Military Review

In the Polish press: Germans invest in old Marder infantry fighting vehicles

25

The German Bundestag has approved the purchase of new thermal imaging surveillance systems for Marder infantry fighting vehicles. Up to 244 pieces of equipment will be upgraded of this kind.


Writes about this Polish edition of Defense 24.

For 244 new thermal imaging systems for the Marder BMP, taking into account the installation and a set of spare parts, the German military department will pay about 27 million euros. This technique, which has been operated by the Bundeswehr since the early 70s, received such devices earlier, as part of planned upgrades. Today they are mainly used in the Marder 1A3 version and also partially in the Marder 1A5. Currently used devices of this class are outdated, so it became necessary to replace them.

This is another element of the process of improving German infantry fighting vehicles, implemented in recent years. In particular, earlier such BMPs received new communication systems. In addition, they were adapted for firing from the open hatch of the Spike / LR-LR2 ATGM instead of the outdated Milan anti-tank systems.

It is worth noting that the Germans are investing in the Marder BMP, despite the fact that the Bundeswehr should soon receive 350 new Puma infantry fighting vehicles. Berlin, it seems, came to the conclusion that the introduction of new technology simultaneously with the modernization of the existing one, which is soon planned to be removed from service, does not contradict logic in any way. Moreover, this is a prerequisite for the maintenance and gradual development of defense capabilities, because the Marder BMPs remain in service with the Bundeswehr until 2030.

This technique was created in the late 60s. In terms of the degree of security, it surpassed at the time of adoption all Western counterparts that existed at that time, and the high speed made it possible to use these BMPs together with tanks Leopard.
25 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Lesorub
    Lesorub 9 October 2020 16: 11 New
    10
    Berlin, it seems, came to the conclusion that the introduction of new technology simultaneously with the modernization of the existing one, which is soon planned to be removed from service, does not contradict logic in any way.

    The Germans, after withdrawing from service these BMPs, will always be able to sell them to the same NATO members, and modernization is the right step - the Poles can only write what the neighbors have there)
    1. Pereira
      Pereira 9 October 2020 16: 18 New
      +5
      They should stand in line until the Outskirts with the Romanians came running.
      1. Insurgent
        Insurgent 9 October 2020 16: 28 New
        +4
        In the Polish press: Germans invest in old Marder infantry fighting vehicles

        Somehow the Poles are looking rather intently (with jealousy or fear?) In the direction of the Bundeswehr ...
        Strange what ... As if sort of ally...
        1. Amin_vivec
          Amin_vivec 10 October 2020 09: 20 New
          0
          There were 244, they should have been replaced by 350 - an increase in combat capabilities of 43%
          And if 244 + 350 are quite combat-ready units, then this is already an increase of already 243%
          Such interesting mathematics, the Poles all the time tried to compete with the Germans, without much success, though)))
    2. Aaron Zawi
      Aaron Zawi 9 October 2020 17: 38 New
      +1
      27 million euros for Germany is not money. wink
      1. Crimean partisan 1974
        Crimean partisan 1974 10 October 2020 09: 24 New
        -1
        27 million euros for Germany is not money ......... prala. to fight alone with us in the next 100 years, Frau will not be compared. and under the leadership of the hozdep, if the war begins, then, in principle, a good car for looting supermarkets and gas stations in conditions of high radiation, and other looters will fight off robust enough ... in short, a bunch of burghers in the right direction
  2. Russ
    Russ 9 October 2020 16: 20 New
    +4
    The subtext is felt ... It would be better if the funds were transferred to the Poles ... free of charge, so to speak, i.e. for nothing ...
    They, in turn, have already found the best use for denyuzhk ... laughing
    You can't envy in silence ... wassat
  3. avdkrd
    avdkrd 9 October 2020 16: 22 New
    +9
    Marder is a serious car. The envy of Soviet motorized riflemen in the Western Group of Forces. In general, conceptually, the German approach to BMP, I personally like more domestic. Of course, the troops need floating vehicles, but to ensure buoyancy, all domestic infantry fighting vehicles sacrificed armor. Even Kurganets will not provide a level of protection to Marder, the potential for modernization of which is not limited to the thermal imager.
    1. Crimean partisan 1974
      Crimean partisan 1974 10 October 2020 09: 07 New
      0
      The envy of Soviet motorized riflemen in the Western Group of Forces. ....... this is from the category of nonsense ..... what would any technique be jealous of it is necessary to get acquainted with it in detail ... and if you please tell how motorized riflemen got acquainted with the muzzle ???
      but to ensure buoyancy All domestic infantry fighting vehicles sacrificed armor ..... they brought it right, the European theater of the DB is full of rivers and rivulets, while the 28-ton "muzzle" will wait for the pontoon park, then from the rear, unexpectedly, pehi may appear, and Now the question is for you ... to keep such a "protected" and highly armored chest like a "muzzle" shots from RPGs and portable ATGMs, well, and other anti-tank weapons? Even the ancient PTRD 14.5 mm 30 mm armor is like a knife in butter ... And there's also a trick in airmobility. our pehi can be stupidly delivered by helicopters just to the field, for a muzzle flight you only need a Hercules-type truck with an equipped airfield
      and now to practice in confirmation of the above .... "On the night of October 16, a very small Israeli detachment consisting of seven PT-76 tanks and eight BTR-50P crossed Bolshoye Gorkoye Lake at the junction of the 2nd and 3rd Egyptian armies and seized a bridgehead on the Egyptian coast. "..... and then the complete defeat of the Egyptians followed, and yes, that the PT-76, that the BTR-50 were essentially, as they say," cardboard "..... here you are amphibiousness
      1. avdkrd
        avdkrd 10 October 2020 10: 04 New
        +3
        Regarding the acquaintance, there was such a magazine Foreign Military Review, where all those interested got acquainted with the possibilities of the adversaries. There was a file in my company, in the break room.
        It is true that the ETVD is full of rivers, but BMPs by themselves cannot conduct combined arms combat. Are they going to fight many tanks? Tanks also need pontoons ...
        30mm armor is better than 13, which do not hold 7.62 from all angles, the frontal projection at Muzzle holds 30mm bps, and the sides and stern of the "ancient" ptr 14.5 mm (its design with such requirements).
        Regarding the capture of platzdarms, I agree, without floating equipment, such operations turn into a massacre, but all equipment of a tank (motorized rifle) regiment can only be transported by pontoons. For a hidden crossing, as in the case of the Israelites, you need amphibious equipment, and not BMP, but tanks. However, the bmp3's firepower at a high level of 1 and 2 is not even close. Your example confirms what I meant. The Israelis in the troops regularly have heavy infantry fighting vehicles, and they develop operations to seize platzdarms and sabotage according to needs.
        At the same time, the Kunitsa still has a huge modernization potential, including modular, hinged armor and weapon modules of any power. The bmp3, especially in the version with the front MTO, is a good car, but it is for the last war. The concept of application is the same as for 1,2, and there will be no breakthroughs to the Channel over the radioactive ruins of Europe. The possibilities are not the same. Marder is not the best BMP, but the concept itself, where motorized rifles have a higher level of protection, is better.
        1. Crimean partisan 1974
          Crimean partisan 1974 10 October 2020 11: 26 New
          -2
          where motorized riflemen have a higher level of protection, ...... you Andrey missed my question, I repeat .... ". hold such a" protected "and highly armored chest as a" muzzle "shots from RPGs and portable ATGMs, and of others anti-tank weapons? this is taking into account the fact that at the moment there is an incredible amount of them (anti-tank weapons) in local conflicts.
          Marder is not the best BMP, but the concept itself .... Andrey. the dead-end concept of the BMP is especially important at the moment, airmobility and amphibiousness are important, and firepower. what does this firepower have to be at least somehow covered by anything ... look at the placement of firepower on the Muzzle .... yes there will be enough Chinese firecrackers to disable
  4. silberwolf88
    silberwolf88 9 October 2020 16: 29 New
    0
    Modernization is a normal trend in the world ... especially since the BMP is quite successful for its time ... it is still useful now ...
  5. Tsoy
    Tsoy 9 October 2020 16: 30 New
    +2
    With regards to junk ...
    The other day in Taiwan, an m-41 walker bulldog crashed. Designed in 1946. Began to enter service with them in 1958. Yes, it was upgraded to the m-41d ​​version, but still. A total of 700 units were delivered.
    1. Jager
      Jager 9 October 2020 17: 31 New
      +1
      Recently there was a video where the broads from the ATGM T-34/85 were hit.
      1. Tsoy
        Tsoy 9 October 2020 17: 43 New
        +1
        Recently there was a video where the broads from the ATGM T-34/85 were hit.


        It would be cooler if from a faust cartridge or ptrd. ;)
        1. Jager
          Jager 9 October 2020 17: 47 New
          +1
          So the PTRD was actively used, and probably used in the Donbass)
          And in Syria, ZIS-3 are used.
          1. Tsoy
            Tsoy 10 October 2020 01: 06 New
            0
            So the PTRD was actively used, and probably used in the Donbass)
            And in Syria, ZIS-3 are used.


            And they say network-centric war ...

            There was such a fool in the DPR. Separatist rifle. 23 mm.

            https://iz.ru/706414/2018-02-09/v-dnr-ispytali-samuiu-krupnokalibernuiu-v-mire-snaiperskuiu-vintovku-separatist
  6. Egoza
    Egoza 9 October 2020 16: 43 New
    0
    sometimes "old" is much better than new designs.
  7. zwlad
    zwlad 9 October 2020 16: 56 New
    +4
    And to us "partners" and their sips from all the irons broadcast that our technique is outdated. And that the defense capability of the Russian Federation tends to zero.
    And then suddenly the technique of the 70s is still relevant. Oh how.
    1. strelokmira
      strelokmira 10 October 2020 17: 30 New
      0
      And then suddenly the technique of the 70s is still relevant. Oh how

      This technique, unlike the BMP-1/2, holds a large-caliber machine gun without any problems and protects paratroopers well when hitting a mine.
  8. Alien From
    Alien From 9 October 2020 18: 45 New
    +1
    So the gentlemen are pulling their nose into someone else's garden ...
  9. Maxwrx
    Maxwrx 9 October 2020 19: 07 New
    +1
    The marder had good protection, but now it is considered not enough. Declares 30mm forehead from 400 meters., 14,5 sides. 400 meters is too much. But there are more advanced guns and shells for them. Marder's 20mm cannon is rather weak.
    The cougar has a forehead up to 45mm, sides 30 mm, feed 14,5.
    So far, a lot of old technology will go to the marder, but the threats to it are increasing, so 10 years is an adequate service life. And a thermal imager is needed to get away from it faster when identifying a strong enemy.
  10. orionvitt
    orionvitt 10 October 2020 11: 26 New
    0
    Normal option. Russia is modernizing old BMPs, why shouldn't the Germans do the same. Moreover, no one will come up with anything fundamentally new in the near future.
  11. Lara Croft
    Lara Croft 11 October 2020 00: 28 New
    0
    We have learned how to modernize the BMP, the time of the XV ...
  12. Dmitry Makarov
    Dmitry Makarov 11 October 2020 03: 40 New
    0
    The Poles shudder at the strengthening of the Bundeswehr, and there is something.

Военное обозрение

В польской прессе: немцы вкладывают средства в старые БМП Marder

25

Бундестаг Германии одобрил покупку новых тепловизионных систем наблюдения для боевых машин пехоты Marder. Такого рода модернизацию пройдут до 244 единиц техники.


Об этом пишет польское издание Defence 24.

За 244 новые системы тепловизионного наблюдения для БМП Marder с учетом установки и комплекта запасных частей военное ведомство Германии заплатит около 27 миллионов евро. Эта техника, которая эксплуатируется бундесвером с начала 70-х годов, получала такие приборы и ранее, в рамках плановых модернизаций. Сегодня они в основном используются в версии Marder 1A3, а также частично в Marder 1A5. Используемые в настоящее время устройства этого класса устарели, поэтому появилась необходимость их замены.

Это еще один элемент процесса совершенствования немецких боевых машин пехоты, реализованный в последние годы. В частности, ранее такие БМП получали новые системы связи. Помимо этого, были адаптированы для стрельбы из открытого люка ПТУР Spike/LR-LR2 взамен устаревших противотанковых комплексов Milan.

Стоит отметить, что немцы вкладывают средства в БМП Marder несмотря на то, что бундесвер вскоре должен получить 350 единиц новых боевых машин пехоты Puma. Берлин, похоже, пришел к выводу, что ввод новой техники одновременно с модернизацией существующей, которую вскоре планируют снять с вооружения, никак не противоречит логике. Более того, это является необходимым условием для поддержания и постепенного развития обороноспособности, ведь БМП Marder остаются на вооружении бундесвера еще до 2030 года.

Эта техника была создана в конце 60-х годов. По степени защищенности она превосходила на момент принятия на вооружение все существующие тогда западные аналоги, а высокая скорость позволяла применять эти БМП вместе с танками Leopard.
25 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Lesorub
    Lesorub 9 октября 2020 16:11
    +10
    Берлин, похоже, пришел к выводу, что ввод новой техники одновременно с модернизацией существующей, которую вскоре планируют снять с вооружения, никак не противоречит логике.

    Немцы после снятия с вооружения данных БМП - всегда смогут их продать , тем же участникам по НАТО, а модернизация это правильный шаг - полякам остается только писать , что там у соседей )
    1. Перейра
      Перейра 9 октября 2020 16:18
      +5
      Им стоит в очередь становиться, пока окраинцы с румынами не набежали.
      1. Инсургент
        Инсургент 9 октября 2020 16:28
        +4
        В польской прессе: немцы вкладывают средства в старые БМП Marder

        Как-то поляки довольно пристально (с ревностью что-ли,или опаской ?) поглядывают в сторону Бундесвера...
        Странно what ... Как бы вроде союзник...
        1. Amin_Vivec
          Amin_Vivec 10 октября 2020 09:20
          0
          Было 244, им на смену должно было прийти 350 - рост боевых возможностей в 43%
          А если 244+350 вполне себе боеспособных единиц то это уже - рост уже в 243%
          Такая вот занятная математика, поляки все время пытались с немцами соревноваться, без особого успеха правда)))
    2. Арон Заави
      Арон Заави 9 октября 2020 17:38
      +1
      27млн евро для Германии это не деньги. wink
      1. Крымский партизан 1974
        Крымский партизан 1974 10 октября 2020 09:24
        -1
        27млн евро для Германии это не деньги.........пральна. воевать в одиночку с нами в ближайшие 100 лет фрау не уподобят. а под предводительством хоздепа ежели войнушка начнётся то в принципе хорошая машина для мародерства супермаркетов и заправок в условиях высокой радиации , да и от других мародеров нехило будет отбиваться.....короче кучка бюргерш в правильном направлении
  2. Русь
    Русь 9 октября 2020 16:20
    +4
    Чувствуется подтекст... Лучше бы средства полякам передали... безвозмездно так сказать, т.е. даром...
    Они- то в свою очередь уж лучшее применение денюжкам нашли... laughing
    Молча завидовать не получается.... wassat
  3. avdkrd
    avdkrd 9 октября 2020 16:22
    +9
    Мардер серьёзная машина. Предмет зависти советских мотострелков в ЗГВ. Вообще, концептуально немецкий подход к БМП, лично мне нравится больше отечественного. Безусловно в войсках нужны плавающие машины, но для обеспечения плавучести Все отечественные БМП принесли в жертву броню. Даже Курганец не обеспечит уровня защиты Мардер, потенциал по модернизации которой не исчерпывается тепловизором.
    1. Крымский партизан 1974
      Крымский партизан 1974 10 октября 2020 09:07
      0
      Предмет зависти советских мотострелков в ЗГВ. .......это из разряда глупостей.....что б какой либо технике завидовать надо с ней детально ознакомится...и извольте поведать каким образом мотострелки знакомились с мордой???
      но для обеспечения плавучести Все отечественные БМП принесли в жертву броню.....правильно принесли, европейский театр БД полон рек и речушек , пока 28-ми тонные "морды" будут ждать понтонный парк то с тыла нежданно не гадано могут появится пэхи , и теперь вопрос к тебе...удержить такой "защищённый" и высоко бронированный сундук как "морда" выстрелы от РПГ и переносных ПТРК, ну и других противотанковых средств? даже древнему ПТРД 14.5 мм 30 мм брони это как нож в масло...Да и ещё фишка в аэромобильности. наши пэхи можно вертолётами тупо доставлять просто в поле, для перелёта "морд" требуется только грузовик типа геркулес с оборудованным аэродромом
      а теперь к практике в подтверждение к выше указанному.... ."В ночь на 16 октября весьма малочисленный израильский отряд в составе семи танков ПТ-76 и восьми БТР-50П форсировал Большое Горькое озеро на стыке 2-й и 3-й египетских армий и захватил плацдарм на египетском берегу.".....а потом последовал полный разгром ебиптян, и да, что ПТ-76 что БТР-50 по сути были ,как говорят,"картонные".....вот тебе и амфибийность
      1. avdkrd
        avdkrd 10 октября 2020 10:04
        +3
        По поводу знакомства - был такой журнал Зарубежное Военное Обозрение, где все интересуещиеся знакомились с возможностями супостатов. У меня в роте, в комнате отдыха лежала подшивка.
        То, что ЕТВД полон рек, верно, но БМП сами по себе не могут вести общевойсковом бой. Много они против танков навоюют? А танкам так же нужны понтоны....
        30мм брони это лучше чем 13, которые 7.62 не со всех ракурсов держат, лобовая проекция у Морды держит 30мм бпс, а борта и корма "древний" птр 14.5 мм (её проектировании с такими требованиями).
        По поводу захвата платцдармов согласен, без плавающей техники такие операции превращаются в бойню, но Всю технику танкового(мотострелков ого) полка можно переправить только по понтонам. Для скрытой переправы, как в случае с изралитянами, нужна плавающая техника, причём не бмп, а танки. Впрочем у бмп3 огневая мощь на высоком уровне 1 и 2 даже близко не лежат. Ваш пример подтверждает, что я имел в виду. Изралетяне в войсках штатно имеют тяжёлые бмп, а операции по захвату платцдармов и диверсий разрабатывают по потребностям.
        У Куницы при этом остаётся огромный модернизационный потенциал, это и модульная, навесная броня иоружейные модули любой мощности. Бмп3, особенно в варианте с передним мто хорошая машина, но она для прошлой войны. Концепция применения такая же как и у 1,2, а прорывов к Ламаншу по радиоактивным руинам Европы уже не будет. Возможности уже не те. Мардер не лучшая бмп, но сама концепция, где мотострелки имеют более высокий уровень защиты, лучше.
        1. Крымский партизан 1974
          Крымский партизан 1974 10 октября 2020 11:26
          -2
          где мотострелки имеют более высокий уровень защиты, ......ты Андрей пропустил мой вопрос, повторюсь....".удержить такой "защищённый" и высоко бронированный сундук как "морда" выстрелы от РПГ и переносных ПТРК, ну и других противотанковых средств? это учитывая тот факт что на руках в локальных конфликтах их (противотанковых средств) на данный момент неимоверное количество..
          Мардер не лучшая бмп, но сама концепция....Андрей. тупиковая концепция БМП особо на данный момент, важна аэромобильность и амфибийность ну и огневая мощь. при чём эта огневая мощь должна быть хоть как то прикрыта чем ни будь...посмотри на размещение огневой мощи на Морде....да там китайской петарды хватит что б вывести из строя
  4. silberwolf88
    silberwolf88 9 октября 2020 16:29
    0
    Модернизация нормальный тренд в Мире ... тем более что БМП вполне себе удачная для своего времени ... она и сейчас пригодиться ...
  5. Цой
    Цой 9 октября 2020 16:30
    +2
    Касаемо старья...
    На днях на Тайване разбился м-41 walker bulldog. Спроектирован в 1946. Начал поступать к ним на вооружение в 1958 году. Да его модернизировали до версии м-41d но все же. Всего было поставленно 700 штук.
    1. Jager
      Jager 9 октября 2020 17:31
      +1
      Недавно видео было, где бабахи из ПТРК Т-34/85 подбили.
      1. Цой
        Цой 9 октября 2020 17:43
        +1
        Недавно видео было, где бабахи из ПТРК Т-34/85 подбили.


        Было бы круче если бы из фауст патрона или птрд. ;)
        1. Jager
          Jager 9 октября 2020 17:47
          +1
          Так ПТРД активно применяли, да наверное и применяют на Донбассе)
          А в Сирии ЗИС-3 используются.
          1. Цой
            Цой 10 октября 2020 01:06
            0
            Так ПТРД активно применяли, да наверное и применяют на Донбассе)
            А в Сирии ЗИС-3 используются.


            А говорят сетецентрическая война...

            В ДНР еще такая дура была. Винтовка сепаратист. 23-мм.

            https://iz.ru/706414/2018-02-09/v-dnr-ispytali-samuiu-krupnokalibernuiu-v-mire-snaiperskuiu-vintovku-separatist
  6. Егоза
    Егоза 9 октября 2020 16:43
    0
    иногда "старье" гораздо лучше новых образцов.
  7. zwlad
    zwlad 9 октября 2020 16:56
    +4
    А нам "партнеры" и их прихлебаи из всех утюгов вещают что наша техника устарела. И что обороноспособность РФ стремиться к нулю.
    А тут вдруг оказывается техника 70-тых годов еще актуальна. О как.
    1. strelokmira
      strelokmira 10 октября 2020 17:30
      0
      А тут вдруг оказывается техника 70-тых годов еще актуальна. О как

      Это техника в отличии от БМП-1/2 без проблем держит крупнокалиберный пулемет и неплохо защищает десантников при наезде на мину.
  8. Alien From
    Alien From 9 октября 2020 18:45
    +1
    Так и тянет панов свой нос в чужой огород сунуть...
  9. MaxWRX
    MaxWRX 9 октября 2020 19:07
    +1
    У мардера хорошая защита была, но сейчас считается не достаточно. Заявляет 30мм лоб с 400метров., 14,5 борта. 400 метров это многовато. А ведь появляются более совершенные пушки и снаряды к ним. 20мм пушка мардера слабовата.
    У пумы лоб до 45мм, борта 30 мм, корма 14,5.
    Пока много старой техники пойдет и мардер ,но угрозы для него увеличиваются, поэтому 10 лет адекватный срок службы. А тепловизор нужен чтобы при определении крепкого врага быстрее удирать от него.
  10. orionvitt
    orionvitt 10 октября 2020 11:26
    0
    Нормальный вариант. Россия модернизирует старые БМП, почему бы немцам, не делать то же самое. Тем более, что ничего принципиально нового, в ближайшее время, ни кто не придумает.
  11. Лара Крофт
    Лара Крофт 11 октября 2020 00:28
    0
    У нас научились модернизации БМП, времен ХВ...
  12. Дмитрий Макаров
    Дмитрий Макаров 11 октября 2020 03:40
    0
    Поляки с содроганием поглядывают на усиление Бундесвера, и есть от чего.