Military Review

Missing hypersonic

2
The experimental hypersonic percussion apparatus, launched by the US military, developed speed in Mach 20 - and disappeared.



The development of such systems is carried out within the framework of the extremely ambitious - and, of course, highly secret - program of the Pentagon Prompt Global Strike. In short, its task is to be able to hit a target anywhere in the world with a delay of no more than an hour. Well, more about the project, we have already told in the article "Thunder from the Blue".

One of the elements of the program is the Falcon hypersonic aircraft, which ultimately must be able to reach enormous speeds and fly in lower space, covering thousands of kilometers in minutes. April 22 held the first flight tests of the unit Falcon HTV-2.

Launched aboard a carrier rocket from an air force base in California, the HTV-2 had to rise above the atmosphere and, maneuvering, descend, gaining astonishing speed — Mach 20. This is not just a hypersound, but a so-called fast hypersound, speed close to 30 thousand km / h. Apparatuses capable of flying at such a speed require coating with ceramic thermal protection tiles. The wings are incapable of carrying them, they will not stand, and the decision, it is considered, must necessarily be solved according to the aerodynamic scheme "Bearing case". This is exactly what the HTV-2 looks like, but this is not known for sure: only the drawings of the exterior of the device, and no photographs, are made public.

So, having started from California, HTV-2, after just 30 minutes, was supposed to hit the Pacific Ocean, north of the Air Force and Navy base on Kwajalein Atoll. But instead of this, the apparatus crammed with sophisticated electronics, autonomous navigation system, assembled from the strongest heat-resistant composites, 9 minutes after the start of the flight disappeared.

The developers and the military who controlled the tests, lost contact with him, and what was the reason for this is still completely unclear. However, they declare that the first flight cannot be called completely unsuccessful. At least, the HTV-2 successfully climbed on the carrier, safely disconnected from it, and even managed to carry out a number of maneuvers in the air, "switching to a controlled flight in the atmosphere at a speed exceeding Mach 20".

However, for the Prompt Global Strike program itself, this event will not be a serious blow. In order to achieve this goal, the entire 3 family of various technological solutions is being developed in parallel.



The first is to re-equip existing intercontinental ballistic missiles with conventional weapons instead of nuclear ones. True, this option, according to experts, is fraught with unpredictable reaction from other nuclear powers: by fixing the launch of a similar rocket, one cannot be sure that it carries a charge.

The second group of solutions consists in creating not too distant cruise missiles capable of reaching the speed of the 5-6 Mach, and placing them on bases around the world (the prototype of one of them, the X-51 Waverider, should be tested in December of this year).

Finally, the third option - the development of vehicles like the HTV-2, suitable for placement directly in the continental US - and from there within one hour to reach any point on the globe. With a trajectory reaching the near space, with appropriate speeds - no one will confuse them with a nuclear strike. Unless such devices themselves will not be equipped with nuclear warheads. So far, fortunately, this is far away.
Originator:
http://www.popmech.ru"rel =" nofollow ">http://www.popmech.ru
2 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Honory
    Honory 28 June 2012 21: 41
    0
    And they have failures
  2. kgbers
    kgbers 8 February 2015 01: 18
    0
    Yes, the Americans are just fanatics. Instead of developing the future together with the whole world, they think about how to destroy someone faster. fool

Пропавший гиперзвуковой

Экспериментальный гиперзвуковой ударный аппарат, запущенный американскими военными, развил скорость в 20 Маха – и исчез.

Пропавший гиперзвуковой


Разработка подобных систем ведется в рамках крайне амбициозной – и, конечно, строго секретной – программы Пентагона Prompt Global Strike. Если коротко, то задача ее – суметь поразить цель в любой точке земного шара с запозданием не более часа. Ну а подробнее о проекте мы уже рассказывали в статье «Гром с ясного неба».


Один из элементов программы – гиперзвуковые летательные аппараты Falcon, которые в итоге должны быть способны достигать колоссальных скоростей и совершать полет в нижнем космосе, покрывая тысячи километров за считанные минуты. 22 апреля состоялись первые летные испытания одного аппарата Falcon HTV-2.

Запущенный на борту ракеты-носителя с базы ВВС в Калифорнии, HTV-2 должен был подняться над атмосферой и, маневрируя, снижаться, набрав поразительную скорость – 20 Маха. Это уже не просто гиперзвук, а так называемый быстрый гиперзвук, скорость, близкая к 30 тыс. км/ч. Апараты, способные летать на такой скорости, требуют покрытия керамическими термозащитными плитками. Крылья нести их неспособны, не выдержат, и решение, считается, обязательно должны быть решены по аэродинамической схеме «Несущий корпус». Именно так, как считается, и выглядит HTV-2, а в точности это неизвестно: обнародованы лишь рисунки внешнего вида аппарата, и никаких фотоснимков.

Итак, стартовав из Калифорнии, HTV-2 спустя всего 30 минут должен был ударить в Тихий океан, к северу от базы ВВС и ВМС на атолле Кваджалейн. Но вместо того напичканный сложной электроникой системой автономной навигации, собранный из прочнейших термостойких композитов аппарат спустя 9 минут после начала полета исчез.

Разработчики и военные, контролировавшие испытания, потеряли с ним связь, и что послужило тому причиной – пока совершенно неясно. Впрочем, они заявляют, что первый полет нельзя назвать полностью неудачным. По крайней мере, HTV-2 успешно поднялся на носителе, благополучно отсоединился от него и успел даже провести ряд маневров в воздухе, «перейдя к контролируемому полету в атмосфере на скорости более 20 Маха».

Впрочем, для самой программы Prompt Global Strike серьезным ударом это событие не станет. Для достижения этой цели параллельно разрабатывается целых 3 семейства разных технологических решений.

Пропавший гиперзвуковой


Первое – по переоснащению имеющихся межконтинентальных баллистических ракет обычным вооружением вместо ядерного. Правда, этот вариант, по словам экспертов, чреват непредсказуемой реакцией со стороны других ядерных держав: зафиксировав старт подобной ракеты, нельзя быть уверенным, что за заряд она несет.

Вторая группа решений состоит в создании не слишком дальних крылатых ракет, способных достигать скорости 5-6 Маха, и размещении их на базах по всему миру (прототип одной из них, X-51 Waverider, должен быть испытан в декабре нынешнего года).

Наконец, третий вариант – разработка аппаратов, подобных HTV-2, подходящих для размещения непосредственно в континентальной части США – и оттуда в пределах одного часа достигать любой точки земного шара. С траекторией, достигающей ближнего космоса, с соответствующими скоростями – их с ядерным ударом никто не перепутает. Если только сами такие аппараты не будут оснащаться ядерными боеголовками. Пока, по счастью, до этого далеко.
Первоисточник: http://www.popmech.ru" class="text" rel="nofollow" target="_blank">http://www.popmech.ru


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 2
  1. Gonoriy 28 июня 2012 21:41
    И у них бывают неудачи
  2. kgbers 8 февраля 2015 01:18
    Да америкосы - просто фанатики. Вместо того, чтобы совместно со всем миром развивать будущее, они думают, как бы кого быстрее уничтожить. fool

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня