Military Review

Middle East Press: Saudi Arabia Refuses to Link Possible F-35 Purchase with Israel Deal

18

In the Middle East media, materials are published that describe the reaction of the Saudi Arabian authorities to the American proposal for a deal with Israel.


The Middle East Monitor reported that Saudi Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman refused to make any political concessions in exchange for receiving F-35 fighters from the United States. In this case, the main "political concessions" mean complete normalization of relations with the State of Israel.

From the material:

Mohammed bin Salman emphasized that if Saudi Arabia decided to submit a request to the United States for the purchase of F-35 fighters, then it does so openly, with full transparency, without making deals behind closed doors.

At the same time, the Crown Prince of the Saudi Kingdom added that the country is interested in updating its aircraft fleet and that Riyadh has an interest in the latest fighters.

Earlier, the prince reported that he informed US President Donald Trump about Saudi Arabia's interest in fifth-generation American fighters. Now Ben Salman specifies that this interest and the possible purchase itself does not imply any linkage with any "parallel deals".

It is worth recalling that the sale of 50 F-35 fighters to the United Arab Emirates was previously agreed. At the same time, Washington was "negotiating" with Israel.

One of the comments to an article in the said publication stated that "the sale of F-35 fighters by the Americans is more like milking cows."
18 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Maki maki
    Maki maki 4 November 2020 07: 59
    18
    does it openly, with full transparency, without making deals behind closed doors

    But who admits such things.
  2. A. Privalov
    A. Privalov 4 November 2020 08: 17
    +2
    It is not yet a matter of linking or not linking. Maybe they don't really need the F-35 at all. The Saudis are enraged like a marriageable bride who has been pretending to be a virgin for too long, who has been galloped by a broken neighbor.
    The OAU turned out to be more pragmatic - they have a normalization agreement with Israel in their pocket, and they will receive the F-35 on time, and already in the port of Haifa, under unloading / loading, Emirati container ships are queuing up.
    In our area, the customs are simple: I clicked a bread slicer - I was left without porridge. The Saudis know and understand this very well, but apparently, show-offs are dearer to them.
    1. Vitaly gusin
      Vitaly gusin 4 November 2020 10: 07
      0
      Quote: A. Privalov
      The Saudis know and understand this very well, but apparently, show-offs are dearer to them.

      And they know and understand, but as you know they respect their parents very much. King Salman was born and raised during the years of inciting hatred towards Israel and remembers the time of the adoption of the "Khartoum resolution". The resolution called for the continuation of the struggle against Israel, for the rejection of peace with Israel, without recognition of Israel and without negotiations with Israel. And then there was the peaceful "Saudi Initiative" and all this "sank into oblivion."
      But time changes everything and it is clear that without the permission of the SA, Bahrain never signed an agreement with Israel. It was a touchstone.
      1. A. Privalov
        A. Privalov 4 November 2020 10: 55
        +2
        Quote: Vitaly Gusin
        And they know and understand, but as you know they respect their parents very much. King Salman was born and raised during the years of inciting hatred towards Israel and remembers the time of the adoption of the "Khartoum resolution". The resolution called for the continuation of the struggle against Israel, for the rejection of peace with Israel, without recognition of Israel and without negotiations with Israel. And then there was the peaceful "Saudi Initiative" and all this "sank into oblivion."
        But time changes everything and it is clear that without the permission of the SA, Bahrain never signed an agreement with Israel. It was a touchstone.

        Traditional oriental bazaar. Sudan bargained to the last, but nevertheless recognized Hezbollah as a terrorist organization and achieved for itself exclusion from the "black list" of sponsors of terror. The Saudis will also continue to win out some preferences and will definitely get something. 4-5 more countries are on the way interested in normalizing relations with Israel. They are sick and tired of parasites - "Palestinians" for more than 50 years holding dozens of Arab countries by the balls, turning their pockets inside out and forcing them to give up a lot of their own political and economic benefits in the name of far-fetched "brotherly solidarity".
        1. Thrifty
          Thrifty 4 November 2020 11: 46
          -1
          Halts hi Happy Holidays! There is still a question of questions for the Saudis to buy f35 profitably, or is it profitable to sell them to the Saudis for the USA! The equipment there will be different, and the price is higher than for the Israelis, and only the Yankees will be engaged in the service. ..
          1. A. Privalov
            A. Privalov 4 November 2020 12: 39
            +4
            Quote: Thrifty
            Halts hi Happy Holidays! There is still a question of questions for the Saudis to buy f35 profitably, or is it profitable to sell them to the Saudis for the USA! The equipment there will be different, and the price is higher than for the Israelis, and only the Yankees will be engaged in the service. ..

            Mutually! drinks
            Buying weapons is the worst investment in government money. Accordingly, only the seller benefits here.
            The package will be the one that the Saudis will order. The price is appropriate.
            By the way, prices are clearly falling and are already falling below 80 million per plane.
            The F-35A in 2020 will still be delivered at a price of 82,4 million, in 2021 - 79,17 million, and in 2022 - 77,9 million per aircraft. Accordingly, other modifications will also become cheaper: the F-35B, which allows vertical landing, and the deck F-35C.
            For Israel, it is a little cheaper, since it takes cars in the lowest basic configuration - so that they can only fly to Israel. As you know, Israel puts practically all avionics of its own production, in particular, electronic warfare systems and cockpit equipment, with the integration of weapons of its own production into the OMS.
            As for the service, I cannot say anything intelligible at the moment. Let's look closer to the body, as they say. Usually, technicians are trained in parallel with the pilots, but in Saudi Arabia they really like to have someone do the work for them, outsourcing has been flourishing everywhere for a long time, so anything can be. hi
    2. Umalta
      Umalta 5 November 2020 01: 46
      -2
      A very dubious acquisition - the F-35, considering everything that is available in open sources about this flying trough.
  3. Zaurbek
    Zaurbek 4 November 2020 08: 20
    +1
    And rightly so. Then Congress, retroactively, will ban the sale.
    1. Tsoy
      Tsoy 4 November 2020 08: 38
      -3
      American sales of F-35 fighters are more like milking cows. "


      Bad milkers from the United States could then sell new F-15s that were more expensive than the 35th. But no. Foolish what to take from them.
      1. Zaurbek
        Zaurbek 4 November 2020 10: 46
        0
        CA is the first customer and largest user of F15EX (or CA)
        1. Tsoy
          Tsoy 4 November 2020 13: 40
          0
          CA is the first customer and largest user of F15EX (or CA)


          These are different modifications. Even the radars are different. EX just went into production, and SA was already delivered to the customer in 2016.
  4. Turanov
    Turanov 4 November 2020 08: 33
    -4
    At the same time, Washington was "negotiating" with Israel.

    Everything is immediately clear ... wink
  5. rocket757
    rocket757 4 November 2020 09: 37
    0
    To admit that they have recognized and cooperate with Israel, for the leaders of the Muslim world, what they want to be, is not comme il faut!
    Moreover, the Sultan specifically climbs on this role !!!
    The East, however, has its own religious troubles!
    1. Polymer
      Polymer 4 November 2020 15: 54
      +1
      Quote: rocket757
      To admit that they have recognized and cooperate with Israel, for the leaders of the Muslim world, what they want to be, is not comme il faut!

      From! Therefore, there is a suspicion that the United States is not very willing to sell the F-35 to the Saudis. And the condition of the deal with Israel is beneficial for the United States in any case: if they don't want to - they won't sell it, they will agree - it will be the "wrong" Muslims, then they can be registered in the LGBT community, and under this sauce they can sell the "penguins". .. in 5 years, to be sure.
      1. rocket757
        rocket757 4 November 2020 16: 02
        +1
        BV, this is harder than I know. For a long time I have not been interested in that direction, with the exception of Turkish affairs ... neighbors, after all, and they have more weight than all the others put together, even Egypt, a historical, personal interes.
  6. Runoway
    Runoway 4 November 2020 11: 00
    +1
    The Emirates will definitely not get any advantage from this deal, their demo versions of the F-35 are an expensive helpless toy compared to the F-35 of Israel, which are well aware of the penguin's weaknesses and have their own software.
    And in general, such a deal is very similar to the events of the past.
  7. Simple
    Simple 4 November 2020 16: 40
    0
    F-35 for the Emirates - F-22 for Israel?
    The United Arab Emirates is expected to receive up to 50 Lockheed Martin F-35s in the near future. This is a topic for conversation about the superiority of Israel in the Middle East. The Israelis want to take advantage of this opportunity - and are looking for the F-22 Raptor fighter in the US.
    After the end of the Yom Kippur War in 1973, legislation was passed in the United States. It states that the United States will always guarantee Israel technological superiority over its Arab neighbors in arms matters. For this reason, among other things, the sale of the most modern American fighter aircraft Lockheed Martin F-35 to the Arab world was not even considered.

    Israel gives the green light
    However, after the rapprochement between Israel and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and the signing of a peace agreement two weeks ago, the situation is starting to change. The Israeli government recently said it would not be an obstacle if the United States decided to also supply the UAE with the F-35, which has been in service with the Israelis since late 2016. The White House has now told the US Congress that it will approve the sale of 50 F-35s to the Emirates. Jared Kushner, adviser and son-in-law to US President Trump, some time ago promised the Arabs the prospect of airplanes if their relations with Israel normalize.

    Politician: "Don't support anyone!"
    This announcement was not only met with congressional approval. Eliot Engel, a House Democratic MP, expressed concern that such a deal could "significantly alter the military balance in the Gulf and affect Israel's military advantage." Engel urged not to support anyone. “The export of this aircraft requires careful consideration,” the politician said. Therefore, Congress must first examine all the associated effects.

    "F-35 light" for the Emirates?
    If this investigation turns out to be negative, Congress could block the $ 10,4 billion deal. However, it has already been heard from government circles that the United States wants to guarantee Israel military superiority over its neighbors in the future. "US officials have said they can give this guarantee regardless of F-35 sales, without publicly showing what they want to offer Israel," Bloomberg news agency wrote. Therefore, it is quite possible that the UAE will receive a trimmed version of the F-35, which will not be able to compare with the Israeli F-35I "Adir" - for example, due to weaker software.

    Or an F-22 for Israel?
    However, the Israelis could have received a completely different caliber fighter from the United States in return. One of these, which has been owned by the United States Air Force for many years: the Lockheed Martin F-22 Raptor. The Israelis have looked at this superfighter repeatedly in the past, but the US Senate has faithfully flashed it. Now the situation may change in this regard: the Saudi newspaper Asharq Al-Awsat writes, citing "high-ranking sources" in Tel Aviv, that the Trump administration has already approved the export of F-22s to Israel. Something similar is reported by the Australian website Defense Connect.
    Serial production (F-22) may start again
    Meanwhile, it remained unclear how many planes Israel could receive and where they should take off from. The F-22 has not been built since 2011, and the US Air Force is unlikely to sell its 187 copies. However, the manufacturing facility, tools and video of the Raptor assembly process still exist. For many years, there was also talk of resuming serial production of the fighter. Thus, the idea is not completely absurd, especially since it has already found supporters in both parliamentary groups in the House of Representatives.

    https://www.flugrevue.de/militaer/f-35-fuer-die-emirate-f-22-fuer-israel/
  8. Alien From
    Alien From 5 November 2020 02: 00
    0
    Near, far ...... sneeze at them!

Военное обозрение

Пресса Ближнего Востока: Саудовская Аравия отказывается увязывать возможную покупку F-35 и сделку с Израилем

18

В ближневосточных СМИ выходят материалы, в которых рассказывается о реакции властей Саудовской Аравии на американское предложение по сделке с Израилем.


В издании Middle East Monitor сообщается о том, что наследный саудовский принц Мохаммед бен Салман отказался пойти на какие-либо политические уступки в обмен на получение от США истребителей F-35. Под основными «политическими уступками» в данном случае понимается полная нормализация отношений с государством Израиль.

Из материала:

Мохаммед бен Салман подчеркнул, что если Саудовская Аравия и решила подать в США запрос на приобретение истребителей F-35, то делает это открыто, при полной прозрачности, без заключения сделок за закрытыми дверями.

При этом наследный принц Саудовского королевства добавил, что страна заинтересована в обновлении своего авиационного парка и что к новейшим истребителям у Эр-Рияда есть интерес.

Ранее принц сообщал, что информировал президента США Дональда Трампа об интересе Саудовской Аравии к американским истребителям пятого поколения. Теперь бен Салман конкретизирует, что этот интерес и сама возможная покупка не предполагают увязывания с какими-либо «параллельными сделками».

Стоит напомнить, что ранее была согласована продажа 50 истребителей F-35 в Объединённые Арабские Эмираты. При этом «согласование» Вашингтон проводил с Израилем.

В одном из комментариев к статье в указанном издании заявлено, что "продажа американцами истребителей F-35 больше похожа на доение коров".
18 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Маки-маки
    Маки-маки 4 ноября 2020 07:59 Новый
    +18
    делает это открыто, при полной прозрачности, без заключения сделок за закрытыми дверями

    Да кто ж в таких вещах признается.
  2. А. Привалов
    А. Привалов 4 ноября 2020 08:17 Новый
    +2
    Тут дело ещё не в том, увязывать или не увязывать. Может быть им на самом деле вообще не нужны F-35. Саудиты бесятся, как невеста на выданье, строившая из себя девственницу слишком долго, которую обскакала разбитная соседка.
    ОАЕ оказались более прагматичными -- и договор о нормализации с Израилем у них в кармане, и F-35 они получат вОвремя, и уже в порту Хайфы под разгрузкой/погрузкой эмиратские контейнеровозы в очереди стоЯт.
    В наших краях нравы простые: хлеборезкой прщелкал -- остался без каши. Саудиты это прекрасно знают и понимают, но видимо, понты им дороже.
    1. Vitaly Gusin
      Vitaly Gusin 4 ноября 2020 10:07 Новый
      0
      Цитата: А. Привалов
      Саудиты это прекрасно знают и понимают, но видимо, понты им дороже.

      И знают и понимают, но как вы знаете очень уважают своих родителей. Король Салман родился и вырос в годы разжигания ненависти к Израилю и помнит время принятия "Хартумской резолюции". Резолюция призвала к продолжению борьбы против Израиля, об отказе от мира с Израилем, без признания Израиля и без переговоров с Израилем. А потом была мирная "Cаудовская инициатива" и все это "кануло в лету".
      Но, время все меняет и понятно, что без разрешения СА, Бахрейн никогда не подписал соглашение с Израилем. Это был пробный камень.
      1. А. Привалов
        А. Привалов 4 ноября 2020 10:55 Новый
        +2
        Цитата: Vitaly Gusin
        И знают и понимают, но как вы знаете очень уважают своих родителей. Король Салман родился и вырос в годы разжигания ненависти к Израилю и помнит время принятия "Хартумской резолюции". Резолюция призвала к продолжению борьбы против Израиля, об отказе от мира с Израилем, без признания Израиля и без переговоров с Израилем. А потом была мирная "Cаудовская инициатива" и все это "кануло в лету".
        Но, время все меняет и понятно, что без разрешения СА, Бахрейн никогда не подписал соглашение с Израилем. Это был пробный камень.

        Традиционный восточный базар. Судан торговался до последнего, но таки признал Хизбаллу террористической организацией и добился для себя исключения из "чёрного списка" спонсоров террора. Саудиты тоже будут продолжать выбивать какие-то преференции и обязательно что-то получат. На подходе ещё 4-5 стран заинтересованных в нормализации отношений с Израилем. Им до чёртиков надоели дармоеды-"палестинцы" 50 с лишним лет держащие десятки арабских стран за яйца, выворачивающие им карманы и заставляющие во имя надуманной "братской солидарности" отказываться от уймы собственных политических и экономических выгод.
        1. Бережливый
          Бережливый 4 ноября 2020 11:46 Новый
          -1
          Привалов hi с Праздником! Тут еще вопрос вопросов саудитам выгодно купить ф35, или же сша выгодно их продать саудитам! Там комплектация будет иной, и цена повыше чем для израильтян, и сервисом занематься будет только янки. ..
          1. А. Привалов
            А. Привалов 4 ноября 2020 12:39 Новый
            +4
            Цитата: Бережливый
            Привалов hi с Праздником! Тут еще вопрос вопросов саудитам выгодно купить ф35, или же сша выгодно их продать саудитам! Там комплектация будет иной, и цена повыше чем для израильтян, и сервисом занематься будет только янки. ..

            Взаимно! drinks
            Покупка вооружений -- самое скверное вложение государственных денежных средств. Соответственно, выгода тут лишь у продавца.
            Комплектация будет та, которую саудиты закажут. Цена -- соответственная.
            К слову, цены явно падают и опускаются уже ниже 80 миллионов за самолет.
            F-35A в 2020 году ещё будет поставляться по цене 82,4 миллиона, в 2021 году – 79,17 миллионов, а в 2022 году - 77,9 миллионов за самолет. Соответственно будут дешеветь и другие модификации: F-35B, позволяющая вертикальную посадку, и палубный F-35C.
            Для Израиля выходит чуть дешевле, так как он берёт машины в самой низкой базовой комплектации -- так, чтобы они только могли перелететь в Израиль. Как известно, Израиль ставит практически всё БРЭО собственного производства, в частности систем РЭБ и оборудования кабины, с интеграцией в СУО оружия собственного производства.
            Что касается сервиса, то тут, я ничего внятного на данный момент сказать не могу. Посмотрим ближе к телу, как говорится. Обычно, техники обучаются параллельно с лётчиками, но в Саудовской Аравии очень любят, чтобы работу за них делал кто-то, там давно и везде процветает аутсорсинг, так что, всё может быть. hi
    2. Умальта
      Умальта 5 ноября 2020 01:46 Новый
      -2
      Ооочень сомнительное приобретение - F-35, учитывая всё то что доступно в открытых источниках про это летающее корыто.
  3. Zaurbek
    Zaurbek 4 ноября 2020 08:20 Новый
    +1
    И правильно. Потом вконгрессе, задним числом , запретят продажу.
    1. Цой
      Цой 4 ноября 2020 08:38 Новый
      -3
      продажа американцами истребителей F-35 больше похожа на доение коров".


      Плохие из Сша дояры тогда ведь могли продать новые F-15 которые дороже 35-го. А нет. Неумные что с них взять.
      1. Zaurbek
        Zaurbek 4 ноября 2020 10:46 Новый
        0
        СА первый покупатель и крупнейший пользователь Ф15ЕХ(или СА)
        1. Цой
          Цой 4 ноября 2020 13:40 Новый
          0
          СА первый покупатель и крупнейший пользователь Ф15ЕХ(или СА)


          Это разные модификации. Даже радары разные. EX только в серию пошел, а SA уже в 2016 первые передали заказчику.
  4. Turanov
    Turanov 4 ноября 2020 08:33 Новый
    -4
    При этом «согласование» Вашингтон проводил с Израилем.

    Все сразу понятно... wink
  5. rocket757
    rocket757 4 ноября 2020 09:37 Новый
    0
    Признаться в том, что признали и сотрудничают с Израиле, для лидеров мусульманского мира, какими они хотят быть, не комильфо!
    Тем более на эту роль конкретно лезет Султан!!!
    Восток, однако, свои, религиозные заморочки!
    1. Полимер
      Полимер 4 ноября 2020 15:54 Новый
      +1
      Цитата: rocket757
      Признаться в том, что признали и сотрудничают с Израиле, для лидеров мусульманского мира, какими они хотят быть, не комильфо!

      Во-от! Поэтому и возникает подозрение, что США не очень то и хотят продавать F-35 саудитам. А условие сделки с Израилем выгодно для Штатов в любом случае: не захотят - не продадут, согласятся - это уже будут "не те" мусульмане, их тогда в ЛГБТ-сообщество можно записывать, а под таким соусом им и "пингвинов" можно продать... лет через 5, для уверенности.
      1. rocket757
        rocket757 4 ноября 2020 16:02 Новый
        +1
        БВ, это сложнее, чем я знаю. Давно не интересуюсь тем направлением, за исключением дел Турецких ... соседи, как никак, да и весу у них больше, чем у всех остальных вместе взятых, ещё Египет, исторический, личный интэрэс.
  6. Runoway
    Runoway 4 ноября 2020 11:00 Новый
    +1
    Однозначно никакого преимущество Эмираты от данной сделки не получат, их дэмо-версии F-35 -дорогостоящая беспомощная игрушка по сравнению с F-35 Израиля, которые прекрасно знают слабые места пингвина и имеют собственное ПО.
    И в целом подобная сделка очень напоминает события прошлого
  7. Простой
    Простой 4 ноября 2020 16:40 Новый
    0
    F-35 для Эмиратов - F-22 для Израиля?
    Ожидается, что в ближайшее время Объединенные Арабские Эмираты получат до 50 Lockheed Martin F-35. Это тема для разговора о превосходстве Израиля на Ближнем Востоке. Израильтяне хотят воспользоваться этой возможностью - и ищут в США истребитель F-22 Raptor.
    После окончания войны Судного дня в 1973 году в Соединенных Штатах был принят закон . В нем говорится, что США всегда гарантируют Израилю технологическое превосходство над своими арабскими соседями в вопросах вооружений. По этой причине, среди прочего, продажа самого современного американского истребителя Lockheed Martin F-35 странам арабского мира даже не рассматривалась.

    Израиль дает зеленый свет
    Однако после сближения между Израилем и Объединенными Арабскими Эмиратами (ОАЭ) и подписания мирного соглашения две недели назад ситуация начинает меняться. Правительство Израиля недавно заявило, что оно не станет препятствием, если США решат также поставить в ОАЭ F-35, который находится на вооружении израильтян с конца 2016 года. Теперь Белый дом сообщил Конгрессу США, что одобрит продажу 50 F-35 Эмиратам. Джаред Кушнер, советник и зять президента США Трампа, некоторое время назад уже пообещал арабам перспективу появления самолетов, если их отношения с Израилем нормализуются.

    Политик: «Никого не потдерживать!»
    Это заявление было встречено не только одобрением в Конгрессе. Элиот Энгель, депутат от Демократической партии в Палате представителей, выразил опасение, что такая сделка может «существенно изменить военный баланс в Персидском заливе и повлиять на военное преимущество Израиля». Энгель призывал никого не потдерживать. «Экспорт этого самолета требует тщательного рассмотрения», - сказал политик. Поэтому Конгресс должен сначала изучить все связанные с этим эффекты.

    «F-35 light» для Эмиратов?
    Если это расследование окажется отрицательным, Конгресс может заблокировать сделку на 10,4 миллиарда долларов. Однако из правительственных кругов уже было слышно, что США хотят гарантировать Израилю военное превосходство над своими соседями в будущем. «Официальные лица США заявили, что могут дать эту гарантию независимо от продаж F-35, не указывая публично, что они хотят предложить Израилю», - пишет информационное агентство Bloomberg. Поэтому вполне возможно, что ОАЭ получат урезанный вариант F-35, который не сможет сравниться с израильским F-35I «Адир» - например, из-за более слабого программного обеспечения.

    Или F-22 для Израиля?
    Однако израильтяне могли бы получить взамен истребитель совершенно другого калибра у США. Один из них, который долгие годы принадлежал ВВС США: Lockheed Martin F-22 Raptor. В прошлом израильтяне неоднократно смотрели на этот суперфайтер, но достоверно мелькал Сенат США. Теперь ситуация может измениться и по этому поводу: саудовская газета Asharq Al-Awsat пишет со ссылкой на «высокопоставленные источники» в Тель-Авиве, что администрация Трампа уже одобрила экспорт F-22 в Израиль. О чем-то похожем сообщает австралийский сайт Defense Connect.
    Серийное производство (F-22) может начаться снова
    Между тем оставалось неясным, сколько самолетов сможет получить Израиль и откуда они должны взлететь. Ведь F-22 не строится с 2011 года, и ВВС США вряд ли продадут свои 187 экземпляров. Однако производственные мощности, инструменты и видео о процессе сборки Raptor все еще существуют. В течение многих лет также шли разговоры о возобновлении серийного производства истребителя. Таким образом, идея не является полностью абсурдной, тем более что она уже нашла сторонников в обеих парламентских группах в Палате представителей.

    https://www.flugrevue.de/militaer/f-35-fuer-die-emirate-f-22-fuer-israel/
  8. Alien From
    Alien From 5 ноября 2020 02:00 Новый
    0
    Ближний,дальний......чихать на них!