Military Review

Hornet Malkara, anti-tank

0
Opponents of the USSR and the Warsaw Pact countries spent the entire Cold War in anticipation of an avalanche tanks from the East. To repel a very real threat, more and more effective anti-tank artillery systems were created. But this was clearly not enough. Mobile missile systems, which used anti-tank missile-class missiles (i.e. ATGMs), controlled in flight by wire, were supposed to fend off the steady increase in firepower, security and maneuverability of Soviet tanks. Light armored vehicles were often used as a chassis, which gave launchers such an important quality as air mobility.

A typical representative of this category of combat vehicles is the English Hornet, a symbiosis of the Malkar ATGM launcher and a standard army armored vehicle. The Hornet was in service with the British paratroopers in the 1960-70s.

Armored car assembled on the chassis of the army uniform "Pig" company "Humber". The rear cockpit is replaced with a small platform on which the launcher for the two Malkara missiles is located. The rockets were attached to the guiding beams in an aircraft-like manner - they were suspended from below. The launcher was deployed on 40 degrees in each direction.
The crew had only four shells at their disposal: two in a combat position and a couple more - in containers. In the event that the "Hornet" was to fall to the ground with a parachute, no projectiles were mounted on the beams.
The delivery to the battlefield of anti-tank systems, as well as other airborne vehicles, was carried out by Argus, Belfast and Beverly aircraft - the “workhorses” of the British military transport aviation that time. For parachuting, the armored car was mounted on a standard platform.
The range of the Hornet / Malkar complex was small. So, the Mk.1-type projectile had a range of just 1800 m, and at that maximum distance it flew in 15 seconds. More sophisticated samples had a range of flight to 3000 m. The minimum area of ​​impact was from 450 to 700 m. . Control of the projectile with four swivel rudders was carried out by transmitting commands by wire. Automatics compensated for pointing errors caused by the rotation of the projectile, and the influence of side wind.
The crew of the car consisted of three people: the commander, the driver and the radio operator, and the duties of the operator of the anti-tank complex were assigned to the commander. Likewise, one of two crew members could perform its functions. Workplace commander-operator was to the left of the driver. To control and monitor the flight of the projectile, it was equipped with a periscope turning on 160 °.
The Hornet / Malkara anti-tank missile systems were intended to equip parachute divisions formed as part of the Royal Tank Corps in the 1961-1963. Later, in 1965, these mechanized airborne units became part of the 16 parachute brigade.
In 1976, the brigade was disbanded due to a general reduction in British paratroops. At the same time, the Hornet combat vehicles and the entire range of ATGMs used were decommissioned. They were replaced by the newest Swingfire anti-tank missile system, which uses the MK.5 Ferret as a chassis.
Yes, the Hornet / Malkar system was short-lived. Although the power of the missile warhead was great, its weight was also great, and the flight speed and range left much to be desired. The launcher could not withstand eight rocket launches - repair or replacement of guide beams was required, which went beyond the scope of all regulatory standards.
Very modest ammunition and the complexity of reloading limited the combat capabilities of the complex. And as already mentioned, the “Hornet” with a loaded launcher could not be parachuted, so its combat readiness at the time of landing was zero. But, despite the many flaws, the Hornet / Malkar system became a noticeable milestone in the development of anti-tank missile systems.



General view of the Malkar ATGM launcher on the chassis of the Hornet armored car



Launcher ATGM "Malkar" on the chassis of an armored car "Hornet." Parachute division as part of the Royal Armored Corps. UK, 1963


The Hornet / Malkar prototypes were monochromatic olive in color, the missile warheads were yellow. On the hulls of rockets, between the wings, white operational inscriptions were made.
Standard desert camouflage of serial copies consisted of rather wide vertical wavy stripes of approximately the same width of sand and green colors. The numbers are traditional British, such as 06ВК66 or 09ВК63. The horizontal ones were located on the front right above the headlamp, the vertical ones on the back of the anti-mud panel. Judging by the photos, the side boxes could have a tactical number, for example: “24” in a yellow square.
Author:
Add a comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

Hornet Malkara, анти-танк

Противники СССР и стран Варшавского договора провели всю «холодную войну» в ожидании нашествия лавины танков с Востока. Для отражения вполне реальной угрозы создавались всё более эффективные противотанковые артиллерийские системы. Но этого явно было недостаточно. Парировать неуклонный рост огневой мощи, защищенности и маневренности советских танков должны были мобильные ракетные комплексы, в которых использовались реактивные снаряды класса anti-tank missile (т.е. ПТУРС), управляемые в полёте по проводам. В качестве шасси зачастую применялись лёгкие бронеавтомобили, что придавало пусковым установкам такое немаловажное качество, как аэромобильность.

Типичный представитель этой категории боевых машин – английский «Хорнет» – симбиоз пусковой установки ПТУРСов «Малкара» и стандартного армейского бронированного автомобиля. «Хорнет» состоял на вооружении парашютно-десантных войск Великобритании в 1960-70-е годы.

Бронеавтомобиль собран на шасси армейского однотонника «Пиг» фирмы «Хамбер». Задняя кабина заменена на небольшую платформу, на которой размещена пусковая установка для двух реактивных снарядов «Малкара». Ракеты крепились к балкам-направляющим по-самолетному – подвешивались снизу. Пусковая установка разворачивалась на 40 градусов в каждую сторону.
В распоряжении экипажа находилось всего четыре снаряда: два в боевом положении и ещё пара – в контейнерах. В том случае, если «Хорнету» предстояло опуститься на землю с парашютом, на балках снаряды не устанавливались.

Доставку на поле боя противотанковых комплексов, как и другой аэромобильной техники, осуществляли самолеты «Аргус», «Белфаст» и «Беверли» – «рабочие лошадки» британской военно-транспортной авиации того времени. Для десантирования парашютным способом бронеавтомобиль устанавливался на стандартную платформу.
Радиус действия комплекса «Хорнет/Малкара» был небольшим. Так, снаряд типа Мк.1 имел дальность полёта всего 1800 м, причём на это максимально возможное расстояние он улетал за 15 секунд. Более совершенные образцы обладали дальностью полёта до 3000 м. Минимальная зона поражения составляла от 450 до 700 м. Дистанцию в 450 м ПТУРС пролетал за 3 с, 1000 м – за 7,5 с, 2000 м – за 14 с, 3000 м – за 21 с. Управление снарядом с четырьмя поворотными рулями осуществлялось путём передачи команд по проводам. Автоматика компенсировала погрешности наведения, вызванные вращением снаряда, и влияние бокового ветра.
Экипаж машины состоял из трёх человек: командир, водитель и радист, причём обязанности оператора противотанкового комплекса были возложены на командира. Точно так же его функции мог исполнять один из двух членов экипажа. Рабочее место командира-оператора находилось слева от водителя. Для контроля и наблюдения за полётом снаряда оно было оборудовано перископом, поворачивающимся на 160°.
Противотанковые ракетные комплексы «Хорнет/Малкара» предназначались для оснащения парашютно-десантных дивизионов, сформированных в составе Королевского танкового корпуса в 1961-1963 гг. Позднее, в 1965-м, эти механизированные десантные подразделения стали частью 16-й парашютной бригады.
В 1976 г., в связи с общим сокращением британских парашютно-десантных войск, бригаду расформировали. Тогда же были сняты с вооружения боевые машины «Хорнет» и весь ассортимент применяемых ПТУРСов. Их заменил новейший противотанковый ракетный комплекс «Свингфайр», использующий в качестве шасси автомобиль «Феррет» Мк.5.
Да, служба системы «Хорнет/Малкара» оказалась недолгой. Хотя мощность боеголовки реактивного снаряда была велика, также велик был и его вес, а скорость полёта и дальность оставляли желать лучшего. Пусковая установка не выдерживала и восьми ракетных стартов – требовался ремонт или замена балок-направляющих, что выходило за рамки всех регламентных норм.
Весьма скромный боекомплект и сложность перезаряжания ограничивали боевые возможности комплекса. И как уже говорилось, «Хорнет» с заряженной пусковой установкой нельзя было сбрасывать с парашютом, поэтому его боеготовность в момент приземления равнялась нулю. Но, несмотря на множество недостатков, система «Хорнет/Малкара» стала заметной вехой в развитии ракетных противотанковых средств поля боя.

Hornet Malkara, анти-танк

Hornet Malkara, анти-танк

Общий вид пусковой установки ПТУРС «Малкара» на шасси бронеавтомобиля «Хорнет»

Hornet Malkara, анти-танк

Hornet Malkara, анти-танк

Пусковая установка ПТУРС «Малкара» на шасси бронеавтомобиля «Хорнет». Парашютный дивизион в составе Королевского танкового корпуса. Великобритания, 1963 г.


Опытные машины «Хорнет/Малкара» имели однотонную оливковую окраску, боевые части ракет – жёлтую. На корпусах реактивных снарядов, между крыльями, были нанесены белые эксплуатационные надписи.
Стандартный пустынный камуфляж серийных экземпляров состоял из довольно широких вертикальных волнистых полос примерно одинаковой ширины песочного и зелёного цветов. Номера – традиционные британские, типа 06ВК66 или 09ВК63. Горизонтальные располагались спереди справа над фарой, вертикальные – сзади на противогрязевом щитке. На бортовых ящиках, судя по фото, мог быть нанесен тактический номер, например: «24» в жёлтом квадрате.
Автор: Вячеслав Шпаковский


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 0

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня