Military Review

Outside the Alliance. Forms of NATO cooperation with third countries

12

NATO headquarters in Brussels. US Army Photos


NATO is currently actively cooperating with third countries outside of the organization. Such interaction is carried out within the framework of a number of organizations and formats, uniting several dozen countries from several regions. These measures allow the Alliance to expand its presence outside the Euro-Atlantic region and solve other problems.

Evolution of the Soviets


The foundations of the modern system of NATO cooperation with third countries were laid after the end of the Cold War. In the early nineties, taking into account recent events, the Alliance updated its Strategic Concept. One of the main foreign policy goals was now interaction with third countries that are not part of any blocs and alliances. Later, these plans were implemented through the creation of new organizations.

Already in 1991, the North Atlantic Cooperation Council (NACC) was founded. All NATO countries, as well as a number of European states, have joined this multilateral forum. Neutral countries and former Soviet republics were invited to cooperate. In its original form, the NACC existed until 1997, when it was reorganized into the Euro-Atlantic Partnership Council (EAPC).

Outside the Alliance. Forms of NATO cooperation with third countries

EAPC emblem

Currently, the EAPC includes 50 members - NATO countries in full force, 6 European countries adhering to neutrality, 3 states on the territory of the former Yugoslavia, as well as 12 states of the post-Soviet space. Almost all member countries of the Council have their diplomatic missions at NATO headquarters in Brussels. EAPC meetings are regularly held with the participation of officials of different levels.

Within the framework of the EAPC, cooperation is carried out in a number of main areas. These are peacekeeping and conflict resolution, the fight against international terrorism, joint defense planning, arms control, etc. Every two years, a plan of the Council's activities is developed, which defines the main goals and objectives for the near future.

NATO's cooperation with Russia, Georgia and Ukraine is considered to be of particular importance and priority within the EAPC. In this regard, in the past, the Russia-NATO Council was established, as well as its own commissions for interaction with other priority partners.

In the name of peace


In 1994, NATO initiated the Partnership for Peace (PfP) program. A number of countries that were not members of the Alliance were invited to participate in it, including former Soviet republics. At the time of its start, the program united 24 countries. Subsequently, the number and composition of participants changed several times.


EAPC member countries on the world map. Graphics Wikimedia Commons

At the moment, the PfP includes 20 countries in Europe, Transcaucasia and Central Asia. 14 states previously participated in the program, but have now become members of NATO and dropped out of it. Russia once joined the "Partnership", but at the moment does not participate in it due to the termination of cooperation on the main NATO programs.

The mission of the PfP program is NATO's assistance in the building and development of national armed forces. As a result of this development, the participating countries get the opportunity to full-fledged military cooperation with the Alliance, and in the future - to join it. Every two years, PfP participants provide information on the state of their armies, on the basis of which plans for further development are drawn up. In addition, NATO provides training for the personnel of partner states in its educational institutions.

Regional initiatives


In 1994, NATO launched the Mediterranean Dialogue (MD) project, which aims to unite the efforts of the Alliance and the countries of North Africa and the Middle East. In 1995-2000. only seven countries have joined this format - Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Mauritania, Morocco and Tunisia. Expansion of the project is not planned yet.


EAPC Member Countries and Council Bodies. NATO graphics

Cooperation on SD is mainly carried out in a bilateral format according to individual plans for each country. At the same time, joint events are regularly held. As in the case of the PfP, under the SD, the Alliance countries help partners with training, planning and developing armies.

In 2004, the Istanbul Cooperation Initiative (ICI) was launched to complement the Mediterranean Dialogue by attracting new Middle East partners. The ICU includes Bahrain, Kuwait, Qatar and the United Arab Emirates. There are plans to include new countries such as Saudi Arabia and Oman in the ICU.

According to the principles of interaction with NATO, the ICU program is similar to the PfP and SD. At the same time, partner countries can provide the Alliance with their military infrastructure facilities and participate in its international exercises. In 2016, several ICU countries received permission to open permanent missions at NATO headquarters.

Global partnership


NATO's interests extend beyond the Euro-Atlantic region, and there are countries willing to cooperate with the Alliance. For this purpose, a format of “global partners” (formerly “contact countries”) has been created, within which interaction is carried out according to individual plans, taking into account the needs of the country and NATO's plans in relation to it.


Partnership for Peace members - marked in blue. Former PfP participants, now NATO members, are marked in green. Graphics Wikimedia Commons

Global partners include Afghanistan, Australia, Colombia, Iraq, Japan, South Korea, Mongolia, New Zealand and Pakistan. Cooperation is carried out through legislative structures and ministries of defense. At the same time, the methods of interaction with different countries differ.

New approaches


The described cooperation formats provide for the unification of third countries on a geographic basis, and also propose plans for cooperation outside the main regions. In 2011, the so-called. Berlin package - new principles of interaction with third countries. The main idea of ​​this package is to move away from geographical principles and to more harmonize approaches.

Since 2012, uniform lists of events held in the framework of partnership with NATO have been compiled annually. In 2014, we adopted the Partnership Interoperability Initiative, aimed at reducing the disparity between the armies of different countries. Depending on the current state of the armed forces and the political course of the partner country, the Initiative provides for several levels of interaction.


"Mediterranean Dialogue" and peculiarities of cooperation. NATO graphics

In 2014, the initiative “Assistance to non-aligned states” was launched. NATO offers advice on building national military forces. Georgia, Jordan, Iraq, Moldova and Tunisia have already joined the program and have been offered individual development plans. It is curious that when launching such cooperation, NATO gives preference to partners that are most interesting from a military-political point of view.

Own interests


There are currently 30 countries in NATO, and several more wish to join this organization. In addition, the Alliance actively cooperates with 40 foreign countries that are not part of it or adhere to neutrality. There are obvious reasons for this NATO interest in foreign cooperation.

Through a variety of programs, the Alliance interacts with almost all European and North African countries, gaining more convenient access to the Middle East and Central Asia, and expanding its presence in the Asia-Pacific region. Some partner countries become full members of NATO as they implement relevant programs. Military modernization programs almost always provide for the supply of products manufactured by the Alliance countries.

Thus, with the help of all programs and formats of cooperation, NATO gets the opportunity to go beyond its original Euro-Atlantic region and tries to establish relations with the maximum number of countries. In the future, their military and political potential is used to some extent in the interests of NATO. At the same time, measures are being taken to attract new potential partners - and obtain new opportunities. On the whole, such approaches justify themselves, making it possible to set and solve new military-political tasks.
Author:
12 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. 2 Level Advisor
    2 Level Advisor 12 November 2020 06: 09
    0
    an article about those and how NATO has those who are ready to take on all the responsibilities of NATO members without receiving any rights for this .. there are enough such "stupid" countries .. some of our same neighbors think that they will rush to take them, how only in "love for NATA are recognized" .. and why take them? So they do everything that NATO says - even better than many "members" .. On the contrary, NATO is profitable not to take them, you can incite us, but it is not necessary to defend them .. so the maximum where they will be taken is in the sense of being fucked and thrown if something goes wrong .. as the saying goes "to promise does not mean to marry"
    1. Civil
      Civil 12 November 2020 08: 17
      +4
      The aggressive NATO bloc wants to seize the resources of Russia ... baaa ... so NATO is the main trading partner, the main buyer of resources ...
      In the country structure of Russia's foreign trade, the leading place is occupied by the European Union, as the country's largest economic partner.
      The share of the European Union in January-March 2020 accounted for 41,3% of Russian trade turnover (in January-March 2019 - 43,4%), for the CIS countries - 11,2% (11,6%), for the EAEU countries - 8,0% (8,1%), for the APEC countries - 33,2% (31,2%).
      Forced and twisted hands must be understood.
      1. Machito
        Machito 12 November 2020 11: 08
        +1
        We don't need this NATO.
        1. Turanov
          Turanov 12 November 2020 18: 23
          -1
          Quote: Bearded
          We don't need this NATO.

          NATO bang on humpbacks, slabs in three girths ..!
          Whoever licks their boots will get a nose shot.
          Who else loves NATO in our country? angry
          1. Machito
            Machito 12 November 2020 19: 02
            +1
            Your NATO is bad.
            1. Turanov
              Turanov 12 November 2020 21: 25
              -2
              Quote: Bearded
              Your NATO is bad.

              Shitty, this is so, ours is your NATO.
              Eh, it would rather be without NATO, the world would have sighed itself somehow
              Or will we help, kick the NATO soldiers?
              As if I could not lie to you, but it's time to take it off.
  2. parusnik
    parusnik 12 November 2020 06: 15
    +1
    On the whole, such approaches justify themselves, making it possible to set and solve new military-political tasks.
    In general, yes..
  3. rotmistr60
    rotmistr60 12 November 2020 06: 39
    +1
    Although NATO is our potential enemy, we should give them their due in the way they operate in the post-Soviet space, creating threats along the perimeter of our country. Maybe it's high time for Russia not to whisper about international law, as well as brazenly and unceremoniously to act in the zone of its interests, especially when it comes to national security. We were late with Georgia and Ukraine, Belarus is still with our help, in Armenia the pro-American regime may fly off, but who will come instead is a big question. And yet Central Asia, Moldova ...
    1. evgen1221
      evgen1221 12 November 2020 21: 07
      0
      Well, let's say a pro-American flies to Armenia, and what can a pro-Putin give them? Well, yes, braces and planned increases in air prices. For me, it is so necessary to discard the imperial habits of heating at the expense of others and bring your country to the necessary conditions when they themselves will be stuffed into allies and will equal you and not by imposing their mess on the surrounding countries.
  4. Daniil Konovalenko
    Daniil Konovalenko 12 November 2020 08: 07
    +2
    You can be indignant at NATO policy as much as you like, but the collapse of this bloc is not threatened ...
  5. atos_kin
    atos_kin 12 November 2020 08: 45
    +1
    One more element of quiet brain drain from third countries can be added to the article. This is financial support for the participation of scientists in the activities of the NATO Science and Technology Organization.
  6. Andrei Nikolaevich
    Andrei Nikolaevich 12 November 2020 17: 53
    -1
    I do not understand the logic of NATO .. ​​Why promise admission to the bloc of homeless people, such as Ukraine? This is tantamount to the fact that we all the garage cooperative promised the drunk, to give a Rolls-Royce.

Военное обозрение

За пределами Альянса. Форматы сотрудничества НАТО с третьими странами

12

Штаб-квартира НАТО в Брюсселе. Фото US Army


В настоящее время НАТО активно сотрудничает с третьими странами, не входящими в состав организации. Такое взаимодействие осуществляется в рамках целого ряда организаций и форматов, объединяющих несколько десятков стран из нескольких регионов. Эти меры позволяют Альянсу расширять свое присутствие за пределы Евро-Атлантического региона и решать другие задачи.

Эволюция Советов


Основы современной системы сотрудничества НАТО с третьими странами были заложены после окончания Холодной войны. В начале девяностых годов, учитывая последние события, Альянс обновил свою Стратегическую концепцию. Одной из главных внешнеполитических целей теперь было взаимодействие с третьими странами, не входящими в какие-либо блоки и союзы. В дальнейшем эти планы были реализованы путем создания новых организаций.

Уже в 1991 г. основали Совет североатлантического сотрудничества (ССАС). К этому многостороннему форуму присоединились все страны НАТО, а также ряд европейских государств. К сотрудничеству пригласили нейтральные страны и бывшие советские республики. В исходном виде ССАС просуществовал до 1997 г., когда его преобразовали в Совет евро-атлантического партнерства (СЕАП).

За пределами Альянса. Форматы сотрудничества НАТО с третьими странами

Эмблема СЕАП

В настоящее время в СЕАП входит 50 членов – страны НАТО в полном составе, 6 европейских стран, придерживающихся нейтралитета, 3 государства на территории бывшей Югославии, а также 12 государств постсоветского пространства. Почти все страны-участники Совета имеют свои дипломатические представительства при штаб-квартире НАТО в Брюсселе. Регулярно проходят заседания СЕАП с участием должностных лиц разного уровня.

В рамках СЕАП ведется сотрудничество по ряду основных направлений. Это поддержание мира и урегулирование конфликтов, борьба с международным терроризмом, совместное оборонное планирование, контроль над вооружением и т.д. Каждые два года осуществляется разработка плана деятельности Совета, определяющего основные цели и задачи на ближайшее время.

Особо важным и приоритетным в рамках СЕАП считается сотрудничество НАТО с Россией, Грузией и Украиной. В связи с этим в прошлом были созданы Совет Россия-НАТО, а также собственные комиссии по взаимодействию с другими приоритетными партнерами.

Во имя мира


В 1994 г. по инициативе НАТО стартовала программа «Партнерство ради мира» (ПРМ). К участию в ней пригласили ряд стран, не входивших в состав Альянса, в т.ч. бывшие советские республики. На момент начала работы программа объединяла 24 страны. В дальнейшем численность и состав участников неоднократно менялись.


Страны-участники СЕАП на карте мира. Графика Wikimedia Commons

На данный момент в ПРМ числится 20 стран Европы, Закавказья и Центральной Азии. 14 государств ранее участвовали в программе, но к настоящему времени стали членами НАТО и выбыли из нее. Россия в свое время присоединилась к «Партнерству», но на данный момент не участвует в нем из-за прекращения сотрудничества по основным программам НАТО.

Задачей программы ПРМ является содействие со стороны НАТО в деле строительства и развития национальных вооруженных сил. По итогам такого развития страны-участники получают возможность полноценного военного сотрудничества с Альянсом, а в перспективе – вступления в него. Каждые два года участники ПРМ предоставляют информацию о состоянии своих армий, на основе которой вырабатываются планы по дальнейшему развитию. Кроме того, НАТО осуществляет подготовку личного состава государств-партнеров в своих учебных заведениях.

Региональные инициативы


В 1994 г. НАТО запустило проект «Средиземноморский диалог» (СД), призванный объединить усилия Альянса и стран Северной Африки и Ближнего Востока. В 1995-2000 гг. к этому формату присоединилось всего семь стран – Алжир, Египет, Израиль, Иордания, Мавритания, Марокко и Тунис. Расширение проекта пока не планируется.


Страны-участницы СЕАП и органы, задействованные в Совете. Графика НАТО

Сотрудничество по СД в основном ведется в двухстороннем формате по индивидуальным планам для каждой страны. При этом регулярно проводятся совместные мероприятия. Как и в случае с ПРМ, в рамках СД страны Альянса помогают партнерам с подготовкой кадров, планированием и развитием армий.

В 2004 г. запустили «Стамбульскую инициативу по сотрудничеству» (СИС), призванную дополнять «Средиземноморский диалог» за счет привлечения новых ближневосточных партнеров. В СИС вошли Бахрейн, Кувейт, Катар и ОАЭ. Имеются планы по включению в СИС новых стран, таких как Саудовская Аравия и Оман.

По принципам взаимодействия с НАТО программа СИС похожа на ПРМ и СД. При этом страны-партнеры могут предоставлять Альянсу свои объекты военной инфраструктуры и участвовать в его международных учениях. В 2016 г. несколько стран СИС получили разрешение на открытие постоянных представительств при штаб-квартире НАТО.

Глобальное партнерство


Интересы НАТО выходят за пределы Евро-Атлантического региона, и существуют страны, желающие сотрудничать с Альянсом. С этой целью создан формат «глобальных партнеров» (ранее «контактные страны»), в рамках которого ведется взаимодействие по индивидуальным планам, учитывающим потребности страны и планы НАТО в ее отношении.


Участники "Партнерства ради мира" - отмечены синим. Зеленым отмечены бывшие участники ПРМ, ныне члены НАТО. Графика Wikimedia Commons

Глобальными партнерами являются Афганистан, Австралия, Колумбия, Ирак, Япония, Южная Корея, Монголия, Новая Зеландия и Пакистан. Сотрудничество осуществляется по линии законодательных структур и министерств оборон. При этом методики взаимодействия с разными странами отличаются.

Новые подходы


Описанные форматы сотрудничества предусматривают объединение третьих стран по географическому признаку, а также предлагают планы по взаимодействию за пределами основных регионов. В 2011 г. был принят т.н. Берлинский пакет – новые принципы взаимодействия с третьими странами. Основная идея этого пакета заключается в отходе от географических принципов и в большей унификации подходов.

С 2012 г. ежегодно формируются единые списки мероприятий, проводимых в рамках партнерства с НАТО. В 2014 г. приняли «Инициативу оперативной совместимости с партнерами», направленной на сокращение различий между армиями разных стран. В зависимости от текущего состояния вооруженных сил и политического курса страны-партнера, «Инициатива» предусматривает несколько уровней взаимодействия.


"Средиземноморский диалог" и особенности сотрудничества. Графика НАТО

В 2014 г. стартовала инициатива «Содействие внеблоковым государствам». НАТО предлагает консультативную помощь в строительстве национальных вооруженных сил. К программе уже присоединились Грузия, Иордания, Ирак, Молдавия и Тунис, которым предложены индивидуальные планы развития. Любопытно, что при запуске подобного сотрудничества НАТО отдает предпочтение партнерам, наиболее интересным с военно-политической точки зрения.

Собственные интересы


В настоящее время в НАТО состоит 30 стран, и еще несколько желают вступить в эту организацию. Кроме того, Альянс активно сотрудничает с 40 зарубежными странами, не входящими в его состав или придерживающимися нейтралитета. Подобный интерес НАТО к зарубежному сотрудничеству имеет очевидные причины.

За счет разнообразных программ Альянс взаимодействует почти со всеми европейскими и североафриканскими странами, получает более удобный доступ на Ближний Восток и в Центральную Азию, а также расширяет присутствие в Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе. Некоторые страны-партнеры по мере реализации актуальных программ становятся полноправными членами НАТО. Программы модернизации вооруженных сил почти всегда предусматривают поставку продукции, произведенной странами Альянса.

Таким образом, при помощи всех программ и форматов сотрудничества НАТО получает возможность выхода за пределы своего исходного Евро-Атлантического региона и старается наладить отношения с максимальным числом стран. В дальнейшем их военный и политический потенциал в той или иной мере используется в интересах НАТО. При этом принимаются меры для привлечения новых потенциальных партнеров – и получения новых возможностей. В целом такие подходы оправдывают себя, позволяя ставить и решать новые военно-политические задачи.
Автор:
12 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. советник 2 уровня
    советник 2 уровня 12 ноября 2020 06:09
    0
    статья про тех и про то, как НАТО имеет тех, кто готов взять на себя все обязанности членов НАТО не получив за это никаких прав.. таких "неумных" стран хватает.. те же наши некоторые соседи-думают что их кинутся брать, как только в "любви к НАТЕ признаются".. а зачем их брать? они же итак все выполняют, что скажет НАТО-еще и лучше многих "членов".. их наоборот НАТО выгодно не брать-можно науськивать на нас, а защищать необязательно.. так что максимум куда их возьмут-это в смысле поимеют и бросят, если что не так.. как говорится "обещать, не значит жениться"
    1. Гражданский
      Гражданский 12 ноября 2020 08:17
      +4
      Агрессивный блок НАТО хочет захватить ресурсы России... бааа... так НАТО главный торговый партнер, главный покупатель ресурсов...
      В страновой структуре внешней торговли России ведущее место занимает Европейский Союз, как крупнейший экономический партнер страны.
      На долю Европейского Союза в январе-марте 2020 года приходилось 41,3% российского товарооборота (в январе-марте 2019 года – 43,4%), на страны СНГ – 11,2% (11,6%), на страны ЕАЭС – 8,0% (8,1%), на страны АТЭС – 33,2% (31,2%).
      Вынудили и выкрутили руки надо понимать.
      1. Бородач
        Бородач 12 ноября 2020 11:08
        +1
        Эту НАТО нам не надо.
        1. Turanov
          Turanov 12 ноября 2020 18:23
          -1
          Цитата: Бородач
          Эту НАТО нам не надо.

          НАТО бахнем по горбато ,горбылями в три обхвато ..!
          Кто ботинки лижет нато ,те получат по носато ..
          Кто еще у нас любит НАТО ? angry
          1. Бородач
            Бородач 12 ноября 2020 19:02
            +1
            Хреновато ваше НАТО.
            1. Turanov
              Turanov 12 ноября 2020 21:25
              -2
              Цитата: Бородач
              Хреновато ваше НАТО.

              Хреновато ,это так то ,наше-ваше это нато .
              Эх скорей бы уж без НАТО ,Мир вздохнул бы уж сам как то
              Или будем помогать ,натовских солдат пинать ?
              Как бы мне вам не солгать ,но пора сними кончать .
  2. parusnik
    parusnik 12 ноября 2020 06:15
    +1
    В целом такие подходы оправдывают себя, позволяя ставить и решать новые военно-политические задачи.
    В целом да..
  3. rotmistr60
    rotmistr60 12 ноября 2020 06:39
    +1
    Хотя НАТО и наш потенциальный враг, но стоит отдать им должное в том как они действуют на постсоветском пространстве создавая угрозы по периметру нашей страны. Может России давно пора не сюсюкать о международном праве, а так же нагло и бесцеремонно действовать в зоне своих интересов особенно если это касается национальной безопасности. С Грузией и Украиной опоздали, Белоруссия пока с нашей помощью стоит, в Армении возможно проамериканский режим слетит, но кто придет вместо большой вопрос. А ведь еще Средняя Азия, Молдавия...
    1. evgen1221
      evgen1221 12 ноября 2020 21:07
      0
      Ну допустим слетит в Армении проамериканский-а пропутинский чего дать может им? А ну да скрепы и плановые повышения цен на воздух. По мне так надо отбросить имперские замашки по обогреву за счет себя окружающих и довести свою страну до нужных кондиций когда к тебе сами в союзники набиватся будут и ровнятся на тебя а не навязыввнием окружающим странам своего бардака.
  4. Даниил Коноваленко
    Даниил Коноваленко 12 ноября 2020 08:07
    +2
    Можно сколько угодно возмущаться политикой НАТО, но развал данному блоку не грозит...
  5. atos_kin
    atos_kin 12 ноября 2020 08:45
    +1
    К статье можно добавить еще один елемент тихого высасывания мозгов из третьих стран. Это финансовая поддержка для участия ученых в мероприятиях Организации НАТО по науке и технологиям.
  6. Андрей Николаевич
    Андрей Николаевич 12 ноября 2020 17:53
    -1
    Не пойму логики НАТО..Зачем обещать приема в блок бомжей, типа Украины? Это равносильно тому что мы всем гаражным кооперативом пообещали алкашу- подарить Ролс- Ройс.