Military Review

Radar to "protect against North Korean missiles" is being built in Hawaii: environmentalists could not stop the Pentagon

15

In the US, environmentalists criticize the plans of the US military to build a radar system in Hawaii. According to opponents of construction, it will harm the environment.


Environmentalists vs military


Recall that the prospects for building a radar to track missiles in Hawaii have been discussed for a long time. In February 2020, the US Department of Defense announced that no funds were allocated for the construction of the radar. Opponents of the construction gathered to celebrate the victory, but already in June 2020, the Senate Armed Services Committee announced full funding for the construction, laying the costs for it in the National Defense Law for fiscal 2021. Of course, for construction critics this news became shock.

The Hawaiian Islands are known to be a special territory. The movement to protect the environment and local cultural sites is very strong here. Therefore, when Hawaiian activists learned about the impending construction of a defense facility, they sharply criticized the project of the military department. Thus, the construction of a radar "to protect against North Korean missiles" was considered not only harmful to the environment, but also too costly, and most importantly, useless from the point of view of real protection of the Hawaiian Islands from the threat of a missile strike.

But the radar also has supporters. Thus, Senator Mazie Hirono named radar as her top priority this year. This can also be explained in an elementary way: local companies can get lucrative contracts for construction work, and this is money for the budget of the Hawaiian Islands, work for local residents, including not only construction, but also in the service infrastructure.

Therefore, on one side there are supporters of environmental protection and cultural traditions, on the other side - those who count on improving the social and economic situation of Hawaiians as a result of construction, on attracting additional investment and "green light" for local business.

What the radar advocates are focusing on


Radar proponents have other arguments as well. They believe that Hawaii is currently virtually defenseless against a modern missile strike. But the islands are in a high-risk region: not so far away is the DPRK with its perpetual missile tests, and one of the main probable adversaries of the United States is China. Moreover, we can talk not only about an attempt to attack precisely Hawaii: where are the guarantees that hostilities will not flare up between North and South Korea, North Korea and Japan, China and Taiwan.

In 2018, the Hawaiian Islands conducted a false rocket alert, after which the actual vulnerability of the state was established. Thereafter, in December 2018, the Missile Defense Agency awarded Lockheed Martin a $ 585 million contract. For this money, the company was supposed to develop, build and deliver a missile defense radar. The radar assembly work began in New Jersey and in Hawaii itself.


Environmentalists believe the radar will harm the unique nature of Hawaii


It soon became clear that the system would not cost $ 585 million, but at least $ 1,9 billion. 46 plots of land on Oahu and Kauai were assessed for the radar placement, followed by a selection of 3 sites on the north coast of Oahu. Then one site was excluded due to inconvenient logistics. On the Kuaokala Ridge, activists have found a heiau, a traditional Hawaiian temple.

The third site remains, but rare species of animals live there and rare plants grow. Thus, the military and environmentalists found themselves in opposition to each other. However, after local companies decided to involve local companies in the construction of the radar, environmentalists still found themselves in a losing position: the Pentagon managed to win over local representatives and soon work on the construction of the anti-missile system will continue.
Author:
15 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Ragnar Lodbrok
    Ragnar Lodbrok 1 September 2020 13: 35
    15
    It's just that Greta didn’t come, the one who you want will stop ..
  2. Pereira
    Pereira 1 September 2020 13: 35
    +6
    The third site remains, but rare species of animals live there and rare plants grow.

    Somewhere I heard something like that.
    Oh yes! Cod spawning in the Baltic.
    1. Svarog
      Svarog 1 September 2020 13: 48
      +2
      Quote: Pereira
      Somewhere I heard something like that.
      Oh yes! Cod spawning in the Baltic.

      It was they who played with environmentalists as a cover ... so that the whole world would see that Greta not only in Europe monitors the environment ... But the difference is that in the United States they put Greta on, but in Europe they listen ...
      1. Pereira
        Pereira 1 September 2020 14: 22
        +1
        I asked specifically. They say in Germany they have forgotten about her and do not remember.
  3. Vasyan1971
    Vasyan1971 1 September 2020 13: 43
    +1
    Therefore, on one side there are supporters of environmental protection and cultural traditions, on the other side - those who count on improving the social and economic situation of Hawaiians as a result of construction, on attracting additional investment and "green light" for local business.

    In this situation, ecology and cultural traditions have no chance! request
  4. NEXUS
    NEXUS 1 September 2020 14: 01
    +1
    All is arming Anglo-Saxon imperialism. There will be no peace on the planet as long as there are Rothschilds, Rockefellers, Morgan, and so on ... for these puppeteers, human life is worth less than a snuff of tobacco. And everyone knows about it, but no one is in a hurry to isolate these old maniacs. It is not the presidents who start the wars, but these shadow elites.
    Logic and sanity left this world long ago, for people go to die not even for their ideals, but at the will and word of these puppeteers.
  5. Thrifty
    Thrifty 1 September 2020 14: 20
    +2
    The Anglo-Saxons have invented the word ecologists on their own heads, and now they are frantically looking for ways to buy these ecologists on the vine, but so that the appearance of the existence of ecologists still takes place. .. in places, and time. ...sometimes. ...
  6. Maks1995
    Maks1995 1 September 2020 14: 21
    +1
    uh ... and where are rare animals on these rocks ???
  7. g1washntwn
    g1washntwn 1 September 2020 14: 55
    -2
    I just do not understand one thing, will the radar shoot down incoming missiles with its one appearance?
    Or is it still about a missile defense position area with all the infrastructure, anti-missiles, etc.?
    If the "full house" then the locals will have to live on a sandy strip of the beach. As for work, then just sweep around the fence.
  8. newcomer
    newcomer 1 September 2020 15: 07
    +2
    laughing Send a special forces detachment consisting of ensigns to Hawaii on vacation, and in Hawaii there will be no money for the radar, nor the radar itself. laughing
  9. Old26
    Old26 1 September 2020 15: 36
    +3
    Quote: g1washntwn
    I just do not understand one thing, will the radar shoot down incoming missiles with its one appearance?
    Or is it still about a missile defense position area with all the infrastructure, anti-missiles, etc.?

    The positional area is 4000 km east. In fact, this is just the forward basing of the early warning radar. In terms of range, the radar from Hawaii will "finish off" the DPRK. So the launch data will be much earlier than the continental location of the radar
  10. Kostadinov
    Kostadinov 1 September 2020 16: 52
    0
    Quote: Old26
    The positional area is 4000 km east. In fact, this is just the forward basing of the early warning radar. In terms of range, the radar from Hawaii will "finish off" the DPRK. So the launch data will be much earlier than the continental location of the radar

    If they have such a desire to receive bistro tributes, let them locate the radar in South Korea or Japan?
    And so they turn Hawaii into an unnecessary target and cause unnecessary shock and horror among tourists.
  11. Old26
    Old26 1 September 2020 17: 27
    +3
    Quote: Kostadinov
    If they have such a desire to receive bistro tributes, let them locate the radar in South Korea or Japan?
    And so they turn Hawaii into an unnecessary target and cause unnecessary shock and horror among tourists.

    And they already have radars in Japan and Taiwan. But in the event of a conflict in that region, they will be "knocked out" in the first place. And in Hawaii, radar will give more accurate measurements than radar in Japan.
    And about the "unnecessary target". On Oahu, there are about hundreds of military facilities, dozens of radars, airfields and more. so one more object, one less - that doesn't solve anything. Moreover, it will not shock and horror tourists. On the contrary. If it is a radar such as AN / FPS-124 or AN / FPS-132, then on the contrary, tourists will come to "gaze" at it. Still would. Huge man-made pyramid
    1. An64
      An64 2 September 2020 11: 54
      0
      Quote: Old26
      If it is a radar such as AN / FPS-124 or AN / FPS-132, then on the contrary, tourists will come to "take a look" on it


      This is how this "pyramid" will look like.
      This picture first appeared on the Lockheed Martin website and then removed and added a note: “The Missile Defense Agency did not authorize Lockheed Martin to publish the HDR-H radar renderings, and should not be taken as an accurate representation of the final draft. A future HDR-H look has yet to be selected. Lockheed Martin regrets the mistake "...
  12. Old26
    Old26 2 September 2020 18: 17
    +2
    Quote: An64
    Quote: Old26
    If it is a radar such as AN / FPS-124 or AN / FPS-132, then on the contrary, tourists will come to "take a look" on it


    This is how this "pyramid" will look like.
    This picture first appeared on the Lockheed Martin website and then removed and added a note: “The Missile Defense Agency did not authorize Lockheed Martin to publish the HDR-H radar renderings, and should not be taken as an accurate representation of the final draft. A future HDR-H look has yet to be selected. Lockheed Martin regrets the mistake "...

    Thank you, comrade. This note somehow passed my attention. But in any case, "tourists will have something to gaze at"

Военное обозрение

Радар для «защиты от ракет Северной Кореи» строят на Гавайях: экологи не смогли остановить Пентагон

15

В США экологи критикуют планы американских военных по строительству радиолокационной системы на Гавайских островах. По мнению противников строительства, она нанесет вред окружающей среде.


Экологи vs военные


Напомним, что перспективы строительства радара для отслеживания ракет на Гавайях обсуждаются давно. В феврале 2020 года в министерстве обороны США заявили, что на строительство радара не выделяются средства. Противники строительства собрались было отмечать победу, но уже в июне 2020 года в Комитете Сената по вооруженным силам сообщили о полном финансировании строительства, заложив расходы на него в Закон о государственной обороне на 2021 финансовый год. Конечно, для критиков строительства эта новость стала шоковой.

Гавайские острова, как известно, являются особой территорией. Здесь весьма сильно движение в защиту окружающей среды и местных культурных объектов. Поэтому когда гавайские активисты узнали о готовящемся строительстве оборонного объекта, они резко раскритиковали проект военного ведомства. Так, строительство радара "для защиты от северокорейских ракет" сочли не только вредным для экологии, но и чересчур затратным, а главное – бесполезным с точки зрения реальной защиты Гавайских островов от угрозы ракетного удара.

Но у радара появились и сторонники. Так, сенатор Мазие Хироно назвала радар своим главным приоритетом в текущем году. Это также объясняется элементарно: местные компании могут получить выгодные подряды на выполнение строительных работ, а это – деньги в бюджет Гавайских островов, работа для местных жителей, в том числе не только на строительстве, но и в обслуживающей инфраструктуре.

Поэтому на одной стороне оказываются сторонники защиты экологии и культурных традиций, на другой стороне – те, кто рассчитывает на улучшение социального и экономического положения гавайцев в результате строительства, на привлечение дополнительных инвестиций и «зеленый свет» для местного бизнеса.

На что делают упор сторонники строительства радара


У сторонников строительства радара есть и другие аргументы. Они считают, что в настоящее время Гавайи фактически беззащитны против современного ракетного удара. Но ведь острова находятся в регионе повышенного риска: не так далеко – КНДР с их вечными ракетными испытаниями, один из главных вероятных противников США – Китай. Причем речь может идти не только о попытке нападения именно на Гавайи: где гарантии, что не разгорятся боевые действия между Северной и Южной Кореями, КНДР и Японией, Китаем и Тайванем.

В 2018 году на Гавайских островах провели ложную ракетную тревогу, после чего и была установлена фактическая уязвимость штата. После этого в декабре 2018 года Агентство противоракетной обороны заключило с Lockheed Martin контракт на сумму 585 миллионов долларов. За эти деньги компания должна была разработать, построить и поставить радар противоракетной обороны. Работы по сборке радара начались в Нью-Джерси и на самих Гавайях.


Экологи считают, что радар повредит уникальной природе Гавайских островов


Вскоре выяснилось, что система обойдется не в 585 млн долларов, а как минимум в 1,9 млрд долларов. Для размещения радара были оценены 46 участков земли на Оаху и Кауаи, после чего был сделан выбор 3 участков на северном побережье Оаху. Затем один участок исключили по причине неудобной логистики. На хребте Куаокала активисты нашли хейау – традиционный гавайский храм.

Остался третий участок, но там обитают редкие виды животных и растут редкие растения. Таким образом, военные и экологи оказались в оппозиции друг другу. Однако после того, как к работам по строительству радара решили подключить местные компании, экологи все же оказались в проигрышном положении: Пентагону удалось склонить на свою сторону местных представителей и в скором времени работы по строительству противоракетной системы продолжатся.
Автор:
15 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Рагнар лодброк
    Рагнар лодброк 1 сентября 2020 13:35 Новый
    +15
    Это просто Грета не приехала,та кого хочешь остановит..
  2. Перейра
    Перейра 1 сентября 2020 13:35 Новый
    +6
    Остался третий участок, но там обитают редкие виды животных и растут редкие растения.

    Где-то я что-то подобное слышал.
    Ах, да! Нерест трески на Балтике.
    1. Svarog
      Svarog 1 сентября 2020 13:48 Новый
      +2
      Цитата: Перейра
      Где-то я что-то подобное слышал.
      Ах, да! Нерест трески на Балтике.

      Это они для прикрытия разыграли с экологами.. что бы весь мир увидел, что Грета не только в Европе за экологией следит.. Но отличие в том, что в США на Грету положили, а в Европе прислушиваются...
      1. Перейра
        Перейра 1 сентября 2020 14:22 Новый
        +1
        Специально спрашивал. Говорят в Германии про неё забыли и не вспоминают.
  3. Васян1971
    Васян1971 1 сентября 2020 13:43 Новый
    +1
    Поэтому на одной стороне оказываются сторонники защиты экологии и культурных традиций, на другой стороне – те, кто рассчитывает на улучшение социального и экономического положения гавайцев в результате строительства, на привлечение дополнительных инвестиций и «зеленый свет» для местного бизнеса.

    При таком раскладе, у экологии и культурных традиций - ни одного шанса! request
  4. НЕКСУС
    НЕКСУС 1 сентября 2020 14:01 Новый
    +1
    Все вооружается англосаксонский империализм. Не будет мира на планете,пока есть Ротшильды,Рокфеллеры ,Морганы и тд...для этих кукловодов жизнь человеческая стоит меньше,чем понюшка табака. И все об этом знают,но изолировать этих старых маньяков никто не торопится. Не президенты начинают войны,а именно эти теневые элиты.
    Логика и здравомыслие давно покинули этот мир,ибо люди идут умирать даже не за свои идеалы,а по воле и слову этих кукловодов.
  5. Бережливый
    Бережливый 1 сентября 2020 14:20 Новый
    +2
    Выдумали англосаксы на свою голову слово экологи, а теперь лихорадочно ищут способы как бы этих экологов купить на корню, но чтобы видимость существования экологов ещё пока что имела место. ..местами, и время. ...временами. ...
  6. Макс1995
    Макс1995 1 сентября 2020 14:21 Новый
    +1
    э... и где на этих скалах редкие животные???
  7. g1washntwn
    g1washntwn 1 сентября 2020 14:55 Новый
    -2
    Я только одного не понял, радар будет одним своим внешним видом подлетающие ракеты сбивать?
    Или все-таки речь про позиционный район ПРО со всей инфраструктурой, противоракетами и т.п.?
    Если "фулл хаус" то местным придется жить на песчаной полоске пляжа. Что про работу, то только подметать около забора.
  8. новичок
    новичок 1 сентября 2020 15:07 Новый
    +2
    laughing Отправить на Гавайи на отдых отряд спецназа состоящий из прапоров и, на Гавайях не будет ни денег на радар, ни самого радара. laughing
  9. Старый26
    Старый26 1 сентября 2020 15:36 Новый
    +3
    Цитата: g1washntwn
    Я только одного не понял, радар будет одним своим внешним видом подлетающие ракеты сбивать?
    Или все-таки речь про позиционный район ПРО со всей инфраструктурой, противоракетами и т.п.?

    Позиционный район находится в 4000 км восточнее. По сути это просто передовое базирование РЛС СПРН. По дальности радар с Гавайев "добью" до КНДР. Так что данные по пуску будут значительно раньше, по сравнению с континентальным расположением радара
  10. Костадинов
    Костадинов 1 сентября 2020 16:52 Новый
    0
    Цитата: Старый26
    Позиционный район находится в 4000 км восточнее. По сути это просто передовое базирование РЛС СПРН. По дальности радар с Гавайев "добью" до КНДР. Так что данные по пуску будут значительно раньше, по сравнению с континентальным расположением радара

    Если у них такая охота бистро данньие получать, пусть разположат радар в Южной Кореи или Японии?
    А так превращают Гаваи в ненужную мишень и наводят ненужний шок и ужас у туристов.
  11. Старый26
    Старый26 1 сентября 2020 17:27 Новый
    +3
    Цитата: Костадинов
    Если у них такая охота бистро данньие получать, пусть разположат радар в Южной Кореи или Японии?
    А так превращают Гаваи в ненужную мишень и наводят ненужний шок и ужас у туристов.

    А у них и так есть радары и в Японии, и на Тайване. Но в случае конфликта в том регионе их "выбьют" в первую очередь. Да и на Гавайях радар даст более точные измерения, чем радар в Японии.
    А насчет "ненужной мишени". На Оаху порядка сотни военных объектов, десятки радаров, аэродромов и прочего. так что одним объектом больше, одним меньше - это ничего не решит. Тем более, не вызовет шок и ужас у туристов. Наоборот. Если это будут радар типа AN/FPS-124 или AN/FPS-132, то на него наоборот будут приезжать "поглазеть" туристы. Еще бы. Огромная рукотворная пирамида
    1. An64
      An64 2 сентября 2020 11:54 Новый
      0
      Цитата: Старый26
      Если это будут радар типа AN/FPS-124 или AN/FPS-132, то на него наоборот будут приезжать "поглазеть" туристы


      Вот так будет выглядеть эта "пирамида".
      Эта картинка сначала появилась на сайте Lockheed Martin, а затем - удалена и добавлена заметка: «Агентство по ПРО не уполномочило Lockheed Martin опубликовать визуализацию радара HDR-H, и его не следует рассматривать как точное представление окончательного проекта. Будущий вид HDR-H пока не выбран. Lockheed Martin сожалеет об ошибке»...
  12. Старый26
    Старый26 2 сентября 2020 18:17 Новый
    +2
    Цитата: An64
    Цитата: Старый26
    Если это будут радар типа AN/FPS-124 или AN/FPS-132, то на него наоборот будут приезжать "поглазеть" туристы


    Вот так будет выглядеть эта "пирамида".
    Эта картинка сначала появилась на сайте Lockheed Martin, а затем - удалена и добавлена заметка: «Агентство по ПРО не уполномочило Lockheed Martin опубликовать визуализацию радара HDR-H, и его не следует рассматривать как точное представление окончательного проекта. Будущий вид HDR-H пока не выбран. Lockheed Martin сожалеет об ошибке»...

    Спасибо, камрад. Эта заметка как-то прошла мимо моего внимания. Но в любом случае "туристам будет на что поглазеть"