Military Review

Tank trailer Mono Wheel Trailer: towed tank for "Centurion"

11

Rolls-Royce Meteor Mk III engine - cause of problems tank Centurion. Photo Wikimedia Commons


In 1945, the newest A41 Centurion medium tank entered service with the British Army. For all its advantages, this vehicle did not differ in fuel efficiency, which could seriously limit its combat potential. At different times, various attempts were made to get rid of this problem, and one of the first was the special tank trailer Mono Wheel Trailer.

The scale of the problem


In the first modifications, the Centurion tank had internal fuel tanks with a total capacity of 121 gallons (550 liters). In the aft compartment of the armored vehicle there was a Rolls-Royce Meteor V12 petrol engine with a capacity of 650 hp. With its help, the tank could reach speeds of up to 35 km / h on the highway and up to 23-25 ​​km / h on rough terrain.

Tank trailer Mono Wheel Trailer: towed tank for "Centurion"
Danish army Mono Wheel Trailer trailers parked. Photo Armyvehicles.dk

Depending on the condition of the engine, transmission and chassis, one refueling of 550 liters allowed no more than 80-100 km to travel on a good road. On rough terrain, the power reserve was even less. Thus, the minimum fuel consumption reached 550 liters per 100 km. For comparison, a heavy Chirchill tank on the highway consumed no more than 300-320 liters per 100 km, although on rough terrain the consumption almost doubled.

High fuel consumption and low cruising range threatened the actual use of the Centurion tanks, and it was decided to take action. The most obvious solutions were replacing the engine with a less "voracious" one or installing additional tanks, but they required a major redesign. An alternative to them was a special trailer with an additional tank.

Old solution


Back in 1942, British engineers developed the Rotatrailer unified tank trailer. The product of the original design carried several hundred liters of fuel, dozens of shells, machine gun cartridges, water and provisions. It could be used in conjunction with tanks of various types, although the results of actual operation were ambiguous.


Means for fastening the trailer to the tank. Photo of the Arsenalen Museum

By the end of the forties, it was decided that the optimal answer to the problem of the Centurion's consumption was to create a similar trailer with a large-capacity fuel tank. At the same time, new requirements were imposed on the project, taking into account the operating experience of the Rotatrailer and its shortcomings. As a result, only the original concept remained in the new project, but its implementation changed completely.

The army demanded to make a trailer capable of carrying only fuel - in fact, a tank on wheels. It was proposed to be towed behind the tank on a rigid hitch with the ability to quickly drop. An important innovation was to be the presence of hoses for transferring fuel to the tank while driving.

design Features


The finished trailer, called the Mono Wheel Trailer ("One-wheel trailer") had a rather interesting design that met the requirements. It was a compact product that completely fit behind a towing tank and was able to follow it both on the highway and over rough terrain.


The undercarriage of the product. Arsenalen Photos

The main part of the Mono Wheel Trailer was a complex shaped metal container made of structural steel. The 900 liter tank had a polygonal vertical front wall and sides heaped inside. The rear wall was made tilted back, which simplified the layout of the chassis. The roof and bottom were made horizontal. On top of the tank there were fillers for filling liquid cargo. Lugs were provided on the cover for lifting the trailer with a crane.

Two separate curved drawbars for towing were attached to the sides of the tank from below. With the help of hinge devices, they were connected to standard hooks on the rear of the tank. For quick disconnection in a combat situation, the coupling was equipped with electrically controlled fire bolts from the fighting compartment. A hose was attached to the hitch for transferring fuel to the tank.


Dutch army tanks on the march, 1963. Photo by National Archives of the Netherlands / nationaalarchief.nl

An original one-wheeled chassis was installed on the rear leaf of the trailer. The suspension used was a double wishbone with a vertical spring, of the type common on cars. The vertical stroke was limited by a bump stop on the lower V-shaped arm. A caster wheel was attached to the levers on an inclined fork.

The design of the towing device and the undercarriage had to provide sufficient flexibility and maneuverability on level surfaces. The trailer rigidly followed the tank in a horizontal plane, but could move vertically. In combination with a freely rotating wheel, this gave the required characteristics of mobility and maneuverability.


Trailer assembly, 1963. Photo by National Archives of the Netherlands / nationaalarchief.nl

A simple two-axle bogie was supplied with the trailer. If necessary, a one-wheeled trailer could be installed on it and towed by any available vehicle.

One-wheel novelty


The production of Mono Wheel Trailer trailers was established in the late forties, and at the same time the first products entered the combat units of the British army. In connection with the mass production of the Centurion tanks, the army needed large quantities of additional equipment for them. To ensure a full-fledged service and maximum operational capabilities, it was required to get one trailer for each tank, as well as create some stock. In the same period, new types of armored vehicles were created based on the tank, which could also need a trailer with fuel.


"Centurions" on maneuvers. A discarded trailer is on the sidelines. Photo Tank Museum Bovington

In the course of testing and operation, it was shown that the "One-wheeled trailer" perfectly copes with its main task. A 900 liter fuel tank increased the cruising range to 250-260 km and reduced the dependence of the combat vehicle on fuel trucks. In addition, fuel was constantly supplied to the tanks of the tank, which eliminated the need for stops for refueling.

However, there were also problems. So, a tank with a trailer was more difficult to drive. Unsuccessfully returning it back, you could damage the tank or even run over it, crush it and spill fuel. When driving over rough terrain, the hitch and chassis were subjected to increased loads and often broke. There are known problems with the emergency release system, which could fail, and the tank had to drag the trailer further behind it.

Gasoline from the trailer entered the tanks of the tank with a constant pressure, approximately corresponding to the engine consumption. Due to this, the same fuel level was maintained in the internal tanks of the car, and the entire consumption fell on the supply from the trailer. However, in some situations, the tanks were overfilled and fuel spilled into the engine compartment, causing the risk of fire.


An original way of transporting a tank with a trailer. Photo Militaryimages.net

Overall, the Mono Wheel Trailer had both pros and cons, which earned it a controversial reputation. Some servicemen believed that the disadvantages outweighed the advantages, while others were willing to put up with the inconvenience that simplifies the operation of the tank.

Trailers in the armies


The first serial single-wheeled trailers entered the British Army. According to various data and estimates, several thousand of such products were built, which made it possible to improve the capabilities of the troops. The trailers were used with Centurion tanks of various modifications, up to the very latest. As the modernization progressed, the capacity of the tanks of the tank grew, but the old uneconomical engine remained - the cars still needed an additional trailer.

At the turn of the forties and fifties, Great Britain began shipping "Centurions" abroad. Such tanks were adopted by nearly two dozen countries. Foreign customers understood the problems of the purchased tank, and some contracts provided for the supply of Mono Wheel Trailer products in certain quantities. For example, the Netherlands bought almost 600 tanks and the same number of trailers. In varying quantities, tanks and trailers were delivered to Sweden, Denmark, Canada and other friendly countries.


Experienced ACS FV3802 based on the Centurion tank with a Mono Wheel trailer. Photo Strangernn.livejournal.com

All countries with Centurion tanks continued to operate single-wheeled trailers for many years. They began to refuse them only together with the decommissioning of compatible armored vehicles. Most of the trailers were recycled, but some have survived in museums. Often the trailer is shown together with the tank.

End of concept


Overall, Mono Wheel Trailers have performed well, but not ideal for increasing mobility. With their help, the main tanks of Great Britain and other armies were able to increase the range and, therefore, the overall combat potential, but still it was a limited and insufficiently effective solution.

Based on the experience of operating trailers, it was decided to develop tanks. The first step in this direction was the modernization of the Centurion with the addition of one more internal tank and an increase in the cruising range. And then completely new armored vehicles appeared with acceptable fuel consumption. This made trailers like the Rotatrailer or Mono Wheel unnecessary. Further samples of this kind were not created. The work of the new tanks was provided without any problems with conventional fuel trucks.
Author:
11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Theodore
    Theodore 17 December 2020 18: 17
    -6
    With the size of that Small Britain, the problem is of course Big!
    1. Reviews
      Reviews 17 December 2020 18: 55
      0
      Quote: Theodore
      With the size of that Small Britain, the problem is of course Big!

      Do you really think that after WWII they were peaceful and fluffy?
  2. Reviews
    Reviews 17 December 2020 18: 54
    +1
    type V12

    What kind of guy is this?
    1. Virus-free crown
      Virus-free crown 17 December 2020 20: 12
      0
      Quote: Avis
      type V12

      What kind of guy is this?

      V-shaped 12 cylinders - 6 cylinders per side, the picture clearly shows hi
      1. Reviews
        Reviews 18 December 2020 07: 32
        +1
        Quote: Crown without virus
        Quote: Avis
        type V12

        What kind of guy is this?

        V-shaped 12 cylinders - 6 cylinders per side, the picture clearly shows hi

        Is the word "sarcasm" familiar to you? "V12" is not an engine type, but its layout. "Type" is "Merlin", for example. or "VK-105".
  3. Blacksmith 55
    Blacksmith 55 17 December 2020 18: 55
    -1
    80-100 km for a tank at one gas station is, of course, very little.
    Diesel is always more economical than a gasoline engine, really Britain was not able to create a diesel engine. The war is already over.
    1. mr.ZinGer
      mr.ZinGer 17 December 2020 20: 43
      -1
      Troop logistics is to show the general organization of the army, thanks to the author.
    2. MakStVik
      MakStVik 18 December 2020 18: 10
      -1
      And the contract with the gasoline engine contractor has not ended yet. It is more expensive to dissolve. smile
  4. Bormanxnumx
    Bormanxnumx 17 December 2020 21: 38
    +2
    Depending on the condition of the engine, transmission and chassis, one refueling of 550 liters allowed no more than 80-100 km to travel on a good road.

    The author is overly “pumping” - the British write about 100 miles (170 km), and 80-100 off-road. For reference, "Panther" has 200 km, IS2 200-220 km highway and 100-140 km off-road.
    1. Quadro
      Quadro 17 December 2020 23: 45
      0
      Quote: BORMAN82
      Depending on the condition of the engine, transmission and chassis, one refueling of 550 liters allowed no more than 80-100 km to travel on a good road.

      The author is overly “pumping” - the British write about 100 miles (170 km), and 80-100 off-road. For reference, "Panther" has 200 km, IS2 200-220 km highway and 100-140 km off-road.

      When the centurion became a mass base, the T-54 was. Well, yes, the is-2 is a heavy tank with a very powerful gun and protection against 88mm cannons and a centurion with paper armor (76mm in the forehead and then about 102mm in the base), the same thing ...
  5. MakStVik
    MakStVik 18 December 2020 18: 07
    +2
    A purely bourgeois approach - to create a device with limited possibilities and sell all kinds of drinks to it. smile

Военное обозрение

Танковый прицеп Mono Wheel Trailer: буксируемый бак для «Центуриона»

12

Двигатель Rolls-Royce Meteor Mk III - причина проблем танка Centurion. Фото Wikimedia Commons


В 1945 г. на вооружение британской армии поступил новейший средний танк A41 Centurion. При всех своих преимуществах, эта машина не отличалась топливной экономичностью, что могло серьезно ограничивать ее боевой потенциал. В разное время предпринимались различные попытки избавиться от этой проблемы, и одной из первых стал специальный танковый прицеп Mono Wheel Trailer.

Масштаб проблемы


В первых модификациях танк «Центурион» имел внутренние топливные баки общей емкостью 121 галлон (550 л). В кормовом отсеке бронемашины располагался бензиновый двигатель Rolls-Royce Meteor типа V12 мощностью 650 л.с. С его помощью танк мог развивать скорость до 35 км/ч на шоссе и до 23-25 км/ч на пересеченной местности.

Танковый прицеп Mono Wheel Trailer: буксируемый бак для «Центуриона»
Прицепы Mono Wheel Trailer датской армии на стоянке. Фото Armyvehicles.dk

В зависимости от состояния двигателя, трансмиссии и ходовой части, одна заправка на 550 л позволяла пройти по хорошей дороге не более 80-100 км. На пересеченной местности запас хода был еще меньше. Таким образом, минимальный расход топлива достигал 550 л на 100 км. Для сравнения, тяжелый танк Chirchill на шоссе потреблял не более 300-320 л на 100 км, хотя на пересеченной местности расход возрастал едва ли не вдвое.

Большой расход топлива и малый запас хода угрожали реальному применению танков Centurion, и было решено принять меры. Самыми очевидными решениями были замена двигателя на менее «прожорливый» или установка дополнительных баков, однако они требовали серьезной переработки конструкции. Альтернативой им был специальный прицеп с дополнительным баком.

Старое решение


Еще в 1942 г. британские инженеры разработали унифицированный танковый прицеп Rotatrailer. Изделие оригинальной конструкции перевозило несколько сотен литров топлива, десятки снарядов, патроны для пулемета, воду и провиант. Его можно было использовать вместе с танками разных типов, хотя результаты реальной эксплуатации оказались неоднозначными.


Средства крепления прицепа к танку. Фото музея Arsenalen

К концу сороковых решили, что оптимальным ответом на проблему расхода «Центуриона» является создание схожего прицепа с топливным баком большой емкости. При этом к проекту предъявлялись новые требования, учитывающие опыт эксплуатации «Ротатрейлера» и его недостатки. В итоге в новом проекте осталась только исходная концепция, но ее реализация полностью изменилась.

Армия потребовала сделать прицеп, способный перевозить только топливо, – по сути, бак на колесах. Его предлагалось буксировать за танком на жесткой сцепке с возможностью быстрого сброса. Важным нововведением должно было стать наличие шлангов для передачи топлива в танк во время движения.

Особенности конструкции


Готовый прицеп под названием Mono Wheel Trailer («Одноколесный прицеп») имел достаточно интересную конструкцию, отвечавшую предъявленным требованиям. Это было компактное изделие, полностью умещающееся за танком-буксировщиком и способное двигаться за ним как по шоссе, так и по пересеченной местности.


Ходовая часть изделия. Фото Arsenalen

Основной деталью Mono Wheel Trailer была металлическая емкость сложной формы, выполненная из конструкционной стали. Бак емкостью 900 л имел многоугольную вертикальную переднюю стенку и заваленные внутрь борта. Заднюю стенку выполнили наклонной назад, что упростило компоновку ходовой части. Крышу и дно сделали горизонтальными. Сверху на баке имелись горловины для заливки жидкого груза. На крышке предусматривались проушины для подъема прицепа краном.

Снизу к бортам бака присоединялись два отдельных изогнутых дышла для буксировки. При помощи шарнирных устройств они соединялись со штатными крюками на кормовой детали танка. Для быстрого отсоединения в боевой обстановке сцепка оснащалась пироболтами с электрическим управлением из боевого отделения. На сцепном устройстве закреплялся шланг для передачи топлива танку.


Танки армии Нидерландов на марше, 1963 г. Фото Национальный архив Нидерландов / nationaalarchief.nl

На кормовом листе прицепа устанавливалась оригинальная одноколесная ходовая часть. Использовалась подвеска на двойных рычагах с вертикальной пружиной, по типу распространенной на автомобилях. Вертикальный ход ограничивался отбойником на нижнем V-образном рычаге. На рычагах закреплялось самоориентирующееся колесо на наклонной вилке.

Конструкция буксирного устройства и ходовой части должны были обеспечивать достаточную гибкость и маневренность на ровных поверхностях. Прицеп жестко следовал за танком в горизонтальной плоскости, но мог перемещаться в вертикальной. В сочетании со свободно вращающимся колесом это давало требуемые характеристики подвижности и маневренности.


Монтаж прицепа, 1963 г. Фото Национальный архив Нидерландов / nationaalarchief.nl

Вместе с прицепом поставлялась простейшая двухосная тележка. При необходимости одноколесный прицеп можно было установить на нее и буксировать любым доступным автомобилем.

Одноколесная новинка


Производство прицепов Mono Wheel Trailer было налажено в конце сороковых годов, и тогда же первые изделия поступили в строевые части британской армии. В связи с массовым производством танков «Центурион» армия нуждалась в больших количествах дополнительного оснащения для них. Для обеспечения полноценной службы и максимальных оперативных возможностей требовалось получить по одному прицепу на каждый танк, а также создать некоторый запас. В тот же период велось создание новых образцов бронетехники на базе танка, которые тоже могли нуждаться в прицепе с топливом.


"Центурионы" на маневрах. На обочине - сброшенный прицеп. Фото Tank Museum Bovington

В ходе испытаний и эксплуатации было показано, что «Одноколесный прицеп» прекрасно справляется со своей основной задачей. Бак на 900 л горючего увеличивал запас хода до 250-260 км и сокращал зависимость боевой машины от бензовозов. Кроме того, топливо постоянно подавалось в баки танка, что избавляло от необходимости остановок для дозаправки.

Однако имелись и проблемы. Так, танк с прицепом был сложнее в вождении. Неудачно сдав назад, можно было повредить бак или даже наехать на него, раздавить и разлить топливо. При движении по пересеченной местности сцепное устройство и ходовая часть подвергались повышенным нагрузкам и нередко ломались. Известно о проблемах с системой экстренного сброса, которая могла отказать, и танку приходилось тащить за собой прицеп дальше.

Бензин из прицепа поступал в баки танка с постоянным напором, примерно соответствующим расходу двигателя. За счет этого во внутренних емкостях машины сохранялся одинаковый уровень топлива, а весь расход ложился на запас из прицепа. Однако в некоторых ситуациях баки переполнялись, и горючее проливалось внутрь моторно-трансмиссионного отделения, что приводило к риску пожара.


Оригинальный способ перевозки танка с прицепом. Фото Militaryimages.net

В целом прицеп Mono Wheel Trailer имел и плюсы, и минусы, из-за чего заслужил неоднозначную репутацию. Одни военнослужащие считали, что недостатки перевешивают преимущества, а другие были готовы мириться с неудобством, за счет которого упрощается эксплуатация танка.

Прицепы в армиях


Первые серийные одноколесные прицепы поступили в армию Великобритании. По разным данным и оценкам, было построено несколько тысяч таких изделий, что позволило улучшить возможности войск. Прицепы использовались с танками Centurion разных модификаций, вплоть до самых поздних. По мере модернизации, емкость баков танка росла, но старый неэкономичный двигатель сохранялся – машины и по-прежнему нуждались в дополнительном прицепе.

На рубеже сороковых и пятидесятых Великобритания начала поставки «Центурионов» за рубеж. Такие танки были приняты на вооружение почти двух десятков стран. Иностранные заказчики понимали проблемы покупаемого танка, и некоторые контракты предусматривали поставку изделий Mono Wheel Trailer в тех или иных количествах. К примеру, Нидерланды закупили почти 600 танков и такое же количество прицепов. В разных количествах танки и прицепы поставлялись в Швецию, Данию, Канаду и другие дружественные страны.


Опытная САУ FV3802 на базе танка Centurion с прицепом Mono Wheel. Фото Strangernn.livejournal.com

Все страны, имевшие на вооружении танки Centurion, продолжали эксплуатацию одноколесных прицепов в течение долгих лет. Отказываться от них начали только вместе со списанием совместимых бронемашин. Большая часть прицепов пошла на утилизацию, но некоторое количество сохранилось в музеях. Зачастую прицеп демонстрируется вместе с танком.

Конец концепции


В целом прицепы Mono Wheel Trailer показали себя неплохим, но не идеальным средством увеличения мобильности. С их помощью основные танки Великобритании и других армий смогли увеличить запас хода и, следовательно, общий боевой потенциал, но все же это было ограниченное и недостаточно эффективное решение.

По опыту эксплуатации прицепов было решено развивать танки. Первым шагом в этом направлении стала модернизация «Центуриона» с добавлением еще одного внутреннего бака и увеличением дальности хода. А затем появились совершенно новые бронемашины с приемлемым расходом топлива. Это сделало прицепы по типу Rotatrailer или Mono Wheel ненужными. В дальнейшем образцы такого рода не создавались. Работа новых танков без особых проблем обеспечивалась обычными бензовозами.
Автор:
12 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. ФЕОДОР
    ФЕОДОР 17 декабря 2020 18:17
    -6
    При размерах той МелкоБритании , проблема конечно Бооольшая !
    1. Avis
      Avis 17 декабря 2020 18:55
      0
      Цитата: ФЕОДОР
      При размерах той МелкоБритании , проблема конечно Бооольшая !

      А Вы реально думаете, что они после ВМВ были мирными и пушистыми?
  2. Avis
    Avis 17 декабря 2020 18:54
    +1
    типа V12

    Это что за тип такой?
    1. Корона без вируса
      Корона без вируса 17 декабря 2020 20:12
      0
      Цитата: Avis
      типа V12

      Это что за тип такой?

      V-образный 12 цилиндров - по 6 цилиндров на сторону, на картинке хорошо видно hi
      1. Avis
        Avis 18 декабря 2020 07:32
        +1
        Цитата: Корона без вируса
        Цитата: Avis
        типа V12

        Это что за тип такой?

        V-образный 12 цилиндров - по 6 цилиндров на сторону, на картинке хорошо видно hi

        Слово "сарказм" Вам знакомо? "V12" это не тип двигателя, а его компоновка. "Тип" это "Мерлин", например. или "ВК-105".
  3. Кузнец 55
    Кузнец 55 17 декабря 2020 18:55
    -1
    80-100 км для танка на одной заправке , это конечно ну очень мало .
    Дизель всегда экономичней бензинового двигателя , неужели Британия не способна была создать дизельный двигатель . Война то уже кончилась.
    1. mr.ZinGer
      mr.ZinGer 17 декабря 2020 20:43
      -1
      Логистика войск, это показать общей организациии армии, спасибо автору.
    2. MakStVik
      MakStVik 18 декабря 2020 18:10
      -1
      А с подрядчиком, выпускающего бензиновый двигатель, контракт ещё не закончился. Расторгать дороже. smile
  4. BORMAN82
    BORMAN82 17 декабря 2020 21:38
    +2
    В зависимости от состояния двигателя, трансмиссии и ходовой части, одна заправка на 550 л позволяла пройти по хорошей дороге не более 80-100 км.

    Автор излишне "нагнетает" - англичане пишут о 100 с мелочью милях (170км), а 80-100 по бездорожью. Для справки у "Пантеры" 200км, ИС2 200-220км шоссе и 100-140 км по бездорожью.
    1. Quadro
      Quadro 17 декабря 2020 23:45
      0
      Цитата: BORMAN82
      В зависимости от состояния двигателя, трансмиссии и ходовой части, одна заправка на 550 л позволяла пройти по хорошей дороге не более 80-100 км.

      Автор излишне "нагнетает" - англичане пишут о 100 с мелочью милях (170км), а 80-100 по бездорожью. Для справки у "Пантеры" 200км, ИС2 200-220км шоссе и 100-140 км по бездорожью.

      Когда центуриона стал массовым основой был т-54. Ну и да, ис-2 - тяжелый танк с очень мощным орудием и защитой от 88мм пушек и центурион с броней из бумаги (в базе 76мм во лбу и потом около 102 вроде), одна и та же штука ведь...
  5. MakStVik
    MakStVik 18 декабря 2020 18:07
    +2
    Чисто буржуйский подход - создать девайс с куцими возможностями и продавать к нему всякие поющки. smile
  6. Alien From
    Alien From 15 марта 2021 22:37
    +1
    Автору спасибо) удивил!)