Military Review

Landing craft Ship-to-Shore Connector: modern replacement for old LCAC

10
Landing craft Ship-to-Shore Connector: modern replacement for old LCAC

The first boat in the series - LCAC 100


Since the mid-eighties, the Landing Craft Air Cushion (LCAC) is one of the main landing craft of the US Navy. By now, this technique is outdated and needs to be replaced. The new boat was created as part of the Ship-to-Shore Connector project and has already been delivered into series. The other day the fleet handed over another serial copy.

Unhurried replacement


For the first time, proposals to replace the LCAC with a newer model appeared at the beginning of the 2003s. In 2005, a plan for the development of the Navy was issued, according to which the development of the future landing craft was to begin in 2010. In fact, it started only in XNUMX. According to the plans of that time, the production of new equipment was to begin in the second half of the tenth.

The 2010 program was originally designated LCAC Replacement Tactical Assault Connector or LCAC (X). The program was later named Ship-to-Shore Connector (SSC), and this designation is still used today. The first boat carries its own number LCAC 100, which is why the project is sometimes referred to as LCAC 100 class.

In 2010, three developers joined the program, incl. consortium led by Textron Marine & Land Systems. Together with Alcoa Defense and L-3 Communications, she developed her own version of the hovercraft, which the military considered the most successful. In July 2012, a $ 212 million contract was issued for the development of a technical design with the subsequent construction of an experimental LCAC 100. An option was also provided for a series of eight pre-production boats.


The tasks were completed on time, and in April 2015 a contract was signed for the construction of the first production batch of two SSC products. The cost of the boats is $ 84 million.The delivery to the customer was planned for the last quarter of 2019.

First samples


In 2019, the contractor completed and tested the first SSC. The events ended in mid-December, and in February 2020 the boat was handed over to the customer. Now the Navy plans to use it as an experimental and training platform.

The first SSC met its schedule, but the construction of the second went beyond it. It was handed over to the customer only at the end of August 2020. The construction timeline was negatively affected by the general problems of the project, as well as organizational difficulties due to an unexpected pandemic.

During the construction of the first two boats, Textron received a new order for the next batch. In April this year, the Navy announced a new order for 15 boats; their total cost will be $ 386 million. Reportedly, the plant in New Orleans has already laid down 12 boats, and they are at various stages of construction. The first ones will be delivered to the customer shortly. New contracts are expected and construction for the entire series will continue until mid-decade.

Bigger, heavier and more powerful


The task of the SSC project was to create a new landing boat, superior in its main characteristics to the existing serial LCAC. It was necessary to increase the carrying capacity and the area for the payload, as well as to improve the running and operational characteristics. To perform such tasks, the new SSC was performed on the basis of the existing LCAC, but with a serious redesign of the design and the introduction of new solutions.


The SSC is a hovercraft with a flat deck surrounded by superstructures. Aluminum alloys and composite materials are widely used in the design, which made it possible to reduce weight without other losses. A new version of the rubber air cushion guard is used, increasing maneuverability and reducing the likelihood of damage. By improving the design, the assigned resource has been increased to 30 years.

The side superstructures of the boat accommodate four Rolls-Royce MT7 gas turbine engines with a capacity of 6160 hp each. With their help, air is pumped under the bottom and the propulsion propellers are driven. With the help of such a power plant, the SSC boat can reach speeds of up to 50 knots on the water. Access to an unprepared coastline is provided without major obstacles.

A deck of 67x24 feet (20x7,3 m) is provided to accommodate the payload. Normal lifting capacity is 70 tons. In comparison, the LCAC is only capable of carrying 54 tons or 68 tons per overload. On the bow and stern of the deck there are folding ramps for loading and unloading equipment. As in the case of the LCAC, vehicles can be unloaded on their own.

The boat is capable of transporting up to 145 marines with weapons and equipment or several light armored vehicles, cars, etc. It is possible to land artillery with tractors or transport goods in standard containers. In theory, SSC is capable of transporting major Tanks M1 Abrams, but in practice this is excluded - the ILC refuses such armored vehicles.


The crew includes four people. The commander and his assistant, the flight engineer and the loading master are working in the two wheelhouses in the bow. All units are controlled from ergonomic workplaces using fly-by-wire systems.

The armament of the boats has not yet been reported. Perhaps combat units will be able to carry machine guns of different types or other light weapon to support the landing force. In this case, the boats will do without artillery or missiles.

The total length of the new boat is 28 m, width - 14,6 m, structure height - approx. 8 m. Displacement approx. 200 tonnes. The new SSC is thus slightly larger and heavier than the existing LCAC, thereby increasing the basic performance characteristics.

In large series


The US Navy now has 74 LCAC hovercraft. They are divided among several divisions and serve on different bases. If necessary, they are able to work independently or together with large landing ships.

In 2015, plans were approved to build new equipment and replace obsolete boats. It is proposed to build 73 new SSCs, not counting the head prototype. The total cost of construction will exceed $ 4 billion - approx. 55 million per unit. There are already orders for two dozen boats.


Boat LCAC 101 on trials

Textron is ready to build a large series of boats and annually deliver 12 units to the customer. Thus, the release of the entire planned series will take no more than 6-7 years. Events in recent months have hit production hard in the earliest stages, but the contractor remains optimistic, prepares to continue fulfilling orders and awaits new contracts.

No later than 2025-27 The US Navy will be able to carry out a complete and equivalent replacement of the LCAC landing craft fleet. 74 old products will give way to 73 (or 74) new boats. Apparently, the units of such boats will be able to maintain the current staffing and number of equipment. Operation of promising boats will continue until 2050-60.

Thanks to the production of new boats, the quantitative indicators of the amphibious forces of the US Navy will not change, but the grouping of boats will change qualitatively. Boats will be able to carry more cargo with increased speed and lower operating costs. With their help, the problem of landing troops will be solved for the next several decades.

Thus, one of the most important projects in the context of the modernization of the Navy and the ILC has been successfully brought to the stage of mass production and development of equipment in the army. In the coming years, these successes will be developed and will seriously change the capabilities of the amphibious forces, without requiring a serious restructuring of the staff structure or methods of combat use.
Author:
Photos used:
Textron / textronsystems.com
10 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Ragnar Lodbrok
    Ragnar Lodbrok 4 September 2020 18: 19 New
    +8
    A worthy analogue of our "Bison" ...

    It goes beautifully, more than once with delight in the sea I had the pleasure of seeing this handsome man on the move ... Powerful!
    1. carstorm 11
      carstorm 11 4 September 2020 18: 51 New
      +6
      well, except that the bison, even in terms of carrying capacity, is twice as strong as an analogue)))
    2. Professor
      Professor 4 September 2020 20: 08 New
      +9
      Quote: Ragnar lodbrok
      A worthy analogue of our "Bison" ...

      Never an analogue. For the Americans, this is a shuttle that delivers troops from the landing ship to the shore, and the boat makes many trips.
      https://topwar.ru/27421-kater-na-vozdushnoy-podushke-lcac.html
  2. L-39NG
    L-39NG 4 September 2020 19: 19 New
    12
    The American, in all respects, is approximately two times less than the "Zubr". In height and even more. By the number of crew, the Zubr -27, the American - 4. And, as you understand, the SSC will be based on LSD and operate as shuttles, from ship to shore and back. It makes no sense to compare "Bison" and SSC. More is not always better. Each of them is designed for different purposes
    1. Alexey RA
      Alexey RA 6 September 2020 19: 18 New
      +1
      Quote: L-39NG
      And, as you can imagine, the SSC will be based on LSD and operate in shuttles, from ship to shore and back.

      Not just LSD. The main work of the DCVP will be when the "Expeditionary transfer dock" (mobile harbor - a platform for transshipment of goods from large ships to the DCA, providing unloading at the unequipped coast) and the ships of the command of sea transportation, which will be unloaded through it, come up.
  3. mvg
    mvg 4 September 2020 19: 46 New
    +8
    The author of the article again copies and pastes without analysis ...
    The cost of boats, then $ 84 million / piece, then $ 25 million / piece (386/15), then 50 million. He doesn't care what to write about (copy). Not a single thoughtful article from the author, not a single analysis. There is no such topic in which he understands. If only the combinations Ctrl + C, Ctrl + V. Well, repeat ten times.
    1. Alexey RA
      Alexey RA 6 September 2020 19: 30 New
      +1
      Quote: mvg
      The author of the article again copies and pastes without analysis ...
      The value of boats, then $ 84 million / unit, then $ 25 million / unit (386/15), then 50 million.

      84 million and 26 million apiece are two different orders, which is what the article says.
      The first episode - as always, dear (and 84 million - this for two boats, numbers 102 and 103):
      In April 2015, a contract was signed for the construction of the first production batch of two SSC products. The cost of the boats is $ 84 million.

      The second series is cheaper:
      In April this year, the Navy announced a new order for 15 boats; their total cost will be $ 386 million.

      And 55 million apiece is the total estimated cost of the entire SSC program, divided by the number of boats.
  4. Saxahorse
    Saxahorse 4 September 2020 21: 36 New
    +3
    Gorgeous cart! It would be very useful for us in the north. That's what the drilling rigs are on, the equipment must be thrown! Ours seem to have offered something recently, but alas, five times smaller. He will not pick up serious equipment.
  5. Graz
    Graz 5 September 2020 04: 10 New
    +1
    looks purely like a civilian truck, the military exterior is not visible
  6. Aleks2000
    Aleks2000 5 September 2020 10: 03 New
    +1
    But there are many of them. And relatively cheap.

    And there are few Bison, and they are being rejected.
    Very expensive, noisy, not resource-intensive, ineffective

Военное обозрение

Десантные катера Ship-to-Shore Connector: современная замена для старых LCAC

10
Десантные катера Ship-to-Shore Connector: современная замена для старых LCAC

Первый катер серии - LCAC 100


С середины восьмидесятых одним из основных десантно-высадочных средств ВМС США является катер на воздушной подушке Landing Craft Air Cushion (LCAC). К настоящему времени такая техника устарела и нуждается в замене. Новый катер был создан в рамках проекта Ship-to-Shore Connector и уже поставлен в серию. На днях флоту передали очередной серийный экземпляр.

Неспешная замена


Впервые предложения о замене LCAC более новым образцом появились в начале двухтысячных годов. В 2003 г. был издан план развития ВМС, согласно которому разработка будущего десантного катера должна была начаться в 2005-м. Фактически она стартовала только в 2010 г. По планам того времени, производство новой техники должно было начаться во второй половине десятых.

Программа 2010 г. изначально обозначалась как LCAC Replacement Tactical Assault Connector или LCAC(X). Позже программу назвали Ship-to-Shore Connector (SSC), и это обозначение используется до сих пор. Первый катер носит собственный номер LCAC 100, из-за чего проект иногда именуют LCAC 100 class.

В 2010 г. к программе присоединились три разработчика, в т.ч. консорциум во главе с компанией Textron Marine & Land Systems. Вместе с Alcoa Defense и L-3 Communications она разработала свой вариант катера на воздушной подушке, который военные посчитали наиболее удачным. В июле 2012 г. появился контракт стоимостью 212 млн долл. на разработку технического проекта с последующим строительством опытного LCAC 100. Также предусматривался опцион на серию из восьми предсерийных катеров.


Поставленные задачи были решены в установленные сроки, и в апреле 2015 г. был подписан контракт на строительство первой серийной партии из двух изделий SSC. Стоимость катеров – 84 млн долл. Сдача заказчику планировалась на последний квартал 2019 г.

Первые образцы


В 2019 г. компания-подрядчик завершила строительство первого SSC и провела его испытания. Мероприятия завершились в середине декабря, и в феврале 2020 г. катер сдали заказчику. Теперь ВМС планирует использовать его в качестве опытной и учебной платформы.

Первый SSC уложился в установленный график, но строительство второго вышло за его рамки. Его удалось передать заказчику только в конце августа 2020 г. На сроках строительства негативно сказались общие проблемы проекта, а также организационные сложности из-за неожиданной пандемии.

За время строительства двух первых катеров компания Textron получила новый заказ на следующую партию. В апреле этого года ВМС объявили о размещении нового заказа на 15 катеров; их общая стоимость составит 386 млн долл. Как сообщается, завод в г. Новый Орлеан уже заложил 12 катеров, и они находятся на разных стадиях строительства. Первые будут переданы заказчику в ближайшее время. Ожидается появление новых контрактов, а строительство всей серии будет продолжаться до середины десятилетия.

Больше, тяжелее и мощнее


Задачей проекта SSC являлось создание нового десантного катера, по основным характеристикам превосходящего существующие серийные LCAC. Требовалось нарастить грузоподъемность и площадь под полезную нагрузку, а также повысить ходовые и эксплуатационные характеристики. Для выполнения таких задач новый SSC выполнили на базе имеющегося LCAC, но с серьезной переработкой конструкции и внедрением новых решений.


SSC представляет собой судно на воздушной подушке с плоской палубой, окруженной надстройками. В конструкции широко используются алюминиевые сплавы и композиционные материалы, что позволило снизить массу без других потерь. Применяется новый вариант резинового ограждения воздушной подушки, повышающее маневренность и снижающее вероятность повреждений. За счет совершенствования конструкции назначенный ресурс доведен до 30 лет.

В бортовых надстройках катера помещаются четыре газотурбинных двигателя Rolls-Royce MT7 мощностью по 6160 л.с. С их помощью обеспечивается нагнетание воздуха под днище и привод маршевых воздушных винтов. С помощью такой силовой установки катер SSC способен развивать на воде скорость до 50 узлов. Обеспечивается выход на неподготовленное побережье без крупных препятствий.

Для размещения полезной нагрузки предусматривается палуба размером 67х24 фута (20х7,3 м). Нормальная грузоподъемность – 70 т. Для сравнения, LCAC способен нести только 54 т или 68 т в перегруз. На носу и корме палубы находятся откидные аппарели для загрузки и выгрузки техники. Как и в случае с LCAC, техника может сгружаться своим ходом.

Катер способен перевозить до 145 морпехов с вооружением и снаряжением либо несколько бронемашин легкого класса, автомобилей и т.д. Возможна высадка артиллерии с тягачами или перевозка грузов в стандартных контейнерах. Теоретически SSC способен транспортировать основные танки M1 Abrams, но на практике это исключается – КМП отказывается от подобной бронетехники.


Экипаж включает четырех человек. В двух рубках в носу работают командир и его помощник, бортинженер и мастер загрузки. Управление всеми агрегатами осуществляется с эргономичных рабочих мест при помощи электродистанционных систем.

О вооружении катеров пока не сообщалось. Возможно, строевые боевые единицы смогут нести пулеметы разных типов или иное легкое оружие для поддержки высаживаемого десанта. При этом катера обойдутся без артиллерии или ракет.

Общая длина новая катера – 28 м, ширина – 14,6 м, высота конструкции – ок. 8 м. Водоизмещение ок. 200 т. Таким образом, новый SSC немного больше и тяжелее существующего LCAC, за счет чего обеспечивается рост основных рабочих характеристик.

Большой серией


В составе ВМС США сейчас имеется 74 катера на воздушной подушке типа LCAC. Они разделены между несколькими подразделениями и несут службу на разных базах. При необходимости они способны работать самостоятельно или вместе с крупными десантными кораблями.

В 2015 г. были утверждены планы по строительству новой техники и замене устаревших катеров. Предлагается построить 73 новых SSC, не считая головного опытного образца. Общая стоимость строительства превысит 4 млрд долл. – ок. 55 миллиона за единицу. Уже имеются заказы на две дюжины катеров.


Катер LCAC 101 на испытаниях

Компания Textron готова строить катера большой серией и ежегодно сдавать заказчику по 12 ед. Таким образом, выпуск всей запланированной серии займет не более 6-7 лет. События последних месяцев серьезно ударили по производству на самых ранних стадиях, но подрядчик сохраняет оптимизм, готовится продолжать выполнение заказов и ждет появление новых контрактов.

Не позднее 2025-27 гг. ВМС США смогут провести полную и равноценную замену парка десантных катеров LCAC. 74 старых изделия уступят место 73 (или 74) новым катерам. По всей видимости, подразделения таких катеров смогут сохранить нынешний штатный состав и численность техники. Эксплуатация перспективных катеров будет продолжаться до 2050-60 гг.

Благодаря производству новых катеров количественные показатели десантных сил ВМС США не изменятся, однако группировка катеров изменится качественно. Катера смогут перевозить больший груз с увеличенной скоростью и меньшими расходами на эксплуатацию. С их помощью будет решена проблема высадки десанта на несколько ближайших десятилетий.

Таким образом, один из важнейших проектов в контексте модернизации ВМС и КМП успешно доведен до стадии серийного производства и освоения техники в войсках. В ближайшие годы эти успехи получат развитие и серьезно изменят возможности десантных сил, не требуя серьезной перестройки штатной структуры или методов боевого применения.
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
Textron / textronsystems.com
10 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Рагнар лодброк
    Рагнар лодброк 4 сентября 2020 18:19 Новый
    +8
    Достойный аналог "Зубра" нашего...

    Красиво идет,не раз с восторгом в море имел удовольствие видеть на ходу красавца этого...Мощщщщь!
    1. carstorm 11
      carstorm 11 4 сентября 2020 18:51 Новый
      +6
      ну кроме того что зубр даже по грузоподьемности раза в два сильнее прям таки аналог)))
    2. профессор
      профессор 4 сентября 2020 20:08 Новый
      +9
      Цитата: Рагнар лодброк
      Достойный аналог "Зубра" нашего...

      Ни разу не аналог. У американцев это шатл доставляющий десант с десантного корабля на берег, причем катер делает много ходок.
      https://topwar.ru/27421-kater-na-vozdushnoy-podushke-lcac.html
  2. L-39NG
    L-39NG 4 сентября 2020 19:19 Новый
    +12
    Американец, по всем показателям , приблизительно, в два раза меньше, чем "Зубр". По высоте и того более. По количеству экипажа, "Зубр" -27, американец - 4. И, как вы понимаете, SSC будут базироваться на LSD и работать челноками, с корабля на берег и обратно. Нет смысла сравнивать "Зубр" и SSC. Не всегда "больше" значит "лучше". Каждый из них создан для разных целей
    1. Alexey RA
      Alexey RA 6 сентября 2020 19:18 Новый
      +1
      Цитата: L-39NG
      И, как вы понимаете, SSC будут базироваться на LSD и работать челноками, с корабля на берег и обратно.

      Не только на LSD. Основная работа у ДКВП будет, когда подойдёт "Экспедиционный передаточный док" (мобильная гавань - платформа для перегрузки грузов с больших судов на ДКА, обеспечивающая разгрузку у необорудованного берега) и суда командования морских перевозок, которые будут через него разгружаться.
  3. mvg
    mvg 4 сентября 2020 19:46 Новый
    +8
    Автор статьи опять копипастит без анализа...
    Тоимость катеров, то 84 млн $/шт, то 25 млн $/шт (386/15), то 50 млн. Ему пофик о чем писать (копировать). Ни одной вдумчивой статьи от афтора, ни одного анализа. Нет такой темы, в которой он разбираетcя. Если только комбинации Ctrl + C, Ctrl + V. Ну и повторяшки по десятку раз.
    1. Alexey RA
      Alexey RA 6 сентября 2020 19:30 Новый
      +1
      Цитата: mvg
      Автор статьи опять копипастит без анализа...
      Тоимость катеров, то 84 млн $/шт, то 25 млн $/шт (386/15), то 50 млн.

      84 миллиона и 26 миллиона за штуку - это два разных заказа, о чём и говорится в статье.
      Первая серия - как всегда, дорогая (причём 84 миллиона - это за два катера, номер 102 и 103):
      в апреле 2015 г. был подписан контракт на строительство первой серийной партии из двух изделий SSC. Стоимость катеров – 84 млн долл.

      Вторая серия - дешевле:
      В апреле этого года ВМС объявили о размещении нового заказа на 15 катеров; их общая стоимость составит 386 млн долл.

      А 55 миллионов за штуку - это, походу, общая оценочная стоимость всей программы SSC, делённая на количество катеров.
  4. Saxahorse
    Saxahorse 4 сентября 2020 21:36 Новый
    +3
    Шикарная тележка! Нам бы такая на северах очень пригодилась. Вот на чем буровые, технику забрасывать надо! Наши вроде предложили что то недавно, но увы в пять раз мельче. Серьезную технику не поднимет.
  5. Грац
    Грац 5 сентября 2020 04:10 Новый
    +1
    смотрится чисто как гражданский грузовик, военного экстерьера не видно
  6. Алекс2000
    Алекс2000 5 сентября 2020 10:03 Новый
    +1
    Зато их много. И относительно дешевы.

    А Зубров мало, и от них отказываются.
    Очень дорого, Шумно, не ресурсно, малоэффективно