Military Review

Military crossings: from Darius and Caesar to the present day

23

Pointing a pontoon-bridge crossing for transporting military equipment on Lake Komsomolskoye.


As you know, the main purpose of temporary bridges, erected in wartime, is to ensure that the troops overcome rivers, lakes and other obstacles on the way of their movement, maneuver, and evacuation.

In ancient times


One of the first such bridges in the world was described by the great historian Herodotus in his famous “Stories". Herodotus told the world how a temporary bridge was built across the Bosphorus. The Greek engineer Mandrocles, a native of the island of Samos, built a floating pontoon bridge on behalf of the Persian king Darius the First (552–485 BC). It connected the two shores of the Bosphorus at the narrowest point, where the width of the Bosphorus did not exceed 660 meters. Having crossed this bridge, the troops of Darius the First invaded Europe, pursuing the retreating Scythians.

Throwing a bridge across the multi-fish Bosporus, I dedicated
Hera picture this in memory of the bridge, Mandrocles.
The Samians gained fame, but only an honorable crown for myself,
Having accomplished the royal will, I pleased Darius.

- the inscription in the temple of Hera on Samos dedicated to those events.

The successor of Darius the First, Xerxes, having started a war against the Greek poleis, decided to organize the most ambitious temporary crossing of the Dardanelles at that time. The Persians were going to dock their ships fleet in such a way that a large army could cross them from one side of the strait to the other. However, nature intervened: the storm disrupted the plans of the all-powerful Achaemenid. Why Xerxes ordered to carve the sea, and the troops were forced to cross the strait in ships in the usual way.

The next impressive chapter in the history of military bridge building was opened by Gaius Julius Caesar. In 55 BC. e. Caesar, who was fighting the Gallic War at that time, ordered the construction of a wooden bridge over the Rhine River. Historians consider the most likely place for its construction to be a site 11 km below Bonn, where the river reaches 6 meters deep and 400 meters wide. The 400-meter wooden bridge across the Rhine was erected by Caesar's legionnaires in just ten days.

In the Middle Ages, the art of building military bridges in Europe fell into decay: fortress ditches were considered a very reliable obstacle for enemy troops, what can we say about wide and stormy rivers? Nevertheless, in modern times, the Dutch and the British began to actively master the practice of bridge building, and in the Peter's era, advanced technologies came to the Russian Empire.

In Russia


In Russia, the art of bridge building has reached unprecedented heights. The advantages of domestic bridge building were most clearly manifested during the years of the Great Patriotic War, when Soviet troops had to build temporary bridges and crossings over rivers and even straits in the shortest possible time in order to facilitate the tasks of moving troops.

In addition, as a result of hostilities, thousands of old road and railway bridges were destroyed, which required the Soviet leadership and the armed forces to quickly restore them. In total, during the years of the Great Patriotic War, only on the railways of the USSR and Eastern Europe, 2 large and medium bridges were restored, as well as 756 small bridges, and 13 large and medium bridges were built.

In 1943, German troops built a cable car across the Kerch Strait, through which up to a thousand tons of cargo per day was passed. When the Red Army liberated the Kerch Peninsula, the road began to be used in the interests of the Soviet troops, and then in 1944 the Soviet military built a temporary railway bridge across the Kerch Strait, its total length was more than 4,4 km. It was one of the most outstanding examples of Soviet bridge construction during the Great Patriotic War. Unfortunately, the bridge was destroyed in an accident with an icebreaker crashing into its supports.

Despite the development of air transport, the armed forces of Russia and other countries of the world today devote much attention to the operational construction of bridges. As soon as civilian bridges are destroyed, the military comes to the rescue: it is enough to recall the recent construction by the military of a temporary bridge near the village of Novolitovsk in Primorye. It was built by the efforts of the servicemen of the bridge battalion of the logistics brigade of the Eastern Military District.
Author:
Photos used:
Twitter / Russian Ministry of Defense
23 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. SaLaR
    SaLaR 10 December 2020 18: 07
    +2
    Ferry crossing ... Left bank, right bank ........ drinks
    1. Machito
      Machito 10 December 2020 19: 22
      +4
      Rough ice, ice edge. To whom the memory, to whom the Glory, to whom the dark water
      .
  2. Proton
    Proton 10 December 2020 18: 09
    +9
    And it's all?
    I would like to read more serious articles.
    1. t-12
      t-12 10 December 2020 19: 50
      +3
      The Chinese are more serious. Here is the crossing over the Yangtze.


      However, ours also know how. Although the rivulet is too small.


      And here's the story. Americans, 1918.
      1. kamakama
        kamakama 10 December 2020 22: 25
        +3
        And what about the Chinese? MLZH-VT and NZHM-56 are for ZHDV ogogo. Nominally 400 meters wide, construction time is XNUMX hours
        1. t-12
          t-12 10 December 2020 22: 57
          +3
          There was a day, and the Chinese assembled the bridge in 26 minutes.
          1. kamakama
            kamakama 11 December 2020 10: 39
            +4
            26 minutes for what? for the docking of pontoons? - I believe it is quite possible. Or for the preparation of assembly sites, delivery and unloading, assembly of pontoons and their convergence on the axis of the bridge. According to the standards of the Railway Department of the Armed Forces of the Russian Federation, a day is counted from the moment the order was issued for the construction of the crossing. In half an hour, neither we, nor the Chinese, can even launch all the pontoons into the water.
            And this, according to our standards, it is also necessary to equip the coastline for year-round use, including a drop during floods, and this is piling and other fun and not fast work. The Chinese did not bother with this, in principle, a bridge for one day.
            https://youtu.be/q_Rl7wJVhEc - вот, отрывок из новостей про учения с МЛЖ-ВТ. Можно оценить различия. Кстати, визуально китайский мост - копия старого ПМП НЖМ-56, только без рельс
  3. polpot
    polpot 10 December 2020 18: 11
    +7
    It will not be enough, the topic is interesting.
  4. Blacksmith 55
    Blacksmith 55 10 December 2020 18: 22
    +4
    Memory, memory.
    Where was the bridge built under the river level during the Second World War?
    The Germans did not notice from the plane, at night the vehicles transported troops and weapons.
    The bridge deck was 20-30 cm below the water level.
    Refresh your memory who knows.
    1. Phil77
      Phil77 10 December 2020 18: 36
      +7
      Quote: Blacksmith 55
      Refresh your memory who knows.

      Good evening! Probably you mean this event?
      Not everything fits, but on my own I would add that at the end we are talking about the construction of false bridges as well.
      hi
      1. Blacksmith 55
        Blacksmith 55 10 December 2020 18: 47
        +4
        Thank you, that's what I wanted to say. Lately my memory is failing, I am probably getting old. ))))))
        The author could have given more material.
        One more note. The Romans built a bridge across the Rhine in 10 days, probably they already had experience in construction, because a bridge cannot be built from the bay - the rest of the bridge.
        And the topic is interesting, thank you.
        1. Pamir
          Pamir 10 December 2020 23: 06
          +2
          In Voronezh, across the Voronezh River, there is now a reservoir since 1972, two and a half kilometers wide. From the low left eastern bank to the high right western one, captured by the Wehrmacht. Now it is practically the center of the city, on it is the WWII memorial "Chizhevsky bridgehead". The battle for Voronezh remained in shadow of "Stalingrad", these battles were at the same time. The city was swept away by 90 percent. Near Voronezh, Hungary buried its second army.
      2. Catfish
        Catfish 10 December 2020 21: 25
        +2
        Hi, Seryozha. hi The Germans also crossed the rivers in every way.


    2. Aviator_
      Aviator_ 10 December 2020 21: 00
      +2
      Such bridges in the Second World War were built repeatedly, and by the Germans too. I read about the German bridge in the memoirs of an attack pilot.
    3. Pamir
      Pamir 10 December 2020 22: 58
      +2
      In Voronezh, across the Voronezh River, there is now a reservoir, two kilometers wide.
  5. tasha
    tasha 10 December 2020 19: 28
    +7
    It is sad that the whole history of military crossings from Darius and Caesar to the present day was kept in nine paragraphs ...
  6. aleks neym_2
    aleks neym_2 10 December 2020 19: 29
    +3
    If I am not mistaken, then in 1944 in Belarus they also flooded gats in swamps for camouflage purposes.
  7. Mik13
    Mik13 10 December 2020 22: 11
    +2
    In the Middle Ages, the art of building military bridges in Europe fell into decay: fortress ditches were considered a very reliable obstacle for enemy troops, what can we say about wide and stormy rivers?

    Well, actually, the moat is a difficult obstacle not in itself, but in conjunction with the inhabitants of the fortress, who from the wall very actively object to the appearance of architectural excesses.

    And the issue of the monstrous losses of the besiegers during the engineering preparation of the assault could be radically resolved only with the appearance of artillery, when the design of the defensive structures changed.
  8. kamakama
    kamakama 10 December 2020 22: 34
    +1
    http://saper.isnet.ru/index-texnica.html
    http://army.armor.kiev.ua/engenear/index.shtml
    http://army.armor.kiev.ua/engenear/nem-pontony.shtml
    http://army.armor.kiev.ua/engenear/nem-pontony-b.shtml
    Even here and then it is much clearer and clearer
  9. Amatar
    Amatar 11 December 2020 09: 55
    0
    It's cool that modern pontooners can direct such crossings that modern systems are in service, that military personnel are trained to use them.
    But then a stupid question arose in my head, can these trained pontoons build a ferry from "improvised materials"? Like their grandfathers - with an ax, a saw, a shovel?
    1. taseka
      taseka 13 December 2020 10: 29
      0
      Pontoons cannot, not their profile, but IW bridge-building subdivisions can, using PZMK (bridge construction point) with operation of LRV-2 (military sawmill frame, electric tool with ESD-16I (diesel power station, engineering) and l / s VIK (platoon for the procurement of engineering structures) for RSM (bridge construction area) using KMS-E (bridge construction kit, electrified) with a NDM (low-water wooden bridge) construction rate up to 18 r.m. per hour and a carrying capacity of up to 90 tons.
  10. KVU-NSVD
    KVU-NSVD 11 December 2020 09: 59
    0
    across the Bosphorus. The Greek engineer Mandrocles, a native of the island of Samos, on behalf of the Persian king Darius the First (552–485 BC) built a floating pontoon bridge. It connected the two shores of the Bosphorus at the narrowest point, where the width of the Bosphorus did not exceed 660 meters.
    That's all panhellenic patriotism. About the Greek hoplites - mercenaries and do not want to remember. They are probably proud of the Macedonian ones - of course, they fulfilled the Hellenes' dream of revenge. , but the Spartan Leonidas probably watered the Greek shepherds with ancient Greek obscenities, who, bypassing Fermompil, led Persian archers along goat paths ..
  11. taseka
    taseka 13 December 2020 10: 08
    0
    Caesar's bridge over the Rhine

Военное обозрение

Военные переправы: от Дария и Цезаря до наших дней

23

Наведение понтонно-мостовой переправы для транспортировки военной техники на озере Комсомольском.


Как известно, главная цель временных мостов, возводимых в военное время, заключается в обеспечении преодоления рек, озер и иных препятствий войсками на пути их движения, маневра, эвакуации.

В древности


Один из первых в мире подобных мостов был описан еще великим историком Геродотом в его знаменитой «Истории». Геродот рассказал миру, как был построен временный мост через пролив Босфор. Греческий инженер Мандрокл, выходец с острова Самос, по поручению персидского царя Дария Первого (552–485 гг. до н. э.) построил плавучий понтонный мост. Он соединил два берега пролива Босфор в самом узком месте, где ширина Босфора не превышала 660 метров. Пройдя через этот мост, войска Дария Первого вторглись в Европу, преследуя отступающих скифов.

Чрез многорыбный Боспор перекинув мост, посвятил я
Гере картину сию в память о мосте, Мандрокл.
Славу самосцам стяжал, себе же венец лишь почетный,
Царскую волю свершив, Дарию я угодил.

- посвятил Мандрокл тем событиям надпись в храме Геры на Самосе.

Преемник Дария Первого Ксеркс, начав войну против греческих полисов, решил организовать самую грандиозную на тот период временную переправу через пролив Дарданеллы. Персы собирались состыковать корабли своего флота таким образом, что многочисленная армия могла бы перейти по ним с одного берега пролива на другой. Однако вмешалась природа: шторм нарушил планы всесильного Ахеменида. Почему Ксеркс и приказал высечь море, а войска были вынуждены переправляться через пролив на кораблях обычным способом.

Следующую впечатляющую страницу в истории военного мостостроения открыл Гай Юлий Цезарь. В 55 г. до н. э. Цезарь, который вёл в то время Галльскую войну, распорядился построить деревянный мост через реку Рейн. Историки считают наиболее вероятным местом его строительства участок на 11 км ниже Бонна, где глубина реки достигает 6 метров, а ширина – 400 метров. 400-метровый деревянный мост через Рейн легионеры Цезаря воздвигли всего за десять дней.

В Средние века искусство строительства военных мостов в Европе пришло в упадок: крепостные рвы считались очень надежным препятствием для войск неприятеля, что уж говорить о широких и бурных реках? Тем не менее, в Новое время практику мостостроения стали активно осваивать голландцы и англичане, а в Петровскую эпоху передовые технологии пришли и в Российскую империю.

В России


В России искусство мостостроения достигло небывалых высот. Наиболее отчетливо преимущества отечественного мостостроения проявились в годы Великой Отечественной войны, когда советским войскам приходилось в кратчайшие сроки сооружать временные мосты и переправы через реки и даже проливы для того, чтобы облегчить задачи по передвижению войск.

К тому же, в результате боевых действий оказались разрушенными тысячи старых автомобильных и железнодорожных мостов, что потребовало от советского руководства и вооруженных сил оперативного их восстановления. Всего за годы Великой Отечественной войны только на железных дорогах СССР и Восточной Европы было восстановлено 2 756 больших и средних мостов, а также 13 022 малых моста, и ещё построено 155 больших и средних мостов.

В 1943 году немецкие войска построили канатную дорогу через Керченский пролив, через которую пропускалось до тысячи тонн грузов в сутки. Когда Красная армия освободила Керченский полуостров, дорога стала использоваться в интересах советских войск, а затем в 1944 году советскими военными был построен временный железнодорожный мост через Керченский пролив, общая длина его составляла более 4,4 км. Это был один из наиболее выдающихся примеров советского мостостроения в годы Великой Отечественной войны. К сожалению, мост был разрушен в результате аварии с ледоколом, врезавшимся в его опоры.

Несмотря на развитие воздушного транспорта, вооруженные силы России и других стран мира и в наши дни уделяют много внимания оперативному строительству мостов. Как только разрушаются гражданские мосты, на помощь приходят военные: достаточно вспомнить недавнее возведение военными временного моста у села Новолитовск в Приморье. Он был построен усилиями военнослужащих мостового батальона бригады материально-технического обеспечения Восточного военного округа.
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
Твиттер / Министерство обороны России
23 комментария
Объявление

Подписывайтесь на наш Телеграм-канал, регулярно дополнительные сведения о спецоперации на Украине, большое количество информации, видеоролики, то что не попадает на сайт: https://t.me/topwar_official

Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. SaLaR
    SaLaR 10 декабря 2020 18:07
    +2
    Переправа переправа..Берег левый, берег правый........ drinks
    1. Бородач
      Бородач 10 декабря 2020 19:22
      +4
      Лёд шершавый, кромка льда. Кому память, кому Слава, кому темная вода
      ....
  2. Протон
    Протон 10 декабря 2020 18:09
    +9
    И это ВСЁ?
    Хотелось бы более серьёзные статьи читать.
    1. t-12
      t-12 10 декабря 2020 19:50
      +3
      Более серьёзно всё у китайцев. Вот переправа через Янцзы.


      Впрочем, наши тоже умеют. Хотя речушка маловата.


      А вот история. Американцы, 1918 год.
      1. kamakama
        kamakama 10 декабря 2020 22:25
        +3
        А что китайцы? МЛЖ-ВТ и НЖМ-56 - это для ЖДВ огого. Номинально 400 метров шириной, срок возведения сутки
        1. t-12
          t-12 10 декабря 2020 22:57
          +3
          Там сутки, а китайцы собрали мост за 26 минут.
          1. kamakama
            kamakama 11 декабря 2020 10:39
            +4
            26 минут на что? на стыковку понтонов? - верю, вполне можно. Или на подготовку сборочных площадок, доставку и разгрузку, сборку понтонов и их сведение на оси моста. По нормативам ЖДВ ВС РФ сутки отсчитываются от момента отдачи приказа на сооружение переправы. За полчаса ни мы, ни китайцы даже все понтоны на воду спустить не сможем.
            И это, по нашим нормативам так же необходимо обустраивание береговой линии на круглогодичное использование, включая перепад во время паводков, а это сваебойные и иные веселые и не быстрые работы. Китайцы таким не заморачивались в принципе, мост на один день.
            https://youtu.be/q_Rl7wJVhEc - вот, отрывок из новостей про учения с МЛЖ-ВТ. Можно оценить различия. Кстати, визуально китайский мост - копия старого ПМП НЖМ-56, только без рельс
  3. polpot
    polpot 10 декабря 2020 18:11
    +7
    Маловато будет, тема интересная .
  4. Кузнец 55
    Кузнец 55 10 декабря 2020 18:22
    +4
    Память , память .
    Где это был построен мост под уровнем реки во время ВОВ ?
    С самолета немцы не замечали , ночами машины перевозили войска и вооружение .
    Настил моста был на 20-30 см. ниже уровня воды .
    Освежите память кто знает .
    1. Фил77
      Фил77 10 декабря 2020 18:36
      +7
      Цитата: Кузнец 55
      Освежите память кто знает .

      Добрый вечер!Вероятно Вы это событие имеете в виду?
      Не всё уместилось,но от себя добавлю,что в конце речь идёт о строительстве ещё и ложных мостов.
      hi
      1. Кузнец 55
        Кузнец 55 10 декабря 2020 18:47
        +4
        Спасибо , об этом и хотел сказать . Последнее время память подводит , старею наверное . ))))))
        Материал автор мог и обширнее дать .
        Еще одно замечание . Римляне построили мост через Рейн за 10 дней , наверное у них уже был опыт строительства , ведь с бухты - барахты покой мост не построить .
        А тема интересна , спасибо .
        1. Pamir
          Pamir 10 декабря 2020 23:06
          +2
          В Воронеже,через речку Воронеж,сейчас водохранилище с 1972года,шириной два с половиной километра.С низкого левого восточного берега на высокий правый западный,захваченный вермахтом.Сейчас практически центр города,на нем мемориал ВОВ "Чижевский плацдарм".Битва за Воронеж осталась в тени "Сталинграда",эти битвы были в одно время.Город был сметен на 90 процентов.Под Воронежем,Венгрия похоронила свою вторую армию.
      2. Морской Кот
        Морской Кот 10 декабря 2020 21:25
        +2
        Привет, Серёжа. hi Немцы тоже по-всякому форсировали реки.


    2. Авиатор_
      Авиатор_ 10 декабря 2020 21:00
      +2
      Такие мосты в ВОВ строились неоднократно, и немцами тоже. Про немецкий мост читал в мемуарах лётчика - штурмовика.
    3. Pamir
      Pamir 10 декабря 2020 22:58
      +2
      В Воронеже,через речку Воронеж,сейчас водохранилище,шириной два километра.
  5. тасха
    тасха 10 декабря 2020 19:28
    +7
    Печально, что вся история военных переправ от Дария и Цезаря до наших дней уложилась в девять абзацев....
  6. aleks neym_2
    aleks neym_2 10 декабря 2020 19:29
    +3
    Если я не ошибаюсь, то в 1944 в Беларуссии также притапливали гати на болотах в целях маскировки.
  7. Mik13
    Mik13 10 декабря 2020 22:11
    +2
    В Средние века искусство строительства военных мостов в Европе пришло в упадок: крепостные рвы считались очень надежным препятствием для войск неприятеля, что уж говорить о широких и бурных реках?

    Ну вообще-то крепостной ров является тяжелым препятствием не сам по себе, а в совокупности с обитателями крепости, которые со стены весьма активно возражают против появления архитектурных излишеств.

    И радикально решить вопрос чудовищных потерь осаждающих при инженерной подготовке штурма смогли только с появлением артиллерии, когда конструкция оборонительных сооружений изменилась.
  8. kamakama
    kamakama 10 декабря 2020 22:34
    +1
    http://saper.isnet.ru/index-texnica.html
    http://army.armor.kiev.ua/engenear/index.shtml
    http://army.armor.kiev.ua/engenear/nem-pontony.shtml
    http://army.armor.kiev.ua/engenear/nem-pontony-b.shtml
    Даже здесь и то куда как толковей и понятней
  9. Аматар
    Аматар 11 декабря 2020 09:55
    0
    Вот классно, что современные понтонеры могут наводить такие переправы, что на вооружении стоят современные системы, что военнослужащие обучены их использовать.
    Но вот у меня в голове возник глупый вопрос, а могут ли эти обученные понтонеры соорудить переправу из "подручных материалов"? Как их деды - топором, пилой, лопатой?
    1. taseka
      taseka 13 декабря 2020 10:29
      0
      Понтонёры не могут, не их профиль, а вот мостостроительные подразделения ИВ могут, с использованием ПЗМК ( пункта заготовки мостовых конструкций) с эксплуатацией ЛРВ-2 ( лесопильной рамой войсковой, эл.инструмента с ЭСД-16И ( эл.станции дизельной, инженерной) и л\с ВИК (взвод заготовки инженерных конструкций) для РСМ ( района строительства моста) с использованием КМС-Э ( комплекта мостостроительных средств, электрифицированный) с темпом строительства НДМ ( низководного деревянного моста) до 18п.м. в час и грузоподъёмностью до 90т.
  10. КВУ-НСвД
    КВУ-НСвД 11 декабря 2020 09:59
    0
    через пролив Босфор. Греческий инженер Мандрокл, выходец с острова Самос, по поручению персидского царя Дария Первого (552–485 гг. до н. э.) построил плавучий понтонный мост. Он соединил два берега пролива Босфор в самом узком месте, где ширина Босфора не превышала 660 метров.
    Вот и весь панэллинский патриотизм . Про греческих гоплитов - наёмников и вспоминать не хочется . За то Македонским наверное гордятся - как же , мечту эллинов о мести осуществил . , зато спартанец Леонид вероятно поливал древнегреческим матом пастухов-греков , которые в обход Фермомпил персидских лучников по козьим тропам водили ..
  11. taseka
    taseka 13 декабря 2020 10:08
    0
    Мост Цезаря через р.Рейн