Military Review

How Peter started the war with the Swedes

8
How Peter started the war with the Swedes

Pierre-Denis Martin. "Battle of Poltava"


320 years ago, Russia entered the Northern War. The Swedish envoy in Moscow was arrested, and a decree was issued to arrest all Swedish goods in favor of the Russian treasury. As a reason for declaring war, "lies and insults" were indicated.

The need for a breakthrough to the Baltic


The Great Embassy 1697-1699 was organized to expand the ranks of the coalition against Turkey. After the capture of Azov, Tsar Peter Alekseevich planned to break through further, to get access to the Black Sea. However, Europe at this time was preparing for another war - for the Spanish inheritance. In addition, at the same time, an anti-Swedish alliance began to take shape.

Peter was interested in the north even more than the south. Therefore, instead of mastering the southern seas, the Azov and Black seas, it was decided to break through to the Baltic. For this it was necessary to end the war with the Ottoman Empire. With the Turks, after negotiations to Karlovitsy and Constantinople, it was possible to conclude peace in July 1700. Kerch and access to the Black Sea could not be obtained. Meanwhile, Peter in Moscow was energetically forging an alliance against Sweden. Each ally of Russia, Denmark and the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth had their own scores with Sweden.

The Russian kingdom under Ivan the Terrible tried to return the Baltic states to its sphere of influence, but the war was lost. Russia then had to wage war on several fronts at once with strong enemies: Lithuania and Poland (Rzeczpospolita), Sweden, the Crimean Khanate and Turkey. The Troubles further weakened the Russian positions in the northwest. Russia in 1617 in Stolbovo concluded an unprofitable peace with the Swedes. Sweden received territory, vital for Moscow, from Lake Ladoga to Ivangorod. The Russian state lost Yama, Koporya, Oreshk and Korela. Enemy fortresses wedged deep into the Russian state, Sweden received a strategic foothold for further expansion and pushing the Russians into the interior of the continent. Moscow lost access to the Baltic Sea, and now its contacts with Western Europe through these communications were completely dependent on the Swedes.

The Swedish king Gustav II Adolf, speaking in the Riksdag on the occasion of the conclusion of the Stolbovo peace, complacently noted:

“And now this enemy will not launch a single vessel into the Baltic Sea without our permission. Large lakes Ladoga and Peipus (Chudskoe. - Author), Narva region, 30 miles of vast swamps and strong fortresses separate us from it; the sea has been taken away from Russia, and, God willing, it will be difficult for Russians to jump over this brook. "

During the Russian-Swedish war of 1656-1658. Russia tried to return access to the sea, but without success. At this time, Russia was associated with a protracted war with the Commonwealth. Sweden, taking advantage of the severe military-political and socio-economic crisis of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth, attacked it. The Swedes secured Estonia and most of Livonia. It is clear that the Poles sought to recapture the lands of the former Livonia, the economic prosperity of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth depended on this.

The Saxon Elector and the Polish King Augustus II had their own reasons to start a war with the Swedes. He needed a victorious war in order to consolidate his position both in Saxony and in the Commonwealth. In Saxony, he had many enemies who accused him of renouncing Protestantism and adopting Catholicism for the sake of the Polish crown. In Poland, many influential magnates joined against him, who believed that he was more a Saxon prince than a Polish monarch, and was inclined to put the interests of Saxony first. The Polish gentry determined the election of Augustus as king by his obligation to return Livonia to the fold of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth. The Saxon army was supposed to solve this problem, although Saxony had no territorial claims to Sweden.

Denmark was Sweden's traditional rival on the Baltic Sea. The Swedes captured the southern coast of the Baltic. The Baltic Sea was turning into a "Swedish lake". The Swedes also captured Danish provinces and cities in the south of the Scandinavian Peninsula. Denmark was forced to abandon the collection of duties from Swedish ships passing through the Sunda Strait, which deprived Copenhagen of an important source of income. Another reason for the Swedish-Danish conflict was the Duchy of Schleswig-Holstein. In an effort to free themselves from the tutelage of their northern neighbor, the dukes focused on Sweden. In 1699, the Swedes brought troops into the duchy, violating previous agreements. Therefore, Denmark intensified preparing for war and looking for allies.


Swedish Empire at the end of the XNUMXth century

Creation of the Northern Union


In the summer of 1697, the Danish king Christian V, through his ambassador Paul Gaines, offered Moscow an anti-Swedish alliance. But the question hung in the air, since Peter at that time was on a trip abroad. Only in the fall of 1698 did the Russian tsar meet with the Danish ambassador. In February, negotiations were continued. On April 21, the agreement with Denmark was agreed. The two powers were to open hostilities against the "attacker and offender" near their borders. Russia planned to enter the war only after the conclusion of peace with the Turks. On November 23, 1699, the treaty was ratified at Menshikov's house in Preobrazhenskoye. In Denmark, the Christian king died at this time, Frederick IV became the new monarch. He confirmed the course towards war with Sweden.

It should be noted that the time was favorable for the war. Sweden was in crisis. The treasury was empty. Aristocrats and nobles seized state lands. To improve finances, King Charles XI, with the support of other estates (clergy and townspeople), began the reduction of estates: checking documents for the right of ownership and returning to the treasury lands previously seized by the nobles. With this, the king, on the one hand, replenished the treasury, and on the other, strengthened his power, undermining the autonomy of the provinces and the aristocracy. The reduction was extended to Livonia, where there were two main categories of landowners: the German knights, who owned the land for centuries, and the Swedish nobles, who received estates during the capture of the Baltic States by Sweden. Both categories were hit. The Swedish barons did not have documents that confirmed their rights. And the German noblemen lost the relevant documents long ago.

The complaints of the knights and their deputations to Stockholm went unheeded. As a result, a noble opposition formed in Livonia. She began to seek support abroad. The opposition leader was Johann von Patkul. He tried to defend the rights of the Livonian nobility in Stockholm, but was unsuccessful. He had to flee to Courland (it was under the protectorate of Poland). He became a political émigré who was sentenced to beheading in Sweden. Patkul wandered through European courts with plans to liberate Livonia from the Swedes. In 1698 he moved to Warsaw, where his ideas met with understanding and approval of August II. Patkul developed plans to fight Sweden and fueled the ambition of the Polish king. The army of Augustus was supposed to deliver the first blow to Riga.

August even before Patkul's arrival made an agreement with Peter. During the journey of the Russian sovereign in Europe, he met with the envoys of the ruler of Saxony in Amsterdam and Vienna. In August 1698, Peter the Great held personal negotiations with Augustus in Rava-Russkaya. In September 1699, representatives of the Saxon prince arrived in Moscow: General Karlovich and Patkul. The Russian army was to invade Izhora land (Ingermanlandia) and Karelia, and the Saxon army was to take Riga. On November 11, at Preobrazhensky, the tsar ratified the treaty with the Saxon elector. The treaty recognized historical Russia's rights to the land that Sweden seized at the beginning of the century. The parties pledged to help each other and not to conclude peace until the demands for which the war began were met. The Russians were to fight in Izhora and Karelia, the Saxons in Livonia and Estonia. Russia pledged to start a war after the conclusion of peace with Turkey.

At the same time, Moscow was negotiating with the Swedes. The Swedish embassy arrived in Moscow: King Charles XI died in Sweden, and Charles XII became his successor. The Swedes arrived so that Peter took the oath of confirmation of eternal peace. On November 20, Moscow confirmed the oath given in 1684. However, earlier the Riga administration carried out an unfriendly action against the Great Embassy, ​​so Peter I had a reason to violate the agreement. In the summer of 1700, Prince Khilkov arrived in Sweden to inform the Swedes about the impending departure of the great embassy from Russia. At the same time, he was a scout, obtained information about the Swedish army and fortresses, Sweden's relations with other powers. Khilkov was arrested after Russia declared war, he spent 18 years under arrest in Stockholm and died. Thus, Russia concealed its true intentions towards Sweden and supported the opinion in Stockholm that nothing threatened them from its eastern neighbor.

The outbreak of war


It seemed that the timing of the war with Sweden was well chosen. Sweden had serious internal problems. The leading European powers (England, Holland, France and Austria) were preparing for the War of the Spanish Succession. They had no time for the war in northern Europe. Sweden found itself in isolation, so it could not get help from England or France. The Swedish throne was taken by the young Karl XII, who was initially considered a frivolous and weak monarch. Saxony and Russia were supposed to tie the enemy on land, Denmark - at sea.

However, these calculations did not come true. First, it was not possible to speak in concert and at the same time. The Saxon army laid siege to Riga in February 1700, and Russia marched in August. Secondly, the young Swedish monarch showed outstanding military talents. The Saxons were unable to attack Riga quickly and unexpectedly. The Governor-General of Riga Dahlberg learned about the plans of the enemy, who were hovering around the border and managed to strengthen the city's defenses. The surprise effect of the attack should have been reinforced by the uprising of the inhabitants of Riga, but it did not happen. The Saxon prince himself frivolously amused himself with hunting and with women, was in no hurry to go to war. He arrived in active forces only in the summer.

The Saxons were able to take the Dinamünde fortress - it blocked the mouth of the Dvina. But the siege of Riga dragged on, the Swedes held out. It turned out that the king did not have enough troops to storm the big city, he had no money to maintain the army. The morale of the soldiers and officers was low, everyone believed that Riga could be taken only with the arrival of Russian troops. In Moscow, news from Constantinople was expected. On September 15, 1700, August II lifted the siege from Riga.

Meanwhile, the Swedish king was able to withdraw Denmark from the war. In March 1700, the Danes brought troops into the Duchy of Holstein-Gottorp. While the main forces of the Danes were tied up in the south, Charles landed troops at Copenhagen. The capital of Denmark was almost defenseless. The Swedish king, contrary to the expectations of his opponents, showed a talent for a commander. With Swedish fleet and ships that Holland and England gave, he transferred troops to the walls of Copenhagen. Under the threat of bombing, the Swedish king on August 7 (18), 1700 concluded a peace agreement in Travendaela. Denmark terminated the alliance with Saxony. Copenhagen recognized Holstein's sovereignty and paid an indemnity.

Thus, Russia's entry into the war took place in an unfavorable military-political situation. On August 8, 1700, a courier arrived in Moscow with the long-awaited news from the Constantinople ambassador Ukraintsev. A 30-year truce was signed with the Ottoman Empire. The Russian tsar ordered the Novgorod voivode to start a war, to enter the enemy lands and take convenient places. The advancement of other regiments also began. On August 19 (30), Russia officially declared war on Sweden. Already on August 22, the Russian Tsar left Moscow, two days later the army set out on a campaign. The first goal of the campaign was Narva - the ancient Russian fortress of Rugodiv.
Author:
Photos used:
https://ru.wikipedia.org/
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. cost
    cost 24 August 2020 06: 00 New
    +1
    How did Peter start the war with the Swedes?
    In a nutshell, on August 18, Peter received news of the conclusion of the Constantinople Peace Treaty with the Turks and on August 19 (30), not yet knowing about Denmark's withdrawal from the war, he declared war on Sweden, and on August 24 (September 3) Russian troops launched an offensive campaign. According to the treaty of alliance with August II, Russia was to retreat Ingermanland, otherwise "Swedish Ingria" - a territory roughly corresponding to the present Leningrad region. On the border between Ingermanland and Estland there was a large city and the largest Swedish fortress in the region - Narva, (Rugodiv), which became the main target of Peter
    1. Mavrikiy
      Mavrikiy 24 August 2020 06: 24 New
      -2
      It should be noted that the time was favorable for the war.

      It seemed that the timing of the war with Sweden was well chosen.

      AUTHOR, split personality? request
  2. Mavrikiy
    Mavrikiy 24 August 2020 06: 10 New
    -3
    As a reason for declaring war, "lies and insults" were indicated.
    And rightly so, what to endure. That's just our traditional reaction to "little things", or rather its absence, and leads to the accumulation of resentment and then from one drop, everything pours over the edge. Szaz needs to ask for every little thing. Yes, pettiness is not inherent in us, I myself will not "stand" for the ruble. But for the prestige of the country, you always have to harness, and we always "wash" on trifles.
  3. ee2100
    ee2100 24 August 2020 08: 02 New
    +2
    Having ruled this not an old Russian fortress, but only its own Russian name, like Yuriev, Kolyvan, Rakovor. Perhaps there was once a settlement of the Slavs with this name, but a fortress.
    The fortress was founded by the Danes in 1223.
  4. Viktor Sergeev
    Viktor Sergeev 24 August 2020 08: 28 New
    +2
    The main thing is to get involved in a war, and then we'll see.
  5. Undecim
    Undecim 24 August 2020 12: 07 New
    10
    Something the author today does not look like himself, some kind of monotonous retelling of Wikipedia. And where are the "masters of the West", the struggle of "projects"?
    1. Fibrizio
      Fibrizio 24 August 2020 15: 56 New
      +3
      so it is written, the British fought for the Spanish inheritance, they did not have time to get our state drunk with fired vodka. laughing
  6. Unknown
    Unknown 24 August 2020 18: 05 New
    0
    provoked the war, Sweden itself, with its inadequate king. Peter never started a war, if there were no allies, Saxon August, Denmark with its fleet, and the moral support of the Prussian Frederick. Azov campaigns, knocked out the youthful foolishness of Peter, he realized one thing, without Russia's allies at that time, it was impossible to compete with the Turks, not to mention the Swedes. and the Swedes, with their predatory trade war, turned all the Baltic countries against themselves. and to be honest, the extravagant Karl went to finish off Peter in Russia, how this war would have developed is not known. but in pursuit of August, he gave Peter the time and respite that he so needed.
  7. The comment was deleted.

Военное обозрение

Как Пётр начал войну со шведами

8
Как Пётр начал войну со шведами

Пьер-Дени Мартин. «Полтавская битва»


320 лет назад Россия вступила в Северную войну. Шведский посланник в Москве была арестован, был издан указ об аресте всех шведских товаров в пользу русской казны. В качестве повода для объявления войны были указаны «неправды и обиды».

Необходимость прорыва к Балтике


Великое посольство 1697—1699 гг. было организовано с целью расширить ряды коалиции против Турции. Государь Пётр Алексеевич после взятия Азова планировал пробиться далее, получить выход в Чёрное море. Однако Европа в это время готовилась к другой войне – за испанское наследство. Кроме того, в это же время начался складываться антишведский союз.

Север Петра интересовал ещё больше, чем юг. Поэтому вместо овладения южными морями, Азовским и Чёрным, было решено пробиваться к Балтийскому. Для этого нужно было завершить войну с Османской империей. С турками, после переговоров к Карловицах и Константинополе, удалось в июле 1700 года заключить мир. Керчь и выход в Чёрное море получить не удалось. Тем временем Пётр в Москве энергично сколачивал союз против Швеции. У каждого союзника России, Дании и Речи Посполитой, были свои счёты со Швецией.

Русское царство при Иване Грозном попыталось вернуть Прибалтику в свою сферу влияния, но война была проиграна. России тогда пришлось вести войну сразу на нескольких фронтах с сильными врагами: Литвой и Польшей (Речь Посполитая), Швецией, Крымским ханством и Турцией. Смута ещё более ослабила русские позиции на северо-западе. Россия 1617 году в Столбове заключила со шведами невыгодный мир. Швеция получила жизненно важную для Москвы территорию от Ладожского озера до Ивангорода. Русская держава лишилась Яма, Копорья, Орешка и Корелы. Вражеские крепости глубоко вклинились в Русское государство, Швеция получила стратегический плацдарм для дальнейшей экспансии и оттеснения русских в глубь континента. Москва лишилась выхода в Балтийское море, и теперь её контакты с Западной Европой по этим коммуникациям полностью зависели от шведов.

Шведский король Густав II Адольф, выступая в риксдаге по случаю заключения Столбовского мира, самодовольно отметил:

«А теперь этот враг без нашего позволения ни одного судна не спустит в Балтийское море. Большие озёра Ладожское и Пейпус (Чудское. – Авт.), Нарвская область, 30 миль обширных болот и сильные крепости отделяют нас от него; у России отнято море, и, Бог даст, русским трудно будет перепрыгнуть через этот ручеек».

В ходе Русско-шведской войны 1656—1658 гг. Россия попыталась вернуть выход в море, но без успеха. В это время Россия была связана затяжной войной с Речью Посполитой. Швеция, воспользовавшись тяжелым военно-политическим и социально-экономическим кризисом Речи Посполитой, напала на неё. Шведы закрепили за собой Эстляндию и большую часть Лифляндии. Понятно, что поляки стремились отбить земли бывшей Ливонии, от этого зависело экономическое процветание Речи Посполитой.

Свои основания начать войну со шведами были у саксонского курфюрста и польского короля Августа II. Ему необходима была победоносная война, чтобы упрочить своей положение как в Саксонии, так и в Речи Посполитой. В Саксонии у него было много врагов, которые обвиняли его в том, что ради польской короны он отрёкся от протестантства и принял католичество. В Польше против него вступали многие влиятельные магнаты, которые считали, что он является в большей мере саксонским князем, чем польским монархом, и склонен ставить интересы Саксонии на первое место. Польская шляхта обусловила избрание Августа королем его обязательством вернуть Лифляндию в лоно Речи Посполитой. Решить эту задачу должна была саксонская армия, хотя Саксония не имела территориальных претензий к Швеции.

Дания была традиционным соперником Швеции на Балтийском море. Шведы захватили южное побережье Балтики. Балтийское море превращалось в «шведское озеро». Также шведы захватили датские провинции и города на юге Скандинавского полуострова. Дания вынуждена была отказаться от сбора пошлины со шведских судов, проходивших через Зундский пролив, что лишило Копенгаген важной статьи дохода. Ещё одной причиной шведско-датского конфликта было герцогство Шлезвиг-Гольштейн. Стремясь освободиться от опеки северного соседа, герцоги ориентировались на Швецию. В 1699 году шведы ввели войска в герцогство, что нарушало прежние соглашения. Поэтому Дания усиленного готовилась к войне и искала союзников.


Шведская империя в конце XVII века

Создание Северного союза


Летом 1697 года датский король Христиан V через своего посла Пауля Гейнса предложил Москве антишведский союз. Но вопрос повис в воздухе, так как Пётр в это время находился в заграничном путешествии. Только осенью 1698 года русский царь провёл встречу с датским послом. В феврале переговоры были продолжены. 21 апреля договор с Данием был согласован. Две державы должны были открыть боевые действия против «нападателя и оскорбителя» вблизи своих границ. Россия планировала вступить в войну только после заключения мира с турками. 23 ноября 1699 года договор был ратифицирован в доме Меншикова в Преображенском. В Дании в это время умер король Христиан, новым монархом стал Фредерик IV. Он подтвердил курс на войну со Швецией.

Стоит отметить, что время для войны было выбрано благоприятное. Швеция была в кризисе. Казна была пуста. Аристократы и дворяне захватили государственные земли. Чтобы поправить финансы, король Карл XI при поддержке других сословий (духовенства и горожан), начал редукцию имений: проверку документов на право владения и возвращения казне ранее захваченных дворянами земель. Этим король, с одной стороны, пополнял казну, а с другой – усиливал свою власть, подрывая автономию провинций и аристократии. Редукция была распространена и на Лифляндию, где было две основные категории землевладельцев: немецкие рыцари, столетиями владевшие землей, и шведские дворяне, которые получили имения во время захвата Прибалтики Швецией. Обе категории попали под удар. Шведские бароны не имели документов, которые подтверждали их права. А немецкие дворяне за большой давностью утратили соответствующие документы.

Жалобы рыцарей и их депутации в Стокгольм остались без внимания. В результате в Лифляндии образовалась дворянская оппозиция. Она стала искать поддержку за границей. Лидером оппозиции был Иоганн фон Паткуль. Он пытался защищать права лифляндского дворянства в Стокгольме, но не добился успеха. Ему пришлось бежать в Курляндию (она находилась под протекторатом Польши). Он стал политическим эмигрантом, которого в Швеции приговорили к отсечению головы. Паткуль скитался по европейским дворам с планами освобождения Лифляндии от шведов. В 1698 году он перебрался в Варшаву, где его идеи встретили понимание и одобрение Августа II. Паткуль развивал планы борьбы со Швецией и подогревал честолюбие польского короля. Первый удар армия Августа должна была нанести по Риге.

Август ещё до прибытия Паткуля договорился с Петром. Во время путешествия русского государя в Европе он провёл встречи с посланниками правителя Саксонии в Амстердаме и Вене. В августе 1698 года Пётр Первый провёл личные переговоры с Августом в Раве-Русской. В сентябре 1699 года в Москву приехали представители саксонского князя: генерал Карлович и Паткуль. Русская армия должна была вторгнуться в Ижорскую землю (Ингерманландия) и Карелию, а саксонская армия — взять Ригу. 11 ноября в Преображенском царь ратифицировал договор с саксонским курфюрстом. Договор признавал исторические права России на земли, которую Швеция захватила в начала столетия. Стороны обязались помогать друг другу и не заключать мира до удовлетворения требований, ради которых начиналась война. Русские должны были вести боевые действия в Ижоре и Карелии, саксонские – в Лифляндии и Эстляндии. Россия обязалась начать войну после заключения мира с Турцией.

В это же время Москва вела переговоры со шведами. В Москву прибыло шведское посольство: в Швеции умер король Карл XI, его преемником стал Карл XII. Шведы прибыли с тем, чтобы Пётр дал присягу о подтверждении вечного мира. 20 ноября Москва подтвердила клятву, данную в 1684 году. Однако ранее рижская администрация провела недружественную акцию в отношении Великого посольства, поэтому Пётр I имел повод нарушить соглашение. Летом 1700 года в Швецию прибыл князь Хилков, чтобы известить шведов о предстоящей отправке великого посольства из России. Одновременно он был разведчиком, добывал сведения о шведской армии и крепостях, отношениях Швеции с другими державами. Хилкова арестовали после объявления войны Россией, он пробыл под арестом 18 лет в Стокгольме и умер. Таким образом, Россия скрывала свои истинные намерения в отношении Швеции и поддерживала мнение в Стокгольме, что со стороны восточного соседа им ничего не угрожает.

Начало войны


Казалось, что время для начала войны со Швецией выбрано очень удачно. У Швеции были серьёзные внутренние проблемы. Ведущие европейские державы (Англия, Голландия, Франция и Австрия) готовились к войне за Испанское наследство. Им было не до войны на севере Европы. Швеция оказывалась в изоляции, так не могла получить помощь от Англии либо Франции. Шведский трон занял юный Карл XII, которого сначала считали легкомысленным и слабым монархом. Саксония и Россия должны были связать противника на суше, Дания — на море.

Однако эти расчёты не оправдались. Во-первых, не удалось согласованно и единовременно выступить. Саксонская армия осадила Ригу в феврале 1700 года, а Россия выступила в августе. Во-вторых, молодой шведский монарх показал незаурядные военные таланты. Саксонцы не смогли быстро и неожиданно напасть на Ригу. Рижский генерал-губернатор Дальберг узнал о планах противника, который топтался у границы и успели укрепить оборону города. Эффект внезапности нападения должно было подкрепить восстание рижан, но его не было. Сам саксонский князь легкомысленно развлекался охотой и с женщинами, не спешил на войну. Он прибыл в действующие войска только летом.

Саксонцы смогли взять крепость Динамюнде – она запирала устье Двины. Но осада Риги затянулась, шведы держались. Оказалось, что у короля не хватает войск для штурма большого города, нет денег для содержания армии. Боевой дух у солдат и офицеров был низким, все считали, что Ригу можно взять только с прибытием русских войск. В Москве же ждали известий из Константинополя. 15 сентября 1700 года Август II снял осаду с Риги.

Тем временем шведский король смог вывести из войны Данию. В марте 1700 года датчане ввели войска в Гольштейн-Готторпское герцогство. Пока основные силы датчан были связаны на юге, Карл высадил десант у Копенгагена. Столица Дании оказалась почти беззащитной. Шведский король, вопреки ожиданиям противников, показал талант полководца. При помощи шведского флота и кораблей, которые дали Голландия и Англия, он перебросил войска к стенам Копенгагена. Под угрозой бомбардировки шведский король 7 (18) августа 1700 года заключил в Травендале мирное соглашение. Дания расторгла союз с Саксонией. Копенгаген признал суверенитет Голштинии и выплачивал контрибуцию.

Таким образом, вступление России в войну произошло уже в неблагоприятной военно-политической обстановке. 8 августа 1700 года в Москву прибыл курьер с долгожданным известием от константинопольского посла Украинцева. С Османской империей заключили 30-летнее перемирие. Русский царь приказал новгородскому воеводе начать войну, вступить в неприятельские земли и занять удобные места. Началось выдвижение и других полков. 19 (30) августа Россия официально объявила войну Швеции. Уже 22 августа русский царь выехал из Москвы, через два дня вышла в поход армия. Первой целью похода была Нарва — древнерусская крепость Ругодив.
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
https://ru.wikipedia.org/
8 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. рич
    рич 24 августа 2020 06:00 Новый
    +1
    Как Пётр начал войну со шведами?
    В двух словах- 18 августа Пётр получил известие о заключении Константинопольского мирного договора с турками и 19 (30) августа, ещё не зная о выходе Дании из войны, объявил войну Швеции, и 24 августа (3 сентября) русские войска выступили с наступательным походом. Согласно союзному договору с Августом II, России должна была отойти Ингерманландия, иначе «Шведская Ингрия» - территория примерно соответствующая нынешней Ленинградской области. На границе между Ингерманландией и Эстляндией находился крупный город и самая крупная шведская крепость в регионе - Нарва, (Ругодив) который и стал стал основной мишенью Петра
    1. Mavrikiy
      Mavrikiy 24 августа 2020 06:24 Новый
      -2
      Стоит отметить, что время для войны было выбрано благоприятное.

      Казалось, что время для начала войны со Швецией выбрано очень удачно.

      АВТОР, раздвоение личности? request
  2. Mavrikiy
    Mavrikiy 24 августа 2020 06:10 Новый
    -3
    В качестве повода для объявления войны были указаны «неправды и обиды».
    И правильно, что терпеть. Вот только наше традиционная реакция на "мелочи", точнее ее отсутствие и приводит к накоплению обид и тогда от одной капли, все льется через край. Сзазу нужно за каждую мелочь спрашивать. Да, мелочность нам не присуща, сам за рубль "стоять" не буду. Но за престиж страны нужно впрягаться всегда, а мы по мелочи "умываемся" всегда.
  3. ee2100
    ee2100 24 августа 2020 08:02 Новый
    +2
    Ругодив это не древнерусска крепость, а только собственное русское название, как и Юрьев,Колывань,Раковор. Возможно тут и было когда-то поселение славян с таким название ,но крепость.
    Крепость основана датчанами в 1223 г.
  4. Виктор Сергеев
    Виктор Сергеев 24 августа 2020 08:28 Новый
    +2
    Главное ввязаться в войну, а там посмотрим.
  5. Undecim
    Undecim 24 августа 2020 12:07 Новый
    +10
    Что то автор сегодня сам на себя не похож, какой то монотонный пересказ википедии. А где же "хозяева Запада", борьба "проектов"?
    1. Fibrizio
      Fibrizio 24 августа 2020 15:56 Новый
      +3
      так написано же, англичане воевали за испанское наследство, не до спаивания нашего государства паленой водкой им было. laughing
  6. Unknown
    Unknown 24 августа 2020 18:05 Новый
    0
    спровоцировала войну, сама швеция ,со своим неадекватным королём. петр никогда, не начал войну, если не было союзников, саксонского августа, дании с её флотом, и моральной поддержкой прусского фридриха. азовские походы, выбили юношескую дурь петра, он понял одно, без союзников россии в то время, нельзя было тягаться с турками, не говоря о шведах. а шведы, своей грабительской торговой войной , настроила все прибалтийские страны против себя. и если честно говоря , сумасбродный карл пошел добивать петра в россию , как бы эта война сложилась, не известно. но погнавшись за августом, дал петру время, и передышку, так нужную ему.
  7. Комментарий был удален.