Military Review

28 years ago, the Azerbaijani authorities "did not let" the country into the CIS

22

Today Azerbaijan is a member of the CIS. But he did not join this organization immediately. 28 years ago, in October 1992, the Azerbaijani parliament refused to ratify the documents on the country's accession to the CIS.


At that time, the leader of the Popular Front of Azerbaijan, Abulfaz Elchibey, was the president, who believed that it was necessary to curtail, up to a complete cessation, all relations with Russia. Elchibey believed that the country's entry into the CIS would hinder the establishment and development of ties with Turkey and Western countries. Namely, he staked on them in matters of foreign policy and ensuring the country's security. This had its own background and very weighty arguments. During the Nagorno-Karabakh war for independence, there were facts of participation of Russian military personnel in battles on the side of the Armenians. There were even Russian prisoners of war. Six of them were sentenced to death. And the issue was resolved only at the highest level. In addition, Azerbaijan accused the Russian army, represented by the soldiers and officers of the 366th Tank Regiment of the Russian Armed Forces, of participating in the attack on Khojaly on the side of the Armenians of Karabakh. These statements caused a powerful surge of anti-Russian sentiments in Azerbaijan and also influenced the parliament's decision on the CIS. Russia was openly called "the enemy of the Azerbaijani people."

The problem with the radar station in Gabala and the unsettled status of the Russian military in Azerbaijan created tension in relations between the two countries.

The Popular Front in its nationalist rhetoric, in order to justify its own failures on the real front, as well as against the background of difficulties in the economy and the social sphere, tried to "blame" everything on "the detrimental effect of ties with Russia." Allegedly, it always hindered and hinders by its domination the free and effective development of the new Azerbaijan, and continues to maintain its "exploitative" influence on Azerbaijan. Therefore, it was argued that it was necessary to free ourselves from the fetters of Russia, and everything would go as it should.

Pro-Turkish, nationalist and anti-Russian sentiments prevailed both in the policies of the then President Elchibey and in the Milli Mejlis (parliament) of Azerbaijan, which led to his refusal to ratify the documents on Azerbaijan's accession to the CIS at that time. A course was taken to curtail any relations with Russia, and she dominated the CIS. Despite the understanding of the harm caused thereby to Azerbaijan itself.

But the failures in the war for Karabakh, the incompetence of the PFA government led to a crisis of power and the country. It came to a mutiny in Nakhichevan. Elchibey showed understanding of his responsibility for the fate of the country, and in order to avoid a civil war, he invited Heydar Aliyev to Baku, who was later elected as the new president. And already with him in 1993 Azerbaijan became a member of the Commonwealth.
Author:
Photos used:
Wikipedia / Interfase - the building of the Azerbaijani parliament
22 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Livonetc
    Livonetc 7 October 2020 17: 40
    11
    The CIS is not the CIS.
    I watched a report from Azerbaijan yesterday.
    The presenter, among other things, talked to the children in the kindergarten.
    The children spoke perfect Russian, without any accent.
    This means that families speak Russian.
    1. fn34440
      fn34440 7 October 2020 17: 50
      -28 qualifying.
      This is very deplorable
    2. The comment was deleted.
    3. ArioN
      ArioN 7 October 2020 17: 56
      +2
      Quote: Livonetc
      The children spoke perfect Russian, without any accent.
      This means that families speak Russian.

      Everything is correct, because half of Azerbaijan in Russia whole clans earn money there
      Only there is little joy in this, how they treated Russia and they do (they don't advertise much now)
      If Azerbaijan wins this war against Armenia, Russia will have a hard time ..
      1. Ela myaushkina
        Ela myaushkina 7 October 2020 22: 29
        +2
        Quote: ArioN
        Quote: Livonetc
        The children spoke perfect Russian, without any accent.
        This means that families speak Russian.

        Everything is correct, because half of Azerbaijan in Russia whole clans earn money there
        Only there is little joy in this, how they treated Russia and they do (they don't advertise much now)
        If Azerbaijan wins this war against Armenia, Russia will have a hard time ..

        And what's wrong with the fact that in Azerbaijan, in Armenia, and even in Georgia, they speak Russian and know Russian? Does it bother you that these people go to Russia to work? You have already decided. When the Russian language in the countries of the former Soviet Union is known and there are Russian-speaking schools, it is good. That is bad, because they go to Russia to earn money, taking away jobs from the titular nation and sending money home, past the treasury and taxes of Russia.

        You really decide.
    4. Yeraz
      Yeraz 7 October 2020 18: 45
      +4
      Quote: Livonetc
      This means that families speak Russian.

      300 Russian schools, plus Slavic University.
  2. imobile2008
    imobile2008 7 October 2020 17: 46
    +4
    What is the CIS? The vegetable that was voted for in a referendum in the USSR! Organization for milking Russia in the period when milking through the USSR collapsed.
    1. stas
      stas 8 October 2020 17: 16
      0
      The CIS is a club of eternal rulers, former members of the CPSU!
  3. The comment was deleted.
  4. Egoza
    Egoza 7 October 2020 17: 48
    +3
    But the failures in the war for Karabakh, the incompetence of the PFA government led to a crisis of power and the country.

    Have you decided to take revenge now? It's time to ask: "Well, what about son? Did the damn Poles help you? Oh, Turks!" A crisis can sneak up unnoticed.
    1. Pashhenko Nikolay
      Pashhenko Nikolay 7 October 2020 17: 58
      +6
      I think you draw conclusions early. The war is in full swing and no one knows how it will end.
      1. YOUR
        YOUR 8 October 2020 03: 34
        +2
        Azerbaijan has a numerical superiority of almost 3 times and a qualitative one. The most modern weapons were purchased only from us - T-90, BMP-3, BTR-80A, 82A tanks, Smerch MLRS, Buratino TOS, NONA, VENA. The Armenians do not have this. Everything is old.
        It will all end with another truce. They will beat each other, shoot, yet the hostilities are being conducted in a limited area and will not go beyond it. Otherwise, Russia will interfere, the CSTO treaty, which does not include Azerbaijan. Karabakh as an unrecognized republic is also not included. Therefore, Russia is still silent. What will happen if the hostilities spread to the territory of Armenia. Here the question is, to what extent and in what capacity we will intervene in the slaughter. Only at the level of diplomacy or troops will go there.
  5. The comment was deleted.
    1. The comment was deleted.
  6. parusnik
    parusnik 7 October 2020 18: 07
    +3
    smile The CIS is simply a counterbalance to the EU, the queue in the CIS is ... They want to leave the EU and join the Commonwealth ...
    1. Reptiloid
      Reptiloid 7 October 2020 21: 13
      +1
      Quote: parusnik
      smile The CIS is simply a counterbalance to the EU, the queue in the CIS is ... They want to leave the EU and join the Commonwealth ...

      Some former socialist countries already in the EU cause discontent. Maybe not so much they want to leave laughing how many suggest wassat what will be excluded? Are they afraid? Are the arms and legs shaking with fear? What do you think, Alexey?
      1. parusnik
        parusnik 8 October 2020 06: 19
        +4
        We would like to leave, but not where ... although the entrance to the CIS is free, only there is nothing to do there ... At one time, members and non-members of the CIS, created a new union GUAM-Georgia, Ukraine, Azerbaijan, Moldova ... It also does not work .. Like the CIS ... How does the EU differ from the CIS, in the EU the leading economies of Europe, France, Germany, subjugated the rest and remain the leading ones. And in the CIS, there are no such economies. CIS-Commonwealth of Poor States
        1. Reptiloid
          Reptiloid 8 October 2020 07: 59
          0
          GUAM! ----- Abaldet! I didn't know.
          It is a pity, of course, that the limitrophes are not expelled from the EU. Otherwise, we would like to see how the rhetoric of the small ones will change.
        2. Selevc
          Selevc 9 October 2020 12: 47
          0
          At one time, members and non-members of the CIS, created a new union GUAM-Georgia, Ukraine, Azerbaijan, Moldova ..
          Everything is very simple !!! Puppet countries are fundamentally not allowed from above to create unions - and if they create something there (they conduct some kind of violent activity, usually with a near-zero result), then this should work only when the Master needs it !!! Guam is not needed by the Boss - that's why it doesn't work !!!
  7. astepanov
    astepanov 7 October 2020 18: 32
    +8
    And another date passed unnoticed this year. A hundred years ago, in March 1920, the Shusha massacre took place - the massacres of the Armenian population of the city of Shusha (Nagorno-Karabakh), as a result of which, according to various estimates, from 500 to 30 thousand Armenian residents of the city died, the Armenian part was burned to the ground and destroyed cities and the entire Armenian population was expelled. The city was never rebuilt, the capital of Nagorno-Karabakh was moved to Stepanakert. This is where the roots of mutual hatred come from. And later there were the murders of Armenians in Baku and Sumgait, and the deaths of hundreds of Azerbaijanis in Armenian Khojal ... It's sad. I am afraid that if Stepanakert is captured, the massacre is almost inevitable.
    1. icant007
      icant007 8 October 2020 06: 42
      +1
      Quote: astepanov
      And another date passed unnoticed this year. One hundred years ago, in March 1920, the Shusha massacre took place - massacres of the Armenian population of the city of Shusha

      Yes, such dates are a wagon and a small cart.
      Both in 1918 and in 1905-07.
      Moreover, both Armenians and Azerbaijanis were killed with equal "success".
      1. Ingenegr
        Ingenegr 9 October 2020 12: 55
        0
        When the stone of revenge is lowered from the mountain, it is almost impossible to stop it.
  8. alex51217
    alex51217 7 October 2020 18: 32
    -11 qualifying.
    Well done Elchibey! A true patriot, he put the interests of the country above his own profit and respected the Azerbaijanis.
  9. The comment was deleted.
  10. alex51217
    alex51217 7 October 2020 18: 33
    -11 qualifying.
    Well done Elchibey! A true patriot, he put the interests of the country above his own profit and respected the Azerbaijanis.
  11. Kot_Kuzya
    Kot_Kuzya 7 October 2020 23: 18
    +5
    Well, of course! Now we must unanimously hate the Azeris and send young Russian and Buryat boys to die for the sake of the interests of Pashinyan the little magpie. Why don't those tens of thousands of Armenian thugs who in 2018 galloped after Pashinyan's little Soros with Russophobic slogans go to the front? When everything was normal, the Russians are "occupants", but when it got bad, then "Russia help!" No, you yourself, yourself, everything yourself.
    1. Selevc
      Selevc 9 October 2020 12: 52
      +1
      Quote: Kot_Kuzya
      Now we must unanimously hate the Azeris and send young Russians and Buryat boys to die for the sake of the interests of Pashinyan the little magpie

      In fact, the war is still being waged deep inside the territory of Azerbaijan !!! And all the conversations like "Armenia is barely breathing !!!" or "Armenia will soon fall !!!" - this is just the work of agitprop .... Gentlemen - until during the entire war not a single shell fell on the territory of Armenia proper, but rockets and shells fall just in the depths of the territory of Azerbaijan !!! And what will happen next - as they say, it is written with a pitchfork on the water !!!

Военное обозрение

28 лет назад власти Азербайджана «не пустили» страну в СНГ

22

Сегодня Азербайджан является членом СНГ. Но вступил он в эту организацию не сразу. 28 лет назад - в октябре 1992 года - парламент Азербайджана отказался ратифицировать документы о вступлении страны в СНГ.


В то время президентом был лидер народного фронта Азербайджана Абульфаз Эльчибей, который считал, что необходимо сворачивать, вплоть до полного прекращения, все отношения с Россией. Эльчибей полагал, что вступление страны в СНГ будет препятствовать установлению и развитию связей с Турцией и странами Запада. А именно на них он делал ставку в вопросах внешней политики и обеспечения безопасности страны. Это имело свою подоплеку и весьма весомые аргументы. Во время войны Нагорного Карабаха за независимость имели место факты участия российских военнослужащих в боях на стороне армян. Были даже пленные российские военные. Шестеро из них были приговорены к смертной казни. И вопрос по ним был решен лишь на самом высоком уровне. Кроме этого Азербайджан обвинял российскую армию в лице солдат и офицеров 366-го танкового полка ВС России в участии в нападении на Ходжалы на стороне армян Карабаха. Эти заявления вызвали мощный всплеск антироссийских настроений в Азербайджане и тоже сказались на решении парламента по СНГ. Россия открыто называлась "врагом азербайджанского народа".

Напряженность в отношениях двух стран создавала и проблема с РЛС в Габале, и неурегулированный статус российских военных в Азербайджане.

Народный фронт в своей националистической риторике, для оправдания собственных неудач на фронте реальном, а также на фоне трудностей в экономике и социальной сфере все пытался "свалить" на "пагубное влияние связей с Россией". Якобы она всегда мешала и мешает своим доминированием свободному и эффективному развитию нового Азербайджана, и продолжает сохранять своё "эксплуататорское" влияние на Азербайджан. Поэтому утверждалось, что надо освободиться от пут России, и всё пойдёт как надо.

Протурецкие, националистические и антироссийские настроения преобладали и в политике тогдашнего президента Эльчибея, и в Милли Меджлисе (парламенте) Азербайджана, что и привело к его отказу ратифицировать документы о вступлении Азербайджана в СНГ в тот момент. Был взят курс на сворачивание любых отношений с Россией, а она доминировала в СНГ. Несмотря на понимание наносимого тем самым вреда самому Азербайджану.

Но неудачи в войне за Карабах, некомпетентность правительства НФА привели к кризису власти и стране. Дело дошло до мятежа в Нахичевани. Эльчибей проявил понимание своей ответственности за судьбу страны, и чтобы избежать гражданской войны, пригласил в Баку Гейдара Алиева, который и был позже избран новым президентом. И уже при нем в 1993 году Азербайджан стан членом Содружества.
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
Википедия/Interfase - здание азербайджанского парламента
22 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Livonetc
    Livonetc 7 октября 2020 17:40
    +11
    СНГ не СНГ.
    Посмотрел вчера репортаж из Азербайджана.
    Ведущая, в том числе ,поговорила с детьми в детском саду.
    Дети разговаривали на идеальном русском языке, без какого либо акцента.
    Это означает, что в семьях разговаривают на русском языке.
    1. fn34440
      fn34440 7 октября 2020 17:50
      -28
      Это очень плачевно
    2. Комментарий был удален.
    3. ArioN
      ArioN 7 октября 2020 17:56
      +2
      Цитата: Livonetc
      Дети разговаривали на идеальном русском языке, без какого либо акцента.
      Это означает, что в семьях разговаривают на русском языке.

      Все правильно ,потому что пол Азербайджана в России деньги зарабатывают там целые кланы
      Только радости в этом мало ,как относились они к России так и относятся(особо не афишируют сейчас)
      Если Азербайджан выиграет эту войнушку у Армении ,России туго придется ..
      1. Ela Myaushkina
        Ela Myaushkina 7 октября 2020 22:29
        +2
        Цитата: ArioN
        Цитата: Livonetc
        Дети разговаривали на идеальном русском языке, без какого либо акцента.
        Это означает, что в семьях разговаривают на русском языке.

        Все правильно ,потому что пол Азербайджана в России деньги зарабатывают там целые кланы
        Только радости в этом мало ,как относились они к России так и относятся(особо не афишируют сейчас)
        Если Азербайджан выиграет эту войнушку у Армении ,России туго придется ..

        А что плохого в том что в Азербайджане, в Армении, и даже в Грузии, говорят по русски и знают русский язык? Вас это беспокоит по поводу того, что эти люди ездят в Россию на заработки? Вы уж определитесь уже. То когда русский язык в странах бывшего союза знают и есть школы русскоязычные, это хорошо. То плохо, ибо ездят в Россию на заработки, отнимая рабочие места у титульной нации и посылая деньги на родину, мимо казны и налогов России.

        Вы уж определитесь.
    4. Yeraz
      Yeraz 7 октября 2020 18:45
      +4
      Цитата: Livonetc
      Это означает, что в семьях разговаривают на русском языке.

      300 русских школ.Плюс Славянский университет.
  2. imobile2008
    imobile2008 7 октября 2020 17:46
    +4
    А что такое СНГ? Овощ за которой проголосовали на референдуме в СССР! Организация по дойке России в период когда дойка через СССР развалилась.
    1. stas
      stas 8 октября 2020 17:16
      0
      СНГ это клуб вечных правителей, бывших членов КПСС!
  3. Комментарий был удален.
  4. Егоза
    Егоза 7 октября 2020 17:48
    +3
    Но неудачи в войне за Карабах, некомпетентность правительства НФА привели к кризису власти и стране.

    Неужели решили реванш взять сейчас? Впору спросить: "Ну, что сынку? Помогли тебе чертовы ляхи? Ой, турки!" Кризис может подкрасться незаметно.
    1. Pashhenko Nikolay
      Pashhenko Nikolay 7 октября 2020 17:58
      +6
      Думаю вы рано выводы делаете.Война в разгаре и чем кончится никому не известно .
      1. ВАШ
        ВАШ 8 октября 2020 03:34
        +2
        У Азербайджана численный перевес почти в 3 раза и качественный. Только у нас закупалось самое современнейшее оружие - танки Т-90, БМП-3, БТР-80А,82А, РСЗО "Смерч", ТОС "Буратино", САО "НОНА", "ВЕНА". У армян этого нет. Все старенькое.
        Кончится все очередным перемирием. Поколотят друг друга, постреляют, все же боевые действия ведутся на ограниченной территории и выходить за её пределы не будут. Иначе вмешается Россия, договор по ОДКБ куда Азербайджан не входит. Карабах как непризнанная республика то же не входит. По этому Россия пока молчит. Что будет если боевые действия перекинутся на территорию Армении вот здесь вопрос, в какой мере и в каком качестве в бойню вмешаемся мы. Только на уровне дипломатии или войска туда пойдут.
  5. Комментарий был удален.
    1. Комментарий был удален.
  6. parusnik
    parusnik 7 октября 2020 18:07
    +3
    smile СНГ просто противовес ЕС, очередь в СНГ стоит...Из ЕС хотят выйти и в Содружество вступить...
    1. Reptiloid
      Reptiloid 7 октября 2020 21:13
      +1
      Цитата: parusnik
      smile СНГ просто противовес ЕС, очередь в СНГ стоит...Из ЕС хотят выйти и в Содружество вступить...

      Какие-то бывшие соцстраны уже в ЕС вызывают недовольство. Может не столько они хотят уйти laughing , сколько предполагают wassat , что исключат? Опасаются? Ручки-ножки трясутся от страха? Как думаете, Алексей?
      1. parusnik
        parusnik 8 октября 2020 06:19
        +4
        Хотели бы уйти, да не куда...хотя в СНГ вход свободный, только делать там нечего..В свое время члены и не члены СНГ, создали новый союз ГУАМ-Грузия,Украина,Азербайджан,Молдовия..Тож не работает..Как и СНГ..Чем ЕС отличается от СНГ, в ЕС ведущие экономики Европы Франция, Германия, подчинили остальные и остаются ведущими.А в СНГ, таких экономик нет.СНГ-Содружество Нищих Государств
        1. Reptiloid
          Reptiloid 8 октября 2020 07:59
          0
          ГУАМ! -----Абалдеть! Я и не знал.
          Жалко, конечно, что не выгоняЮт лимитрофов из ЕС. А то бы посмотреть, как риторика мелких изменится.
        2. Selevc
          Selevc 9 октября 2020 12:47
          0
          .В свое время члены и не члены СНГ, создали новый союз ГУАМ-Грузия,Украина,Азербайджан,Молдовия..
          Все очень просто !!! Странам-марионеткам принципиально не позволено свыше создавать союзы - а если и что-то там создают (ведут какую то бурную деятельность обычно с около-нулевым результатом) то это должно работать только когда нужно Хозяину !!! Гуам по ка не нужен Хозяину - поэтому это не работает !!!
  7. astepanov
    astepanov 7 октября 2020 18:32
    +8
    А еще в этом году незаметной прошла другая дата. Сто лет назад, в марте 1920 года, произошла Шушинская резня — массовые убийства армянского населения города Шуша (Нагорный Карабах), в результате которых погибло, по разным оценкам, от 500 до 30 тыс. армянских жителей города, была дотла сожжена и разрушена армянская часть города и изгнано всё армянское население. Город так и не восстановили, столицу Нагорного Карабаха перенесли в Степанакерт. Вот откуда тянутся корни взаимной ненависти. А позже были и убийства армян в Баку и Сумгаите, и гибель сотен азербайджанцев в армянской Ходжале... Печально. Боюсь, в случае взятия Степанакерта резня почти неизбежна.
    1. icant007
      icant007 8 октября 2020 06:42
      +1
      Цитата: astepanov
      А еще в этом году незаметной прошла другая дата. Сто лет назад, в марте 1920 года, произошла Шушинская резня — массовые убийства армянского населения города Шуша

      Да таких дат вагон и маленькая тележка.
      И в 1918 и в 1905-07.
      Причем с равным "успехом" убивали и армян и азербайджанцев.
      1. Ingenegr
        Ingenegr 9 октября 2020 12:55
        0
        Когда камень мести спущен с горы, его остановить практически невозможно
  8. alex51217
    alex51217 7 октября 2020 18:32
    -11
    Молодец Эльчибей! Настоящий патриот ,поставил интересы страны выше своей выгоды.Зауважал азербайджанцев.
  9. Комментарий был удален.
  10. alex51217
    alex51217 7 октября 2020 18:33
    -11
    Молодец Эльчибей! Настоящий патриот ,поставил интересы страны выше своей выгоды.Зауважал азербайджанцев.
  11. Кот_Кузя
    Кот_Кузя 7 октября 2020 23:18
    +5
    Ну конечно! Теперь мы должны дружно возненавидеть азеров и отправить погибать молодых русских и бурятских пацанов погибать ради интересов соросенка Пашиняна. Почему на фронт не едут те десятки тысяч армянских молодчиков, которые в 2018 г скакали за соросенка Пашиняна с русофобскими лозунгами? Когда было все нормально, то русские это "оккупанты", а как стало хреново, то сразу "Россия помоги!". Нет уж, сами, сами, всё сами.
    1. Selevc
      Selevc 9 октября 2020 12:52
      +1
      Цитата: Кот_Кузя
      Теперь мы должны дружно возненавидеть азеров и отправить погибать молодых русских и бурятских пацанов погибать ради интересов соросенка Пашиняна

      Вообще-то война пока ведется глубоко внутри территории Азербайджана !!! И все разговоры типа "Армения еле дышит !!!" или "Армения скоро падет !!!" - это просто работа агитпропа.... Господа - пока за всю войну на территорию собственно Армении ни упало не одного снаряда а ракеты и снаряды падают как раз в глубине территории Азербайджана !!! И что там будет потом - это как говорится вилами по воде писано !!!