Military Review

The US Navy is studying the possibility of taking off an F / A-18 fighter from the deck of a Soviet-built aircraft carrier Vikramaditya.

30

The United States continues to actively promote its fighters to the Indian market. So far, India, we recall, has decided only on the Rafale fighters, the contract for which was concluded for 36 units (5 have been delivered so far). And in New Delhi, they continue to be in deep thought about which aircraft to choose for the further renewal of the country's air force.


The list of options under consideration includes American F / A-18s. However, in India itself, it was often stated that this aircraft "has little chance in the Indian market, since it is not suitable as a carrier-based fighter for Indian aircraft carriers." At the moment, the aircraft carrier "Vikramaditya" (Soviet project) is fully operational in the Indian Navy. The aircraft carrier "Vikrant" is soon going to be taken out for testing.

In the meantime, the United States says that India should not write off the F / A-18. One of the reasons for this is "checking the carrier-based fighter for compliance with the Indian aircraft carrier Vikramaditya." Boeing is said to be conducting research to verify that its F / A-18 Block III Super carrier-based fighters are fit for a Soviet-built aircraft carrier.

It is argued that after making a certain revision, the American carrier-based fighter “is able to take off from the deck of the Vikramaditya (formerly Admiral Gorshkov).

This supposedly showed a special simulation of the process. Also, as stated, some time ago in Chicago (at a special airfield), the F / A-18 Block III Super was tested to take off a fighter from the deck without a launch catapult. It should be noted that the Indian aircraft carrier "Vikramaditya" belongs to such aircraft carriers.

The Indian press drew attention to these statements that appeared in the American media. Officials in India have not yet commented on the situation with American tests.
30 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Thunderbolt
    Thunderbolt 23 August 2020 06: 28
    -6
    In principle, during the war, the Red Army simultaneously successfully operated with cars from different companies and even countries. British aircraft at first completely discouraged German pilots, but then the Kharitons confidently took their niche. The vertical set went to the limit, the sky was just heating up from the work of machines and the air red-hot from the voices "......... 42, Kolya ....... fall on the Junkers, I'll take the messers ... and ... four more fell out of the clouds. Kolya, lolbi of the cadets. I cover bye. P..o ..k..a Honor and glory to the Soviet Air Force! Thank you, they have implemented their "vertical coverage" ... soldierThey took to heaven and now they work there. You ask, where are they ...? Do not ask. Just raise your eyes to the clear calm sky, the peaceful sky above your head is their job.
    1. Thunderbolt
      Thunderbolt 23 August 2020 07: 21
      -3
      Hawker Hurricane, Soviet Union performing on the platform !!! https: //youtu.be/55LGgW9Wqco
      1. Thunderbolt
        Thunderbolt 23 August 2020 08: 22
        +1
        Sergeant Howe, awarded the Order of Lenin for three Germans shot down over Antarctic convoys. Hawker Hurricane is in the background. I would not put this photo here. But here's the thing. Boris Safonov is sitting in the cockpit of this “hariken”.
        1. Thunderbolt
          Thunderbolt 23 August 2020 08: 24
          -1
          _____________________________________________
          1. Thunderbolt
            Thunderbolt 23 August 2020 08: 26
            +1
            ______________________________
  2. andrewkor
    andrewkor 23 August 2020 06: 30
    +1
    Indian slow-witted people are thinking, it's not even funny anymore!
    1. Prisoner
      Prisoner 23 August 2020 20: 43
      0
      They are pondering what time friendship with the United States against China will become. They took offense at China. Well, their resentment seems to hurt us sideways. Subtle spiritual natures, touchy ones, EPRST.
  3. Errr
    Errr 23 August 2020 06: 42
    +2
    There are really enough serious questions here.
    Defense experts consider the very idea of ​​equipping the Soviet Gorshkov with an American Hornet "almost impossible." The major differences between the Russian MiG-29K and the Super Hornet are only in size and weight - the "American" is heavier and larger. Nevertheless, the principle of landing on the deck is the same for us and for them: the car clings with a special hook-hook to the steel cable of the aerofinisher and brakes. The only problem is to combine the Russian and American short-range navigation and landing systems. And this requires major changes in the design of both the aircraft and the ship. “It's easier to build new ones,” the experts are convinced.
    But the main problems await the Super Hornet at takeoff. The fact is that the Americans' aircraft are "thrown" from the deck of an aircraft carrier by a steam catapult. And with us - they launch into the sky from a springboard. Michael Ritz claims that the Super Hornet will be able to take off from the Gorshkov "even with full ammunition." The MiG corporation says: "This is cunning and the protection of corporate interests. It will not be able to." During a springboard takeoff, the loads on the fuselage and aircraft landing gear increase sharply. Therefore, even our Su and MiGs designed for such loads are not fully fueled and with a limited set of weapons for takeoff.
    Americans have never seriously considered such questions. Since they used completely different take-off principles. If the Americans deal with the problem with the springboard takeoff for the F-18, then they will most likely have to radically change the layout of the fighter. It turns out that it is really easier to create a new one.
    Another problem with basing the Super Hornet on board the Admiral Gorshkov will be related to the size of the elevator plane - a special elevator that lifts cars from the hangar to the flight deck. On our aircraft carrier, it is designed for the smaller MiG. And in the hangar itself, because of this, it will be possible to place not 16 MiGs, but only a dozen "Hornets", or even less. In this case, the meaning of owning an aircraft carrier is lost - it turns out that combat missions are easier to solve for long-range aircraft.
    A source: https://flot.com/science/hull/gorshkovaviation.htm
    1. Avior
      Avior 23 August 2020 07: 14
      +3
      All carrier-based aircraft are designed for heavy loads, larger than those of land. Associated with greater congestion at the air finisher
    2. Revolver
      Revolver 23 August 2020 07: 56
      +2
      There are Chinese unlicensed copies of the Su-27 flying from the former Varyag, which is practically a classmate of the former Gorshkov, and until recently, Kuznetsov carried the Su-33, which is nothing more than a blighted version of the Su-27. And the F-18 seems to be smaller and lighter than the Su-27, although larger than the MiG-29.
      1. Errr
        Errr 23 August 2020 08: 17
        +4
        Quote: Nagan
        And the F-18 seems to be smaller and lighter than the Su-27, although larger than the MiG-29.
        Here the trick is that "Admiral of the Soviet Union Fleet Gorshkov" (now "Vikramaditya") was originally conceived for the use of 14 Yak-41M and 6 Yak-38M. Su-33 was not planned there. And the "Kuznetsov" flight deck is 30 meters longer with a slightly larger displacement [project 1143.5 vs project 1143.4 smile]. Heavy aircraft-carrying cruiser of project 1143.6 Varyag (now Liaoning) with a displacement significantly larger than Kuznetsov with a flight deck of the same length. Therefore, the Chinese analogues of the Su-27 are registered there.
    3. voyaka uh
      voyaka uh 23 August 2020 10: 26
      +1
      "Americans have never seriously considered such questions" ///
      ---
      The Americans simply built a springboard - a copy of the one on the Indian aircraft carrier and took off from it on Hornet. And the Indians were invited to watch.
      1. Errr
        Errr 23 August 2020 10: 57
        +2
        Quote: voyaka uh
        The Americans simply built a springboard - a copy of the one on the Indian aircraft carrier and took off from it on Hornet.
        Yes, a flag in their hands, a drum on their neck, a pipe in their teeth and ... "Jimi-Jimi - Acha-Acha" !!!
        Quote: voyaka uh
        And the Indians were invited to watch.
        To be honest, I would have looked too, but I can't find it anywhere.
  4. Thrifty
    Thrifty 23 August 2020 06: 48
    0
    They need to "spoil" the Yak 130, the best option to kill all birds with one stone at once with one blow can not be imagined.
    1. Avior
      Avior 23 August 2020 07: 17
      +2
      Yak130 will not take off from the deck. No Fast & Furious
      1. d4rkmesa
        d4rkmesa 24 August 2020 10: 54
        0
        Have you forgotten about the Su-25UTG?
  5. Eug
    Eug 23 August 2020 07: 16
    +1
    When taking off from a springboard, there will be an "oblique" load on the landing gear, only if you take off with a minimum takeoff weight, then there may be a chance. Amers' chassis is traditionally "weaker" - but also lighter.
    1. Avior
      Avior 23 August 2020 07: 34
      +4
      Carrier-based aviation has a reinforced chassis compared to land-based aircraft
      1. Eug
        Eug 23 August 2020 09: 21
        +1
        Do you think I don't know? On takeoff from the springboard, the direction of the action of gravity on the struts changes. The force of gravity is always directed along the vertical of the seat, and the angle of inclination of the landing gear relative to this vertical will change depending on the change in the pitch angle. On Shershna, the design of the racks for such a change is probably not designed - when taking off from the horizontal, it's just extra weight. In this case, the "unloading" of the racks from the lifting force will be insignificant. There is still a moment related to the thrust-to-weight ratio - whether Shershen will be able to accelerate to the required speed on a short distance to the springboard, will he have enough thrust.
        1. voyaka uh
          voyaka uh 23 August 2020 10: 28
          0
          Why guess? The Americans built a copy of the springboard and took off from it on Shershn. With different loads.
        2. Avior
          Avior 23 August 2020 16: 08
          +1
          Springboard at the end of the run
          , the unloading of the racks is in love, in case there is, before the springboard it switches to takeoff, so there is no excessive load there.
          Large load on the front pillar during takeoff with ejection.
  6. Charik
    Charik 23 August 2020 08: 56
    -2
    Probably can, the heavy Su 33 takes off then
  7. K-50
    K-50 23 August 2020 08: 58
    0
    It is argued that after making a certain revision, the American carrier-based fighter “is able to take off from the deck of the Vikramaditya (formerly Admiral Gorshkov).

    And sit down? Is it much more difficult to land, or is it just takeoff and one way trip? belay
    What for then is it necessary? belay
    1. Avior
      Avior 23 August 2020 16: 31
      0
      Sits down all the same at the finish
  8. TermNachTer
    TermNachTer 23 August 2020 11: 00
    0
    In theory, everything is possible, but in practice, if a car starts from a catapult, then how much can it lift without a catapult? If the meaning?
  9. iouris
    iouris 23 August 2020 11: 10
    0
    Wouldn't it be easy to buy an F-35 right away?
    1. g1washntwn
      g1washntwn 24 August 2020 06: 36
      0
      The Americans will not offer the F-35 to the Indians, the Indians will definitely have the S-400 next year. "
  10. Outsider
    Outsider 23 August 2020 18: 44
    +2
    - The F-18E / F has insufficient thrust-to-weight ratio to take off from aircraft carriers without catapults. This will certainly affect (even if it is possible at full speed and in good wind) on the maximum take-off weight.
    You can use starter boosters as an alternative.
  11. Angry
    Angry 24 August 2020 10: 56
    0
    Some kind of stupidity .... There are no catapults on Vikramaditya, and takeoff is possible only with a run and a springboard. Hornet always requires a catapult .... What can be discussed at all? That Hornet would be so lightweight that it could take off like a MiG-29?
    1. Pandiurin
      Pandiurin 25 August 2020 23: 37
      0
      "What can we talk about in general?"

      States don't necessarily want to offer a good working solution.
      Maybe it will be a series of proposals that will be rejected as they are considered. But there will always be on the agenda a prodigious agreement on military-technical cooperation with the United States, which is about to take place.
      At this time, the Indians will not conclude treaties for armament with Russia. And there you look, maybe they will even promote something.
      Sometimes the goal is the process of moving towards imaginary goals.

Военное обозрение

Возможность взлёта истребителя F/A-18 с палубы авианосца советской постройки «Викрамадитья» ВМС Индии изучают США

30

В США продолжают активную деятельность по продвижению своих истребителей на индийский рынок. Пока Индия, напомним, определилась лишь с истребителями Rafale, контракт по которым был заключен на 36 единиц (поставлено пока 5). И в Нью-Дели продолжают пребывать в глубоких раздумьях относительно того, какие самолёты выбрать для дальнейшего обновления ВВС страны.


В списке рассматриваемых вариантов – американские F/A-18. Однако в самой Индии часто заявляли, что у этого самолёта «мало шансов на индийском рынке, так как он не подходит в качестве палубного истребителя для индийских авианосцев». На данный момент полноценно в строю ВМС Индии авианосец «Викрамадитья» (советский проект). Авианосец «Викрант» вскоре собираются вывести на испытания.

Тем временем в Штатах заявляют, что F/A-18 Индия не должна списывать со счетов. Одной из причин тому является «проверка палубного истребителя на соответствие индийскому авианосцу «Викрамадитья». Компания Boeing, как утверждается, проводит исследования, в ходе которых осуществляет проверку соответствия своих палубных истребителей F/A-18 Block III Super авианосцу советской постройки.

Утверждается, что после совершения определённой доработки американский палубный истребитель «способен взлетать с палубы «Викрамадитьи» (бывший «Адмирал Горшков»).

Это якобы показало специальное моделирование процесса. Также, как заявлено, некоторое время назад в Чикаго (на специальном аэродроме) проводились тесты F/A-18 Block III Super на взлёт истребителя с палубы без стартовой катапульты. Нужно отметить, что индийский авианосец «Викрамадитья» относится именно к таким авианосцам.

В индийской прессе обратили внимание на эти заявления, появившиеся в американских медиа. Официальные лица в Индии ситуацию с американскими тестами пока не комментируют.
30 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Громобой
    Громобой 23 августа 2020 06:28 Новый
    -6
    В принципе,во время войны Красная Армия одномоментно успешно оперировала машинками разных фирм и даже стран.Британские самолёты сначала полностьюобе обескуражили немецких лётчиков,но потом "Харитоны" уверенно заняли свою нишу.Вертикальный набор шёл до предела,небо просто накаливалось от работы машин и эфира раскалённого от голосов ".........42 ,Коля.......сваливайся на Юнкерсы,мессеров я возьму... а...ещё четвёрка из облаков вываалилась.Коля,лолби юнкеров.Я прикрываю пока. П..о ..к..аЧесть и слава советским ВВС!Спасибо,они осуществили свой "вертикальный охват"... soldierОни взмыли на небеса и теперь там работу работуют.Ты спросишь,где они...?Не спрашивай. Просто подними глаза к чистому спокойному небу.Мирное небо над твоей головой это и есть их работа
    1. Громобой
      Громобой 23 августа 2020 07:21 Новый
      -3
      На помост выступает Хоукер Харрикейн,Советский Союз!!!https://youtu.be/55LGgW9Wqco
      1. Громобой
        Громобой 23 августа 2020 08:22 Новый
        +1
        Сержант Хоу,за три сбитых немцев над антарктическими конвоями награждён Орденом Ленина. На заднем фоне Хоукер Харрикейн.Я бы не выставлял сюда это фото.Но вот какое дело.В кабине этого "харикена" сидит Борис Сафонов.
        1. Громобой
          Громобой 23 августа 2020 08:24 Новый
          -1
          _____________________________________________
          1. Громобой
            Громобой 23 августа 2020 08:26 Новый
            +1
            ______________________________
  2. andrewkor
    andrewkor 23 августа 2020 06:30 Новый
    +1
    Индийские тугодумы в раздумьях.Уже даже не смешно!
    1. Пленник
      Пленник 23 августа 2020 20:43 Новый
      0
      Они в раздумиях во сколько им станет дружба с США против Китая. Обиделись они зело на Китай. Ну и нас их обида похоже боком задевает. Тонкие душевные натуры, обидчивые, ЕПРСТ.
  3. Эррр
    Эррр 23 августа 2020 06:42 Новый
    +2
    Серьезных вопросов здесь действительно хватает.
    Эксперты военного ведомства считают саму идею оснащения американским "Шершнем" советского "Горшкова" "почти что невыполнимой". Серьезные различия между российским МиГ-29К и Super Hornet только в размере и весе - "американец" тяжелее и больше. Тем не менее принцип посадки на палубу у нас и у них один и тот же: машина цепляется специальным крюком-гаком за стальной трос аэрофинишера и тормозит. Проблема только в том, чтобы совместить российскую и американскую системы ближней навигации и посадки. А это требует серьезных изменений конструкции и самолета, и корабля. "Проще построить новые", - убеждены эксперты.
    Но главные проблемы ждут "Супер Шершня" при взлете. Дело в том, что у американцев машину "сбрасывают" с палубы авианосца паровой катапультой. А у нас - запускают в небо с трамплина. Майкл Ритц утверждает, что Super Hornet сможет взлететь с "Горшкова" "даже с полным боекомплектом". В корпорации "МиГ" говорят: "Это лукавство и защита корпоративных интересов. Не сможет". При трамплинном взлете резко возрастают нагрузки на фюзеляж и шасси самолета. Поэтому даже рассчитанные на такие нагрузки наши Су и МиГи идут на взлет не полностью заправленными и с ограниченным набором вооружения.
    Американцы никогда серьезно не просчитывали подобных вопросов. Так как использовали совсем другие принципы взлета. Если американцы займутся решением проблемы с трамплинного взлета для F-18, то им скорее всего придется радикально менять компоновку истребителя. Получается, и вправду проще создать новый.
    Еще одна проблема с базированием Super Hornet на "Адмирале Горшкове" будет связана с размерами самолета-подъемника - специального лифта, поднимающего машины из ангара на летную палубу. На нашем авианосце он рассчитан под меньший по размерам МиГ. Да и в самом ангаре из-за этого удастся разместить не 16 МиГов, а всего десяток "Шершней", а то и меньше. В этом случае теряется смысл обладания авианосцем - получается, боевые задачи проще решать самолетам дальней авиации.
    Источник: https://flot.com/science/hull/gorshkovaviation.htm
    1. Avior
      Avior 23 августа 2020 07:14 Новый
      +3
      Вся палубная авиация рассчитана набольшиенагрузки, большие, чем у сухопутной. Связано с больши перегрузкой на аэрофинишире
    2. Наган
      Наган 23 августа 2020 07:56 Новый
      +2
      Летают же китайские нелицензионные копии Су-27 с бывшего "Варяга", который практически одноклассник бывшего "Горшкова", да и "Кузнецов" до недавних времен нес Су-33, которые не более чем оморяченный вариант Су-27. А F-18 вроде как поменьше и полегче чем Су-27, хотя и покрупнее чем МиГ-29.
      1. Эррр
        Эррр 23 августа 2020 08:17 Новый
        +4
        Цитата: Наган
        А F-18 вроде как поменьше и полегче чем Су-27, хотя и покрупнее чем МиГ-29.
        Тут фишка в том, что "Адмирал Флота Советского Союза Горшков" (ныне "Викрамадитья") изначально был задуман под использование 14-ти Як-41М и 6-ти Як-38М. Су-33 туда и не планировали. Да и у "Кузнецова" полётная палуба метров на 30 длиннее при несколько большем водоизмещении [проект 1143.5 vs проекта 1143.4 smile]. Тяжёлый авианесущий крейсер проекта 1143.6 "Варяг" (ныне "Ляонин") водоизмещением ощутимо больше "Кузнецова" при полётной палубе такой же длины. Потому там и прописаны китайские аналоги Су-27.
    3. voyaka uh
      voyaka uh 23 августа 2020 10:26 Новый
      +1
      "Американцы никогда серьезно не просчитывали подобных вопросов"///
      ---
      Американцы просто построили трамплин - копию того, что на индийском авианосце и взлетели с него на Хорнете. И индийцев пригласили посмотреть.
      1. Эррр
        Эррр 23 августа 2020 10:57 Новый
        +2
        Цитата: voyaka uh
        Американцы просто построили трамплин - копию того, что на индийском авианосце и взлетели с него на Хорнете.
        Да флаг им в руки, барабан на шею, дудку в зубы и... "Джими-джими – Ача-ача"!!!
        Цитата: voyaka uh
        И индийцев пригласили посмотреть.
        Если честно, я тоже посмотрел бы, да нигде нарыть не могу.
  4. Бережливый
    Бережливый 23 августа 2020 06:48 Новый
    0
    Нужно им" оморячить" Як 130, варианта лучше убить всех зайцев сразу одним ударом не придумаешь.
    1. Avior
      Avior 23 августа 2020 07:17 Новый
      +2
      Як130 не взлетит с палубы. Нет Форсажа
      1. d4rkmesa
        d4rkmesa 24 августа 2020 10:54 Новый
        0
        Вы забыли про Су-25УТГ ?
  5. Eug
    Eug 23 августа 2020 07:16 Новый
    +1
    При взлете с трамплина будет "косая" нагрузка на стойки шасси, только если взлетать с минимальным взлетным весом, тогда, возможно, есть шанс. А шасси у амеров традиционно более "слабые" - но и легче.
    1. Avior
      Avior 23 августа 2020 07:34 Новый
      +4
      У палубной авиации шасси усиленные по сравнен с сухопутными самолетами
      1. Eug
        Eug 23 августа 2020 09:21 Новый
        +1
        Вы думаете, я не в курсе? На взлете с трамплина меняется направление действия силы тяжести на стойки. Сила тяжести всегда направлена по вертикали места, а угол наклона стоек шасси относительно этой вертикали будет меняться в зависимости от изменения угла тангажа. На Шершне конструкция стоек на такое изменение наверняка не рассчитана - при взлете с горизонтали это просто лишний вес. При этом "разгрузка" стоек от под'емной силы будет незначительной. Там еще есть момент, связанный с тяговооруженностью - сможет ли Шершень разогнаться до нужной скорости на коротком отрезке до трамплина, хватит ли ему тяги.
        1. voyaka uh
          voyaka uh 23 августа 2020 10:28 Новый
          0
          Чего гадать? Американцы построили копию трамплина и взлетали с него на Шершне. С разной нагрузкой.
        2. Avior
          Avior 23 августа 2020 16:08 Новый
          +1
          Трамплин в конце разбега
          , разгрузка стоек влюблюм случае есть, перед трамплином на взлёт переключается, так что черезмерной нагрузки там нет.
          Большая нагрузка на переднюю стойку при взлёте с катапультный.
  6. Чарик
    Чарик 23 августа 2020 08:56 Новый
    -2
    Наверное сможет,тяжеленный Су 33 взлетает то
  7. К-50
    К-50 23 августа 2020 08:58 Новый
    0
    Утверждается, что после совершения определённой доработки американский палубный истребитель «способен взлетать с палубы «Викрамадитьи» (бывший «Адмирал Горшков»).

    А садиться? Садиться то на много сложнее, или только взлёт и путь в один конец? belay
    Нафига тогда такое нужно? belay
    1. Avior
      Avior 23 августа 2020 16:31 Новый
      0
      Садится все равно на финишир
  8. ТермиНахТер
    ТермиНахТер 23 августа 2020 11:00 Новый
    0
    Теоретически возможно все, однако практически, если машина стартует с катапульты, то сколько она сможет поднять без катапульты? Если смысл?
  9. iouris
    iouris 23 августа 2020 11:10 Новый
    0
    А слабо сразу купить F-35?
    1. g1washntwn
      g1washntwn 24 августа 2020 06:36 Новый
      0
      Не будут американцы F-35 индусам предлагать, у индусов в следующем году точно появится С-400".
  10. Outsider
    Outsider 23 августа 2020 18:44 Новый
    +2
    - У F-18E/F недостаточная тяговооружённость, чтобы взлетать с авианосцев без катапульт. Это обязательно скажется (даже если и будет возможно на полном ходу и при хорошем ветре) на максимальном взлётном весе.
    Можно в качестве алтернативы использовать стартовые ускорители.
  11. Гневный
    Гневный 24 августа 2020 10:56 Новый
    0
    Глупость какая то....На Викрамадитьи нет катапульт, и взлет возможен только с разбега и трамплина. Хорнет всегда требует катапульты....О чем вообще может быть речь? Что Хорнет облегчат настолько, что он сможет взлетать как Миг-29?
    1. Pandiurin
      Pandiurin 25 августа 2020 23:37 Новый
      0
      "О чем вообще может быть речь ?"

      Не обязательно что штаты хотят предложить хорошее работающее решение.
      Может быть это будет серия предложений от которых будут отказываться по мере рассмотрения. Но всегда будет в повестке намечающее вундервафельное соглашение по ВТС с США которое вот вот должно состояться.
      В это время индусы не будут заключать договоры на вооружение с Россией. А там глядишь может на что нибудь даже раскрутят.
      Иногда целью является процесс движения к мнимым целям.