Military Review

History of one collection

13
History of one collection

Dinnerware for Luftwaffe pilots (photo on the collectors website)


Many of us have collected something at least once in our life. Someone collects calendars, gum inserts, coins or boxes of matches from different countries. And some collect retro cars, cold bladed or firearms weapon... We still have a great many such enthusiastic collectors, and the object of this passion is not always harmless, and sometimes even forbidden or dangerous. But what collectors of all ages and hobbies have in common is their passion for the object of their adoration, which they can tell you about for hours if not stopped in time. True fans of their craft, they immerse themselves in their topic and live by it. It is worth at least once in your life to get to their get-together and plunge into this interesting world, how you can get infected by collecting anything. About one of these collectors, my friend Herman (name has been changed), I want to tell a real history.

At one time we worked together with him in the neighboring offices of a large financial company. He has advised wealthy clients in the selection of investment products. Once, in a conversation in the corridor, he suddenly remembered me. We even went to the same school, only he was several grades younger than me. Then I found out that he collects tableware from Luftwaffe pilots (the German Air Force as part of the Wehrmacht). Porcelain plates and cups, saucers and salt shakers, table knives, spoons and forks - everything was stamped in the form of a soaring eagle holding a swastika in its claws. In my opinion, so, nothing special. Quite ordinary army china tableware without any special frills and decorations. But for Herman, she became some kind of fetish. He studied a lot of documentary materials, delved into the military archives and now he told a lot about the aces of the Luftwaffe, who shot down "Stalin's falcons", including in the sky over our small homeland.

Interactive map of aircraft crash sites in the Kuban in 1942-1943.

Numerous battles for air superiority took place in the Kuban sky, especially fierce battles along the so-called blue line, when hundreds of aircraft were simultaneously in the sky. My father also told me that as a teenager, when he stayed with his mother and sister in the Nazi-occupied Krasnodar, he climbed onto the roof of the shed to lie down to observe the air battles that sometimes took place in the sky over the city. At the end of 1944, my father was drafted into the army, and he went to catch up with the front that was rolling back to the west.

But Herman was “on the other side,” and then it became a mystery to me, as in the song: “Where did the lad get Spanish sadness?” The pinnacle of his dreams would be to find an air propeller from a real "messer" to hang it on the wall in his hall.

We studied with him in the same Soviet school, practically with the same teachers, but our values ​​and views turned out to be diametrically opposite. True, I had another classmate, a poor student and sloven Vova, who somewhere got hold of a rusty German helmet, brought it to school and put it on while there was no teacher in the class.

But Herman was from an intelligent teaching family and studied well himself.

Here he, carried away by the story, proudly shows me a photo of his extensive German collection. Tells about the victories of eminent aces, gentlemen officers of the Luftwaffe, who ate from these dishes with these same cutlery. But when he added that he himself sometimes uses dishes from his collection, I realized: this is already a "clinic". It would be disgusting for me to even take such "relics" from which these geeks ate, and he was simply bursting with pride. At that time, I also began to collect my collection of awards from the tsarist army of Russia and, as a collector, I already imagined all the doom of his position, when a hobby simply sucks in, like into a whirlpool.

And it had to happen that in the same year projects were launched on the Internet "Memory of the people" и "The feat of the people" - sites where it was possible to search for information in the archival documents of the Second World War about their relatives by name and year of birth. And then an excited and joyful Herman runs into my office, calls me to his computer. It turned out that in the search bar for information about a participant in the war, he indicated the data of his grandfather, about whom his family knew only that he had disappeared at the very beginning of the war. You should have seen what was the amazement of Herman when he learned that his grandfather was not missing, but was posthumously awarded a medal, having accomplished his last feat in his life, defending our Motherland from the Nazis. From the very gentlemen of the German Luftwaffe officers whom Hermann so admired. It seemed to me that then he also understood something important for himself. He looked unusual, and something in his eyes had changed.

Second chance


Then his office was transferred to another place, and later he changed his place of work. We did not see each other for a long time and met by chance on the street, after a year or more. Share the news about mutual acquaintances, and I asked him about the collection of dishes. Here he greatly surprised me and pleased me at the same time. With the words “I'm tired of it, and I sold it,” he quickly jumped to the topic of his new hobby. Now he is desperately carried away by the history of the conquest of the North Caucasus from the Azov to the Black Sea. Herman found in the archives and re-read all the memoirs of the participants in those events and now he could spend hours talking about their military expeditions against the mountaineers, exciting adventures and battles in the Caucasus mountains. He showed his new items of military paraphernalia of those years: rifle bullets, a medal and a British button.


This was already closer to me in spirit, since the topic intersected with my hobby for the awards of the tsarist army. To tell the truth, my hobby, too, did not arise out of the blue. It turns out that my distant great-grandfather on my father's side participated under the leadership of Suvorov in the capture of the Turkish fortress of Ochakov in 1788. My father recalled how in childhood, even before the war, he was played with this elongated silver medal, which was passed down from generation to generation and kept in their family. He remembered by heart the text written on this medal, which was later lost during the war and the German occupation. When he returned home from the hospital, that medal was gone.


Maybe I am wrong about Hermann, and there were other reasons for the change in his interests. But in both cases, the spiritual connection between generations played an important role. So a tree, firmly holding its roots to its ground, will be able to resist the blows of the elements. Being carried away by the study of your own history, be worthy of the memory of your ancestors.

And a few more thematic photos from a private collection:


Author:
Photos used:
forum.www2.ru, photo from personal archive
13 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Kars
    Kars 24 October 2020 15: 18 New
    +4
    Maybe, of course, some of them even have a clinic, I remember Stephen's story, a book - a capable student.
    For example, I would not mind a piece of a tiger, or a panther, as well as a piece of sherman. At the same time, the T-34 would also be in an honorable place.
    1. The leader of the Redskins
      The leader of the Redskins 24 October 2020 16: 54 New
      -5
      When I was in Warsaw at the Polish Army Museum, I asked a friend to take me down when I touch the Sherman board. Well, as for Soviet tanks, I probably climbed all the available museums)))
    2. Romka47
      Romka47 26 October 2020 12: 38 New
      +3
      I have been fond of tanks since childhood, and in our native village the KV-1 was drowned, because of work I could not be during its rise several years ago, but my friend, knowing my passion, managed to "steal" a piece (about 2 kilos) armor (which part is not clear, the tank was severely mutilated. This friend will later die a brave death in the battle in Donbass, this piece of armor for me is not only a memory of the feat of my ancestors, but also the memory of a close friend. During the divorce, the ex-wife packed up and took this A piece of a tank. For her it is nothing, for me a relic, and she knew everything, and dragged ... 2 kilos ...
  2. apro
    apro 24 October 2020 15: 32 New
    +5
    Every man is a tracker ... looking for prey, even in such exotic forms, material prey, and maybe in the form of knowledge necessary for understanding the world around him.
    1. Clear
      Clear 24 October 2020 19: 56 New
      +5
      Quote: apro
      Every man is a tracker ... looking for prey, even in such exotic forms, material prey, and maybe in the form of knowledge necessary for understanding the world around him.

      Oleg, we also love search activity and take part in it with pleasure.
  3. Asad
    Asad 24 October 2020 15: 42 New
    +2
    Also, there were such collectors, only German! A better SS. When asked why the Red Army didn’t take root, it’s not interesting.
  4. The comment was deleted.
  5. denis obuckov
    denis obuckov 24 October 2020 15: 55 New
    +2
    There are two wonderful books, memoirs of our fighter pilots:
    1. "I fought in a fighter"
    2. "I fought with the Luftwaffe aces"
    I recommend. There are very interesting things
  6. Old26
    Old26 24 October 2020 18: 38 New
    +1
    Quote: ASAD
    Also there were such collectors, only German!

    There are all kinds. I have a friend who has a number of things from the equipment of the German army. But calling him a collector is difficult. Firstly, not a collection as such, secondly - too few things for a collection
  7. Assyrian
    Assyrian 24 October 2020 19: 47 New
    +2
    Thanks for the link to the interactive map.
  8. Ross xnumx
    Ross xnumx 24 October 2020 20: 09 New
    +3
    Many of us have collected something at least once in our life ...

    Imno this statement prompted me to review.
    Yes. Collecting, seeing collections, hearing about them. And I prefer to see such collections in museums. It is there that rare things, exclusive items bring the greatest benefit, giving an opportunity for acquaintance.
    I have the opportunity to make sure personally that a moment comes in a person's life when a mug of water served, an outstretched hand is dearer than any collection, even in the next room.
    It is during our life that we draw in front of others for some purpose, it is with full health that we achieve something ... And in life, the main thing is that after you children and good deeds remain. I can say for sure that collecting things on which either blood or the stamp of grief does not bring good.
    Sorry, but this is my personal opinion, and it may be the opposite of yours or the author's.
    Only the site exists so that it can express any information that does not contradict the rules of the site.
    hi
    1. Katran
      24 October 2020 20: 32 New
      +1
      Yuri Vasilyevich, I understand what you mean when you talk about the served mug of water. Maybe over time it will be just as important for me and "I will give my kingdom for a horse." But now I like not only to look at the old collection items in the museum, but to hold them in my hands, if you like, to "charge" from them with the spirit of that time, or something. The collection also contains the tip of the Scythian "whistling" arrow and a coin from the Bosporus Kingdom and the Golden Horde. And this is not "Chinese consumer goods" that you can buy anywhere, this is the Real Thing (with a capital letter) good
  9. Tests
    Tests 24 October 2020 20: 41 New
    +2
    Money does not smell, in the Czech Republic a few years ago they mastered to sculpt and burn replicas of dishes of the Navy of Nazi Germany. In his native Severodvinsk, he met the medals "For the Conquest of the Kokand Khanate" and "For the Khiva Campaign", the seller immediately warned: "Novodel" ...
    1. Katran
      24 October 2020 22: 33 New
      0
      Experienced collectors know all the differences between a "remake" or a replica from the original itself)) The seller knows what kind of remake, sold without notifying the buyer, he can "knock on the tambourine." Therefore, I do not advise you to buy "silver royal coins" from a "bankrupt collector" who "does not have enough money for a ticket" at the bus station. They are most likely trying to sell you a cheap "remake" that was brought from China in large quantities lol

Военное обозрение

История одной коллекции

13
История одной коллекции

Столовая посуда лётчиков люфтваффе (фото на сайте коллекционеров)


Многие из нас хоть раз в жизни что-то коллекционировали. Кто-то собирает календари, вкладыши от жвачки, монеты или коробки спичек из разных стран. А некоторые коллекционируют автомобили ретро, холодное клинковое или огнестрельное оружие. Таких увлеченных собирателей у нас и сейчас превеликое множество, и не всегда предмет этой страсти безобиден, а порою даже запретен или опасен. Но что объединяет коллекционеров всех возрастов и увлечений, так это страсть к предмету своего обожания, о котором они могут вам рассказывать часами, если их вовремя не остановить. Истинные фанаты своего дела, они с головой погружаются в свою тему и живут этим. Стоит хоть раз в жизни попасть на их тусовку и окунуться в этот интересный мир, как можно заразиться собирательством чего угодно. Об одном из таких коллекционеров, своём знакомом Германе (имя изменено), я хочу рассказать реальную историю.

Одно время мы с ним вместе работали в соседних офисах крупной финансовой компании. Он консультировал состоятельных клиентов в выборе инвестиционных продуктов. Однажды в разговоре в коридоре он вдруг меня вспомнил. Мы даже учились в одной школе, только он был на несколько классов младше меня. Тогда я и узнал, что он коллекционирует столовую посуду лётчиков люфтваффе (германские ВВС в составе вермахта). Фарфоровые тарелки и чашки, блюдца и солонки, столовые ножи, ложки и вилки – на всём стояло клеймо в виде парящего орла, держащего в когтях свастику. На мой взгляд, так, ничего особенного. Довольно обыденная армейская столовая фарфоровая посуда без особых изысков и украшений. Но для Германа она стала каким-то фетишем. Он много изучил документальных материалов, копался в военных архивах и теперь много всего рассказывал об асах люфтваффе, сбивавших «сталинских соколов» в том числе и в небе над нашей малой родиной.

Интерактивная карта мест падений самолётов на Кубани в 1942-1943 годах.

В кубанском небе происходили многочисленные бои за превосходство в воздухе, особенно ожесточенные шли вдоль так называемой голубой линии, когда в небе одновременно находились сотни самолетов. Отец мне тоже рассказывал, что подростком, оставшись с матерью и сестрой в оккупированном фашистами Краснодаре, он забирался на крышу сарая, чтобы лёжа наблюдать воздушные сражения, происходившие иногда в небе над городом. В конце 1944 года отца призвали в армию, и он поехал догонять откатывавшийся на запад фронт.

Но Герман был «на другой стороне», и для меня тогда стало загадкой, как в песне: «Откуда у хлопца испанская грусть?» Вершиной его мечтаний было бы найти воздушный винт от настоящего «мессера», чтобы повесить его у себя в зале на стену.

Мы же с ним учились в одной советской школе, практически у одних учителей, но наши ценности и взгляды оказались диаметрально противоположными. Был, правда, у меня ещё один одноклассник, двоечник и разгильдяй Вова, который где-то раздобыл ржавую немецкую каску, притащил её в школу и надевал, пока в классе не было учителя.

Но Герман был из интеллигентной учительской семьи и сам неплохо учился.

Вот он, увлёкшись рассказом, с гордостью показывает мне фото своей обширной немецкой коллекции. Рассказывает о победах именитых асов, господ офицеров люфтваффе, вкушавших из этой посуды этими самыми столовыми приборами. Но когда он ещё добавил, что и сам иногда пользуется посудой из своей коллекции, я понял: это уже «клиника». Мне было бы противно даже в руки взять такие «реликвии», из которых ели эти выродки, а его просто распирало от гордости. В тот период я тоже начал собирать свою коллекцию наград царской армии России и, как коллекционер, уже представлял всю обреченность его положения, когда увлечение просто засасывает, как в водоворот.

И надо же было такому случиться, что в том же году в Интернете запустили проекты «Память народа» и «Подвиг народа» — сайты, где можно было искать информацию в архивных документах ВОВ о своих родных по ФИО и году рождения. И вот забегает ко мне в кабинет взволнованный и радостный Герман, зовёт к своему компьютеру. Оказалось, что он в строке поиска информации об участнике войны указал данные своего деда, о котором его семья знала только, что он пропал без вести в самом начале войны. Надо было видеть, какого же было изумление Германа, когда он узнал, что его дедушка не пропал без вести, а был посмертно награжден медалью, совершив свой последний в жизни подвиг, защищая нашу Родину от фашистов. От тех самых господ немецких офицеров люфтваффе, которыми так восторгался Герман. Как мне показалось, тогда он для себя тоже что-то важное понял. Вид у него был необычный, и что-то во взгляде изменилось.

Второй шанс


Потом его офис перевели в другое место, а позже он сменил место работы. Мы долго не виделись и случайно встретились на улице, спустя год или более того. Поделились новостями об общих знакомых, и я спросил его о коллекции посуды. Тут он меня сильно удивил и порадовал одновременно. Со словами «она мне надоела, и я её продал» он быстренько перескочил на тему своего нового увлечения. Теперь он отчаянно увлекся историей покорения Северного Кавказа от Азовского до Чёрного моря. Герман отыскал в архивах и перечитал все мемуары участников тех событий и теперь мог часами рассказывать об их военных экспедициях против горцев, увлекательных приключениях и боях в горах Кавказа. Он показывал свои новые предметы военной атрибутики тех лет: ружейные пули, медаль и британскую пуговицу.


Это уже было мне ближе по духу, так как тема пересекалась с моим увлечением наградами царской армии. По правде говоря, и моё увлечение тоже не на ровном месте зародилось. Оказывается, мой далёкий прадед по линии отца участвовал под предводительством Суворова во взятии турецкой крепости Очаков в 1788 году. Отец вспоминал, как в детстве, ещё до войны, он игрался этой продолговатой серебряной медалью, которая передавалась из поколения в поколение и хранилась в их семье. Он помнил наизусть текст, написанный на этой медали, которая позже была утеряна во время войны и немецкой оккупации. Когда он вернулся из госпиталя домой, той медали уже не было.


Может быть, я ошибаюсь в отношении Германа, и были другие причины в смене его интересов. Но в обоих случаях важную роль сыграла духовная связь поколений. Так дерево, крепко держащееся корнями за свою землю, сможет устоять под ударами стихии. Увлекаясь изучением собственной истории, будьте достойны памяти своих предков.

И ещё несколько тематических фото из частной коллекции:


Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
forum.www2.ru, фото из личного архива
13 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Kars
    Kars 24 октября 2020 15:18 Новый
    +4
    Может конечно у некоторых и клиника есть помнится рассказ Стивена книга - способный ученик.
    Я бы например не отказался бы от кусочка тигра, или пантеры.так же само как и от куска шермана. При этом т-34 тоже бы на почётно месте был бы.
    1. Вождь краснокожих
      Вождь краснокожих 24 октября 2020 16:54 Новый
      -5
      Когда я был в Варшаве в музее войска польского, то попросил товарища, что бы он снял меня, когда я прикоснусь к борту "Шермана". Ну, а советские танки, наверное, во всех доступных музеях облазил)))
    2. Romka47
      Romka47 26 октября 2020 12:38 Новый
      +3
      Я с детства танками увлекаюсь, а у нас в родном селе был утоплен КВ-1, я по причине работы не смог оказаться во время его подьма несколько лет назад, а вот мой друг зная мою страсть умудрился "стащить" кусочек ( около 2 кило ) брони (какая часть непонятно, танк сильно изувечен был. Этот друг позже погибнет смертью храбрых в бою на Донбассе, кусок брони этот для меня не только память о подвиге предков, но и память о близком друге. При разводе бывшая жена собрала вещи и утащила этот кусочек танка. Для нее это ничто, для меня реликвия, и ведь знала все, и тащила...2 кило...
  2. апро
    апро 24 октября 2020 15:32 Новый
    +5
    Каждый мужчина следопыт...выискивающий добычу.даже в таких экзотических формах.добыча материальная а может и ввиде знаний.необходимых для познания окружающего мира.
    1. Ясная
      Ясная 24 октября 2020 19:56 Новый
      +5
      Цитата: апро
      Каждый мужчина следопыт...выискивающий добычу.даже в таких экзотических формах.добыча материальная а может и ввиде знаний.необходимых для познания окружающего мира.

      Олег, мы тоже любим поисковую деятельность и с удовольствием принимаем в ней участие.
  3. ASAD
    ASAD 24 октября 2020 15:42 Новый
    +2
    Тоже встречались такие ,, коллекционеры,, только немецкое! А лучше СС . На вопрос , а почему не Красной армии привились, типа не интересно.
  4. Комментарий был удален.
  5. deniso
    deniso 24 октября 2020 15:55 Новый
    +2
    Есть две замечательные книги, воспоминания наших летчиков - истребителей:
    1. "Я дрался на истребителе"
    2. "Я дрался с асами Люфтваффе"
    Рекомендую. Очень интересные вещи есть
  6. Старый26
    Старый26 24 октября 2020 18:38 Новый
    +1
    Цитата: ASAD
    Тоже встречались такие ,, коллекционеры,, только немецкое!

    Всякие есть. У меня есть знакомый у которого есть некоторое количество вещей из оснащения германской армии. Но назвать его коллекционером - довольно сложно. Во-1 не коллекция, как таковая, во-2 - для коллекции вещей слишком мало
  7. Ассириец
    Ассириец 24 октября 2020 19:47 Новый
    +2
    Спасибо за ссылку на интерактивную карту.
  8. ROSS 42
    ROSS 42 24 октября 2020 20:09 Новый
    +3
    Многие из нас хоть раз в жизни что-то коллекционировали...

    Имнно это высказывание сподвигло меня на отзыв.
    Да. Коллекционировал, видел коллекции, слышал о них. А предпочитаю видеть подобные собрания в музеях. Именно там редкие вещи, эксклюзивные предметы приносят бóльшую пользу, давая возможность для ознакомления.
    Имею возможность убедиться лично, что в жизни человека наступает момент, когда поданая кружка воды, протянутая рука дороже любых коллекций, находящихся пусть даже в соседней комнате.
    Это при жизни мы рисуемся перед другими в каких-то целях, это при полном здоровье мы чего-то добиваемся...А в жизни главное, чтобы после тебя остались дети и добрые дела. Я могу сказать точно, что коллекционирование вещей, на которых либо кровь, либо печать горя, добра не приносит.
    Простите, но это моё личное мнение, и оно может быть противоположным вашему или авторскому.
    Только и сайт существует для того, чтобы на нём могли высказывать любую информацию, не противоречащую правилам сайта.
    hi
    1. Катран
      24 октября 2020 20:32 Новый
      +1
      Юрий Васильевич, я понимаю что Вы имеете в виду, говоря про поданную кружку воды. Может со временем и для меня это будет так же важно и "полцарства отдам за коня". Но сейчас мне нравится не только смотреть в музее на старинные предметы коллекции, а держать их в руках, если хотите, "заряжаться" от них духом того времени что-ли. Есть в коллекции и наконечник скифской "свистящей" стрелы и по монетке Боспорского царства и Золотой орды. И это не "китайский ширпотреб", который можно купить где угодно, это Настоящая Вещь (с большой буквы) good
  9. Тестов
    Тестов 24 октября 2020 20:41 Новый
    +2
    Деньги не пахнут, в Чехии несколько лет назад освоили лепить и обжигать новоделы посуды ВМФ нацистской Германии. В родном Северодвинске встречал медали "За покорение ханства Кокандского" и "За Хивинский поход", продавец сразу предупредил:"Новодел"...
    1. Катран
      24 октября 2020 22:33 Новый
      0
      Опытные коллекционеры знают все отличия "новодела" или реплики от самого оригинала)) Продавец знает, что за новодел, проданный без уведомления покупателя ему могут и "в бубен настучать". Поэтому, не советую покупать с рук на автовокзале "серебряные царские монеты" у "разорившегося коллекционера", которому "не хватает денег на билет". Вам скорее всего пытаются впарить дешевый "новодел", который из Китая в больших количествах завезли lol