Military Review

Unguided air-to-air missile AIR-2 Genie (USA)

6

AIR-2A rocket in the museum. Photo Wikimedia Commons


In the early years, the development of air-to-air missiles faced serious technological constraints, which led to the need to find alternative solutions. One of the most interesting results of such processes was the Douglas MB-1 / AIR-2 Genie rocket, developed for the US Air Force. It was an unguided missile with a nuclear warhead - one of a kind.

Threats and restrictions


By the mid-fifties, the USSR had accumulated significant nuclear arsenals and created aircraft to deliver ammunition to targets in the United States. The American Air Force was actively working on various methods of countering a possible raid, but not all of them could show the required effectiveness.

The most promising were considered aviation air-to-air missiles, but the development of homing heads for them faced all sorts of difficulties. The consequence of this was the proposal to use warheads of increased power, capable of compensating for a miss. A compact but powerful enough nuclear charge could show high efficiency when firing at bombers. In theory, he even allowed the GOS to be dispensed with.

In 1954, Douglas Aircraft began working on the appearance of a promising aircraft missile, designed specifically to combat Soviet bombers. In order to speed up the work, it was proposed to use the simplest components and devices, abandoning the development of complex new products.


F-106 and its weapons. The largest product is the Genie rocket. Photo USAF

At the preliminary study stage, the new project had several working designations - Bird Dog, Ding Dong and High Card. Later the MB-1 index and the name Genie appeared. In the early sixties, the Air Force introduced a new weapon designation system, and the MB-1 missile changed its name to AIR-2. Its modifications were renamed accordingly.

Special appearance


The proposed appearance of a promising rocket combined simplicity and boldness. Provided for the construction of unguided ammunition with a solid propellant engine and a low-power nuclear warhead. It was assumed that the radius of destruction of the warhead would be sufficient to compensate for a possible deviation from the line of sight and could ensure the defeat of several bombers in one formation.

The MB-1 received a cylindrical body with an ogival head. X-shaped stabilizers were placed in the tail of the hull. The plane consisted of a fixed root piece and a retractable console. The stabilizers were characterized by low elongation and a broken leading edge with a large sweep. The internal volumes of the hull were given under the warhead, the units associated with it and the engine. The rocket had a length of 2,95 m with a body diameter of 445 mm. The launch weight is 373 kg.

A Thiokol SR49-TC-1 solid-fuel engine with a thrust of 16350 kgf was placed in the tail of the rocket. With its help, the product could reach speeds up to M = 3,3 and fly about 6 miles (less than 10 km). Maneuvering in flight was ruled out, but the stabilizers had to ensure that it was kept on a given trajectory.


Preparing for the flight of the F-101 fighter. Photo USAF

Under the Gini's fairing was a W25-type nuclear warhead designed specifically for this missile. The warhead had a length of 680 mm and a diameter of 440 mm, weight - approx. 100 kg. Used a combined charge based on uranium and plutonium, placed in a sealed enclosure. Estimated blasting power - 1,5 kt TNT. This was enough for guaranteed destruction of air targets within a radius of 300 m and for a serious impact on more distant objects.

The W25 product was equipped with a remote fuse with several safety stages. The first stage was removed when the rocket was launched, the second after the engine burned out. During this time, the carrier plane had to move away from the danger zone. The detonation was carried out using a remote fuse at a pre-programmed point of the trajectory.

Several tactical aircraft of American design could become the carriers of the MB-1 Genie missile. In this role, the F-89 Scorpion, F-101 Voodoo, F-102 Delta Dagger, F-104 Starfighter and F-106 Delta Dart fighters and interceptors were considered. However, not all plans were implemented. So, a set of additional equipment was created for the F-102 fighter, but it did not enter service. For the suspension of the rocket on the F-104, a special device was used, which was notable for its complexity and was not widely used.

With the help of its equipment, the MB-1 carrier aircraft was supposed to determine the parameters of the group air target, as well as calculate the launch moment and the estimated range of the rocket. The necessary data were entered into the rocket equipment, after which the launch was carried out. Then the carrier fighter had to perform an evasive maneuver and leave the danger zone.


Operation Plumbbob John - Rocket Launch, July 19, 1957 Photo by US NSA

Testing and deployment


In 1956, the Douglas company conducted the first tests of an experimental missile with a warhead weight simulator. The rocket was distinguished by its simplicity, which made it possible to complete all checks and fine-tuning in just a few months. Already in the first months of 1957, an order was issued to adopt the MB-1 missile into service with the US Air Force.

It was noted that the new weapon has a number of positive features. The nuclear warhead provided destruction or damage to targets within a radius of several hundred meters. The missile's flight to its maximum range took only 10-12 seconds, which left the enemy no time to respond. The lack of any means of guidance made any countermeasures useless. In a real conflict, Genie missiles could make the most significant contribution to defending a country from attack. At the same time, the new weapon turned out to be not very easy to operate and use, and also quite dangerous for the carrier.

In the same 1957, the serial production of new missiles in several versions was launched. For combat use, they produced MB-1 products in full configuration. A training version of the MB-1-T rocket was also produced. Instead of a nuclear warhead, it carried a smoke charge that indicated the point of detonation.

Serial production of missiles continued until 1962. For several years, 3150 products in a combat configuration and several hundred training ones were produced. Such a reserve ensured the training of the flight personnel and the reflection of a possible strike, and it was decided to stop production. In addition, in the near future, the appearance of guided missiles with the required efficiency was expected - after that, unguided weapons could be abandoned.

Unguided air-to-air missile AIR-2 Genie (USA)

A cloud from a rocket detonation. Photo USAF

However, this did not exclude the need to modernize existing weapons. In the early sixties, an improved version of the MB-1 rocket was developed under the designation MMB-1. Its main difference was the engine with higher performance. The MMB-1 did not go into production, but the engine was used to upgrade the missiles in storage. Serial MB-1 / AIR-2A with a new engine and increased firing range were designated AIR-2B.

The main operator of the Genie missiles was the United States Air Force. They received the bulk of mass-produced missiles and had a large number of carrier aircraft. Also, such weapons were supplied to the Canadian Air Force as part of the nuclear exchange program. Canadian missiles were used by CF-101 Voodoo fighters. The British Air Force showed interest in American weapons. They planned to use imported rockets on Lightning aircraft, but this proposal never materialized.

Rocket in operation


Just a few months after the adoption of the MB-1 Genie rocket in a combat configuration, it was used in tests. On July 19, 1957, as part of Operation Plumbbob, a detonation with the code John took place. The US Air Force F-89J fighter, commanded by Captain Eric W. Hutchison and Captain Alfred S. Barbie, launched a rocket over a Nevada training ground. The explosion of the W25 product occurred at a height of approx. 5,5-6 km.

According to calculations, the detonation and radiation from it should not have a significant effect on ground objects. To confirm this, a group of five officers and a photographer in summer uniform were present under the blast point. The recording equipment confirmed that the damaging factors did not reach the ground. The carrier plane was not damaged either. He continued to serve in the Air Force, then ended up in the National Guard, and after being written off he became a monument to himself and the missiles.


F-89J fighter with mock-ups of AIR-2A missiles. Photo Wikimedia Commons

Airplanes with nuclear unguided missiles took over duty and made a significant contribution to the air defense of the United States and Canada. In 1963, a new designation system was introduced, and the Gini continued to serve under a new name. The basic MB-1 was renamed AIR-2A, the modernized one - AIR-2B. The training version became known as the ATR-2A.

Despite the limited flight characteristics and relatively low accuracy, the MB-1 / AIR-2 missiles were considered a fairly effective and successful weapon for interceptor fighters, suitable for further operation. Already in the sixties, air defense fighters received new guided missile weapons, but they were in no hurry to abandon the unguided Genies. Conventional and nuclear missiles complemented each other.

The Canadian Air Force continued to operate AIR-2 missiles until 1984. The abandonment of such weapons was associated, first of all, with the obsolescence of the CF-101 carrier aircraft, and newer aviation technology could no longer use the existing nuclear missiles. Similar processes were observed in the US Air Force. By the mid-eighties, of all the AIR-2 carriers, only F-106 fighters remained in service. In 1988, they were removed from service, and with this the service of the Gini missiles ended.

As the storage periods expired, the AIR-2 missiles were decommissioned and disposed of. The last remnants of the arsenals went for dismantling in the early nineties. However, not all Genies were destroyed. About two dozen such items have lost their internal units and have become exhibits in various US museums. The F-89J fighter, which at one time performed the only training launch of a combat missile, also became curious historical exhibit.

The MB-1 / AIR-2 unguided nuclear air-to-air missile has been in service for about 30 years and has made a notable contribution to US air defense. At the time of its appearance, such a weapon was very effective and useful, but new technologies soon made its basic concept unpromising. And also made it possible to create a guided missile with nuclear equipment.
Author:
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. sevtrash
    sevtrash 18 October 2020 10: 15 New
    0
    That is, the Americans in the 50s had an effective weapon for fighters against strategic bombers. Didn't it happen in the USSR? For the Soviet Union, it was more relevant and much more.
  2. Bormanxnumx
    Bormanxnumx 18 October 2020 10: 55 New
    0
    A Thiokol SR49-TC-1 solid-fuel engine with a thrust of 16350 kgf was placed in the tail of the rocket.

    The rocket engine thrust is two to three times greater than that of the aircraft engines that were supposed to use it smile
  3. engineer74
    engineer74 18 October 2020 19: 29 New
    +1
    The Americans had a fresh memory of the raids of the "1000 bombers" and were very afraid to see this in their skies smile This missile would greatly help the Third Reich, and the USSR, with all its desire, could not provide a dense formation of strategic bombers over targets in the USA and Canada.
    IMHO hi
  4. Saxahorse
    Saxahorse 18 October 2020 20: 38 New
    +1
    Really curious! I have never even heard of such a decision! Thanks to the author!

    Shooting anti-aircraft / anti-aircraft missiles in areas. It sounds strange, but if the warhead is 1.5 kilotons then why not? wassat
    1. the Saint
      the Saint 19 October 2020 17: 02 New
      -1
      MIM-14 "Nike-Hercules" - American anti-aircraft missile system. The world's first long-range anti-aircraft missile system and the world's first anti-aircraft missile system with a nuclear warhead. Adopted by the US Army in 1958.
      The miniaturization of atomic charges made it possible to equip the missile with a nuclear warhead. As such, a W-61 warhead, ranging in power from 2 to 40 kilotons, was commonly used. Detonation of the warhead in the air could destroy the aircraft within a radius of several hundred meters from the epicenter, which made it possible to effectively hit even relatively complex, small-sized targets like supersonic cruise missiles.
      Nike-Hercules was able to intercept single warheads of ballistic missiles, making it the first complex to have anti-missile capabilities.
  5. the Saint
    the Saint 19 October 2020 16: 57 New
    -4
    Captured Germans from under the stick invented all kinds of junk for the Americans.
    There were no Ukrainian nuggets overseas like Korolev and deaf geniuses from Kaluga like Tsiolkovsky.
    True, there was also one cunning German Friedrich Zander, but he died of typhus in time, avoiding the obligatory execution.

Военное обозрение

Неуправляемая ракета «воздух-воздух» AIR-2 Genie (США)

6

Ракета AIR-2A в музее. Фото Wikimedia Commons


В первые годы разработка ракет «воздух-воздух» сталкивалась с серьезными технологическими ограничениями, что приводило к необходимости поиска альтернативных решений. Одним из самых интересных результатов таких процессов стала ракета Douglas MB-1 / AIR-2 Genie, разработанная для ВВС США. Она представляла собой неуправляемый реактивный снаряд с ядерной боевой частью – единственный в своем роде.

Угрозы и ограничения


К середине пятидесятых годов СССР успел накопить существенные ядерные арсеналы и создать самолеты для доставки боеприпасов к целям на территории США. Американские ВВС активно прорабатывали разные способы противодействия возможному налету, однако не все они могли показать требуемую эффективность.

Наиболее перспективными считались авиационные ракеты «воздух-воздух», но разработка головок самонаведения для них сталкивалась с разного рода трудностями. Следствием этого стало предложение о применении боевых частей повышенной мощности, способных компенсировать промах. Высокую эффективность при стрельбе по строю бомбардировщиков мог показать компактный, но достаточно мощный ядерный заряд. В теории, он даже позволял обойтись без ГСН.

В 1954 г. компания Douglas Aircraft начала проработку облика перспективной авиационной ракеты, предназначенной специально для борьбы с советскими бомбардировщиками. С целью ускорения работ было предложено использовать самые простые компоненты и устройства, отказавшись от разработки сложных новых изделий.


F-106 и его вооружения. Самое крупное изделие - ракета Genie. Фото USAF

На стадии предварительной проработки новый проект носил несколько рабочих обозначений – Bird Dog, Ding Dong и High Card. Позже появились индекс MB-1 и название Genie. В начале шестидесятых годов ВВС ввели новую систему обозначений вооружений, и ракета MB-1 сменила название на AIR-2. Соответствующим образом переименовали и ее модификации.

Особый облик


Предложенный облик перспективной ракеты сочетал в себе простоту и смелость. Предусматривалось строительство неуправляемого боеприпаса с твердотопливным двигателем и ядерной боевой частью малой мощности. Предполагалось, что радиус поражения боеголовки будет достаточен для компенсации возможного отклонения от линии прицеливания и сможет обеспечить поражение нескольких бомбардировщиков в одном строю.

MB-1 получила цилиндрический корпус с оживальной головной частью. В хвосте корпуса поместили Х-образные стабилизаторы. Плоскость состояла из неподвижной корневой детали и выдвигаемой консоли. Стабилизаторы отличались малым удлинением и изломанной передней кромкой с большой стреловидностью. Внутренние объемы корпуса отдавались под боевую часть, связанные с ней агрегаты и двигатель. Ракета имела длину 2,95 м при диаметре корпуса 445 мм. Стартовая масса – 373 кг.

В хвосте ракеты поместили твердотопливный двигатель Thiokol SR49-TC-1 с тягой 16350 кгс. С его помощью изделие могло развить скорость до М=3,3 и пролететь около 6 миль (менее 10 км). Маневрирование в полете исключалось, но стабилизаторы должны были обеспечить удержание на заданной траектории.


Подготовка к вылету истребителя F-101. Фото USAF

Под головным обтекателем «Джини» располагалась ядерная боевая часть типа W25, созданная специально для этой ракеты. БЧ имела длину 680 мм и диаметр 440 мм, масса – ок. 100 кг. Использовался комбинированный заряд на основе урана и плутония, помещенный в герметичный корпус. Расчетная мощность подрыва – 1,5 кт ТНТ. Этого хватало для гарантированного поражения воздушных целей в радиусе 300 м и для серьезного воздействия на более удаленные объекты.

Изделие W25 оснастили дистанционным взрывателем с несколькими ступенями предохранения. Первая ступень снималась при пуске ракеты, вторая – после выгорания двигателя. За это время самолет-носитель должен был удалиться от опасной зоны. Подрыв осуществлялся при помощи дистанционного взрывателя в заранее запрограммированной точке траектории.

Носителями ракеты MB-1 Genie могли стать несколько тактических самолетов американской разработки. В этой роли рассматривались истребители и перехватчики F-89 Scorpion, F-101 Voodoo, F-102 Delta Dagger, F-104 Starfighter и F-106 Delta Dart. При этом не все планы удалось реализовать. Так, для истребителя F-102 создали комплект дополнительного оборудования, но на вооружение он не поступил. Для подвески ракеты на F-104 использовалось специальное устройство, отличавшееся сложностью и не нашедшее широкого применения.

При помощи своей аппаратуры самолет-носитель MB-1 должен был определять параметры групповой воздушной цели, а также рассчитывать момент пуска и расчетную дальность полета ракеты. Необходимые данные вводились в аппаратуру ракеты, после чего производился пуск. Затем истребитель-носитель должен был выполнять маневр уклонения и уходить из опасной зоны.


Операция Plumbbob John - запуск ракеты, 19 июля 1957 г. Фото US NSA

Испытания и развертывание


В 1956 г. компания «Дуглас» провела первые испытания опытной ракеты с весовым имитатором БЧ. Ракета отличалась простотой, что позволило завершить все проверки и доводку всего за несколько месяцев. Уже в первых месяцах 1957 г. вышел приказ о принятии ракеты MB-1 на вооружение ВВС США.

Отмечалось, что новое оружие имеет ряд положительных особенностей. Ядерная БЧ обеспечивала поражение или повреждение целей в радиусе нескольких сотен метров. Полет ракеты на максимальную дальность занимал всего 10-12 секунд, что не оставляло противнику времени для ответа. Отсутствие каких-либо средств наведения делало бесполезными любые системы противодействия. В условиях реального конфликта ракеты «Джини» могли внести самый серьезный вклад в защиту страны от нападения. В то же время, новое оружие оказывалось не слишком простым в эксплуатации и применении, а также достаточно опасным для носителя.

В том же 1957 г. запустили серийное производство новых ракет в нескольких версиях. Для боевого применения выпускали изделия MB-1 в полной комплектации. Также производилась учебная версия ракеты MB-1-T. Вместо ядерной БЧ она несла дымовой заряд, обозначавший точку подрыва.

Серийное производство ракет продолжалось до 1962 г. За несколько лет произвели 3150 изделий в боевой конфигурации и несколько сотен учебных. Такой запас обеспечивал подготовку летного состава и отражение возможного удара, и производство решили прекратить. Кроме того, в ближайшем будущем ожидалось появление управляемых ракет с требуемой эффективностью – после этого от неуправляемого оружия можно было отказаться.

Неуправляемая ракета «воздух-воздух» AIR-2 Genie (США)

Облако от подрыва ракеты. Фото USAF

Впрочем, это не исключало необходимость модернизации наличного оружия. В начале шестидесятых велась разработка улучшенной версии ракеты MB-1 под обозначением MMB-1. Главное ее отличие заключалось в двигателе с более высокими характеристиками. MMB-1 не пошла в серию, но двигатель использовали при модернизации ракет на хранении. Серийные MB-1 / AIR-2A с новым двигателем и увеличенной дальностью стрельбы получили обозначение AIR-2B.

Основным эксплуатантом ракет Genie были ВВС США. Они получили основную массу серийных ракет и располагали большим количеством самолетов-носителей. Также такое оружие поставлялось ВВС Канады в рамках программы ядерного обмена. Канадские ракеты использовались истребителями CF-101 Voodoo. Интерес к американскому оружию проявляли КВВС Великобритании. Они планировали использовать импортные ракеты на самолетах Lightning, но это предложение не было реализовано.

Ракета в эксплуатации


Всего через несколько месяцев после принятия на вооружение ракету MB-1 Genie в боевой конфигурации использовали в испытаниях. 19 июля 1957 г. в рамках операции Plumbbob состоялся подрыв с шифром John. Истребитель F-89J ВВС США под управлением капитана Эрика У. Хатчисона и капитана Альфреда С. Барби выполнил пуск ракеты над полигоном в Неваде. Взрыв изделия W25 произошел на высоте ок. 5,5-6 км.

Согласно расчетам, подрыв и излучение от него не должны были оказать существенного влияния на наземные объекты. Для подтверждения этого под точкой взрыва присутствовала группа из пяти офицеров и фотографа в летнем обмундировании. Регистрирующая аппаратура подтвердила, что поражающие факторы не добрались до земли. Самолет-носитель тоже не пострадал. Он продолжил службу в ВВС, потом попал в Нацгвардию, а после списания стал памятником самому себе и ракетам.


Истребитель F-89J с макетами ракет AIR-2A. Фото Wikimedia Commons

Самолеты с ядерными неуправляемыми ракетами заступили на дежурство и вносили существенный вклад в обеспечение ПВО США и Канады. В 1963 г. была введена новая система обозначений, и «Джини» продолжили службу под измененными названиями. Базовую MB-1 переименовали в AIR-2A, модернизированную – в AIR-2B. Учебный вариант стали называть ATR-2A.

Несмотря на ограниченные летные характеристики и сравнительно низкую точность, ракеты MB-1 / AIR-2 считались достаточно эффективным и удачным оружием для истребителей-перехватчиков, пригодным для дальнейшей эксплуатации. Уже в шестидесятых годах истребители ПВО получили новое управляемое ракетное вооружение, но от неуправляемых Genie отказываться не торопились. Обычные и ядерные ракеты дополняли друг друга.

ВВС Канады продолжали эксплуатацию ракет AIR-2 до 1984 г. Отказ от такого оружия был связан, в первую очередь, с устареванием самолетов-носителей CF-101, а более новая авиационная техника уже не могла использовать имеющиеся ядерные ракеты. Схожие процессы наблюдались и в ВВС США. К середине восьмидесятых из всех носителей AIR-2 в строю оставались только истребители F-106. В 1988 г. их сняли с вооружения, и вместе с этим завершилась служба ракет «Джини».

По мере истечения сроков хранения ракеты AIR-2 списывались и утилизировались. Последние остатки арсеналов отправились на разборку в начале девяностых. Впрочем, не все Genie были уничтожены. Около двух десятков таких изделий лишились внутренних агрегатов и стали экспонатами разных музеев США. Истребитель F-89J, в свое время выполнивший единственный учебный запуск боевой ракеты, тоже стал любопытным историческим экспонатом.

Неуправляемая ядерная ракета «воздух-воздух» MB-1 / AIR-2 состояла на вооружении около 30 лет и внесла заметный вклад в ПВО США. На момент своего появления такое оружие было весьма эффективным и полезным, но новые технологии вскоре сделали бесперспективной ее базовую концепцию. А также позволили создать управляемую ракету с ядерным оснащением.
Автор:
6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. sevtrash
    sevtrash 18 октября 2020 10:15 Новый
    0
    То есть у американцев в 50-х было эффективное оружие для истребителей против стратегическх бомбардировщиков. А в СССР такого, выходит не было? Для Советского Союза оно было более актуальным и намного.
  2. BORMAN82
    BORMAN82 18 октября 2020 10:55 Новый
    0
    В хвосте ракеты поместили твердотопливный двигатель Thiokol SR49-TC-1 с тягой 16350 кгс.

    Тяга двигателя ракеты, в пару-тройку раз больше чем у двигателей самолётов, которые должны были ее применять smile
  3. инженер74
    инженер74 18 октября 2020 19:29 Новый
    +1
    Свежа была у американцев память о рейдах "1000 бомбардировщиков" и очень боялись увидеть такое в своем небе smile Эта ракета сильно бы помогла III рейху, а СССР, при всем желании не мог обеспечить плотный строй стратегических бомберов над целями в США и Канаде.
    ИМХО hi
  4. Saxahorse
    Saxahorse 18 октября 2020 20:38 Новый
    +1
    Очень любопытно! Никогда даже не слышал о таком решении! Автору спасибо!

    Стрельба зенитными/противовоздушными ракетами по площадям. Звучит странно но если БЧ 1.5 килотонны то почему бы и нет? wassat
    1. el Santo
      el Santo 19 октября 2020 17:02 Новый
      0
      MIM-14 «Nike-Hercules» — американский зенитно-ракетный комплекс. Первый в мире зенитно-ракетный комплекс большого радиуса действия и первый в мире зенитно-ракетный комплекс с ядерной боевой частью. Принят на вооружение армии США в 1958 году.
      Миниатюризация атомных зарядов позволила оснастить ракету ядерной боевой частью. В качестве таковой обычно использовалась боеголовка W-61, мощностью от 2 до 40 килотонн. Детонация боеголовки в воздухе могла разрушить летательный аппарат в радиусе нескольких сотен метров от эпицентра, что позволяло эффективно поражать даже сравнительно сложные, малогабаритные цели вроде сверхзвуковых крылатых ракет.
      «Nike-Hercules» мог перехватывать одиночные боевые части баллистических ракет, что делало его первым комплексом, имевшим противоракетные возможности.
  5. el Santo
    el Santo 19 октября 2020 16:57 Новый
    -3
    Пленные немцы из-под палки всякое барахло для американцев изобретали.
    Не было за океаном украинских самородков, как Королёв и глухих гениев из Калуги, как Циолковский.
    Был, правда, и у нас один хитрый немец Фридрих Цандер, но он вовремя умер от тифа, избежав обязательного расстрела.