Military Review

M1E5 and T26. Carbines based on the M1 Garand rifle

13

The first version of the M1E5 carbine (below) compared to the base M1 Photo by Thefirearmblog.com


By the beginning of World War II, the US Army had mastered the newest M1 Garand self-loading rifle well. it weapon showed high technical and combat characteristics and was an excellent replacement for old magazine rifles. However, the characteristic dimensions of this product in some cases made it difficult to use. The troops needed a carbine with similar combat qualities, but smaller dimensions.

Initiative from below


The M1 Garand rifle had a length (without bayonet) of 1,1 m and weighed (without cartridges) at least 4,3 kg. This was normal for infantry weapons, but gunners, tankers, etc. needed a more compact weaponry. In 1942, the US Army adopted the new M1 carbine. It was compact and lightweight, but used a less powerful cartridge and was inferior to the Garand in terms of fire performance.

In 1943, new inquiries and wishes from units began to arrive at the relevant bodies of the military department. Troops actively working on the front line would like to get a promising rifle with ergonomics like the M1 Carbine and combat characteristics at the level of the M1 Garand. Such a model could help in the fight against the enemy in all theaters.

At the very beginning of 1944, the Infantry Commission of the Ministry of Defense received a more specific proposal of this kind. The officers of the 93rd Infantry Division, on the basis of the accumulated experience, drew up a project for converting the regular "Garand" into a lightweight carbine. Such a product was made and tested with very interesting results.


Modified carbine - added a pistol grip. Photo Historicalfirearms.info

Created by professionals


Based on the results of tests of the "handicraft" carbine, the Infantry Commission instructed the Springfield Arsenal to study the proposal of the 93rd Division. Then they had to develop their own project, taking into account the specifics of mass production and weapons in the army. It is curious that the work on the carbine was personally led by John Garand, the creator of the M1 base rifle.

The carbine was supposed to make the most of the units of the serial rifle. Only individual elements have undergone refinement, primarily the fittings. As a result, the work was completed in just a few weeks. Already in February 1944, an experimental carbine with the working designation M1E5 was submitted for testing.

The stock barrel was 24 inches (610 mm) long and replaced with a new 18-inch (457 mm) barrel. The chamber and the base of the front sight remained close to the muzzle, and also retained the influx for installing the bayonet. The design of the gas engine as a whole remained the same, but some parts were shortened. The shutter did not change. The return spring was replaced in accordance with the change in gas pressure due to a decrease in barrel length.


The second version of the carbine with a folded stock. Photo Historicalfirearms.info

The shortened barrel required the removal of the front element of the stock. The upper barrel pad remained in place. The stock itself was cut off behind the receiver, removing the butt. In place of the cut, a reinforcing metal casing with axles was installed for installing a new butt. The butt itself had a folding design and consisted of two movable frames and a butt pad. If necessary, it folded down and forward and was placed under the box. It was suggested to hold the weapon when firing beyond the frame "neck" of the butt.

Taking into account the new characteristics of the barrel and other ballistics, the standard sight was redone. In addition, a separate sight for rifle grenades has appeared. Its main element was a rotary disc with a notch - it was installed on the hinge of the butt on the left.

The M1E5 carbine with an unfolded stock was 952 mm long - almost 150 mm less than the original rifle. By folding the stock, you could save approx. 300 mm. The weight of the product without cartridges did not exceed 3,8 kg - the savings amounted to a whole pound. Some drop in fire performance was expected, but this could be an acceptable price to pay for greater convenience.

Carbine at the range


In February 1944, Arsenal assembled an experimental M1E5 carbine and tested it in May. The results were mixed. In terms of compactness and lightness, the carbine was superior to the base rifle, although it was inferior to the serial M1 Carbine. In terms of fire characteristics, the M1E5 product was close to the Garand, but slightly inferior to it.


M1E5 drawing from patent

The folding stock performed well, although it needed some work. The carbine was supposed to retain the ability to fire rifle grenades, and the proposed frame butt could not withstand such loads and needed reinforcement. In addition, the carbine needed a separate pistol grip. The carbine turned out to be inconvenient to hold, and shooting with the stock folded was virtually impossible.

The shortened barrel made it possible to maintain accuracy and accuracy at ranges up to 300 yards. At the same time, the muzzle flash and recoil increased. This required the development of a new muzzle brake and flash suppressor, as well as taking measures against a weak butt.

In general, the new project was considered interesting and promising, but in need of improvement. As a result, according to the results of the first tests, the M1E5 project received a new Rifle M1A3 index, indicating the imminent adoption into service.

Development and decline


At the beginning of the summer of 1944, a group of engineers led by J. Garand began to finalize the carbine. The first step in this direction was the installation of a pistol grip. This part had a specific shape and was mounted on the butt stock cover. An existing prototype was used to test such a handle.


Butt design described in the patent

Then work began on a muzzle device and a reinforced stock. However, during this period, the M1E5 / M1A3 project faced new difficulties, this time of an organizational nature. Springfield Arsenal began development of an automatic version of the Garanda, designated the T20. This project was considered a priority, and it occupied the bulk of the designers. Work in other areas slowed down sharply.

Due to such difficulties, the M1A3 project could not be completed by the end of 1944, and it was decided to close it. They did not have time to make a full-fledged carbine with a handle, a muzzle brake and a reinforced butt. After the war, in 1946, J. Garand applied for a patent describing the design of a folding stock with a built-in sight for rifle grenades.

Nicknamed "Tankman"


For several months, the idea of ​​a folding version of the M1 Garand faded into the background. However, the troops still expected such a weapon and sent more and more requests. In July 1945, a new project of this kind was initiated by officers from the command of the Pacific theater of operations.

They instructed the US 6th Army (Philippine Islands) armory shops to urgently produce 150 Garand rifles with a shortened 18-inch barrel. These rifles entered military trials, and one sample was sent to Aberdeen for official checks. In addition, they sent a request for the early start of production of such rifles. The Pacific Ocean required at least 15 thousand of such products.


Experienced T26 carbine and experimental T27 automatic rifle. Photo Thearmorylife.com

The "Pacific" carbine differed from the base M1 Garand only in the length of the barrel and in the absence of some fittings; he kept a regular wooden stock. The carbine was accepted for testing, assigning it the T26 index. The characteristic purpose of the weapon led to the emergence of the nickname Tanker - "Tanker".

The request for a carbine came too late. In just a few weeks, the war in the Pacific was over and the need for the T26 was gone. No later than the beginning of autumn 1945, work on this project was stopped. However, according to various sources, such a weapon managed to take part in battles. Several carbines made by the 6th Army ended up at the front.

Two failures


For all the time, almost 5,5 million M1 Garand self-loading rifles were produced. M1 Carbine production exceeded 6,2 million. The carbine J. Garand M1E5 / M1A3 was made in just one copy for testing. It is now in the Springfield Armory. The T26 product turned out to be more successful, but the experimental batch of 150 units also left no noticeable mark.

Thus, the two projects of carbines based on the "Garand", created in 1944-1945, did not lead to real results, and the US Army had to end the war only with samples mastered in a series. However, this was not the fault of the carbines themselves. They were abandoned for organizational reasons, but not because of fatal technical problems. Perhaps, under a different set of circumstances, these projects could have reached their logical conclusion, and the customer would have received a compact, but powerful and effective weapon.
Author:
13 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Mister X
    Mister X 17 October 2020 10: 46 New
    +8
    Forever young Garand!
    Modifications to the carbine from the article are still in production
    M1A SOCOM 16, chambered for 7.62 NATO
    The barrel is now even shorter 16.25 "(41,27 cm)
    but the butt is only fixed



  2. Alf
    Alf 17 October 2020 19: 03 New
    +3
    Garand has already created a real masterpiece - neither add nor subtract.
  3. Saxahorse
    Saxahorse 17 October 2020 20: 00 New
    +1
    An interesting article, thanks to the author! But the carbines from Garand are, frankly, miserable .. It's hard to believe that such a powerful cartridge can be successfully fitted into a stripped-down and even more lightweight design. But the famous M2 Baby Garand is the most correct decision! good
    1. irontom
      irontom 18 October 2020 18: 44 New
      +2
      I completely agree that the excess power of the cartridge nullifies all the reliefs, a good example is the domestic attempt to create self-loading carbines for the Mosin cartridge, which ended with military trials of the Simonov carbines in the 44th. the miracle did not work.
      1. saygon66
        saygon66 20 October 2020 18: 55 New
        0
        - Here. by the way, the SKS version with a short barrel ...

        - Produced in China for parachutists.
        1. irontom
          irontom 20 October 2020 22: 17 New
          0
          In RI, SKS in 44 was under the Mosin patron, this is not at all the SKS that we know.
          1. gross kaput
            gross kaput 21 October 2020 22: 17 New
            +2
            Quote: irontom
            In RI SKS

            Excuse me where? In the Russian Empire? in 1944? Did you take the exam this year? laughing
            1. irontom
              irontom 22 October 2020 14: 51 New
              0
              don't be rude - boy, you have to be aware of the abbreviations generally accepted in the network, RI is in reality, like AI - Alternative Reality.
              Often many people here write solid AI.
              1. gross kaput
                gross kaput 22 October 2020 20: 04 New
                0
                Quote: irontom
                boy, you need to be aware of the abbreviations generally accepted in the network, RI is in reality

                Probably this is some kind of a separate network of yours, in all other "networks" concerning the history of the Republic of Ingushetia it is unambiguously deciphered - the Russian Empire.
        2. gross kaput
          gross kaput 21 October 2020 22: 16 New
          +1
          For paratroopers, it was never produced, in fact, this is a purely commercial feature of the mid-80s, the Chinese Type 56 never cut off, as well as its production for the needs of the PLA was curtailed in 64, for export supplies to the armies of other countries Type 56 was produced up to 72 th. Already in the 80s, when the export market opened in the USA and Canada, they began to give birth to similar purely export-commercial projects, first by filing the Type 56 warehouse, and then setting up their production again - including there were variants - SKS-D - adapted for AK stores, SKS-S - a shortened carbine - type for parachutists, SKS-M - the same cut but for AK stores, a pseudo-sniper SKS-sniper (the second name for the Canadian market SKS-sporter), and even a chrome-plated SKS-honor guard ...
    2. gross kaput
      gross kaput 21 October 2020 22: 19 New
      0
      Quote: Saxahorse
      And here is the famous M2 Baby Garand

      I still will upset you to Garand, he has nothing to do, both in terms of creator and design.
      1. Saxahorse
        Saxahorse 21 October 2020 22: 49 New
        0
        Quote: gross kaput
        I still will upset you to Garand, he has nothing to do, both in terms of creator and design.

        Of course he didn't. That's why they called it that in the troops.
        1. gross kaput
          gross kaput 22 October 2020 20: 01 New
          0
          Quote: Saxahorse
          That's why they called it that in the troops.

          Have you been banned from Google? Baby Garant is a nickname because of the external similarity and nothing more, at the same time, strangely enough, it is not found in the homeland of the M1 carbine, laughing the M1 carbine and the .30 M1 cartridge are developed on a hard drive, common between the M1 carbine and the rifle, locking the bolt by turning two stops and the lower location of the gas piston, with the lower location of the magazine, which in both cases forced the use of a long external rod to connect the piston and the frame on the right side.
          at the same time, Garand himself participated in the competition for the carbine with a design with an upper store location, because by that time he understood that a long side thrust was not optimal, but the Winchester company lost the competition. wink
          The development of the Garand rifle was the experienced T20 for detachable magazines, the T33 for the .308 cartridge, and the final version of the T44 adopted for service as the M14.
          There are carbines that can really be called baby guarantors - Ruger mini 14 and Ruger mini 30, a scaled M14 rifle in the first case chambered for .223 Rem, and in the second case under the Soviet 7,62X39.

Военное обозрение

M1E5 и T26. Карабины на базе винтовки M1 Garand

13

Первый вариант карабина M1E5 (внизу) в сравнении с базовой M1 Фото Thefirearmblog.com


К началу Второй мировой войны армия США успела хорошо освоить новейшую самозарядную винтовку M1 Garand. Это оружие показывало высокие технические и боевые характеристики и являлось прекрасной заменой для старых магазинных винтовок. Однако характерные габариты этого изделия в ряде случаев затрудняли его использование. Войскам требовался карабин с близкими боевыми качествами, но меньшими габаритами.

Инициатива снизу


Винтовка M1 Garand имела длину (без штыка) 1,1 м и весила (без патронов) не менее 4,3 кг. Это было нормально для оружия пехоты, но артиллеристы, танкисты и т.д. нуждались в более компактном вооружении. В 1942 г. армия США приняла новый карабин M1. Он был компактным и легким – но использовал менее мощный патрон и проигрывал «Гаранду» по огневым характеристикам.

В 1943 г. в соответствующие органы военного ведомства стали поступать новые запросы и пожелания из частей. Войскам, активно работающим на передовой, хотелось бы получить перспективную винтовку с эргономикой как у M1 Carbine и боевыми характеристиками на уровне M1 Garand. Такой образец мог бы помочь в борьбе с противником на всех театрах.

В самом начале 1944 г. Пехотная комиссия Минобороны получила более конкретное предложение такого рода. Офицеры 93-й пехотной дивизии на основе накопленного опыта составили проект переделки штатного «Гаранда» в облегченный карабин. Такое изделие изготовили и испытали, получив весьма интересные результаты.


Доработанный карабин — добавлена пистолетная рукоятка. Фото Historicalfirearms.info

Создано профессионалами


По результатам испытаний «кустарного» карабина Пехотная комиссия поручила Спрингфилдскому Арсеналу изучить предложение 93-й дивизии. Затем им следовало разработать собственный проект, учитывающий специфику массового производства и оружия в войсках. Любопытно, что работы по карабину возглавил лично Джон Гаранд – создатель базовой винтовки M1.

Карабин должен был максимально использовать агрегаты серийной винтовки. Доработке подверглись лишь отдельные элементы, в первую очередь фурнитура. Как следствие, работы выполнили всего за несколько недель. Уже в феврале 1944 г. на испытания подали опытный карабин с рабочим обозначением M1E5.

Штатный ствол длиной 24 дюйма (610 мм) заменили новым 18-дюймовым (457 мм). Камора и основание мушки остались вблизи дульного среза, также сохранили наплыв для установки штыка. Конструкция газового двигателя в целом осталась прежней, но некоторые детали укоротили. Затвор не изменялся. Возвратную пружину заменили в соответствии с изменением давления газов, обусловленным уменьшением длины ствола.


Карабин второй версии со сложенным прикладом. Фото Historicalfirearms.info

Укороченный ствол потребовал убрать передний элемент ложи. Верхняя накладка ствола осталась на месте. Саму ложу обрезали позади ствольной коробки, удалив приклад. На месте среза установили усиливающий металлический кожух с осями для установки нового приклада. Сам приклад имел складную конструкцию и состоял из двух подвижных рамок и затыльника. При необходимости он складывался поворотом вниз и вперед и помещался под ложу. Удерживать оружие при стрельбе предлагалось за рамную «шейку» приклада.

С учетом новых характеристик ствола и иной баллистики переделали штатный прицел. Кроме того, появился отдельный прицел для винтовочных гранат. Его основным элементом стал поворотный диск с насечкой – его установили на шарнире приклада слева.

Карабин M1E5 с разложенным прикладом имел длину 952 мм – почти на 150 мм меньше оригинальной винтовки. Сложив приклад, можно было сэкономить еще ок. 300 мм. Масса изделия без патронов не превышала 3,8 кг – экономия составляла целый фунт. Ожидалось некоторое падение огневых характеристик, но это могло быть приемлемой платой за большее удобство.

Карабин на полигоне


В феврале 1944 г. Арсенал собрал опытный карабин M1E5 и в мае провел его испытания. Результаты оказались неоднозначными. По компактности и легкости карабин превосходил базовую винтовку – хотя и уступал серийному M1 Carbine. По огневым характеристикам изделие M1E5 было близко к «Гаранду», но немного уступало ему.


Чертеж M1E5 из патента

Складной приклад показал себя неплохо, хотя нуждался в доработке. Карабин должен был сохранять возможность стрельбы винтовочными гранатами, а предложенный рамочный приклад мог не выдержать подобных нагрузок и нуждался в усилении. Кроме того, карабин нуждался в отдельной пистолетной рукоятке. Карабин оказался неудобным для удержания, а стрельба при сложенном прикладе фактически была невозможна.

Укороченный ствол позволил сохранить точность и кучность на дальностях до 300 ярдов. При этом увеличились дульная вспышка и отдача. Это требовало разработать новый дульный тормоз и пламегаситель, а также принять меры в отношении слабого приклада.

В целом новый проект посчитали интересным и перспективным, но нуждающимся в совершенствовании. Вследствие этого по результатам первых испытаний проект M1E5 получил новый индекс Rifle M1A3, указывавший на скорое принятие на вооружение.

Развитие и упадок


В начале лета 1944 г. группа инженеров во главе с Дж. Гарандом принялась за доработку карабина. Первым шагом в этом направлении стала установка пистолетной рукоятки. Эта деталь имела специфическую форму и монтировалась на установочном кожухе приклада. Для проверки такой рукоятки использовали уже имеющийся прототип.


Конструкция приклада, описанная в патенте

Затем начались работы по дульному устройству и усиленному прикладу. Однако в этот период проект M1E5 / M1A3 столкнулся с новыми трудностями, на этот раз организационного характера. Спрингфилдский Арсенал начал разработку автоматической версии «Гаранда» под обозначением T20. Этот проект считался приоритетным, и в нем заняли основную массу конструкторов. Работы по другим направлениям резко замедлились.

В связи с такими трудностями проект M1A3 не удалось завершить к концу 1944 г., и его решили закрыть. Полноценный карабин с рукояткой, дульным тормозом и усиленным прикладом изготовить не успели. Уже после войны, в 1946 г. Дж. Гаранд подал заявку на патент, описывавший конструкцию складного приклада с встроенным прицелом для винтовочных гранат.

По прозвищу «Танкист»


На несколько месяцев идея складной версии M1 Garand ушла на второй план. Впрочем, в войсках все равно ждали такое оружие и отправляли новые и новые запросы. В июле 1945 г. инициаторами нового такого проекта стали офицеры из командования Тихоокеанского ТВД.

Они поручили оружейным мастерским 6-й армии США (Филиппинские острова) в срочном порядке изготовить 150 винтовок «Гаранд» с укороченным 18-дюймовым стволом. Эти винтовки поступили на войсковые испытания, а один образец отправили в Абердин для официальных проверок. Кроме того, направили запрос о скорейшем запуске производства таких винтовок. На Тихом океане требовалось не менее 15 тыс. таких изделий.


Опытный карабин T26 и экспериментальная автоматическая винтовка T27. Фото Thearmorylife.com

«Тихоокеанский» карабин отличался от базовой M1 Garand только длиной ствола и отсутствием некоторых элементов фурнитуры; он сохранял штатный деревянный приклад. Карабин приняли на испытания, присвоив ему индекс T26. Характерное предназначение оружия привело к появлению прозвища Tanker – «Танкист».

Запрос на создание карабина поступил слишком поздно. Всего через несколько недель война на Тихом океане закончилась, и необходимость в T26 пропала. Не позднее начала осени 1945 г. работы по этому проекту прекратили. Впрочем, по разным данным, подобное оружие успело поучаствовать в боях. Несколько карабинов, изготовленных 6-й армией, попали на фронт.

Две неудачи


За все время было выпущено почти 5,5 млн самозарядных винтовок M1 Garand. Выпуск M1 Carbine превысил 6,2 миллиона. Карабин Дж. Гаранда M1E5 / M1A3 изготовили всего в одном экземпляре для проведения испытаний. Сейчас он находится в музее Springfield Armory. Изделие T26 оказалось более удачливым, но опытная партия из 150 единиц тоже не оставила заметного следа.

Таким образом, два проекта карабинов на базе «Гаранда», созданные в 1944-1945 гг., не привели к реальным результатам, и армии США пришлось завершать войну только с освоенными в серии образцами. Впрочем, в этом не было вины самих карабинов. От них отказались по организационным причинам, но не из-за фатальных технических проблем. Возможно, при ином стечении обстоятельств эти проекты смогли бы дойти до логического финала, а заказчик получил бы компактное, но мощное и эффективное оружие.
Автор:
13 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Mister X
    Mister X 17 октября 2020 10:46
    +8
    Вечно молодой Гаранд!
    Модификации карабина из статьи до сих пор производятся
    M1A SOCOM 16, под патрон 7.62 NATO
    Ствол стал ещё короче 16.25" (41,27 см)
    но приклад только фиксированный



  2. Альф
    Альф 17 октября 2020 19:03
    +3
    Вот уж создал Гаранд действительный шедевр-ни убавить, ни прибавить.
  3. Saxahorse
    Saxahorse 17 октября 2020 20:00
    +1
    Статья любопытная, автору спасибо! Но карбины из Гаранда прямо скажем убогие.. Трудно поверить что столь мощный патрон можно удачно вписать в урезанную и тем более облегченную конструкцию. А вот знаменитый М2 Бэби Гаранд вот это самое что ни на есть правильное решение! good
    1. irontom
      irontom 18 октября 2020 18:44
      +2
      Полностью согласен, избыточная мощность патрона сводит на нет все облегчения, хороший пример отечественная попытка создать самозарядные карабины под мосинский патрон, закончившийся войсковыми испытаниями Симоновских карабинов в 44-м. чуда не получилось.
      1. saygon66
        saygon66 20 октября 2020 18:55
        0
        - Bот. кстати, вариант СКС с коротким стволом...

        - Выпускался в Китае, для парашютистов.
        1. irontom
          irontom 20 октября 2020 22:17
          0
          В РИ СКС в 44-м был под мосинский патрон это совсем не СКС тот который мы знаем.
          1. gross kaput
            gross kaput 21 октября 2020 22:17
            +1
            Цитата: irontom
            В РИ СКС

            Простите где? В Российской империи? в 1944-году? ЕГЭ в этом году сдавали? laughing
            1. irontom
              irontom 22 октября 2020 14:51
              0
              не хами - парниша, надо быть в курсе общепринятых в сети сокращений, РИ - это в реальности, как например АИ - Альтернативная реальность.
              Часто у многих здесь пишущих сплошное АИ.
              1. gross kaput
                gross kaput 22 октября 2020 20:04
                0
                Цитата: irontom
                парниша, надо быть в курсе общепринятых в сети сокращений, РИ - это в реальности

                Вероятно это ваша какая-то отдельная сеть, во всех остальных "сетях" касающихся истории РИ расшифровывается однозначно - Российская империя.
        2. gross kaput
          gross kaput 21 октября 2020 22:16
          0
          Для парашютистов он не выпускался никогда, собственно это чисто комерческая фича середины 80-х, китайцы Тип 56 никогда не обрезали, как собсвенно и производство его для нужд НОАК свернули в 64-м, для экспортных поставок в армии других стран Тип 56 производился до 72-го. Уже в 80-х, когда открылся экспортный рынок в США и Канаде, начали рожать подобные чисто экспортно-коммерческие проекты, сначала путем перпилки складских Тип 56, а затем и наладив их производство заново - в том числе были варианты - SKS-D - приспособленный под магазины АК, SKS-S - укороченный карабин - типа для парашютистов, SKS-M - такой-же обрез но под магазины АК, псевдоснайперский SKS-sniper (второе название для рынка Канады SKS-sporter), и даже хромированный SKS-honor guard.
    2. gross kaput
      gross kaput 21 октября 2020 22:19
      0
      Цитата: Saxahorse
      А вот знаменитый М2 Бэби Гаранд

      Я таки вас расстрою к Гаранду он не имеет ни какого отношения, как по создателю так и по конструкции.
      1. Saxahorse
        Saxahorse 21 октября 2020 22:49
        0
        Цитата: gross kaput
        Я таки вас расстрою к Гаранду он не имеет ни какого отношения, как по создателю так и по конструкции.

        Разумеется не имел. Потому и прозвали так в войсках.
        1. gross kaput
          gross kaput 22 октября 2020 20:01
          0
          Цитата: Saxahorse
          Потому и прозвали так в войсках.

          Вас в гугле забанили? Бэби-гаранд это прозвище из-за внешнего сходства и не более того, при этом как не странно, на родине карабина М1 оно не встречается, laughing карабин М1 и патрон .30 М1 разработаны на винчестере, общего между карабином М1 и винтовкой запирание затвора поворотом на два упора и нижнее расположение газового поршня, с нижним-же расположением магазина, что в обоих случаях вынудило для связи поршня и рамы использовать длинную внешнюю тягу справой стороны.
          при этом сам Гаранд в конкурсе на карабин участвовал с конструкцией с верхним расположением магазина, ибо к тому моменту понимал что длинная боковая тяга это не оптимально, но конкурс проиграл компании винчестер. wink
          Развитием винтовки Гаранда стали опытные Т20 под отъемные магазины, Т33 под патрон .308, и окончательный вариант Т44 принятый на вооружение как М14.
          Есть карабины которые действительно можно назвать бэби-гарандом - Ругер мини 14 и Ругер мини 30, отмасштабированная винтовка М14 в первом случае под патрон .223 Рем, а во втором случае под советский 7,62Х39.