Military Review

In the United States began testing the armament of a rescue helicopter for special operations forces

9
In the United States began testing the armament of a rescue helicopter for special operations forces

The US Air Force has begun testing the HH-60W Jolly Green II rescue helicopter for the US Special Operations Forces. As reported by NPlus1 with reference to Flightglobal, during the tests, three options for the helicopter's machine-gun equipment will be tested.


As the armament of the helicopter, options with the installation of a container with rapid-fire machine guns will be tested: GAU-2 / Minigun with a rotating block of 7,62 mm barrels, single-barreled GAU-18 of 12,7 caliber and GAU-21 of 12,7 mm caliber. The rate of fire of these machine guns is, respectively, 3000, 800 and 1100 rounds per minute. At the first stage of testing, the helicopter will be on the ground all the time. The completion of the tests is planned by the end of 2020, after which the HH-60W will be admitted to flight checks.

The new American HH-60W helicopter for rescue operations was developed to replace the obsolete HH-60G Pave Hawk helicopters, which were put into service at the beginning of the 1980's. The purpose of such helicopters is rescue operations in the territory controlled by the enemy, as well as search and rescue operations, medical transportation and the fight against drug trafficking.

The new helicopter was developed since 2012, it received increased fuel tanks, updated on-board equipment and secure communication systems. The machine, developed on the basis of the multi-purpose UH-60M with an electro-remote control system, also received an expanded range of weapons.

The US Air Force plans to acquire 113 new helicopters, which will replace the HH-60G as they become available.

The Jolly Green II name was given to the HH-60W this spring. The vehicle was named after the HH-3E Jolly Green Giant rescue helicopter, which was actively used by the military during the Vietnam War.
Photos used:
US Air Force
9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Lexus
    Lexus 23 September 2020 17: 13
    +2
    GAU-2 / Minigun with 12,7 mm rotating barrel, single-barreled GAU-18 7,62 and GAU-21 12,7 mm

    GAU-2 / Minigun has always been 7,62 mm. In turn, GAU-18 / Browning - 12,7 mm.
  2. Pete mitchell
    Pete mitchell 23 September 2020 17: 24
    +2
    Good necessary machine, sorry that someone else's. The very concept of using CSAR helicopters deserves attention, a lot of useful information.
  3. Avior
    Avior 23 September 2020 17: 27
    +4
    From 60G to 60W we have reached, soon the letters will end. It turned out to be a successful multipurpose helicopter.
  4. Undecim
    Undecim 23 September 2020 17: 59
    +2

    Test firing of GAU-18 .50 caliber. Proving ground near Eglin Air Force Base, Florida, August 21, 2020.
    1. Clear
      Clear 23 September 2020 20: 19
      +3
      Quote: Undecim

      Test firing of GAU-18 .50 caliber. Proving ground near Eglin Air Force Base, Florida, August 21, 2020.

      Armament tests began in the USA rescue helicopter

      I don't understand, is it being developed for salvation or for destruction? what
      1. Undecim
        Undecim 23 September 2020 20: 24
        +3
        It is designed for rescue operations in enemy-controlled territory, crews of downed aircraft, for example. Therefore, it can refuel in the air.
      2. Pete mitchell
        Pete mitchell 23 September 2020 22: 46
        +3
        Clear-eyed hi taking off my hat. The little Pave Hawk is designed for rescue operations in a combat situation: armed, very decent equipment and communications, well-trained crews and a para rescue jumper, aka PJ, to boot. PJ is a separate category, very small, less than 250 people together with reservists: in usaf one person follows one person to earthso the PJs have good medical training to ensure the golden hour if needed and are trained as decent commandos for combat. About the importance of PJev: in the states - they always travel with their equipment, parachute, scuba gear and others, I don't know about weapons, but a whole hotel cart will be typed: they should always be at hand. From the sad - PJ and leaders in mortality during training. Each CSAR squadron is assigned to a specific Air Wing Combat Air Command and follows its charges when necessary, although states may be based in different parts of the country. In the place of permanent home, they can be involved in any rescue activities.
        In fact, a very positive experience, there is something to spy on. Once there was not enough room with a sidekick in this one, and he fell right after takeoff ..., refusal, lucky.
  5. Incvizitor
    Incvizitor 23 September 2020 19: 37
    +1
    These are not the ones that the Papuans shot down with RPGs in Somalia? laughing
    1. Clear
      Clear 23 September 2020 20: 36
      +4
      Quote: Incvizitor
      These are not the ones that the Papuans shot down with RPGs in Somalia? laughing

      The new car was named Jolly Green II. This name refers to the nickname Jolly Green Giant, which during the Vietnam War received the helicopters of the search and rescue service. Their characteristic green coloration evoked associations with the character in the canned vegetable ad.

Военное обозрение

В США начались испытания вооружения спасательного вертолёта для сил спецопераций

9
В США начались испытания вооружения спасательного вертолёта для сил спецопераций

ВВС США начали испытания вооружения спасательного вертолета для сил специальных операций США HH-60W Jolly Green II. Как передает NPlus1 со ссылкой на Flightglobal, в ходе тестов будут проверены три варианта пулеметного оснащения вертолета.


В качестве вооружения вертолета будут проверены варианты с установкой контейнера со скорострельными пулеметами: GAU-2/Minigun с вращающимся блоком стволов калибра 7,62 мм, одноствольные GAU-18 калибра 12,7 и GAU-21 калибра 12,7 мм. Скорострельность этих пулеметов соответственно составляет 3000, 800 и 1100 выстрелов в минуту. На первом этапе испытаний вертолет будет находиться все время на земле. Завершение испытаний планируется до конца 2020 года, после чего HH-60W допустят к летным проверкам.

Новый американский вертолет HH-60W для проведения спасательных операций разработан на замену устаревшим вертолетам HH-60G Pave Hawk, принятым на вооружение еще в начале 1980-х годов. Предназначение таких вертолетов - спасательные операции на территории, контролируемой противником, а также поисково-спасательные работы, медицинские перевозки и борьба с наркотрафиком.

Новый вертолет разрабатывался с 2012 года, он получил увеличенные топливные баки, обновленное бортовое оборудование и защищенные системы связи. Машина, разработанная на базе многоцелевого UH-60M с электро-дистанционной системой управления, получила также расширенную номенклатуру вооружения.

В планах ВВС США приобретение 113 новых вертолетов, которые по мере поступления будут заменять HH-60G.

Название Jolly Green II было присвоено HH-60W весной этого года. Машина была названа в честь спасательного вертолета HH-3E Jolly Green Giant, активно использовавшегося военными во время войны во Вьетнаме.
Использованы фотографии:
U.S. Air Force
9 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Лексус
    Лексус 23 сентября 2020 17:13 Новый
    +2
    GAU-2/Minigun с вращающимся блоком стволов калибра 12,7 мм, одноствольные GAU-18 калибра 7,62 и GAU-21 калибра 12,7 мм

    GAU-2/Minigun всегда был калибра 7,62 мм. В свою очередь, GAU-18/Browning - 12,7 мм.
  2. Pete Mitchell
    Pete Mitchell 23 сентября 2020 17:24 Новый
    +2
    Хорошая нужная машинка, жаль что чужая. Сама концепция применения вертолетов CSAR заслуживает внимания, много полезного.
  3. Avior
    Avior 23 сентября 2020 17:27 Новый
    +4
    С 60G до 60W дошли, скоро буквы закончатся. Удачный многоцелевой вертолет оказался.
  4. Undecim
    Undecim 23 сентября 2020 17:59 Новый
    +2

    Пробная стрельба из GAU-18 .50 калибра. Полигон возле базы ВВС Эглин, Флорида, 21 августа 2020 г.
    1. Ясная
      Ясная 23 сентября 2020 20:19 Новый
      +3
      Цитата: Undecim

      Пробная стрельба из GAU-18 .50 калибра. Полигон возле базы ВВС Эглин, Флорида, 21 августа 2020 г.

      В США начались испытания вооружения спасательного вертолёта

      Мне не понятно, он для спасения разрабатывается или для уничтожения? what
      1. Undecim
        Undecim 23 сентября 2020 20:24 Новый
        +3
        Он разработан для проведения спасательных операций на территории, контролируемой противником, экипажи сбитых самолетов, например. По этому может и дозаправляться в воздухе.
      2. Pete Mitchell
        Pete Mitchell 23 сентября 2020 22:46 Новый
        +3
        Ясноокая hi снимаю шляпу. Маленький Pave Hawk редназначен для проведения спасательных операций в боевой обстановке: вооружён, очень приличное оборудование и связь, крепко натасканные экипажи и para rescue jumper, aka PJ, впридачу. PJ это отдельная категория, очень немногочисленная, менее 250 человек вместе с резервистами: в usaf за одним человеком на землю идёт один человек, поэтому PJи имеют неплохую медицинскую подготовку для обеспечения ”золотого часа” если надо и подготовлены как приличные спецназовцы для ведения боя. О значимости PJев: в штатах - они путешествуют всегда со своим снаряжением, парашют, акваланг и прочие, про оружие не знаю, но целая гостиничная тележка наберется: всегда должны быть под рукой. Из грустного - PJи лидеры по смертности во время тренировок. Каждая CSAR эскадрилья закреплена за конкретным авиакрылом Combat Air Command и следует за своими подопечными при необходимости, хотя в штатах могут базироваться и в разных концах страны. В месте постоянного базирования могут привлекаться для любых спасательных мероприятий.
        На самом деле очень положительный опыт, есть что подсмотреть. С корешом однажды места не хватило в таком, а он упал сразу после взлёта..., отказ, повезло.
  5. Incvizitor
    Incvizitor 23 сентября 2020 19:37 Новый
    +1
    Это не те, которых с РПГ в Сомали папуасы сбивали? laughing
    1. Ясная
      Ясная 23 сентября 2020 20:36 Новый
      +4
      Цитата: Incvizitor
      Это не те, которых с РПГ в Сомали папуасы сбивали? laughing

      Новую машину назвали Jolly Green II. Такое название отсылает к прозвищу Jolly Green Giant («Веселый зеленый великан»), которое во время Вьетнамской войны получили вертолеты поисково-спасательной службы. Их характерная зеленая окраска вызывала ассоциации с персонажем из рекламы консервированных овощей.