Military Review

Still in service: AMX-13 light tank seen in action in Indonesia

20
Still in service: AMX-13 light tank seen in action in Indonesia

The high cost of developing and producing "fresh" models of military equipment forces the armies of even developed countries to operate outdated products, which have a service life of several decades. However, against this background, stand out individual copies, which in the near future can be celebrated almost a hundredth anniversary.


So, in Indonesia, a French light tank AMX-13 was seen in service. In the photos posted on the Web, he appears in service with the 5th Cavalry Battalion. This armored unit is based in Palembang, is under the command of Regional Military Command II and is the only "cavalry" unit located in southern Sumatra.

The AMX-13, seen in company with the AMX-VCI armored personnel carrier, took part in a company-level tactical exercise.

This light tank was created by French developers in the second half of the 1940s. Having undergone numerous modernizations, it was mass-produced in 1952 - 1964 (in Argentina until 1985). Depending on the specific version, the tank had different main armament: 75-mm, 90-mm and 105-mm guns.


Photos used:
http://defense-studies.blogspot.com/
20 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. pmkemcity
    pmkemcity 17 September 2020 05: 18
    +6
    And they say that thirteen is not a lucky number!
    1. Reviews
      Reviews 17 September 2020 07: 21
      +3
      Quote: pmkemcity
      And they say that thirteen is not a lucky number!

      This is what the fools say. For example, the Soyuz-T-13 crew saved the Salyut-7.
  2. Free wind
    Free wind 17 September 2020 05: 27
    +3
    The tank has fought a lot. Many people liked the automatic loader very much. True, the tower had to be made, to put it mildly, the original, the vertical aiming angles are small. But he was considered a very reliable kid, with the firepower of an adult tank. Actually now they again come to the light tank.
    1. Serg koma
      Serg koma 17 September 2020 06: 17
      +7
      Quote: Free Wind
      Actually now they again come to the light tank.

      Well forgotten old ...
      On July 19, 1943, in the battles for the village of Izotovo on the outskirts of the Zolotarevo station, Trubin destroyed two anti-tank guns with well-aimed shots and suppressed the enemy's mortar battery. In the same battle, a light Soviet T-70 tank, commanded by Trubin, armed with a 45 mm cannon, attacked German heavy tank T-VI ("tiger") with an 88-mm cannon and destroyed it.

      Surely everyone knows the case of the destruction of German "Panthers" by a light tank T-70.
      The assessment of Bogdanov's light tanks is still relevant today.
      During the war, Lieutenant General Semyon Ilyich Bogdanov, the future Marshal of the Armored Forces, twice Hero of the Soviet Union, commander of the Second Guards Tank Army, gave a high assessment of the T-70 during the war. He objected to the discontinuation of the T-70, and believed that light tanks, due to their high speed and maneuverability, perfectly perform the task of pursuing the enemy, and their large losses occur from the illiterate use of light tanks in battle, and not at all from their design flaws.

      1. Yurahip
        Yurahip 17 September 2020 07: 46
        +1
        So, as I understand it, he flunked a T-45 heavy tank from a 70mm T-6 cannon?
        1. Serg koma
          Serg koma 17 September 2020 11: 02
          0
          tank T-70, under the command of Sergeant Trubin, along with another T-70, unexpectedly fell into an ambush, the arrangement of 3 !!! German tanks T-VI "Tirg". The second tank was instantly knocked out. Trubin on his T-70, taking advantage of the maneuverability of his tank, realizing that he simply would not be allowed to retreat, attacked !!! 3 German Tigers .... Going "on board" - knocked out 1 Tiger !!! 2 others, seeing this alignment (the T-70 went "into the side" of another, fired several shots, but could not "break through" the side), fled from the battlefield ... Moscow (in Gorky Park), at an exhibition of damaged and captured German equipment!
      2. mark1
        mark1 17 September 2020 08: 26
        -1
        Quote: Serg Koma
        Surely everyone knows the case of the destruction of German "Panthers" by a light tank T-70.

        But not everyone knows the case of the destruction of the Kirovets K-700 by the Zaporozhets ZAZ 965. When the tractor left the road on the side of the road, it was attacked by the Zaporozhets hitting the front wheel. Result - "Kirovets" on its side, "humpback" bounced off the wheel slightly hitting the face. He won, however.
    2. Lopatov
      Lopatov 17 September 2020 07: 30
      +3
      Quote: Free Wind
      Actually now they again come to the light tank.

      To the middle, "Harimau" (aka "Kaplan MT") developed jointly with Turkey.


      And they do not "come", Indonesia has constantly used the light AMX-13. And also a number of Soviet PT-76 and British "Scorpions"
      Only recently did they decide to raise rates and purchase normal MBT, 103 Leopard-2, two modifications
  3. Far B
    Far B 17 September 2020 05: 38
    +3
    The fighters for the independence of Indonesian Papuan should not attack the army with spears in a bastard, so a tank of the 50-60s of the last century is quite a wunderwaffle laughing laughing laughing
    1. Dikson
      Dikson 17 September 2020 05: 59
      +2
      Exactly so .. I read about the case there, when the natives of one of the islands killed the military with bows, who were trying to protect the builders of the bridge and the road between two remote villages in the jungle ... Well, the inhabitants did not get along with each other .. and shot both the military and the builders. .. from bows ...
  4. The leader of the Redskins
    The leader of the Redskins 17 September 2020 06: 10
    0
    Thank you for message. I thought he was only in museums, but he remained in private collections.
  5. A. Privalov
    A. Privalov 17 September 2020 07: 06
    +3
    As you know, prior to 1967, relations between Israel and the United States were very tense. Israel bought weapons from France in the 50s and 60s. Accordingly, AMX-13 of various modifications fought both during the Suez Crisis and during the Six Day War. By the way, this model was also in service with the Arab armies of those years. However, there is a light tank, there is a light tank and the Israelis got rid of it at the first opportunity.
    1. APASUS
      APASUS 17 September 2020 08: 58
      +1
      There you should still have M113, also the oldest invention.
      1. A. Privalov
        A. Privalov 17 September 2020 09: 23
        +1
        Quote: APASUS
        There you should still have M113, also the oldest invention.

        The fact is that part of the US arms and military equipment is transferred to Israel free of charge under the Excess Defense Articles. The program allows the United States to dispose of used equipment, the disposal and further use of which in the United States is associated with high costs. So, "Zelda" is here, in a bunch of different modifications. When a more powerful diesel engine was installed instead of a gasoline engine, the booking was significantly increased. It is easy to maintain and manage. Although, by and large, this is almost antiques, with correct and skillful use, it will still serve and will serve.
    2. pmkemcity
      pmkemcity 17 September 2020 09: 22
      +5
      Quote: A. Privalov
      However, there is a light tank, there is a light tank and the Israelis got rid of it at the first opportunity.

      For a long time, maybe even in deep childhood, I read the article "Should a Tank Be on the Battlefield". It was there that the conclusions reached by the Israelis were analyzed - the light AMX-13 in battle showed much less mobility than the heavy "Centurion", because it was forced to constantly seek cover. By the way, a little earlier, the Red Army came to the same conclusion, where the Thirty-fours ousted light tanks even from reconnaissance, which could not destroy a weak enemy, or bind a strong one in battle.
      1. The comment was deleted.
  6. Yurahip
    Yurahip 17 September 2020 07: 43
    0
    He's also very visible in World of Tanks!
    1. kebeskin
      kebeskin 17 September 2020 08: 42
      -1
      The main thing is not to stand near your base in the bushes. And then the ally may not understand.
  7. pmkemcity
    pmkemcity 17 September 2020 09: 10
    +1
    Quote: Avis
    For example, the Soyuz-T-13 crew saved the Salyut-7

    So I say, Apollo 13 flew the same fun ...
    1. Reviews
      Reviews 20 September 2020 13: 23
      0
      Quote: pmkemcity
      Quote: Avis
      For example, the Soyuz-T-13 crew saved the Salyut-7

      So I say, Apollo 13 flew the same fun ...

      I would not be happy, would not come back.
  8. Grei
    Grei 17 September 2020 15: 19
    +1
    Recently, there has been a general trend towards the development of light tanks or tank destroyers on a wheeled chassis. And here is a completely run-in technique, proven. And personally, I see no reason why such a technique should not be upgraded and used further. This type of equipment was developed for specific tasks and conditions (airlifting by aircraft, sea) or for a specific theater of military operations. In South Africa, in general, they have long been puzzled by this problem, since there is a problem with weak soils and there is no possibility to use full-size (heavy) military equipment and tanks.

Военное обозрение

Всё еще в строю: легкий танк AMX-13 замечен в действии в Индонезии

20
Всё еще в строю: легкий танк AMX-13 замечен в действии в Индонезии

Высокая стоимость разработки и производства «свежих» образцов боевой техники заставляет армии даже развитых государств эксплуатировать устаревшие изделия, срок службы которых насчитывает несколько десятилетий. Однако на этом фоне выделяются отдельные экземпляры, которым в недалеком будущем можно будет отпраздновать чуть ли не столетний юбилей.


Так, в Индонезии был замечен в строю французский легкий танк AMX-13. На выложенных в Сети фотографиях он фигурирует на вооружении 5-го кавалерийского батальона. Эта бронетанковая единица базируется в Палембанге, находится под управлением Регионального военного командования II и является единственным «кавалерийским» подразделением, расположенным в южной части Суматры.

AMX-13, будучи замеченным в компании с бронетранспортером AMX-VCI, принимал участие в тактических учениях ротного уровня.

Указанный легкий танк был создан французскими разработчиками во второй половине 1940-х годов. Претерпевая многочисленные модернизации, он серийно выпускался в 1952 – 1964 годах (в Аргентине вплоть до 1985 года). В зависимости от конкретного варианта танк имел различное основное вооружение: 75-мм, 90-мм и 105-мм пушку.


Использованы фотографии:
http://defense-studies.blogspot.com/
20 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. pmkemcity
    pmkemcity 17 сентября 2020 05:18 Новый
    +6
    А говорят, что тринадцать - не везучее число!
    1. Avis
      Avis 17 сентября 2020 07:21 Новый
      +3
      Цитата: pmkemcity
      А говорят, что тринадцать - не везучее число!

      Это глупцы говорят. Например, экипаж "Союза-Т-13" спас "Салют-7".
  2. Вольный ветер
    Вольный ветер 17 сентября 2020 05:27 Новый
    +3
    Повоевал танчик не мало. Автомат заряжания многим очень нравился. Правда башню пришлось сделать мягко скажем оригинальную, углы наводки вертикальной , небольшие. Но считался весьма надежным малышом, с огневой мощью взрослого танка. Собственно сейчас опять приходят к легкому танку.
    1. Serg Koma
      Serg Koma 17 сентября 2020 06:17 Новый
      +7
      Цитата: Вольный ветер
      Собственно сейчас опять приходят к легкому танку.

      Хорошо забытое старое...
      19 июля 1943 года в боях за деревню Изотово на подступах к станции Золотарёво Трубин меткими выстрелами уничтожил два противотанковых орудия и подавил миномётную батарею противника. В этом же бою лёгкий советский танк Т-70, которым командовал Трубин, имеющий на вооружении пушку калибра 45 миллиметров, атаковал немецкий тяжёлый танк Т-VI («тигр») с 88-миллимитровой пушкой и уничтожил его.

      Наверняка всем известен и случай уничтожения легким танком Т-70 немецких "Пантер".
      Оценка легких танков Богданова актуальна и сегодня-
      Высокую оценку Т-70 дал еще во время войны генерал-лейтенат Семен Ильич Богданов, будущий Маршал бронетанковых войск, дважды Герой Советского Союза, командующий Второй гвардейской танковой армией. Он возражал против снятия с производства Т-70, и считал, что легкие танки благодаря высокой скорости и маневренности отлично выполняют задачу преследования врага, а их большие потери происходят от неграмотного применения легких танков в бою, а вовсе не от их конструктивных недостатков.

      1. Юрахип
        Юрахип 17 сентября 2020 07:46 Новый
        +1
        Так, как я понимаю,он из 45мм пушки Т-70 тяжёлый танк Т-6 завалил?
        1. Serg Koma
          Serg Koma 17 сентября 2020 11:02 Новый
          0
          танк Т-70, под командованием, сержанта Трубина, вместе с ещё одним Т-70, неожиданно попали в засаду, устроению 3-мя!!! немецкими танками Т-VI «Тирг». Второй танк был, мгновенно подбит. Трубин на своём Т-70 воспользовавшись маневренностью своего танка, поняв что отступить ему просто не дадут-атаковал!!! 3 немецких Тигра.... Зайдя «в борт»-подбил 1 Тигр!!! 2 других, видя такой расклад(Т-70 зашёл «в борт» ещё одному, сделал несколько выстрелов, но «пробить» борт не смог)-сбежали с поля боя... Подбитый Тигр достался нашим танкистам, качестве трофея и был выставлен в Москве(в Парке Горького), на выставке подбитой и захваченной немецкий техники!
      2. mark1
        mark1 17 сентября 2020 08:26 Новый
        -1
        Цитата: Serg Koma
        Наверняка всем известен и случай уничтожения легким танком Т-70 немецких "Пантер".

        Но далеко не каждый знает случай уничтожения "Кировца" К-700 "запорожцем" ЗАЗ 965. При выезде трактора на дорогу по откосу обочины, его атаковал "Запорожец" ударом в переднее колесо. Результат - "Кировец" на боку, "горбатый" отскочил от колеса слегка попортив фэйс.Победил однако.
    2. Лопатов
      Лопатов 17 сентября 2020 07:30 Новый
      +3
      Цитата: Вольный ветер
      Собственно сейчас опять приходят к легкому танку.

      К среднему, "Harimau" (он же "Kaplan MT") разработанному совместно с Турцией.


      И не "приходят", Индонезия постоянно применяла именно лёгкие AMX-13. А так же некоторое количество советских ПТ-76 и британских "Скорпионов"
      Только в последнее время они решились поднять ставки и закупить нормальные ОБТ, 103 "Леопарда-2" двух модификаций
  3. Дальний В
    Дальний В 17 сентября 2020 05:38 Новый
    +3
    Борцам за независимость индонезийской Папуасии не в падлу на армейских с копьями нападать, так что танк 50-60-х годов прошлого века вполне себе вундервафля laughing laughing laughing
    1. Dikson
      Dikson 17 сентября 2020 05:59 Новый
      +2
      Точно так.. читал про случай там, когда аборигены одного из островов из луков перебили военных, пытавшихся охранять строителей моста и дороги между двумя глухими деревеньками в джунглях... Ну не ладили между собой жители.. и перестреляли и военных, и строителей... из луков ...
  4. Вождь краснокожих
    Вождь краснокожих 17 сентября 2020 06:10 Новый
    0
    Спасибо за сообщение. Я думал он только в музеях, да частных коллекциях остался.
  5. А. Привалов
    А. Привалов 17 сентября 2020 07:06 Новый
    +3
    Как известно, до 1967 года отношения Израиля и США были весьма напряжёнными. Вооружение в 50-е -- 60-е годы Израиль покупал у Франции. Соответственно, AMX-13 различных модификаций повоевал и во время Суэцкого кризиса, и во время Шестидневной войны. К слову, эта модель имелась на вооружении и у арабских армий тех лет. Однако, лёгкий танк, есть лёгкий танк и от него израильтяне избавились при первом удобном случае.
    1. APASUS
      APASUS 17 сентября 2020 08:58 Новый
      +1
      Там у вас еще должен быть М113,еще тоже древнейшее изобретение
      1. А. Привалов
        А. Привалов 17 сентября 2020 09:23 Новый
        +1
        Цитата: APASUS
        Там у вас еще должен быть М113,еще тоже древнейшее изобретение

        Дело в том, что часть вооружений и военной техники США передают Израилю на безвозмездной основе в рамках Программы передачи избыточной военной техники (Excess Defense Articles). Программа позволяет США избавляться от бывшей в употреблении техники, утилизация и дальнейшее использование которой в США связано с высокими затратами. Так что, "Зельды" тут есть, в куче разных модификаций. Когда вместо бензинового поставили дизельный двигатель по мощнее, удалось значительно усилить бронирование. Она проста в обслуживании и управлении. Хотя, по большому счёту, это уже почти антиквариат, при правильном и умелом применении она ещё послужит и послужит.
    2. pmkemcity
      pmkemcity 17 сентября 2020 09:22 Новый
      +5
      Цитата: А. Привалов
      Однако, лёгкий танк, есть лёгкий танк и от него израильтяне избавились при первом удобном случае.

      Давненько, может еще в глубоком детстве, читал статью "Быть ли танку на поле боя". Там как раз и разбирали выводы, к которым пришли израильтяне - легкий АМХ-13 в бою показал гораздо меньшую подвижность, чем тяжелый "Центурион", ибо вынужден был постоянно искать укрытие. К стати, несколько ранее, к тому же выводу пришли в Красной армии, где Тридцатьчетверки вытеснили легкие танки даже из разведки, которые не могли уничтожить слабого противника, либо связать боем сильного.
      1. Комментарий был удален.
  6. Юрахип
    Юрахип 17 сентября 2020 07:43 Новый
    0
    А ещё он в World of Tanks очень прям очень заметен!Задолбал светить!
    1. kebeskin
      kebeskin 17 сентября 2020 08:42 Новый
      -1
      Главное чтобы возле своей базки в кустах не стоял. А то союзнички могут не понять.
  7. pmkemcity
    pmkemcity 17 сентября 2020 09:10 Новый
    +1
    Цитата: Avis
    Например, экипаж "Союза-Т-13" спас "Салют-7"

    Вот и я говорю, "Аполлон-13" то же весело слетали...
    1. Avis
      Avis 20 сентября 2020 13:23 Новый
      0
      Цитата: pmkemcity
      Цитата: Avis
      Например, экипаж "Союза-Т-13" спас "Салют-7"

      Вот и я говорю, "Аполлон-13" то же весело слетали...

      Был бы не счастливым, не вернулись бы.
  8. Grei
    Grei 17 сентября 2020 15:19 Новый
    +1
    В последнее время вообще просматривается тенденция к развитию лёгких танков или истребителей танков на колёсном шасси. А тут вполне обкатанная техника, проверенная. И лично я не вижу причин почему такую технику не модернизировать и использовать дальше. Веть такой вид техники разрабатывался под конкретные задачи и условия ( переброска авиацией, морем) или под определённый театр военных действий. В ЮАР вообще давно озадачились такой проблемой т. к. Там есть проблема с слабыми грунтами и нет возможности применять полноразмерную ( тяжолую) военную технику и танки.