Military Review

Brazilian Supreme Court Requests President to Explain the Use of Armed Forces in the Amazon

20

According to Plantao Brasil, STF (Brazilian Supreme Court) Minister Carmen Lucia gave President Jair Bolsonar and Defense Minister Fernando Azeved five days to provide information on the use of military forces on the border with Venezuela and indigenous lands in the Amazon states. The information request was posted on September 2.


The text of the request states that the decree and decree authorizing the use of the armed forces in actions against deforestation and fires between May and November of this year contribute to

"A real militarization of Brazil's environmental policy, blatant opposition to constitutional prescriptions and the usurpation of the authority of environmental authorities, especially the Brazilian Institute for the Environment and Renewable Natural Resources (IBAMA)."

The Supreme Court's request was fulfilled at the request of the Green Party and concerns the military operation called "Green Brazil-2", during which the activities of state ecologists were practically stopped, the military flooded the Amazon, but illegal tree felling and forest fires not only did not stop, but even intensified. Moreover, the actions of the military in the Amazon were supported by the military lobby in the government, which blocked financial reserves of the environmental institutions IBAMA and ICMBIO, which paralyzed the activities of environmentalists in the region and led to suspension of all operations to combat deforestation.

Speaker of the Chamber of Deputies Rodrigue Maia said on September 3 that the government of President Jair Bolsonaro is in favor of dismantling environmental institutions, and stressed that this has a "suicidal effect" on the country's economy and development.

It is noteworthy that the claims of the Supreme Court against Bolsonar regarding the militarization of the Amazon and the war with IBAMA almost completely repeat the arguments and facts that were presented a year ago in an article in the "Military Review" under the heading "Under the guise of environmental cooperation. American militarization of the Amazon", with only one difference - no mention of the role of the United States and the federal police in this process.

The assumption predicted in this article about the desire of the Bolsonaro government to abandon cooperation with India and China, whose satellites transmitted space images of the Amazon forests to ecologists, also came true. On August 31, the Brazilian federal police signed a satellite imagery contract with the American company Planet, closely cooperating with the American spy agency NGA (National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency).


The 39 millionth contract, concluded even without bidding, caused bewilderment from Brazilian environmental scientists, who said that the images from the Sino-Brazilian and Indian satellites were no worse. The federal police are justifying their cooperation with the United States by the increased need to track environmental crimes from space.

Brazilian Supreme Court Requests President to Explain the Use of Armed Forces in the Amazon

However, not all causes of deforestation are criminal in nature, and it is somewhat strange that the Brazilian Ministry of Environment did not take any part in financing the project, and the contract with Planet was financed from the budget of the National Public Security Fund (associated with the Ministry of Justice and the federal police).

It also became known that the Brazilian Ministry of Defense has allocated 145 million reais for acquisition of satellites to track the Amazon, but satellites do exactly the same job as Brazil's existing space monitoring tools. The Defense Ministry says the procurement funds were raised by the federal police as a result of anti-corruption operations.
Author:
Photos used:
www.plantaobrasil.net, http://vozdopara.com.br, https://reconcavonoar.com.br, Brazilian Ministry of Defense
20 comments
Ad

Our projects are looking for authors in the news and analytical departments. Requirements for applicants: literacy, responsibility, efficiency, inexhaustible creative energy, experience in copywriting or journalism, the ability to quickly analyze text and check facts, write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. The work is paid. Contact: [email protected]

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Mavrikiy
    Mavrikiy 6 September 2020 05: 41 New
    0
    Brazilian Supreme Court Requests President to Explain the Use of Armed Forces in the Amazon
    Big brother will need a lot of wood after a democratic pogrom.
  2. nikvic46
    nikvic46 6 September 2020 06: 59 New
    0
    Once a clever man said that the Siberian taiga and selva of the Amazon are the lungs of the planet Earth. American corporations are building roads, cutting down the jungle in huge quantities. And there is a small war between the population of these places. Those who got a job are in favor of transformation. road nature, of course, are fighting this arbitrariness. What you will not see only on the Amazon. In some areas of this river, even pirates are operating. In general, the picture is interesting.
    1. Reviews
      Reviews 6 September 2020 07: 50 New
      +2
      Quote: nikvic46
      Once a clever man said that the Siberian taiga and selva of the Amazon are the lungs of the planet Earth.

      Strictly speaking,> 3/4 of oxygen is produced by phytoplankton. And this phrase was already about a century, then they did not know a lot.
      The role of forests is different. They regulate the climate, shelter animals, and much more. But their role in oxygen replenishment is somewhat exaggerated.
  3. Doccor18
    Doccor18 6 September 2020 07: 07 New
    0
    Brazilian federal police have signed a satellite imagery contract with the American company Planet, which works closely with the American spy agency NGA (National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency) ...

    Nothing has changed in Latin America over the past 100 years. As the American imperialists used it for their own selfish purposes, it is still using it to this day ...
  4. A. Privalov
    A. Privalov 6 September 2020 07: 14 New
    +2
    I am Aunt Charlie from Brazil, where there are many, many wild monkeys in the forests.
    laughing
    Judging by the publications of the author, and he, without a doubt, is deeply in the subject, for two years now, as the United States, with the hands of Brazil, must conduct full-fledged military operations in Venezuela. However, the predictions did not come true and this is good. Venezuela has a mouthful of worries even without Brazil.
    By the way, in the Amazon several years ago there were some problems with Russian tourists. What is the essence of the matter and how did it end?
    1. CPLCRB-press
      6 September 2020 07: 45 New
      +3
      Here is the most complete article about this story with tourists http://cstcommand.com/index.php/countries/yuzhnaya-amerika/braziliya/item/34-14-let-za-pasport-rf-kak-rossiyane-v-brazilii -slomali-mashinu-gosudarstvennogo-terrorizma
      1. A. Privalov
        A. Privalov 6 September 2020 07: 48 New
        +2
        Thank you, I will definitely study the materials in your links! hi
    2. CPLCRB-press
      6 September 2020 07: 46 New
      +3
      And here's another enchanting story with a tourist (in the same Amazon) http://cstcommand.com/index.php/countries/yuzhnaya-amerika/braziliya/item/68-braziliya-manaus-god-tyurmy-dlya-rossiyanina-zashedshego -po-oshibke-na-voennyj-ob-ekt
      1. A. Privalov
        A. Privalov 6 September 2020 08: 27 New
        +4
        Quote: CPLCRB-press
        And here's another enchanting story with a tourist (in the same Amazon)

        Ah, "Russian traveler Denis Saltanov"! He is also known for his adventures in Indonesia.
        We have such a traveler here - a blogger, Alexei Lapshin, who has been traveling around the world for twenty years and constantly entering into various conflicts with the migration authorities of dozens of states. So, he reached Nagorno-Karabakh, fell under the sanctions of Azerbaijan, was detained and deported by Father Father, according to the Interpol warrant, sat in an Azerbaijani zinzan, almost died there, and now he is suing the Azerbaijani authorities in the European Court.
  5. Engineer Schukin
    Engineer Schukin 6 September 2020 07: 15 New
    +2
    The 39-million contract, signed even without a bid, caused bewilderment among Brazilian environmental scientists, who said that the images from the Sino-Brazilian and Indian satellites were no worse.

    Forgive me, which grouping in Brazil, India and China is no worse than the grouping Planet Labs?
    PL has 350-400 satellites in orbit, a world leader by far in the daily monitoring of surface changes on Earth.
  6. parusnik
    parusnik 6 September 2020 07: 20 New
    +1
    Soon the planet will remain without lungs, the forests of Brazil and Siberia ...
  7. CPLCRB-press
    6 September 2020 07: 54 New
    -1
    We are talking about the quality (resolution) of images of a particular region - the Brazilian segment of the Amazon. Available satellites
    Quote: Engineer Schukin
    The 39-million contract, signed even without a bid, caused bewilderment among Brazilian environmental scientists, who said that the images from the Sino-Brazilian and Indian satellites were no worse.

    Forgive me, which grouping in Brazil, India and China is no worse than the grouping Planet Labs?
    PL has 350-400 satellites in orbit, a world leader by far in the daily monitoring of surface changes on Earth.

    We are talking about the quality (resolution) of images and a specific region - the Amazon. Brazilian institute INPE claims that the existing satellites fully fulfill their task and the parameters of the images are no worse than Planet Labs.
  8. CPLCRB-press
    6 September 2020 07: 55 New
    -2
    Quote: parusnik
    Soon the planet will remain without lungs, the forests of Brazil and Siberia ...

    Siberia is less affected due to the fact that there are mostly coniferous forests, which produce less oxygen.
    1. parusnik
      parusnik 6 September 2020 08: 08 New
      +3
      Siberia is less affected due to the fact that there are mostly coniferous forests, which produce less oxygen.
      ... Well, don't care then, if so, let everything burn and cut down ... smile
      1. CPLCRB-press
        6 September 2020 09: 30 New
        -1
        Quote: parusnik
        Siberia is less affected due to the fact that there are mostly coniferous forests, which produce less oxygen.
        ... Well, don't care then, if so, let everything burn and cut down ... smile

        Well, why so at once))) Simply the lesser importance of Siberia as a global factor affecting the atmosphere explains why the world community is more stressed during fires in the Amazon. Well, the Siberian fires are, of course, also a disaster and disgrace.
  9. And why do you need
    And why do you need 6 September 2020 10: 15 New
    -1
    Does Trump know about this? This is not a democratic country, sanctions are needed. How can you be against the president?
    1. CPLCRB-press
      6 September 2020 15: 11 New
      -1
      Quote: Why do you need it?
      Does Trump know about this? This is not a democratic country, sanctions are needed. How can you be against the president?

      Brazil's new president is Trump's best friend.
  10. fa2998
    fa2998 6 September 2020 12: 14 New
    +1
    Quote: CPLCRB-press
    Just the lesser importance of Siberia as a global factor affecting the atmosphere,

    We have a GLOBAL swamp in Siberia. It contains millions of tons of methane, only now frozen by permafrost. It thaws in some places only in summer. How will it be without forests is a big question, it may end with a greenhouse effect in the Earth format. hi
    1. CPLCRB-press
      6 September 2020 15: 10 New
      -1
      Quote: fa2998
      Quote: CPLCRB-press
      Just the lesser importance of Siberia as a global factor affecting the atmosphere,

      We have a GLOBAL swamp in Siberia. It contains millions of tons of methane, only now frozen by permafrost. It thaws in some places only in summer. How will it be without forests is a big question, it may end with a greenhouse effect in the Earth format. hi

      Wow. One spark and a new "Tunguska methiorite" can happen.
  11. CPLCRB-press
    6 September 2020 15: 02 New
    0
    Quote: A. Privalov
    Quote: CPLCRB-press
    And here's another enchanting story with a tourist (in the same Amazon)

    Ah, "Russian traveler Denis Saltanov"! He is also known for his adventures in Indonesia.

    Yes, Saltanov made history in Indonesia. He is there again with his Indonesian wife. As for Lapshin, he is certainly not as harmless and peaceful as Saltanov and there were formally grounds for his detention, but the proportionality of the punishment also raises many questions.

Военное обозрение

Верховный суд Бразилии потребовал от президента объяснить использование вооружённых сил в Амазонии

20

Как сообщает издание Plantao Brasil, министр STF (Верховного федерального суда Бразилии) Кармен Люсия дала президенту страны Жаиру Болсонару и министру обороны Фернанду Азеведу пять дней для предоставления информации об использовании вооруженных сил в действиях на границе с Венесуэлой и землях коренных народов в штатах Амазонии. Информационный запрос был опубликован 2 сентября.


В тексте запроса утверждается, что указ и постановление, разрешающие использование вооруженных сил в действиях против вырубки лесов и пожаров в период с мая по ноябрь этого года способствуют

«настоящей милитаризации экологической политики Бразилии, вопиющем противостоянии конституционным предписаниям и узурпации полномочий органов по охране окружающей среды, в особенности Бразильского института окружающей среды и возобновляемых природных ресурсов (IBAMA)».

Запрос Верховного суда был выполнен по ходатайству Партии зелёных и касается операции военных под названием "Зелёная Бразилия-2", во время проведения которой была практически прекращена деятельность государственных экологов, военные наводнили Амазонию, но незаконная вырубка деревьев и лесные пожары не только не прекратились, а даже усилились. Причём действия военных в Амазонии поддерживались военным лобби в правительстве, которое заблокировало финансовые резервы экологических институтов IBAMA и ICMBIO, что парализовало деятельность экологов в регионе и привело к приостановке всех операций по борьбе с обезлесением.

Спикер Палаты депутатов Родригe Майя заявил 3 сентября, что правительство президента Жаира Болсонару выступает за демонтаж институтов защиты окружающей среды, и подчеркнул, что это имеет «суицидальное воздействие» на экономику и развитие страны.

Примечательно, что претензии Верховного суда к Болсонару по поводу милитаризации Амазонии и войны с IBAMA практически полностью повторяют те аргументы и факты, которые были изложены год назад в статье в "Военном обозрении" под заголовком "Под прикрытием экологического сотрудничества. Американская милитаризация Амазонии", с одной лишь разницей — отсутствие упоминания роли США и федеральной полиции в этом процессе.

Сбылось и предсказанное в этой статье предположение о желании правительства Болсонару отказаться от сотрудничества с Индией и Китаем, чьи спутники передавали экологам космические снимки лесов Амазонии. 31 августа федеральная полиция Бразилии подписала контракт на спутниковые снимки с американской компанией "Planet", тесно сотрудничающей с американским шпионским агентством NGA (National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency).


39-миллионный контракт, заключённый даже без торгов, вызвал недоумение у бразильских учёных экологов, заявивших, что снимки с китайско-бразильских и индийских спутников были ничем не хуже. Федеральная полиция оправдывает своё сотрудничество с США возросшими потребностями в отслеживании экологических преступлений из космоса.

Верховный суд Бразилии потребовал от президента объяснить использование вооружённых сил в Амазонии

Однако далеко не все причины обезлесения имеют криминальный характер, и несколько странно, что бразильское министерство экологии не принимало никакого участия в финансировании проекта, а контракт с "Planet" финансировался из бюджета Фонда национальной общественной безопасности (связанного с Минюстом и федеральной полицией).

Также стало известно, что Министерство обороны Бразилии выделило 145 миллионов реалов на приобретение спутников для слежения за Амазонией, но спутники выполняют абсолютно ту же работу, что и уже имеющиеся у Бразилии средства космического мониторинга. Минобороны заявляет, что средства на закупку были добыты федеральной полицией в результате антикоррупционных операций.
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
www.plantaobrasil.net, http://vozdopara.com.br, https://reconcavonoar.com.br, Минобороны Бразилии
20 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Mavrikiy
    Mavrikiy 6 сентября 2020 05:41
    0
    Верховный суд Бразилии потребовал от президента объяснить использование вооружённых сил в Амазонии
    Большому брату потребуется много дерева, после демократических погромов.
  2. nikvic46
    nikvic46 6 сентября 2020 06:59
    0
    Как то умный человек сказал,что сибирская тайга и сельва Амазонии являются легкими планеты Земля.Американские корпорации строя дороги, в огромных количествах вырубают джунгли.И между населением этих мест идет малая война.Те,кто получил работу,выступают за преобразования.Те,кому дорога природа,конечно, борются с этим произволом.Чего только на Амазонке не увидишь.В некоторых районах этой реки орудуют даже пираты.Вообщем,картина интересная.
    1. Avis
      Avis 6 сентября 2020 07:50
      +2
      Цитата: nikvic46
      Как то умный человек сказал,что сибирская тайга и сельва Амазонии являются легкими планеты Земля.

      Строго говоря, >3/4 кислорода вырабатывает фитопланктон. А фразе этой уже около столетия, тогда ещё многого не знали.
      Роль лесов в другом. Они и на климат регулируют, и животных укрывают, и много что ещё. Но их роль в пополнении кислорода несколько преувеличена.
  3. Doccor18
    Doccor18 6 сентября 2020 07:07
    0
    федеральная полиция Бразилии подписала контракт на спутниковые снимки с американской компанией "Planet", тесно сотрудничающей с американским шпионским агентством NGA (National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency)...

    Ничего не изменилось в Латинской Америке за последние 100 лет. Как использовали ее американские империалисты в своих корыстных целях, так и используют по сей день...
  4. А. Привалов
    А. Привалов 6 сентября 2020 07:14
    +2
    Я тётушка Чарли из Бразилии, где в лесах очень много-много диких обезьян.
    laughing
    Судя по публикациям автора, а он, без всякого сомнения, глубоко в теме, уже года два как США, руками Бразилии, должны вести полноценные военные действия на территории Венесуэлы. Однако, предсказания не сбылись и это хорошо. У Венесуэлы и без Бразилии забот полон рот.
    К слову, в Амазонии несколько лет назад были какие-то проблемы с российскими туристами. В чём суть дела и чем оно кончилось?
    1. CPLCRB-press
      6 сентября 2020 07:45
      +3
      Вот самая полная статья об этой истории с туристами http://cstcommand.com/index.php/countries/yuzhnaya-amerika/braziliya/item/34-14-let-za-pasport-rf-kak-rossiyane-v-brazilii-slomali-mashinu-gosudarstvennogo-terrorizma
      1. А. Привалов
        А. Привалов 6 сентября 2020 07:48
        +2
        Спасибо, обязательно проштудирую материалы во вашим ссылкам! hi
    2. CPLCRB-press
      6 сентября 2020 07:46
      +3
      И вот ещё феерическая история с туристом (в той же Амазонии) http://cstcommand.com/index.php/countries/yuzhnaya-amerika/braziliya/item/68-braziliya-manaus-god-tyurmy-dlya-rossiyanina-zashedshego-po-oshibke-na-voennyj-ob-ekt
      1. А. Привалов
        А. Привалов 6 сентября 2020 08:27
        +4
        Цитата: CPLCRB-press
        И вот ещё феерическая история с туристом (в той же Амазонии)

        А, "российский путешественник Денис Салтанов"! Он известен ещё и своими похождениями в Индонезии.
        У нас тут есть свой такой путешественник - блогер, Алексей Лапшин, двадцать лет передвигающийся по миру и перманентно вступающий в различные конфликты с миграционными органами десятков государств. Так, он добрался до Нагорного Карабаха, попал под санкции Азербайджана, был задержан и депортирован Бацькой, по интерполовскому ордеру, сидел в азербайджанском зинзане, чуть там не погиб, а теперь судится с азербайджанскими властями в Европейском суде.
  5. Инженер Щукин
    Инженер Щукин 6 сентября 2020 07:15
    +2
    39-миллионный контракт, заключённый даже без торгов, вызвал недоумение у бразильских учёных экологов, заявивших, что снимки с китайско-бразильских и индийских спутников были ничем не хуже.

    Это простите какая группировка у Бразилии, Индии и Китая ничем не хуже группировки Planet Labs?
    PL имеет на орбите 350-400 спутников, мировой лидер с большим отрывом по ежедневному мониторингу поверхностных изменений на Земле.
  6. parusnik
    parusnik 6 сентября 2020 07:20
    +1
    Скоро планета, без легких останется, лесов Бразилии и Сибири...
  7. CPLCRB-press
    6 сентября 2020 07:54
    -1
    Речь идёт о качестве (разрешении) снимков конкретного региона - бразильского сегмента Амазонии. Имеющиеся спутки
    Цитата: Инженер Щукин
    39-миллионный контракт, заключённый даже без торгов, вызвал недоумение у бразильских учёных экологов, заявивших, что снимки с китайско-бразильских и индийских спутников были ничем не хуже.

    Это простите какая группировка у Бразилии, Индии и Китая ничем не хуже группировки Planet Labs?
    PL имеет на орбите 350-400 спутников, мировой лидер с большим отрывом по ежедневному мониторингу поверхностных изменений на Земле.

    Речь идёт о качестве (разрешении) снимков и конкретном регионе - Амазонии. Бразильский институт INPE утверждает, что уже имеющиеся спутники полностью выполняют свою задачу и параметры снимков не хуже Planet Labs.
  8. CPLCRB-press
    6 сентября 2020 07:55
    -2
    Цитата: parusnik
    Скоро планета, без легких останется, лесов Бразилии и Сибири...

    Сибирь меньше влияет из-за того, что там по большей части хвойные леса, которые меньше кислорода вырабатывают.
    1. parusnik
      parusnik 6 сентября 2020 08:08
      +3
      Сибирь меньше влияет из-за того, что там по большей части хвойные леса, которые меньше кислорода вырабатывают.
      ...Ну и плевать тогда, коли так, пущай все горит и вырубают... smile
      1. CPLCRB-press
        6 сентября 2020 09:30
        -1
        Цитата: parusnik
        Сибирь меньше влияет из-за того, что там по большей части хвойные леса, которые меньше кислорода вырабатывают.
        ...Ну и плевать тогда, коли так, пущай все горит и вырубают... smile

        Ну зачем же так сразу ))) Просто меньшая значимость Сибири как глобального фактора, влияющего на атмосферу, объясняет почему мировое сообщество больше напрягается при пожарах именно в Амазонии. Ну а сибирские пожары это конечно тоже беда и безобразие.
  9. А Вам Зачем
    А Вам Зачем 6 сентября 2020 10:15
    -1
    А Трамп про это знает? Это не демократичная страна,нужны санкции.Как можно против президента?
    1. CPLCRB-press
      6 сентября 2020 15:11
      -1
      Цитата: А Вам Зачем
      А Трамп про это знает? Это не демократичная страна,нужны санкции.Как можно против президента?

      Новый президент Бразилии лучший друг Трампа.
  10. фа2998
    фа2998 6 сентября 2020 12:14
    +1
    Цитата: CPLCRB-press
    Просто меньшая значимость Сибири как глобального фактора, влияющего на атмосферу,

    У нас в Сибири находится ГЛОБАЛЬНОЕ болото.Содержит миллионы тонн метана,только сейчас заморожено вечной мерзлотой.Только летом местами оттаивает.Как будет без лесов-большой вопрос,может закончится парниковым эффектом в Земном формате. hi
    1. CPLCRB-press
      6 сентября 2020 15:10
      -1
      Цитата: фа2998
      Цитата: CPLCRB-press
      Просто меньшая значимость Сибири как глобального фактора, влияющего на атмосферу,

      У нас в Сибири находится ГЛОБАЛЬНОЕ болото.Содержит миллионы тонн метана,только сейчас заморожено вечной мерзлотой.Только летом местами оттаивает.Как будет без лесов-большой вопрос,может закончится парниковым эффектом в Земном формате. hi

      Ничего себе. Одна искра и может случиться новый "тунгусский метиорит".
  11. CPLCRB-press
    6 сентября 2020 15:02
    0
    Цитата: А. Привалов
    Цитата: CPLCRB-press
    И вот ещё феерическая история с туристом (в той же Амазонии)

    А, "российский путешественник Денис Салтанов"! Он известен ещё и своими похождениями в Индонезии.

    Да, Салтанов ещё в Индонезии попал в историю. Он и сейчас опять там с женой-индонезийской. Что касается Лапшина, то он конечно не столь безобиден и миролюбив, как Салтанов и основания к его задержанию формально были, но соразмерность наказания тоже вызывает много вопросов.