Military Review

"The purchase price of the F-18 and Rafale will rise to $ 17 billion": retired marshal believes that India "vitally needs the 3rd aircraft carrier"

24

An article by Marshal was published in the press aviation India retired, military analyst M. Mateswarana. It is dedicated to "the growing threat to India from China."


According to the retired marshal, it is necessary to develop the Indian fleet - to build submarines and aircraft carriers.

M. Matesvaran:

A third aircraft carrier is vital for us. This need is due to the fact that China is building up its aircraft carrier fleet.

Recall that Beijing plans to form an aircraft carrier fleet of six aircraft carriers. Moreover, five of them will be built in the coming years (one - "Shandong" - has already been built) in the People's Republic of China itself.

M. Matesvaran:

The high cost of aircraft carriers was a major factor in the lack of enthusiasm for such ships, as other defense projects also needed funds. It should be noted and a sharp rise in the cost of modernization of the aircraft carrier Vikramaditya, as a result of which its initial price increased from 974 million dollars to 2,35 billion dollars. Together with 45 MiG-29K aircraft and additional modifications, the total price is now somewhere between $ 6 and 7 billion.

According to the retired marshal, the cost of the Vikrant aircraft carrier after its full complement will be up to $ 11 billion.

Mateswaran recalled that the third aircraft carrier of the Indian Navy - Vishal - is still at the development stage.

Indian military expert:

Its approximate price will be $ 6-8 billion, and construction will take from 10 to 14 years. And if you try to consider the F-18 and Rafale fighters as its wing, then its price will rise to $ 16-17 billion.

Nevertheless, the retired marshal believes that it is necessary to build an aircraft carrier and buy aircraft at this price in order to maintain parity with China.
Photos used:
Indian Defense Ministry
24 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. aszzz888
    aszzz888 14 October 2020 07: 20
    +3
    Nevertheless, the retired marshal believes that it is necessary to build an aircraft carrier and buy aircraft at this price in order to maintain parity with China.
    This is the arms race, pure water.
    1. Sergey_G_M
      Sergey_G_M 14 October 2020 07: 25
      +1
      I will rephrase an old phrase
      "If you want to ruin the country - start building aircraft carriers"
      The Indian Ocean, in theory, the Indians can control without aircraft carriers by ground aircraft.
  2. Same lech
    Same lech 14 October 2020 07: 28
    0
    I would advise this marshal to focus on developing hypersonic missiles ... it's much cheaper and more efficient.
    A dozen of these missiles will nullify the Chinese advantage in the aircraft carrier class.
    1. donavi49
      donavi49 14 October 2020 08: 12
      +1
      This is only in words. As in fact, no one knows. It's like shock UAVs - it seems to carry 50-100 kg of combat load, according to flight characteristics it is worse than aircraft of the times of the Spanish civilian - you can shoot down with a stick, but practice shows something completely different.

      Plus, the aircraft carrier is extremely flexible in any case. A hypersonic missile is a single-task solution and there is a high probability that all the invested funds will not work out in any way (it will stand in the container until it is written off). Avik, on the other hand, can be driven from the first to the last day, squeezing out geopolitical dividends, or even fit in / start an offensive neo-colonial war, which is now in vogue.
      1. Same lech
        Same lech 14 October 2020 08: 18
        +6
        Avik can be driven from the first to the last day,

        You can, of course ... but in the event of its loss from a hyper-missile strike, the loss will be sensitive ... it's one thing to wage a small victorious war with the natives without risking anything, it is quite another thing to get hit by a dozen Zircons from a strong enemy in the bochin ... I do not believe in omnipotence AUG ... advertising is all for naive patriots.
        1. donavi49
          donavi49 14 October 2020 08: 22
          -1
          Well, you don't have to fight with a strong enemy. How many of the 195 world countries can be dragged into the sphere of influence / democratized / knocked out the preferences needed without risk? Here Avik can work off the money, but not the rocket. Moreover, if you score on other areas - invest only in missiles, then the enemy will certainly find a way to stop the threat. Since one wunderwaffe, and not a set of measures, can always be countered.

          And back in the late 19th century, everyone began building hundreds of boats with whitehead mines. The news was posted in the media = everything is Britashka, all the scrap metal from the shipyards is better immediately melted down. Any large ship is doomed in the area of ​​action of destroyers with self-propelled mines (torpedoes). As a result, large ships dominated for another 50 years and were replaced only by aviation.
          1. Same lech
            Same lech 14 October 2020 08: 25
            +1
            Moreover, if you score on other areas - invest only in missiles, then the enemy will certainly find a way to stop the threat. Since one wunderwaffe, and not a set of measures, can always be countered.

            Everything is so, but you need to take into account what kind of war you are going to wage with the enemy ... Blitzkrieg or a war to deplete the enemy's resources ... it is clear that you cannot build many aircraft carriers, this is a piece and expensive product and in the first hours of the Blitzkrieg it will be completely knocked out ... with missiles it is easier to rivet them in thousands.
            1. donavi49
              donavi49 14 October 2020 08: 37
              -3
              Or not knocked out. Well, that is - a rocket does not guarantee knocking out an enemy aircraft carrier. For example, he can operate outside the missile zone. And it hurts a lot. At the same time, all sorts of little things are missed, like - the AUG must still be detected, adjusted the carrier / ny.

              Just for example - how many P-15 did the Libyans let in? And how many did you get? 0. Although they have missiles (even now they use them). And there are coastal positions. And Europeans have become quite insolent at times.
      2. antivirus
        antivirus 14 October 2020 08: 26
        -1
        I'm in printsYpe against aircraft carriers - I'm waiting for cons.
        India already has white elephants - why else a \ n?
        everything should be proportional - no distortions.
        ? to fight for Indonesia or for the Seychelles is going to a Hindu?
        1. Cyril G ...
          Cyril G ... 14 October 2020 08: 41
          -1
          India is the third country (after the United States and Britain) with a positive experience of using AB in the period after WWII. Our recent experience cannot be called positive. The admirals made a form of disgrace.
        2. Doccor18
          Doccor18 14 October 2020 09: 17
          -1
          ... a Hindu is going to fight for Indonesia or for the Seychelles?

          For Sri Lanka, the Nicobar and Andaman Islands, so that the Chinese do not build their bases there. In 20 years the PRC will have such a combat fleet that it can, if desired, strike at Hindu maritime isolation. The Indian fleet is inferior to the Chinese in almost all respects, not counting the Brahmos and the Russian leased nuclear submarine.
          Maybe it's not so unreasonable to have 3 aircraft carriers with imported fighters in the Indian fleet ...
      3. Cyril G ...
        Cyril G ... 14 October 2020 08: 38
        +2
        Quote: donavi49
        but practice shows something completely different.


        If the enemy does not have air defense. Please do not forget. 23-25 ​​Turkish Mal-class UAVs of the Bayraktar and Anka types were lost in the fighting in Libya and Syria. Yes, before the heap there is still a horde of Wing Longs belonging to the LNA. Hope you're not a local professor to deny reality?
        1. donavi49
          donavi49 14 October 2020 08: 47
          -2
          Well, that's good! UAVs go astray, but at the same time they wreak havoc, gnaw through gaps, and knock out the most important targets. Yes, many die - but that's okay.

          As for the air defense - we now see a picture of an enemy stumbling without air defense capable of resistance. Azerbaijan is trying to somehow stimulate the NKR to shoot, letting An-2 on to identify the positions of the air defense, so that they can then equalize.

          However, the presence of air defense also makes its way - in practice in Syria and on boards. How? Hordes of barrage ammunition are launched, which demolish an air defense position, even the most echeloned one. In theory, even Khimki can be made equal if you select ~ 200 Harop in a wave. The air defense will simply be oversaturated and that's it.

          For an industrialized country, there is no problem to rivet these ammunition / UAVs in the hundreds. And this is certainly cheaper than riveting airplanes and training pilots.

          And ahead, it is in this technology that even greater advantages are opening up:
          - miniaturization, a drone the size of a sparrow - which one with a directional charge and a 30-40 km range? Soon.
          - elements of group intelligence and autonomous work. The drone wave acquires target signatures (or selects them, distributes and attacks them). EW is finally everything. Because there is no communication with the command center and is not needed, the cars do all the work themselves. This is also a technology that is actively developing and samples will appear soon.
        2. donavi49
          donavi49 14 October 2020 09: 14
          -2
          And in order not to get up 2 times, here Dambiev has just a fresh Chinese wunderwolf by UAV Swarm. 48 kamikaze drones on a mobile platform.





          40-60 minutes of flight for each. This is generally in the class of the American Switchblade 600.
          1. antivirus
            antivirus 14 October 2020 12: 53
            0
            we have an answer, ALREADY - it is necessary to supplement it with the installation of a monument to Beria and Kurchatov - so far, nuclear weapons guarantee that something?
    2. Andrei from Chelyabinsk
      Andrei from Chelyabinsk 15 October 2020 09: 46
      +2
      Quote: The same LYOKHA
      A dozen of these missiles will nullify the Chinese advantage in the aircraft carrier class.

      How we love the wunderwaffe :))) More even than Hitler at the end of World War II.
  3. Pastor
    Pastor 14 October 2020 07: 59
    +3
    What difference does it make how to get money from India ?! Now they are hooked on the defense industry, creating several conflicts around the perimeter. This is Pakistan, and China, and they have enough of their own separatists. So they spend easy money. The Saudis, too, were doing well with the army at the parades. There are still a couple of components missing for a capable army.
  4. rocket757
    rocket757 14 October 2020 08: 34
    +2
    Marshals, even retired ones, are "supposed" to drown for militarization ..... although some, suddenly, start to think about peace.
  5. Catfish
    Catfish 14 October 2020 09: 13
    +1
    ... building (an aircraft carrier) will take 10 to 14 years.


    And how many aircraft carriers have the Chinese riveted during this time? laughing On parity ... good
  6. rotmistr60
    rotmistr60 14 October 2020 09: 23
    0
    at this price, it is necessary to build an aircraft carrier and purchase aviation in order to maintain parity with China
    Catch up and overtake, so what? Interestingly, will set up the aircraft carriers, and then both aircraft carrier groups will meet in the ocean to strike at each other? Build, catch up with this your own business, but who will separate you later? Some questions.
  7. TermNachTer
    TermNachTer 14 October 2020 11: 57
    0
    Judging by the photo on the screensaver, the retired marshal was not driven by a weak "cutlet" from London. Britons are now just looking for someone to "sell" "Prince"))))
  8. yehat2
    yehat2 14 October 2020 16: 47
    0
    Nevertheless, the retired marshal believes that it is necessary to build an aircraft carrier and buy aircraft at this price in order to maintain parity with China.

    for there to be an adequate response to China, it is urgent to develop and build a new generation of corvettes / destroyers plus a new generation of universal nuclear submarines. And these are not so much the ships themselves as the filling - well, at least, we gave the Indians a strike missile, but with anti-aircraft and other filling they are not ice. And competing with China in aircraft carriers is simply stupid. To do this, you must first tackle the planned economy.
    Now India and China can win only in a dispute over the best paint for sailors' uniforms.
  9. Dimon Dimonov_2
    Dimon Dimonov_2 14 October 2020 16: 47
    -2
    Missiles will be stocked up and mustache ... better black holes with calibers of 2500 km.
  10. Andrei from Chelyabinsk
    Andrei from Chelyabinsk 15 October 2020 09: 44
    +2
    I read the comments and laughed. It's okay not to trust your sailors, it's in our blood that "there is no prophet in his own country." So now we also teach the Indians: and they, generally speaking, have been engaged in carrier-based aircraft for a long time and have gained considerable experience in order to understand whether they need it or not.

Военное обозрение

«Цена при покупке F-18 и Rafale вырастет до 17 млрд долларов»: отставной маршал считает, что Индии «жизненно необходим 3-й авианосец»

24

В прессе вышла статья маршала авиации Индии в отставке, военного аналитика М.Матесварана. Посвящена она «растущей угрозе в отношении Индии со стороны Китая».


По словам отставного маршала, необходимо развивать индийский флот – строить подводные лодки и авианосцы.

М.Матесваран:

Нам жизненно необходим третий авианосец. Эта необходимость обусловлена тем, что Китай наращивает свой авианосный флот.

Напомним, что в планах у Пекина - формирование авианосного флота из шести авианосцев. При этом пять их них в ближайшие годы будут построены (один – «Шаньдун» - уже построен) в самой Китайской Народной Республике.

М.Матесваран:

Высокая стоимость авианосцев была основным фактором отсутствия энтузиазма в отношении таких кораблей, поскольку другие оборонные проекты также нуждались в средствах. Нужно отметить и резкий рост стоимости модернизации авианосца Vikramaditya, в результате чего его первоначальная цена выросла с 974 миллионов долларов до 2,35 миллиардов долларов. Вместе с 45 самолетами МиГ-29К и дополнительными модификациями общая цена сейчас находится где-то между 6 и 7 миллиардами долларов.

По словам отставного маршала, стоимость авианосца «Викрант» после его полного укомплектования будет составлять до 11 млрд долларов.

Матесваран напомнил, что третий авианосец ВМС Индии – «Вишал» - пока находится на стадии разработки.

Индийский военный эксперт:

Ориентировочная его цена составит 6-8 млрд долларов, а строительство займёт от 10 до 14 лет. А если попытаться рассматривать в качестве его авиакрыла истребители F-18 и Rafale, то его цена поднимется до 16-17 млрд долларов.

Тем не менее, отставной маршал считает, что и по такой цене строить авианосец и закупать авиацию необходимо, чтобы удерживать паритет с Китаем.
Использованы фотографии:
Минобороны Индии
24 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. a.s.zzz888
    a.s.zzz888 14 октября 2020 07:20
    +3
    Тем не менее, отставной маршал считает, что и по такой цене строить авианосец и закупать авиацию необходимо, чтобы удерживать паритет с Китаем.
    Вот она и гонка вооружений, чистой воды.
    1. Sergey_G_M
      Sergey_G_M 14 октября 2020 07:25
      +1
      Перефразирую старую фразу
      "Хочешь разорить страну - начни строить авианосцы"
      Индийский океан по идее индусы могут контролировать и без авианосцев наземной авиацией.
  2. Тот же ЛЕХА
    Тот же ЛЕХА 14 октября 2020 07:28
    0
    Я бы посоветовал бы этому маршалу сосредоточить усилия на разработке гиперзвуковых ракет...это гораздо дешевле и эффективней.
    Десяток таких ракет обнулят преимущество китайцев в классе авианосцев.
    1. donavi49
      donavi49 14 октября 2020 08:12
      +1
      Это только на словах. Как на деле никто не знает. Это как ударные БПЛА - вроде везет 50-100кг боевой нагрузки, по ЛТХ хуже самолетов времен испанской гражданской - сбить палкой можно, а вот практика показывает совсем иное.

      Плюс, авианосец в любом случае крайне гибок в применении. Гиперзвуковая ракета - это однозадачное решение и высока вероятность, что все вложенные средства никак не отработают (простоит в контейнере до списания). Авик же можно гонять от первого до последнего дня, выжимая геополитические дивиденды, а то и вписаться/затеять наступательную неоколониальную войнушку, которая сейчас в моде.
      1. Тот же ЛЕХА
        Тот же ЛЕХА 14 октября 2020 08:18
        +6
        Авик же можно гонять от первого до последнего дня,

        Можно конечно...но в случае его потери от удара гиперракет потеря будет чуствительная...одно дело вести маленькую победоносную войну с аборигенами ничем не рискуя совсем другое дело получить в бочину от сильного противника удар десятка Цирконов...не верю я во всемогущество АУГ...реклама все это для наивных патриотов.
        1. donavi49
          donavi49 14 октября 2020 08:22
          -1
          Ну так с сильным противником можно не воевать. Сколько из 195 мировых стран можно затащить в сферу влияния/задемократизировать/выбить преференции нужные без риска? Вот авик может отрабатывать деньги, а ракеты нет. Притом, если забить на остальные сферы - вложится лишь в ракеты, то противник обязательно найдет способ купирования угрозы. Так как одну вундервафлю, а не комплекс мер, всегда можно законтрить.

          И еще в конце 19 века, все начали строить сотнями катера с минами уайтхеда. В СМИ постили новости = Бриташка все, весь металлолом с верфей лучше сразу в переплавку. Любой крупный корабль обречен в зоне действия миноносок с самоходными минами (торпедами). Итог - крупные корабли доминировали еще 50 лет и вытеснила их лишь авиация.
          1. Тот же ЛЕХА
            Тот же ЛЕХА 14 октября 2020 08:25
            +1
            Притом, если забить на остальные сферы - вложится лишь в ракеты, то противник обязательно найдет способ купирования угрозы. Так как одну вундервафлю, а не комплекс мер, всегда можно законтрить.

            Все так но надо учитывать какую войну вы собираетесь вести с противником ...Блицкриг или войну на истощение ресурсов у противника...понятно что авианосцев много не построишь это товар штучный и дорогой и в первые часы Блицкрига будет выбит полностью...с ракетами проще их можно клепать тысячами.
            1. donavi49
              donavi49 14 октября 2020 08:37
              -3
              Или не выбит. Ну то есть - ракета не гарантирует выбивание авианосца противника. Он например может действовать вне зоне ракет. И очень больно. При этом, упускаются всякие мелочи вроде - АУГ надо еще засечь, подогнать носитель/пу.

              Просто к примеру - сколько П-15 Ливийцы пустили? И сколько попали? 0. Хотя ракеты у них есть (даже сейчас применяют). И береговые позиции есть. И европейцы уж наглели совсем порой.
      2. антивирус
        антивирус 14 октября 2020 08:26
        -1
        я в принцЫпе против авианосцев --жду минусы.
        в Индии уже есть белые слоны --зачем еще а\н?
        все должно быть пропорционально --без перекосов.
        ?воевать за Индонезию или за Сейшелы собироается индус?
        1. Кирилл Г...
          Кирилл Г... 14 октября 2020 08:41
          -1
          Индия это третья страна (после США и Британии) имеющая положительный опыт приминения АВ в период после ВМВ. Наш опыт недавний положительным назвать нельзя. Адмиралы устроили форменное позорище.
        2. Doccor18
          Doccor18 14 октября 2020 09:17
          -1
          ...воевать за Индонезию или за Сейшелы собироается индус?

          За Шри-Ланку, Никобарские и Андаманские острова, чтобы китайцы там своих баз не понастроили.. КНР лет через 20 будет такой боевой флот иметь, что сможет, при желании, замахнуться и на индусскую морскую изоляцию. Индийский флот почти по всем показателям уступает китайскому, не считая Брамосов и арендной АПЛ РФ.
          Может быть, не так уж неразумна идея иметь 3 авианосца с импортными истребителями в составе флота Индии...
      3. Кирилл Г...
        Кирилл Г... 14 октября 2020 08:38
        +2
        Цитата: donavi49
        а вот практика показывает совсем иное.


        ПРи отсутствии у противника ПВО. Не забывайте пожалста. 23-25 турецких БПЛА Маle-класс типа Байрактар и Анка было потеряно в боевых действиях в Ливии и Сирии. Да до кучи еще орда Винг Лонгов принадлежавших ЛНА. НАдеюсь вы не местный профессор чтобы отрицать реальность?
        1. donavi49
          donavi49 14 октября 2020 08:47
          -2
          Ну так это же хорошо! БПЛА сбиваются, но попутно устраивают хаос, прогрызают бреши, обеспечивают выбивание самых важных целей. Да многие гибнут - но это нормально.

          Насчет ПВО - мы сейчас видим картинку запинывания противника без ПВО способного на сопротивление. Азербайджан вон пытается хоть как-то стимулировать НКР пострелять, пуская Ан-2 на выявление позиций ПВО, чтобы их потом сравнять.

          Однако наличие ПВО тоже пробивается - на практике в Сирии и на досках. Как? Запускаются орды баражирующих боеприпасов, которые сносят позицию ПВО, даже самую эшелонируемую. В теории даже Химки можно сравнять, если выделить ~200 Харопов в волну. ПВО просто перенасытится и все.

          Для индустриальной страны нет проблем поточно клепать эти боеприпасы/БПЛА сотнями. И это уж точно дешевле, чем клепать самолеты и готовить пилотов.

          А впереди именно в этой технологии открываются еще большие преимущества:
          - миниатюризация, дрон размером с воробья - который с направленным зарядом и 30-40 км дальности? Скоро.
          - элементы группового интеллекта и автономной работы. Волна дронов получает сигнатуры целей (или сама их выделяет, распределяет и атакует). РЭБ тут окончательно все. Ибо связи с командным центром нет и не нужно, машинки сами делают всю работу. Это тоже технология которая активно развивается и скоро уже появятся образцы.
        2. donavi49
          donavi49 14 октября 2020 09:14
          -2
          И чтобы 2 раза не вставать, вот у Дамбиева как раз свежая китайская вундервафля по UAV Swarm. 48 дронов камикадзе на подвижной платформе.





          40-60 минут полета у каждого. Это в целом в классе американского Switchblade 600.
          1. антивирус
            антивирус 14 октября 2020 12:53
            0
            у нас есть ответ, УЖЕ--надо дополнить его установкой памятника Берии и Курчатову -- ЯО пока гарантирует, что то?
    2. Андрей из Челябинска
      Андрей из Челябинска 15 октября 2020 09:46
      +2
      Цитата: Тот же ЛЕХА
      Десяток таких ракет обнулят преимущество китайцев в классе авианосцев.

      Как же мы любим вундерваффе:))) Больше даже, чем Гитлер под конец второй мировой.
  3. Pastor
    Pastor 14 октября 2020 07:59
    +3
    Какая разница, как из Индии качать деньги?! Сейчас их подсадили на оборонку, создав по периметру несколько конфликтов. Это и Пакистан, И Китай, да и своих сепаратистов у них хватает. Вот и тратят шальные деньги. У Саудитов тоже с армией все хорошо на парадах было. Здесь еще пары компонентов для дееспособной армии не хватает.
  4. rocket757
    rocket757 14 октября 2020 08:34
    +2
    Маршалам, даже отставным, "положено" за милитаризацию топить ..... хотя некоторые, вдруг, о мире начинают задумываться.
  5. Морской Кот
    Морской Кот 14 октября 2020 09:13
    +1
    ... строительство (авианосца) займёт от 10 до 14 лет.


    А сколько авианосцев за это время наклепают китайцы? laughing Во паритет буде... good
  6. rotmistr60
    rotmistr60 14 октября 2020 09:23
    0
    по такой цене строить авианосец и закупать авиацию необходимо, чтобы удерживать паритет с Китаем
    Догоним и перегони, так что ли? Интересно, настроят авианосцев, а потом обе авианосные группы встретятся в океане для нанесения ударов друг по другу? Стройте, догоняйте это ваше личное дело, а вот кто вас потом разнимать будет? Одни вопросы.
  7. ТермиНахТер
    ТермиНахТер 14 октября 2020 11:57
    0
    Судя по фото на заставке, отставному маршалу заехала не слабая "котлета" из Лондона. Бритты сейчас как раз ищут, кому бы "впарить" "Принца"))))
  8. yehat2
    yehat2 14 октября 2020 16:47
    0
    Тем не менее, отставной маршал считает, что и по такой цене строить авианосец и закупать авиацию необходимо, чтобы удерживать паритет с Китаем

    чтобы был адекватный ответ Китаю, нужно срочно разрабатывать и строить новое поколение корветов/эсминцев плюс новое поколение универсальных НАПЛ. И это не столько сами корабли, сколько начинка - ну худо-бедно, мы индийцам ударную ракету дали, но с зенитными и другой начинкой у них всё не айс. А соревноваться с Китаем в авианосцах просто глупо. Для этого надо сначала заняться плановой экономикой.
    Сейчас Индия с Китаем может победить только в споре на лучшую краску для формы моряков.
  9. Димон Димонов_2
    Димон Димонов_2 14 октября 2020 16:47
    -2
    Ракетами затарится и усе ...лучше черные дыры с калибрами на 2500 км .
  10. Андрей из Челябинска
    Андрей из Челябинска 15 октября 2020 09:44
    +2
    Почитал комментарии, посмеялся. Ладно своим морякам не доверять, это у нас в крови, что мол "нет пророка в своем отечестве". Так теперь еще и индусов учим: а они, вообще говоря, палубной авиацией занимаются довольно давно и опыт приобрели немалый, чтобы понимать, нужна она им, или нет.