Military Review

Norwegian military sues compensation for sunken frigate

19

In November 2018, the Norwegian frigate Helge Ingstad collided with the Sola TS tanker while returning from a NATO exercise; he received a 45-meter hole and soon sank. This incident was one of the most painful peacetime losses in stories armed forces of the country.


The Ministry of Defense considered that the classification society DNV GL, which is responsible for registering ships and assessing their quality (Russian analogues - maritime and river shipping registers), is responsible for the incident. In this regard, the military department is demanding compensation in the amount of $ 1,6 billion. It is reported by the local resource NRK.

We have carefully studied the case and consider the claim unfounded. There is no basis for liability, and there is no causal link between the recognition of DNV GL as responsible for the shipwreck and the subsequent loss of [frigate] Helge Ingstad

- stated in the register.

In addition, another lawsuit was filed against the owner of the Maltese-flagged tanker Sola TS, which, after the collision, was able to leave the scene of the incident, underwent repairs and returned to service.

It is not yet clear how promising are attempts to sue funds for the lost frigate. Last year, the Norwegian Accident Investigation Board concluded, among other things, that the training of the frigate's personnel on the bridge was insufficient.

However, it was concluded that water from the generator compartment entered the gear compartment through hollow propeller shafts. The military believes that DNV GL should have foreseen the possible consequences of this technical flaw. However, society allowed the corvette to be exploited. As a result, due to the already existing leak, water quickly filled the ship and led to its imminent sinking.

In 2019, the sunken frigate was lifted out of the water and taken to a naval base. A decision was made to dispose of it: it was calculated that its repair would cost 12-14 billion kroons, while the cost of building a new ship was 11-13 billion kroons. The amount of the above claim in Norwegian currency is 15 billion kroons.

19 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. voyaka uh
    voyaka uh 6 November 2020 01: 24 New
    28
    The collision was due to the fault of the frigate commander.
    The computer program told him clearly that he had no time to slip through
    in front of the bow of the tanker. But the gallant sailor decided that his eye was more accurate,
    than a radar and computer calculations. negative
    1. Megatron
      Megatron 6 November 2020 01: 33 New
      10
      The right hand (warriors) beats the left (register), as a result - both are fools.
    2. APASUS
      APASUS 6 November 2020 22: 05 New
      +2
      Quote: voyaka uh
      The computer program told him clearly that he had no time to slip through
      in front of the bow of the tanker. But the gallant sailor decided that his eye was more accurate,
      than a radar and computer calculations.

      Like the preliminary results of the Commission for Investigation of Emergencies of the Ministry of Defense of Norway were different? Defense Accident Investigation Board Norway
      “It was a clear night when the Helge Ingstad was following Kjeltefjord in a southerly direction, so the lights of the Stura terminal had to be visible from afar. When Helge Ingstad first noticed the terminal, Sola TS was next to the terminal. As the Soly TS crew prepared to sail, the tanker's deck was well lit. From a distance it was difficult to determine where the tanker lights were (visible) and where the terminal lights were. In addition, the tanker's lights did not change position as the tanker was still at the dock. It is highly probable that both of these factors led to the Helge Ingstad crew believing that the visible lights belonged to a stationary object, according to a preliminary report from AIBN. - After the shift in watch around 03: 40–03: 45 this circumstance (that the lights belong to a stationary object - V.Sch.) became the basis for the understanding of the situation by the personnel of the navigational watch. And although at about the same time, the Sola TS departed from the berth, the movement of its lights was insignificant, as the tanker turned around, changing its direction of movement from south to north. At the same time, the use of deck lighting by the crew of the tanker and after its departure (from the terminal) led to the fact that the Helge Ingstad could not see the navigation lights of the Soly TS.
      When at about 04:00 Helge Ingstad reported that they could not change course to starboard, this was done for the reason that they were still sure that the lights belonged to a stationary object. As a result, turning to the right, they would (in their opinion) go directly to the illuminated object. They (the personnel of the frigate's navigational watch - V.Sch.) also believed that they were negotiating with one of those three ships heading north, which they followed on their radar screen. Only after that the crew of Helge Ingstad realized that a collision was about to occur, but there was no way to prevent it. "
      The accident did not happen for any one reason, the AIBN experts conclude as a result, but was the result of a whole set of interrelated factors and events. "The investigation team is making every effort to establish and understand these factors," the AIBN report says, and emphasizes that so far its experts "have not found any evidence that up to the moment of the collision, the technical systems did not work as they should was to be. " But even if this is so, then after the collision, the frigate's crew still let down.

      And when they tried to throw everything on Navantia, they were very quickly cooled there:
      it is very interesting to find out why on the frigate URO "Helge Ingstad", when entering a navigationally difficult area, they switched their automatic identification system (AIS) equipment only to receive, becoming virtually "invisible" to other traffic participants at sea. What military necessity this was dictated, taking into account the fact that the ship, apparently, was not in combat service, the exercise for it seemed to have ended, and the navigation area was controlled by Norway. In addition, it is not entirely clear why it was necessary to keep the speed of 17-18 knots in an area with intensive shipping, if this was not due to any military necessity.
  2. Avior
    Avior 6 November 2020 01: 28 New
    +7
    Unusual lawsuit.
    Even its subject is not entirely clear.
    ... DNV GL is the largest classification society with 13175 vessels and offshore mobile units in its register with a total displacement of 265.4 million tons, which represents 21% of the world market.

    Develops, among other things, rules and standards in shipbuilding.
    But what exactly is the claim is difficult to understand from the article.
    1. Undecim
      Undecim 6 November 2020 01: 46 New
      13
      Even its subject is not entirely clear.
      Given this presentation, this is not surprising.
      In fact, the Norwegian Ministry of Defense is making claims against DNV GL (formerly Veritas) for recognizing KMN Helge Ingstad as serviceable and giving it a technical class.
      While investigating the accident, the Accident Investigation Board Norway determined that the ship sank so quickly because the water spread along the hollow propeller shafts.
      Based on this, the Ministry of Defense believes that DNV GL should have foreseen such a possibility and not accept the ship until this deficiency was eliminated. Therefore, they demand compensation for losses.
      1. Lexus
        Lexus 6 November 2020 03: 19 New
        +8
        An independent investigation, in fact, exists in order to identify all, without exception, causal relationships that led to the infliction of damage, and not hide them out of fear in the process of identifying the perpetrators to find themselves.
      2. Pereira
        Pereira 6 November 2020 08: 31 New
        +3
        Risk guys Norwegians.
        Well, how will DNV GL be offended and send the entire Norwegian fleet for melting down?
        And the Norwegians from now on science - they need to hire qualified admirals who are ready to successfully fight with Russia. And I even know where you can get them. There is one great ancient power.
      3. Captain Pushkin
        Captain Pushkin 7 November 2020 19: 43 New
        +2
        Quote: Undecim
        the ship sank so quickly because the water spread over the hollow rowing shafts.
        Based on this, the Ministry of Defense believes that DNV GL should have foreseen such a possibility and not accept the ship until this deficiency was eliminated.

        It's strange. The Ministry of Defense ordered a frigate, approved the project, accepted the built ship, which had problems with survivability, but, in his opinion, is an outside uncle to blame?
  3. Grif
    Grif 6 November 2020 03: 25 New
    +3
    They are looking for the guilty, shameful.
  4. Andrea
    Andrea 6 November 2020 04: 54 New
    +8
    That's for sure! If not for the hollow shafts ... and the 45 meter hole is seeds. laughing By the way, why hasn't a claim been brought against the manufacturer? The hole, after all, was formed!laughing
    1. Pereira
      Pereira 6 November 2020 08: 32 New
      +1
      I guess the manufacturer has no money. So it doesn't make sense.
  5. Coward
    Coward 6 November 2020 05: 02 New
    +6
    "He got a 45-meter slit"
    I suppose that the concept of "hole" is now banned? Like not an explosion, but a pop.
    1. Pereira
      Pereira 6 November 2020 08: 33 New
      +6
      Feminists can misinterpret the term and sue for verbal abuse.
  6. Coward
    Coward 6 November 2020 05: 09 New
    +8
    Hollow propeller shafts are shafts in a variable pitch propeller. Operated by a huge number of ships and ships around the world for the devil knows how many years. The system has been worked out almost to perfection. In order for water to start flowing through the shaft in quantities sufficient for flooding, it is necessary to "break off" the screw hub on one side and the shaft plug on the other. I really can't imagine how this could happen.
  7. Thrifty
    Thrifty 6 November 2020 05: 24 New
    0
    I tried to imagine a gap over 5 meters long - I almost dislocated my brain am fool And 45 meters is exactly a gap, not a crack? ?? belay wassat
  8. rotmistr60
    rotmistr60 6 November 2020 06: 49 New
    +4
    the military department seeks compensation in the amount of $ 1,6 billion
    Can you do a debriefing with the frigate commander first? Still, the tanker is not a boat that can be overlooked. And so it turns out, in order to cover the guilt of the commander and the crew, they decided to cut money from the civilians. You must be able to navigate the seas and observe the rules of navigation.
  9. Rzzz
    Rzzz 6 November 2020 12: 12 New
    +4
    The Register does not supervise the state of military courts. They have their own inspectors.
    And the investigation of the causes of accidents is also not their concern, they are only engaged in technical supervision.
  10. Growlers
    Growlers 6 November 2020 20: 24 New
    0
    Some strange military ...
  11. tolmachiev51
    tolmachiev51 7 November 2020 04: 08 New
    -1
    Who else to blame? They forgot something about us - "Russian saboteurs drilled a hole in the propeller shaft." Shame, everyone knows perfectly well the qualifications of the navigators of the Navy - those clowns !.

Военное обозрение

Норвежские военные отсуживают компенсацию за затонувший фрегат

19

В ноябре 2018 года норвежский фрегат Helge Ingstad столкнулся с танкером Sola TS, когда возвращался с учений НАТО; он получил 45-метровую пробоину и вскоре затонул. Этот инцидент стал одной из самых болезненных потерь мирного времени в истории вооруженных сил страны.


Минобороны посчитали, что ответственность за происшествие несёт классификационное общество DNV GL, отвечающее за регистрацию судов и оценку их качества (российские аналоги – морской и речной регистры судоходства). В связи с этим военное ведомство требует компенсации в размере 1,6 млрд $. Об этом сообщает местный ресурс NRK.

Мы внимательно изучили дело и считаем иск необоснованным. Нет никаких оснований для ответственности, и нет причинно-следственной связи между признанием DNV GL ответственным за кораблекрушение и последующей потерей [фрегата] «Хельге Ингстад»

- заявили в регистре.

Кроме того, еще один иск был подан против владельца танкера Sola TS под мальтийским флагом, который после столкновения смог уйти с места инцидента, прошёл ремонт и вернулся в строй.

Пока неясно, насколько перспективны попытки отсудить средства за потерянный фрегат. В прошлом году Норвежский совет по расследованию несчастных случаев, среди прочего, пришел к выводу, что подготовка личного состава фрегата, пребывавшего на мостике, была недостаточной.

Однако был сделан вывод о том, что вода из генераторного отсека проникала в редукторный отсек через полые гребные валы. В вооруженных силах считают, что DNV GL должна была предвидеть возможные последствия этого технического изъяна. Однако общество допустило корвет к эксплуатации. В итоге из-за уже имевшейся утечки вода быстро заполнила корабль и привела к его скорому погружению.

В 2019 году затонувший фрегат был поднят из воды и доставлен на базу ВМС. Принято решение об его утилизации: было подсчитано, что его ремонт обойдётся в 12-14 млрд крон при стоимости постройки нового корабля в 11-13 млрд. Сумма указанного выше иска в норвежской валюте составляет 15 млрд крон.

19 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. voyaka uh
    voyaka uh 6 ноября 2020 01:24
    +28
    Столкновение произошло по вине командира фрегата.
    Компьютерная программа ясно сказала ему, что он не успевает проскочить
    перед носом танкера. Но бравый моряк решил, что его глазомер точнее,
    чем радар и вычисления компа. negative
    1. Megatron
      Megatron 6 ноября 2020 01:33
      +10
      Правая рука (вояки) бьет левую (регистр), в итоге - в дураках и те и те.
    2. APASUS
      APASUS 6 ноября 2020 22:05
      +2
      Цитата: voyaka uh
      Компьютерная программа ясно сказала ему, что он не успевает проскочить
      перед носом танкера. Но бравый моряк решил, что его глазомер точнее,
      чем радар и вычисления компа.

      Вроде предварительные итоги у комиссией по расследованию аварийных ситуаций Министерства обороны Норвегии были другие ? Defence Accident Investigation Board Norway
      «Была ясная ночь, когда «Хельге Ингстад» следовал по Хьелтефьорду в южном направлении, поэтому огни терминала Стуры должны были быть заметны издалека. В момент, когда с «Хельге Ингстада» впервые заметили терминал, «Сола ТС» находился рядом с терминалом. Поскольку команда «Солы ТС» готовилась к отплытию, палуба танкера была хорошо освещена. С расстояния было затруднительно определить, где (видны) огни танкера, а где – огни терминала. Кроме того, огни танкера не меняли своего положения, поскольку танкер все еще находился у причала. С высокой долей вероятности можно предположить, что оба эти фактора привели к тому, что экипаж «Хельге Ингстада» посчитал, что видимые огни принадлежат неподвижному объекту, – указывается в предварительном отчете AIBN. – После смены вахты в районе 03:40–03:45 это обстоятельство (что огни принадлежат неподвижному объекту. – В.Щ.) стало базовым для понимания ситуации личным составом ходовой вахты. И хотя примерно в то же время «Сола ТС» отошел от причала, перемещение его огней было незначительным, поскольку танкер разворачивался, меняя направление движения с южного на северное. При этом использование командой танкера палубного освещения и после его отхода (от терминала) привело к тому, что на «Хельге Ингстаде» не могли видеть ходовых огней «Солы ТС».
      Когда примерно в 04:00 с «Хельге Ингстада» сообщили, что не могут изменить курс вправо, это было сделано по той причине, что они все еще были уверены – огни принадлежат неподвижному объекту. В результате, отвернув вправо, они бы (по их мнению) направились прямо на освещенный объект. Они (личный состав ходовой вахты фрегата. – В.Щ.) также полагали, что ведут переговоры с одним из тех трех судов, следующих в северном направлении, за которыми они следили по экрану своего радара. Только после этого экипаж «Хельге Ингстада» понял, что сейчас произойдет столкновение, но предотвратить его возможности уже не было».
      Авария произошла не по какой-то одной причине, делают в итоге предварительный вывод специалисты AIBN, а стала следствием целой совокупности взаимосвязанных между собой факторов и событий. «Следственная группа предпринимает все усилия, чтобы установить и понять эти факторы», – указывается в отчете AIBN и подчеркивается, что пока ее специалисты «не обнаружили какого-либо свидетельства тому, что вплоть до момента столкновения технические системы не работали так, как это должно было быть». Но даже если это и так, то после столкновения техника экипаж фрегата все же подвела.

      И когда они попытались скинуть все на Navantia ,их там очень быстро остудили :
      очень интересно узнать, зачем на фрегате УРО «Хельге Ингстад» при входе в сложный в навигационном отношении район переключили свою аппаратуру автоматической идентификационной системы (АИС) только на прием, став фактически «невидимыми» для остальных участников движения на море. Какой военной необходимостью это диктовалось, принимая во внимание тот факт, что корабль, судя по всему, на боевой службе не был, учение для него уже вроде как завершилось, а район плавания подконтролен Норвегии. К тому же не совсем понятно, зачем надо было держать ход 17-18 узлов в районе с интенсивным судоходством, если это не было обусловлено какой-либо военной необходимостью.
  2. Avior
    Avior 6 ноября 2020 01:28
    +7
    Необычный иск.
    Не совсем понятен даже его предмет.
    . DNV GL является крупнейшим классификационным обществом, в регистре которого находится 13175 судов и мобильных офшорных установок суммарным водоизмещением 265.4 млн т, что представлет собой 21% мирового рынка.

    Разрабатывает, в числе прочего, правила и стандарты в судостроении.
    Но в чем конкретно претензия, понять из статьи сложно.
    1. Undecim
      Undecim 6 ноября 2020 01:46
      +13
      Не совсем понятен даже его предмет.
      При таком изложении это и не удивительно.
      На самом деле Минобороны Норвегии предъявляет претензии к DNV GL (ранее Veritas) за то, что она признала KMN Helge Ingstad годным к эксплуатации и присвоила ему технический класс.
      При расследовании аварии Accident Investigation Board Norway определило, что корабль утонул так быстро, потому что вода распространилась по полым гребным валам.
      На основании этого Минобороны считает, что DNV GL должно было предвидеть подобную возможность и не принимать корабль до устранения этого недостатка. Потому требуют компенсировать убытки.
      1. Лексус
        Лексус 6 ноября 2020 03:19
        +8
        Независимое следствие, собственно, для того и существует, чтобы выявлять все без исключения причинно-следственные связи повлекшие за собой причинение ущерба, а не скрывать их из боязни в процессе установления виновных выйти на самих себя.
      2. Перейра
        Перейра 6 ноября 2020 08:31
        +3
        Рисковые ребята Норвежцы.
        А ну, как в DNV GL обидятся и отправят на переплавку весь Норвежский флот?
        А Норвежцам впредь наука - надо нанимать квалифицированных адмиралов, готовых успешно воевать с Россией. И я даже знаю где их можно взять. Есть одна великая древняя держава.
      3. Капитан Пушкин
        Капитан Пушкин 7 ноября 2020 19:43
        +2
        Цитата: Undecim
        корабль утонул так быстро, потому что вода распространилась по полым гребным валам.
        На основании этого Минобороны считает, что DNV GL должно было предвидеть подобную возможность и не принимать корабль до устранения этого недостатка.

        Странно. Минобороны заказало фрегат, утвердило проект, приняло построенный корабль имеющий проблемы с живучестью, а виноват, по его мнению, посторонний дядя?
  3. Grif
    Grif 6 ноября 2020 03:25
    +3
    Виноватых ищут, позорники.
  4. Andrea
    Andrea 6 ноября 2020 04:54
    +8
    Это точно! Если бы не полые валы...а дыра в 45 метров это семечки. laughing Кстати,а почему иск к изготовителю не предъявлен? Дыра,всё-таки ,образовалась!laughing
    1. Перейра
      Перейра 6 ноября 2020 08:32
      +1
      Полагаю, у изготовителя денег нет. Так что нет смысла.
  5. Трус
    Трус 6 ноября 2020 05:02
    +6
    «он получил 45-метровую щель»
    Я так полагаю, что понятие «пробоина» теперь в запрете? Типа не взрыв, а хлопок.
    1. Перейра
      Перейра 6 ноября 2020 08:33
      +6
      Феминистки могут неправильно истолоковать термин и подать в суд за вербальное насилие.
  6. Трус
    Трус 6 ноября 2020 05:09
    +8
    Полые гребные валы - это валы в ВРШ (винт регулируемого шага). Эксплуатируются огромным количеством судов и кораблей Всего мира уже чёрт знает сколько лет. Система отработанна практически до идеала. Чтобы через вал начала поступать вода в количествах достаточных для затопления нужно «отломать» ступицу винта с одной стороны и заглушку вала с другой. Я да же не могу представить как такое может произойти.
  7. Бережливый
    Бережливый 6 ноября 2020 05:24
    0
    Попытался представить щель длиной свыше 5метров-чуть не вывихнул мозг am fool А 45 метров это точно щель, а не щелочка? ?? belay wassat
  8. rotmistr60
    rotmistr60 6 ноября 2020 06:49
    +4
    военное ведомство требует компенсации в размере 1,6 млрд $
    Может сначала проведете "разбор полетов" с командиром фрегата? Все же танкер не лодочка, которую можно и не заметить. А так получается, чтобы покрыть вину командира и экипажа решили срубить деньгу с гражданских. Ходить по морям необходимо уметь и соблюдать при этом правила судовождения.
  9. Rzzz
    Rzzz 6 ноября 2020 12:12
    +4
    Регистр не ведёт надзор за состоянием военных судов. У них свои проверяющие.
    И расследование причин аварий тоже не их забота, они занимаются только технадзором.
  10. Growlers
    Growlers 6 ноября 2020 20:24
    0
    Странные какие то военные ......
  11. tolmachiev51
    tolmachiev51 7 ноября 2020 04:08
    -1
    Кого -бы еще обвинить ? что-то про нас забыли -"русские диверсанты дырку в гребном валу просверлили " . Позор ,все прекрасно знают квалификацию судоводителей ВМФ -еще те клоуны!.