Military Review

More than 200 days on the high seas: the United States announced a record for their destroyer

20

USS Stout has set the world record for the longest continuous stay at sea, the US said. The ship was sailing for over 200 days, namely 208 days. But the reason for such a long stay at sea is not related to training or combat missions.


Seven months in the Middle East


The destroyer USS Stout spent almost seven months in the region of North Africa and the Middle East, where the 5th Fleet of the US Navy operates. He patrolled the Bab al-Mandeb and Strait of Hormuz areas, serving with the USS Dwight D. Eisenhower aircraft carrier group.

However, the real reason for such a long voyage of the ship was the coronavirus pandemic. Due to restrictive measures, the entry of ships into ports was prohibited, as a result of which many surface ships of the US Navy were at sea without the ability to moor ashore. For example, USS Dwight D. Eisenhower and USS San Jacinto spent 207 days at sea.

For a long time, the aircraft carrier USS Theodore Roosevelt was at sea, on board of which an outbreak of a dangerous disease was recorded. It was the example of this aircraft carrier that forced the US Navy command to strengthen sanitary and epidemiological control over its ships.

The Arleigh Burke-class destroyer USS Stout was launched in 1992 and commissioned into the US Navy in 1994. It bears its name in honor of Rear Admiral Gerald F. Stout (1903-1987), the legendary American commander who sank five Japanese ships off Bougainville Island during World War II. According to the staffing table, the destroyer has a crew of 337 people, including 23 officers.

An ordeal for the crew


According to the head of the US Navy's Office of Naval Operations, Admiral Michael Gildey, a long stay at sea was a serious test both for the ships themselves from a technical point of view, since they were deprived of the proper level of service, and for the crew.


A pandemic is a pandemic, and official duties must be performed regularly


For many months, officers and sailors of American warships were separated from their families, deprived of vacations, while it was not clear for a long time how long the restrictions would last. Naturally, this had a very negative effect on the general moral and psychological state of the crew members of the ships.

The personnel were exhausted by the long stay on the campaigns. As Admiral Gilday emphasized, in order to somehow alleviate the situation of the sailors, additional days off were introduced on the ships for most of the crew members, with the exception of the watch teams. Nevertheless, the sailors showed themselves very dignified, no serious cases of violation of discipline on the ship were recorded.

US Navy Central Command Commander Vice Admiral Samuel Paparo stressed that the Navy is very proud of the achievements of the USS Stout crew, because, despite the difficult epidemiological situation, the ship was solving important tasks in the interests of ensuring freedom of navigation in the Middle East.

The coronavirus pandemic has indeed become a very difficult problem for the US Navy. After the disastrous experience with the pandemic in the United States, voices began to be heard about the need to reduce the duration of the stay of ships on the high seas, since, according to critics, there is supposedly no need. As the American military themselves believe, a long stay at sea testifies to the courage of the crews, loyalty to their military duty.
Author:
Photos used:
Facebook / USS Stout
20 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Alien From
    Alien From 30 September 2020 14: 48
    -2
    The virus is the same for everyone, thanks to the Chinese.
    1. vkl.47
      vkl.47 30 September 2020 15: 05
      -2
      The team ate each other.
      1. Alien From
        Alien From 30 September 2020 15: 11
        -3
        Her, there is only one white and one cast iron ...))), so it will be tolerant)))
      2. kulinar
        kulinar 30 September 2020 16: 21
        -4
        Quote: vkl.47
        The team ate each other.

        Rather otpokala ... laughing
  2. Eldorado
    Eldorado 30 September 2020 14: 56
    0
    And what's the record?
    The fact that the crew was not allowed to go ashore for 200 days?
    1. Sidor Amenpodestovich
      Sidor Amenpodestovich 30 September 2020 15: 16
      +1
      Quote: El Dorado
      And what's the record?
      The fact that the crew was not allowed to go ashore for 200 days?

      I remember the old joke about the newspaper headline "One hundred thousand kilometers is not the limit", in which they made a typo.
  3. APASUS
    APASUS 30 September 2020 15: 01
    0
    As the American military themselves believe, a long stay at sea testifies to the courage of the crews, loyalty to their military duty.

    Damn, we found the courage! Like civilian crews, hucksters, they hang out at sea for half a year and nothing, and then soon they will drool 200 days at sea
    1. Uncle lee
      Uncle lee 30 September 2020 15: 05
      +4
      On a pollock, on a PC-300, half a year at sea, without a shore and without days off ... And nothing, working fishing days ...
      1. kulinar
        kulinar 30 September 2020 16: 20
        +2
        BMRT "Dzintaryura" and "Dzintarkrasts" (Amber Sea and Amber Coast, respectively, translated from Latvian) worked in the Atlantic for 6-8 months. I saw my dad once a year. All supplies in the sea-ocean ... After that I realized that I love the sea from the shore.
    2. kulinar
      kulinar 30 September 2020 16: 26
      +1
      Quote: APASUS
      As the American military themselves believe, a long stay at sea testifies to the courage of the crews, loyalty to their military duty.

      Damn, we found the courage! Like civilian crews, hucksters, they hang out at sea for half a year and nothing, and then soon they will drool 200 days at sea

      According to American laws (and Canadian ones too), a person who has spent in an isolated room or structure (house, ship, island, etc.) is incapacitated. This was the case 30 years ago. I'm not sure now.
  4. oleole97
    oleole97 30 September 2020 15: 40
    +4
    We somehow went on a hike in 241 days and nothing ..... considered the norm.
  5. tralflot1832
    tralflot1832 30 September 2020 17: 07
    +1
    Year BMRT Nokuev MTF, but went down to the shore and nothing, everyone is alive and well. But the vacation was, tired of walking.
  6. iouris
    iouris 30 September 2020 18: 20
    -2
    In response to the announcement of the world record for the Tu-160 (among the Tu-160), the United States announced a world record for its destroyer (among its destroyers).
  7. Doccor18
    Doccor18 30 September 2020 20: 03
    +2
    There was 91 days on the hike, the maximum, but more often about 60 days. 208 days is very worthy. And to those who say that this is just a number ... well, try it ... for yourself ... for several months not to see your beloved eyes, not to hear cheerful children's cries, and not to smell the wildflowers ...
  8. seregin-s1
    seregin-s1 30 September 2020 22: 17
    0
    In the USSR, 7 months is a standard campaign for NK, 3 for submarines. By the way, submariners were disliked for this. They also had a sanatorium and an additional vacation. And we do not!
    1. seregin-s1
      seregin-s1 30 September 2020 22: 18
      0
      And a swear word?
      1. seregin-s1
        seregin-s1 30 September 2020 22: 19
        0
        Apparently obscene!
  9. lvov_aleksey
    lvov_aleksey 30 September 2020 23: 58
    0
    207-208 days is impossible without communication with the shore)))
    ps
    However, the real reason for such a long voyage of the ship was the coronavirus pandemic. Due to restrictive measures, the entry of ships into ports was prohibited, as a result of which many surface ships of the US Navy were at sea without the ability to moor ashore. For example, USS Dwight D. Eisenhower and USS San Jacinto spent 207 days at sea.
    those. they were supplied, they only did not walk along the shore!)))))))))
  10. yehat2
    yehat2 1 October 2020 12: 36
    0
    I wonder if the team was happy about such a record
  11. Pavel57
    Pavel57 1 October 2020 12: 38
    0
    According to the staffing table, the destroyer has a crew of 337 people, including 23 officers.
    Were there women?

Военное обозрение

Больше 200 суток в открытом море: в США заявили о рекорде своего эсминца

20

Эскадренный миноносец ВМС США USS Stout поставил мировой рекорд по длительности непрерывного пребывания в море, как заявили в США. Корабль находился в плавании более 200 суток, а именно 208 дней. Но причина столь длительного пребывания в море не связана с учебными или боевыми задачами.


Семь месяцев на Ближнем Востоке


Почти семь месяцев эсминец USS Stout провел в районе Северной Африки и Ближнего Востока, где оперирует 5-й флот Военно-морских сил США. Он патрулировал районы пролива Баб-эль-Мандеб и Ормузского пролива, выполняя свои функции в составе авианосной группы USS Dwight D. Eisenhower.

Однако подлинной причиной столь длительного плавания корабля стала пандемия коронавируса. Из-за ограничительных мероприятий был запрещен заход кораблей в порты, в результате чего многие надводные суда ВМС США оказались в море без возможности пришвартоваться к берегу. Например, USS Dwight D. Eisenhower и USS San Jacinto провели в море по 207 дней.

Длительное время находился в море и авианосец USS Theodore Roosevelt, на борту которого была зафиксирована вспышка опасного заболевания. Именно пример этого авианосца заставил командование ВМС США усилить санитарно-эпидемиологический контроль над своими кораблями.

Напомним, что эсминец USS Stout типа «Арли Бёрк» был спущен на воду в 1992 году и введен в состав ВМС США в 1994 году. Он носит свое имя в честь контр-адмирала Джеральда Ф. Стаута (1903—1987), легендарного американского командира, в годы Второй мировой войны потопившего пять японских кораблей в районе острова Бугенвиль. По штатному расписанию экипаж эсминца насчитывает 337 человек, в том числе 23 офицера.

Тяжёлое испытание для экипажа


По словам начальника Управления военно-морских операций ВМС США адмирала Майкла Гилдея, длительное пребывание в море стало серьёзным испытанием как для самих кораблей с технической точки зрения, поскольку они были лишены должного уровня обслуживания, так и для личного состава экипажей.


Пандемия - пандемией, а служебные обязанности надо исполнять исправно


На протяжении многих месяцев офицеры и матросы американских военных кораблей были разлучены со своими семьями, лишены отпусков, при этом долгое время не было понятно, сколь долго продлятся ограничения. Естественно, это оказывало очень негативное влияние на общее морально-психологическое состояние членов экипажей кораблей.

Личный состав был измотан длительным пребыванием в походах. Как подчеркнул адмирал Гилдей, для того, чтобы хоть как-то облегчить положение моряков, на кораблях были введены дополнительные выходные для большинства членов экипажа, за исключением вахтенных команд. Тем не менее, моряки показали себя очень достойно, каких-либо серьезных случаев нарушения дисциплины на корабле зафиксировано не было.

Командующий Центральным командованием ВМС США вице-адмирал Сэмюэл Папаро подчеркнул, что флот очень гордится достижениями экипажа USS Stout, поскольку, несмотря на сложную эпидемиологическую ситуацию, корабль решал важные задачи в интересах обеспечения свободы судоходства на Ближнем Востоке.

Пандемия коронавируса действительно стала очень сложной проблемой для американских Военно-морских сил. После плачевного опыта с пандемией в США стали раздаваться голоса о необходимости сокращения сроков пребывания кораблей в открытом море, поскольку в этом, по мнению критиков, якобы нет никакой необходимости. Как считают же сами американские военные, длительное пребывание в море свидетельствует о мужестве экипажей, верности своему воинскому долгу.
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
Facebook/USS Stout
20 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Alien From
    Alien From 30 сентября 2020 14:48 Новый
    -2
    Вирус на всех один, спасибо китайцам.
    1. vkl.47
      vkl.47 30 сентября 2020 15:05 Новый
      -2
      Команда друг друга съела.
      1. Alien From
        Alien From 30 сентября 2020 15:11 Новый
        -3
        Нее, остался один белый и один чугун...))), так будет толерантно)))
      2. kulinar
        kulinar 30 сентября 2020 16:21 Новый
        -4
        Цитата: vkl.47
        Команда друг друга съела.

        Скорее отчпокала... laughing
  2. El Dorado
    El Dorado 30 сентября 2020 14:56 Новый
    0
    И в чем рекорд?
    В том, что экипажу 200 суток не давали сойти на берег?
    1. Сидор Аменподестович
      Сидор Аменподестович 30 сентября 2020 15:16 Новый
      +1
      Цитата: El Dorado
      И в чем рекорд?
      В том, что экипажу 200 суток не давали сойти на берег?

      Вспоминается старинная хохма про газетный заголовок "Сто тысяч километров не предел", в котором допустили опечатку.
  3. APASUS
    APASUS 30 сентября 2020 15:01 Новый
    0
    Как считают же сами американские военные, длительное пребывание в море свидетельствует о мужестве экипажей, верности своему воинскому долгу.

    Блин ,мужество нашли ! Как гражданские экипажи торгаши , болтаются по пол года в море и ничего ,а тут скоро слюни пустят 200 дней они в море
    1. Uncle Lee
      Uncle Lee 30 сентября 2020 15:05 Новый
      +4
      На минтае, на РС-300, пол-года в море, без берега и без выходных....И ничего, трудовые рыбацкие будни...
      1. kulinar
        kulinar 30 сентября 2020 16:20 Новый
        +2
        БМРТ "Дзинтарюра" и "Дзинтаркрастс" (Янтарное море и янтарный берег соответственно,перевод с латышского) в Атлантике работали по 6-8 месяцев. Я папу видел раз в год. Всё снабжение в море-океане... После этого я понял,что люблю море с берега.
    2. kulinar
      kulinar 30 сентября 2020 16:26 Новый
      +1
      Цитата: APASUS
      Как считают же сами американские военные, длительное пребывание в море свидетельствует о мужестве экипажей, верности своему воинскому долгу.

      Блин ,мужество нашли ! Как гражданские экипажи торгаши , болтаются по пол года в море и ничего ,а тут скоро слюни пустят 200 дней они в море

      По американским законам( и канадским тоже) ,человек проведший в изолированном помещении или структуре( дом,корабль,остров и тд) является не дееспособным. Так было 30 лет назад. Сейчас не уверен.
  4. oleole97
    oleole97 30 сентября 2020 15:40 Новый
    +4
    У нас как-то поход вышел в 241 день и ничего..... считали за норму.
  5. tralflot1832
    tralflot1832 30 сентября 2020 17:07 Новый
    +1
    Год бмрт Нокуев МТФ,но на берег спускались и ни чего ,все живы здоровы .Но отпуск был,устал гулять.
  6. iouris
    iouris 30 сентября 2020 18:20 Новый
    -2
    В ответ о заявлении о мировом рекорде Ту-160 (среди Ту-160) в США заявили о мировом рекорде своего эсминца (среди своих эсминцев).
  7. Doccor18
    Doccor18 30 сентября 2020 20:03 Новый
    +2
    Был 91 день в походе, максимально, но чаще около 60 суток. 208 дней - это очень достойно. А тем, кто говорит, что это всего лишь число... ну попробуйте ... сами... несколько месяцев не видеть любимых глаз, не слышать веселых детских воплей, и не чувствовать запаха полевых цветов...
  8. seregin-s1
    seregin-s1 30 сентября 2020 22:17 Новый
    0
    В СССР 7 месяцев стандартный поход для НК, 3 для ПЛ. Кстати за это подводников недолюбливали. У них ещё санаторий и дополнительный отпуск был. А у нас ни !
    1. seregin-s1
      seregin-s1 30 сентября 2020 22:18 Новый
      0
      А матерное слово?
      1. seregin-s1
        seregin-s1 30 сентября 2020 22:19 Новый
        0
        Видимо матерное!
  9. lvov_aleksey
    lvov_aleksey 30 сентября 2020 23:58 Новый
    0
    207-208 дней нельзя без связи с берегом)))
    p.s.
    Однако подлинной причиной столь длительного плавания корабля стала пандемия коронавируса. Из-за ограничительных мероприятий был запрещен заход кораблей в порты, в результате чего многие надводные суда ВМС США оказались в море без возможности пришвартоваться к берегу. Например, USS Dwight D. Eisenhower и USS San Jacinto провели в море по 207 дней.
    т.е. их снабжали, они только по берегу не ходили!)))))))))
  10. yehat2
    yehat2 1 октября 2020 12:36 Новый
    0
    интересно, обрадовалась-ли команда такому рекорду
  11. Pavel57
    Pavel57 1 октября 2020 12:38 Новый
    0
    По штатному расписанию экипаж эсминца насчитывает 337 человек, в том числе 23 офицера.
    А женщины были?