Military Review

In the footsteps of Dr. Gatling. Development of the scheme with a rotating block of barrels

19

Five-barreled 37-mm Hotchkiss cannon in the museum. Photo Wikimedia Commons


In 1865, the US Army first received a multi-barreled machine gun designed by Richard Jordan Gatling. Due to the original scheme, such weapon showed the highest fire performance. This led to the emergence of interest from the military and gunsmiths - and the process of finalizing and adapting the original design began.

Increased caliber


R. Gatling's own company developed and produced new weapons in different calibers, but it was only about machine guns, while the artillery sphere remained uncovered. This omission was corrected in 1872 by the French company Hotchkiss et Cie. Its engineers, led by Benjamin Hotchkiss, seeing the successes of American machine guns, developed their own version of a small-caliber cannon with a rotating block of barrels.

Guns of the Hotchkiss brand were significantly different from the Gatling products - so as not to violate existing patents. So, the rotating block of barrels and an external drive with a handle were preserved. At the same time, they developed their own version of the shutter and trigger mechanism, used together with all the barrels in turn. The ammunition was supplied from the store from above under the own weight of unitary shells.

In the footsteps of Dr. Gatling. Development of the scheme with a rotating block of barrels
Hotchkiss gun, 1874 Photo Wikimedia Commons

The first version of the Hotchkiss Revolving Cannon received five 37 mm rifled barrels. Its rate of fire reached 68 rounds / min, and the firing range exceeded 1,8 km. Later, a 47 caliber gun with the same number of barrels was developed. The increase in caliber led to an increase in the mass of the barrel block and a decrease in the rate of fire. At the same time, the firing range and the power of the projectile have increased.

Hotchkiss cannons were originally produced on wheeled carriages, incl. with shield cover. For the convenience of transportation and storage of ammunition, the carriage was completed with an artillery front end. Later, pedestal installations for fortresses and ships appeared. Ammunition included unitary shots with fragmentation and canister shells.

Hotchkiss guns entered service with several armies and navies in Europe and America. For example, a significant number of 37-mm guns were purchased by the Russian fleet. They were placed on ships of various types for protection from torpedo boats and self-propelled mines. A high rate of fire and a fragmentation projectile were supposed to ensure the defeat of an enemy boat or gun at a safe distance. The cannons were actively used for several decades, and the leading countries abandoned them only by the beginning of the First World War.


German gunners with a Hotchkiss cannon, Africa, early XNUMXth century Photo Bundesarchiv

B. Hotchkiss's multi-barreled guns in terms of technical and operational features differed little from the original design of R. Gatling. They gave a fairly high rate of fire, showed a high firing range, did not suffer from carbon deposits, etc. At the same time, the processing of the shutter and the trigger did not lead to any problems and even protected the developer company from lawsuits.

German attempt


In August 1916, the German army ordered a competitive development of a new rapid-fire machine gun for installation on aircraft. Anton Fokker's company has joined this program with their Fokker-Leimberger project. Initially, Fokker and Leimberger planned to make a new machine gun based on the MG 08 product, but then began developing an original design for a standard German rifle cartridge.

To reduce heat loads at a high rate of fire, it was decided to use a rotating block with 12 7,92 mm rifled barrels. The rate of fire was significantly increased with the help of the "split chamber". Two rotors with semicircular trays on the outer surface were placed behind the trunks. When the recesses were aligned, the rotors formed a cylindrical chamber. Behind them was a fixed shutter with the simplest trigger.


Experienced Fokker-Leimberger machine gun with belt. Photo Alternathistory.com

Rotating from an external drive, the rotors were supposed to tighten the cartridge strip inside the weapon. The next cartridge was brought to the central position and was clamped in the "detachable chamber", followed by a shot. The sleeve was directly in the tape protruding to the other side of the weapon. According to calculations, such a scheme made it possible to obtain a rate of fire up to 7200 rds / min.

In 1916-17. Fokker made an experienced machine gun (or machine guns) and tested it. The design turned out to be efficient, but it was not highly reliable. The unusual design of the chamber did not provide correct coverage of the cartridge, which regularly led to rupture of the cases and stopping during firing. It was not possible to solve this problem at the stage of fine-tuning. Accordingly, the weapon had no real prospects.

After the war, experienced machine guns were disposed of - with the exception of one, which A. Fokker kept for himself. In 1922 he moved to the USA and took the unique piece with him. Later, the only surviving Fokker-Leimberger machine gun ended up in the Museum of the Historical Society of Kentucky.


View from a different angle. The barrel block and the lower rotor of the "split chamber" are clearly visible. Photo Alternathistory.com

It should be noted that the Fokker-Leimberger machine gun scheme was not developed and was forgotten for several decades. The next time the "split chamber" was used only in the American Mark 18 hand-operated grenade launcher, but it remained the only one of its kind.

Soviet experiments


In the mid-thirties in the USSR, work began on machine guns "heavy fire". To increase the firepower of infantry, combat vehicles and aircraft, it was required to develop weapons with a rate of fire of thousands of rounds per minute. Several design teams took up the solution to this problem, but none of the resulting samples entered service.

The most famous are the works of the Kovrov gunsmith Ivan Ilyich Slostin. In 1936-39. he developed an eight-barreled machine gun chambered for 7,62x54 mm R. Some original ideas were used in the design. In particular, the Slostin machine gun can be considered one of the world's first samples of the Gatling scheme with full automation and without an external drive.


Fokker-Leimberger scheme from patent

The machine gun used a block with eight movable barrels. With the help of rollers, they were connected to a curved rail. When fired, the gas engine forced the barrel to move forward, while the guide provided rotation of the block and preparation of the next shot. The shutter was made in the form of a single part, to which the cartridge was fed - then the chamber was pushed onto it. The trigger was common to all barrels.

During the tests in 1939, a 28 kg product developed a maximum rate of fire of 3300 rds / min. and showed the possibility of a significant increase in the density of fire. However, the machine gun was not reliable enough, and the high rate of fire led to an unnecessary consumption of ammunition. The machine gun was not accepted for service, and its development was postponed.

Work continued only after the war. The reliability has increased, but the rate of fire has dropped by a third. At the same time, the need for an excessively large ammunition stock, ready for use, remained. In the same period I.I. Slostin made a new version of the machine gun chambered for 14,5x114 mm. It was distinguished by the design of a gas engine and a barrel block. Despite the positive reviews and obvious advantages, both machine guns did not enter service, and in 1946 all work stopped.


Slostin machine gun mod. 1946 on Sokolov's machine. Photo Oruzhie.info

Simultaneously with Slostin in the late thirties, Mikhail Nikolaevich Blum from Tula worked on the multi-barrel system. His machine gun chambered for a rifle cartridge had 12 barrels and an external drive in the form of an electric motor. The latter was supposed to spin the barrel block up to 1800 rpm, which made it possible to obtain a rate of fire of up to 13-15 thousand rds / min.

During the tests, it was not possible to confirm such characteristics. The electric motor was able to disperse the barrels only up to 1200 rpm, which corresponded to 8,5-8,6 thousand rds / min. At the same time, three motors burned out during the shooting due to the increased load. The refinement of such a weapon was considered inappropriate.

One or another work on multi-barreled machine guns with a rotating block continued in our country until 1946-47. Experienced weapons worked well at the test site, but retained design, technological and operational shortcomings. The army did not adopt any of these models. In this regard, design work stopped for a long time.


Machine gun on a pedestal for anti-aircraft shooting. Photo Oruzhie.info

Technologies and tasks


The first attempt to improve the Gatling scheme and get fundamentally new capabilities was made shortly after the appearance of the original machine gun. B. Hotchkiss's company has created a number of guns - quite successful in technical and commercial terms. Such results were obtained based on the technologies of the last third of the XNUMXth century.

In the future, the basic scheme was developed, but even the technology of the early XX century. did not provide a complete solution to the assigned tasks. Attempts to increase the rate of fire to record levels faced technological limitations and design problems. As a result, until the middle of the century, multi-barreled systems with a rotating block could not go beyond the polygons, and they did not enjoy particular popularity among gunsmiths.

However, all projects, from the early designs of R. Gatling to the experiments of Soviet engineers, eventually laid the foundation for the further development of weapons. And already in the fifties, a new era began in the field of rapid-fire cannons and machine guns. Multi-barreled systems returned to developed armies, and remain in service to this day.
Author:
19 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Mountain shooter
    Mountain shooter 2 November 2020 18: 47
    +2
    Thanks to the author. I didn't know a lot. Hotchkiss guns, for example. Powerful thing!
    1. Aleksandre
      Aleksandre 2 November 2020 20: 02
      +4
      Quote: Mountain Shooter
      I didn't know a lot. Hotchkiss guns, for example. Powerful thing!

      Quite often it is mentioned in various, artistic and not so, descriptions of the Russian imperial fleet of the late 19th - early 20th centuries. Well, Jules Verne)
      1. Mountain shooter
        Mountain shooter 2 November 2020 22: 48
        +1
        Quote: Aleksandre

        Quite often it is mentioned in various, artistic and not so, descriptions of the Russian imperial fleet of the late 19th - early 20th centuries. Well, Jules Verne)

        In the descriptions, there is no detailed description of the guns!
  2. Mytholog
    Mytholog 2 November 2020 18: 55
    +5
    Damn, but about more or less modern samples?
    About the same YakB-12,7 from the Mi-24, about the "star of fighters" M134 Minigun, about the GAU-8 Avenger cannon from the American A-10 Thunderbolt II attack aircraft?
    The most interesting thing is)
  3. 27091965
    27091965 2 November 2020 19: 56
    +5
    Interesting article, thank you.

    ... This omission was corrected in 1872 by the French company Hotchkiss et Cie. Its engineers, led by Benjamin Hotchkiss, seeing the successes of American machine guns, developed their own version of a small-caliber cannon with a rotating block of barrels.


    It is difficult to agree with this statement; BB Hotchkiss associated the idea of ​​creating such a weapon with the ineffectiveness of the French "mitrailleza" in the Franco-German war in 1870-1871. He decided to create a rapid-fire cannon capable of continuously firing cast-iron explosive shells over long distances. In this case, the gun had to have practically no recoil, interfering with the continuous operation of the gun or the accuracy of its shooting.
    The caliber of 37 mm was chosen based on the results of the conference from 1868, at which the minimum weight of a projectile loaded with explosives was determined to counter the infantry of 450 grams.
  4. irontom
    irontom 2 November 2020 20: 05
    +2
    There is an interesting story with the Hotchkiss rapid-fire gunner, the Navy has an interesting story, when the Raven minionocks were adopted and shot at, the minionocks were thin side cans, with scanty seaworthiness. But ten years later they were solid ships, then they only grew in size and characteristics, but the weapons that were on the destroyers and against them were delayed. And when it came to combat use, all these 37/47 mm Hotchkiss systems were ineffective. The second return is already the trenches of the First World War.
  5. cat Rusich
    cat Rusich 2 November 2020 20: 43
    +2
    Maybe the author is planning another article? ... In which multi-barreled machine guns and cannons from the 60s of the 20th century will be mentioned. For example GSHG-7,62mm (Gryazev-Shipunov-Glagolev) four barrels, GAU-19 / A 12,7x99 (three barrels) USA, CS / LM5 12,7x108mm (three barrels) PRC. And so on about multi-barreled guns ... GSh-6-23.
    1. vik669
      vik669 2 November 2020 21: 03
      0
      GSh-6-30 on MIG-27 aircraft - there was a serious Tula pistol, but ...!
      1. cat Rusich
        cat Rusich 2 November 2020 21: 39
        +3
        GSh-6-30 took root on the ships - AK-630M1-2 "Roy" and AK-630M2 "Duet" (with two "six-barreled barrels") and ZRAK Kortik or Kashtan-M (two 30-mm six-barreled anti-aircraft guns AO-18 ).
        AK-630M1
        AK-630M1-2 "Roy"
        AK-630M2 Duet
        Ak-630M2 "Duet"
        ZRAK Kashtan-M
        Crab Chestnut-M.
      2. Turist1996
        Turist1996 2 November 2020 22: 23
        -4
        Pistol?! Place it on your temple and pull the trigger!
    2. Turist1996
      Turist1996 2 November 2020 22: 25
      -1
      Yes, it would be interesting to read!
    3. Ingenegr
      Ingenegr 3 November 2020 20: 30
      +1
      Quote: cat Rusich
      For example GSHG-7,62mm (Gryazev-Shipunov-Glagolev)

      Vasily Petrovich himself insisted that this machine gun be called "Glagolev-Shipunov-Gryazev". He did not consider this machine gun to be in any way technically perfect and did not take direct part in its design. The second "G" in the name of the machine gun is a political matter.
      1. cat Rusich
        cat Rusich 3 November 2020 21: 02
        0
        Quote: Ingenegr
        The second "G" in the name of the machine gun is a political matter.
        Removing the "second G", the product in the design of which EB Glagolev participated will be confused with GSh-18, GSh-23, GSh-30 ... Maybe GlSh-7,62mm? - specifying the letter "l" ... And where VP Gryazev participated - GrSh ...?
  6. Nikolaevich I
    Nikolaevich I 2 November 2020 21: 24
    +5
    Well, the military did not fight with "gatling" alone! Along with the "gatlings" there were also 1-2-barreled "gardners" ...

    As you know, history repeats itself on a new round ... Roughly the same thing happens in "modern times"!
    Along with the six-barreled "gatling" guns, the "2-barrel" Gast scheme was used with might and main!

    And if we talk about attempts to improve the Gatling machine guns, then, having said A, the author should have said B!
    Having mentioned the Fokker-Leimberger machine gun (by the way, a rather late creation ...), it would be nice to mention the Wilder and Bailey machine guns of a much earlier time ... one might say, the same age as the Gatling machine guns!
    WILDER
    BAILEY
    By the way, in the commentary to the previous "opus" about the Gatlings, I mentioned the gas drive (gas outlet circuit) and the cartridge belt feed ...
    As for the "gas drive" I was kindly confirmed (prompted) (Sahahorse) ..., but about the tape cartridge power supply, I now "discovered the truth"! An example is the Bailey machine gun ...This machine gun was fed from a belt, which was a very progressive solution for that time, since it was the lack of a capacious and reliable feed system that for a long time was the Achilles heel of various machine gun designs. Bailey's design itself is akin to Gatling's design. It also uses a continuously rotating block of barrels, but instead of bolts in the longitudinal direction, the barrels move, which, when reloaded, either move onto the cartridges, then "pull" off them, as in systems with a forward moving barrel. In this case, the cartridges are not removed from the tape, they do not move in the longitudinal direction, before pushing the barrel, they are automatically installed coaxially with it, and even oriented by rotation relative to its longitudinal axis.
    Of course, it is worth pointing out the Fokker-Leimberger machine gun with a belt feed, but this is a creation of a much later time!
    1. Turist1996
      Turist1996 2 November 2020 22: 17
      -1
      But you brought the Gast and GSh scheme in vain! For the General Staff has a significant difference! And what - tell me!
      1. Nikolaevich I
        Nikolaevich I 2 November 2020 23: 27
        +2
        Quote: Turist1996
        But you brought the Gast and GSh scheme in vain

        Incorrect remark! I believe that your claim has nothing to do with the meaning of my comment!
  7. Turist1996
    Turist1996 2 November 2020 22: 09
    -2
    Long run. That is, approaching from afar!
    Kirill, maybe you can go from a different angle:
    "The GSh-6-23 cannon - how Soviet designers developed the idea of ​​Gatling to perfection: the genius of Gryazev against the followers of Gatling."
    It seems to me that I have already invented the plot better than Cyril.
  8. Turist1996
    Turist1996 2 November 2020 22: 12
    -3
    Kiryukha! - I'm sorry that I am addressing you this way, but:
    1) it is impossible to pour "water" in the article!
    2) see point 1.!
  9. Turist1996
    Turist1996 2 November 2020 22: 20
    -3
    And in general, please do not put the ancient Phalanxes and the newest General Staff on the same level!

Военное обозрение

По следам доктора Гатлинга. Развитие схемы с вращающимся блоком стволов

19

Пятиствольная 37-мм пушка Гочкиса в музее. Фото Wikimedia Commons


В 1865 г. на вооружение армии США впервые поступил многоствольный пулемет конструкции Ричарда Джордана Гатлинга. За счет оригинальной схемы такое оружие показывало высочайшие огневые характеристики. Это привело к появлению интереса со стороны военных и оружейников – и начался процесс доработки и адаптации исходной конструкции.

Увеличенный калибр


Собственная компания Р. Гатлинга разрабатывала и выпускала новое оружие в разных калибрах, но речь шла только о пулеметах, тогда как артиллерийская сфера оставалась неохваченной. Это упущение в 1872 г. исправила французская компания Hotchkiss et Cie. Ее инженеры во главе с Бенджамином Гочкисом, видя успехи американских пулеметов, разработали свой вариант малокалиберной пушки с вращающимся блоком стволов.

Пушки марки «Гочкис» существенно отличались от изделий Гатлинга – чтобы не нарушать существующие патенты. Так, сохранялся вращающийся блок стволов и внешний привод с рукояткой. При этом разработали свой вариант затвора и спускового механизма, используемых вместе со всеми стволами поочередно. Боепитание осуществлялось из магазина сверху под собственным весом унитарных снарядов.

По следам доктора Гатлинга. Развитие схемы с вращающимся блоком стволов
Орудие Hotchkiss, 1874 г. Фото Wikimedia Commons

Первый вариант пушки Hotchkiss Revolving Cannon получил пять нарезных стволов калибром 37 мм. Его скорострельность достигала 68 выстр./мин., а дальность стрельбы превышала 1,8 км. Позже была разработана пушка калибром 47 с тем же количеством стволов. Увеличение калибра привело к росту массы блока стволов и сокращению скорострельности. В то же время, выросли дальность стрельбы и могущество снаряда.

Пушки Гочкиса изначально выпускались на колесных лафетах, в т.ч. с щитовым прикрытием. Для удобства транспортировки и хранения боекомплекта лафет комплектовался артиллерийским передком. В дальнейшем появились тумбовые установки для крепостей и кораблей. Боекомплект включал унитарные выстрелы с осколочными и картечными снарядами.

Орудия марки Hotchkiss поступили на вооружение нескольких армий и флотов Европы и Америки. К примеру, значительное количество 37-мм пушек закупил русский флот. Их ставили на корабли разных типов для защиты от миноносок и самодвижущихся мин. Высокая скорострельность и осколочный снаряд должны были обеспечить поражение вражеского катера или орудия на безопасном расстоянии. Пушки активно использовались в течение нескольких десятилетий, и ведущие страны отказались от них только к началу Первой мировой войны.


Германские артиллеристы с пушкой Гочкиса, Африка, начало XX в. Фото Bundesarchiv

Многоствольные пушки Б. Гочкиса с точки зрения технических и эксплуатационных особенностей мало отличались от исходной конструкции Р. Гатлинга. Они давали достаточно высокую скорострельность, показывали высокую дальность стрельбы, не страдали от нагара и т.д. При этом переработка затвора и спускового механизма не привела к каким-либо проблемам и даже защитила компанию-разработчика от судебных исков.

Немецкая попытка


В августе 1916 г. германская армия заказала конкурсную разработку нового скорострельного пулемета для установки на самолеты. Компания Антона Фоккера присоединилась к этой программе со своим проектом Fokker-Leimberger. Изначально Фоккер и Ляймбергер планировали сделать новый пулемет на базе изделия MG 08, но затем занялись разработкой оригинальной конструкции под стандартный немецкий винтовочный патрон.

Для снижения тепловых нагрузок при высоком темпе стрельбы было решено использовать вращающийся блок с 12 нарезными стволами калибра 7,92 мм. Темп стрельбы значительно повысили при помощи «разъемного патронника». Позади стволов расположили два ротора с полукруглыми лотками на внешней поверхности. При совмещении выемок роторы образовывали цилиндрический патронник. За ними находился неподвижный затвор с простейшим спусковым механизмом.


Опытный пулемет Fokker-Leimberger с лентой. Фото Alternathistory.com

Вращаясь от внешнего привода, роторы должны были затягивать патронную ленту внутрь оружия. Очередной патрон подводился в центральное положение и оказывался зажат в «разъемном патроннике», после чего следовал выстрел. Гильза прямо в ленте выдавалась на другую сторону оружия. По расчетам, такая схема позволяла получить скорострельность до 7200 выстр./мин.

В 1916-17 гг. фирма «Фоккер» изготовила опытный пулемет (либо пулеметы) и провела испытания. Конструкция оказалась работоспособной, но не отличалась высокой надежностью. Необычная конструкция патронника не обеспечивала правильный охват патрона, что регулярно приводило к разрыву гильз и остановкам при стрельбе. Решить эту проблему на стадии доводки не удалось. Соответственно, оружие не имело реальных перспектив.

После войны опытные пулеметы утилизировали – за исключением одного, который А. Фоккер оставил себе. В 1922 г. он переехал в США и забрал уникальное изделие с собой. Позже единственный сохранившийся пулемет Fokker-Leimberger попал в музей Исторического общества Кентукки.


Вид с другого ракурса. Хорошо видны блок стволов и нижний ротор "разъемного патронника". Фото Alternathistory.com

Следует отметить, что схема пулемета Фоккера-Ляймбергера не получила развития и была забыта на несколько десятилетий. В следующий раз «разъемный патронник» использовали только в американском гранатомете с ручным приводом Mark 18, но и он остался единственным в своем роде.

Советские эксперименты


В середине тридцатых годов в СССР началась работа над пулеметами «шквального огня». Для повышения огневой мощи пехоты, боевых машин и самолетов требовалось разработать оружие со скорострельностью в тысячи выстрелов в минуту. За решение этой задачи взялись несколько конструкторских коллективов, но ни один из получившихся образцов не поступил на вооружение.

Наибольшую известность получили работы ковровского оружейника Ивана Ильича Слостина. В 1936-39 гг. он разработал восьмиствольный пулемет под патрон 7,62х54 мм R. В конструкции использовались некоторые оригинальные идеи. В частности, пулемет Слостина может считаться одним из первых в мире образцов схемы Гатлинга с полноценной автоматикой и без внешнего привода.


Схема "Фоккер-Ляймбергера" из патента

Пулемет использовал блок с восемью подвижными стволами. При помощи роликов они соединялись с изогнутой направляющей. При выстреле газовый двигатель заставлял ствол сдвигаться вперед, а направляющая при этом обеспечивала поворот блока и подготовку следующего выстрела. Затвор выполнили в виде единой детали, к которой подавался патрон – затем на него надвигался патронник. Спусковой механизм был общим для всех стволов.

В ходе испытаний 1939 г. изделие массой 28 кг развило максимальную скорострельность в 3300 выстр./мин. и показало возможность значительного повышения плотности огня. Однако пулемет оказался недостаточно надежным, а высокая скорострельность приводила к излишнему расходу боеприпасов. Пулемет не стали принимать на вооружение, а его доводку отложили.

Работы продолжились только после войны. Надежность выросла, но скорострельность упала на треть. При этом сохранялась необходимость в чрезмерно большом боезапасе, готовом к использованию. В тот же период И.И. Слостин сделал новый вариант пулемета под патрон 14,5х114 мм. Он отличался конструкцией газового двигателя и блока стволов. Несмотря на положительные отзывы и очевидные преимущества, оба пулемета не поступили на вооружение, и в 1946 г. все работы остановились.


Пулемет Слостина обр. 1946 г. на станке Соколова. Фото Oruzhie.info

Одновременно со Слостиным в конце тридцатых над многоствольной системой работал Михаил Николаевич Блюм из Тулы. Его пулемет под винтовочный патрон имел 12 стволов и внешний привод в виде электромотора. Последний должен был раскручивать блок стволов до 1800 об./мин., что позволяло получить скорострельность до 13-15 тыс. выстр./мин.

В ходе испытаний подтвердить такие характеристики не удалось. Электромотор смог разогнать стволы только до 1200 об./мин., что соответствовало 8,5-8,6 тыс. выстр./мин. При этом во время стрельб из-за повышенной нагрузки сгорело три мотора. Доводку такого оружия посчитали нецелесообразной.

Те или иные работы по многоствольным пулеметам с вращающимся блоком продолжались в нашей стране до 1946-47 гг. Опытное оружие неплохо работало на полигоне, но сохраняло конструктивные, технологические и эксплуатационные недостатки. Армия не приняла на вооружение ни один из этих образцов. В связи с этим конструкторские работы на длительное время остановились.


Пулемет на тумбе для зенитной стрельбы. Фото Oruzhie.info

Технологии и задачи


Первая попытка улучшить схему Гатлинга и получить принципиально новые возможности была предпринята вскоре появления исходного пулемета. Компания Б. Гочкиса создала целый ряд пушек – достаточно удачных в техническом и коммерческом отношении. Такие результаты удалось получить на основе технологий последней трети XIX в.

В дальнейшем базовая схема получила развитие, но даже технологии начала XX в. не обеспечили полноценное решение поставленных задач. Попытки повышения скорострельности до рекордного уровня сталкивались с технологическими ограничениями и конструктивными проблемами. В итоге до середины века многоствольные системы с вращающимся блоком не смогли выйти за пределы полигонов, да и не пользовались особой популярностью среди оружейников.

Однако все проекты, от ранних разработок Р. Гатлинга до экспериментов советских инженеров, в итоге заложили основу для дальнейшего развития вооружений. И уже в пятидесятых годах началась новая эпоха в сфере скорострельных пушек и пулеметов. Многоствольные системы вернулись в развитые армии, и остаются на вооружении до сих пор.
Автор:
19 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Горный стрелок
    Горный стрелок 2 ноября 2020 18:47 Новый
    +2
    Спасибо автору. Многого не знал. Пушки Гочкиса, например. Мощная вещь!
    1. Aleksandre
      Aleksandre 2 ноября 2020 20:02 Новый
      +4
      Цитата: Горный стрелок
      Многого не знал. Пушки Гочкиса, например. Мощная вещь!

      Достаточно часто упоминается в различных, художественных и не очень, описаниях российского императорского флота конца 19го - начала 20го века. Ну и у Жюль Верна )
      1. Горный стрелок
        Горный стрелок 2 ноября 2020 22:48 Новый
        +1
        Цитата: Aleksandre

        Достаточно часто упоминается в различных, художественных и не очень, описаниях российского императорского флота конца 19го - начала 20го века. Ну и у Жюль Верна )

        В описаниях есть, подробного описания пушек нет!
  2. Mytholog
    Mytholog 2 ноября 2020 18:55 Новый
    +5
    Блин, ну а про более-менее современные образцы?
    Про тот же ЯкБ-12,7 с Ми-24, про "звезду боевиков" М134 Minigun, про пушку GAU-8 Avenger с американского штурмовика A-10 Thunderbolt II?
    Самое интересное же )
  3. 27091965i
    27091965i 2 ноября 2020 19:56 Новый
    +5
    Интересная статья, спасибо.

    . Это упущение в 1872 г. исправила французская компания Hotchkiss et Cie. Ее инженеры во главе с Бенджамином Гочкисом, видя успехи американских пулеметов, разработали свой вариант малокалиберной пушки с вращающимся блоком стволов.


    С этим утверждением сложно согласится, идея создания такого орудия B. B. Hotchkiss связывал с неэффективностью французской "митральезы" во франко-германской войне в 1870-1871 года. Он решил создать скорострельную пушку, способную вести непрерывную стрельбу чугунными разрывными снарядами на больших расстояниях. При этом орудие должно было практически не иметь отдачи, мешающей непрерывному действию пушки или точности ее стрельбы.
    Калибр в 37 мм был выбран на основании итогов конференции от 1868 года, на которой был определён минимальный вес снаряда снаряженного взрывчаткой, для противодействия пехоте 450 грамм.
  4. irontom
    irontom 2 ноября 2020 20:05 Новый
    +2
    С скорострелкой Гочкиса, во флоте интересная история, когда принимали на вооружение и расстреливали миноноску Ворон, миноноски были тонко бортными жестянками, с мизерной мореходностью. Но уже через десять лет это были солидные суда, далее только росли в размерах и характеристиках, а вот вооружение что на миноносцах и против них под задержалось. А когда дел дошло до боевого применения, все эти 37/47 мм системы Гочкиса оказались малоэффективными. Второе возвращение это уже окопы первой мировой.
  5. котик-русич
    котик-русич 2 ноября 2020 20:43 Новый
    +2
    Может автор планирует ещё статью ?... В которой будут упомянуты многоствольные пулемёты и пушки начиная с 60-ых годов 20 века. Например ГШГ-7,62мм (Грязев-Шипунов-Глаголев) четыре ствола, GAU-19/A 12,7х99 (три ствола) сша, CS/LM5 12,7x108мм (три ствола) КНР. И так далее про многоствольные пушки... ГШ-6-23.
    1. vik669
      vik669 2 ноября 2020 21:03 Новый
      0
      ГШ-6-30 на самолетах МИГ-27 - серьёзный тульский пистолет был но ... !
      1. котик-русич
        котик-русич 2 ноября 2020 21:39 Новый
        +3
        ГШ-6-30 прижилась на кораблях - АК-630М1-2 "Рой" и АК-630М2 "Дуэт" (с двумя "шестиствольными стволами") и ЗРАК Кортик или Каштан-М (два 30-мм шестиствольных зенитных автомата АО-18).
        АК-630М1
        АК-630М1-2 "Рой"
        АК-630М2 Дуэт
        Ак-630М2 "Дуэт"
        ЗРАК Каштан-М
        ЗРАК Каштан-М.
      2. Turist1996
        Turist1996 2 ноября 2020 22:23 Новый
        -4
        Пистолет?! Приставьте его к своему виску и нажмите на спуск!
    2. Turist1996
      Turist1996 2 ноября 2020 22:25 Новый
      -1
      Да, было бы интересно почитать!
    3. Ingenegr
      Ingenegr 3 ноября 2020 20:30 Новый
      +1
      Цитата: котик-русич
      Например ГШГ-7,62мм (Грязев-Шипунов-Глаголев)

      Сам Василий Петрович настаивал,чтобы сей пулемет называли "Глаголев-Шипунов-Грязев". Он не считал этот пулемет технически сколько-нибудь совершенным и в его проектировании непосредственного участия не принимал. Второе "Г" в названии пулемёта - дело политическое.
      1. котик-русич
        котик-русич 3 ноября 2020 21:02 Новый
        0
        Цитата: Ingenegr
        Второе "Г" в названии пулемёта - дело политическое.
        Убрав "вторую Г", изделие в конструирование которого участвовал Е. Б. Глаголев будут путать с ГШ-18, ГШ-23, ГШ-30... Может ГлШ-7,62мм ? - уточняя буквой "л"... А там где участвовал В. П. Грязев - ГрШ... ?
  6. Nikolaevich I
    Nikolaevich I 2 ноября 2020 21:24 Новый
    +5
    Ну,не "гатлингом "единым воевали военные ! Наряду с "гатлингами" имелись и 1-2ствольные "гарднеры"...

    Как известно, история повторяется на новом витке... Примерно то же самое происходит и в "современные времена" !
    Наряду с шестиствольными ганами типа "гатлинг" ,вовсю применялись ганы по "2-ствольной" схеме Гаста !

    А если говорить о попытках усовершенствовать пулемёты Гатлинга ,то ,сказав А,автору бы надо было проговорить и Б !
    Упомянув пулемёт Фоккера-Ляймбергера(кстати,творение ,довольно-таки,позднего времени...), неплохо бы было упомянуть и пулемёты Уайлдера и Бейли гораздо раннего времени...можно,сказать,ровесников пулемётов Гатлинга !
    УАЙЛДЕР
    БЕЙЛИ
    Кстати , в комменте к предыдущему "опусу" о Гатлингах, я упоминал газовом приводе (газоотводной схеме) и ленточном патронном питании...
    Насчёт "газового привода " мне любезно подтвердили(подсказали) (Sahahorse) ...,а вот по поводу ленточного патронного питания мне сейчас "открылась истина" ! Примером может служить пулемёт Бейли...Этот пулемёт питался из ленты, что было весьма прогрессивным решением для того времени, поскольку именно отсутствие ёмкой и надёжной системы подачи долгое время было ахиллесовой пятой различных конструкций пулемётов. Сама по себе конструкция Бэйли родственна конструкции Гатлинга. В ней тоже используется непрерывно вращающийся блок стволов, но вместо затворов в продольном направлении перемещаются стволы, которые при перезарядке то надвигаются на патроны, то "стаскиваются" с них, как в системах с подвижным вперёд стволом. При этом патроны из ленты не извлекаются, в продольном направлении не движутся, перед надвиганием ствола автоматически устанавливаются соосно с ним, и даже ориентируются по вращению относительно его продольной оси.
    Конечно же ,стоит указать и на пулемёт Фоккера-Ляймбергера с ленточным питанием,но это творение гораздо позднего времени !
    1. Turist1996
      Turist1996 2 ноября 2020 22:17 Новый
      -1
      А вот схему Гаста и ГШ вы привели зря! Ибо у ГШ есть существенное отличие! А какое - скажите!
      1. Nikolaevich I
        Nikolaevich I 2 ноября 2020 23:27 Новый
        +2
        Цитата: Turist1996
        А вот схему Гаста и ГШ вы привели зря

        Некорректное замечание ! Считаю,что к смыслу моего коммента ваша претензия не имеет отношения !
  7. Turist1996
    Turist1996 2 ноября 2020 22:09 Новый
    -2
    Длинный заход. То есть - заход издалека!
    Кирилл, может быть зайти с другого ракурса:
    "Пушка ГШ-6-23 - как советские конструкторы развили идею Гатлинга до совершенства: гений Грязева против последователей Гатлинга."
    Мне кажется, завязку я уже лучше, чем Кирилл, придумал.
  8. Turist1996
    Turist1996 2 ноября 2020 22:12 Новый
    -3
    Кирюха! - прости, что так обращаюсь к тебе, но:
    1) нельзя так "воду" лить в статье!
    2) смотри пункт 1.!
  9. Turist1996
    Turist1996 2 ноября 2020 22:20 Новый
    -3
    И вообще, прошу не ставит в один ряд древние Фаланксы и новейшие ГШ!