Military Review

Armenia against Azerbaijan. The West explained why an air campaign is impossible

94

The recent resumption of hostilities in the Caucasus has attracted the attention of global military analysts. In particular, the ratio of the air forces of Armenia and Azerbaijan is of interest, especially in the light of the acquisition of Russian Su-30SM fighters by Yerevan.


According to the Italian edition of Analisi Difesa, in the event of further escalation of the conflict, aviation inevitably. In this regard, expert M.Sparatsino tried to assess the potential of the air forces of the two countries.

Modest but proud


The composition of the Armenian Air Force is rather modest

- thinks the analyst, pointing out that after the collapse of the USSR, Yerevan inherited a small share of aircraft and helicopters, some of which were lost at the beginning of the war in Nagorno-Karabakh.

According to The Military Balance, in 2020 the Armenian aviation was represented by the following aircraft (56 units in total): 14 Su-25 / UBK attack aircraft, 1 passenger Airbus A319CJ, 4 L-39 training aircraft, 11 Mi-24P / R attack helicopters / K, 10 multipurpose Mi-8MT, 2 Mi-9 [aerial command post] and 7 Mi-2. In addition, it is indicated that there are 40 locally produced drones X-55, Baze and Krunk. To this should be added 4 Su-30SM that did not have time to enter the reporting.

Undoubtedly, Yerevan still needs new planes and helicopters, since at present it is impossible to conduct effective and long-term combat operations with such a number of equipment.

- the expert believes.

He believes that progress in this matter began with the delivery of the first Su-30SM: in total, it is planned to order 12 or even 16 vehicles (according to local sources).

The first Su-30s were greeted by the entire community with great pride

- writes the author of the Western edition.

According to him, Russia's significant military presence in Armenia (S-300 and Buk-M2 air defense systems, MiG-29 fighters, Mi-24P and Mi-8MT helicopters and about 4000 soldiers, including an army brigade) “allows Yerevan to plan the rearmament of its air fleet without much anxiety. "



Lots of drones, but little use


The Azerbaijani Air Force quantitatively exceeds the Armenian one, but practically does not contain modern aircraft. They are of Soviet origin or were augmented by modernized Soviet aircraft and helicopters made in Ukraine and Kazakhstan in the early 2000s.

- the author notes, pointing out that most of the pilots did not lose their skills through training in Turkey, Germany and the United States.

According to The Military Balance, in 2020 the Air Force had 122 pieces of equipment: 15 MiG-29 / UB fighters, 2 Su-24 bombers, 19 Su-25 / UB attack aircraft, 12 training L-39s, 1 transport An-12 (not registered for FG), 3 passenger Yak-40, 26 attack helicopters Mi-24, 33 multipurpose Mi-8/17, 3 transport Ka-32, 1 multipurpose Bell-412 and 7 Mi-2.

The presence of UAVs in the Azerbaijani Air Force is "striking" to the author: 1 IAI Heron, 4 Aerostar, 10 Elbit Hermes 450, 1 Elbit Hermes 900, 40 Defense Orbiter and 10 IAI Searcher II.

Baku has problems similar to those of Yerevan in terms of the quality of its air force and sooner or later it will have to clear its fleet and start replacing several outdated aircraft

- supposes Sparacino.

According to him, Baku is currently eyeing several types of aircraft: Russian Su-35 and MiG-35 fighters, Italian UBS M-346 (in particular, in the version of the M-346FA light fighter) and Pakistani JF-17 fighters.

A high-quality update of the Azerbaijani Air Force should be at the top of the list of priorities for Baku, since if it surpasses Yerevan in terms of the amount of funds, it is inferior to it in modernization: Armenia has already acquired modern Su-30SM multipurpose fighters of the 4+ generation

- the expert believes.

At the same time, the West indicates that the sky of Azerbaijan is covered by the S-300, Barak 8, Buk-M1 and Tor-M2E air defense systems.

In conclusion, neither Armenia nor Azerbaijan have sufficient forces to conduct an effective and long-term air campaign.

- notes Sparacino, pointing out that this requires a serious modernization of the Air Force.

At the same time, he says, Moscow is interested in ensuring that there is no bloodshed in this region:

Russia’s heightened interest seems to be to stay calm and ensure that the two competitors can focus their efforts on the rearmament standoff by acquiring new platforms and systems.

Армения против Азербайджана. На Западе объяснили, почему невозможна воздушная кампания


Недавнее возобновление боевых действий на Кавказе привлекло внимание мировой военной аналитики. В частности, интерес вызывает соотношение военно-воздушных сил Армении и Азербайджана, тем более в свете приобретения Ереваном российских истребителей Су-30СМ.


Как полагает итальянское издание Analisi Difesa, в случае дальнейшей эскалации конфликта привлечение боевой авиации неизбежно. В этой связи эксперт М.Спарацино попытался оценить потенциал ВВС двух стран.

Скромные, но гордые


Состав ВВС Армении довольно скромен

- считает аналитик, указывая, что после распада СССР Еревану досталась в наследство небольшая доля самолетов и вертолетов, часть из которых была потеряна в начале войны в Нагорном Карабахе.

По данным The Military Balance, в 2020 году армянская авиация была представлена следующими машинами (всего 56 ед.): 14 штурмовиков Су-25/УБК, 1 пассажирский Airbus A319CJ, 4 учебных самолета L-39, 11 ударных вертолетов Ми-24П/Р/K, 10 многоцелевых Ми-8МТ, 2 Ми-9 [воздушный КП] и 7 Ми-2. Кроме того, указывается на наличие 40 беспилотников местного производства Х-55, «Базе» и «Крунк». Сюда же следует добавить не успевшие войти в отчетность 4 Су-30СМ.

Несомненно, Еревану по-прежнему нужны новые самолеты и вертолеты, так как в настоящее время с таким числом техники невозможно вести эффективные и длительные боевые операции

- считает эксперт.

Он полагает, что подвижки в этом деле начались с поставкой первых Су-30СМ: всего планируется заказать 12 или даже 16 машин (как утверждают местные источники).

Первые Су-30 были встречены всей общиной с большой гордостью

- пишет автор западного издания.

Как он считает, значительное военное присутствие России в Армении (ЗРК С-300 и «Бук-М2», истребители МиГ-29, вертолеты Ми-24П и Ми-8МТ и около 4000 солдат, включая армейскую бригаду) «позволяет Еревану планировать перевооружение своего воздушного флота без особых тревог».



Много беспилотников, но толку мало


ВВС Азербайджана количественно превышают армянские, но практически не содержат современных самолетов. Они имеют советское происхождение или пополнялись за счет модернизированных советских самолетов и вертолетов, сделанных на Украине и Казахстане в начале 2000-х годов

- отмечает автор, указывая, что при этом большинство пилотов не утратили своих навыков за счет стажировки в Турции, Германии и США.

По сведениям The Military Balance, в 2020 году ВВС имели 122 единицы техники: 15 истребителей Миг-29/УБ, 2 бомбардировщика Су-24, 19 штурмовиков Су-25/УБ, 12 учебных L-39, 1 транспортный Ан-12 (не зарегистрирован для FG), 3 пассажирских Як-40, 26 ударных вертолетов Ми-24, 33 многоцелевых Ми-8/17, 3 транспортных Ка-32, 1 многоцелевой Bell-412 и 7 Ми-2.

«Бросается в глаза» автору присутствие БПЛА в азербайджанских ВВС: 1 IAI Heron, 4 Aerostar, 10 Elbit Hermes 450, 1 Elbit Hermes 900, 40 Defense Orbiter и 10 IAI Searcher II.

Баку имеет проблемы, похожие на те, что и Ереван, в плане качества своих ВВС и рано или поздно ему придется расчистить свой парк и приступить к замене нескольких устаревших самолетов

- полагает Спарацино.

С его слов, Баку в настоящее время присматривается к нескольким типам машин: российским истребителям Су-35 и МиГ-35, итальянским УБС M-346 (в частности, в версии легкого истребителя М-346FA) и пакистанским истребителям JF-17.

Качественное обновление ВВС Азербайджана должны быть в верхней части списка приоритетов для Баку, так как если по количеству средств он превосходит Ереван, то уступает ему в деле модернизации: Армения уже приобрела современные многоцелевые истребители Су-30СМ поколения «4+»

- считает эксперт.

При этом на Западе указывают, что небо Азербайджана прикрывают ЗРК С-300, «Барак 8», Бук-М1 и Тор-М2Э.

В заключение, ни Армения, ни Азербайджан не имеют достаточных сил, чтобы провести эффективную и длительную воздушную кампанию

- отмечает Спарацино, указывая, что для этого необходима серьезная модернизация ВВС.

Как он заявляет, Москва при этом заинтересована в том, чтобы в данном регионе обходилось без кровопролития:

Повышенный интерес России, кажется, в том, чтобы сохранять спокойствие и сделать так, чтобы два конкурента могли направить свои усилия на противоборство в сфере перевооружения путем приобретения новых платформ и систем.

Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter