Military Review

Experienced Finnish anti-tank gun 75 K / 44 (PstK 57-76), 1944 year

7
The idea of ​​creating a new anti-tank gun belongs to the engineer G. Donner. A feature of the new gun is the location of the barrel in terms of the wheel travel. This gave the gun excellent stability in the production of the shot and a rather low silhouette, which achieved minimal conspicuity on the battlefield. The beginning of the project development is the spring of 1942. The work supervisor is engineer E. Fabricius. New tool give the name PstK 57 / 76.

Experienced Finnish anti-tank gun 75 K / 44 (PstK 57-76), 1944 year


To the gun develop a new ammunition. It is created on the basis of 57mm projectile from the coastal gun Hochkiss "57 / 58 H", which is placed in the sleeve 76mm projectile from the divisional gun "76 K / 02". According to calculations, the initial speed of the new ammunition was to be 1000 m / s, however, on tests, the projectile showed even a greater speed, approximately 1100 m / s.

The first tests of a prototype of a new anti-tank gun begin in the middle of the 1943 year. By the end of the year, the main work on the prototype had come to an end, they began to plan the serial production of the gun in the number of 200 copies. However, the military refused 57mm guns and demanded a gun caliber 75mm. The reason for this decision was the German anti-tank gun caliber 75mm (75 K / 40), which was purchased from Germany and taken into service. For the unification of guns on ammunition and it was necessary to gun precisely the caliber 75mm.



Within a few months, the design of the anti-tank gun was modified and approved for construction. The new gun caliber 75mm gets the working name "75 K / 44". The Finnish Defense Ministry even issued an order for a series of 150 copies.

The main changes affected the trunk - its length increased and amounted to 55 calibers. This gave an increase in the speed of German-made ammunition against the German PAK-40:
- armor-piercing "Pzgr.39" - 903 m / s against 790 m / s;
- subcaliber “Pzgr.40” - 1145 m / s versus 933 m / s;

75 K / 44 equipped with a muzzle brake of its own design, semi-automatic type shutter and enhanced protection (dual shield). Combat weight 75 K / 44 did not exceed one and a half tons, transportation was carried out by analogy with the German "PAK-40", the weight of both guns is almost the same. Finnish designers also created a new sub-caliber ammunition for the new gun instead of the German Pzgr.40, but they could not be mass-produced - the tungsten cores used in the sub-caliber ammunition failed to be produced by the Finns.

Tests of a converted anti-tank guns under a larger caliber began in the first days of the spring 1943 year. In the course of testing, major problems were identified with the reliability of the gun. By the summer of 1944, work began on the creation of the gun in an intensified mode - at this time the Soviet troops launched a major offensive in Karelia to remove the threats of Leningrad and withdraw Finland from the war.

The following tests take place at the end of July 1944. The prototype showed the best armor penetration, but it was not possible to solve the problems with its reliability. The military urgently demanded a result, for which it was required to make changes to the design of the anti-tank gun itself. Another factor was the low profile of the gun - he was not completely satisfied with the Finnish venals, as difficulties with rough terrain were discovered (perhaps because of uneven terrain, the gun was poorly adapted to shoot at direct fire or the gun behaved unpredictably during transportation).

Finnish engineers could not bring the gun to mind - in September Finland signed a peace treaty with the USSR. After that, the creation of the gun began to cause strong doubts among the military - 75 K / 44 did not show advantages over the German "PAK-40". Efficiency against the latest designs tanks at that time was also in doubt.

Under the signed armistice agreements, the gun became part of the weapons and equipment transferred to the Soviet Union. However, 75 K / 44 did not interest the Soviet military and designers, and returned the gun to the Finns. The development of the guns was progressing at a slow pace; it is known that in the 50s it was slightly improved. Of the main innovations, it is worth noting the replacement of the knurler - instead of the spring one, the hydropneumatic one is installed.

The fate of the gun 75 K / 44
In the mid-50s, the Finnish anti-tank gun was armory Tampella as a “75mm anti-tank gun mod. 46. ​​" One of the prototypes was sent to Israel for testing for a possible next export production. The Israelis did not begin to order this gun for their own army, and the gun (prototype) remained with the Israelis. Another prototype was used in the mid-60s as a large-scale model (1: 2) to subsequently create the Finnish 155mm howitzer 155K83. The prototype of the gun was transferred to the museum.



Additional Information
Before the Finns, before 1936, the Japanese 44 VK / 75 98 guns were in service with a similar design (barrel at the level of the wheel axle), later sold to Spain (most of them).

Key Features:
- caliber 75 (originally 57mm)
- The height of the gun about 0.9 meter;
- The mass of the gun - 1.5 tons;
- barrel length 55 calibers;
- used ammunition - armor-piercing and subcaliber;
- the initial velocity of the projectile armor / subcaliber - 903 / 1145 m / s.

Information sources:
http://yhdistykset-akaa.fi/reservilaiset/panssariseminaari2011.pdf
http://raigap.livejournal.com/151219.html
Author:
7 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Brother Sarych
    Brother Sarych 14 August 2012 09: 23
    +3
    The design is very curious - did not expect this from Finland ...
    1. borisst64
      borisst64 15 August 2012 11: 55
      +5
      A calculation of dwarfs
  2. grizzlir
    grizzlir 15 August 2012 10: 47
    +3
    I wonder how the calculation of the gun worked, when lying down? The low silhouette of the PT gun is good, but to a certain limit. I don’t know the exact size of this system, but in Finland the stones and tall grass will prevent the fire. As you planned to tow, you can only guess.
    1. Vadivak
      Vadivak 15 August 2012 15: 18
      +2
      Quote: grizzlir
      The low silhouette of the PT guns is good, n



      7,5 cm PaK 40 Height, 1245 mm, only 30 cm higher than the Finnish will be,
      1. grizzlir
        grizzlir 15 August 2012 20: 29
        0
        Quote: Vadivak
        7,5 cm PaK 40 Height, 1245 mm, only 30 cm higher than the Finnish will be,
        30 cm higher, this is no longer in a prone position. And the firing line is at a normal level. Apparently the Germans could have made the gun lower, but there is a chapel to everything.
  3. APASUS
    APASUS 15 August 2012 19: 18
    0
    Actually, do Finns have their own personal opinion that weapons should be beautiful?
  4. understudy
    understudy 16 August 2012 01: 19
    0
    Interesting "thing".
  5. AlexMH
    AlexMH 10 December 2012 23: 01
    0
    what's the point in the low silhouette of an anti-tank gun if it has a muzzle brake that unmasks the gun when fired? This arrangement only complicates the maintenance of the guns and makes shooting impossible in a number of cases. It’s not surprising that the gun was not useful to anyone :)

Опытное финское противотанковое орудие 75 К/44 (PstK 57-76), 1944 год

Идея создания нового противотанкового орудия принадлежит инженеру Г.Доннеру. Особенностью нового орудия – расположение ствола по уровню колесного хода. Это придавало орудию отличную стабильность при производстве выстрела и достаточно низкий силуэт, чем достигалась минимальная заметность на поле боя. Начало разработки проекта – весна 1942 года. Руководитель работ – инженер Э. Фабрициус. Новому орудию дают название PstK 57/76.

Опытное финское противотанковое орудие 75 К/44 (PstK 57-76), 1944 год


К орудию разрабатывают новый боеприпас. Его создают на основе 57мм снаряда от берегового орудия Гочкиса «57/58 H», который помещают в гильзу 76мм снаряда от дивизионного орудия «76 K/02». По расчетам, начальная скорость нового боеприпаса должна была составить 1000 м/с, однако на испытаниях снаряд показал даже большую скорость, примерно 1100 м/с.


Первые испытания опытного образца нового противотанкового орудия начинаются в середине 1943 года. К концу года основные работы над опытным образцом подошли к концу, начали планировать серийный выпуск орудия в количестве 200 экземпляров. Однако военные отказываются от 57мм орудия и потребовали орудие калибра 75мм. Причиной данного решения послужило немецкое противотанковое орудие калибра 75мм (75 K/40), которое было приобретено у Германии и взято на вооружение. Для унификации орудий по боеприпасам и потребовалось орудие именно калибра 75мм.

Опытное финское противотанковое орудие 75 К/44 (PstK 57-76), 1944 год


За несколько месяцев проект противотанкового орудия был изменен и утвержден для построения. Новое орудие калибра 75мм получает рабочее название «75 K/44». Финское военное ведомство даже выдало вперед заказ на серию в количестве 150 экземпляров.

Основные изменения коснулись ствола – его длина увеличилась и составила 55 калибров. Это дало прирост скорости боеприпасов немецкого производства против немецкого «PAK-40»:
- бронебойный «Pzgr.39» - 903 м/с против 790 м/с;
- подкалиберный «Pzgr.40» - 1145 м/с против 933 м/с;

75 К/44 оснастили дульным тормозом собственной разработки, затвором полуавтоматического типа и усиленной защитой (сдвоенным щитом). Боевой вес 75 К/44 не превышал полутора тонн, транспортировка осуществлялась по аналогии с немецким «PAK-40», вес обоих орудий практически одинаков. Финские конструкторы так же создали новый подкалиберный боеприпас для новой пушки взамен немецких «Pzgr.40», но выпускать серийно их так и не смогли – вольфрамовые сердечники, используемые в подкалиберном боеприпасе, выпускать у финнов не получилось.

Испытания переделанного противотанкового орудия под больший калибр начались в первые дни весны 1943 года. В ходе испытаний были выявлены большие проблемы с надежностью орудия. К лету 1944 года работы над созданием орудия стали проводить в усиленном режиме – в это время Советские войска начали крупное наступление в Карелии для снятия угроз Ленинграду и вывода из войны Финляндии.

Следующие испытания проходят в конце июля 1944 года. Опытный образец показал лучшую бронепробиваемость, но решить проблемы с его надежностью так и не удалось. Военные срочно потребовали результата, для чего требовалось вносить изменения в саму конструкцию противотанкового орудия. Еще одним фактором стал низкий профиль орудия – финских венных он полностью не устраивал, так как обнаружились трудности пересеченной местности (возможно из-за неровной местности орудие было плохо приспособлено стрелять прямой наводкой или же при транспортировке орудие вело себя непредсказуемо).

Довести пушку до ума финские инженеры так и не смогли – в сентябре Финляндия подписала мирный договор с СССР. После этого, создание орудия стало вызывать у военных сильные сомнения – 75 К/44 не показал преимуществ над немецким «PAK-40». Эффективность против новейших образцов танков на то время также вызывала сомнения.

По подписанным соглашениям о перемирии, орудие вошло в состав вооружения и техники переданного Советскому Союзу. Однако 75 К/44 не заинтересовал советских военных и конструкторов и орудие вернули финнам. Разработки орудия продвигались малыми темпами, известно, что в 50-х годах его несколько усовершенствовали. Из основных новшеств стоит отметить замену накатника – вместо пружинного устанавливают гидропневматический.

Судьба орудия 75 К/44
В середине 50-х годов противотанковое орудие числилось у финской оружейной фирмы «Tampella» как «75мм противотанковое орудие mod. 46». Один из прототипов отправили в Израиль для проведения испытаний для возможного следующего экспортного производства. Израильтяне не стали заказывать данное орудия для собственной армии, а орудие (прототип) так и остался у израильтян. Еще один прототип был использован в середине 60-х годов как масштабная модель (1:2) для создания впоследствии финского 155мм гаубичного орудия 155K83. Прототип орудия передан в музей.

Опытное финское противотанковое орудие 75 К/44 (PstK 57-76), 1944 год


Дополнительная информация
У финнов до 1936 года были на вооружении 44 орудия «75 VK/98» японского производства, созданные по аналогичной конструкции (ствол на уровне колесной оси), позже проданные в Испанию (большая часть).

Основные характеристики:
- калибр 75 (первоначально 57мм)
- высота орудия около 0.9 метра;
- масса орудия – 1.5 тонны;
- длина ствола 55 калибров;
- используемые боеприпасы – бронебойный и подкалиберный;
- начальная скорость снаряда бронебой/подкалибр – 903/1145 м/с.

Источники информации:
http://yhdistykset-akaa.fi/reservilaiset/panssariseminaari2011.pdf
http://raigap.livejournal.com/151219.html
Автор: Роман Джерелейко


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 7
  1. Братец Сарыч 14 августа 2012 09:23
    Конструкция очень любопытная - не ожидал такого от Финляндии...
    Братец Сарыч
    1. borisst64 15 августа 2012 11:55
      А расчет из карликов
      borisst64
  2. grizzlir 15 августа 2012 10:47
    Интересно как работал расчёт орудия,в положении лёжа?Низкий силуэт ПТ орудия это хорошо,но до определённого предела.Не знаю точно размеры данной системы,но в условиях Финляндии вести огонь помешают камни и высокая трава.Как его планировали буксировать,можно только догадываться.
    grizzlir
    1. Vadivak 15 августа 2012 15:18
      Цитата: grizzlir
      Низкий силуэт ПТ орудия это хорошо,н



      7,5 cm PaK 40 Высота, мм 1245 ,всего на 30 см повыше финской будет,
      1. grizzlir 15 августа 2012 20:29
        Цитата: Vadivak
        7,5 cm PaK 40 Высота, мм 1245 ,всего на 30 см повыше финской будет,
        на 30 см выше,это уже не в положении лёжа.И линия стрельбы на нормальном уровне.Видимо немцы и могли бы сделать пушку ниже,но всему есть придел.
        grizzlir
  3. APASUS 15 августа 2012 19:18
    Вообще то у финнов свое личное мнение о том ,что оружие должно быть красивым?
  4. Дублер 16 августа 2012 01:19
    Занятная "штука".
  5. AlexMH 10 декабря 2012 23:01
    какой смысл в низком силуэте противотанковой пушки, если у нее есть дульный тормоз, который демаскирует орудие при выстреле? Такая компоновка только усложняет обслуживание орудия и делает стрельбу невозможной в целом ряде случаев. Неудивительно, что орудие так никому и не пригодилось:)
    AlexMH

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня