Military Review

"Hunting for mines will be an order of magnitude more effective": the British Navy on the transition from conventional minesweepers to drones

15

Russian Navy while upgrading its mine countermeasures fleet made a bet on increasing the maneuverability of the minesweeper, increasing the strength of its hull and reducing the signature. As a result, project 12700 was created, the representatives of which should become the basis of mine defense in the near sea zone as it is put into operation.


A number of unmanned aerial vehicles are on board the Alexandrites to assist the crew in trawling. At the same time, the British Navy, intending to go its own way, decided to radically approach the issue of updating its minesweepers fleet, completely depriving the anti-mine ships of the team. In other words, conventional minesweepers will be replaced by sea drones.

London has allocated 246 million dollars to start the implementation of the corresponding program. These funds provide for the purchase of three sets of equipment from the French manufacturer DE&S, each of which consists of a portable control center, an autonomous surface vessel, a towed sonar and a mine clearance system.

These systems will protect vital shipping lanes, commercial shipping and our brave personnel from deadly devices [mines]
- said Defense Secretary Ben Wallace.

The new generation complex is designed to replace autonomous systems for traditional minesweepers with a crew on board, such as the Hunt and Sandown class ships. The principle of operation of the drone is as follows: an autonomous ship is controlled from the "mother" ship or from the base. He has a sonar in tow, which is looking for mines. After their detection, a remotely controlled underwater vehicle is used to disarm the explosive device.

First Sea Lord [Chief of the Navy] Tony Radakin believes that with such equipment "mine hunting will become an order of magnitude more effective." Its tests were completed in October 2020, the first deliveries are expected at the end of 2022.

15 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. rotmistr60
    rotmistr60 27 November 2020 07: 30
    -7
    Does Britain remember that it has a fleet? For a short time, there has already been an article with promises of the British about the renewal of their Navy.
    First Sea Lord [Navy chief] Tony Radakin thinks
    The main thing is the First Sea Lord, and the rest simply must follow. But seriously, many countries have recently begun to declare more actively about the rate on drones - air, sea, land.
    1. Egoza
      Egoza 27 November 2020 08: 02
      -6
      Quote: rotmistr60
      Does Britain remember that it has a fleet? For a short time, there has already been an article with promises of the British about the renewal of their Navy.

      Prepare to fight! And they are more accustomed to the sea. And how will they update what, as the first lord promises ... In Ukraine, there are also admirals, only with the update not very much, as well as with the fleet
      1. bessmertniy
        bessmertniy 27 November 2020 08: 21
        +1
        Not Britain is going to fight, but the Americans - with British forces. And minesweeper drones are logical. This is a complete savings on crews up to their probable funeral. repeat
        1. Machito
          Machito 28 November 2020 16: 20
          0
          Judging by the publications, we are lagging behind our sworn friends in the development of drones and AI. We need to catch up, and we can't even bungle our own operating system for computers and mobile phones. We only hear about the success of the sanctioned Kaspersky, and all the electronics that we use are knocking at the CIA and the Pentagon. Very similar to the successes of Rogozmos. That we have transferred kulibins or there is no order for drones?
      2. Dangerous
        Dangerous 27 November 2020 08: 25
        +10
        Explain to me why, why, in all the articles where it is written about updating the armaments of the army / navy of other states, there are always comments that they are preparing to fight? Do they (British / Americans / Germans / French / Japanese, etc.) still need to use WW2 equipment? Just wondering, what is the semantic load of the written, that they are "preparing to fight"? Not a discussion of the characteristics and possible application or means of countering these drones, but just another remark about "fighting"? Moreover, Ukraine was dragged here for some reason
        1. Avior
          Avior 27 November 2020 08: 50
          +5
          It is still unclear why Alexandrite was squeezed in here?
          The author wanted to show that the approaches to the creation of minesweepers are different?
          So the British have Khanty, similar in function to Alexandrite, have been in service for 40 years, since 1981.
          1. Snail N9
            Snail N9 27 November 2020 09: 00
            +5
            I saw how in Novorossiysk our minesweepers trawled mines (training) - as it was done during the Second World War, nothing has changed - they crawl through the minefield with trawls (with modern mines there they would have come right away), but the XXI century "on yard "....
            1. Lex_is
              Lex_is 27 November 2020 09: 55
              +1
              Well, what else can they trawl? Of the unmanned, we have only 2 pieces. Inspector Mk 2, and they do not fit on the deck.
          2. Lex_is
            Lex_is 27 November 2020 09: 41
            0
            the British Khanty, similar in function to Alexandrite, have been in service for 40 years, since 1981.


            They are replacing them with drones.
            And they are not going to, as it is written in the article, but they are already changing them with might and main. The RNMB Hazard has been in operation for 18 months and has been successfully deployed in the bay, the RNMB Harrier has now been delivered to the fleet, RNMB Hebe, which will be the command center for the first two, expected in spring.
        2. unaha
          unaha 27 November 2020 09: 23
          +6
          Because ours are brave scouts, and strangers are vile spies.
    2. Lex_is
      Lex_is 27 November 2020 10: 25
      +3
      Britain remembered that it had a fleet

      And she did not forget about it.
      The increase in the total displacement of the fleet from 2017 to 2019 in Britain was + 14.7%, in Russia -4.7%. The percentage of new ships in the fleet for 2019 is 31.3% for Britain and 20,20% for Russia. The average age of ships in Britain is 18.2, for Russia is 25.4.
  2. OgnennyiKotik
    OgnennyiKotik 27 November 2020 08: 39
    0
    Israel has had a similar ship for several years.
  3. APASUS
    APASUS 27 November 2020 09: 00
    +2
    Since automation and robotics comes to the fleet in minesweepers, then most likely mines will soon also begin to be released with robotization elements and it will not be so easy to destroy them.
    1. Lex_is
      Lex_is 27 November 2020 09: 45
      +2
      They are already trying, but it is very expensive and available to few countries. And many countries and even individual organizations can make simple mines and install them from civilian ships, creating big problems for the enemy's economy.
  4. Jacket in stock
    Jacket in stock 27 November 2020 09: 38
    +1
    More than a reasonable decision.
    With the modern level of automation and communication, the crew does not need to be constantly present on the ship. Especially on a ship doing very dangerous work.

«Охота на мины станет на порядок эффективнее»: британский флот о переходе с обычных тральщиков на дроны

15

Российский ВМФ при обновлении своего противоминного флота сделал ставку на повышении маневренности тральщика, увеличении прочности его корпуса и снижении сигнатуры. В итоге был создан проект 12700, представители которого должны стать по мере введения в строй основой противоминной обороны в ближней морской зоне.

На борту «Александритов» находится ряд беспилотных аппаратов, помогающих экипажу при тралении. При этом ВМС Британии, намереваясь пойти своим путем, решил подойти радикально к вопросу обновления своего флота тральщиков, полностью лишив противоминные корабли команды. Другими словами, обычные тральщики заменят морскими дронами.



Лондон выделил 246 млн долларов на начало реализации соответствующей программы. На эти средства предусматривается закупка у французского производителя DE&S трех комплектов оборудования, каждый из которых состоит из переносного центра управления, автономного надводного судна, буксируемого гидролокатора и системы обезвреживания мин.

Эти системы будут защищать жизненно важные морские пути, коммерческие перевозки и наш храбрый персонал от смертоносных устройств [мин]
- заявил министр обороны Бен Уоллес.

Комплекс нового поколения предназначен для замены автономными системами традиционных тральщиков с экипажем на борту, таких как корабли класса «Хант» и «Сандаун». Принцип действия дрона состоит в следующем: автономное судно управляется с "материнского" корабля или с базы. На буксире у него находится гидролокатор, который занимается поиском мин. После их обнаружения применяется дистанционно управляемый подводный аппарат, обезвреживающий взрывное устройство.

Первый морской лорд [глава ВМС] Тони Радакин считает, что с таким оборудованием «охота на мины станет на порядок эффективнее». Его испытания завершились в октябре 2020 года, первые поставки ожидаются в конце 2022 года.

    Наши новостные каналы

    Подписывайтесь и будьте в курсе свежих новостей и важнейших событиях дня.

    15 комментариев
    Информация
    Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
    1. -7
      27 ноября 2020 07:30
      Британия вспомнила, что у нее есть флот? В течение небольшого времени уже которая статья с обещаниями англичан по поводу обновления своих ВМС.
      Первый морской лорд [глава ВМС] Тони Радакин считает
      Главное есть Первый морской лорд, а остальное просто обязано приложиться. А если серьезно, то многие страны в последнее время стали более активно заявлять о ставке на дроны - воздушные, морские, сухопутные.
      1. -6
        27 ноября 2020 08:02
        Цитата: rotmistr60
        Британия вспомнила, что у нее есть флот? В течение небольшого времени уже которая статья с обещаниями англичан по поводу обновления своих ВМС.

        Воевать готовятся! И на море им привычнее. А уж как там чего обновят, как обещает первый лорд.....На Украине тоже адмиралы есть, вот только с обновлением не очень, как и с флотом
        1. +1
          27 ноября 2020 08:21
          Не Британия воевать собирается, а американцы - британскими силами. А тральщики-дроны - это логично. Это полная экономия на экипажах вплоть до вероятных их похорон. feel
          1. 0
            28 ноября 2020 16:20
            Судя по публикациям, мы отстаём от наших заклятых друзей по разработке Дронов и ИИ. Надо догонять, а мы даже свою операционку для компов и мобил сварганить не можем. Только и слышно про успехи санкционного Касперского, а вся электроника, который мы пользуемся, стучит в ЦРУ и Пентагон. Очень напоминает успехи Рогозмоса. Что у нас перевелись кулибины или заказа на дроны нет?
        2. +10
          27 ноября 2020 08:25
          Вот объясните мне почему, ну почему во всех статьях, где написано про обновление вооружений армии/флота других государств, всегда комментарии о том, что они готовятся воевать? Им (англичанам/американцам/немцам/французам/японцам и тд) что, надо до сих пор пользоваться техникой 2МВ? Просто интересно, в чем смысловая нагрузка написанного, что они "готовятся воевать"? Не обсуждение характеристик и возможного применения или средств противодействия этим беспилотникам, а просто очередная реплика про "воевать"? Да еще и украину сюда зачем-то приплели
          1. +5
            27 ноября 2020 08:50
            Ещё непонятно, зачем Александрита сюда втиснули?
            Автор хотел показать, что подходы к созданию тральщиков разные?
            Так у англичан Ханты, аналогичные по функциям Александриту, на вооружении стоят уже 40 лет, с 1981 года.
            1. +5
              27 ноября 2020 09:00
              Видел как в Новороссийске наши тральщики мины тралили (учебные)-как это делалось во времена ВОВ, так ничего и не изменилось-ползут по минному полю с тралами (с современными минами там им и крышка пришла бы сразу), а ведь XXI век "на дворе"....
              1. +1
                27 ноября 2020 09:55
                Ну а чем им ещё тралить? Из безэкипажного у нас только 2 шт. Inspeсtor Mk 2, и те на палубу не влезают.
            2. 0
              27 ноября 2020 09:41
              у англичан Ханты, аналогичные по функциям Александриту, на вооружении стоят уже 40 лет, с 1981 года.


              Они их и заменяют на дроны.
              Причем не собираются, как в статье пишется а уже вовсю меняют. RNMB Hazard уже 18 месяцев эксплуатируется и успешно прошел развертывание в заливе, RNMB Harrier сейчас сдан флоту, RNMB Hebe, который будет центром управления для первых двух ожидается весной.
          2. +6
            27 ноября 2020 09:23
            Потому, что свои - отважные разведчики, а чужие - подлые шпионы.
      2. +3
        27 ноября 2020 10:25
        Британия вспомнила, что у нее есть флот

        А она об этом и не забывала.
        Прирост суммарного водоизмещения флота с 2017 по 2019 год у Британии +14.7%, у России -4.7%. Процент новых кораблей во флоте на 2019 год у Британии 31.3%, у России 20,20%. Средний возраст кораблей у Британии 18.2, у России - 25.4.
    2. 0
      27 ноября 2020 08:39
      У Израиля подобный корабль уже несколько лет на вооружении стоит.
    3. +2
      27 ноября 2020 09:00
      Раз автоматизация и робототехника приходит на флот в минные тральщики ,то скорее всего мины скоро тоже начнут выпускать с элементами роботизации и будет не так просто их уничтожать .
      1. +2
        27 ноября 2020 09:45
        Уже пытаются, но это очень дорого и доступно немногим странам. А изготовить простые мины и установить их с гражданских судов, создав большие проблемы для экономики противника, могут очень многие страны и даже отдельные организации.
    4. +1
      27 ноября 2020 09:38
      Более чем разумное решение.
      При современном уровне автоматизации и связи экипажу не обязательно постоянно присутствовать на корабле. Тем более на корабле, выполняющем весьма опасную работу.

    «Правый сектор» (запрещена в России), «Украинская повстанческая армия» (УПА) (запрещена в России), ИГИЛ (запрещена в России), «Джабхат Фатх аш-Шам» бывшая «Джабхат ан-Нусра» (запрещена в России), «Талибан» (запрещена в России), «Аль-Каида» (запрещена в России), «Фонд борьбы с коррупцией» (запрещена в России), «Штабы Навального» (запрещена в России), Facebook (запрещена в России), Instagram (запрещена в России), Meta (запрещена в России), «Misanthropic Division» (запрещена в России), «Азов» (запрещена в России), «Братья-мусульмане» (запрещена в России), «Аум Синрике» (запрещена в России), АУЕ (запрещена в России), УНА-УНСО (запрещена в России), Меджлис крымскотатарского народа (запрещена в России), легион «Свобода России» (вооруженное формирование, признано в РФ террористическим и запрещено)

    «Некоммерческие организации, незарегистрированные общественные объединения или физические лица, выполняющие функции иностранного агента», а так же СМИ, выполняющие функции иностранного агента: «Медуза»; «Голос Америки»; «Реалии»; «Настоящее время»; «Радио свободы»; Пономарев Лев; Пономарев Илья; Савицкая; Маркелов; Камалягин; Апахончич; Макаревич; Дудь; Гордон; Жданов; Медведев; Федоров; Михаил Касьянов; «Сова»; «Альянс врачей»; «РКК» «Центр Левады»; «Мемориал»; «Голос»; «Человек и Закон»; «Дождь»; «Медиазона»; «Deutsche Welle»; СМК «Кавказский узел»; «Insider»; «Новая газета»