Military Review

Iraqi war of Czechoslovak military chemists: how Czechoslovakia "stood up" for Kuwait

19

In 1990, Iraq attacked neighboring Kuwait. Almost immediately, Kuwait acquired an interesting ally - Czechoslovakia. The meeting of the American and Egyptian diplomats with the Czechoslovak military took place in Prague the day after the start of the war.


Secret meeting of the Czechoslovak military with the attaches of the United States and Egypt


Officers of the General Staff of the Armed Forces of Czechoslovakia Jan Valo and Jaroslav Kumberra met in one of the restaurants in the Czech capital with the military attaches of the United States and Egypt in Czechoslovakia. The Egyptian attaché was particularly indignant at the fact of aggression. Czechoslovak officers, in turn, said that it would be very nice if Czechoslovakia, so many years after the Second World War, took part in "defending the attacked state." According to the official Czech interpretation, they "stood up" for Kuwait. How the Western countries' operations against Iraq began, including the perjury of the daughter of the Kuwaiti ambassador to the United States, Naira al-Sabah, in Prague they prefer not to remember.

The Egyptian and American military attaches conveyed the position of the Czechoslovak command to their leaders. Soon, the office of Vaclav Havel received an official offer to join Operation Desert Shield. So Czechoslovakia became an official member of the international coalition.

However, almost immediately the question arose about which Czechoslovak unit to send to the war in the distant Middle Eastern desert. At first it was about a helicopter unit, but then they decided to focus on a battalion of military chemists.

The most interesting thing is that at the time of Operations Desert Shield and Desert Storm, Czechoslovakia was still viewed in the United States as a representative of the Eastern Bloc. In turn, the Czechoslovak military considered Iraq, not Kuwait, their ally, since it was Iraq that was supplied weapon countries of the socialist camp.

First experience of cooperation with NATO


The President of Czechoslovakia, Vaclav Havel, showed great personal initiative by not asking Moscow for permission to participate in the coalition. A Czechoslovak chemical defense battalion was deployed to Kuwait, and its specialists soon discovered traces of the use of chemical agents by the Iraqi military. At least, this is the official interpretation of the Czech Ministry of Defense today.

Captain Pyotr Polednik, a native of the Airborne Forces, was at the time the commander of a security company for a chemical defense battalion sent to Kuwait. He recalled that he did not see any problems in cooperation with yesterday's opponents from the NATO bloc. Interestingly, the officer recalls, even American generals saw no obstacles to Czechoslovakia's belonging to the Warsaw Bloc. In fact, it was then that the foundations of cooperation between the Czech military and NATO were laid, and now the Czech Republic and Slovakia, as we know, are members of the North Atlantic Alliance.

For many Czechoslovak military personnel, a trip to Kuwait and participation in the military operation against Iraq has become an invaluable experience, as the Chechen Defense Ministry says today. Indeed, for decades after the Second World War, Czechoslovak soldiers and officers only honed their military skills in countless military exercises of the Warsaw Pact countries, but did not have the opportunity to apply it in practice.

Previously, Czechoslovakia supplied weapons in abundance to third world countries, primarily to Asia and Africa, where they were used by local partisans of the communist and pro-communist wing. In addition, the Czechoslovakian weapons were also at the disposal of the Iraqi army - the same one that the Czechoslovakian military chemists "faced" in 1990.
Author:
Photos used:
Wikipedia / PHC HOLMES, US Navy
19 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. The leader of the Redskins
    The leader of the Redskins 3 August 2020 18: 48
    +4
    I have never heard of this page in the history of military conflicts. Thanks to the author!)
  2. Mavrikiy
    Mavrikiy 3 August 2020 18: 49
    +3
    For many Czechoslovak military personnel, the trip to Kuwait and participation in the military operation against Iraq became an invaluable experience.
    Naturally, where he could come from. "O Czech Republic, it bloomed, beyond friendly bayonets" request
    1. svp67
      svp67 3 August 2020 18: 54
      +5
      Quote: Mavrikiy
      Naturally, where he could come from. "O Czech Republic, it bloomed, beyond friendly bayonets"

      And it "welded" very well, both on white and "gray" schemes for the sale of weapons ...
      1. Reptiloid
        Reptiloid 4 August 2020 12: 05
        0
        ..... without asking ... from Moscow .....
        Why didn't you ask? After all, the police department still existed? It ceased to exist in July 1991. Or was it already clear that it was already marked for the Americans?
        And again the same question arises - were there joint military research, programs, enterprises? The property is not only material, but intellectual, scientific developments?
        What happened to all this after 01.07. 91.
  3. pytar
    pytar 3 August 2020 18: 54
    +1
    Something I did not understand, what is the meaning of this article ?! request In Czechoslovakia, even during the ATS, the anti-chemical protection units were at their best! In view of the presence of Czechoslovak weapons in the Iraqi army, some of which Saddam Husein could have fueled with chemical weapons, the presence of Czechoslovak specialists looks quite justified.
  4. Andrey VOV
    Andrey VOV 3 August 2020 19: 07
    0
    Already at 90, the states were 100% sure that literally tomorrow the Warsaw Treaty and the USSR would collapse ...
    1. Mitroha
      Mitroha 3 August 2020 19: 43
      +8
      So Judas labeled for 5 years already worked for this.
    2. 210ox
      210ox 4 August 2020 07: 46
      +2
      They had this confidence much earlier. The devils know how to play for a long time.
      1. Reptiloid
        Reptiloid 4 August 2020 12: 13
        +2
        Quote: 210ox
        They had this confidence much earlier. The devils know how to play for a long time.
        Exactly!
        In 1990, the GDR merged with the FRG. And the groveling of the marked began much earlier.
  5. Livonetc
    Livonetc 3 August 2020 19: 21
    -2
    "They are all weak
    In this Czechoslovakia ".c.
  6. Avior
    Avior 3 August 2020 21: 37
    +5
    So so sensation.
    The Desert Shield is not a NATO operation, a coalition of 35 states was created in fulfillment of the UN Security Council decision 678, the USSR was not opposed, except for Czechoslovakia, Poland and Hungary entered it from the Warsaw Pact. Poles took an active part - they freed 6 American spies who were reconnoitring the state of Iraqi troops - Operation Samum.
    The Czechs did not take direct part in the hostilities.
    And before that, Poland and the USSR, one way or another, participated in operations on the decisions of the UN Security Council, although they did not take part in hostilities either.
    It is not clear why Czechoslovakia was singled out in the article.
    At that time, the Warsaw Pact no longer actually existed: (...
    1. Alexey RA
      Alexey RA 4 August 2020 08: 56
      +5
      Quote: Avior
      The Desert Shield is not a NATO operation, a coalition of 35 states was created in fulfillment of the UN Security Council decision 678, the USSR was not against it, except for Czechoslovakia, Poland and Hungary entered it from the Warsaw Pact.

      And of the Arab allies of the USSR - Syria. Moreover, the Syrians did not waste time on trifles and sent an armored division.
      1. Avior
        Avior 4 August 2020 10: 04
        +1
        Yeah. This is more of a sensation than the Czechs in the article
      2. Mikhail Matyugin
        Mikhail Matyugin 7 August 2020 16: 54
        0
        Quote: Alexey RA
        Quote: Avior
        The Desert Shield is not a NATO operation, a coalition of 35 states was created in fulfillment of the UN Security Council decision 678, the USSR was not against it, except for Czechoslovakia, Poland and Hungary entered it from the Warsaw Pact.

        And of the Arab allies of the USSR - Syria. Moreover, the Syrians did not waste time on trifles and sent an armored division.

        In fact, Egypt, with its traditional policy of sitting on two chairs, not only participated militarily, but played a very important role in the general arrangement of such a diverse coalition.
        1. Alexey RA
          Alexey RA 7 August 2020 17: 32
          0
          Quote: Mikhail Matyugin
          In fact, Egypt, with its traditional policy of sitting on two chairs, not only participated militarily, but played a very important role in the general arrangement of such a diverse coalition.

          I am aware of Egypt and the troops of the monarchies of the Persian Gulf. It was just about the allies of the USSR who took part in that operation. And at that time only Syria could be called such a 100% ally. Since the days of Sadat, Egypt has been at best a fellow traveler, but certainly not an ally.
  7. andrewkor
    andrewkor 4 August 2020 06: 09
    -3
    and the voluntarist Saddam Hussein got what he deserved. This ghoul is not a pity. He ruined such a country!
  8. voyaka uh
    voyaka uh 5 August 2020 16: 48
    +2
    Saddam invaded Kuwait.
    A military coalition was created under the auspices of the UN.
    It also included the western NATO countries,
    and the countries of Eastern Europe, and the Arab countries.
  9. raif
    raif 8 August 2020 20: 06
    0
    a short collection of well-known facts did not arouse any interest - even negative emotions due to the collapse of the police department (yes, I am a supporter of the USSR and socialism). one new fact - I learned the name of one Czech officer laughing
  10. militarist63
    militarist63 9 October 2020 01: 50
    -1
    Soon, the office of Vaclav Havel received an official offer to join Operation Desert Shield. So Czechoslovakia became an official member of the international coalition.
    Yeah, that's how the perestroika komunyaki gradually destroyed everything .... First, the socialist camp was destroyed, and then their country was ruined! For what then the chief perestroika and received a barrel of jam and a box of cookies, in the form of a Nobel Prize! am
    Therefore, it is completely not surprising that
    Vaclav Havel showed great personal initiative by not asking permission from Moscow
    Everything has already been sold ... and let it go!

Военное обозрение

Иракская война чехословацких военных химиков: как ЧССР «вступилась» за Кувейт

19

В 1990 г. Ирак напал на соседний Кувейт. Практически сразу же у Кувейта появился интересный союзник – Чехословакия. Встреча американского и египетского дипломатов с чехословацкими военными состоялась в Праге на следующий день после начала войны.


Секретная встреча чехословацких военных с атташе США и Египта


Офицеры Генштаба вооруженных сил Чехословакии Ян Вало и Ярослав Кумбера встретились в одном из ресторанов чешской столицы с военными атташе США и Египта в Чехословакии. Особенное возмущение фактом агрессии демонстрировал египетский атташе. Чехословацкие офицеры, в свою очередь, заявили, что было бы очень неплохо, если бы Чехословакия спустя столько лет после Второй мировой войны приняла бы участие в "защите подвергшегося нападению государства". По официальной чешской трактовке - "вступились" за Кувейт. С чего начались операции стран Запада против Ирака, включая лжесвидетельствования дочери кувейтского посла в США Наиры ас-Сабах, в Праге предпочитают не вспоминать.

Египетский и американский военные атташе донесли позицию чехословацкого командования своему руководству. Вскоре канцелярия Вацлава Гавела получила официальное предложение присоединиться к операции «Щит пустыни». Так Чехословакия стала официальным участником международной коалиции.

Однако практически сразу встал вопрос о том, какое чехословацкое подразделение отправить на войну в далекую ближневосточную пустыню. Сначала речь шла о вертолетном подразделении, но затем решили остановиться на батальоне военных химиков.

Самое интересное, что ко времени операций «Щит пустыни» и «Буря в пустыне» Чехословакия все еще рассматривалась в США как представитель «восточного блока». В свою очередь, чехословацкие военные считали своим союзником Ирак, а не Кувейт, так как именно Ираку поставляли оружие страны социалистического лагеря.

Первый опыт сотрудничества с НАТО


Президент Чехословакии Вацлав Гавел проявил большую личную инициативу, не став спрашивать разрешения у Москвы на участие в коалиции. В Кувейт был переброшен чехословацкий батальон химической защиты, специалисты которого вскоре обнаружили следы использования иракскими военными отравляющих веществ. По крайней мере, так сегодня звучит официальная трактовка Минобороны Чехии.

Капитан Петр Поледник, выходец из воздушно-десантных войск, в то время служил командиром роты охраны батальона химической защиты, направленного в Кувейт. Он вспоминал, что в сотрудничестве со вчерашними противниками из блока НАТО не видел никаких проблем. Что интересно, вспоминает офицер, даже американские генералы не видели препятствий в принадлежности Чехословакии к Варшавскому блоку. Фактически именно тогда закладывались основы сотрудничества чешских военных с НАТО, а сейчас Чехия и Словакия, как мы знаем, являются участниками Североатлантического альянса.

Для многих чехословацких военнослужащих командировка в Кувейт и участие в военной операции против Ирака стала бесценным опытом, как рассказывается в Минобороны ЧР сегодня. Ведь десятилетиями после Второй мировой войны чехословацкие солдаты и офицеры лишь оттачивали свое военное мастерство в бесчисленных военных учениях стран Варшавского договора, но не имели возможности применять его на практике.

Чехословакия до этого в изобилии поставляла вооружение в страны третьего мира, прежде всего в Азию и Африку, где оно использовалось местными партизанами коммунистического и прокоммунистического толка. Кроме того, чехословацкое оружие находилось в распоряжении и иракской армии – той самой, с которой в 1990 году "столкнулись" чехословацкие военные химики.
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
Википедия/PHC HOLMES, ВМС США
19 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Вождь краснокожих
    Вождь краснокожих 3 августа 2020 18:48
    +4
    Никогда не слышал об этой страничке в истории военных конфликтов. Спасибо автору!)
  2. Mavrikiy
    Mavrikiy 3 августа 2020 18:49
    +3
    Для многих чехословацких военнослужащих командировка в Кувейт и участие в военной операции против Ирака стала бесценным опытом,
    Естественно, откуда он мог взяться. " О Чехия, она цвела, за гранью дружеских штыков" request
    1. svp67
      svp67 3 августа 2020 18:54
      +5
      Цитата: Mavrikiy
      Естественно, откуда он мог взяться. " О Чехия, она цвела, за гранью дружеских штыков"

      И очень хорошо "наваривалась", как на белых, так и "серых" схемах продажи оружия...
      1. Reptiloid
        Reptiloid 4 августа 2020 12:05
        0
        .....не став спрашивать.....у Москвы.....
        А почему не стал спрашивать? Ведь ещё ОВД существовала? Перестала существовать в июле 1991года. Или понятно было уже, что меченый уже под американцев?
        И опять возникает тот же вопрос---были ведь совместные военные исследования, программы, предприятия? Собственность не только материальная, но интеллектуальная, научные разработки?
        Что с этим всем происходило после 01.07. 91.
  3. pytar
    pytar 3 августа 2020 18:54
    +1
    Что то не понял, в чем смысл даной статии?! request В Чехословакия, еще во время ОВД подразделения противохимический защите были на высоте! В виду наличие чехословацкого оружия у иракской армии, часть которого Саддам Хюсеин мог заправить с хим.оружие, присуствие чехословацских специалистов, выглядит вполне оправданным.
  4. Андрей ВОВ
    Андрей ВОВ 3 августа 2020 19:07
    0
    Уже в 90 штаты были на 100% уверены что буквально завтра развалится и варшавский договор и СССР...
    1. Mitroha
      Mitroha 3 августа 2020 19:43
      +8
      Так Иуда меченая уже 5 лет как трудилась для этого.
    2. 210окв
      210окв 4 августа 2020 07:46
      +2
      Уверенность в этом у них была гораздо раньше. Умеют черти играть вдолгую.
      1. Reptiloid
        Reptiloid 4 августа 2020 12:13
        +2
        Цитата: 210окв
        Уверенность в этом у них была гораздо раньше. Умеют черти играть вдолгую.
        Именно так!
        В 1990м уже ГДР объеденилась с ФРГ. А пресмыкательства меченого начались гораздо раньше.
  5. Livonetc
    Livonetc 3 августа 2020 19:21
    -2
    "Все они слабаки
    В этой Чехослабакии".c.
  6. Avior
    Avior 3 августа 2020 21:37
    +5
    Так себе сенсация.
    Щит пустыни- это не операция НАТО, каолицию из 35 государств создали в выполнение решения Совбеза ООН 678, СССР не был против, кроме Чехословакии в нее вошли из Варшавского договора Польша и Венгрия. Активное участие приняли поляки- они освободили 6 американских шпионов, разведывавших состояние войск Ирака- Операция самум.
    Чехи не принимали прямого участия в боевых действиях.
    И до этого Польша и СССР так или иначе участвовали в операциях по решениям Совбеза ООН, хотя и в боевых действиях участия не принимали.
    Непонятно, зачем выделили именно Чехословакию в статье.
    Варшавского договора на тот момент уже фактически не существовало:(...
    1. Alexey RA
      Alexey RA 4 августа 2020 08:56
      +5
      Цитата: Avior
      Щит пустыни- это не операция НАТО, каолицию из 35 государств создали в выполнение решения Совбеза ООН 678, СССР не был против, кроме Чехословакии в нее вошли из Варшавского договора Польша и Венгрия.

      А из арабских союзников СССР - Сирия. Причём сирийцы не мелочились и прислали бронетанковую дивизию.
      1. Avior
        Avior 4 августа 2020 10:04
        +1
        Да уж. Это больше на сенсацию тянет, чем чехи в статье
      2. Михаил Матюгин
        Михаил Матюгин 7 августа 2020 16:54
        0
        Цитата: Alexey RA
        Цитата: Avior
        Щит пустыни- это не операция НАТО, каолицию из 35 государств создали в выполнение решения Совбеза ООН 678, СССР не был против, кроме Чехословакии в нее вошли из Варшавского договора Польша и Венгрия.

        А из арабских союзников СССР - Сирия. Причём сирийцы не мелочились и прислали бронетанковую дивизию.

        Вообще то ещё и Египет, с его традиционной политикой сидения на 2 стульях, не только участвовал военно, но сыграл ой какую серьёзную роль вообще в компоновки столь разносторонней коалиции.
        1. Alexey RA
          Alexey RA 7 августа 2020 17:32
          0
          Цитата: Михаил Матюгин
          Вообще то ещё и Египет, с его традиционной политикой сидения на 2 стульях, не только участвовал военно, но сыграл ой какую серьёзную роль вообще в компоновки столь разносторонней коалиции.

          Про Египет и войска монархий Персидского залива я в курсе. Просто речь шла о союзниках СССР, принявших участие в той операции. А на тот момент таким 100% союзником можно было назвать только Сирию. Египет же со времён Садата был в лучшем случае попутчиком, но точно не союзником.
  7. andrewkor
    andrewkor 4 августа 2020 06:09
    -3
    и волюнтарист Саддам Хусейн получил по "заслугам".Этого Упыря ни сколько не жаль.Такую страну погубил!
  8. voyaka uh
    voyaka uh 5 августа 2020 16:48
    +2
    Саддам захватил Кувейт.
    Была создана под эгидой ООН военная коалиция.
    В нее входили и западные страны НАТО,
    и страны Восточной Европы, и арабские страны.
  9. раиф
    раиф 8 августа 2020 20:06
    0
    коротенькая подборочка всем известных фактов не вызвала никакого интереса - даже отрицательных эмоций из-за развала ОВД (да, я сторонник СССР и социализма). новый факт один - узнал фамилию одного офицера-чеха laughing
  10. militarist63
    militarist63 9 октября 2020 01:50
    -1
    Вскоре канцелярия Вацлава Гавела получила официальное предложение присоединиться к операции «Щит пустыни». Так Чехословакия стала официальным участником международной коалиции.
    Даааа, вот так вот комуняки-перестроечники всё постепенно и разваливали.... Вначале соцлагерь развалили, а потом и свою страну угробили! За что потом главный перестроечник и получил бочку варенья и ящик печенья , в виде нобелевской премии! am
    Потому, совершенно неудивительно, что
    Вацлав Гавел проявил большую личную инициативу, не став спрашивать разрешения у Москвы
    Всё уже было продано... и пущено на самотёк!