Military Review

The state and prospects of the Czech tank fleet

14
The state and prospects of the Czech tank fleet

Tanks T-72M4 CZ (left) and T-72M1 (right)


The ground forces of the Czech Republic are armed with armored vehicles of various types, incl. main battle tanks. At the same time, the quantitative and qualitative indicators of the tank fleet leave much to be desired. There are only a few dozen MBTs in service with relatively old models that need modernization or replacement.

Three companies


In the past, the tank troops of Czechoslovakia and the independent Czech Republic were among the largest in Eastern Europe, but in the nineties and two thousand years the situation changed dramatically. For reasons of economy, the country's leadership constantly reduced tank and other units, which led to very interesting consequences.

Currently, MBT are in service only in the 7th mechanized brigade of the ground forces. All of them are listed in the 73rd tank battalion based in N of the item. Prasslavitsa. The battalion includes three companies on two types of vehicles. Also in the 7th mechanized brigade there are several battalions of motorized infantry and support units.

In service there are two types of MBT. One of the companies of the 73rd Battalion operates 72 modernized T-4M30 CZ tanks. The other two include older vehicles of the T-72M1 modification. According to open data, there are 89 such tanks.


One of 30 T-72M4 CZ

The status of the T-72M1 tanks is not completely clear. Thus, the battalion's official website and The Military Balance reference book point to the withdrawal of all such vehicles to the reserve, keeping only the M4 CZ in service. However, in the latter the news about the problems of armored units, two companies on the old "M1" were mentioned as active and in need of renewal.

One way or another, the tank fleet of the Czech army is notable for its small size - no less than 30 and no more than 119 armored vehicles. All of them belong to fairly old projects with limited potential and belong to the same battalion. The practical value of such "troops" is questionable.

From license to abbreviations


Currently, the Czech tank fleet is facing a number of serious problems that limit both its current capabilities and further development. One of the main prerequisites for this is the great age of the equipment - it complicates routine operation and carrying out repairs or upgrades.

In 1977, Czechoslovakia received the necessary documentation from the USSR and launched the licensed production of the T-72M MBT. Later they mastered the newer T-72M1 with reinforced frontal projection armor. The release of such equipment continued until 1991, in 14 years they managed to assemble 815 tanks. After the collapse of the country, most of the armored vehicles went to the Czech Republic.


In recent decades, various reductions have been carried out, as a result of which the number of tank units has decreased significantly. First of all, they were withdrawn to the reserve, sold abroad or disposed of machines of older releases and modifications. Thanks to this, from a certain time in the Czech army, only relatively new T-72M1 remained.

In the nineties, the Vojensky opravarensky podnik 025 (now VOP CZ) tank repair plant, together with foreign enterprises, developed a project for the modernization of the T-72M4 CZ. The upgraded tank received a new power plant, Czech-made DYNA-72 reactive armor, the Italian TURMS-T fire control system, several promising shells and a number of other components. Due to this modernization, it was possible to increase the technical, combat and operational characteristics.

During the development of the T-72M4 CZ project, it was supposed to modernize 300-350 T-72M1 tanks from the availability. Construction of equipment from scratch was not planned and was not possible. In the future, plans were seriously reduced. Financial constraints allowed only 30 cars to be upgraded. Corresponding events took place in 2003-2008. Since then, the T-72M4 CZ are the newest, but not the most numerous MBT in the Czech Republic.

Development problems


A few months ago, the results of a full-scale inspection of the army armored vehicles fleet carried out by the military and political leadership of the country were published. The audit found that an extremely difficult situation is observed in the field of MBT, requiring the adoption of certain measures. A plan to remedy the current situation has already been proposed.


According to the audit, there are not only quantitative and qualitative problems. Difficulties are observed in ensuring proper combat readiness. So, in 2016-18. only 43% of the nominal number of tanks in the army was in active service. Thus, only fifty tanks can be involved in training or combat work at a time, incl. obsolete T-72M1.

The Department of Defense intends to continue to operate the T-72M4 CZ, but such plans face serious problems. Due to the specific composition of the equipment, such MBTs turn out to be "unique and rare", which complicates and increases the cost of repairs and upgrades. Moreover, some of the components for them have already been discontinued, and the spare parts reserve is limited. Rebuilding some tanks by disassembling others makes no sense. This method does not solve problems in the long term, and also reduces the already small number of combat-ready vehicles.

The topic of repair and modernization of the remaining tanks has been discussed for several years, but exact plans have not yet been drawn up, and real work has not yet begun. According to optimistic estimates, the events will begin no later than 2021-22. The update of three dozen T-72M4 CZ will continue until 2025-26. How exactly these MBTs will change is unknown. In addition, the cost of the project remains open and remains controversial.

There are proposals to continue the mass operation of the T-72M1 MBT. This technique is older and worse than the newer "M4 CZ", but has operational advantages. The T-72M1 was mass-produced in different countries and it is easier to find spare parts for it - in contrast to the "unique" machines of the next project.


Save or buy


Now the Ministry of Defense and other structures are making plans to modernize the tank fleet for the next 5-10 years. In the short and medium term, it is proposed to keep the existing equipment in service, possibly with a certain reduction in its number. At the same time, 30 newer T-72M4 CZs and dozens of older T-72M1s may remain. They will be in operation until the end of the decade.

No later than 2025, deliveries of new tanks are expected to begin to replace obsolete ones. What kind of equipment the Czech Republic will acquire is unknown. Several years ago, Czech specialists traveled to Spain, where they got acquainted with the Leopard 2A4 MBT. At that time, the Spanish army was looking for buyers for 53 decommissioned tanks. It was reported about the possible appearance of a Czech-Spanish agreement, but it was never signed.

Present and future


Thus, at present, the tank fleet of the Czech army is in poor condition and cannot boast of successes in quantitative, qualitative, combat and operational character. In service formally consists of approx. 120 MBT of two modifications, but no more than half are suitable for real use.

As the service continues, all tanks are faced with problems of repair and modernization, and in the future they will require replacement. All these activities require money, but the financial capabilities of the army are limited, which leads to lengthy disputes - and therefore there is no clear plan for the development of tank forces. How soon it will be drawn up, and whether it will be possible to complete it within a reasonable time frame with acceptable costs, time will tell.
Author:
Photos used:
Czech Ministry of Defense / 73tankovyprapor.army.cz
14 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Jager
    Jager 25 September 2020 05: 36
    +7
    The entire article would fit into one paragraph.
    1. Lynx2000
      Lynx2000 25 September 2020 09: 19
      +7
      Quote: Jager
      The entire article would fit into one paragraph.

      I mean, fit the article into a paragraph: with tanks in the Czech Republic - paragraph dot.

      If I am not mistaken, at the time of the capture of Czechoslovakia by Nazi Germany, the technical equipment of the army in Czechoslovakia, including the quality and quantity of tanks, was not inferior to the Germans. Helped the Czechs and Slovaks?
      1. Kote Pan Kokhanka
        Kote Pan Kokhanka 25 September 2020 09: 58
        +7
        Quote: Jager
        The entire article would fit into one paragraph.

        Brevity mother-in-law - fee! lol
      2. boris epstein
        boris epstein 25 September 2020 15: 19
        +7
        It helped. The Germans. They received and put into service 424 Czechoslovak LT-35 tanks (German designation-35t) and 623 LT-38 tanks (German designation 38t) without firing a single shot. In the future, their production for the Wehrmacht continued - a total of 1411 vehicles were produced. When they were removed from service as tanks, self-propelled guns Marder38 and Hetzer began to be built on their base. In addition, the Czechs produced Panthers for the Wehrmacht.
  2. Uncle lee
    Uncle lee 25 September 2020 05: 39
    +8
    In service formally consists of approx. 120 MBT of two modifications
    Why do they need tanks? They are not going to attack, defend - too!
  3. parusnik
    parusnik 25 September 2020 06: 10
    +5
    It is not easy to come to the conclusion that modern warfare is expensive and pointless. But the opposing sides are rattling their weapons in such a way that they ring around the world.
    1. dzvero
      dzvero 25 September 2020 10: 05
      +3
      But the opposing sides clap their weapons like this

      Once the money is invested, then the investment should pay off. The use of weapons has approximately four levels:
      - purchase plans - in what we will be! Fear!
      - already into service - look how formidable we are!
      - actually, application ...
      - after the fight - why didn't it work out the way they wanted ... smile
      And the cart rushed on a new one ...
  4. Kot_Kuzya
    Kot_Kuzya 25 September 2020 06: 30
    +4
    Why does the Czech Republic even need tanks? And why is the army needed at all? Extra expenses. As history has shown, such trifles as the Czech Republic and Latvia do not need an army, as the big uncles from Berlin, London, Paris, Moscow and Washington decide, so it will be.
    1. WeAreNumerOne
      WeAreNumerOne 25 September 2020 09: 44
      +6
      And with whom should they fight? In Europe, conflicts are now being resolved in a different way. It's just that propaganda is blowing all the trumpets about the "danger of the west" but what we see is that all these Western countries (excluding the USA) are cutting their armies. The main villain VBritania generally cuts the army on all fronts. Nobody is going to fight with the Russian Federation. From the word at all. Who needs it to occupy millions of square kilometers of the almost uninhabited and uninhabitable northern wasteland. Indeed, the Russian Federation itself copes perfectly with the production and sale of minerals for a penny.
      1. iouris
        iouris 25 September 2020 11: 05
        +5
        Quote: WeAreNumerOne
        And with whom should they fight?

        With Liechtenstein. Liechtenstein is the hyena of Europe.
    2. SARANCHA1976
      SARANCHA1976 3 November 2020 08: 34
      0
      Well, hello .. and how little things will throw each other without an army
  5. madrobot
    madrobot 26 September 2020 07: 18
    0
    I served there. Tank regiment, city of Krnov. 1988th year. Well, to be more precise, 87-89. So-so of them fighters. Our equipment was much more combat-ready.
  6. Zaurbek
    Zaurbek 27 September 2020 09: 31
    0
    The Czechs, in the end, will follow the path:
    1.used Leo 2A5 (A7)
    2. They will simply give up tanks in favor of wheeled vehicles of the Patria type.
  7. AC130 Ganship
    AC130 Ganship Yesterday, 16: 35
    0
    Вопрос-то в другом. Зачем тратить Чехии деньги на вооружение, если зеленве человечки на улицах пока не появились? На нее нападать никто не будет. Страна - член Нато. Так, есть по документам штук 30-40, и на том спасибо. Если нужно будет послать их куда-нибудь типа в Ирак, есть, что послать. У Канады вот тоже 2 полка истребителей в Ввс, из которых по слухам летают процентов 30% самолетов. Большой брат сказал - надо - послали 4 F18 на войну. Не придерешься. Какой смысл тратить деньги?

Военное обозрение

Состояние и перспективы танкового парка Чехии

13
Состояние и перспективы танкового парка Чехии

Танки T-72M4 CZ (слева) и Т-72М1 (справа)


На вооружении сухопутных войск Чешской Республики состоит бронетехника различных типов, в т.ч. основные боевые танки. При этом количественные и качественные показатели танкового парка оставляют желать лучшего. В строю имеется лишь несколько десятков ОБТ относительно старых моделей, нуждающихся в модернизации или замене.

Три роты


В прошлом танковые войска Чехословакии и независимой Чехии были одними из самых крупных в Восточной Европе, но в девяностых и двухтысячных годах ситуация резко изменилась. Исходя из соображений экономии, руководство страны постоянно сокращало танковые и другие части, что привело к весьма интересным последствиям.

В настоящее время ОБТ имеются на вооружении только в 7-й механизированной бригаде сухопутных войск. Все они числятся в 73-м танковом батальоне с базированием в н.п. Праславице. Батальон включает три роты на технике двух типов. Также в 7-й мехбригаде имеется несколько батальонов мотопехоты и подразделения обеспечения.

На вооружении состоят ОБТ двух типов. Одна из рот 73-го батальона эксплуатирует модернизированные танки Т-72М4 CZ в количестве 30 ед. В двух других числятся более старые машины модификации Т-72М1. По открытым данным, имеется 89 таких танков.


Один из 30 T-72M4 CZ

Статус танков Т-72М1 до конца не ясен. Так, официальный интернет-сайт батальона и справочник The Military Balance указывают на вывод всех таких машин в резерв с сохранением в строю только «M4 CZ». Однако в последних новостях о проблемах бронетанковых частей две роты на старых «M1» упоминались как активные и нуждающиеся в обновлении.

Так или иначе, танковый парк чешской армии отличается малыми размерами – не менее 30 и не более 119 бронемашин. Все они относятся к достаточно старым проектам с ограниченным потенциалом и принадлежат одному батальону. Практическая ценность подобных «войск» сомнительна.

От лицензии к сокращениям


В настоящее время чешский танковый парк сталкивается с рядом серьезных проблем, ограничивающих как текущие возможности, так и дальнейшее развитие. Одной из главных предпосылок к этому является большой возраст техники – он усложняет рутинную эксплуатацию и проведение ремонтов или модернизаций.

В 1977 г. Чехословакия получила от СССР необходимую документацию и развернула лицензионное производство ОБТ Т-72М. Позже освоили более новый Т-72М1 с усиленным бронированием лобовой проекции. Выпуск такой техники продолжался до 1991 г., за 14 лет успели собрать 815 танков. После распада страны большая часть бронемашин досталась Чехии.


В последние десятилетия осуществлялись различные сокращения, по результатам которых численность танковых частей уменьшилась в разы. В первую очередь выводились в резерв, продавались за рубеж или утилизировались машины более старых выпусков и модификаций. Благодаря этому с определенного времени в чешской армии оставались только относительно новые Т-72М1.

В девяностых годах танкоремонтный завод Vojensky opravarensky podnik 025 (ныне VOP CZ) совместно с зарубежными предприятиями разработал проект модернизации T-72M4 CZ. Модернизированный танк получил новую силовую установку, динамическую защиту DYNA-72 чешского производства, итальянскую систему управления огнем TURMS-T, несколько перспективных снарядов и ряд других компонентов. За счет такой модернизации удалось повысить технические, боевые и эксплуатационные характеристики.

Во время разработки проекта T-72M4 CZ предполагалось провести модернизацию 300-350 танков Т-72М1 из наличия. Строительство техники с нуля не планировалось и не представлялось возможным. В дальнейшем планы серьезно сократили. Финансовые ограничения позволили обновить только 30 машин. Соответствующие мероприятия прошли в 2003-2008 гг. С тех пор T-72M4 CZ являются самыми новыми, но не самыми многочисленными ОБТ в Чехии.

Проблемы развития


Несколько месяцев назад были опубликованы результаты полномасштабной проверки парка армейской бронетехники, проведенной военным и политическим руководством страны. Проверка установила, что в области ОБТ наблюдается крайне сложная ситуация, требующая принятия тех или иных мер. Уже предложен план исправления сложившегося положения.


По данным проверки, имеют место не только количественные и качественные проблемы. Наблюдаются трудности с обеспечением должной боеготовности. Так, в 2016-18 гг. в активной эксплуатации находилось лишь 43% от номинального количества танков в армии. Таким образом, к учебной или боевой работе единовременно можно привлечь лишь полсотни танков, в т.ч. устаревших Т-72М1.

Министерство обороны намерено продолжать эксплуатацию T-72M4 CZ, однако такие планы сталкиваются с серьезными проблемами. Такие ОБТ ввиду специфического состава оборудования оказываются «уникальными и редкими», что затрудняет и удорожает проведение ремонтов и модернизаций. Более того, часть компонентов для них уже снята с производства, а резерв запчастей ограничен. Восстановление одних танков за счет разборки других не имеет смысла. Этот метод не позволяет решать проблемы в долгосрочной перспективе, а также сокращает и без того небольшое число боеготовых машин.

Тема ремонта и модернизации оставшихся танков обсуждается уже несколько лет, но точные планы еще не составлены, а реальные работы пока не начинались. По оптимистичным оценкам, мероприятия начнутся не позднее 2021-22 гг. Обновление трех десятков T-72M4 CZ будет продолжаться до 2025-26 гг. Как именно изменятся эти ОБТ – неизвестно. Кроме того, остается открытым и по-прежнему вызывает споры вопрос стоимость проекта.

Звучат предложения о продолжении массовой эксплуатации ОБТ Т-72М1. Такая техника старее и хуже более новых «M4 CZ», однако имеет преимущества эксплуатационного характера. Т-72М1 массово производился в разных странах и для него проще найти запчасти – в отличие от «уникальных» машин следующего проекта.


Сохранить или купить


Сейчас Минобороны и другие структуры составляют планы по модернизации танкового парка на ближайшие 5-10 лет. В ближней и средней перспективе предлагается сохранять на вооружении наличную технику, возможно с определенным сокращением ее численности. При этом могут сохраниться как 30 более новых T-72M4 CZ, так и десятки более старых Т-72М1. Их будут эксплуатировать до конца десятилетия.

Не позднее 2025 г. ожидается начало поставок новых танков для замены устаревших. Какую технику приобретет Чехия – неизвестно. Несколько лет назад чешские специалисты ездили в Испанию, где ознакомились с ОБТ Leopard 2A4. На тот момент испанская армия искала покупателей для 53 танков, снятых с вооружения. Сообщалось о возможном появлении чешско-испанского соглашения, но его так и не подписали.

Настоящее и будущее


Таким образом, в настоящее время танковый парк чешской армии пребывает в плохом состоянии и не может похвастать успехами количественного, качественного, боевого и эксплуатационного характера. На вооружении формально состоит ок. 120 ОБТ двух модификаций, но к реальному применению пригодно не более половины.

По мере продолжения службы все танки сталкиваются с проблемами ремонта и модернизации, а в дальнейшем они потребуют замены. На все эти мероприятия требуются деньги, но финансовые возможности армии ограничены, что приводит к длительным спорам – и поэтому четкий план развития танковых войск пока отсутствует. Как скоро его составят, и удастся ли выполнить его в разумные сроки с приемлемыми затратами, покажет время.
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
Минобороны Чехии / 73tankovyprapor.army.cz
13 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Jager
    Jager 25 сентября 2020 05:36 Новый
    +7
    Вся статья уместилась бы в один абзац.
    1. Lynx2000
      Lynx2000 25 сентября 2020 09:19 Новый
      +7
      Цитата: Jager
      Вся статья уместилась бы в один абзац.

      Имеется в виду, уместить статью в абзац: с танками в Чехии - абзац тчк.

      Если не ошибаюсь, на момент захвата Чехословакии нацистской Германией, в Чехословакии техническое оснащение армии, в том числе качество и количество танков не уступало немцам. Помогло чехам и словакам?
      1. Коте пане Коханка
        Коте пане Коханка 25 сентября 2020 09:58 Новый
        +7
        Цитата: Jager
        Вся статья уместилась бы в один абзац.

        Краткость теща - гонорара! lol
      2. борис эпштейн
        борис эпштейн 25 сентября 2020 15:19 Новый
        +7
        Помогло. Немцам. Они без единого выстрела получили и поставили на вооружение 424 чехословацких танка LT-35 (немецкое обозначение-35t) и 623 танка LT-38 (немецкое обозначение 38t). В дельнейшем их выпуск уже для вермахта продолжался-всего было выпущено 1411 машин.Когда их сняли с вооружения как танки, на их базе стали строить самоходки Мардер38 и Хетцер.Кроме того, чехи для вермахта производили Пантеры.
  2. Uncle Lee
    Uncle Lee 25 сентября 2020 05:39 Новый
    +8
    На вооружении формально состоит ок. 120 ОБТ двух модификаций
    А зачем им танки ? Нападать они не собираются, обороняться - тоже !
  3. parusnik
    parusnik 25 сентября 2020 06:10 Новый
    +5
    Не вольно приходишь к выводу, современная война дело дорогое и бессмысленное. Но оружием противостоящие стороны бряцают так, что звон по всему миру стоит.
    1. dzvero
      dzvero 25 сентября 2020 10:05 Новый
      +3
      Но оружием противостоящие стороны бряцают так,

      Раз деньги инвестированны, то инвестиция должна окупаться. У применения вооружения примерно четыре уровня:
      - планы закупок - во какими будем! Бойтесь!
      - уже на вооружение - смотрите какие мы грозные!
      - собствено, применение...
      - после драки - а почему не получилось так, как хотели... smile
      И понеслась арба по новой...
  4. Кот_Кузя
    Кот_Кузя 25 сентября 2020 06:30 Новый
    +4
    Зачем вообще Чехии танки? Да и армия вообще зачем нужна? Лишние расходы. Как показала история, у таких мелочей как Чехия и Латвия, армия не нужна, как решат большие дяди из Берлина, Лондона, Парижа, Москвы и Вашингтона, так и будет.
    1. WeAreNumerOne
      WeAreNumerOne 25 сентября 2020 09:44 Новый
      +6
      А с кем им воевать? В европе конфликты сейчас решаются другим способом. Просто пропаганда трубит во все трубы о "опасности запада" но что мы видим, все эти страны запада (за искл. США) сокращают армии. Главная Злодейка ВБритания вообще режет армейку по всем фронтам. Никто не собирается воевать с РФ. От слова совсем. Кому оно надо оккупировать миллионы кв.километров почти необжитой и непригодной для жизни северной пустоши. Ведь с добычей и продажей за копейки полезных ископаемых сама РФ справляется на отлично
      1. iouris
        iouris 25 сентября 2020 11:05 Новый
        +5
        Цитата: WeAreNumerOne
        А с кем им воевать?

        С Лихтенштейном. Лихтенштейн - гиена Европы.
    2. SARANCHA1976
      SARANCHA1976 3 ноября 2020 08:34 Новый
      0
      Ну здрасти.. а как мелочи друг дружке накидывать без армии будут
  5. madrobot
    madrobot 26 сентября 2020 07:18 Новый
    0
    Я там служил. Танковый полк, город Крнов.1988-ой год. Ну, если точнее, то 87-89. Так себе из них вояки. Наша техника была на порядок более боеготовна.
  6. Zaurbek
    Zaurbek 27 сентября 2020 09:31 Новый
    0
    Чехи, в Итоге , пойдут по пути:
    1. б/у Лео 2А5(А7)
    2. Просто откажутся от танков в пользу колесных машин типа Патрия.