Churchill in Russia

0
Churchill in Russia
On the use of armored vehicles obtained during the war years, quite contradictory information is found in the literature. Our today's tale of the only heavy tank Allies, which used the Red Army in 1942-1944.

The work on Churchill began in September 1939 of the year at the firm Garland and Woolf in Belfast. The first 14 production tanks were manufactured in June 1941. These tanks were produced with 2-pound (40 mm) cannons in the turret and 3-inch (76 mm) CS howitzers in the front of the hull next to the driver's seat.

In March, the 1942 of the year began the production of 6-pounder (57 mm) Mk.III 43 guns of caliber. According to English data, the armor-piercing projectile pierced 81-mm armor at a distance of 500 yards (457 m) at an angle 30 ° to the normal. A projectile to the 6-pound gun was created in England only in the 1944 year and was not supplied to the USSR. The Churchill tank with the 6-pound cannon received the index Mk.III.

At the end of 1941 - the beginning of 1942 of the year, the British demonstrated the tank “Churchill” to the lieutenant colonel Kovalev, a member of the USSR Military Mission in England. According to his report in March 1942 of the year, the Soviet government agreed to supply 50 units of Churchill tanks on account of the supply of the English tank Matilda. In addition, the British themselves offered another 25 tank "Churchill" for testing with the condition that they provide the results of these tests.

19 of May of the same year issued a special decree of Glavlit: “To forbid the press to publish any data and information about the Churchill British tanks”.

As of November 9 1942, the Churchill 84 arrived in the USSR. In total, in the 1942 – 1943 years, England delivered the 301 tank Mk.III and Mk.IV to the Soviet Union. A few dozen tanks died on the way to Russia. So, on the famous convoy PQ-17 on the vessel "Empaster Byron" went 30 tanks "Churchill". However, on July 4 1942, the ship was sunk by a U-703 submarine, and the captain of the engineering troops, John Remington, who accompanied the tanks and had to train Russian crews, was raised from a lifeboat aboard the U-703.
The first samples of the tank "Churchill" have been tested at the site in Kubinka. The findings are reflected in the test report from 16 September 1942. It notes that the Mk.IV is inferior to the KV-1 and KV-1 C tanks in terms of the power of cannon armament, but it has advantages in armor protection. Ammunition for machine-gun armament tank Mk.IV has three times more compared with KV tanks. The 57-mm cannon-armored grenade mounted on the Mk.IV tank penetrates the armor of the two sides of the German medium tank T-III with a total thickness of 60 mm from the 950 distance m. The Mk.IV tank has a significantly lower power density and, as a result, less speed. Despite this, the tank Mk.IV is not inferior in average speeds of movement tanks KV-1 and KV-1 C.

The English heavy tank Mk.IV possesses insufficient reliability in the operation of individual units and is a machine that is not fully known, both constructively and industrially.

Tank Mk.IV badly overcomes slopes when moving with a roll due to dropping caterpillars. Fuel costs are quite normal in all road conditions.

There are some additional points to make. The metal tracks of bobbin fastening on the Churchill tank were slipping into thaw and ice. Therefore, domestic craftsmen inserted special steel “spurs” into them, which made it difficult for the tracks to creep.

Inside the “Churchill” was much more spacious than in Soviet tanks, which greatly facilitated the work of the crew.
At one time, Winston Churchill told reporters: "The Churchill tank has more flaws than I do." But it was an ordinary political PR. The machine in general, for an infantry tank was not bad.
The fact is that in the 1942 – 1943 years for a variety of reasons in the USSR there were interruptions in the production of heavy tanks, although in just these two years about 5 thousands of units were fired.



Heavy tanks were literally worth their weight in gold. If before the war, our KV and T-35 were sent in bulk to mechanized corps, by October 1942, all the heavy tanks were put into separate heavy breakout tank regiments (OTTPP), which were in the reserve of the High Command. They were sent exclusively to the most dangerous sectors of the front.

In October 1942, Stalin ordered Churchill tanks to create four OTTPPs as part of the 21 tanks and assign them the name of the Guards. The crews of the Churchill tanks, as well as the KV, on the special instructions of Stalin in the year 1942 were staffed exclusively by officers. At the end of 1942, two regiments equipped with Churchill tanks were sent to the front south and north to test tanks in different climatic conditions.

The 48 heavy breakout tank regiment as part of the 21 Army from January 21 to February 2 1943 operated in the Gumrak village north-west of Stalingrad. In the composition of the regiment was 21 tank "Churchill".

During the time from the end of the formation of the regiment until its withdrawal from the battles (March 20), the tanks worked an average of 480 hours (1000 kilometers of run).

The technical condition of the tanks on 20 February was as follows: on the move - 4 tank; affected by artillery fire: in the undercarriage - 6 tanks, in the hull - 3 tank; hydraulic control drive defective - for 8 tanks.
The 50 th breakout armored tank regiment (Churchill 21 tank) was sent to military trials on the Volkhov front, where he fought with 17 in operational control of the 1943 Army in March 8. Here, this part, in cooperation with other units, was to act in accordance with the tactical purpose — to break through the enemy’s multi-defense long-term zone.

The operations in the 8 Army seemed to be thoroughly prepared: a reconnaissance of the area was made and column ways were created to advance to the enemy’s trenches, because the 35 – 40 height of the shrub had to be attacked. But in the 50 breakthrough regiment that arrived just day before the onset, did not have time to do so. March 19 tanks went on the attack at the site of the cannon mount Gunner, interacting with parts of the 374 th infantry division. From the 21 tank, which participated in the attack, 12 were stuck in the swamp and hit by mines, and two were hit by artillery fire. The seven remaining vehicles broke into German positions, but did not support the infantry, and the tanks, having fired the ammunition, returned to their original position.

On March 22, five Churchill tanks, commanded by Captain Belogub, guards, according to orders from the 374 Infantry Division headquarters, attacked the enemy in the direction of the 400 junction east of Beloye Lake. By order of the headquarters, the attack was assigned to 8.30. The signal for the attack of the infantry was to be the beginning of the movement of tanks through its battle formations. At the appointed time, the Churchillies went on the attack, but the infantry did not move forward, as the command of the 374 Infantry Division canceled the operation, but the tank crews were not informed about this. Tanks broke into the German positions, where four cars were hit by artillery, and only one returned to the starting position.



From 11 hours 22 March to 25 March 1943, the tanks were in the area - the crews were sitting in tanks and firing from the spot. Every night, the gunmen of the 50 th Panzer Breakthrough Regiment delivered tankers with ammunition and food, and left before dawn.
During this time, Churchilli destroyed an artillery battery, four bunkers, a warehouse with ammunition and up to two infantry platoons. Captain Belogub’s tank guard held the enemy’s 105-mm battery under fire and did not allow it to be moved to another location.

Despite repeated requests from the commander of the 50 tank breakout regiment, the headquarters of the 374 rifle division did not advance infantry to the line occupied by tanks. The Germans repeatedly offered tank crews to surrender, to which the tank crews responded with fire. Due to the fact that radio communication between tankmen and infantry was conducted in clear, the Germans became aware that the group of tanks was commanded by the guard, Captain Belogub. 25 March, they offered him to throw tanks and move away to their own. Belogub refused. Then a white cross was displayed in front of his tank - a sign that German soldiers would bury the Soviet commander.

After that, strong artillery fire was opened on the tanks, then the infantry went on the attack. Tankers fought back for several hours. When the shells and ammunition ran out, they fought off grenades, throwing them through the left side hatch. Guard captain Whitebub called fire on his tanks to remove the attacking infantry of the enemy, but even the 374 Infantry Division could not make the artillery - the missiles did not lift in time! At this time, two Churchill came to the rescue of tankmen, repaired by the forces of the 50 th breakout regiment, and a squad of infantry of the 374 rifle division. They managed to hook the tractor Belogub with a tractor and evacuate it to the rear (the crews of three other wrecked tanks withdrew with the infantry).

Not appreciating the tactical literacy of the battle, we can say that the life of the tank crews (and the crews who spent three days in the tanks did not lose a single person killed) it was Churchill’s armor that the German artillery could not penetrate for three days.

On August 3, Lieutenant-General Martel, head of the British military mission in the USSR, asked the Soviet side about the experience of using Churchill tanks. He was sent a certificate from Colonel Zayev, the chief of staff of the armored and mechanized troops of the Red Army: “When breaking through the strong fortifications of the Germans, the heavy tanks KV and Churchill completely coped with the role of the breakthrough tanks, reinforcing the attacking infantry, completely justified themselves.”

Zaev also prepared some recommendations considering the increase in caliber and initial speed of anti-tank, self-propelled and tank artillery of the enemy used to fight the advancing tanks, the armor of the breakthrough tanks should be strengthened to 100 – 120 mm. Tank "Churchill" to the role of breakthrough tanks, to strengthen the infantry as a whole is suitable, but experience has once again confirmed the weakness of his cannon armament. Gasoline fuel tank significantly increases the risk of fire in comparison with diesel tanks KV. The main enemy of tanks in these operations was anti-tank self-propelled artillery and tanks. Minefields did much less harm. As for the irretrievable losses, they are completely insignificant in minefields, since most of the tanks remaining in the minefields are damaged only in the undercarriage and are quickly restored ...

A tank gun on a heavy tank should be a caliber from 75 to 100 mm and with a high initial velocity of the projectile, then this tank will be a breakthrough tank and a powerful anti-tank defense (like a German tiger tank) ...

It should be noted that other Lend-Lease tanks, such as Valentine, Matilda, M. 3 Stewart, had weak artillery weapons. In this regard, OKB-92 in Gorky in 1941 received an order for their re-equipment. In December, the Valentine tank was tested with the installation of a ZIS-1941 – 95-mm 45 K tank gun and a twin DT and Matilda machine gun with a ZIS-20 – 96-mm F-76 gun gun and a twin D-gun.

Both units were commissioned, and an order was issued for the first batch of the ZIS-100 units in 95. However, due to the acute need for X-NUMX-mm tank guns for T-45 tanks and 70-mm guns for T-76 and KV tanks, the ZIS-34 and ZIS-95 tanks did not go into the series.

The Main Armored Directorate thought to partially solve the problem by adopting our shotgun with steel grit grenade from the 2-pound (40-mm) British gun. Such a grenade was tested at the factory number 179 in March 1942. In the same year, Matilda CS tanks with an 76-mm gun were purchased in England.

And in the American light tanks M3 "Stewart" it was decided to replace the full-time 37-mm M5 cannon with the domestic 45-mm tank cannon. In mid-October, the 1943, a Stewart tank with an 45-mm gun, was tested at the Kubinka range. However, the matter did not come to the massive re-equipment of the M3 tanks.

From the beginning of April, the 1943 OTTPP successfully operated on the Leningrad front, including the Churchill 49 tank and the British Universal tracked armored personnel carrier 21.

On the Kursk Bulge, the 5 Guards Tank Corps had 21 tank Churchill, 106 T tanks 34 and 86 light tanks, and 2 Guards tank corps 17 tanks Churchill X-NET X-NUMX tanks X-NNXX-X-NNXX tanks X-NUMX and X-NUMX tanks X-NUMX and 90 X-NUMX tanks X-NUMX and 34 T-59 tanks and XNUMX X-NUMX tanks. light tanks.
It is curious that in the battle under Prokhorovka "Churchill" from the 15 tank regiment made a frontal ram "tiger". The entire crew of the tank, commanded by Lieutenant Smirnov, and the driver was Lieutenant A. F. Loginov, was not injured. After the battle of Prokhorovka, Lieutenant Loginov became the commander of the Churchill tank and participated in the battles for Kiev. Tank Loginova lined up the "tiger", having achieved the hit of an armor-piercing projectile between the armor of the tower and the hull. Loginov was awarded the title Hero of the Soviet Union.



In June, the Churchill tanks from the 1944 of the OTTPP actively participated in street battles for the city of Vyborg.
Apparently, the last time “Churchill” was applied on the Eastern Front in September 1944 of the year as part of the 8 Army of the Leningrad Front during the liberation of Tallinn and Northern Estonia. The 82 OTTPP, which included the Churchill’s 10 and 11 XVUMX tanks, successfully operated there.

The main conclusion from the use of Churchill tanks in Russia is obvious: a tank that has design flaws in the hands of experienced and courageous people, and with proper tactical use, can cause serious damage to the enemy.

It remains to add that in the British army, Churchill was used sparingly, although 1942 units were made in 1944 – 5460. Churchill's first debut was 19 August 1942 of the year during the raid on Dieppe. Of the 30 tanks in operation, 27 was lost. According to one brigade of Churchill tanks, the British used in North Africa and Italy in the 1942 – 1943 years. Two brigades fought in France and Germany in the 1944 – 1945 years. The last military use of Churchill by the British occurred in Korea in 1951 – 1953. Over the next three years, the Churchill were decommissioned by the British army.








Our news channels

Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

"Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar People (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned)

“Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev Lev; Ponomarev Ilya; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; Mikhail Kasyanov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

«Черчилль» в России

«Черчилль» в России
Об использовании бронетанковой техники, полученной в годы войны, в литературе встречаются достаточно противоречивые сведения. Наш сегодняшний рассказ о единственном тяжелом танке союзников, который использовала Красная Армия в 1942–1944 годах.

Работы над «Черчиллем» начались в сентябре 1939 года на фирме «Гарланд энд Вульф» в Белфасте. Первые 14 серийных танков были изготовлены в июне 1941 года. Эти танки выпускались с 2-фунтовыми (40 мм) пушками в башне и 3-дюймовыми (76 мм) гаубицами СS в передней части корпуса рядом с местом механика-водителя.

В марте 1942 года началось изготовление 6-фунтовых (57 мм) пушек Mk.III 43 калибра. По английским данным, бронебойный снаряд пушки пробивал 81-мм броню на дистанции 500 ярдов (457 м) при угле 30° к нормали. Подкалиберный снаряд к 6-фунтовой пушке был создан в Англии лишь в 1944 году и в СССР не поставлялся. Танк «Черчилль» с 6-фунтовой пушкой получил индекс Mk.III.


В конце 1941 – начале 1942 года англичане продемонстрировали танк «Черчилль» члену Военной миссии СССР в Англии инженер-подполковнику Ковалеву. По его докладу в марте 1942 года Советское правительство изъявило согласие на поставку 50 единиц танков «Черчилль» в счет поставок английского танка «Матильда». Кроме того, сами англичане предложили еще 25 танков «Черчилль» для испытаний с условием предоставления им результатов этих испытаний.

19 мая этого же года вышло специальное постановление Главлита: «Запретить в печати опубликовывать какие бы то ни было данные и сведения об английских танках «Черчилль».

По состоянию на 9 ноября 1942 года в СССР прибыло 84 танка «Черчилль». Всего в 1942–1943 годах Англия поставила в Советский Союз 301 танк Mk.III и Mk.IV. Еще несколько десятков танков погибло по пути в Россию. Так, на знаменитом конвое PQ-17 на судне «Эмпастр Байрон» шло 30 танков «Черчилль». Однако 4 июля 1942 года судно было потоплено подводной лодкой U-703, а капитан инженерных войск Джон Раймингтон, который сопровождал танки и должен был обучить русские экипажи, был поднят со спасательной шлюпки на борт U-703.
Первые образцы танка «Черчилль» прошли испытания на полигоне в Кубинке. Выводы отражены в отчете об испытаниях от 16 сентября 1942 года. В нем отмечается, что танк Mk.IV уступает танкам КВ-1 и KВ-1 С по мощности пушечного вооружения, но имеет преимущества по броневой защите. Боекомплект к пулеметному вооружению танк Mk.IV имеет в три раза больше по сравнению с танками КВ. Бронебойная граната 57-мм пушки, установленной на танке Mk.IV, пробивает броню двух бортов немецкого среднего танка Т-III суммарной толщиной в 60 мм с дистанции 950 м. Танк Mk.IV имеет значительно меньшую удельную мощность и, как следствие, меньшую максимальную скорость. Несмотря на это, танк Mk.IV не уступает по средним скоростям движения танкам КВ-1 и КВ-1 С.

Английский тяжелый танк Mk.IV обладает недостаточной надежностью в работе отдельных агрегатов и является недоведенной до конца машиной как в конструктивном, так и в производственном отношении.

Танк Mk.IV плохо преодолевает косогоры при движении с креном по причине сбрасывания гусениц. Расходы горючего являются вполне нормальными во всех дорожных условиях.

Тут стоит сделать несколько дополнительных замечаний. Металлические гусеницы цевочного закрепления на танке «Черчилль» давали пробуксовки в распутицу и гололед. Поэтому отечественные умельцы вставили в них специальные стальные «шпоры», что затрудняло проскальзывание гусениц.

Внутри «Черчилля» было намного просторнее, чем в советских танках, что существенно облегчало работу экипажа.
В свое время Уинстон Черчилль заявил журналистам: «У танка «Черчилль» недостатков больше, чем у меня самого». Но это был обычный политический пиар. Машина в общем и целом для пехотного танка была неплохой.
Дело в том, что в 1942–1943 годах по целому ряду причин в СССР были перебои в производстве тяжелых танков, хотя всего за эти два года их выпустили около 5 тысяч единиц.

«Черчилль» в России


Тяжелые танки были буквально на вес золота. Если перед войной наши КВ и Т-35 россыпью отправляли по механизированным корпусам, то к октябрю 1942 года все тяжелые танки были сведены в отдельные тяжелые танковые полки прорыва (ОТТПП), находившиеся в резерве Верховного командования. Их направляли исключительно на самые опасные участки фронта.

В октябре 1942 года Сталин приказал из танков «Черчилль» создать четыре ОТТПП в составе 21 танка и присвоить им наименование гвардейских. Экипажи танков «Черчилль», как, впрочем, и КВ, по специальному указанию Сталина в 1942 году комплектовались исключительно офицерами. В конце 1942 года два полка, оснащенные танками «Черчилль», были отправлены на фронт на юг и на север, чтобы испытать танки в разных климатических условиях.

48-й тяжелый танковый полк прорыва в составе 21-й армии с 21 января по 2 февраля 1943 года действовал в районе поселка Гумрак северо-западнее Сталинграда. В составе полка был 21 танк «Черчилль».

За время от конца формирования полка до момента выхода его из боев (20 марта) танки проработали в среднем по 480 часов (1000 км пробега).

Техническое состояние танков на 20 февраля было следующим: на ходу – 4 танка; поражены артогнем: в ходовую часть – 6 танков, в корпус – 3 танка; неисправен гидравлический привод управления – у 8 танков.
50-й тяжелый танковый полк прорыва (21 танк «Черчилль») был направлен на войсковые испытания на Волховский фронт, где он с 17 марта 1943 года сражался в оперативном подчинении 8-й армии. Здесь этой части во взаимодействии с другими подразделениями предстояло действовать в соответствии с тактическим предназначением – прорывать многоэшелонированную долговременную полосу обороны противника.

К операции в 8-й армии готовились вроде бы тщательно: была произведена рекогносцировка местности и созданы колонные пути для продвижения к траншеям противника, так как наступать должны были сквозь кустарник высотой 35–40 см. Но в 50-м полку прорыва, прибывшем всего за сутки до наступления, сделать этого не успели. 19 марта танки пошли в атаку на участке урочище Пушечная гора, взаимодействуя с частями 374-й стрелковой дивизии. Из 21 танка, участвовавшего в атаке, 12 застряли в болоте и подорвались на минах, а два были подбиты артогнем. Семь оставшихся машин ворвались на немецкие позиции, но пехота атаку не поддержала, и танки, расстреляв боезапас, вернулись в исходное положение.

22 марта пять танков «Черчилль» под командованием гвардии капитана Белогуба, согласно приказу штаба 374-й стрелковой дивизии, атаковали противника в направлении развилки дорог 400 м восточнее озера Белое. Приказом штаба атака назначалась на 8.30. Сигналом для атаки пехоты должно было стать начало движения танков через ее боевые порядки. В назначенное время «Черчилли» двинулись в атаку, но пехота вперед не пошла, так как командование 374-й стрелковой дивизии операцию отменило, но танкисты об этом извещены не были. Танки ворвались на немецкие позиции, где четыре машины были подбиты артиллерией, и лишь один вернулся на исходную позицию.

«Черчилль» в России


С 11 часов 22 марта по 25 марта 1943 года танки находились в этом районе – экипажи сидели в танках и вели огонь с места. Каждую ночь автоматчики 50-го танкового полка прорыва доставляли танкистам боеприпасы и продовольствие, а перед рассветом уходили.
За это время «Черчилли» уничтожили артиллерийскую батарею, четыре дзота, склад с боеприпасами и до двух взводов пехоты. Танк гвардии капитана Белогуба держал под обстрелом 105-мм батарею противника и не давал переместить ее в другое место.

Несмотря на неоднократные просьбы командира 50-го танкового полка прорыва, штаб 374-й стрелковой дивизии пехоту на рубеж, занятый танками, не продвигал. Немцы неоднократно предлагали экипажам танков сдаться в плен, на что танкисты отвечали огнем. В связи с тем, что связь по радио между танкистами и пехотой велась открытым текстом, немцам стало известно о том, что группой танков командует гвардии капитан Белогуб. 25 марта они предложили ему бросить танки и отойти к своим. Белогуб ответил отказом. Тогда перед его танком был выставлен белый крест – знак того, что немецкие солдаты похоронят советского командира.

После этого по танкам был открыт сильный артиллерийский огонь, затем в атаку пошла пехота. Танкисты отбивались несколько часов. Когда кончились снаряды и патроны, они отбивались гранатами, выбрасывая их через левый бортовой люк. Гвардии капитан Белогуб вызвал огонь на свои танки, чтобы смести наседающую пехоту противника, но даже этого артиллерия 374-й стрелковой дивизии сделать не смогла – вовремя не подвезли снаряды! В это время на помощь танкистам пришли два «Черчилля», отремонтированных силами 50-го полка прорыва, и взвод пехоты 374-й стрелковой дивизии. Им удалось зацепить трактором танк Белогуба и эвакуировать его в тыл (экипажи трех других подбитых танков отошли с пехотой).

Не оценивая тактическую грамотность боя, можно сказать, что жизнь танкистам (а экипажи, просидевшие в танках три дня, не потеряли ни одного человека убитым) спасла именно броня «Черчилля», которую за трое суток так и не смогла пробить немецкая артиллерия.

3 августа глава британской военной миссии в СССР генерал-лейтенант Мартель запросил советскую сторону об опыте применения танков «Черчилль». Ему была отправлена справка начальника штаба бронетанковых и механизированных войск Красной Армии полковника Заева: «При прорыве сильных укреплений немцев тяжелые танки КВ и «Черчилль» с ролью танков прорыва вполне справились и как танки прорыва, усиливающие атакующую пехоту, вполне себя оправдали».

Заев подготовил также некоторые рекомендации с учетом увеличения калибров и начальной скорости у противотанковой, самоходной и танковой артиллерии противника, применяемой для борьбы с наступающими танками, броня танков прорыва должна быть усилена до 100–120 мм. Танк «Черчилль» к роли танков прорыва, на усиление пехоты в целом подходит, но опыт еще раз подтвердил слабость его пушечного вооружения. Бензиновое топливо танка значительно увеличивает опасность пожара в сравнении с дизельными танками КВ. Основным врагом танков в этих операциях являлась противотанковая самоходная артиллерия и танки. Минные поля приносили значительно меньший вред. Что касается безвозвратных потерь, то они на минных полях совершенно незначительны, так как большинство танков, оставшихся на минных полях, имеют повреждения только в ходовой части и быстро восстанавливаются…

Танковая пушка на тяжелом танке должна быть калибром от 75 до 100 мм и с большой начальной скоростью снаряда, тогда этот танк будет и танком прорыва, и мощным средством противотанковой обороны (как немецкий танк «тигр»)…

Следует заметить, что и другие танки ленд-лиза, как-то «Валентайн», «Матильда», М.3 «Стюарт», имели слабое артиллерийское вооружение. В связи с этим ОКБ-92 в Горьком в 1941 году получило заказ на их перевооружение. В декабре 1941 года были испытаны танк «Валентайн» с установкой ЗИС-95–45-мм танковой пушкой 20 К и спаренным пулеметом ДТ и «Матильда» с установкой ЗИС-96–76-мм танковой пушкой Ф-34 и спаренным пулеметом ДТ.

Обе установки приняли на вооружение, и был выдан заказ на первую партию в 100 установок ЗИС-95. Однако из-за острой нужды в 45-мм танковых пушках для танков Т-70 и 76-мм пушках для танков Т-34 и КВ в серию установки ЗИС-95 и ЗИС-96 так и не пошли.

Главное бронетанковое управление думало частично решить проблему за счет принятия на вооружение к 2-фунтовой (40-мм) британской пушке нашего выстрела с осколочной гранатой сталистого чугуна. Такая граната была испытана на заводе № 179 в марте 1942 года. В том же году в Англии были закуплены танки «Матильда» CS с 76-мм пушкой.

И в американских легких танках М3 «Стюарт» было решено заменить штатную 37-мм пушку М5 на отечественную 45-мм танковую пушку. В середине октября 1943 года танк «Стюарт» с 45-мм пушкой был испытан на полигоне в Кубинке. Однако до массового перевооружения танков М3 дело так и не дошло.

С начала апреля 1943 года на Ленинградском фронте успешно действовал 49-й ОТТПП, в составе которого были 21 танк «Черчилль» и 3 английских гусеничных бронетранспортера «Универсал».

На Курской дуге в составе 5-го гвардейского танкового корпуса были 21 танк «Черчилль», 106 танков Т-34 и 86 легких танков, а во 2-м гвардейском танковом корпусе – 17 танков «Черчилль», 90 танков Т-34 и 59 легких танков.
Любопытно, что в бою под Прохоровкой «Черчилль» из состава 15-го танкового полка прорыва совершил лобовой таран «тигра». При этом весь экипаж танка, которым командовал лейтенант Смирнов, а механиком-водителем был лейтенант А. Ф. Логинов, не получил ранений. После сражения под Прохоровкой лейтенант Логинов стал командиром танка «Черчилль» и участвовал в боях за Киев. Танк Логинова подбил «тигр», добившись попадания бронебойного снаряда между броней башни и корпуса. Логинов был удостоен звания Героя Советского Союза.

«Черчилль» в России


В июне 1944 года танки «Черчилль» из 21-го ОТТПП активно участвовали в уличных боях за город Выборг.
Судя по всему, последний раз «Черчилли» были применены на Восточном фронте в сентябре 1944 года в составе 8-й армии Ленинградского фронта при освобождении Таллина и Северной Эстонии. Там успешно действовал 82-й ОТТПП, в составе которого было 10 «Черчиллей» и 11 танков КВ-1 С.

Главный вывод из применения танков «Черчилль» в России очевиден: танк, имеющий конструктивные недостатки, в руках опытных и мужественных людей да еще при грамотном тактическом применении может нанести серьезный урон врагу.

Остается добавить, что в британской армии «Черчилли» применяли ограниченно, хотя в 1942–1944 годах их было изготовлено 5460 единиц. Первый дебют «Черчиллей» состоялся 19 августа 1942 года в ходе рейда на Дьепп. Из 30 танков в операции было потеряно 27. По одной бригаде танков «Черчилль» англичане использовали в Северной Африке и Италии в 1942–1943 годах. Две бригады воевали во Франции и Германии в 1944–1945 годах. Последнее боевое применение «Черчиллей» англичанами произошло в Корее в 1951–1953 годах. В течение следующих трех лет «Черчилли» были сняты с вооружения британской армии.
Автор: Александр ШИРОКОРАД
Первоисточник: http://www.bratishka.ru" class="text" rel="nofollow" target="_blank">http://www.bratishka.ru


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Видео в тему









Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 0

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня