Military Review

Fighters Northrop F-5 in the service of the Brazilian Air Force

13

F-5EM fighters of one of the Air Force units


In the mid-seventies, the Brazilian Air Force received the first American-made Northrop F-5 fighters. In the future, new contracts took place, which made it possible to create a fairly large fleet of equipment. In recent decades, measures have been taken to modernize aircraft, thanks to which they remain in service until now and can serve in the foreseeable future.

Park formation


The first contract for the purchase of Northrop F-5 aircraft for the Brazilian Air Force was signed in October 1974. It provided for the delivery of 36 single-seat F-5E Tiger II fighters and 6 two-seat F-5B Freedom Fighter combat trainers. The contract value was $ 72 million (approx. $ 365 million at current prices). The first aircraft were delivered to the customer in the spring of 1975, after which deliveries continued. For several years, three squadrons were transferred to new equipment.

In 1988, a new Brazilian-American agreement emerged. It provided for the transfer of 22 F-5E and 6 F-5F aircraft from the US Air Force. The delivery of this technology made it possible to abandon the aircraft of the old modification. So, in 1990, the remaining in service with the F-5B in the amount of 5 units. written off and transferred to museums. Newer F-5Fs took their place in the army.


The last purchase of F-5 fighters took place relatively recently. In 2009, the Brazilian Air Force bought 8 F-5E fighters and 3 F-5F combat trainers from Jordan. For cars produced in 1975-80, they paid $ 21 million (approx. 25 million at current prices).

Thus, from 1974 to 2009, Brazil acquired 81 aircraft of the F-5 family. Over the years of operation, a significant part of the machines were lost or written off for various reasons. The remaining aircraft have been modernized and continue to serve. According to open data, currently in service there are 43 F-5EM aircraft and only 3 two-seat F-5FM. This technique is distributed among five squadrons.

Updating processes


During the first decades, the F-5B / E / F aircraft operated in basic configuration and without any modifications. By the beginning of the XNUMXs, it became clear that these fighters needed deep modernization. With its help, it was possible to extend the service life, as well as improve the fighting qualities.


Double combat training F-5FM

The project with the working designation F-5M was launched in 2001. The developers of the modernization program were Embraer and AEL Sistemas (the Brazilian subsidiary of Israeli Elbit Systems). The design took several years, and by the end of 2004 the contractors presented the prototype F-5FM aircraft with a full set of modifications. The first modernized F-5EM appeared later, in September 2005. In the same year, contracts were signed for the modernization of 43 F-5E and 3 F-5F aircraft with a total value of $ 285 million. According to the terms of the agreements, the work was to be completed by 2007.

The aircraft were overhauled and refurbished at the Embraer plant in Gavian Peixoto. The main suppliers of equipment for the modernization were AEL Sistemas and Elbit Systems. The work ran into some difficulties, due to which the execution of the contract was delayed. Thus, by the end of 2007, only half of the existing fleet was modernized. Work on 46 F-5E / Fs continued until 2013.

During negotiations on the acquisition of fighters from Jordan, it was assumed that this technique would also be upgraded under the F-5M program. However, such work was repeatedly postponed, and the purchased aircraft were used as a source of spare parts for the repair of combat equipment. Only in the mid-tenths, it was decided to modernize several "Jordanian" F-5F. One of the main reasons for this was the loss of two training machines that had been upgraded earlier.


Handover ceremony for the last modernized F-5FM

On October 14, 2020, the Embraer plant hosted an official acceptance ceremony for the next - and last - F-5FM fighter. Thus, the modernization program for fighters of the F-5 family has been successfully completed. For 15 years, 49 aircraft of different modifications and different ages have been repaired and updated.

Repair and modernization


The goal of the F-5M project was to restore technical readiness, extend the service life and improve the basic characteristics of existing aircraft. Due to these measures, fighters could maintain the required combat effectiveness of the Air Force and remain in service in the future, until the appearance of completely new equipment in service.

As part of the upgrade for the F-5M project, the airframe, general aircraft systems and engines were overhauled with an extension of the service life by 15 years. In addition, various improvements were carried out, primarily related to the installation of new equipment. The aircraft received an air refueling receiver.


The last updated aircraft

An updated sighting and navigation system was used, the central element of which is the Leonardo Grifo F radar. This is a pulsed Doppler locator with mechanical scanning, capable of tracking several targets in the air and on the ground. The navigation system is based on inertial and satellite components. The aircraft are equipped with Embraer's communication facilities, which provide data exchange with E-99 AWACS and headquarters.

The equipment of the cabin has been completely renewed. Several liquid crystal monitors with the ability to display any information are used. A modern indicator on the windshield was used. All of these products can be used with night vision goggles. The HOTAS principle is implemented in the controls - the pilot performs all operations without removing his hands from the handles. AEL Sistemas has provided a new pilot's helmet with helmet-mounted target designation system.

A modern airborne defense system has been developed. It includes radiation sensors and a warning system, a Rafael Sky Shield electronic warfare system, decoy launchers, etc.


First JAS 39E delivered to the Brazilian Air Force

The upgraded aircraft retain the ability to use the weapons of the original F-5E / F. At the same time, compatibility with a number of modern designs is ensured. For close combat, Rafael Python 4/5 guided air-to-air missiles are offered; for the far - Rafael Derby. Ground targets can now be attacked using guided aerial bombs, incl. with laser guidance. Since last year, the Brazilian-developed MICLA-BR air-to-ground missile has been tested on the F-5M.

In general, we are talking about a fairly successful modernization with all the necessary capabilities. The basic performance characteristics remain the same, but the refueling system increases the possible range and duration of the flight. At the same time, navigational and combat capabilities grow exponentially in all expected conditions. Finally, the modernization of the F-5 fighters made it possible to increase the potential of the Air Force to the required level without purchasing expensive new equipment.

Air Force prospects


The modernization of the F-5M project extends the operation of the F-5E / F fighters by 15 years. The first cars were updated in 2005-2006, and the last one was handed over just the other day. This means that the oldest F-5EMs are already approaching the end of their assigned service life, and equipment that has been repaired later will be able to remain in service in the future.


T-5M and JAS 39E / F will serve together in the coming years

Such circumstances were taken into account several years ago when planning the further development of the Air Force. Current plans provide for keeping the F-5M in service for the maximum possible time with their further replacement with modern technology.

In October 2014, Brazil and Sweden signed a $ 5,44 billion contract for the supply of 28 Saab JAS 39E Gripen E fighters and 8 two-seat JAS 39F Gripen F. The first aircraft of this order was built in the summer of 2019 and transferred to joint tests. In September 2020, the car was shipped to Brazil, and at the moment, flights are being carried out before official adoption. The official presentation of the aircraft will take place the other day. Full-scale deliveries of "Gripen" will be launched next year, and no later than 2023-24. Brazil will receive all ordered aircraft.

Receipt of 36 aircraft of Swedish and licensed assembly will allow replacing most of the fleet of modernized F-5EM / FM, at least without losses in the combat capability of the Air Force. In addition, Brazil plans to continue the purchase of JAS 39. According to calculations, for a full upgrade of the tactical aviation 108 such aircraft are needed. If new contracts are signed, then over the next 5-10 years, the Gripen E / F will replace outdated equipment and become the main combat aircraft of the Brazilian Air Force.

The successful fulfillment of the existing contract for the JAS 39 Gripen and the possible appearance of new orders for this equipment predetermine the prospects for the F-5M and some other Brazilian aircraft: over time, they will all be replaced. At the same time, it is quite possible that by the time the service ends, the oldest fighters of the F-5 family will have time to celebrate their half-century anniversary.
Author:
Photos used:
Brazilian Air Force
13 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. certero
    certero 21 October 2020 18: 47
    -5
    The largest country in Latin America and an aviation park like some Armenia
    1. Tsoy
      Tsoy 21 October 2020 19: 23
      +7
      The largest country in Latin America and an aviation park like some Armenia


      Does Armenia have half a hundred, albeit outdated, fighters? Plus 36 4th generation aircraft? And who should they be afraid of? They are more at war with guerrillas and cartels than with neighbors whose affairs are about the same with the Air Force.
      And the F-5 is a landmark aircraft. His grandson F-18 is still flying.
      1. OgnennyiKotik
        OgnennyiKotik 21 October 2020 19: 41
        +3
        Quote: Choi
        And the F-5 is a landmark aircraft. His grandson F-18 is still flying.

        F / A-18 soon son, grandchildren and great-grandchildren just started to appear smile

        1. Tsoy
          Tsoy 21 October 2020 20: 56
          +4
          18 soon son, grandchildren and great-grandchildren just appear


          Well, if we take that the original 18 and super horns different planes, then this is the third generation of relatives.
    2. RealPilot
      RealPilot 21 October 2020 20: 05
      +6
      They need the Air Force. And they want to replace the planes with ... Grippens.

      In this Brazilians can be understood. They clearly do not consider American technology, since the hegemon is their most dangerous regional rival, the aircraft of which in the conflict is equal to its absence. They also do not really want to take Russian Su (although they have our helicopters wink ) at least for reasons of jealousy of a powerful neighbor.
      But the Swedish Grippen will suit them, especially given the potential Israeli upgrades, weapons and other bonuses.
      1. exo
        exo 22 October 2020 13: 53
        0
        In avionics, and in the Swedish engine, there are a lot of American components. And the dependence on the United States is great. I think the reason for choosing Grippen is still different.
    3. garik77
      garik77 21 October 2020 22: 15
      +1
      Yes, they do not need fighters at all. For the war against the drug mafia in the Amazon jungle, attack aircraft are enough, in principle, even turboprop. And for ceremonial purposes such fighters will come down.
  2. Garm
    Garm 21 October 2020 19: 34
    +2
    A very reasonable approach to the operation of combat aircraft.
  3. Alf
    Alf 21 October 2020 21: 07
    +9
    An extremely successful car, simple and cheap. Our pilots on MIGs, who faced him in battle, spoke of a very dangerous enemy, "flying".
    1. OgnennyiKotik
      OgnennyiKotik 21 October 2020 21: 25
      +2
      Quote: Alf
      An extremely successful car, simple and cheap.

      And his descendants are excellent.
      "Brother" T-38, descendant of F / A-18 Hornet, further development of F / A-18E / F Super Hornet, new drones like 5GAT.
  4. iouris
    iouris 21 October 2020 21: 16
    -9
    The Brazilians sold the Sukhoi-Superjet to the Russians, but they didn't buy the Sukhoi-27 ... Well done.
  5. Bongo
    Bongo 22 October 2020 02: 43
    +9
    The topic is interesting, but unfortunately not fully disclosed. request
    Nothing was said about the combat use of Brazilian fighters. F-5s were actively involved in intercepting aircraft carrying drugs and, during Operation Agatha, whose purpose was to suppress illegal activities in the Amazon, bombed targets of gangs in the jungle.
  6. voronin
    voronin 22 October 2020 20: 00
    15
    And after the end of operation, they can be converted into a UAV.

Военное обозрение

Истребители Northrop F-5 на службе ВВС Бразилии

13

Истребители F-5EM одной из частей ВВС


В середине семидесятых годов ВВС Бразилии получили первые истребители Northrop F-5 американского производства. В дальнейшем имели место новые контракты, позволившие создать достаточно многочисленный парк техники. В последние десятилетия принимались меры по модернизации самолетов, благодаря чему они остаются на вооружении до сих пор и смогут служить в обозримом будущем.

Формирование парка


Первый контракт на закупку самолетов Northrop F-5 для ВВС Бразилии был подписан в октябре 1974 г. Он предусматривал поставку 36 одноместных истребителей модификации F-5E Tiger II и 6 двухместных учебно-боевых F-5B Freedom Fighter. Стоимость контракта составила 72 млн долл. (ок. 365 млн долл. в нынешних ценах). Первые самолеты были переданы заказчику весной 1975 г., после чего поставки продолжились. За несколько лет на новую технику перевели три эскадрильи.

В 1988 г. появилось новое бразильско-американское соглашение. Оно предусматривало передачу 22 самолетов F-5E и 6 F-5F из наличия ВВС США. Поставка этой техники позволила отказаться от самолетов старой модификации. Так, в 1990 г. остававшиеся на вооружении F-5B в количестве 5 ед. списали и передали музеям. Их место в войсках заняли более новые F-5F.


Последняя закупка истребителей F-5 состоялась относительно недавно. В 2009 г. ВВС Бразилии купили у Иордании 8 истребителей F-5E и 3 учебно-боевых самолета F-5F. За машины 1975-80 годов выпуска заплатили 21 млн долл. (ок. 25 миллионов в нынешних ценах).

Таким образом, с 1974 по 2009 г. Бразилия приобрела 81 самолет семейства F-5. За годы эксплуатации значительная часть машин была потеряна или списана по различным причинам. Оставшиеся самолеты прошли модернизацию и продолжают службу. По открытым данным, в настоящее время на вооружении имеется 43 самолета F-5EM и всего 3 двухместных F-5FM. Эта техника распределена между пятью эскадрильями.

Процессы обновления


В течение первых десятилетий самолеты F-5B/E/F эксплуатировались в базовой конфигурации и без каких-либо доработок. К началу двухтысячных годов стало ясно, что эти истребители нуждаются в глубокой модернизации. С ее помощью можно было продлить сроки эксплуатации, а также улучшить боевые качества.


Двухместный учебно-боевой F-5FM

Проект с рабочим обозначением F-5M запустили в 2001 г. Разработчиками программы модернизации стали компании Embraer и AEL Sistemas (бразильская «дочка» израильской Elbit Systems). Проектирование заняло несколько лет, и к концу 2004 г. подрядчики представили опытный самолет F-5FM с полным набором доработок. Первый модернизированный F-5EM появился позже, в сентябре 2005-го. В том же году подписали договоры о модернизации 43 самолетов F-5E и 3 F-5F общей стоимостью 285 млн долл. По условиям соглашений, работы должны были завершиться до 2007 г.

Капитальный ремонт и переоснащение самолетов осуществлялось на заводе Embraer в г. Гавиан-Пейшоту. Основными поставщиками аппаратуры для модернизации стали AEL Sistemas и Elbit Systems. Работы столкнулись с некоторыми трудностями, из-за чего выполнение контракта затянулось. Так, до конца 2007 г. удалось модернизировать лишь половину наличного парка. Работы по 46 F-5E/F продолжались до 2013 г.

Во время переговоров по приобретению истребителей у Иордании предполагалось, что эта техника тоже пройдет модернизацию по программе F-5M. Однако подобные работы неоднократно откладывались, а приобретенные самолеты использовались в качестве источника запчастей для ремонта строевой техники. Лишь в середине десятых годов было принято решение о модернизации нескольких «иорданских» F-5F. Одной из главных причин этого стала потеря двух учебных машин, прошедших модернизацию ранее.


Церемония передачи последнего модернизированного F-5FM

14 октября 2020 г. на заводе Embraer состоялась торжественная церемония приемки очередного – и последнего – истребителя F-5FM. Таким образом, программа модернизации истребителей семейства F-5 успешно завершена. За 15 лет ремонт и обновление прошли 49 самолетов разных модификаций и разного возраста.

Ремонт и модернизация


Целью проекта F-5M было восстановление технической готовности, продление сроков службы и повышение основных характеристик имеющихся самолетов. За счет этих мер истребители могли бы поддерживать требуемую боеспособность ВВС и оставаться в строю в будущем, до появления на вооружении совершенно новой техники.

В рамках обновления по проекту F-5M осуществлялся капитальный ремонт планера, общесамолетных систем и двигателей с продлением срока службы на 15 лет. Кроме того, осуществлялись различные доработки, в первую очередь связанные с монтажом новой аппаратуры. Самолеты получили приемник системы дозаправки в воздухе.


Последний обновленный самолет

Использован обновленный прицельно-навигационный комплекс, центральным элементом которого является радиолокационная станция Leonardo Grifo F. Это импульсный доплеровский локатор с механическим сканированием, способный сопровождать несколько целей в воздухе и на земле. Система навигации построена на инерциальном и спутниковом компонентах. Самолеты оснащены средствами связи разработки Embraer, обеспечивающими обмен данными с самолетами ДРЛОиУ E-99 и штабами.

Полностью обновлено оснащение кабины. Используются несколько жидкокристаллических мониторов с возможностью вывода любой информации. Применен современный индикатор на лобовом стекле. Все эти средства могут использоваться с очками ночного видения. В органах управления реализован принцип HOTAS – пилот осуществляет все операции, не убирая рук с ручек. Компания AEL Sistemas предоставила новый шлем пилота с нашлемной системой целеуказания.

Разработан современный бортовой комплекс обороны. Он включает датчики облучения и систему предупреждения, систему радиоэлектронной борьбы Rafael Sky Shield, пусковые устройства ложных целей и т.д.


Первый JAS 39E, переданный ВВС Бразилии

Модернизированные самолеты сохраняют возможность применения вооружений исходного F-5E/F. При этом обеспечена совместимость с рядом современных образцов. Для ближнего боя предлагаются управляемые ракеты «воздух-воздух» Rafael Python 4/5; для дальнего – Rafael Derby. Атака наземных целей теперь может осуществляться с использованием управляемых авиабомб, в т.ч. с лазерным наведением. С прошлого года на F-5M испытывается ракета «воздух-земля» MICLA-BR бразильской разработки.

В целом речь идет о достаточно удачной модернизации с получением всех необходимых возможностей. Основные летно-технические характеристики остаются на прежнем уровне, но система дозаправки увеличивает возможную дальность и продолжительность полета. Одновременно с этим в разы вырастают навигационные и боевые возможности во всех ожидаемых условиях. Наконец, модернизация истребителей F-5 позволила повысить потенциал ВВС до требуемого уровня без закупки недешевой новой техники.

Перспективы ВВС


Модернизация по проекту F-5M продлевает эксплуатацию истребителей F-5E/F на 15 лет. Первые машины прошли обновление в 2005-2006 гг., а последнюю сдали буквально на днях. Это означает, что самые старые F-5EM уже приближаются к финалу назначенного срока службы, а техника, прошедшая ремонт позже, сможет оставаться в строю и в будущем.


В ближайшие годы T-5M и JAS 39E/F будут служить вместе

Такие обстоятельства еще несколько лет назад учли при планировании дальнейшего развития ВВС. Актуальные планы предусматривают сохранение F-5M на вооружении в течение максимально возможного времени с дальнейшей их заменой современной техникой.

В октябре 2014 г. Бразилия и Швеция подписали контракт стоимостью 5,44 млрд долл. США на поставку 28 истребителей Saab JAS 39E Gripen E и 8 двухместных JAS 39F Gripen F. Первый самолет этого заказа был построен летом 2019 г. и в сентябре передан на совместные испытания. В сентябре 2020 г. машину переправили в Бразилию, и на данный момент проводятся полеты перед официальным принятием на вооружение. Официальная презентация самолета состоится на днях. Полномасштабные поставки «Грипенов» запустят в следующем году, и не позднее 2023-24 гг. Бразилия получит все заказанные самолеты.

Получение 36 самолетов шведской и лицензионной сборки позволит заменить большую часть парка модернизированных F-5EM/FM, как минимум, без потерь в боеспособности ВВС. Кроме того, Бразилия планирует продолжить закупку JAS 39. По расчетам, для полноценного обновления тактической авиации необходимо 108 таких самолетов. Если будут подписаны новые контракты, то в течение следующих 5-10 лет Gripen E/F вытеснит устаревшую технику и станет основным боевым самолетом бразильских ВВС.

Успешное выполнение имеющегося контракта на JAS 39 Gripen и возможное появление новых заказов на эту технику предопределяет перспективы F-5M и некоторых других бразильских самолетов: со временем все они пойдут под замену. При этом вполне возможно, что к моменту окончания службы наиболее старые истребители семейства F-5 успеют отметить полувековой юбилей.
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
ВВС Бразилии
13 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. certero
    certero 21 октября 2020 18:47
    -5
    Самая крупная страна латинской Америки а парк авиации как у какой-нибудь Армении
    1. Цой
      Цой 21 октября 2020 19:23
      +7
      Самая крупная страна латинской Америки а парк авиации как у какой-нибудь Армении


      У Армении есть полста пусть и устаревших но истребителей? Плюс 36 самолетов 4 поколения? Да и кого им бояться? Они больше с партизанами и с картелями воюют, чем с соседями у которых дела примерно так же обстоят с ВВС.
      А F-5 самолет знаковый. Его внук F-18 еще полетает.
      1. OgnennyiKotik
        OgnennyiKotik 21 октября 2020 19:41
        +3
        Цитата: Цой
        А F-5 самолет знаковый. Его внук F-18 еще полетает.

        F/A-18 скоре сын, внуки и правнуки только появляться начали smile

        1. Цой
          Цой 21 октября 2020 20:56
          +4
          18 скоре сын, внуки и правнуки только появляться


          Ну если брать что оригинальный 18 и супер хорнет разные самолеты, то это уже третье поколение родственников.
    2. RealPilot
      RealPilot 21 октября 2020 20:05
      +6
      Им необходимы ВВС. И хотят заменить самолеты на... Гриппены.

      В этом бразильцев можно понять. Они явно не рассматривают американскую технику, поскольку гегемон - это их самый опасный региональный соперник, авиатехника которго в конфликте равна ее отсутствию. Российские Су они тоже не очень хотят брать (хотя вертолеты у них наши есть wink ) как минимум из соображений ревности могущественного соседа.
      А вот шведский Гриппен их устроит, особенно с учетом потенциальных израильских модернизаций, вооружения и прочих бонусов.
      1. exo
        exo 22 октября 2020 13:53
        0
        В авионике ,да и в шведском двигателе, очень немало американских комплектующих. И зависимость от США, большая.Думаю, причина выбора Гриппена, всё-таки в другом.
    3. garik77
      garik77 21 октября 2020 22:15
      +1
      Да истребители им в принципе совсем ни к чему. Для войны с наркомафией в Амазонской сельве достаточно штурмовиков, в принципе даже турбовинтовых. А для парадных целей и такие истребители сойдут.
  2. Garm
    Garm 21 октября 2020 19:34
    +2
    Очень разумный подход к эксплуатации боевой авиации.
  3. Альф
    Альф 21 октября 2020 21:07
    +9
    На редкость удачная машина, простая и дешевая. Наши пилоты на МИГах, которые сталкивались с ним в бою, говорили-очень опасный противник, "летучий".
    1. OgnennyiKotik
      OgnennyiKotik 21 октября 2020 21:25
      +2
      Цитата: Альф
      На редкость удачная машина, простая и дешевая.

      И его потомки отличные.
      «Брат» T-38, потомок F/A-18 Hornet, дальнейшее развитие F/A-18E/F Super Hornet, новые беспилотники как 5GAT.
  4. iouris
    iouris 21 октября 2020 21:16
    -9
    Сухой-суперджет бразильцы русским впарили, а Сухой-27 не купили... Ну и молодцы.
  5. Bongo
    Bongo 22 октября 2020 02:43
    +9
    Тема интересная, но к сожалению до конца не раскрыта. request
    Ничего не сказано о боевом применении бразильских истребителей. F-5 активно привлекались для перехвата самолётов перевозящих наркотики и в ходе операции "Агата", целью которой было пресечение незаконной деятельности в Амазонии, наносили бомбовые удары по объектам бандформирований в джунглях.
  6. voronin
    voronin 22 октября 2020 20:00
    +15
    А по окончании эксплуатации могут в БПЛА переделать.