Military Review

Richard Moore, the new chief of MI6

18

The biography of the new chief of SIS, Richard Peter Moore, interested me as a biography of a civil servant who spent most of his life in the East, which means I have a dossier of an intellectual and a kindred spirit in front of me.


Even Richard Moore was born in the Arab East, namely in Tripoli, the capital of Libya, on May 9, 1963 in the family of John Robert and Patricia Moore. Parents were able to give their son an excellent education: Richard first graduated from St. George at Weybridge, and then studied social studies at Worcester College, Oxford University, after which he was awarded the. J. Kennedy to study at the School of Public Service. J. Kennedy of Harvard University.


The photographs show a characteristic gesture for Richard Moore

At 24, Richard, being a highly educated young man, entered the civil service: he became an employee of SIS. Later he will take leading positions there. But before that there was work in the East: in 1988, Moore worked under diplomatic cover in Vietnam, in 1990-1992. - in Turkey, in 1992-1995. - in Iran, 1995-1998 - in Pakistan, in 2001-2005. - in Malaysia.

In 2005-2012 Moore worked in the Foreign Ministry system, including serving as Deputy Director for the Middle East in 2005-2008. and the position of Director for Europe, Latin America and Globalization 2010-2012.

From January 2014 to December 2017, Moore served as the British Ambassador to Turkey. One of the reasons for Moore's appointment as ambassador to Ankara was his knowledge of the Turkish language.

In 2018, Moore managed to visit the deputy national security adviser to the Cabinet of Ministers, and in April of the same year he was appointed Director General for Political Affairs of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, that is, the political director of the named department. He was in this position until his last appointment.

Back on July 28 of this year. it was announced that Moore would take over as chief of MI6 in the fall. This is what happened on October 1: Foreign Secretary Dominic Raab appointed Richard Moore with the consent of Prime Minister Boris Johnson. As Chief of SIS, Moore succeeded Sir Alex Younger, who had successfully served in that capacity for about six years. The former head of MI6 welcomed the appointment. Sir John Sawers, Younger's immediate predecessor in the position in question, was more expansive: “I have known Richard for many years. He is calm, charming, thoughtful and courageous. " He also noted that Moore has an ideal experience that combines participation in intelligence operations and work in leadership positions in diplomacy and shaping the political course of the state. Moore himself did not hide his joy: "I am glad and it is a great honor for me to receive an offer to return and lead my service."

It is noteworthy that Moore is of Irish descent. This fact makes his latest appointment particularly interesting, as it was recently revealed that he is the grandson of Jack Buckley, an IRA fighter who served during the Irish War of Independence. Moore is not shy about his Irish roots. He once told a Turkish newspaper that he was "of Irish descent" and that his grandfather received a medal for fighting against British rule in Ireland. “My grandfather fought against the British government in the separatist Irish Republican Army from 1916 to 1922,” Moore said. - He received a medal from the President of Ireland. Now I am the British government ambassador. " By the way, Richard Moore himself is a Knight of the British Most Outstanding Order of Saints Michael and George.

Richard Moore is married, married to Margaret Patricia Isabelle, two children were born - a son and a daughter.

Richard Moore, the new chief of MI6
Author:
18 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Evil543
    Evil543 20 October 2020 10: 07
    +1
    recourse Should we be happy or sad?
    1. Stasi
      Stasi 20 October 2020 10: 24
      +4
      Back on July 28 of this year. it was announced that Moore would take over as chief of MI6 in the fall. This is what happened on October 1: Foreign Secretary Dominic Raab appointed Richard Moore with the consent of Prime Minister Boris Johnson.


      They say that right off the bat, practically after taking office, he met with the Zelya agent, and cut the circle of tasks for him.
      It is clear what kind and against whom they are directed.

      Active lord yes
      1. Stasi
        Stasi 20 October 2020 10: 27
        +1
        “My grandfather fought against the British government in the separatist Irish Republican Army from 1916 to 1922,” Moore said. - He received a medal from the President of Ireland. Now I am the British government ambassador. "


        Grandfather - alive and cursing, or is he turning over in his grave?
      2. tihonmarine
        tihonmarine 20 October 2020 11: 14
        -2
        Quote: Stasi
        met with the agent "Zelya", and cut that circle of tasks.

        Zelya is a valuable agent if he was presented before the eyes, not of an overseas owner, but before the eyes of the "Big Master" himself.
    2. bober1982
      bober1982 20 October 2020 10: 26
      -2
      Quote: Evil543
      Should we be happy or sad?

      He looks like a clown, a funny dude, but this is so - at first glance.
    3. tihonmarine
      tihonmarine 20 October 2020 11: 10
      +2
      Quote: Evil543
      Should we be happy or sad?

      We have never had any joys from the British, but we have sorrows throughout the history of Russia.
    4. Crabong
      Crabong 26 October 2020 15: 38
      0
      You definitely shouldn't be happy.
  2. Asad
    Asad 20 October 2020 10: 09
    +1
    Well appointed? To be happy for an intellectual, as an author? News for the GRU? Not news to them!
  3. KVU-NSVD
    KVU-NSVD 20 October 2020 10: 31
    +1
    And what's the news about. More like a portfolios or "brief about myself" from a questionnaire. Such an entire waffle cone with roots in the intelligence community. Tipok is not simple, but there is nothing more to say about him. It is unlikely to last long.
  4. demo
    demo 20 October 2020 11: 04
    -3
    Sometimes it seems to me that the Lord God to us, Russians, seems to be giving hints that can help us in the future, but, or is it hinting too transparently, or are we so stupid?
    After all, in 1988, could a bastard drown in any Vietnamese puddle? I could! He didn't drown.
    And in Tripoli, he could have disappeared from the Bedouins in the desert? Didn't disappear.
    And could the British castrate or castrate his grandfather? We could, but did not!
    What nonsense!
  5. Olddetractor
    Olddetractor 20 October 2020 11: 24
    0
    The photographs show a characteristic gesture for Richard Moore

    Is he a lover of tall women?
  6. TermNachTer
    TermNachTer 20 October 2020 13: 17
    +2
    The author amused))) career intelligence officer, diplomat - orientalist. So who is he? Scout or intelligence diplomat? A full-time intelligence officer is an ambassador to Turkey, how can this be? Who "pulls" up such a diversely gifted young man?))))
    1. Knizhnik
      Knizhnik 21 October 2020 08: 37
      0
      Mi6 is structurally part of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs
  7. Old26
    Old26 20 October 2020 15: 02
    +5
    Quote: TermNachTER
    The author amused))) career intelligence officer, diplomat - orientalist. So who is he? Scout or intelligence diplomat? A full-time intelligence officer is an ambassador to Turkey, how can this be? Who "pulls" up such a diversely gifted young man?))))

    Judging by your remark, you hear the expression "career scout" for the first time. And this is usually the name for all diplomats working in embassies in official positions. And the British do not change their traditions of appointing professional intelligence officers to the position of the head of Intelligence Service
    1. TermNachTer
      TermNachTer 21 October 2020 09: 04
      -1
      I have heard this expression, as has a career diplomat. The first time I heard that this is the same thing))))
  8. iouris
    iouris 20 October 2020 22: 09
    0
    By the way, this Moore is a great (personal) friend of Erdogan (and Aliyev). Well I said: the Englishwoman crap! And they gave me cons ...
  9. Knizhnik
    Knizhnik 21 October 2020 08: 30
    0
    It is strange that the author mentioned a "characteristic gesture", but managed not to write anything more about it
  10. 1536
    1536 24 October 2020 07: 29
    +1
    You need to know your enemies.

Военное обозрение

Ричард Мур, новый начальник MI6

18

Биография нового начальника SIS Ричарда Питера Мура заинтересовала меня как биография государственного служащего, который большую часть жизни провел на Востоке, а значит, передо мной досье интеллектуала и родственной души.


Даже родился Ричард Мур на арабском Востоке, а именно в Триполи, столице Ливии, 9 мая 1963 г. в семье Джона Роберта и Патриции Мур. Родители смогли дать сыну превосходное образование: Ричард сначала окончил Колледж св. Георга в Вейбридже, а потом изучал общественные дисциплины в Вустер-колледже Оксфордского университета, по окончании которого был удостоен Премии им. Дж. Кеннеди для учебы в Школе государственной службы им. Дж. Кеннеди Гарвардского университета.


На фотографиях виден характерный для Ричарда Мура жест

В 24 года Ричард, будучи высокообразованным молодым человеком, поступил на государственную службу: стал сотрудником SIS. Позднее он займёт там руководящие позиции. Но прежде предстояла работа на Востоке: в 1988 г. Мур работал под дипломатическим прикрытием во Вьетнаме, в 1990–1992 гг. – в Турции, в 1992–1995 гг. – в Иране, в 1995–1998 гг. – в Пакистане, в 2001–2005 гг. – в Малайзии.

В 2005–2012 гг. Мур работал в системе МИДа, в том числе занимая должность заместителя директора по вопросам Ближнего Востока в 2005–2008 гг. и должность директора по делам Европы, Латинской Америки и глобализации в 2010–2012 гг.

С января 2014 по декабрь 2017 г. Мур являлся послом Великобритании в Турции. Одной из причин назначения Мура послом именно в Анкару было владение им турецким языком.

В 2018 г. Мур успел побывать заместителем советника по национальной безопасности кабинета министров, а уже в апреле того же года был назначен генеральным директором по политическим вопросам МИДа, то есть политическим директором названного ведомства. В этой должности он находился до своего последнего назначения.

Еще 28 июля с.г. было объявлено, что Мур осенью займет должность начальника МI6. Это и произошло 1 октября: министр иностранных дел Доминик Рааб назначил Ричарда Мура с согласия премьер-министра Бориса Джонсона. На посту начальника SIS Мур сменил сэра Алекса Янгера, успешно прослужившего в этом качестве около шести лет. Бывший глава МI6 приветствовал это назначение. Сэр Джон Соэрс, непосредственный предшественник Янгера на рассматриваемой должности, был более пространен: «Я знаю Ричарда много лет. Он спокойный, обаятельный, вдумчивый и смелый». Также он отметил, что Мур обладает идеальным опытом, в котором сочетаются участие в разведывательных операциях и работа на руководящих должностях в дипломатии и формировании политического курса государства. Сам Мур не скрывал своей радости: «Я рад и для меня большая честь получить предложение вернуться и возглавить мою службу».

Примечательно, что Мур имеет ирландское происхождение. Это обстоятельство делает его последнее назначение особенно интересным, поскольку недавно выяснилось, что он является внуком Джека Бакли, бойца ИРА, который служил во время войны за независимость Ирландии. Мур не стесняется своих ирландских корней. Однажды он рассказал турецкому изданию, что он «ирландского происхождения» и что его дед получил медаль за борьбу против британского правления в Ирландии. «Мой дед воевал против британского правительства в сепаратистской Ирландской республиканской армии с 1916 по 1922 год, – сказал Мур. – Он получил медаль от президента Ирландии. Теперь я посол британского правительства». Кстати, сам Ричард Мур является кавалером британского Наиболее выдающегося ордена Святых Михаила и Георгия.

Ричард Мур женат, в браке с Маргарет Патрицией Изабель родились двое детей – сын и дочь.

Ричард Мур, новый начальник MI6
Автор:
18 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Злой543
    Злой543 20 октября 2020 10:07 Новый
    +1
    recourse радоваться нам или печалиться?
    1. Stasi
      Stasi 20 октября 2020 10:24 Новый
      +4
      Еще 28 июля с.г. было объявлено, что Мур осенью займет должность начальника МI6. Это и произошло 1 октября: министр иностранных дел Доминик Рааб назначил Ричарда Мура с согласия премьер-министра Бориса Джонсона.


      Говорят,что с ходу, практически по вступлению в должность, встретился с агентом "Зеля" , и нарезал тому круг задач.
      Ясно какого толка, и против кого направленных.

      Деятельный господин yes
      1. Stasi
        Stasi 20 октября 2020 10:27 Новый
        +1
        «Мой дед воевал против британского правительства в сепаратистской Ирландской республиканской армии с 1916 по 1922 год, – сказал Мур. – Он получил медаль от президента Ирландии. Теперь я посол британского правительства».


        Дед - жив,и проклинает, или в гробу переворачивается ?
      2. tihonmarine
        tihonmarine 20 октября 2020 11:14 Новый
        -2
        Цитата: Stasi
        встретился с агентом "Зеля" , и нарезал тому круг задач.

        Зеля ценный агент, если его представили пред очами, не заморского хозяина, а перед очами самого "Большого хозяина".
    2. bober1982
      bober1982 20 октября 2020 10:26 Новый
      -2
      Цитата: Злой543
      радоваться нам или печалиться?

      На клоуна похож,весёлый чувак,но это,так - на первый взгляд.
    3. tihonmarine
      tihonmarine 20 октября 2020 11:10 Новый
      +2
      Цитата: Злой543
      радоваться нам или печалиться?

      От англичан мы никогда радостей не имели, а печалей на протяжении всей истории России имеем.
    4. Крабонг
      Крабонг 26 октября 2020 15:38 Новый
      0
      Радоваться точно не стоит.
  2. ASAD
    ASAD 20 октября 2020 10:09 Новый
    +1
    Ну назначили? Радоваться за ,, интеллектуала,, как автор? Новость для ГРУ ? Для них не новость!
  3. КВУ-НСвД
    КВУ-НСвД 20 октября 2020 10:31 Новый
    +1
    И о чём новость . Больше похоже на порт-фолио или "кратко о себе" из анкеты . Такой весь вафельный рожок с корнями в разведсообществе . Типок не простой , но больше о нём сказать нчего . Вряд ли прослужит долго .
  4. demo
    demo 20 октября 2020 11:04 Новый
    -3
    Иногда мне кажется что Господь Бог нам, русским, вроде бы и дает намеки, которые могут нам помочь в будущем, но, или намекает слишком прозрачно, или мы такие тупоголовые?
    Ведь в 1988 году мог же гаденыш в любой вьетнамской луже утонуть? Мог! А не утонул.
    Да и в Триполи мог у бедуинов в пустыне сгинуть? Не сгинул.
    Да и деда его могли британцы кастрировать или оскопить? Могли, но не сделали!
    Вот ерунда то какая!
  5. Olddetractor
    Olddetractor 20 октября 2020 11:24 Новый
    0
    На фотографиях виден характерный для Ричарда Мура жест

    Он любитель высоких женщин?
  6. ТермиНахТер
    ТермиНахТер 20 октября 2020 13:17 Новый
    +2
    Автор повеселил))) карьерный разведчик, дипломат - востоковед. Так кто он? Разведчик или разведывательный дипломат? Штатный сотрудник разведки - посол в Турции, как такое может быть? Кто "тянет" вверх, такого разнопланово одаренного молодого человека?))))
    1. Knizhnik
      Knizhnik 21 октября 2020 08:37 Новый
      0
      Ми6 структурно входит в МИД
  7. Старый26
    Старый26 20 октября 2020 15:02 Новый
    +5
    Цитата: ТермиНахТер
    Автор повеселил))) карьерный разведчик, дипломат - востоковед. Так кто он? Разведчик или разведывательный дипломат? Штатный сотрудник разведки - посол в Турции, как такое может быть? Кто "тянет" вверх, такого разнопланово одаренного молодого человека?))))

    Судя по вашей реплике вы впервые слышите выражение "карьерный разведчик". А обычно так называют всех дипломатов, работающих в посольствах на официальных должностях. И англичане не изменяют ссвоих традиций назначать на должность руководителя "Интелленджес сервис" профессиональных разведчиков
    1. ТермиНахТер
      ТермиНахТер 21 октября 2020 09:04 Новый
      -1
      Я слышал такое выражение, как и карьерный дипломат. Я первый раз услышал, что это одно и тоже))))
  8. iouris
    iouris 20 октября 2020 22:09 Новый
    0
    Между прочим, этот Мур большой (личный) друг Эрдогана (и Алиева). Я ж говорил: англичанка гадит! А мне минусов понаставили...
  9. Knizhnik
    Knizhnik 21 октября 2020 08:30 Новый
    0
    Странно, что автор упомянул о "характерном жесте", но умудрился более ничего об этом не написать
  10. 1536
    1536 24 октября 2020 07:29 Новый
    +1
    Надо знать своих врагов.