Military Review

Thirst for oil, thirst for gas: post-Ottoman syndrome

16
Thirst for oil, thirst for gas: post-Ottoman syndrome

Region of special attention



At the heart of everything is Ankara's desire to take control of large reserves of oil and gas resources at the junction of the Mediterranean and Aegean basins. It is no coincidence that Ankara's regular military demonstrations in the area coincided with its new aggressive actions in northern Iraq and northern Syria.

Let me remind you that these regions are the "objects" of a very long-standing Turkish desire, since the founding of the Turkish Republic itself. The goal of the Turks for more than a few years now has been the mastery of the oil and gas resources of these regions.

In general, this is more than 1,3 billion tons of standard fuel in terms of proven-proven reserves in 2018 and an extensive network of oil and gas pipelines from there to the Turkish ports of Ceyhan and Yumurtalyk, close to Syria.


Oil and gas hub of the Western Mediterranean

It can be said that the "western" continuation of this course is the striving of Ankara, which has clearly manifested itself in recent months, to fully seize the large oil and gas reserves of the shelf disputed by Greece. In addition, this is stimulated by the proximity to mainland Turkey and the associated low cost of extraction and delivery of raw materials.

Turkish interest is not limited only to the shelf. Ankara is also looking closely at the Greek islands adjacent to the shelf. In the event of their annexation, which, in principle, is not difficult to implement, Turkey will fully possess the transit route Black Sea - Bosphorus - Dardanelles - Aegean Sea - Mediterranean Sea. On the agenda, it seems, is again the curse of the straits a century ago.

From old dossiers


A special Turkish dossier was prepared for I. Stalin in 1941, taking into account the possible entry of the southern neighbor into the war on the side of Germany. A continuation was made already for N. Khrushchev in the mid-50s.

These dossiers noted that the conflicts in the southeastern part of the Aegean Basin, near its "docking" with the Mediterranean Sea, began in 1913. Italy, having defeated Turkey in the war of 1911-1912, which was then called Tripolitan, captured not only Libya, but also the Dodecanese Islands (about 2400 sq. Km) with adjoining waters in the southeast of the Aegean Sea.


Italo-Turkish, or Tripolitanian war

However, the maritime boundaries between Italy and Turkey were not agreed on almost their entire length. This situation continued after the overthrow of the Ottoman monarchy.

At the end of 1944, British troops captured these islands (where part of the German troops evacuated from Greece was concentrated) with the expectation of transferring them under the "temporary" care of Great Britain. Turkey began to demand the "return" of this archipelago, but London refused.

The position of the USSR at that time was "pro-Greek": it was that these islands should be transferred to Greece, a member of the anti-fascist coalition, which experienced two Italian aggression (in November 1940 and in April-May 1941, together with the Nazi invasion).

The USSR held this position, despite the fact that in Greece in 1945-1950. the terror of the authorities and the British troops (the latter were in Greece in 1945-47) against the communists continued, and the threat of a military invasion of Greece into "pro-Soviet" Albania continued until the mid-50s.

In 1946 the British administration of the Dodecanese was replaced by the Greek one, but the maritime borders of Greece with Turkey in this area and in the adjoining Mediterranean region were again not agreed. And since January 1948, the archipelago, on the basis of the Paris Peace Treaty with Italy (1947), was officially included in Greece with the same border disputes with Turkey.

The entry of Greece and Turkey into NATO in 1952 temporarily mixed these disputes. Turkey, on the one hand, has "forgotten" about its claims to these islands, but continues to dispute in that area the maritime borders of Greece, which are located there only 3-5,5 miles from the Turkish coast.

Other resource


Exploration of potentially large reserves of oil and especially gas in the waters adjacent to those islands began after the above-mentioned dossiers were somewhat outdated. British and American companies settled between Greeks and Turks in the late 60s and early 70s, which only exacerbated their disputes.

The oil and gas factor also played a role in the coming to power in Athens in 1967 of the junta of "black colonels". Military excesses in the area have since happened almost regularly. But NATO mediation did not allow the Turkish-Greek war to break out.

However, Greece's attempt to annex Cyprus in 1974 and the occupation of Northern Cyprus by Turkish troops at the same time, which continues to this day, could not but aggravate Turkish-Greek relations. Naturally, border disputes in the Aegean region and in the adjoining Mediterranean region did not subside either.


Today the de facto border of Turkey runs through the land of Cyprus

Geological exploration work in this area was often accompanied by border incidents. It even got to the point that "Stalinist" Albania in 1974 assured the nationalist regime of "black colonels" of Tirana's readiness to provide military assistance to Athens in the event of a direct military conflict with Turkey.

Due to the Cyprus conflict, both sides refused to settle their disputes at the 1975 Helsinki Conference on the Inviolability of Post-War Borders and Cooperation in Europe. At the same time, Greece and Turkey signed the well-known Helsinki Act and the principle of the inviolability of the post-war European borders declared by this document.

Nevertheless, almost the entire length of the Turkish-Greek maritime border with a total length of up to 570 km remains in dispute. As for Cyprus, Turkey generally does not recognize either the land or sea borders of this independent republic.

Nevertheless, the Republic of Cyprus and Greece in the mid-90s and early 2010s agreed on the joint development of the shelf near the Dodecanese Islands, but the projects were not implemented due to the same disputes. As for the location and volume of these resources, here is the information of the Russian-Greek analytical portal Greek.ru dated February 2, 2011:

Discovered high potential for oil and gas production in the Herodotus Basin between Greece, Cyprus and Egypt. A significant part of these reserves are located in Greece in the southern and southeastern sectors of the water area near the Dodecanese Islands. Large deposits of oil have been found in the sea area south of Crete. But whether these territories belong to Greece, Egypt or Libya is not fully determined.
Also the subject of the conflict between Greece and Turkey is the hydrocarbon shelf of the Greek island of Kastelorizo ​​- the most remote island in the Dodecanese archipelago in the southeast of the Aegean Sea. But the countries cannot agree on the borders in these areas. "



Dodecanese islands

One way or another, the very fact of Turkey's official refusal to recognize the Republic of Cyprus, which is recognized by the entire international community and, accordingly, its borders, like the sea borders of Greece, is dangerous. The refusal demonstrates Ankara's readiness for large-scale military and political conflicts in a vast region. This, among other things, is also confirmed by the notorious policy of Turkey in Syria and Northern Iraq.
Author:
Photos used:
saletur.ru, ciplive.com, ecogradmoscow.ru, wordpress.com, author
16 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. NEXUS
    NEXUS 3 September 2020 12: 09 New
    +1
    But, looking at what is happening in the world, you come to the conclusion that somewhere it will be bombed and strong.
  2. Trapp1st
    Trapp1st 3 September 2020 12: 10 New
    +1
    We are watching Turkey against Europe, who will win ...
  3. Livonetc
    Livonetc 3 September 2020 12: 14 New
    +4
    "From Ankara, they are also looking closely at the Greek islands adjacent to the shelf. In case of their annexation, which is, in principle, not difficult to do, Turkey will have full control."
    Here I do not agree from the word at all.
    "Zist then he is zist, but who will give him."
    If it was easy to seize the Greek islands, Turkey would have done it long ago.
  4. rocket757
    rocket757 3 September 2020 12: 17 New
    0
    The Sultan swung, cool!
    Geyrop is certainly more BUT .....
    1. Trapp1st
      Trapp1st 3 September 2020 12: 30 New
      -1
      The Sultan swung, cool!

      So the pants will tear.
      1. rocket757
        rocket757 3 September 2020 12: 45 New
        +2
        Maybe it will tear, but maybe not .... it all depends on the material! The quality of the seams and other things, no less important.
        Yes, swing can be different too ...
  5. Mavrikiy
    Mavrikiy 3 September 2020 12: 20 New
    -1
    Thirst for oil, thirst for gas
    Until they get drunk they will not calm down. request
    This is not our quarrel, but giving Turkey access to the European market with its own oil and gas is very dangerous, we will lose the market.
    On the one hand, to support quietly Greece and Israel, with iron, if necessary,
    Over the head of Turkey. recourse On the other hand, the United States will help them too.
    This is not a big game, but a Gordian knot. We need a sword-kladinets, cut it. request
    1. And why do you need
      And why do you need 3 September 2020 13: 22 New
      -2
      Quote: Mavrikiy
      Thirst for oil, thirst for gas
      Until they get drunk they will not calm down. request
      This is not our quarrel, but giving Turkey access to the European market with its own oil and gas is very dangerous, we will lose the market.
      On the one hand, to support quietly Greece and Israel, with iron, if necessary,
      Over the head of Turkey. recourse On the other hand, the United States will help them too.
      This is not a big game, but a Gordian knot. We need a sword-kladinets, cut it. request

      Already lost, it's too late to drink Borjomi
    2. antivirus
      antivirus 3 September 2020 14: 37 New
      0
      there was the knot itself, it was tied on the cart. historical memory
  6. BAI
    BAI 3 September 2020 12: 24 New
    +2
    One way or another, the very fact of Turkey's official refusal to recognize the Republic of Cyprus, which is recognized by the entire international community and, accordingly, its borders, like the sea borders of Greece, is dangerous.

    There are many cases in the world when one state recognizes (does not recognize) something, and the rest of the world community, accordingly, does not recognize (recognizes).
  7. vladimirvn
    vladimirvn 3 September 2020 12: 24 New
    -1
    No matter how we later regretted that we fed and raised this monster.
    1. Trapp1st
      Trapp1st 3 September 2020 12: 30 New
      -1
      and raised this monster.
      This is not us, he came himself.
    2. vVvAD
      vVvAD 3 September 2020 15: 26 New
      0
      Erodogan, or what? We saved him from a coup and our relationship improved. But the East is a delicate matter: if they didn’t save it, they would get an unambiguously pro-Western enemy. If this one "stuck a knife in the back," but backed down, such a luxury would not have been expected from a Western protege, but a revision of the London Straits Convention would be easy. "Is that a knife? This is a knife."

      Neither Greece, nor Cyprus, nor Turkey are our allies. Nevertheless, we will not regret - his neo-Ottoman dreams cross the way for us, Europe and the United States - draw your own conclusions about the prospects.
      And to trade with him on favorable terms and help him, if it is beneficial to us, no one bothers us.
  8. tihonmarine
    tihonmarine 3 September 2020 12: 34 New
    0
    After a short time, the Turks will take over all the disputed territories, leaving the Greeks only those islands around which there is nothing "except frogs".
  9. Lester7777
    Lester7777 3 September 2020 12: 54 New
    0
    As Colonel Ivan Antonovich Pokrovsky said, let's see how they do it.
  10. APASUS
    APASUS 4 September 2020 14: 28 New
    0
    The campaign is brewing another military conflict. Turkey would forgive impudence, but oil is now a very serious argument in the world.

Военное обозрение

Жажда нефти, жажда газа: постосманский синдром

16
Жажда нефти, жажда газа: постосманский синдром

Регион особого внимания



В основе всего лежит желание Анкары взять под контроль крупные запасы нефтегазовых ресурсов на стыке Средиземноморского и Эгейского бассейнов. Неслучайно очередные военные демонстрации Анкары в этом районе совпали по времени с её новыми агрессивными акциями на севере Ирака и на севере Сирии.

Эти регионы, напомню, являются «объектами» весьма давнего турецкого вожделения, со времени основания самой Турецкой Республики. Целью турок на протяжении вот уже более стал лет остаётся овладение нефтегазовыми ресурсами этих регионов.

В целом это свыше 1,3 миллиарда тонн условного топлива по разведанным-подтвержденным запасам 2018 г. и разветвлённая сеть нефте- и газопроводов оттуда к близким к Сирии турецким портам Джейхан и Юмурталык.


Нефтегазовый узел Западного Средиземноморья

Можно сказать, «западным» продолжением этого курса является ярко проявившееся в последние месяцы стремление Анкары полностью овладеть крупными нефтегазовыми запасами оспариваемого Грецией шельфа. Дополнительно это стимулируется близостью к материковой Турции и связанной с этим низкой себестоимостью добычи и доставки сырья.

Только шельфом турецкий интерес не ограничивается. Из Анкары присматриваются и к прилегающим к шельфу греческим островам. В случае их аннексии, что осуществить, в принципе, несложно, Турция будет полностью обладать транзитным маршрутом Черное море – Босфор – Дарданеллы — Эгейское море – Средиземное море. На повестке дня, похоже, снова проклятие проливов столетней давности.

Из старых досье


Специальное турецкое досье готовили для И. Сталина в 1941 году с учётом возможного вступления южного соседа в войну на стороне Германии. Продолжение было сделано уже для Н. Хрущёва в середине 50-х годов.

В этих досье отмечалось, что конфликты в юго-восточной части Эгейского бассейна, вблизи его «стыковки» со Средиземным морем, начались ещё в 1913 году. Италия, победив Турцию в войне 1911-1912 гг., которую тогда называли Триполитанской, захватила не только Ливию, но также острова Додеканес (около 2400 кв. км) с примыкающей акваторией на юго-востоке Эгейского моря.


Итало-турецкая, или Триполитанская война

Однако морские границы между Италией и Турцией не были согласованы почти на всём их протяжении. Такая ситуация сохранилась и после свержения Османской монархии.

В конце 1944 г. британские войска захватили эти острова (где сконцентрировалась часть германских войск, эвакуированных из Греции) с расчётом передачи их под «временную» опеку Великобритании. Турция стала требовать «возвращения» этого архипелага, но Лондон отказывался.

Позиция СССР была в то время «прогреческой»: она состояла в том, что эти острова должны быть переданы Греции, участнице антифашистской коалиции, испытавшей на себе две итальянские агрессии (в ноябре 1940 г. и в апреле-мае 1941 г. вместе с нацистским вторжением).

СССР занимал такую позицию, несмотря на то, что в Греции в 1945-1950 гг. продолжался террор властей и британских войск (последние были в Греции в 1945-47 гг.) против коммунистов и сохранялась вплоть до середины 50-х угроза военного вторжения Греции в «просоветскую» Албанию.

В 1946 г. британская администрация Додеканеса была заменена греческой, но морские границы уже Греции с Турцией в этом районе и в примыкающем районе Средиземного моря снова не были согласованы. А с января 1948 г. архипелаг на основе Парижского мирного договора с Италией (1947 г.) официально был включен в состав Греции с теми же пограничными спорами с Турцией.

Вступление Греции и Турции в НАТО в 1952 г. на время смикшировало эти споры. Турция, с одной стороны, «забыла» о своих претензиях на эти острова, но продолжает оспаривать в том районе морские границы Греции, находящиеся там только в 3—5,5 милях от турецкого побережья.

Иной ресурс


Разведка потенциально крупных запасов нефти и особенно газа в примыкающей к тем островам акватории началась уже после того, как упомянутые досье несколько устарели. Британские и американские компании обосновались между греками и турками в конце 60-х и начале 70-х гг., что привело лишь к обострению их споров.

Нефтегазовый фактор сыграл свою роль и в приходе к власти в Афинах в 1967 году хунты «чёрных полковников». Военные эксцессы в том районе с тех пор случаются почти регулярно. Но посредничество НАТО не позволяло разразиться турецко-греческой войне.

Однако попытка Греции присоединить Кипр в 1974 г. и оккупация тогда же турецким войсками Северного Кипра, продолжающаяся поныне, не могли не обострить турецко-греческих отношений. Естественно, не утихли и пограничные споры в Эгейском регионе и в примыкающем районе Средиземноморья.


Сегодня фактическая граница Турции проходит и по земле Кипра

Геологоразведочные работы в данной акватории нередко сопровождались пограничными инцидентами. Доходило даже до того, что «сталинистская» Албания в 1974 году заверила националистический режим «чёрных полковников» в готовности Тираны оказать Афинам военную помощь в случае прямого военного конфликта с Турцией.

Из-за кипрского конфликта обе стороны отказались урегулировать свои споры в рамках Хельсинкского совещания по нерушимости послевоенных границ и сотрудничеству в Европе 1975 года. При этом Греция и Турция подписали известный Хельсинкский акт и объявленный этим документом принцип нерушимости послевоенных европейских границ.

Тем не менее, почти на всём протяжении морской турецко-греческой границы протяжённостью в целом до 570 км сохраняются спорные участки. А что касается Кипра, то Турция вообще не признаёт ни сухопутную, ни морскую границы этой независимой республики.

И всё-таки Республика Кипр и Греция в середине 90-х и начале 2010-х годов договаривались о совместном освоении шельфа вблизи островов Додеканеса, но проекты не были реализованы ввиду всё тех же споров. Что же касается расположения и объема этих ресурсов, то вот информация российско-греческого аналитического портала Greek.ru ещё от 2 февраля 2011 г.:

Обнаружен высокий потенциал для добычи нефти и газа в бассейне Геродот между Грецией, Кипром и Египтом. Значительная часть этих запасов находится на территории Греции в южном и юго-восточном секторах акватории вблизи о-вов Додеканес. Большие месторождения нефти найдены и в акватории моря к югу от Крита. Но принадлежат ли эти территории Греции, Египту или Ливии, до конца не определено.
Также предметом конфликта Греции и Турции является углеводородный шельф греческого острова Кастелоризо — наиболее отдалённый остров в архипелага Додеканес на юго-востоке Эгейского моря. Но страны не могут договориться о границах в этих районах».



Острова Додеканес

Так или иначе, опасен сам факт официального отказа Турции признавать Республику Кипр, которая признана всем международным сообществом и, соответственно, ее границы, как и морские границы Греции. Отказ демонстрирует готовность Анкары к масштабным военно-политическим конфликтам в обширном регионе. Что, среди прочего, подтверждается также небезызвестной политикой Турции в Сирии и Северном Ираке.
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
saletur.ru, ciplive.com, ecogradmoscow.ru, wordpress.com, автора
16 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. НЕКСУС
    НЕКСУС 3 сентября 2020 12:09
    +1
    А ведь ,глядя на то что твориться в мире,приходишь к мысли,что где-то бомбанет и сильно.
  2. Trapp1st
    Trapp1st 3 сентября 2020 12:10
    +1
    Смотрим Турция против Европы, кто кого...
  3. Livonetc
    Livonetc 3 сентября 2020 12:14
    +4
    " Из Анкары присматриваются и к прилегающим к шельфу греческим островам. В случае их аннексии, что осуществить, в принципе, несложно, Турция будет полностью обладать".
    Вот не согласен от слова совсем.
    "Зъисть то он зъисть, да кто ж ему дасть."
    Если бы захватить греческие острова было несложно, Турция бы это уже давно осуществила.
  4. rocket757
    rocket757 3 сентября 2020 12:17
    0
    Султан замахнулся, круто!
    Гейропа конечно больше, НО .....
    1. Trapp1st
      Trapp1st 3 сентября 2020 12:30
      -1
      Султан замахнулся, круто!

      Так штаны порвет.
      1. rocket757
        rocket757 3 сентября 2020 12:45
        +2
        Может порвёт, а может и нет .... всё зависит от материала!КаКчества швов и прочего, не менее важного.
        Да, замах тоже разным может быть ...
  5. Mavrikiy
    Mavrikiy 3 сентября 2020 12:20
    -1
    Жажда нефти, жажда газа
    Пока не напьются не успокоются. request
    Это не наша свара, но давать выход Турции на Европейский рынок со своим нефтегазом, очень опасно, мы рынок потеряем.
    С одной стороны поддержать по тихому Грецию и Израиль, железом, если нужно,
    Через голову Турции. recourse С другой стороны и США им помогут.
    Это не большая игра, а гордиев узел. Нужен меч-кладинец, его разрубить. request
    1. А Вам Зачем
      А Вам Зачем 3 сентября 2020 13:22
      -2
      Цитата: Mavrikiy
      Жажда нефти, жажда газа
      Пока не напьются не успокоются. request
      Это не наша свара, но давать выход Турции на Европейский рынок со своим нефтегазом, очень опасно, мы рынок потеряем.
      С одной стороны поддержать по тихому Грецию и Израиль, железом, если нужно,
      Через голову Турции. recourse С другой стороны и США им помогут.
      Это не большая игра, а гордиев узел. Нужен меч-кладинец, его разрубить. request

      Уже потеряли,поздно пить боржоми
    2. антивирус
      антивирус 3 сентября 2020 14:37
      0
      там же и сам узел и находился, на арбе завязан был. историческая память
  6. BAI
    BAI 3 сентября 2020 12:24
    +2
    Так или иначе, опасен сам факт официального отказа Турции признавать Республику Кипр, которая признана всем международным сообществом и, соответственно, ее границы, как и морские границы Греции.

    В мире очень много случаев, когда одно государство что-то признает (не признает), а все остальное мировое сообщество, соответственно, не признает (признает).
  7. vladimirvn
    vladimirvn 3 сентября 2020 12:24
    -1
    Как бы мы потом не пожалели, что подпитывали и взрастили этого монстра.
    1. Trapp1st
      Trapp1st 3 сентября 2020 12:30
      -1
      и взрастили этого монстра.
      Это не мы, он сам пришел.
    2. vVvAD
      vVvAD 3 сентября 2020 15:26
      0
      Эродогана, что ли? Мы его спасли от переворота, и наши отношения улучшились. Но Восток дело тонкое: не спасли бы - получили бы однозначно прозападного врага. Если этот "воткнул нож в спину", да пошёл на попятную, от западного ставленника такой роскоши ждать бы не пришлось, а вот пересмотра Лондонской конвенции о проливах - запросто. "Разве это нож? Вот это - нож".

      Ни греция, ни Кипр, ни Турция нам не союзники. Тем не менее, не пожалеем - его неоосманские мечты переходят дорогу нам, Европе и США - о перспективах делайте выводы сами.
      А торговать с ним на выгодных условиях и помогать ему, если это нам выгодно никто не мешает.
  8. tihonmarine
    tihonmarine 3 сентября 2020 12:34
    0
    Через небольшое время, турки приберут к рукам все спорные территории, оставив грекам только те острова около которых нечего нет "кроме лягушек".
  9. Lester7777
    Lester7777 3 сентября 2020 12:54
    0
    Как говорил полковник Иван Антонович Покровский - посмотрим, как это у них получится.
  10. APASUS
    APASUS 4 сентября 2020 14:28
    0
    Походу назревает очередной военный конфликт .Турции простили бы дерзость ,но вот нефть сейчас в мире очень серьезный аргумент.