Military Review

Armament of the armed forces of Iraq - self-propelled howitzers 155mm "Majnoon" and 210mm "Al Fao"

11
In the descriptions of the Iraqi armed forces and in military conflicts with the participation of Iraq, the reference to the Al-Fao and Majnun self-propelled artillery installations now and then flashes, but there is very little information about this technique. This article will bring together the few information that is available on the ACS to date.

The beginning of the development of technology - 1987 year. Spanish and French designers take part in the work on self-propelled artillery systems. In Spain (the Tribiland company) they worked on the undercarriage of the ACS, in France they were working on the guns of the future ACS. Both combat vehicles were created on the basis of the South African machine “Rhino”, on which the South African self-propelled artillery gun G6 was built.

Armament of the armed forces of Iraq - self-propelled howitzers 155mm "Majnoon" and 210mm "Al Fao"


At that time, it was the third attempt in the world (excluding the USSR) to create such artillery systems on a wheelbase. The formula of the wheels of the new SAU 6X6. Before the Iraqis, self-propelled self-propelled howitzer 152mm Dana and South Africa (self-propelled howitzer 155mm G-6) were created in Czechoslovakia. The creation of the 210mm self-propelled gun at that time was dictated by ensuring superiority over the “neighbor” (Iran), which was armed with the American self-propelled 175mm howitzer “M107”.

The first public appearance of the new ACS is the spring of 1989. Two prototypes were transported from Spain to Iraq on the An-124 transport aircraft, to the second international exhibition of military equipment, held in the capital of Iraq - Baghdad. Accurate data on the adoption of the two SAU data in the ground forces of Iraq is not, according to some data, only these two samples were accepted. Data on serial production is not. In subsequent military conflicts, self-propelled howitzers did not participate.

Before we continue the story, we note that the creation of new self-propelled guns for the Iraqi SV was not without the participation of a talented Canadian design engineer Gerald Bull, who was engaged in the creation of long-range guns. Under his personal leadership, the Babylon project was launched in Iraq - the creation of a supergun with a caliber 350mm with a barrel length of 160 meters. The estimated firing range of up to one thousand kilometers of conventional shells and up to two thousand - rocket ammunition. Such weapon could hold the entire region at gunpoint, so it is not surprising that the assassination of a Canadian engineer in 1990 was attributed to Israeli security forces. Based on the opinions of specialists who examined the remnants of super-weapons, after the end of the military conflict in the Persian Gulf, D. Bull had every chance to finish building his gun, but after his death all the work on gun completion was stopped, perhaps Iraq did not have enough time and money - in 1991, the Persian Gulf War began.



Design and construction of Iraqi self-propelled howitzers
Both howitzers have the same chassis. Department of management performed in the front of the case in which the driver-mechanic. The driver-mechanic's seat is made according to the type of ACS G6, the review is carried out through three armored windows, the driver-mechanic is seated through a hatch in the upper part of the cab. Next is MTO, in which a diesel engine was installed from the German company Mercedes-Benz, with the power characteristics of the HP 560. OU is completely isolated from MTO. In the back of the case installed tower part. On each side there are access hatches for landing the crew of the car. In the back of the tower there is a special boot for loading ammunition into the car. At the bottom there are two hatches for emergency exit from the tower of the machine. The chassis is provided with wheels with 21.00 XR25 tires and an automatic pressure support system. For the firing of a howitzer, in additional supports, according to the calculations of designers, there is no need.

The main differences between the samples - the artillery part of the machines. The Majnoon self-propelled howitzer is equipped with an 155mm barrel of caliber 52 length, having an ejector device and a transversely slit muzzle brake, and an Al Fao self-propelled howitzer gun has a 210mm barrel with an ejector gun and X-ch-ch-ch-ch-ch-ch-ch-ch-ch-ch-ch-ch-chi. . In both machines, the sighting device for direct fire is located on the left side of the tower, next to the gun.
Both howitzers were designed for firing long-range projectiles such as ERFB and ERFB-BB with gas generators, which are the main ammunition for the towels of G-5 and GH N-45 towed type. Active-missiles were not used.

The main characteristics of the self-propelled howitzer "Majnoon":
- weight - 43 tons;
- length - 12 meters;
- width - 3.5 meters;
- height - 3.6 meters;
- highway speed / not equipped roads - 90 / 70 km / h;
- caliber - 155mm;
- barrel length - 806 centimeters or 52 caliber;
- The number of rifling barrels - 48;
- ACS rollback - 1041 centimeter;
- vertical / horizontal pointing angles - (0-72) / ± 40 degrees;
- firing range ERFB / ERFB-BB - 30.2 / 38.8 kilometers;
- the initial velocity of the projectile - 900 meters;
- the weight of the projectile increased range - 45 kilogram;
- gun firing rate - up to 4 high / min.

The main characteristics of the self-propelled howitzer gun "Al Fao":
- weight - 48 tons;
- length - 15 meters;
- width - 3.5 meters;
- height - 3.6 meters;
- highway speed / not equipped roads - 90 / 70 km / h;
- caliber - 210mm;
- barrel length - 1113 centimeters or 53 caliber;
- The number of rifling barrels - 64;
- ACS rollback - 1041 centimeter;
- vertical / horizontal pointing angles - (0-55) / ± 40 degrees;
- firing range ERFB / ERFB-BB - 45 / 57.3 kilometer;
- the initial velocity of the projectile - 990 meters;
- the weight of the projectile increased range - 109.5 kilogram;
- gun firing rate - up to 4 high / min.

Information sources:
http://prom1.livejournal.com/203824.html
http://raigap.livejournal.com/165615.html
http://ru.wikipedia.org/wiki/G6
http://www.artillerist.ru/modules/myarticles/print_storyid_69.html
Author:
11 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. DIMS
    DIMS 6 August 2012 09: 18
    +2
    Great stuff for Iraqi conditions. Powerful, mobile.
    For some reason, this topic is hardly developing in the world. Or tracked chassis, or towed. The only exception is the Swedish FH77 BW L52 Archer
    1. PSih2097
      PSih2097 6 August 2012 21: 39
      +1
      Czech Republic: 152mm Vz. 77 Dana and 155mm ShKH Zuzana self-propelled wheeled howitzers
      1. DIMS
        DIMS 6 August 2012 22: 55
        0
        She is older than Iraqi.
    2. Korvin
      Korvin 6 August 2012 22: 49
      0
      Rheinmetall agm
      1. DIMS
        DIMS 6 August 2012 23: 04
        +1
        Also not quite that. This is a universal tower for mounting on a wheeled and tracked chassis, as well as stationary.
        But it’s good that they reminded about Rheinmetall, they also have the RWG-52, developed by 2009 for India and South Africa
  2. vylvyn
    vylvyn 6 August 2012 09: 24
    +1
    Quote - "Spanish and French designers are taking part in the work on self-propelled artillery systems. In Spain (the Tribiland company) they worked on the chassis of the self-propelled guns, in France they worked on the gun part of the future self-propelled guns. Both combat vehicles were created on the basis of the South African machine" Rhino ", on which the South African self-propelled gun mount "G6" is also built. "
    In the person of Iraq, we have lost a potential buyer of our military equipment. But the Americans and NATO acquired it.
    1. DIMS
      DIMS 6 August 2012 09: 42
      +2
      Wow "lost". In those days, the USSR earned $ 22,413 billion in Iraq.
  3. borisst64
    borisst64 6 August 2012 10: 55
    +1
    "creation of a 350mm supercannon with a barrel length of 160 meters"

    The caliber is real, but BAR LENGTH !!!!! What is this nonsense !!
    1. marshes
      marshes 6 August 2012 12: 45
      +2
      Quote: borisst64
      The caliber is real, but BAR LENGTH !!!!! What is this nonsense !!

      The Babylon Project, a project to create a series of superguns, was launched under the patronage of Iraqi President Saddam Hussein during the Iran-Iraq war in the 1980s. The design is based on research from a 1960s HARP project led by Canadian artillery specialist Gerald Bull. Despite the fragmentary information, it is known that there were four different devices that were included in this program. At least one of the Babylon (Big Babylon) projects used the modified principle of the “theoretical” (multi-chamber) artillery gun. In addition to the usual propellant charge located in the breech chamber, the gun also had an elongated propellant explosive charge attached to the projectile, which moved with the projectile as it moved along the barrel, thereby maintaining constant pressure in the barrel. Nine tons of a special projectile of a super-gun could fire a 600-kg shell at a range of up to 1000 kilometers, or launch a 2000-kg missile. Such a projectile could launch a 200 kg satellite into orbit at a price estimated at $ 600 per kilogram [1]. Gun caliber 1000 mm. It is known about the testing of the prototype 350 mm caliber.
      In March 1990, Gerald Bull was killed in Brussels, and parts of the super-gun were confiscated in Europe on the way to Iraq. However, during the Gulf War, the Iraqi government announced that the captured units were oil pipes, not parts for weapons, as the UK claims. The remaining components of the project in Iraq were destroyed by the United Nations after the Kuwait war in 1991.
      Two versions of the gun are known. The small version had a caliber of 350 mm and was supposed to be a test platform. The second final version was supposed to be much larger - a caliber of 1000 mm, surpassing the German super-gun Dora during the Second World War
      Here is another project of Babylon http://www.everyday.in.ua/?p=2871
  4. wasjasibirjac
    wasjasibirjac 9 August 2012 05: 58
    0
    only it’s not howitzers, but guns - long trunks
  5. ALEXXX1983
    ALEXXX1983 26 October 2012 19: 43
    +1
    Well, we also have - for example this one:

Вооружение СВ Ирака – самоходные гаубицы 155мм «Majnoon» и 210мм «Al Fao»

В описаниях иракских вооруженных сил и в военных конфликтах с участием Ирака, то и дело мелькает упоминание о самоходных артустановках «Аль-Фао» и «Маджнун», однако информации по этой технике очень мало. В данной статье будут сведены вместе те немногие сведения, которые имеются по САУ на сегодняшний день.

Начало разработок новой техники – 1987 год. В работах над самоходными артиллерийскими системами принимают участие испанские и французские конструкторы. В Испании (компания «Трибиланд») работали над ходовой частью САУ, во Франции прорабатывали орудийную часть будущих САУ. Обе боевые машины создавались на базе южноафриканской машины «Rhino», на которой построена и южноафриканская самоходная артустановка «G6».

Вооружение СВ Ирака – самоходные гаубицы 155мм «Majnoon» и 210мм «Al Fao»



На то время это была третья попытка в мире (без учета СССР), создания подобных артсистем на колесной базе. Формула колес новых САУ 6Х6. До иракцев, колесные САУ были созданы в Чехословакии (самоходная гаубица 152мм Дана) и ЮАР (самоходная гаубица 155мм G-6). Создание 210мм самоходного орудия в то время было продиктовано обеспечением превосходства над «соседом» (Иран), у которого на вооружении имелась американская самоходная 175мм гаубица «М107».

Первое появление на публике новых САУ – весна 1989 года. Две опытных машины были транспортированы из Испании в Ирак на транспортном самолете Ан-124, на вторую международную выставку военной техники, проходившей в столице Ирака – городе Багдад. Точных данных о принятии на вооружение двух данных САУ в сухопутные войска Ирака нет, по некоторым данным были приняты только эти два образца. Данных о серийном производстве нет. В последующих военных конфликтах самоходные гаубицы участия не принимали.

Прежде чем продолжить рассказ, отметим, что создание новых САУ для иракских СВ не обошлось без участия талантливого канадского инженера-конструктора Джеральда Булла, который занимался созданием дальнобойных орудий. Под его личным руководством в Ираке был запущен проект «Вавилон» - создание сверхпушки калибром 350мм с длиной ствола 160 метров. Расчетная дальность стрельбы до одной тысячи километров обычными снарядами и до двух тысяч – реактивными боеприпасами. Такое оружие могло держать под прицелом весь регион, поэтому неудивительно, что убийство канадского инженера в 1990 году приписывают израильским спецслужбам. Основываясь на мнениях специалистов, осмотревших остатки сверхорудия, после окончания военного конфликта в Персидском заливе, Д.Булл имел все шансы достроить свое орудие, но после его смерти все работы по достройке орудия были прекращены, возможно, у Ирака не хватило времени и средств – в 1991 году началась война в Персидском заливе.

Вооружение СВ Ирака – самоходные гаубицы 155мм «Majnoon» и 210мм «Al Fao»


Устройство и конструкция иракских самоходных гаубиц
Обе гаубицы имеют одинаковые ходовые части. Отделение управления выполнено в передней части корпуса, в которой находится водитель-механик. Место водителя-механика выполнено по типу САУ G6, обзор осуществляется через три бронированных окна, посадка водителя-механика происходит через люк, в верхней части кабины. Далее идет МТО, в которой установили дизель от немецкой компании «Мерседес-Бенц», с характеристиками мощности 560 л.с. ОУ полностью изолировано от МТО. В задней части корпуса установили башенную часть. По бокам выполнены входные люки для посадки экипажа машины. В задней части башенной части имеется спецлюк для погрузки в машину боеприпасов. В нижней части имеются два люка для аварийного выхода из башенной части машины. Ходовая часть обеспечена колесами с шинами «21.00 XR25» и системой автоматической поддержки в них давления. Для производства стрельбы из гаубицы, в дополнительных опорах, по расчетам конструкторов, надобность отсутствует.

Основные отличия между образцами – артиллерийская часть машин. На самоходной гаубице «Majnoon» установлен 155мм ствол длиною 52 калибра, имеющим эжекторное устройство и поперечно щелевой дульный тормоз, а на самоходном гаубичном орудии «Al Fao» установлен 210мм ствол длиною 53 калибра, имеющим эжекторное устройство и 2-х камерный однорядный оконный дульный тормоз. В обеих машинах прицельное приспособление для ведения огня прямой наводкой расположено на левой стороне башни, рядом с орудием.
Обе гаубицы были разработаны для ведения огня снарядами повышенной дальностью типа «ERFB» и «ERFB-BB» с генераторами газа, которые являются основными боеприпасами для гаюбиц буксируемого типа «G-5» и «GH N-45». Активно-реактивные снаряды не использовались.

Основные характеристики самоходной гаубицы «Majnoon»:
- масса – 43 тонны;
- длина – 12 метров;
- ширина – 3.5 метров;
- высота – 3.6 метра;
- скорость шоссе/не оборудованные дороги – 90/70 км/ч;
- калибр – 155мм;
- длина ствола – 806 сантиметров или 52 калибра;
- число нарезов ствола – 48;
- откат САУ – 1041 сантиметр;
- вертикальные/горизонтальные углы наведения – (0-72)/±40 градусов;
- дальность ведения огня ERFB/ ERFB-BB – 30.2/38.8 километров;
- начальная скорость снаряда – 900 метров;
- вес снаряда повышенной дальности – 45 килограмм;
- скорострельность орудия – до 4 выс/мин.

Основные характеристики самоходного гаубичного орудия «Al Fao»:
- масса – 48 тонн;
- длина – 15 метров;
- ширина – 3.5 метров;
- высота – 3.6 метра;
- скорость шоссе/не оборудованные дороги – 90/70 км/ч;
- калибр – 210мм;
- длина ствола – 1113 сантиметров или 53 калибра;
- число нарезов ствола – 64;
- откат САУ – 1041 сантиметр;
- вертикальные/горизонтальные углы наведения – (0-55)/±40 градусов;
- дальность ведения огня ERFB/ ERFB-BB – 45/57.3 километра;
- начальная скорость снаряда – 990 метров;
- вес снаряда повышенной дальности – 109.5 килограмма;
- скорострельность орудия – до 4 выс/мин.

Источники информации:
http://prom1.livejournal.com/203824.html
http://raigap.livejournal.com/165615.html
http://ru.wikipedia.org/wiki/G6
http://www.artillerist.ru/modules/myarticles/print_storyid_69.html
Автор: Роман Джерелейко


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 11
  1. ДИМС 6 августа 2012 09:18
    Отличная штука для иракских условий. Мощная, мобильная.
    Почему-то в мире эта тема почти не развивается. Или гусеничное шасси, или буксируемые. Единственное исключение шведская FH77 BW L52 «Archer»
    ДИМС
    1. PSih2097 6 августа 2012 21:39
      Чехия: 152мм Vz.77 Dana и 155мм ShKH Zuzana самоходные колесные гаубицы
      1. ДИМС 6 августа 2012 22:55
        Она старше иракских.
        ДИМС
    2. KORVIN 6 августа 2012 22:49
      Rheinmetall AGM
      KORVIN
      1. ДИМС 6 августа 2012 23:04
        Тоже не совсем то. Это- универсальная башня для установки на колёсное и гусеничное шасси, а также стационарно.
        Но хорошо, что про Рейнметалл напомнили, у них есть ещё RWG-52, разработанная к 2009 году для Индии и ЮАР
        ДИМС
  2. vylvyn 6 августа 2012 09:24
    Цитата - "В работах над самоходными артиллерийскими системами принимают участие испанские и французские конструкторы. В Испании (компания «Трибиланд») работали над ходовой частью САУ, во Франции прорабатывали орудийную часть будущих САУ. Обе боевые машины создавались на базе южноафриканской машины «Rhino», на которой построена и южноафриканская самоходная артустановка «G6»."
    В лице Ирака мы потеряли потенциального покупателя нашей военной техники. А америкосы и НАТО его приобрели.
    vylvyn
    1. ДИМС 6 августа 2012 09:42
      Ничего себе "потеряли". В те времена СССР на Ираке заработал 22,413 млрд долларов.
      ДИМС
  3. borisst64 6 августа 2012 10:55
    "создание сверхпушки калибром 350мм с длиной ствола 160 метров"

    Калибр реальный, но ДЛИНА СТВОЛА !!!!! Что это за бред!!
    borisst64
    1. болот 6 августа 2012 12:45
      Цитата: borisst64
      Калибр реальный, но ДЛИНА СТВОЛА !!!!! Что это за бред!!

      «Проект „Вавилон“» — проект создания серии суперпушек — был запущен под патронажем президента Ирака Саддама Хусейна во время ирано-иракской войны в 1980-х годах. Конструкция основана на исследованиях проекта HARP 1960-х годов под руководством канадского специалиста артиллерии Джеральда Булла. Несмотря на отрывочность сведений, известно, что существовали четыре различных устройства, которые были включены в эту программу. По крайней мере один из проектов «Вавилон» («Большой Вавилон») использовал видоизмененный принцип «теоретического» (многока́морного) артиллерийского орудия. Пушка имела кроме обычного метательного заряда, расположенного в каморе казенника, ещё и присоединённый к снаряду удлинённый заряд метательного ВВ, который двигался вместе со снарядом по мере его продвижения по стволу, тем самым поддерживая в стволе постоянное давление. Девять тонн специального метательного заряда суперпушки могли вести огонь 600-кг снарядом на дальность до 1000 километров, или запускать 2000-кг реактивный снаряд. Такой снаряд мог бы запускать 200-кг спутник на орбиту по цене, которую оценивают в $600 за килограмм[1]. Калибр орудия 1000 мм. Известно об испытаниях прототипа 350-мм калибра.
      В марте 1990 года Джеральд Булл был убит в Брюсселе, а части супер-пушки были конфискованы в Европе по пути в Ирак. Однако в ходе войны в Персидском заливе правительство Ирака объявило, что захваченные части были нефтяными трубами, а не частями для оружия, как утверждает Великобритания. Остальные компоненты проекта в Ираке были уничтожены Организацией Объединённых Наций после кувейтской войны в 1991 году.
      Известно о двух вариантах орудия. Малый вариант имел калибр 350 мм и должен был быть испытательной платформой. Второй окончательный вариант должен был быть гораздо более большим — калибром в 1000 мм, превосходя германскую суперпушку Дора времен Второй мировой войны
      Вот еще по проекту Вавилон http://www.everyday.in.ua/?p=2871
  4. wasjasibirjac 9 августа 2012 05:58
    только это не гаубицы, а пушки - стволы длинные
  5. ALEXXX1983 26 октября 2012 19:43
    ну у нас тоже есть - например эта:

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня