Military Review

Libyan conflict frozen in precarious balance: no peace, no war

15

While the attention of the world community is drawn to the alarming events around Nagorno-Karabakh, other “hot spots” on the planet, unfortunately, have not disappeared either. One of these places is Libya, today frozen in an alarming pause between war and peace.


As a matter of fact, the calm that has come in a country torn by many years of war is due to several factors. First of all, these are political changes. The firm intention, voiced by the head of the Government of National Accord (PNC) of Libya, Faiza Saraja, to retire by the end of October and officially transfer power to some new "executive body" by some supporters of the Libyan National Army (LNA) is perceived as the first step of the PNC, if not to surrender, then to significant softening their positions. First of all, to abandon a tough confrontation with the LNA and too close cooperation with Turkey.

By the way, Ankara immediately expressed "great regret" about Saraj's plans. Obviously, they understand that the next leader in Tripoli, no matter what he is called, may turn out to be less accommodating. However, it is hardly worth talking about the unilateral surrender of the positions of one of the forces leading the confrontation in the periodically entering a complete military and political deadlock in the Libyan conflict. Almost simultaneously with Saraj, representatives of the interim government, which controls the east of Libya, announced their intention to resign. Obviously, we are talking about some kind of global reformatting in both warring camps. Khalifa Haftar, however, is clearly not going to leave his post as commander-in-chief of the LNA.

The goal of large-scale changes in leadership, most likely, may be to find ways to get out of the protracted crisis, which is gradually driving the once prosperous state almost into the Stone Age. One of the major efforts being made today to advance in this direction is to unblock the production and export of oil from the country - the only resource that can somehow replenish its treasury. The most important thing here is the achievement of a number of agreements between the opposing parties both on the distribution of oil revenues and on the settlement of other controversial issues. According to the most daring forecasts, we can even talk about the unification of the budgets of the eastern and western parts and, if not about their political reconciliation, then at least about economic cooperation.

To a large extent, the cessation of hostilities in Libya is also facilitated by the recently intensified diplomatic contacts on this topic between Ankara and Moscow. The Turkish Foreign Ministry has recently stated that the countries are "close to agreeing on all parameters of a ceasefire" in the Libyan conflict. Obviously, there is still reason for optimism, since the head of the Russian diplomatic department, Sergei Lavrov, not so long ago spoke about the possibility that "soon" the Russian embassy will be reopened in Tripoli.

Both the Turkish and Russian sides should hurry up with the settlement of controversial issues concerning the interests of both countries in Libya, since another force in the person of the European Union is increasingly trying to intervene in the matter. The head of the local diplomacy, Josep Borrell, openly announced Brussels' desire to deploy at least a group of military observers on the territory of Libya. According to Borrell, solely for overseeing the observance of the ceasefire and with the aim of "raising the EU's authority in the international arena."

However, everyone understands perfectly well that what starts with "monitoring" may well eventually result in attempts at massive military intervention. And, by the way, in the same European External Relations Service, which is currently developing such projects, they are talking about the possibility of introducing into Libyan territory an "EU military contingent" numbering 5 or even 10 thousand people. A bit too much to watch, isn't it? However, we are talking about the prospect: to carry out, to the extreme, the intervention resembling the introduction of troops now, while the situation is still explosive, the European military consider it madness and completely unjustified risk.

But everything can change. And the Libyan people, whose country was just destroyed as a result of the NATO intervention in 2011, do not need such prospects at all. The more foreign soldiers and militants on this long-suffering land, the further it will be from the long-awaited peace.
Author:
Photos used:
Wikipedia / Tripoli
15 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Livonetc
    Livonetc 6 October 2020 18: 21
    -1
    "Recently intensified diplomatic contacts on this topic between Ankara and Moscow. The Turkish Foreign Ministry recently stated that the countries are" close to agreeing on all parameters of a ceasefire "in the Libyan conflict."
    An interesting trend is emerging.
    Turkey and Russia, without becoming allies, are increasingly becoming geopolitical partners.
    While the tandem is working.
    And something suggests that a similar option is being implemented in Karabakh.
    1. Nyrobsky
      Nyrobsky 6 October 2020 19: 11
      +3
      Quote: Livonetc
      "Recently intensified diplomatic contacts on this topic between Ankara and Moscow. The Turkish Foreign Ministry recently stated that the countries are" close to agreeing on all parameters of a ceasefire "in the Libyan conflict."
      An interesting trend is emerging.
      Turkey and Russia, without becoming allies, are increasingly becoming geopolitical partners.
      While the tandem is working.
      And something suggests that a similar option is being implemented in Karabakh.

      When the prospect of the introduction of Egyptian troops lit up there, Erdogan decided that it would be better to settle the matter with Moscow and delimit the zones of interests of the LNA and PNS, and given that these interests overlap, he decided to strengthen his position through Azerbaijan by forcing the situation in Karabakh, at the same time utilizing their controlled "homeless people" who may remain out of work in Libya.
      1. Livonetc
        Livonetc 6 October 2020 19: 24
        +2
        There are guys like that.
        1. Nyrobsky
          Nyrobsky 6 October 2020 20: 30
          +6
          Quote: Livonetc
          There are guys like that.

          In Libya, their earnings dropped to $ 500 a month, and for participation in the Karabakh conflict they were promised up to 2000 d / month. Only - "Not only everyone can get them, or rather, few people can do it"(almost according to V. Klitschko)
      2. EnGenius
        EnGenius 7 October 2020 14: 39
        +1
        Now the stake has been made on the elections, as there is no legitimate government, there is only a legitimate parliament in Tobruk. The PNS is the appointees of the West, the LNA formally did not obey him, since it did not recognize it. Turkey continues to supply weapons and mercenaries. Just yesterday I watched the PNS "exercises" near Sirte with the participation of 5-6 tanks, so the tankers there are obviously African blacks, not all of them, of course, but most of them. As soon as the elections take place, the war will continue, as neither Egypt nor Turkey will agree to give Libya. The elections were supposed to take place back in 2019. Now there is some unhealthy lull, the date of the elections is not known, but the governments of the PNS and LNA were allegedly disbanded. It is likely that Egypt is also pumping the LNA with weapons and Germans.
        1. Nyrobsky
          Nyrobsky 7 October 2020 19: 02
          0
          Quote: engenius
          but the governments of the PNS and LNA were allegedly disbanded.

          Not supposedly, but the way it is. According to the "Skhirat" agreement, the mandate of the government of Saraja expired in 2018, and he was stirring up the water until 2020. In addition, he "ended up" with ties with terrorist organizations (IS, Al-Qaeda, the Muslim Brotherhood), which are recognized as such at the UN level. The fact that Saraji may be left out of work is a problem for Erdogan, with whom he kept a lot on personal agreements. The new leader of the PNS, depending on whose "wing" he is under, may not be so accommodating, and Edik may have problems with justifying the presence of Turkish troops in Libya. Well, while Haftar was the commander of the LNA, he remained the commander. hi
    2. Boris ⁣ Shaver
      Boris ⁣ Shaver 6 October 2020 22: 57
      -2
      Quote: Livonetc
      An interesting trend is emerging

      Yeah. Doing business in Karabakh, the Turks cover their "rear", talking to us about Libya, holding regular negotiations, any results of which they will spit as easily as they easily spat on the agreements on Idlib. And we are glad: we are sitting - our ears are hanging.
  2. rocket757
    rocket757 6 October 2020 18: 38
    +2
    The country was torn to shreds, shit-ratizers ... now it's hard to put it together into a single whole!
    1. Reptiloid
      Reptiloid 6 October 2020 18: 54
      +1
      Quote: rocket757
      The country was torn to shreds, shit-ratizers ... now it's hard to put it together into a single whole!

      hi Victor! So after all, those who tear want to break into the smallest pieces, There are many examples after the destruction of the USSR
      1. rocket757
        rocket757 6 October 2020 19: 03
        +2
        Hi Dmitry soldier
        There were enough examples before, it was the custom since ancient times.
        Not one flourishing country was torn to shreds, divided into appanages.
        This is nothing new.
        The conquistadors are new, the methods are still the same.
        1. Reptiloid
          Reptiloid 6 October 2020 19: 12
          +2
          Quote: rocket757
          ...... There is nothing new in that.
          The conquistadors are new, the methods are still the same.
          Internet technologies, technology, weapons are the most modern - everything is used for these purposes
          1. rocket757
            rocket757 6 October 2020 19: 14
            +2
            These are just the conveniences that progress brings. Previously, the same thing was done by other methods.
  3. Petr Vladimirovich
    Petr Vladimirovich 6 October 2020 18: 49
    +2
    Lived, did not grieve, but now?
    1. Lopatov
      Lopatov 6 October 2020 21: 03
      +3
      Quote: Petr Vladimirovich
      Lived, did not grieve, but now?

      And now freedom and democracy ...
  4. A. Privalov
    A. Privalov 6 October 2020 19: 42
    +1
    Before the blockade, Libya produced about 1,2 million barrels of oil per day. Today, 4-5 times less.
    The return of a player like Libya to the oil market will instantly bring down prices, with all that it implies.

Военное обозрение

Ливийский конфликт застыл в неустойчивом равновесии: ни мира, ни войны

15

Пока внимание мирового сообщества привлечено к тревожным событиям вокруг Нагорного Карабаха, прочие «горячие точки» на планете, к сожалению, тоже никуда не исчезли. Одним из таковых мест является Ливия, сегодня замершая в тревожной паузе между войной и миром.


Собственно говоря, наступившее в истерзанной многолетней войной стране затишье обусловлено несколькими факторами. Прежде всего это перемены политические. Озвученное главой Правительства национального согласия (ПНС) Ливии Фаиза Сараджа твердое намерение до конца октября отойти от дел и официально передать власть некоему новому «исполнительному органу» некоторыми сторонниками Ливийской национальной армии (ЛНА) воспринимается как первый шаг ПНС если не к капитуляции, то к значительному смягчению своих позиций. Прежде всего к отказу от жесткой конфронтации с ЛНА и слишком тесного сотрудничества с Турцией.

Кстати, в Анкаре сразу же выразили «большое сожаление» по поводу планов Сараджа. Очевидно, там понимают, что следующий лидер в Триполи, как бы он ни именовался, может оказаться менее сговорчивым. Впрочем, об односторонней сдаче позиций одной из сил, ведущих противостояние в периодически заходящих в полный военный и политический тупик в ливийском конфликте, говорить вряд ли стоит. Едва ли не одновременно с Сараджем о своем намерении уйти в отставку заявили и представители временного правительства, контролирующего восток Ливии. Очевидно, речь идет о некоем глобальном переформатировании в обоих враждующих лагерях. Халифа Хафтар, впрочем, свой пост главнокомандующего ЛНА покидать явно не собирается.

Целью масштабных перемен в руководстве, скорее всего, может быть поиск путей к выходу из затяжного кризиса, понемногу загоняющего некогда процветающее государство чуть ли не в каменный век. Одним из серьезных усилий, предпринимаемых сегодня для продвижения именно в этом направлении, является разблокировка добычи и экспорта из страны нефти – единственного ресурса, способного хоть как-то пополнить ее казну. Самое главное тут — достижение между противоборствующими сторонами ряда соглашений как о распределении нефтяных доходов, так и об урегулировании прочих спорных вопросов. По самым смелым прогнозам, речь может идти даже об объединении бюджетов восточных и западных частей и если не об их политическом примирении, то хотя бы об экономическом сотрудничестве.

В немалой степени прекращению военных действий в Ливии способствуют и активизировавшиеся в последнее время дипломатические контакты по этой теме между Анкарой и Москвой. В турецком МИД не так давно заявляли, что страны «близки к согласованию всех параметров прекращения огня» в ливийском конфликте. Очевидно, повод для оптимизма все-таки имеется, поскольку глава отечественного дипломатического ведомства Сергей Лавров не так давно говорил насчет того, что, возможно, «в скором времени» посольство России будет вновь открыто в Триполи.

Как турецкой, так и российской стороне стоит поторопиться с урегулированием спорных вопросов, касающихся интересов обеих стран в Ливии, поскольку в дело все активнее стремится вмешаться еще одна сила в лице Европейского союза. Глава тамошней дипломатии Жозеп Боррель открыто заявил о стремлении Брюсселя разместить на территории Ливии как минимум группу военных наблюдателей. По версии Борреля, исключительно для надзора за соблюдением режима прекращения огня и с целью «поднятия авторитета ЕС на международной арене».

Впрочем, всем прекрасно понятно, что то, что начнется с «мониторинга», вполне может со временем вылиться в попытки массированного военного вмешательства. И, кстати, в той же Европейской службе внешних связей, занимающейся на данном этапе разработкой подобных прожектов, поговаривают о возможности введения на ливийскую территорию «воинского контингента ЕС» численностью в 5, а то и 10 тысяч человек. Многовато для наблюдения, не правда ли? Впрочем, речь идет о перспективе: осуществлять до крайности напоминающий интервенцию ввод войск сейчас, пока ситуация все еще взрывоопасна, европейские военные считают безумием и совершенно неоправданным риском.

Но все может измениться. А уж ливийскому народу, чья страна как раз и была разрушена в результате интервенции НАТО в 2011 году, подобные перспективы не нужны совершенно. Чем больше на этой многострадальной земле будет иностранных солдат и боевиков, тем дальше она будет от долгожданного мира.
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
Википедия / Триполи
15 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Livonetc
    Livonetc 6 октября 2020 18:21 Новый
    -1
    "активизировавшиеся в последнее время дипломатические контакты по этой теме между Анкарой и Москвой. В турецком МИД не так давно заявляли, что страны «близки к согласованию всех параметров прекращения огня» в ливийском конфликте."
    Интересная тенденция намечается.
    Турция и Россия, не становясь союзниками, становятся все чаще геополитическими партнерами.
    Пока тандем работает.
    И что то подсказывает, что в Карабахе реализуется аналогичный вариант.
    1. Ныробский
      Ныробский 6 октября 2020 19:11 Новый
      +3
      Цитата: Livonetc
      "активизировавшиеся в последнее время дипломатические контакты по этой теме между Анкарой и Москвой. В турецком МИД не так давно заявляли, что страны «близки к согласованию всех параметров прекращения огня» в ливийском конфликте."
      Интересная тенденция намечается.
      Турция и Россия, не становясь союзниками, становятся все чаще геополитическими партнерами.
      Пока тандем работает.
      И что то подсказывает, что в Карабахе реализуется аналогичный вариант.

      Когда там засветилась перспектива ввода войск Египта, то Эрдоган решил, что лучше уладить дело с Москвой и разграничить зоны интересов ЛНА и ПНС, а учитывая то, что эти интересы сильно пересекаются, решил усилить свои позиции через Азербайджан путём нагнетания ситуации в Карабахе, заодно утилизируя своих подконтрольных "бомжахедов" которые могут остаться в Ливии не у дел.
      1. Livonetc
        Livonetc 6 октября 2020 19:24 Новый
        +2
        Есть такие парни.
        1. Ныробский
          Ныробский 6 октября 2020 20:30 Новый
          +6
          Цитата: Livonetc
          Есть такие парни.

          В Ливии у них заработки упали до 500 долларов в месяц, а за участие в карабахском конфликте им пообещали до 2000 д/месяц. Только - "Получить их смогут не только лишь все, вернее мало кто сможет это сделать"(почти по В.Кличко)
      2. engenius
        engenius 7 октября 2020 14:39 Новый
        +1
        Сейчас ставка сделана на выборы, так как легитимного правительства нет, есть только легитимный парламент в Тобруке. ПНС - это назначенцы запада, ЛНА формально ему не подчинилась, так как не признавала. Турция продолжает снабжать оружием и наемниками. Только вчера смотрел "учения" ПНС у Сирта с участием 5-6 танков, так танкисты там явно африканские негры, не все конечно, но большая часть. Как только выборы состояться, война продолжиться, так как ни Египет, ни Турция не согласится отдать Ливию. Выборы должны были состояться еще в 2019 году. Сейчас какое-то нездоровое затишье, о дате выборов не известно, но правительства ПНС и ЛНА якобы расформировали. Вполне вероятно, что со стороны Египта также ведётся накачка ЛНА оружием и немниками.
        1. Ныробский
          Ныробский 7 октября 2020 19:02 Новый
          0
          Цитата: engenius
          но правительства ПНС и ЛНА якобы расформировали.

          Не якобы, а так оно и есть. Согласно "Схиратского" соглашения, мандат правительства Сараджи истёк ещё в 2018 году, а он баламутил воду до 2020 года. К тому же он "законтачился" связями с террористическими организациями(ИГ, Аль-Каеда, Братья мусульмане), которые признаны таковыми на уровне ООН. То что Сараджи может остаться не у дел, проблема для Эрдогана, с которым у него многое держалось на личных договорённостях. Новый лидер ПНС, в зависимости от того, под чьим "крылом" он находится,может быть не таким покладистым и у Эдика могут возникнуть проблемы с обоснованием присутствия турецких войск на территории Ливии. Ну, а Хафтар как был командующим ЛНА, так и остался командующим. hi
    2. Борис ⁣Бритва
      Борис ⁣Бритва 6 октября 2020 22:57 Новый
      -2
      Цитата: Livonetc
      Интересная тенденция намечается

      Ага. Делая дела в Карабахе турки прикрывают "тылы" заговаривая нам зубы по Ливии, проводя очередные переговоры, на любые результаты которых они наплюют столь же легко, сколь легко они в свое время наплевали на договоренности по Идлибу. А мы и рады: сидим - уши развесили.
  2. rocket757
    rocket757 6 октября 2020 18:38 Новый
    +2
    Страну разорвали в клочья, дерьмократизаторы ... теперь собрать в единое целое ой как трудно!
    1. Reptiloid
      Reptiloid 6 октября 2020 18:54 Новый
      +1
      Цитата: rocket757
      Страну разорвали в клочья, дерьмократизаторы ... теперь собрать в единое целое ой как трудно!

      hi Виктор! Так ведь те кто разрывают хотят разорвать на самые мелкие кусочки, Примеров много после разрушнния СССР
      1. rocket757
        rocket757 6 октября 2020 19:03 Новый
        +2
        Привет Дмитрий soldier
        Примеров хватало и до того, так издревле повелось.
        Не одна цветущая страна была разорвана в клочья,поделена на уделы.
        Ничего нового в том нет.
        Конкистадоры новые, методы все теже.
        1. Reptiloid
          Reptiloid 6 октября 2020 19:12 Новый
          +2
          Цитата: rocket757
          ......Ничего нового в том нет.
          Конкистадоры новые, методы все теже.
          Интернет-технологии, техника, вооружение самое сосременное---используется всё для этих целей
          1. rocket757
            rocket757 6 октября 2020 19:14 Новый
            +2
            Это всего лишь удобства, которые приносит прогресс. Раньше тож самое делалось другими методами.
  3. Петр Владимирович
    Петр Владимирович 6 октября 2020 18:49 Новый
    +2
    Жили, не тужили, а сейчас?
    1. Лопатов
      Лопатов 6 октября 2020 21:03 Новый
      +3
      Цитата: Петр Владимирович
      Жили, не тужили, а сейчас?

      А теперь свобода и демократия...
  4. А. Привалов
    А. Привалов 6 октября 2020 19:42 Новый
    +1
    До блокады Ливия добывала около 1,2 млн баррелей нефти в сутки. Сегодня, в 4-5 раз меньше.
    Возвращение такого игрока, как Ливия на нефтяной рынок, мгновенно обрушит цены, со всеми отсюда вытекающими.