Military Review

Restarting the OMFV program. Pentagon accepts bids for M2 Bradley replacement

10
Restarting the OMFV program. Pentagon accepts bids for M2 Bradley replacement

M2A4, the latest modification of the Bradley BMP. Photo BAE Systems


Since 2018, the Pentagon has been developing a promising infantry fighting vehicle OMFV (Optionally Manned Fighting Vehicle, "Optionally Manned Fighting Vehicle"), designed to replace the existing M2 Bradley in the future. In the recent past, the program ran into serious difficulties and had to be restarted. Now the updated OMFV is entering a new stage.

Development difficulties


Work on creating a modern replacement for Bradley was launched in mid-2018, and a few months later the project was given the modern name OMFV. In March 2019, the customer began accepting applications for participation in the design. Several US and foreign companies have joined the program with a number of new or revamped projects.

The requirements of the Pentagon were quite strict, because of which a number of participants dropped out of the program even before the completion of its first stage. By the beginning of 2020, there was only one member left in OMFV - General Dynamics Land Systems. On January 16, the US Department of Defense officially stopped the OMFV program due to the impossibility of an effective continuation. The Army has admitted that contractors are unable to meet its high demands in the desired tight deadlines.

On February 7, the OMFV program was restarted. A "market research" was conducted to determine the needs of the army and the capabilities of the industry. As a result of these works, the requirements for the BMP were reduced. We also rebuilt the basic approaches to the development of such a technique. The program was divided into five stages. Its main tasks include simplifying international cooperation and ensuring the integration of necessary but underdeveloped technologies.


BMP CV90 Mk IV. Photo BAE Systems

The termination and restart of the program drew criticism from legislators and led to problems in approving the FY2021 defense budget. The Pentagon was accused of wasting money on the OMFV's "first attempt" and that the restart would lead to a serious shift in the timing of rearmament. In addition, there were complaints about the organization of the program and interaction with its participants.

The first phase


To date, the US Army has completed the preliminary research phase and has formed updated requirements for the future BMP. On July 17, we issued a new Opportunity Request and re-invited potential contractors to participate in OMFV. Acceptance of applications will last forty days, after which the Pentagon will begin to analyze the proposals and select the most successful ones.

According to the plans, the OMFV program will be divided into five phases. The first phase starts now, and based on its results, the customer will receive technical proposals. They will be considered until next spring. In June 2021, the second phase of the program starts: the Pentagon will issue up to five contracts for preliminary design. These works will last until mid-2023. g.

Based on their results, three projects will be selected for detailed study and subsequent construction of experimental equipment. By mid-2027 f. The Pentagon is going to select the winner of the program. In 2028-2029. it is supposed to start production and start re-equipment of combat units.

"Optionally piloted"


The Pentagon has already announced part of the tactical and technical requirements for a promising BMP, but other information remains unknown and will be disclosed later. Call for proposals is open, but the list of program participants has not been determined. Accordingly, it is too early to talk about specific projects and their technical features.


Fighting vehicle Griffin III. Photo by GDLS

The goal of the OMFV is to create a promising armored combat vehicle capable of transporting infantry and supporting it with cannon-machine gun and missile systems. It is necessary to ensure the possibility of effective work in network-centric management structures. In addition, as the name of the program suggests, it is necessary to create a groundwork for unmanned use of technology.

The conditions of the previous OMFV program provided for the creation of an armored vehicle with a crew of two people and a troop compartment for six or more seats. Rather high demands were made on protection, and the armament had to ensure the defeat of a wide range of actual targets. It is very likely that the basic requirements were retained, but some tasks were simplified based on the experience of the previous program.

Former and future members


All major foreign developers of armored combat vehicles took part in the "first attempt" to create the OMFV, but their work ended in nothing. It is likely that the same companies with previously proposed projects will participate in the relaunched program, although one should not exclude the possibility of their revision to meet the new requirements.

For a short time, BAE Systems with a modified version of the CV-90 BMP was a participant in OMFV. She joined the work in 2018, but left the program in June 2019 due to difficulties in meeting the requirements on time.

Raytheon and Rheinmetall joined forces and offered the Lynx BMP, modified in accordance with the requirements of the Pentagon. Under the terms of the program, by October 1, 2019, they were supposed to present an experimental vehicle, but did not have time to do so. It was not possible to resolve this issue, and the American-German project dropped out of the program.


BMP Lynx. Photo by Rheinmetall Defense

As a result, the Griffin III armored vehicle from General Dynamics Land Systems became the only contender for the contract. However, in her case, not everything went smoothly. After just a few months, the customer decided to stop the entire program.

Replacement postponed


According to the results of the OMFV program, the US ground forces will have to receive a new BMP with broad capabilities. According to current plans, for a full renewal of the fleet of armored vehicles, it is required to build about 3,5-4 thousand promising infantry fighting vehicles. The first of them are supposed to be sent to the troops in 2028-2029. It will take several years to produce the required amount of equipment, and the rearmament will be completed only by the end of the thirties.

However, all this remains a matter of the distant future. While the Pentagon will have to accept and consider applications, and then select projects for further development. How many applications will be received is unclear. Next year, no more than five projects will receive support. However, it is easy to see that last time only three companies joined the program.

How successful will the second attempt at the OMFV program be? Great question. The first ended in failure due to excessive demands on the contractor. This time, the Pentagon took into account its mistakes, which should contribute to the successful completion of the work. However, all this led to a serious loss of time and, accordingly, to a shift in the timing of obtaining real results. In addition, the second OMFV program also risks ending in nothing and only lead to a waste of money and time.

In general, the US Army can expect to receive the desired BMP in the required time frame, but various negative factors remain that can affect the situation. Therefore, the BMP M2 for 10-12 years will maintain the current position in the army. As a result, new Bradley modernization projects may be required, which will lead to new costs and problems. However, there are no other ways out of this situation yet.
Author:
10 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Same lech
    Same lech 22 July 2020 05: 18 New
    -1
    Plans plans, plans all around ...
    The first of them are supposed to be sent to the troops in 2028-2029.

    As a rule, such deadlines are rarely met.
  2. ViKLeV
    ViKLeV 22 July 2020 06: 48 New
    -3
    I will support: plans, plans and cut money.
  3. silberwolf88
    silberwolf88 22 July 2020 07: 49 New
    0
    in this case ... while the main thing is the process of developing a new one ... most likely they will create their own for a long time ... not wanting to spend money on European models ...
  4. Grazdanin
    Grazdanin 22 July 2020 08: 15 New
    0
    If there is no fundamentally better replacement for Bradley, why change?
  5. Ros 56
    Ros 56 22 July 2020 10: 14 New
    -2
    And what happened, that's bad luck, again the money was put in the wrong hole, you have to start over again. wassat
  6. Vladycat
    Vladycat 22 July 2020 10: 31 New
    +1
    I recommend watching an interesting movie. "Pentagon Wars" about the history of the adoption of "Bradley", so we are waiting for the second series :)
    1. Non-fighter
      Non-fighter 22 July 2020 13: 30 New
      0
      Do you hope to live? And you are an optimist, young man!
  7. Dmitry Makarov
    Dmitry Makarov 22 July 2020 12: 51 New
    -4
    All this is complete bullshit, for 30 years the United States has not adopted a single new type of weapon, with the exception of the dead-end F-22 and the defective F-35. All other projects turned out to be a failure, and in fact were just a cut of the Budget bubble.
    And where now, when the United States is shuddering from the internal conflict under the yoke of a monstrous debt load, and the complete absence of an industrial base and engineering personnel, where does a new combat-ready weapon model come from, even if it will be a shabby BMP ???
  8. Private-K
    Private-K 25 July 2020 15: 27 New
    0
    All three existing potential participants in European projects ... hi
    That's what it turns out, American patriots, oo-oo-oo! belay , armed with a leading high-tech power SHOULD take a BMP with European roots? lol
    And sho, you yourself can’t already? Bugaga. crying
  9. Radikal
    Radikal 18 September 2020 20: 05 New
    +1
    Nobody asked why the leading manufacturers of armored combat vehicles do not install ATGMs on their equipment as additional weapons? Except for the RF. winked

Военное обозрение

Перезапуск программы OMFV. Пентагон принимает заявки на замену M2 Bradley

9
Перезапуск программы OMFV. Пентагон принимает заявки на замену M2 Bradley

M2A4, последняя модификация БМП Bradley. Фото BAE Systems


С 2018 г. Пентагон занимается программой разработки перспективной боевой машины пехоты OMFV (Optionally Manned Fighting Vehicle, «Опционально пилотируемая боевая машина»), призванной в будущем заменить существующие M2 Bradley. В недавнем прошлом программа столкнулась с серьезными трудностями, и ее пришлось перезапустить. Теперь обновленная OMFV выходит на новую стадию.

Трудности развития


Работы по созданию современной замены для «Брэдли» запустили в середине 2018 г., через несколько месяцев проект получил современное название OMFV. В марте 2019-го заказчик открыл прием заявок на участие в проектировании. К программе присоединилось несколько американских и зарубежных компаний с рядом новых или модернизированных проектов.

Требования Пентагона были достаточно жесткими, из-за чего ряд участников выбыл из программы еще до завершения ее первой стадии. К началу 2020 г. в OMFV оставался только один участник – General Dynamics Land Systems. 16 января Минобороны США официально остановило программу OMFV по причине невозможности эффективного продолжения. Армия признала, что подрядчики не в состоянии выполнить ее высокие требования в желаемые сжатые сроки.

Уже 7 февраля программу OMFV перезапустили. Было проведено «исследование рынка» с целью определения потребностей армии и возможностей промышленности. По результатам этих работ требования к БМП снизили. Также перестроили основные подходы к разработке такой техники. Программу разделили на пять этапов. В список ее основных задач внесли упрощение международного сотрудничества и обеспечение интеграции необходимых, но недостаточно развитых технологий.


БМП CV90 Mk IV. Фото BAE Systems

Прекращение и перезапуск программы вызвали критику со стороны законодателей и привел к проблемам при утверждении оборонного бюджета на 2021 ф. г. Пентагон обвиняли в растрате средств на «первую попытку» OMFV и в том, что перезапуск приведет к серьезному сдвигу сроков перевооружения. Кроме того, возникли претензии к организации программы и взаимодействию с ее участниками.

Первая фаза


К настоящему времени Армия США завершила этап предварительных исследований и сформировала обновленные требования к будущей БМП. 17 июля выпустили новый запрос возможностей и вновь пригласили потенциальных подрядчиков к участию в OMFV. Прием заявок продлится сорок дней, после чего Пентагон приступит к анализу предложений и выбору наиболее удачных.

Согласно планам, программа OMFV будет разделена на пять этапов-фаз. Первая фаза стартует сейчас, и по ее итогам заказчик получит технические предложения. Их будут рассматривать до следующей весны включительно. В июне 2021 г. стартует вторая фаза программы: Пентагон выдаст до пяти контрактов на предварительное проектирование. Эти работы продлятся до середины 2023 ф. г.

По их итогам выберут три проекта для детальной проработки и последующего строительства опытной техники. К середине 2027 ф. г. Пентагон собирается выбрать победителя программы. В 2028-2029 гг. предполагается запустить производство и начать переоснащение строевых частей.

«Опционально пилотируемая»


Пентагон уже огласил часть тактико-технических требований к перспективной БМП, но прочие сведения остаются неизвестными и будут раскрыты позднее. Открыт прием предложений, но список участников программы не определен. Соответственно, пока рано говорить о конкретных проектах и их технических особенностях.


Боевая машина Griffin III. Фото GDLS

Целью OMFV является создание перспективной боевой бронированной машины, способной перевозить пехоту и поддерживать ее огнем пушечно-пулеметных и ракетных систем. Необходимо обеспечить возможность эффективной работы в сетецентрических структурах управления. Кроме того, как следует из названия программы, следует создать задел для беспилотного применения техники.

Условия предыдущей программы OMFV предусматривали создание бронемашины с экипажем из двух человек и десантным отделением на шесть или более мест. Предъявлялись достаточно высокие требования к защите, а вооружение должно было обеспечивать поражение широкого круга актуальных целей. Весьма вероятно, что основные требования были сохранены, но часть задач упростили по опыту предыдущей программы.

Бывшие и будущие участники


В «первой попытке» создания OMFV приняли участие все основные зарубежные разработчики боевых бронированных машин, но их работа закончилась ничем. Вполне вероятно, что в перезапущенной программе будут участвовать те же компании и с ранее предлагавшимися проектами, хотя не следует исключать возможность их переработки под новые требования.

В течение недолгого времени участником OMFV была компания BAE Systems с доработанной версией БМП CV-90. Она присоединилась к работам в 2018 г., но в июне 2019-го вышла из программы по причине сложностей с выполнением предъявляемых требований в установленные сроки.

Raytheon и Rheinmetall объединили усилия и предложили БМП Lynx, измененную в соответствии с требованиями Пентагона. По условиям программы, к 1 октября 2019 г. они должны были представить опытную машину, но не успели сделать это. Урегулировать этот вопрос не удалось, и американо-немецкий проект выбыл из программы.


БМП Lynx. Фото Rheinmetall Defence

Вследствие этого единственным претендентом на контракт стала бронемашина Griffin III от General Dynamics Land Systems. Однако и в ее случае не все пошло гладко. Всего через несколько месяцев заказчик решил остановить всю программу.

Замена откладывается


По результатам программы OMFV сухопутные войска США должны будут получить новую БМП с широкими возможностями. Согласно нынешним планам, для полноценного обновления парка бронетехники требуется построить порядка 3,5-4 тыс. перспективных БМП. Первые из них предполагается отправить в войска в 2028-2029 гг. На производство потребного количества техники уйдет несколько лет, и перевооружение завершится лишь к концу тридцатых годов.

Однако все это остается делом отдаленного будущего. Пока Пентагону предстоит принять и рассмотреть заявки, а затем выбрать проекты для дальнейшего развития. Сколько заявок будет получено – неясно. В следующем году поддержку получит не более пяти проектов. Впрочем, нетрудно заметить, что в прошлый раз к программе присоединились лишь три компании.

Насколько успешной будет вторая попытка программы OMFV? Большой вопрос. Первая завершилась неудачей из-за чрезмерно высоких требований к подрядчику. В этот раз Пентагон учел свои ошибки, что должно поспособствовать успешному завершению работ. Однако все это привело к серьезной потере времени и, соответственно, к смещению сроков получения реальных результатов. Кроме того, вторая программа OMFV тоже рискует завершиться ничем и привести только к трате денег и времени.

В целом Армия США может рассчитывать на получение желаемой БМП в требуемые сроки, но сохраняются различные негативные факторы, способные повлиять на ситуацию. Поэтому БМП M2 в течение 10-12 лет будет сохранять нынешнее положение в войсках. Вследствие этого могут потребоваться новые проекты модернизации «Брэдли», что приведет к новым тратам и проблемам. Однако иные выходы из сложившейся ситуации пока отсутствуют.
Автор:
9 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Тот же ЛЕХА
    Тот же ЛЕХА 22 июля 2020 05:18 Новый
    -1
    Планы планы, кругом планы...
    Первые из них предполагается отправить в войска в 2028-2029 гг.

    Как правило редко выдерживаются подобные сроки.
  2. ViKLeV
    ViKLeV 22 июля 2020 06:48 Новый
    -3
    Поддержу: планы планы и распил денежных средств.
  3. silberwolf88
    silberwolf88 22 июля 2020 07:49 Новый
    0
    в данном случае ... пока главное сам процесс разработки нового ... скорее всего долго будут создавать своё ... не желая тратить деньги на европейские модели ...
  4. Grazdanin
    Grazdanin 22 июля 2020 08:15 Новый
    0
    Если нет принципиально лучшей замены Бредли, зачем менять?
  5. Ros 56
    Ros 56 22 июля 2020 10:14 Новый
    -2
    А что случимшись, вот невезуха, опять деньги не в тую дырку засунули, надо по новой начинать. wassat
  6. Vladycat
    Vladycat 22 июля 2020 10:31 Новый
    +1
    Рекомендую к просмотрю интересный фильм. "Пентагонные войны" о истории принятия на вооружение "Бредли" так что ждём вторую серию :)
    1. Не_боец
      Не_боец 22 июля 2020 13:30 Новый
      0
      Надеешься дожить? А Вы оптимист, молодой человек!
  7. Дмитрий Макаров
    Дмитрий Макаров 22 июля 2020 12:51 Новый
    -4
    Всё это полное фуфло, за 30 лет Сша не приняли на вооружение ни одного нового типа оружия, за исключением тупикового Ф-22 и дефективного Ф-35. Все остальные проекты оказались провальными, и по сути являлись лишь распилом Бюджетного бабла.
    А откуда сейчас, когда Сша содрогается от внутринационального конфликта под гнётом Чудовищной долговой нагрузки, и полном отсутствии промышленной базы и инженерных кадров, откуда взяться новой боеспособной модели оружия, пусть это и будет затрапезная БМП???
  8. Рядовой-К
    Рядовой-К 25 июля 2020 15:27 Новый
    0
    Все три имеющихся потенциальных участников европейских проектов... hi
    Это что ж получается, американские патриоты, ау-у-у! belay , на вооружении лидирующей высокотехнологической державы ПРИХОДИТСЯ принимать БМП имеющую европейские корни? lol
    А шо, самим не в моготу уже? Бугага. crying