Military Review

What will the 4th generation Chinese tank be like?

17

main Tanks "Type 88A". Probably, after the start of their production, work began on "9289". Photo of the Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation


Currently, the most advanced main battle tank of the PLA is the "Type 99" and its modifications. This is a typical MBT 3 post-war generation with all the necessary features and capabilities. At the same time, various unofficial messages and rumors about the possible development of a fundamentally new tank of the next 4th generation have been circulating for many years.

Secret projects


According to the foreign specialized press, work on the 4th generation MBT started in China in early 1992. Not long before that, the PLA received its first 3rd generation tank, the Type 88, and the industry, represented by the NORINCO corporation, started looking for the necessary technologies and solutions.

In the early stages, the project was designated by the index "9289". No details of this project were published in the official Chinese sources, but various assessments of the assumption and the "leak" appeared in the foreign press. It was reported that the goal of the project "9289" is to create a new MBT, in all characteristics superior to the existing machines in service with the PLA and other countries.

Work on "9289" continued until 1996, after which they were stopped. By that time, developments on a promising tank existed only on paper. The prototype was not built or tested. A possible reason for stopping the project could be the appearance of a new serial MBT "Type 96". In addition, the design of an even more advanced Type 99 was being completed.


"Type 96A" is a modern PLA tank. Photo Vitalykuzmin.net

Research and design work on the next generation tank resumed in 1999, almost simultaneously with the launch of the production of the next vehicle. On the basis of the project "9289" they began to develop a new "9958". It is known that before the launch of "9958" the army changed the requirements for the promising MBT, but they did not exclude the possibility of using the developments on the previous project. However, the exact technical data remained unknown again.

According to foreign data, the project "9958" resulted in an experienced tank CSU-152. It was built and launched for testing no later than 2003. At the same time, thematic publications provided general information about the possible appearance of this vehicle, its features and combat capabilities. However, no official comments followed this time either.

Almost 20 years have passed since then, but the PRC still does not disclose any data on projects "9289", "9958" and CSU-152. Moreover, even the very existence of these projects is not confirmed - although it is not refuted. As always, China prefers to remain silent about promising developments and focus on serial technology.

Estimated appearance


The most complete unofficial data regarding the appearance of CSU-152 was published by Jane's. It wrote about a traditional tank with a central fighting compartment and aft engine compartment. The fighting compartment could have a classic look or be uninhabited. Also, the possibility of using a gun carriage with the removal of the weapon outside was not excluded.


Tanks "Type 99A" on the parade. Photo Wikimedia Commons

It was assumed the presence of a welded armored body with combined protection of the frontal projection. Such a package could be made using ceramic elements or depleted uranium plates, as on foreign armored vehicles. Hull armor could be supplemented with dynamic protection.

The name of the project indicated the caliber of the gun - 152 mm, capable of providing a significant increase in combat qualities. In view of the large dimensions of the shot, an automatic loader should be used with the placement of ammunition in the hull or in the turret. The development of modern fire control facilities was also indicated. They were supposed to ensure the search and destruction of targets in the daytime and at night at increased ranges.

Due to the increase in combat weight, the tank needed an engine with a capacity of at least 1500 hp. and in an improved transmission. With the help of such a power unit, it would be possible to obtain mobility no worse than that of serial samples. Other characteristics were not specified in the publications or were not mentioned at all.

Objective reality


The first reports about the 9958 / CSU-152 project appeared many years ago and attracted the attention of specialists and amateurs of armored vehicles. However, virtually nothing followed. The foreign press no longer published new details.

The official PRC also did not disclose data on these projects, but regularly presented new samples of armored vehicles. So, during the alleged work on "9289", "9958" and CSU-152, two MBTs and several of their modifications for their army were put into series, as well as a number of exclusively export samples. And none of them looked like a hypothetical tank of the next 4th generation, "presented" in specialized publications.


"Type 15" is a medium-weight tank for mining units. Photo Bmpd.livejournal.com

The reasons for this are unclear, and several explanations can be offered. It is obvious that the Chinese industry is constantly working to improve armored vehicles, looking for new technologies and working out more advanced components. Not all research projects of this kind should turn into real projects. It is quite possible that "9289", "9958" and CSU-152 remained at the preliminary study level, and then with their help they launched other projects.

Information about "9289" appeared in the nineties - when work was underway on several real projects. It is quite possible that the fundamentally new armored vehicle that NORINCO was working on at that time was in fact the future Type 99.

It should be remembered that China is getting old not to disclose data on promising projects, and real "leaks" do not happen often. Because of this, it cannot be ruled out that the known information and ratings on the topic "9289" or "9958" are the result of an incorrect interpretation of the information available. Finally, a deliberate mystification of one origin or another is possible.

Tank - to be?


The last serial MBT for the Chinese army is the Type 99, which was put into production in 2000. In the early tenths, its improved version of the Type 99A appeared, and then several of its modifications. Later, new export and specialized armored vehicles were created, but a fundamentally new main tank has not yet been reported. The time that has passed since the appearance of the modern "Type 99" hints at the development of the next MBT - such work can go right now.

What the next MBT will be for the PLA is an extremely interesting question. In recent decades, NORINCO and related companies have managed to close the gap with world leaders and create a number of very interesting and successful tanks. The latest versions of "Type 96" and "Type 99" are created using the latest technologies and components, which allows them to compare with modern foreign models.


Modern tanks at the range. Photo by the Ministry of Defense of the PRC

The leading tank-building powers are now dealing with the problems of MBT prospects. Russia has already presented a ready-made sample, while other countries are still looking for an optimal look. Probably the same work is going on in the PRC. European countries and the United States have already published some materials on the MBT of the future, and China traditionally keeps its secrets.

Apparently, the "predictions" of the foreign press will come true sooner or later, and the PLA will receive the next 4th generation tank. But what it will be is unknown. It can be expected that it will retain some of the features of its predecessors, and from some points of view it will be similar to promising foreign models. There will certainly be features that are fundamentally new for Chinese technology, incl. determining the growth of fighting qualities.

When will the future Chinese tank appear? Great question. At the moment, NORINCO has focused on the development of export tanks and on the production of armored vehicles of already known types. Probably, the design bureaus of the corporation are also busy with business, and at any moment the most interesting ones may appear. news about their activities and successes.
Author:
17 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Mavrikiy
    Mavrikiy 17 August 2020 05: 33
    +3
    What will the 4th generation Chinese tank be like?
    Poor, if there is no where to tear off. Losers. request
    1. Quadro
      Quadro 17 August 2020 09: 30
      -2
      Quote: Mavrikiy
      What will the 4th generation Chinese tank be like?
      Poor, if there is no where to tear off. Losers. request

      Poor is your stronghold. And the Chinese have normal technology and electronics they have differently better than amerskie buggy aircraft.
    2. Civil
      Civil 17 August 2020 11: 43
      +2
      Another question - against whom is China building its hordes of tanks?
    3. The comment was deleted.
  2. mark1
    mark1 17 August 2020 05: 42
    +2
    [quoteWhen will the future Chinese tank appear? ] [/ quote] Everything seems to be getting better with "Armata", so soon. Well, if only a small fraction of Western concepts are added
  3. Free wind
    Free wind 17 August 2020 06: 00
    +3
    Is there any data on the Type-99 tank? not. They are powered by diesel engines of 1500 liters. forces. At first they were German, but it seems like they bought a license. The Chinese have electronics of very high quality. Well, judging by the article, the Chinese are poor. Only the poor are already in first place in terms of economic indicators.
    1. Firelake
      Firelake 17 August 2020 07: 07
      -3
      So are stupid Americans. And smart Russians will land on Mars tomorrow.
      1. Quadro
        Quadro 17 August 2020 09: 28
        0
        Quote: FireLake
        So are stupid Americans. And smart Russians will land on Mars tomorrow.

        So they really do not differ in intelligence. Who works there in the it field? Koreans, Chinese, Russians, Indians and Paki. They bought brains, but they themselves cannot do anything, because they dispersed their own. The same is true for nuclear energy. Or is it "cleverness" as a competency proser? But they had no collapse.
        1. Firelake
          Firelake 11 September 2020 10: 50
          0
          And the Americans brought the collapse to us. Well, OK.
          All that is bad in Russia is America's fault. Horn is an American, Gref is an American and everyone else too. But Putin is Russian, but nothing changes. And it’s exactly the Americans’s fault. And the Chinese. And reptilians
    2. Sidor Amenpodestovich
      Sidor Amenpodestovich 17 August 2020 10: 03
      +3
      Quote: Free Wind
      Is there any data on the Type-99 tank? not. They are powered by diesel engines of 1500 liters. forces. At first they were German, but it seems like they bought a license. The Chinese have electronics of very high quality. Well, judging by the article, the Chinese are poor. Only the poor are already in first place in terms of economic indicators.

      Can you name a few, preferably, unique Chinese developments?
      Precisely unique, since equipment for 5G is not.
      1. mvg
        mvg 17 August 2020 13: 31
        +3
        unique Chinese designs?

        Well, the Chinese are now on the far side of the moon, something flew to Mars. They build aircraft carriers and destroyers (they do not use 2kTn corvettes with foam in the net), nuclear power plants, turbines (they do not buy them smuggled from Siemens), heavy industry, and resistance to materials. Unique underground cities.
        They have electronics comparable to the West. High-quality consumer goods, the automotive industry (not Kamaz and Vesta), aviation, both military and civilian.
        The second-third producer of civil shipping in the world.
        PS: It's harder to say what they don't have
        RF does not have a lot of things now.
  4. psiho117
    psiho117 17 August 2020 10: 28
    +2
    It seemed to me alone, or judging by the description - a promising Ketai MBT, according to the description, well, one-to-one our Object 195 ...
    And the development time is the same, and even the caliber of the gun.
    Well, finally, it's not suspicious wassat Copy-paste is crap.
  5. zenion
    zenion 17 August 2020 17: 02
    0
    Future tank of project 9966. Whatever one may say, it's all one ...
  6. Reserve buildbat
    Reserve buildbat 17 August 2020 18: 06
    0
    What I like about the Chinese is the secrecy mode. Even if foreign intelligence agencies have learned more or less real characteristics of the equipment, there is no refutation or confirmation. "Vaska listens, but eats", work goes on without regard to the statements of "foreign media".
  7. Knell wardenheart
    Knell wardenheart 17 August 2020 19: 53
    +1
    Do they need this supernova tank? All of China's neighbors are either very much inferior to it in terms of the number of modern tanks, or in terms of industrial production capacities of these, or are in more or less calm relations with it, or, finally, like India, it does not imply the dominance of tanks in solving military tasks.
    All this allows China to freely conduct research on the topic and even small-scale production - having already achieved qualitative and quantitative parity with potential opponents in its region, and having at its disposal a fleet of machines that it can effectively add in the event of some radical changes.
    Also, do not forget that although China is rich, now it has focused its funds as much as possible on the fleet and aviation - aircraft carriers and aircraft of the 5th generation with the growth of space costs are not a joke to you ..
    1. Pereira
      Pereira 20 August 2020 11: 38
      0
      And transplant the whole world to them? We will wait for them to be purchased in the USA. Its not something.
  8. Crabong
    Crabong 18 August 2020 09: 19
    0
    That is why they do not publish because there is nothing to publish. They sculpt anything. Experience and engineering intuition is zero. The fifth generation fighter over there was laughed at by the chickens ...

Военное обозрение

Каким будет китайский танк 4-го поколения?

17

Основные танки "Тип 88А". Вероятно, после начала их производства стартовали работы по "9289". Фото Минобороны РФ


В настоящее время самым совершенным основным боевым танком НОАК является «Тип 99» и его модификации. Это типичный ОБТ 3 послевоенного поколения со всеми необходимыми особенностями и возможностями. При этом на протяжении долгих лет циркулируют различные неофициальные сообщения и слухи о возможной разработке принципиально нового танка следующего 4 поколения.

Секретные проекты


По данным зарубежной профильной прессы, работы по 4 поколению ОБТ стартовали в Китае в начале 1992 г. Незадолго до этого НОАК получила свой первый танк 3 поколения, «Тип 88», и промышленность в лице корпорации NORINCO занялась поиском необходимых технологий и решений.

На ранних этапах проект обозначался индексом «9289». Какие-либо подробности этого проекта в официальных китайских источниках не публиковались, но в зарубежной прессе появлялись различные оценки предположения и «утечки». Сообщалось, что целью проекта «9289» является создание нового ОБТ, по всем характеристикам превосходящего существующие машины, состоящие на вооружении НОАК и других стран.

Работы по «9289» продолжались до 1996 г., после чего их остановили. К тому времени наработки по перспективному танку существовали только на бумаге. Опытный образец не строился и не испытывался. Возможной причиной остановки проекта могло стать появление нового серийного ОБТ «Тип 96». Кроме того, завершалось проектирование еще более совершенного «Типа 99».


"Тип 96А" - современный танк НОАК. Фото Vitalykuzmin.net

Исследования и проектные работы по танку следующего поколения возобновили в 1999 г., почти одновременно с запуском производства очередной машины. На основе проекта «9289» стали разрабатывать новый «9958». Известно, что перед стартом «9958» армия изменила требования к перспективному ОБТ, но они не исключали возможность применения наработок по предыдущему проекту. Впрочем, точные данные технического характера вновь остались неизвестными.

По зарубежным данным, итогом проекта «9958» стал опытный танк CSU-152. Его построили и вывели на испытания не позднее 2003 г. Тогда же в тематических публикациях приводились общие данные о возможном облике этой машины, ее особенностях и боевых возможностях. Однако и на этот раз официальные комментарии не последовали.

С тех пор прошло почти 20 лет, но КНР до сих пор не раскрывает никаких данных по проектам «9289», «9958» и CSU-152. Более того, даже сам факт существования этих проектов не подтверждается – хотя и не опровергается. Как всегда, Китай предпочитает хранить молчание о перспективных разработках и делать акцент на серийной технике.

Предполагаемый облик


Наиболее полные неофициальные данные относительно облика CSU-152 опубликовало издательство Jane’s. Оно писало о танке традиционной компоновки с центральным боевым отделением и кормовым моторным отсеком. Боевое отделение могло бы иметь классический облик или быть необитаемым. Также не исключалась возможность применения лафетной компоновки с выносом орудия наружу.


Танки "Тип 99А" на параде. Фото Wikimedia Commons

Предполагалось наличие сварного броневого корпуса с комбинированной защитой лобовой проекции. Такой пакет могли выполнить с применением керамических элементов или пластин из обедненного урана, как на зарубежной бронетехнике. Бронирование корпуса могли бы дополнить динамической защитой.

Название проекта указывало на калибр орудия – 152 мм, способный обеспечить значительный рост боевых качеств. Ввиду больших габаритов выстрела следовало применить автомат заряжания с размещением боекомплекта в корпусе или в башне. Также указывалось на разработку современных средств управления огнем. Они должны были обеспечить поиск и поражение целей в светлое и темное время суток на увеличенных дальностях.

Ввиду роста боевой массы танк нуждался в двигателе мощностью не менее 1500 л.с. и в усовершенствованной трансмиссии. С помощью такого силового блока можно было бы получить подвижность не хуже, чем у серийных образцов. Прочие характеристики в публикациях не уточнялись или не упоминались вовсе.

Объективная реальность


Первые сообщения о проекте «9958» / CSU-152 появились много лет назад и привлекли внимание специалистов и любителей бронетехники. Однако за ними фактически ничего не последовало. Зарубежная пресса более не публиковала новые подробности.

Официальная КНР тоже не раскрывала данные по этим проектам, но регулярно представляла новые образцы бронетехники. Так, за время предполагаемых работ по «9289», «9958» и CSU-152 в серию поставили два ОБТ и несколько их модификаций для своей армии, а также целый ряд исключительно экспортных образцов. И ни один из них не был похож на гипотетический танк следующего 4 поколения, «представленный» в профильных изданиях.


"Тип 15" - средний по массе танк для горных частей. Фото Bmpd.livejournal.com

Причины этого неясны, и можно предложить несколько объяснений. Очевидно, что китайская промышленность постоянно работает над совершенствованием бронетехники, ищет новые технологии и отрабатывает более совершенные компоненты. Далеко не все научно-исследовательские работы такого рода должны превращаться в реальные проекты. Вполне возможно, что «9289», «9958» и CSU-152 так и остались на уровне предварительной проработки, а затем с их помощью запустили другие проекты.

Информация о «9289» появилась в девяностых годах – когда велась работа по нескольким реальным проектам. Вполне возможно, что принципиально новой бронемашиной, над которой в то время работала NORINCO, на самом деле был будущий «Тип 99».

Не следует забывать, что Китай стареется не разглашать данные по перспективным проектам, а реальные «утечки» случаются нечасто. Из-за этого нельзя исключать, что известные сведения и оценки на тему «9289» или «9958» являются результатом неверной трактовки доступной информации. Наконец, возможна сознательная мистификация того или иного происхождения.

Танку – быть?


Последним серийным ОБТ для китайской армии является «Тип 99», поставленный на серию в 2000 г. В начале десятых годов появилась его улучшенная версия «Тип 99А», а затем несколько ее модификаций. В дальнейшем создавались новые экспортные и специализированные бронемашины, но о принципиально новом основном танке пока не сообщается. Время, прошедшее с момента появления современного «Типа 99», намекает на разработку следующего ОБТ – такие работы могут идти прямо сейчас.

Каким будет следующий ОБТ для НОАК – крайне интересный вопрос. В последние десятилетия NORINCO и смежные предприятия сумели сократить отставание от мировых лидеров и создать ряд весьма интересных и удачных танков. Последние версии «Типа 96» и «Типа 99» созданы с использованием актуальных технологий и компонентов, что позволяет им сравниться с современными зарубежными образцами.


Современные танки на полигоне. Фото Минобороны КНР

Ведущие танкостроительные державы сейчас занимаются проблематикой перспектив ОБТ. Россия уже представила готовый образец, а другие страны пока заняты поисками оптимального облика. Вероятно, такие же работы идут в КНР. Европейские страны и США уже публиковали некоторые материалы по ОБТ будущего, а Китай традиционно хранит свои тайны.

По всей видимости, «предсказания» зарубежной прессы рано или поздно сбудутся, и НОАК получит танк следующего 4 поколения. Но каким он будет – неизвестно. Можно ожидать, что он сохранит некоторые черты предшественников, а с некоторых точек зрения будет похож на перспективные зарубежные образцы. Обязательно будут присутствовать принципиально новые для китайской техники особенности, в т.ч. определяющие рост боевых качеств.

Когда появится будущий китайский танк? Большой вопрос. На данный момент NORINCO сосредоточила усилие на разработке экспортных танков и на производстве бронемашин уже известных типов. Вероятно, конструкторские бюро корпорации тоже заняты делом, и в любой момент могут появиться самые интересные новости об их деятельности и успехах.
Автор:
17 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Mavrikiy
    Mavrikiy 17 августа 2020 05:33 Новый
    +3
    Каким будет китайский танк 4-го поколения?
    Убогим, если не будет откуда содрать. Двоечники. request
    1. Quadro
      Quadro 17 августа 2020 09:30 Новый
      -2
      Цитата: Mavrikiy
      Каким будет китайский танк 4-го поколения?
      Убогим, если не будет откуда содрать. Двоечники. request

      Убогий это ваш оплот. А у китайцев техника нормальная и электроника у них всяко получше чем амерские глючные самолёты.
    2. Гражданский
      Гражданский 17 августа 2020 11:43 Новый
      +2
      Еще один вопрос - против кого Китай свои полчища танков строит?
    3. Комментарий был удален.
  2. mark1
    mark1 17 августа 2020 05:42 Новый
    +2
    [quoteКогда появится будущий китайский танк? ][/quote] С "Арматой" вроде все налаживается, так что уже скоро. Ну если только малую толику западных концепций добавят
  3. Вольный ветер
    Вольный ветер 17 августа 2020 06:00 Новый
    +3
    По танку Тип-99 данные есть? нет. На них стоят дизели 1500 л. сил . По началу немецкие, но вроде как купили лицензию. Электроника у китайцев , весьма высокого качества. Ну а судя по статье , китайцы убогие. Только убогие уже на первом месте по экономическим показателям.
    1. FireLake
      FireLake 17 августа 2020 07:07 Новый
      -3
      Как и тупые американцы. А умные русские уже завтра высадятся на Марс.
      1. Quadro
        Quadro 17 августа 2020 09:28 Новый
        0
        Цитата: FireLake
        Как и тупые американцы. А умные русские уже завтра высадятся на Марс.

        Так они и реально умом не отличаются. Кто там в it сфере работает? Корейцы, китайцы, русские, индусы и паки. Мозгов покупали, а сами уже ничего не могут, ибо своих разогнали. По атомной энергетике тоже самое. Или просер компетенций это "умность"? А ведь у них развала не было.
        1. FireLake
          FireLake 11 сентября 2020 10:50 Новый
          0
          А развал нам американцы завезли. Ну ок.
          Все что плохого в России это все Америка виновата. Рогом американец, Греф американец и все остальные тоже. А вот Путин русский но что-то ничего не меняется. А точно это американцы виноваты. И китайцы. И рептилойды
    2. Сидор Аменподестович
      Сидор Аменподестович 17 августа 2020 10:03 Новый
      +3
      Цитата: Вольный ветер
      По танку Тип-99 данные есть? нет. На них стоят дизели 1500 л. сил . По началу немецкие, но вроде как купили лицензию. Электроника у китайцев , весьма высокого качества. Ну а судя по статье , китайцы убогие. Только убогие уже на первом месте по экономическим показателям.

      А Вы можете назвать несколько, желательно, уникальных китайских разработок?
      Именно уникальных, так как оборудование для 5G таковым не является.
      1. mvg
        mvg 17 августа 2020 13:31 Новый
        +3
        уникальных китайских разработок?

        Ну китайцы сейчас на обратной стороне Луны, что то полетело на Марс. Строют авианосцы и эсминцы (а не обҫуждают с пеной в сети корветы по 2кТн), АЭС, турбины (а не покупают контрабандой у Сименс), тяжелая промышленность, сопромат. Уникальные подземные города.
        Имеют электронику, сопоставимую с Западом. Весьма качественный ширпотреб, автомобильную промышленность (не Камаз'ы и Весты), авиацию, как военную, так и гражданскую.
        Второй-третий в мире производитель гражданского судоходства.
        П.С.: Тяжелее сказать, чего не имеют
        Много чего сейчас не имеет РФ.
  4. psiho117
    psiho117 17 августа 2020 10:28 Новый
    +2
    Мне одному показалось, или судя по описанию - кетайский перспективный ОБТ, по описанию, ну один-в-один наш Объект 195...
    И время разработки совпадает, и даже калибр орудия.
    Ну прям ваще не подозрительно wassat Копипасты хрeнoвы.
  5. zenion
    zenion 17 августа 2020 17:02 Новый
    0
    Будущий танк проекта 9966. Как не крути, а всё одно...
  6. Стройбат запаса
    Стройбат запаса 17 августа 2020 18:06 Новый
    0
    Что мне нравится у китайцев, так это режим секретности. Даже если иностранные разведки узнали более-менее реальные характеристики техники - нет ни опровержения, ни подтверждения. "Васька слушает, да ест", работа идёт без оглядки на высказывания "иноСМИ".
  7. Knell Wardenheart
    Knell Wardenheart 17 августа 2020 19:53 Новый
    +1
    А нужен ли им этот суперновый танк ? Все соседи Китая либо очень сильно уступают ему по количеству современных танков,либо по промышленным мощностям выпуска оных , либо находятся с ним в более-менее спокойных отношениях, либо наконец,как Индия - не предполагает доминирования танков в решении военных задач.
    Все это позволяет Китаю свободно вести изыскания по теме и даже малосерийное производство - уже достигнув качественно-количественного паритета с вероятными противниками в своем регионе , и имея в распоряжении парк машин , которые он может эффективно дообвесить в случае каких то радикальных изменений.
    Также не нужно забывать,что хотя Китай и богат, сейчас он максимально сфокусировал средства на флоте и авиации - авианосцы и самолеты 5 поколения при росте затрат на космос это вам не шутки ..
    1. Перейра
      Перейра 20 августа 2020 11:38 Новый
      0
      А пересадить на них весь мир? Дождёмся, что и в США их закупать будут. Своего-то нет.
  8. Крабонг
    Крабонг 18 августа 2020 09:19 Новый
    0
    Потому и не публикуют, что публиковать нечего. Лепят что попало. Опыта и инженерной интуиции ноль. Вон истребитель пятого поколения сляпали курам на смех...