Military Review

UAV Protector RG Mk 1 went to flight tests

21
UAV Protector RG Mk 1 went to flight tests

American company General Atomics Aeronautical Systems Inc. (GA-ASI) began flight tests of the promising unmanned aerial vehicle Protector RG Mk 1. This machine is being created by order of the Royal Air Force of Great Britain and will be handed over to the customer next year.


Pre-flight contract


Back in 2016, the Royal Air Force of Great Britain announced their intention to modernize the fleet of medium-altitude UAVs with a long flight duration in the future. The main contender for the future contract was the American company GA-ASI. In 2018, she provided for testing an experienced drone of the new modification MQ-9B Sky Guardian. The car as a whole suited the British, but additional requirements were put forward to finalize the project. The UAV modification for KVVS received the designation Protector RG Mk 1.

In early 2020, they announced the completion of design work and the construction of a prototype. In mid-July, before the start of testing the prototype, KVVS announced the signing of a contract for the supply of serial equipment. In accordance with the document, by 2024 GA-ASI will deliver three drones, the same number of ground command posts and a set of other means. There is also an option for 13 UAVs and 4 control points.

Prospective vehicles Protector RG Mk 1 in the foreseeable future will have to complement the KVVS MQ-9A Reaper products. The emergence of three such complexes will provide a significant renewal and strengthening of the cash group, and the implementation of the option in the future will make it possible to decommission the obsolete equipment.

During testing


At the end of September, GA-ASI announced its latest achievements and plans for the future. So, on September 25, the first flight of the Protector drone for the KVVS took place. The vehicle with the internal designation UK1 has confirmed its high performance characteristics and now it has to undergo new tests.


UAV Protector RG Mk 1 UK1 is actually the fourth sample of the MQ-9B type. The three previous machines belong to the development company and are intended for testing or demonstrating technology to potential customers. Thus, the UK1 product is the first representative of its design, built for a specific customer as part of an order.

In the coming months, GA-ASI will conduct preliminary factory tests of the drone. Next year, the car will be transferred to the UK Department of Defense, but after that it will remain in the United States. Under the terms of the existing agreements, in 2021 the British Air Force and Air Force will begin joint testing of equipment. It is expected that, based on their results, the KVVS will take a ready-made drone into operation, and the American army will sign the first contract for such equipment.

Joint tests will last until 2023, after which the Protector UK1 will go into service. In 2023-24. it will be followed by two other cars. Probably, by this time the fate of the option will be decided - and at the same time the future of the existing UAV MQ-9A fleet. At the same time, it is argued that even the first batch of equipment will provide a sharp increase in the combat and operational capabilities of the unmanned air force group. It has already been announced that the 31st KVVS squadron will become the operator of the new technology, regardless of its quantity.

Benefits of modernization


The Protector RG Mk 1 / MQ-9B is a deeply modernized version of the basic MQ-9A with a number of important advantages. The airframe and the main on-board systems have undergone refinement, due to which an increase in flight technical and operational characteristics has been obtained, as well as the permissible conditions of use and the range of tasks to be solved have been expanded.

The "Protector" glider received a new wing with a span of 24 meters and winglets - instead of the 20-meter one of the MQ-9A. This led to an increase in lift, and also increased the maximum flight duration to 40 hours. During the tests of the MQ-9B, an experiment was carried out - an experimental vehicle without a special load remained in the air for two days.


The upgraded glider received an anti-icing system and lightning protection equipment. As a result, the UAV has become more resistant to difficult weather conditions, which in a number of situations allows flight and / or simplifies operation.

Avionics have been modernized. The main innovation is the collision avoidance system. Its presence reduces restrictions and allows the use of UAVs in airspace with active traffic, incl. civil. Accordingly, it simplifies the organization and execution of flights when performing various tasks. Improved flight control devices. In addition, the ground control post underwent modernization.

MQ-9B retained the ability to carry various payloads in the form of surveillance and reconnaissance equipment. There is a gyro-stabilized platform with optoelectronic devices; some modifications can carry compact radars. At the same time, the development of new payload modules with increased characteristics is reported. Accordingly, the modernized UAV will be able to solve old tasks with greater efficiency.

The special requirements of the KVVS were mainly reflected in the range of weapons. The Protector RG Mk 1 is to carry MBDA Brimstone guided air-to-ground missiles and Paveway IV guided bombs - the standard weapons for the British military. aviation... The basic modification of the MQ-9B retains the nomenclature of its predecessor based on AGM-114 missiles and Paveway bombs.

Present and future


At the moment, the British fleet of heavy UAVs MQ-9A Reaper consists of only 9 machines, and also includes several control points and various support equipment. In 2023-24. three new machines will be put into operation, which will lead to quantitative and qualitative growth. Conversion of the option into a firm contract is highly likely. Such measures will allow in the future to replace aging drones, as well as to almost double the size of the group.


The UK Department of Defense highly appreciates the prospects for both the upgraded drone and the rearmament unit. During the signing of the supply contract, it was noted that the new UAVs will be able to serve and effectively perform their tasks over the next several decades. "Protectors" will increase the main combat capabilities of the KVVS, since they will be able to stay in the air for many hours and conduct surveillance, attack or provide command and control.

For GA-ASI, the UK contract is of great importance, but it is not the only one of its kind. So, MQ-9B interested the armed forces of Australia and Belgium. Deliveries of new equipment to these countries will begin in the foreseeable future. According to the results of the tests begun, the US Air Force may become the next customer of the drone. Interest from other countries is possible. So far, contracts and options do not differ in large volumes, but in the future a portfolio of orders for tens of units of equipment is expected.

Thus, one of the main projects of General Atomics is moving to a new stage, which promises serious profits. In the coming years, after the completion of the necessary tests, the deeply modernized UAV will reach the series and operation in the troops. Formally, the first operator of the MQ-9B / Protector RG Mk 1 will be the UK, and more countries will follow.
Author:
Photos used:
GA-ASI
21 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. OgnennyiKotik
    OgnennyiKotik 7 October 2020 18: 08
    +4
    The General Atomics MQ-9 Reaper (Predator B) took off for the first time in 2001, but the world has never made a direct analogue. Its parameters are reached only by twin-engine UAVs.
    1. stone
      stone 8 October 2020 09: 46
      +1
      Israeli Hermes-900 and Heron-TR are direct analogues. Single-engine, long flight duration, with a bunch of bells and whistles, two have already been flying and sold.
      1. OgnennyiKotik
        OgnennyiKotik 8 October 2020 10: 01
        0
        Hermes -900 is a direct analogue of the MQ-1.
        IAI Eitan (Heron TP) - good, but more on the exploration side.
        1. stone
          stone 8 October 2020 11: 40
          +4
          No, not in the direction of intelligence. There, of course, there is combat functionality and there is something to put essssno, it's just that the Israelis really do not like to talk about the combat component of their drones traditionally.
    2. Zaurbek
      Zaurbek 9 October 2020 14: 06
      +1
      The Turks are lifting into the air with 2 Ukrainian theaters.
  2. Tsoy
    Tsoy 7 October 2020 18: 13
    +4
    It's funny that England immediately after the tests declared that the protector is the most well-armed ripper in the world. Only a few days later, the USA tested their rippers with 8 helfair missiles instead of 4 missiles and 2 bombs. And everything was decided there by updating the software without serious improvements.

    The car is serious. 40 hours with weapons on board is impressive.

    The United States is going to use other drones as payloads on UAVs. Moreover, with the possibility of returning under the wing after completing the mission. They go further and further into the development of uavs and try to find them as many areas of application as possible.
    1. OgnennyiKotik
      OgnennyiKotik 7 October 2020 18: 15
      +4
      Just today, a video was released about these drones. Good shots with different types of load.
      1. Tsoy
        Tsoy 7 October 2020 19: 27
        +2
        today a video was released about these drones. Good shots with different types of



        And the media in the video along the way is the same that they put up for the tender to replace the ripper.
        1. OgnennyiKotik
          OgnennyiKotik 7 October 2020 19: 33
          -1
          Quote: Choi
          media in video

          I do not understand
        2. OgnennyiKotik
          OgnennyiKotik 7 October 2020 19: 57
          +2
          There are many modifications of the MQ-9, with radar and weapons.
          There is only a press release by Sparrowhawk and this is a photo.
          1. Tsoy
            Tsoy 7 October 2020 20: 51
            0
            Encrypted. Is this a gremlin?
            1. OgnennyiKotik
              OgnennyiKotik 7 October 2020 20: 58
              +1
              Gremlin is the name of the program of returnable UAVs and the carriers themselves. There are various products. The most famous and first made by Dynetics X-61.
              https://topwar.ru/166941-gremliny-v-vozduhe-nachaty-ispytanija-bpla-x-61a.html
              https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dynetics_X-61_Gremlins

  3. Bez 310
    Bez 310 8 October 2020 07: 44
    +2
    Where are our similar UAVs?
    Or are we, as always, going our own special way?
    1. OgnennyiKotik
      OgnennyiKotik 8 October 2020 08: 39
      -1
      It seems like Orion (analogue of RQ-1) went to the army. The first 3 were aired this year. But ...
      1. Elturisto
        Elturisto 8 October 2020 10: 03
        +2
        And what about the Orion's power plant - the godless Rotax?
        1. OgnennyiKotik
          OgnennyiKotik 8 October 2020 10: 06
          -1
          They say they made our analogue, but I don't believe something.
          1. Elturisto
            Elturisto 8 October 2020 10: 10
            0
            Yes, apparently Chinese clones or copies of the Rotaxes.
            1. OgnennyiKotik
              OgnennyiKotik 8 October 2020 10: 13
              +1
              Now they do it. They buy all the components of the engine, assemble them from us, change minor parts for ours (wires) and our engine turns out.
              1. madrobot
                madrobot 8 October 2020 13: 27
                -2
                Where is this done? OBS again?
  4. Razvedka_Boem
    Razvedka_Boem 9 October 2020 17: 58
    -4
    Sometimes in the comments they write - where is something like that in Russia? ..
    The development of weapons is dictated by the policy pursued by the state.
    Such drones were simply not needed by the USSR and then Russia of the dashing 90s model ..
    The development of the fleet and similar unmanned systems is dictated primarily by the expansion policy.
    And this includes everything - collecting spy information, recruiting, blackmailing, direct political and military pressure, etc.
    And the answer to them appeared when Russia decided that it was time to promote its interests.
    I think in five years, Russian drones will be at least as good as American ones.
    1. sh3roman
      sh3roman 26 October 2020 20: 59
      -1
      30 years!!!! They cannot upgrade the corn maker !!!! How old are you to believe in fairy tales ????? In the household store there are already Chinese screws !!!!! we can do that, lo, but without fucking we can no longer storytellers damn

Военное обозрение

БПЛА Protector RG Mk 1 вышел на летные испытания

21
БПЛА Protector RG Mk 1 вышел на летные испытания

Американская компания General Atomics Aeronautical Systems Inc. (GA-ASI) начала летные испытания перспективного беспилотного летательного аппарата Protector RG Mk 1. Эта машина создается по заказу Королевских военно-воздушных сил Великобритании и ее передадут заказчику уже в следующем году.


Контракт до полета


Еще в 2016 г. КВВС Великобритании объявили о намерении в будущем провести модернизацию парка средневысотных БПЛА с большой продолжительностью полета. Основным претендентом на будущий контракт стала американская компания GA-ASI. В 2018 г. она предоставила для испытаний опытный беспилотник новой модификации MQ-9B Sky Guardian. Машина в целом устроила британцев, но были выдвинуты дополнительные требования по доработке проекта. Модификация БПЛА для КВВС получила обозначение Protector RG Mk 1.

В начале 2020 г. объявили о завершении проектных работ и строительстве опытного образца. В середине июля, до начала испытаний опытного образца, КВВС объявили о подписании контракта на поставку серийной техники. В соответствии с документом, к 2024 г. GA-ASI поставит три беспилотника, такое же количество наземных пунктов управления и набор прочих средств. Также имеется опцион на 13 БПЛА и 4 пункта управления.

Перспективные аппараты Protector RG Mk 1 в обозримом будущем должны будут дополнить имеющиеся у КВВС изделия MQ-9A Reaper. Появление трех таких комплексов обеспечит существенное обновление и усиление наличной группировки, а реализация опциона в дальнейшем позволит вывести из эксплуатации устаревающую технику.

В процессе испытаний


В конце сентября компания GA-ASI сообщила о своих последних достижениях и планах на будущее. Так, 25 сентября состоялся первый полет беспилотника «Протектор» для КВВС. Машина с внутренним обозначением UK1 подтвердила высокие летно-технические характеристики и теперь ей предстоит пройти новые проверки.


БПЛА Protector RG Mk 1 UK1 фактически является четвертым образцом типа MQ-9B. Три предыдущие машины принадлежат компании-разработчику и предназначены для проведения испытаний или демонстрации техники потенциальным заказчикам. Таким образом, изделие UK1 является первым представителем своего проекта, построенным для конкретного покупателя в рамках выполнения заказа.

В ближайшие месяцы GA-ASI будет проводить предварительные заводские испытания беспилотника. В следующем году машину передадут министерству обороны Великобритании, однако после этого она останется в США. По условиям имеющихся соглашений, в 2021 г. британские КВВС и ВВС США начнут совместные испытания техники. Ожидается, что по их итогам КВВС примут готовый беспилотник в эксплуатацию, а американская армия подпишет первый контракт на такую технику.

Совместные испытания продлятся до 2023 г., после чего «Протектор» UK1 отправится на службу. В 2023-24 гг. за ним последуют две другие машины. Вероятно, к этому времени будет решена судьба опциона – а вместе с тем и будущее наличного парка БПЛА MQ-9A. При этом утверждается, что даже первая партия техники обеспечит резкий рост боевых и оперативных возможностей беспилотной группировки КВВС. Уже было объявлено, что эксплуатантом новой техники, вне зависимости от ее количества, станет 31-я эскадрилья КВВС.

Преимущества модернизации


Protector RG Mk 1 / MQ-9B представляет собой глубоко модернизированную версию базового MQ-9A с рядом важных преимуществ. Доработке подверглись планер и основные бортовые системы, за счет чего получен прирост летно-технических и эксплуатационных характеристик, а также расширены допустимые условия применения и круг решаемых задач.

Планер «Протектора» получил новое крыло с размахом 24 м и винглетами – вместо 20-метрового у MQ-9A. Это привело к росту подъемной силы, а также увеличило максимальную продолжительность полета до 40 часов. В ходе испытаний MQ-9B был проведен эксперимент – опытная машина без специальной нагрузки оставалась в воздухе двое суток.


Модернизированный планер получил противообледенительную систему и средства защиты от ударов молний. Вследствие этого БПЛА стал более устойчив к сложным метеоусловиям, что в ряде ситуаций допускает полет и/или упрощает работу.

Прошла модернизацию авионика. Главным нововведением стала система предотвращения столкновения. Ее наличие сокращает ограничения и позволяет использовать БПЛА в воздушном пространстве с активным трафиком, в т.ч. гражданским. Соответственно, упрощается организация и выполнение полетов при выполнении разнообразных задач. Улучшены бортовые приборы управления полетом. Кроме того, модернизацию прошел наземный пункт управления.

MQ-9B сохранил возможность несения различных полезных нагрузок в виде средств наблюдения и разведки. Имеется гиростабилизированная платформа с оптико-электронными приборами; некоторые модификации могут нести компактные РЛС. При этом сообщается о разработке новых модулей полезной нагрузки с повышенными характеристиками. Соответственно, модернизированный БПЛА сможет решать старые задачи с большей эффективностью.

Особые требования КВВС в основном отразились на номенклатуре вооружений. Protector RG Mk 1 должен нести управляемые ракеты «воздух-земля» MBDA Brimstone и управляемые бомбы Paveway IV – стандартные средства поражения британской боевой авиации. Базовая модификация MQ-9B сохраняет номенклатуру предшественника на основе ракет AGM-114 и бомб Paveway.

Настоящее и будущее


На данный момент британский флот тяжелых БПЛА MQ-9A Reaper состоит всего из 9 машин, а также включает несколько пунктов управления и различные средства обеспечения. В 2023-24 гг. в строй введут три новые машины, что приведет к количественному и качественному росту. Весьма вероятно преобразование опциона в твердый контракт. Такие меры позволят в будущем заменить устаревающие беспилотники, а также увеличить размеры группировки почти вдвое.


Минобороны Великобритании высоко оценивает перспективы как модернизированного беспилотника, так и перевооружаемого подразделения. Во время подписания контракта на поставку отмечалось, что новые БПЛА смогут служить и эффективно выполнять свои задачи в течение нескольких следующих десятилетий. «Протекторы» повысят основные боевые возможности КВВС, поскольку смогут находиться в воздухе в течение многих часов и вести наблюдение, атаковать или обеспечивать управление войсками.

Для компании GA-ASI британский контракт имеет большое значение, однако он не является единственным в своем роде. Так, MQ-9B заинтересовал вооруженные силы Австралии и Бельгии. Поставки новой техники этим странам начнутся в обозримом будущем. По результатам начатых испытаний очередным заказчиком беспилотника могут стать ВВС США. Возможен интерес со стороны других стран. Пока контракты и опционы не отличаются большими объемами, но в дальнейшем ожидается портфель заказов на десятки единиц техники.

Таким образом, один из основных проектов компании General Atomics переходит на новый этап, сулящий серьезную прибыль. В ближайшие годы, после завершения необходимых испытаний, глубоко модернизированный БПЛА дойдет до серии и эксплуатации в войсках. Формально первым эксплуатантом MQ-9B / Protector RG Mk 1 станет Великобритания, а за ней последуют новые страны.
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
GA-ASI
21 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. OgnennyiKotik
    OgnennyiKotik 7 октября 2020 18:08
    +4
    General Atomics MQ-9 Reaper (Predator B) взлетел впервые в 2001 году, но в мире так и не сделали прямого аналога. Его параметров достигают только двухдвигательные БПЛА.
    1. stone
      stone 8 октября 2020 09:46
      +1
      Израильские Hermes -900 и Heron- TR - прямые аналоги. Однодвигательные, большой продолжительности полета, с кучей наворотов, двно уже летают и продаются.
      1. OgnennyiKotik
        OgnennyiKotik 8 октября 2020 10:01
        0
        Hermes -900 прямой аналог MQ-1.
        IAI Eitan (Heron TP) - хорош, но он больше в сторону разведки.
        1. stone
          stone 8 октября 2020 11:40
          +4
          Да не, не в сторону разведки. Там боевой функционал конечно есть и есть что поставить есссно, просто израильтяне очень не любят распространяться о боевой составляющей своих дронов традиционно.
    2. Zaurbek
      Zaurbek 9 октября 2020 14:06
      +1
      Турки поднимают в воздух с 2мя украинскими ТВД.
  2. Цой
    Цой 7 октября 2020 18:13
    +4
    Забавно что Англия сразу после испытаний заявила что протектор самый хорошо вооруженный рипер в мире. Вот только через несколько дней Сша испытали свои риперы с 8 ракетами хелфаер вместо 4 ракет и 2 бомб. И решилось там все обновлением ПО без серьезных доработок.

    Машина серьезная. 40 часов с оружием на борту впечатляет.

    Сша уже другие дроны в качестве полезной нагрузки собираются цеплять на бпла. При чем с возможностью возврата под крыло после выполнения миссии. Они все дальше уходят в работах по развитию бпла и стараются найти им как можно больше сфер применения.
    1. OgnennyiKotik
      OgnennyiKotik 7 октября 2020 18:15
      +4
      Как раз сегодня видео вышло про эти дроны. Хорошие кадры с разными видами нагрузки.
      1. Цой
        Цой 7 октября 2020 19:27
        +2
        сегодня видео вышло про эти дроны. Хорошие кадры с разными видами н



        А носитель в видео по ходу тот же что они на тендер выставили по замене рипера.
        1. OgnennyiKotik
          OgnennyiKotik 7 октября 2020 19:33
          -1
          Цитата: Цой
          носитель в видео

          Не понял
        2. OgnennyiKotik
          OgnennyiKotik 7 октября 2020 19:57
          +2
          Там много модификаций MQ-9, с радаром и вооружением.
          По Sparrowhawk есть только пресс-релиз и это фото
          1. Цой
            Цой 7 октября 2020 20:51
            0
            Шифруются. Это же гремлин и есть?
            1. OgnennyiKotik
              OgnennyiKotik 7 октября 2020 20:58
              +1
              Гремлин это название программы возвращаемых на носитель БПЛА и самих носителей. Есть различные изделия. Самый известный и первый сделаный Dynetics X-61.
              https://topwar.ru/166941-gremliny-v-vozduhe-nachaty-ispytanija-bpla-x-61a.html
              https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dynetics_X-61_Gremlins

  3. Bez 310
    Bez 310 8 октября 2020 07:44
    +2
    Где же наши подобные БПЛА?
    Или мы, как всегда, идем своим особым путем?
    1. OgnennyiKotik
      OgnennyiKotik 8 октября 2020 08:39
      -1
      Вроде как Орион (аналог RQ-1) пошёл в армию. Первые 3 были переданы в этом году. Но ...
      1. ElTuristo
        ElTuristo 8 октября 2020 10:03
        +2
        А что там с силовой установкой Ориона- богопротивный Ротакс?
        1. OgnennyiKotik
          OgnennyiKotik 8 октября 2020 10:06
          -1
          Говорят типа сделали наш аналог, но что-то я не верю.
          1. ElTuristo
            ElTuristo 8 октября 2020 10:10
            0
            Да, судя по всему китайские клоны или копии Ротаксов.
            1. OgnennyiKotik
              OgnennyiKotik 8 октября 2020 10:13
              +1
              Сейчас делают так. Покупают все комплектующие двигателя, собирают у нас, меняют незначительные детали на наши (провода) и опа наш двигатель получается.
              1. madrobot
                madrobot 8 октября 2020 13:27
                -2
                Это где так делают? ОБС опять?
  4. Razvedka_Boem
    Razvedka_Boem 9 октября 2020 17:58
    -4
    Иногда в комментах пишут -а где что-то такое же у России?..
    Развитие вооружений диктуется политикой проводимой государством.
    Подобные беспилотники просто были не нужны СССР и потом России образца лихих 90-х..
    Развитие флота и подобных беспилотных систем, продиктовано в первую очередь политикой экспансии.
    И это включает в себя все - сбор шпионских сведений, вербовка, шантаж, прямое политическое и военное давление и пр.
    И ответ на них появился тогда, когда Россия посчитала, что пора продвигать свои интересы.
    Думаю лет через пять, российские беспилотники будет как минимум не хуже американских.
    1. sh3roman
      sh3roman 26 октября 2020 20:59
      -1
      30 лет!!!! Кукурузник модернизировать не могут!!!! Вам сколько лет в сказки верить????? В хоз.магазине уже саморезы китайские!!!!!мы то сможем, се, да не фуя мы уже не можем сказочники блин