Military Review

The answer to China and Russia: the new Japanese generation of fighters is on the way

18

Not the Raptor or the Black Widow



The Japanese until the last hoped to get an American F-22, but the Americans made it clear that this car would never be exported. Meanwhile, the issue of replacing the fourth generation has not gone away. And this is not only a replacement for the F-4 and F-15, but also for the Mitsubishi F-2, which is nothing more than a deep modernization of the F-16. Now these machines are the basis of the Japanese Air Force: a total of 94 serial ones were built, eighteen of which were damaged by the tsunami on March 11, 2011. Some damaged fighters had to be written off.

Today, the main hope of the Japanese - the supply of American F-35. The Air Force Self-Defense Forces have already delivered eighteen F-35A aircraft (one of them crashed on April 9, 2019). On July XNUMX, it became known that the US Department of Defense Agency for Military Cooperation sent The US Congress reported on the planned upcoming sale to the Japanese of another 105 F-35s: 63 “ordinary” F-35As and 42-F-35Bs with short take-off and vertical landing.

But what about the development of a national fighter? For a long time, it was believed that the Land of the Rising Sun would not go further than creating a technology demonstrator Mitsubishi X-2 Shinshin, which first flew up on April 22, 2016. However, it soon became clear that the F-35 alone was not enough for the Japanese. At one time, such giants as BAE, Lockheed Martin and Northrop Grumman wanted to help develop a conditionally “their” fighter. Behind the latter is the development of YF-23, a competitor to the F-22, which "did not fire."


Experts believed that Japan could order Northrop to create a promising machine based on YF-23 technology. In turn, LM wanted to play on the desire of the Japanese to get the F-22. “Lockheed Martin is encouraged by the ongoing dialogue between the US government and the Japanese government regarding plans to replace the F-2 in Japan and looks forward to detailed discussions with the Japanese industry,” the company said earlier. The company's proposal involved the creation of a kind of hybrid F-22 and F-35.

However, on March 27, 2020, Reuters, citing its sources, reported that Japan wants to develop a new generation fighter itself, they decided to refuse proposals from foreign partners. The next step, logically flowing from this, was the formation of the appearance of the future machine. It is too early to talk about exactly what the new aircraft will be, but the general concept is generally clear.

In short, the car will have almost nothing to do with the X-2 Shinshin, also known as the ATD-X. The recent financial report of the Japanese Ministry of Defense refers to a certain Next Generation Fighter - a large multi-purpose combat vehicle (Shinshin is comparable in size to a Gripen fighter). An image of a fighter was also presented there: in appearance the concept is similar to the sixth generation heavy fighters being developed now in Europe - the British Tempest and the pan-European FCAS.

The answer to China and Russia: the new Japanese generation of fighters is on the way

Speed ​​up development


Next important news was the information presented in July this year by Defense News. According to these data, on July 2020, the Ministry of Defense of Japan submitted a draft plan for the development of a new fighter. The general contractor for the program will be selected by the beginning of next year, and this can happen in October 2024. This step allows you to determine the basic parameters. The next stage will be the production of the first prototype fighter, which they plan to start in 2028. We intend to conduct flight tests in 2031, and the serial production of the fighter is scheduled for 2030. The beginning of the full operation of the machine, according to the information presented, can be expected in the mid-XNUMXs.

From the outside, all these dates seem too optimistic, especially when you consider that after the Second World War, the country practically did not develop its own fighters from scratch. The only exception is the Mitsubishi F-1 - a Japanese fighter-bomber, created on the basis of the training Mitsubishi T-2 and already withdrawn from service.


If we assume that the Japanese will be able to meet the deadlines, then they can get a new generation fighter earlier than the Europeans. Recall that the aforementioned Tempest and Franco-German fighters intend to adopt around the end of the 2030s, when Dassault Rafale and Eurofighter Typhoon will no longer meet the requirements of their time.

In the future, the new Japanese fighter will replace all 90 Mitsubishi F-2s, which should be decommissioned in the mid-2030s. It is too early to talk about what opportunities the new product will have. The Japanese said that the new aircraft should be inconspicuous and compatible with US military complexes. Probably, this is a partial unification of systems, as well as the ability to exchange information on the battlefield.

The fight for Asia


The development of a national fighter is directly related to the realities that take place in the Asia-Pacific region. On the one hand, there is a clear strengthening of China, which, recall, back in 2017, adopted its own fifth-generation fighter J-20. On the other, US policy is unpredictable in recent years, as well as the frequently repeated theses on American isolationism.


Simply put, the Land of the Rising Sun understands that at some stage, it will probably have to remain face to face with threats. And in this situation, it is better to have a developed military-industrial complex (this also applies to aircraft manufacturing) than to always rely on the distant United States. Fortunately, Japan can afford it. At least from a purely financial point of view.

A promising Japanese fighter is also an answer to the appearance of the Su-57: a conceptually more successful aircraft than the Chinese J-20. In addition, do not forget that the capabilities of the Mitsubishi F-2, which does not have stealth technology, can be largely leveled by the new Russian anti-aircraft missile systems S-400 and S-350.

In theory, Japan could limit itself to purchasing F-35s, acquiring additional Lightings in the future and bringing their total number to several hundred. However, it must be assumed that the national prestige of one of the leading economies in the world, as well as the anti-American sentiments taking place, played its role.
Author:
18 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. KCA
    KCA 14 July 2020 05: 38 New
    +2
    The author, apparently from the Highlanders, was used to thinking in terms of “eternity”, 8 years before flight tests, it’s not just on the way, it’s a ready-made fighter, Russia and China recognized Japan’s undoubted advantage in fighter aviation and surrendered over the Kuril Islands and Sakhalin the new sun has risen ...
    1. Megatron
      Megatron 20 September 2020 19: 20 New
      0
      Without the states, Japan will not be able to yell at Russia and China, or even think about all the disputed territories.
  2. Jack O'Neill
    Jack O'Neill 14 July 2020 06: 07 New
    +1
    The concept is already there - VF19A.
    1. Sergey_G_M
      Sergey_G_M 14 July 2020 07: 02 New
      +1
      No, this is the twenty-third generation, and so far it’s about the fifth wink
      1. Jack O'Neill
        Jack O'Neill 14 July 2020 08: 15 New
        +2
        No, this is the twenty-third generation, but it is still about the fifth wink

        Well do not tell. The Japanese have long built a combat robot (RX-78-2), which is disguised as a statue.

        If you want to hide something, then hide it in plain sight. This is what the Japanese did, put up a real combat mech as a statue. And how many there are in their warehouses, only God knows!
  3. Hydrography Bay Golden Horn
    Hydrography Bay Golden Horn 14 July 2020 07: 06 New
    -3
    Japan has a complete qualitative advantage in this direction both in the sea and in the air
    1. Sergey_G_M
      Sergey_G_M 14 July 2020 07: 12 New
      +3
      In which direction? Who is the advantage over?
  4. Greenwood
    Greenwood 14 July 2020 07: 46 New
    +5
    Knowing the Japanese, their mentality of hard working people, production culture and developed industry, I think that within the specified time they are quite capable of coping.
    1. dvina71
      dvina71 14 July 2020 08: 47 New
      0
      Quote: Greenwood
      their mentality of hard working people

      They would still have creativity and curiosity .. the world would have spoken on nihongo ..
    2. Charik
      Charik 14 July 2020 19: 29 New
      0
      yeah if the man-made tsunami will not wash away
      1. Greenwood
        Greenwood 15 July 2020 14: 35 New
        0
        And who has the courage to create it?
        1. Charik
          Charik 15 July 2020 15: 42 New
          0
          11-11-jokes as if
  5. dgonni
    dgonni 14 July 2020 11: 48 New
    +1
    Normal article, even with analytics. Only the author bypasses the casual sharp corners in the form that it will be a sixth generation aircraft. Given the fact that the states hardly managed to dissuade the Japanese from developing their fifth generation aircraft by selling the F5 and promising the F35. But on board in this matter. Then the Japanese will receive their 22th generation fighter at the indicated time, if not earlier.
    The question is whether by then the Su57 would be in normal numbers. And what about the development of the sixth generation of Sukhoi and Mikoyan?
  6. Undecim
    Undecim 14 July 2020 12: 25 New
    +2
    However, on March 27, 2020, Reuters, citing its sources, reported that Japan wants to develop a new generation fighter itself, they decided to refuse the offers of foreign partners.
    For site newsmakers, the information is outdated. Today it is impossible to operate with information half a year ago.
    Just yesterday, Defense Connect, citing The Japan Times, reported that JASDF and the Department of Defense will determine a preliminary partnership framework for the development of the FX fighter by December 2020. Today, Mitsubishi Heavy Industries is in talks with Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman and Boeing from the United States and with four British firms.
  7. Joker62
    Joker62 15 July 2020 07: 48 New
    +1
    Quote: Greenwood
    Knowing the Japanese, their mentality of hard working people, production culture and developed industry, I think that within the specified time they are quite capable of coping.

    If only Japan itself does not go under water by this time due to the constant seismic activity of this island ...
    1. The comment was deleted.
  8. Herman 4223
    Herman 4223 15 July 2020 16: 09 New
    0
    India, Korea, Japan, Britain, Europe, even Turkey all of a sudden everyone wanted to do their planes. Can the hegemon allow the creation of such global competition in the market, after all, almost everything from the list of its vassals.
    1. Pandiurin
      Pandiurin 29 August 2020 20: 06 New
      +1
      The price tag is of course too high, which stimulates the creation of something of your own. But it is not so profitable, the costs of own R&D are very high.
      Most likely there is a desire to get away from dependence on the "hegemon". Painfully, they like to put pressure on any matter that does not concern them, but they have their own hegemonic opinion on some issue.
      С400 - Turkey
      Chinese 5G networks - pressure on the EU and others.
      MTC with Russia - India
      SP2 - Germany
      And etc.

      The trend is such that similar problems with the United States on various topics will only multiply in the future, most likely mainly in China.

      It becomes very costly to depend on the United States.
      1. Herman 4223
        Herman 4223 30 August 2020 17: 55 New
        0
        Any addiction is costly and dangerous.

Военное обозрение

Ответ Китаю и России: на подходе новое японское поколение истребителей

15

Не «Раптор» и не «Черная вдова»



Японцы до последнего надеялись получить американские F-22, однако американцы четко дали понять, что эту машину никогда не будут поставлять на экспорт. Между тем вопрос замены четвертого поколения никуда не делся. Причем речь идет не только о замене для F-4 и F-15, но также и для Mitsubishi F-2, который есть не что иное, как глубокая модернизация F-16. Сейчас эти машины — основа японских ВВС: всего построили 94 серийных, восемнадцать из которых пострадали в результате цунами, произошедшего 11 марта 2011 года. Некоторые поврежденные истребители пришлось списать.

На сегодня главная надежда японцев — поставки американских F-35. ВВС Сил самообороны уже поставили восемнадцать самолетов F-35A (один из них разбился 9 апреля 2019 года). Девятого июля стало известно, что Агентство министерства обороны США по военному сотрудничеству отправило американскому Конгрессу сообщение о планируемой предстоящей продаже японцам еще 105 F-35: 63 «обычных» F-35A и 42 — F-35B c укороченным взлетом и вертикальной посадкой.

А как же разработка национального истребителя? Долгое время считалось, что Страна восходящего солнца не пойдет дальше создания демонстратора технологий Mitsubishi X-2 Shinshin, который впервые поднялся в небо 22 апреля 2016 года. Однако вскоре стало ясно, что японцам недостаточно одних F-35. Помощь в разработке условно «своего» истребителя им в свое время хотели оказать такие гиганты, как BAE, Lockheed Martin и Northrop Grumman. За спиной у последнего — разработка YF-23, конкурента F-22, который «не выстрелил».


Эксперты полагали, что Япония может заказать Northrop создание перспективной машины на основе технологий YF-23. В свою очередь, LM хотела сыграть на желании японцев получить F-22. «Lockheed Martin воодушевлена продолжающимся диалогом между правительством США и правительством Японии относительно планов замены F-2 в Японии и с нетерпением ожидает подробных обсуждений с японской промышленностью», — заявила ранее компания. Предложение компании предполагало создание своего рода гибрида F-22 и F-35.

Однако 27 марта 2020 года Reuters со ссылкой на свои источники сообщило, что Япония хочет сама разработать истребитель нового поколения, от предложений зарубежных партнеров решили отказаться. Следующим этапом, логично проистекающим от этого, стало формирование облика будущей машины. Сейчас рано говорить о том, каким именно будет новый самолет, однако общая концепция в целом понятна.

Если вкратце, то машина не будет иметь почти ничего общего с X-2 Shinshin, известного также как ATD-X. В недавнем финансовом отчете японского Минобороны идет речь о некоем Next Generation Fighter — крупной многоцелевой боевой машине (Shinshin по своим размерам сравним с истребителем Gripen). Там же было представлено изображение истребителя: внешне концепт похож на разрабатываемые сейчас в Европе тяжелые истребители шестого поколения — британский Tempest и общеевропейский FCAS.

Ответ Китаю и России: на подходе новое японское поколение истребителей

Ускорение разработки


Следующей важной новостью стала информация, представленная в июле этого года изданием Defense News. Согласно этим данным, седьмого июля Министерство обороны Японии представило проект плана разработки нового истребителя. Генеральный подрядчик по программе будет выбран к началу следующего года, причем это может произойти уже в октябре 2020-го. Данный шаг позволит определить базовые параметры. Следующим этапом станет производство первого опытного образца истребителя, которое планируют начать в 2024 году. Летные испытания намерены провести в 2028 году, а серийный выпуск истребителя намечен на 2031-й. Начало полноценной эксплуатации машины, согласно представленной информации, можно ожидать в середине 2030-х годов.

Со стороны все эти даты кажутся слишком оптимистичными, особенно если учесть, что после Второй мировой страна практически не разрабатывала собственных истребителей с нуля. Исключение составляет разве что Mitsubishi F-1 — японский истребитель-бомбардировщик, созданный на базе учебно-тренировочного Mitsubishi T-2 и уже снятый с вооружения.


Если же допустить, что японцам удастся соблюсти сроки, то они могут получить истребитель нового поколения раньше, чем европейцы. Напомним, вышеупомянутые Tempest и франко-германский истребители намерены принять на вооружение примерно в конце 2030-х, когда Dassault Rafale и Eurofighter Typhoon уже не будут отвечать требованиям своего времени.

В перспективе новый японский истребитель заменит все 90 Mitsubishi F-2, которые должны быть выведены из эксплуатации в середине 2030-х. О том, какие возможности будут у новинки, говорить пока рано. Японцы заявляли, что новый самолет должен быть малозаметным и совместимым с боевыми комплексами США. Вероятно, речь идет о частичной унификации систем, а также возможности обмениваться информацией на поле боя.

Борьба за Азию


Разработка национального истребителя напрямую связана с реалиями, которые имеют место в Азиатско-тихоокеанском регионе. С одной стороны, имеет место явное усиление Китая, который, напомним, еще в 2017 году принял на вооружение свой собственный истребитель пятого поколения J-20. С другой — непредсказуемая в последние годы политика США, а также часто повторяющиеся тезисы об американском изоляционизме.


Проще говоря, Страна восходящего солнца понимает, что на каком-то этапе, ей, вероятно, придется остаться с угрозами один на один. А в этой ситуации лучше иметь развитой военно-промышленный комплекс (это касается в том числе авиастроения), нежели вечно полагаться на далекие Соединенные Штаты. Благо Япония это себе может позволить. По крайней мере, с чисто финансовой стороны.

Перспективный японский истребитель — это еще и ответ на появление Су-57: концептуально более удачной машины, чем китайский J-20. Кроме того, не стоит забывать, что возможности Mitsubishi F-2, не обладающего технологией «стелс», могут быть в значительной мере нивелированы новыми российскими зенитным ракетными комплексами С-400 и С-350.

В теории Япония могла ограничиться закупками F-35, приобретя в перспективе дополнительные «Лайтнинги» и доведя их общее число до нескольких сотен. Однако, нужно полагать, свою роль сыграл национальный престиж одной из ведущих экономик мира, а также имеющие место антиамериканские настроения.
Автор:
15 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. KCA
    KCA 14 июля 2020 05:38 Новый
    +2
    Автор, видимо, из "горцев", привык мыслить категориями "вечность", 8 лет до лётных испытаний, это уже не просто на подходе, это уже готовый истребитель, Россия и Китай признали несомненное преимущество Японии в истребительной авиации и сдались, над Курилами и Сахалином взошло новое солнце...
  2. Джек О’Нилл
    Джек О’Нилл 14 июля 2020 06:07 Новый
    +1
    Концепт уже есть - VF19A.
    1. Sergey_G_M
      Sergey_G_M 14 июля 2020 07:02 Новый
      +1
      Нет это двадцать третье поколение, а речь пока идет о пятом wink
      1. Джек О’Нилл
        Джек О’Нилл 14 июля 2020 08:15 Новый
        +2
        Нет это двадцать третье поколение, а речь пока идет о пятом wink

        Ну не скажите. Японцы уже давно построили боевого робота (RX-78-2), которого маскируют под статую.

        Если хочешь что то спрятать, то прячь у всех на виду. Это японцы и сделали, выставили реального боевого меха как статую. А сколько таких у них на складах, одному только Богу известно!
  3. Гидрограф бухта Золотой Рог
    Гидрограф бухта Золотой Рог 14 июля 2020 07:06 Новый
    -3
    У Японии на этом направлении полное качественное преимущество как в море так и воздухе
    1. Sergey_G_M
      Sergey_G_M 14 июля 2020 07:12 Новый
      +3
      На каком направлении? Над кем преимущество?
  4. Greenwood
    Greenwood 14 июля 2020 07:46 Новый
    +5
    Зная японцев, их менталитет упорных трудяг, культуру производства и развитую промышленность, думаю, в указанные сроки они вполне способны управиться.
    1. dvina71
      dvina71 14 июля 2020 08:47 Новый
      0
      Цитата: Greenwood
      их менталитет упорных трудяг

      Им бы еще креативность и любознательность.. мир шпрехал бы на нихонго..
    2. Чарик
      Чарик 14 июля 2020 19:29 Новый
      0
      ага если не смоет рукотворное цунами
      1. Greenwood
        Greenwood 15 июля 2020 14:35 Новый
        0
        А у кого хватит духу его создать?
        1. Чарик
          Чарик 15 июля 2020 15:42 Новый
          0
          11-11-шутки как будто
  5. dgonni
    dgonni 14 июля 2020 11:48 Новый
    +1
    Нормальная статейка, даже с аналитикой. Только автор обходит вскользь острые углы в виде того что это будет самолёт шестого поколения. Учитывая то что штатам с трудом удалось отговорить японцев от разработки своего самолёта 5го поколения продав Ф35 и посулив Ф22. Но бортанув в данном вопросе. То японци свой истребитель 6го поколения таки получат в указанные сроки, если не раньше.
    Вопрос в том станет ли на крыло к тому времени Су57 в нормальных колличествах. И что там с разработкой шестого поколения у сухого и микояна?
  6. Undecim
    Undecim 14 июля 2020 12:25 Новый
    +2
    Однако 27 марта 2020 года Reuters со ссылкой на свои источники сообщило, что Япония хочет сама разработать истребитель нового поколения, от предложений зарубежных партнеров решили отказаться.
    К сведению сайтовских ньюсмейкеров, информация уже устарела. Сегодня оперировать сведениями полугодовой давности нельзя.
    Буквально вчера Defence Connect со ссылкой на The Japan Times сообщает, что JASDF и Министерство обороны определят предварительные партнерские рамки для разработки истребителя FX к декабрю 2020 года. На сегодня Mitsubishi Heavy Industries ведет переговоры с Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman и Boeing из США и с четырьмя британскими фирмами.
  7. Joker62
    Joker62 15 июля 2020 07:48 Новый
    +1
    Цитата: Greenwood
    Зная японцев, их менталитет упорных трудяг, культуру производства и развитую промышленность, думаю, в указанные сроки они вполне способны управиться.

    Если только сама Япония к этому сроку не уйдет под воду из-за постоянной сейсмической активности этого острова...
    1. Комментарий был удален.
  8. Герман 4223
    Герман 4223 15 июля 2020 16:09 Новый
    0
    Индия, Корея,Япония, Британия, Европа,даже Турция все вдруг все захотели свои самолёты делать. Неужели гегемон допустит создание такой глобальной конкуренции на рынке,ведь почти все из списка его вассалов.