» эту версию в Википедию, навсегда введя нынешних читателей в заблуждение. На самом деле никакого отношения это сражение к количеству полос на матросском «гюйсе» не имеет. Хотя бы потому, что выдающихся побед на море у русских моряков было значительно больше. Но тот факт, что морское сражение в Чесменской бухте 7 июля 1770 года стало крупнейшим в эпоху парусного флота и предопределило поражение Османской империи в Русско-турецкой войне 1768-1774 гг., сомнению не подлежит.


Русские всегда появлялись там, где их не ждали


XVIII век вошёл в историю как период постоянных столкновений между Российской и Османской империями. Интересы двух государств пересекались не только в районе приграничья, но и на Балканах, в Закавказье, в Крыму и даже в Польше. Одним из эпизодов этих столкновений стала поддержка национально-освободительного движения в Греции с целью дестабилизации ситуации внутри Османской империи. По решению Екатерины II в район предстоящих боевых действий из Балтийского моря в Эгейское была направлена Морейская экспедиция, общее руководство которой осуществлял граф Алексей Орлов. Главной ударной силой экспедиции стала эскадра под командованием адмирала Григория Спиридова.

Некоторые источники ошибочно указывают фамилию адмирала так: Свиридов. И указывают, что его внуки и правнуки служили на флоте вплоть до наших времён, когда 30-ю дивизию надводных кораблей Черноморского флота возглавил контр-адмирал Виктор Свиридов. Это опроверг сам Виктор Петрович, сын простых родителей, в нашем разговоре с ним. И пояснил, что по стопам адмирала Григория Спиридова пошёл лишь его сын, Алексей Григорьевич, который тоже дослужился до воинского звания адмирала.

По дичайшему стечению обстоятельств (одни корабли получили серьезные повреждения при переходе морем, на других случилась заразная эпидемия среди экипажей, а двухмачтовый парусник «Лапомник» налетел на рифы и затонул), к концу осени 1769 года к Гибралтару из всей русской эскадры смог подойти лишь один 66-пушечный линкор «Св. Евстафий Плакида». Командованию русского флота пришлось в спешном порядке доукомплектовывать эскадру другими кораблями. И уже к марту следующего года эскадра Спиридова насчитывала семь вымпелов. До сих пор остается непонятным, почему турецкий флот не воспользовался возможностью уничтожить русские корабли по одиночке. Скорее всего, им просто в голову не пришло, что русские могут появиться с той стороны, откуда их не ждали.

Не числом, а уменьем. И ещё силой духа


Первые операции наших кораблей носили исключительно десантный характер. Главной целью десантников были греческие повстанцы на полуострове Пелопоннес. Пока русские моряки таким образом «накачивали мускулы», на подмогу нашей эскадре прибыло подкрепление. И к началу лета, когда назревало главное сражение на море, в состав русской эскадры входило девять линейных кораблей, один бомбардирский корабль, три фрегата и несколько малых судов, игравших вспомогательные роли. Общее число экипажей составляло около 6,5 тыс. человек.

Турецкий флот был более внушительным как по общему количеству вымпелов (почти втрое), так и по численности личного состава. Единственным, но очень существенным преимуществом русских экипажей было то, что турецкие военморы почти не имели морской выучки, поскольку далее прибрежных вод Эгейского моря не ходили. И первое же боестолкновение в Хиосском заливе 5 июля это продемонстрировало. Даже несмотря на неудачное начало боя для наших моряков.

Головные корабли не смогли синхронно выполнить маневр сближения, в результате боевой порядок был нарушен. Невзирая на это, адмирал Спиридов, находящийся на «Св. Ефстафии», пошел прямым курсом на 80-пушечный турецкий флагман «Реал Мустафу». Очень достойно повёл себя экипаж нашего флагмана. Борясь с пожаром, возникшим от прямых попаданий с «Мустафы», «Ефстафий» продолжил движение до тех пор, пока не сблизился вплотную с вражески кораблем. В жестоком абордажном бою русские моряки подожгли и захватили турецкий флагман. Горящая мачта с него упала на «Ефстафий», вызвав сильнейший взрыв. Это погубило оба корабля.

Но и здесь наши моряки, в том числе с соседних кораблей, которые организовали борьбу за спасение оказавшихся за бортом, особо не паниковали. В числе спасенных из воды были и граф Орлов, и адмирал Спиридов. Совершенно по-другому повели себя турки, которые были буквально деморализованы случившимся. В результате из 775 человек экипажа «Реал-Мустафы» спаслись лишь 63. Турецкие флотоводцы приняли срочное решение отступить всеми своими кораблями в Чесменскую бухту. Во-первых, чтобы прийти в себя и выиграть время, во-вторых (в главных), в расчёте на то, что русские попросту не сунутся в бухту, зная о мощной турецкой береговой артиллерии.

Был флот, и нет флота


Но наших моряков было уже не остановить. Вечером 6 июля балтийская эскадра бортовыми орудиями с линейных кораблей «Европа» и «Ростислав» начала обстреливать турецкие корабли, зашедшие в бухту. Стрельба носила скорее психологический характер и вместе с тем должна была отвлечь турок от начала движения брандеров (судно-«камикадзе», используемое для поджога или подрыва вражеского корабля), которые накануне были переделаны из малых вспомогательных судов. Из четырёх брандеров лишь один достиг расположения турецкого флота и поджёг линейный корабль. Взрыв порохового погреба на корабле произвёл поистине гигантские разрушения. Горящие обломки полетели на другие корабли, разнося огонь, и парусные деревянные корабли турок вспыхивали один за другим, словно спички.

Дальнейшее ведение боя было бессмысленным, и русские моряки, прекратив стрельбу, занялись спасением выживших матросов – своих вчерашних врагов. К 8 ч. утра 7 июля все было кончено. Османская империя всего за одну ночь лишилась большей части своего флота. Погибло 15 линейных кораблей и 6 фрегатов; один корабль и пять галер были захвачены.

Победа в Чесменском сражении стала настоящим триумфом нашего флота. Она не только продемонстрировала всем, как русские моряки могут воевать, но и послужила весомым аргументом при заключении Кючук-Кайнарджийского мира, завершившего Русско-турецкую войну.

Кстати, по Кючук-Кайнарджийскому мирному договору от 1774 года Крымское ханство, которое с 1580 года официально являлось вассалом Османской империи, признавалось независимым от Турции. А еще через девять лет рескриптом Екатерины II Крым, Тамань и Кубань были присоединены к России.

В память о победе близ города-крепости Чесма была отчеканена медаль, на которой изображалась одна из сцен гибели турецкого флота. Кроме места и даты битвы, на медали было всего одно слово: «Былъ». Что означало: «Был турецкий флот, а нет теперь».
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
картина И. Айвазовского, commons.wikimedia.org
10 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. rocket757
    rocket757 7 июля 2020 10:29 Новый
    +7
    Великие дела, славные победы наших предков.
    Помнить всё и славить всегда.
  2. сталевар
    сталевар 7 июля 2020 10:45 Новый
    +10
    В нашей истории подвигов и героизма "вагон и маленькая тележка". Но почему наш кинематограф снимает всякую дрянь на уровне фантастики в извращённой форме? Фильм, без злого НКВД-шника или комиссара, уже не снимают. Спасибо за статью.
    Ст.13 ч.1-2 Конституции в РФ признаётся идеологическое многообразие. Никакая идеология не может устанавливаться в качестве государственной или обязательной.
    То есть запрещена национальная идеология, российская идеология не может быть поддержана государством! Хочу напомнить некоторым что поправки в Конституцию не касались этой статьи. Но Путин здесь не виноват!?
  3. Ольгович
    Ольгович 7 июля 2020 10:50 Новый
    +9
    В память о победе близ города-крепости Чесма была отчеканена медаль, на которой изображалась одна из сцен гибели турецкого флота. Кроме места и даты битвы, на медали было всего одно слово: «Былъ». Что означало: «Был турецкий флот, а нет теперь».
    Не только : в честь этой великой победы Екатериной Великой были устанвлены величественные памятники:
    красивейшая Чесменская церковть в С Петербурге

    Чесменская (Орловская) колонна в Царском Селе

    А граф Орлов стал ЧЕСМЕНСКИМ
  4. Рагнар лодброк
    Рагнар лодброк 7 июля 2020 10:57 Новый
    +15
    И был отец он Ганнибала,
    Пред кем средь чесменских пучин
    Громада кораблей вспылала
    И пал впервые Наварин.



    Адмирал Г.А. Спиридов сообщал об этой «морской виктории» императрице Екатерине II: «Неприятельский флот мы атаковали, разбили, разломали, сожгли, на небо пустили, в пепел обратили: а сами стали быть во всем архипелаге господствующими».
    Русский флот под командованием адмиралов Г.А. Спиридова и С.К. Грейга блокировал турецкий флот в бухте Чесма (Чешме) на побережье Малой Азии и уничтожил его, что обеспечило русскому флоту господство в Эгейском море и блокаду Дарданелл. Турки потеряли в сражении 10 000 человек, русские – 11 человек убитыми.Виват!!!
    1. Сидор Аменподестович
      Сидор Аменподестович 7 июля 2020 12:17 Новый
      +2
      За это и выпить не грех.
      Виват!
  5. Sahalinets
    Sahalinets 7 июля 2020 15:58 Новый
    +2
    Процитирую Ключевского:
    Соединившись с подошедшей между тем другой эскадрой Эльфингстона, Орлов погнался за турецким флотом и в Хиосском проливе близ крепостцы Чесме настиг армаду по числу кораблей больше чем вдвое сильнее русского флота. Смельчак испугался, увидев «оное сооружение», но ужас положения вдохнул отчаянную отвагу, сообщившуюся и всему экипажу, «пасть или истребить неприятеля». После четырехчасового боя, когда вслед за русским «Евстафием» взлетел на воздух и подожженный им турецкий адмиральский корабль, турки укрылись в Чесменскую бухту (24 июня 1770 г.). Через день в лунную ночь русские пустили брандеры и к утру скученный в бухте турецкий флот был сожжен (26 июня). Еще в 1768 г. по поводу только что предпринятой морейской экспедиции Екатерина писала одному своему послу: «Если богу угодно, увидишь чудеса». И чудеса уже начались, одно было налицо: в Архипелаге нашелся флот хуже русского, а об этом русском флоте сам Орлов писал из Ливорно, что, «если б мы не с турками имели дело, всех бы легко передавили».

    Так что давайте не будем впадать в истерический патриотизм. Василий Осипович куда авторитетнее любого из нас, да и в русофобии не замечен... winked
    1. Bez 310
      Bez 310 7 июля 2020 16:11 Новый
      0
      Все верно!
      В дальнейшем, наш флот победами особо не блистал, к сожалению...
      1. Sahalinets
        Sahalinets 7 июля 2020 16:16 Новый
        +1
        Побеждали турок и шведов. Перед англичанами откровенно спасовали. Ну а про японцев не буду...
        1. Bez 310
          Bez 310 7 июля 2020 16:20 Новый
          0
          Ну и я о том...
  6. seagull
    seagull 8 июля 2020 19:03 Новый
    +1
    Раньше корабли были деревянные, а люди стальные.... Сейчас наоборот, корабли из стали....