In the United States are developing a laser plasma torch

21
US military scientists are developing an unusual look. weaponswhich uses LIPC (laser-induced plasma channel). The essence of this invention is to use a laser beam capable of "tearing" electrons from air molecules and create a plasma conductive cord that can destroy manpower and technology, reports cnews.ru.

According to George Fisher, a leading scientist at the LIPC project, work is underway to create a very short laser pulse with enormous power. For a period equal to two to three trillionths of a second, it is quite possible to fit the power that exceeds the needs of a large city.


Such nsEP (nanosecond electrical impulse) can become a powerful weapon with which the Pentagon plans to send up to fifty billion watts of electrical / optical power to the target. Very powerful nsEP can instantly destroy any living thing. Whether it can affect fortifications and armored vehicles remains to be studied, since much will depend on the duration and power of the impulse.

Already, when creating the LIPC, several serious technological barriers arose before military scientists. Thus, the plasma channel, which must be kept stable for at least a short time and directed at the target, will self-destruct. In addition to this, there is a danger that when the formation of the channel and the focusing of the beam on air begin, the destruction of both the optical system of the laser and the shooters themselves will occur. It is necessary to reduce the load on the optical systems and maintain it at a low level until the formation of the plasma channel occurs, and the energy is not directed towards the target.

There are also other problems associated with high-voltage laser synchronization, as well as with the creation of capacious power sources and the weapon itself. There are chances that some of these problems can be solved with the help of the most powerful pulsed NIF laser, which recently set a record for the power of a laser pulse.

It is obvious that the plasma laser cannon will be large, so it can fit only on board ships and trucks. However, the indisputable advantages that it will demonstrate on the battlefield, will fully pay for the enormous energy consumption and dimensions.
    Our news channels

    Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

    21 comment
    Information
    Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
    1. snek
      +5
      August 16 2012
      For a period equal to two to three trillion fractions of a second, it is quite possible to absorb energy that exceeds the needs of a big city.

      We need to work out the enta energy for a start, and here we run into the problem of all energy weapons - energy generation and storage devices that are large, expensive and require a lot of attention.
      The picture from the QiC smiled, although I was there more for the GCDs - one vision one purpose
      1. +4
        August 16 2012
        As long as there is oil, new batteries will not appear.
    2. +4
      August 16 2012
      snekAnd Kalash, as always, will be the best and most reliable.
    3. tarez
      +3
      August 16 2012
      "Obviously, the plasma-laser cannon will be large, so it will only fit on board ships and trucks. However, the undeniable advantages that it will demonstrate on the battlefield will fully pay off both its enormous power consumption and size."

      Everything will run into energy! until small-sized sources appear, such weapons will be singular and fantastic.
      1. +3
        August 16 2012
        Fig. 19. United Defense Power Supply, used

        for laboratory and field tests of the ETS / CARTm gun, includes a movable 11 - MJ unit.
        This is the power supply for the Gaussian gun, and what then should be the B / P for the plasmogan, with its declared power .... belay lol
    4. +6
      August 16 2012
      Star Wars ... Episode VII ... "Beat the Jidai, Save the Galaxy" wassat
    5. minister
      +4
      August 16 2012
      the Pentagon needs all this to launder money, they don’t need more
    6. Bismark
      +3
      August 16 2012
      As far as I know from the electives of physics, to cut a sheet of metal with a laser, you need a very large amount of electricity, that is, you need a small power station. I am generally silent for plasma. In short, they sat down something and it turns out that one gun will be the size of a destroyer.
      1. Protey
        +1
        August 17 2012
        It does not use laser energy, the beam creates a conductive channel through which the discharge occurs. In general, such an idea came to me in 1969,
        by golly!
        1. zelenchenkov.petr1
          0
          2 September 2012
          And not only to you !!!!
    7. +2
      August 16 2012
      first they would modify the rail weapon, and then take up the plasma. "You will chase two hares, you won't catch a single one!" wink
    8. Lech e-mine
      +1
      August 16 2012
      DREAMS OF WORLD LIVING are haunted by the US State Department. Day and night the poor are tormented to come up with something like this to gain an advantage over the RUSSIANS and CHINESE. And they don’t remember about the history of all colonialists like NAPALEON and HITLER. It looks like we will have to chase our steppes and forests again these shit.
    9. Russian
      +2
      August 16 2012
      It reminds me of a joke about a watch that shows all-all-all - only a suitcase of batteries comes with it. If the gun is the size of a destroyer, then an aircraft carrier with batteries should still be floating behind it.
    10. oviplokos
      0
      August 16 2012
      The USA, as usual, wants to conquer the planet.
      1. Protey
        0
        August 17 2012
        And we, as usual, fight for peace! That's how we live.
    11. dobry-ork
      0
      August 16 2012
      Gentlemen! Isn't it time to think about it? Now for such a weapon you need a "suitcase with batteries". But everything is changing. What if tomorrow those pin_os will invent a pocket nuclear power plant? What do you say to this? Yes, at the current level of energy development such a gun is complete bullshit, but what will happen tomorrow or the day after tomorrow? How about getting ahead of those dumb ones?
      1. +1
        August 16 2012
        We already have this, and the current one - the mobile laser complex MTLK-20 or MTLK-50 developed by TRINITY ... So who is catching up with anyone is still unknown .... Yes
    12. +7
      August 16 2012
      As far as I remember from a debate on a relevant topic back in the distant 80s, the main problem of all this exotic is not the pumping of the necessary energy, but precisely the difficulty of transferring it from point A to point B. Starting with high-power lasers. Here is a vigorous bo ... sorry, here is a coherent beam of high energy, and on its way suddenly appears some kind of, sorry for the expression, crap. That is, for example, a speck of dust. Or even simpler crap, like temperature fluctuations in the air. What's happening? Right. The grain of dust evaporates, and the fluctuation region is ionized. And what else is going on? Correct too. Change in optical conductivity at a given point in space. And then a completely ridiculous process begins. Part of the "summer" beam begins to warm up this low-transparency area and ... makes it (the area) even less transparent and more extensive. This results in a "breakdown" of the medium, which ultimately absorbs the energy of the entire beam. "Malan" (in the sense of "morality") - a shot of a smoke or aerosol grenade from any modern weapon is enough for the Supergun to heat the air white at a safe distance.
      The creation of a controlled "breakdown" harness is generally das ist fantastic. Unless somewhere in the stratosphere. But this is already an area of ​​missile defense ... or UFOs.
      1. 0
        August 17 2012
        kulpin, great layout !!!! +
        That's right, they are trying to come up with weapons, and we will shower them with the theory !!! wink
        It all looks like a PR show and drank $
    13. +1
      August 16 2012
      There is a branch of the Basov Institute in Samara ... I have repeatedly said that science fiction is scientific and not very ... Scientific when something is missing ... and not very when it is impossible due to physical laws ... few people know but as the temperature rises, air conductivity decreases ... and so on ...
    14. Oleg Rosskiyy
      0
      August 18 2012
      One word - "Empire of Good". Why would the Pentagon not get into a sick head, just to destroy all living things more gracefully.
    15. Bars90
      0
      3 September 2012
      Do they have their own Star Inestris there ?! Soon, iron people will fly with lightsabers ... and throw used diapers
    16. 0
      August 1 2015
      Americans all want to play star wars. Let's see.

    "Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar People (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned)

    “Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

В США ведутся разработки лазерного плазмогана

В США ведутся разработки лазерного плазмоганаАмериканские военные ученые разрабатывают необычный вид оружия, который использует LIPC (лазерно-индуцированный плазменный канал). Суть данного изобретения заключается в применении лазерного луча, способного «срывать» электроны с молекул воздуха и создавать плазменный токопроводящий шнур, который может уничтожить живую силу и технику, сообщает cnews.ru.

По словам Джорджа Фишера, являющегося ведущим ученым проекта LIPC, идут работы над созданием очень короткого лазерного импульса, обладающего огромной мощностью. За период, равный двум-трем триллионным долям секунды, вполне возможно уместить мощность, которая превышает потребности большого города.


Такой nsEP (наносекундный электрический импульс) может стать мощнейшим оружием, с помощью которого Пентагон планирует направлять в цель до пятидесяти миллиардов ватт электрической/оптической мощности. Очень мощный nsEP сможет мгновенно уничтожить любое живое существо. Сможет ли он воздействовать на укрепления и бронетехнику, еще предстоит изучить, поскольку здесь многое будет зависеть от продолжительности и мощности импульса.


Уже сейчас, при создании LIPC, перед военными учеными возникло несколько серьезных барьеров технологического характера. Так, плазменный канал, который нужно удерживать стабильным в течение хотя бы короткого времени и направлять на цель, саморазрушается. Вдобавок к этому, есть опасность того, что когда начнется формирование канала и фокусирование луча на воздухе, произойдет уничтожение энергией как оптической системы лазера, так и самих стреляющих. Необходимо снижение нагрузки на оптические системы и поддержание ее на низком уровне до того момента, пока не произойдет образование плазменного канала, и энергия не направится к цели.

Существуют также и другие проблемы, связанные с синхронизацией лазера с высоким напряжением, а также с созданием емких источников питания и самого оружия. Есть вероятность того, что некоторые из этих проблем можно будет решить с помощью мощнейшего импульсного лазера NIF, поставившего недавно рекорд мощности лазерного импульса.

Очевидно, что плазмолазерная пушка будет больших размеров, поэтому сможет поместиться только на борту кораблей и грузовиках. Однако те неоспоримые преимущества, которые она продемонстрирует на поле боя, полностью окупят и огромное энергопотребление, и габариты.


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 21
  1. snek 16 августа 2012 08:03
    За период, равный двум-трем триллионным долям секунды, вполне возможно уместить энергию, которая превышает потребности большого города.

    Енту энергию еще для начала выробатать надо и тут мы упираемся в проблему всего энергетического оружия - устройства выработки и хранения энергии, которые большие, дорогие и требуют к себе много внимания.
    Картинка из ЦиЦ улыбнула, хотя я там больше за НОДов был - one vision one purpose
    snek
    1. Joker 16 августа 2012 10:27
      Пока есть нефть, новые аккумуляторы на свет не появятся.
  2. ИНТЕР 16 августа 2012 08:50
    snek,А калаш как всегда пи этом будет лучшим и безотказным.
  3. tarez 16 августа 2012 09:26
    "Очевидно, что плазмолазерная пушка будет больших размеров, поэтому сможет поместиться только на борту кораблей и грузовиках. Однако те неоспоримые преимущества, которые она продемонстрирует на поле боя, полностью окупят и огромное энергопотребление, и габариты."

    Все упрется в энергетику! пока не появятся малогабаритные источники такое вооружение будет единично и фантастично.
    tarez
    1. Raven1972 16 августа 2012 19:18
      Рис.19. Импульсный блок питания фирмы “Юнайтед дефенс”, используемый

      для лабораторных и полигонных испытаний пушки ЕТС/САРтм , включает подвижный 11 - МДж блок .
      Это вот для пушки Гаусса блок питания , а какой же тогда должен быть Б/П для плазмогана , при его заявленной мощности .... belay lol
  4. SrgSoap 16 августа 2012 10:45
    Звёздные войны... Эпизод VII... "Бей джидаев, спасай галактику" wassat
  5. ministr 16 августа 2012 13:21
    все это нужно пентагону для отмывания денег,большего им и не надо
    ministr
  6. Bismark 16 августа 2012 13:23
    На сколько мне известно с факультативов физики то что бы разрезать лист метала лазером нужно очень большое количество электроэнергии то есть нужна маленькая электростанция. За плазму вообще молчу. Короче сели что то и получиться то одна пушка будет размером с эсминец.
    Bismark
    1. Protey 17 августа 2012 07:01
      Здесь используется не энергия лазера, луч создает проводящий канал через который происходит разряд. А вообще , такая идея пришла мне еще в 1969 году,
      ей богу !
      Protey
      1. zelenchenkov.petr1 2 сентября 2012 04:07
        И не только Вам!!!!
        zelenchenkov.petr1
  7. fayver3000 16 августа 2012 17:36
    сначала доработали бы рельсовое оружие, а потом брались за плазму. "за двумя зайцами погонишься , ни одного не поймаешь!" wink
  8. Леха е-мое 16 августа 2012 17:43
    МЕЧТЫ о МИРОВОМ ГОСПОДСТВЕ не дают покоя ГОСДЕПУ США .Днем и ночью бедняги мучаются чтобы еще такое придумать чтобы получить преимущество перед РУССКИМИ и КИТАЙЦАМИ.А про историю всех колонизаторов типа НАПАЛЕОНА и ГИТЛЕРА предпочитают не вспоминать.Похоже НАМ придется снова гонять по степям и лесам наших этих ДЕРЬМОКРАТИЗАТОРОВ.
    Леха е-мое
  9. Rossyanin 16 августа 2012 18:46
    Мне это напоминает анекдот про часы которые показывают все-все-все - только к ним еще идет в комплекте чемодан батареек. Если пушка будет размером с эсминец, то за ней еще должен плавать авианосец с батарейками.
    Rossyanin
  10. oviplokos 16 августа 2012 19:02
    США как обычно, хотят завоевать планету.
    oviplokos
    1. Protey 17 августа 2012 07:02
      А мы как обычно боремся за мир! Так и живем.
      Protey
  11. dobry-ork 16 августа 2012 19:07
    Господа! А не пора ли призадуматься? Это сейчас для подобного оружия нужен "чемодан с батарейками". Но все ведь меняется. А вдруг завтра те пин_осы изобретут карманную АЭС? Что вы скажете на это? Да, на нынешнем уровне развития энергетики подобная пушка полное фуфло, но что будет завтра-послезавтра? А как насчёт опередить этих "ну тупых"?
    dobry-ork
    1. Raven1972 16 августа 2012 19:24
      У нас уже есть такое , причём действующее - мобильный лазерный комплекс МТЛК -20 или МТЛК-50 разработки ТРИНИТИ ... Так что кто кого догоняет - ещё неизвестно .... yes
  12. kulpin 16 августа 2012 19:26
    Сколько помню из дебатов по соответствующей теме еще в далеких 80-х, основная проблема всей этой экзотики не в накачке необходимой энергии, а как раз в сложности переноса ее из точки А в точку Б. Начиная с высокомощных лазеров. Вот летит ядреная бо... пардон, вот летит когерентный пучок высокой энергии, а на его пути вдруг появлятся какая-то, извините за выражение, хрень. То есть, к примеру, пылинка. Или даже еще более простая хрень, вроде температурной флуктуации воздуха. Что происходит? Правильно. Пылинка испаряется, а флуктуационная область ионизируется. И при этом что еще происходит? Тоже правильно. Изменение оптической проводимости в данной точке пространства. А далее затевается вовсе смешной процесс. Часть "летомого" пучка начинает разогревать данную малопрозрачную область и... делает ее (область) еще менее прозрачной и более обширной. Получается "пробой" среды, который в итоге и поглощае энергию всего пучка. "Малань" (в смысле "мораль") - выстрела дымовой или аэрозольной гранаты с любого современного боевого средства достаточно для того чтобы Суперпушка калила воздух добела на безопасном расстоянии.
    Создание контролируемого "пробойного" жгута вообще das ist fantastic. Разве что где-то в стратосфере. Но это уже область ПРО... или НЛО.
    1. Veter 17 августа 2012 06:53
      kulpin,отличная выкладка!!!! +
      Правильно,они пытаются оружие придумать, а мы их теорией закидаем!!! wink
      Все это смахивает на PR-шоу и попил $
  13. вард 16 августа 2012 20:38
    В Самаре есть филиал Басовского института... я неоднократно говорил что фантастика бывает научной и не очень... Научная то когда ну чего то не хватает... и не очень когда нельзя из за физических законов... мало кто знает но с повышением температуры проводимость воздуха падает... и так далее...
  14. Oleg Rosskiyy 18 августа 2012 21:22
    Одно слово - "Империя Добра".Чего только в больную голову Пентагона не придёт, лишь бы изящнее уничтожать всё живое.
    Oleg Rosskiyy
  15. Bars90 3 сентября 2012 22:36
    У них там что свой Стар индестрис?! Скоро и железные люди летать будут со световыми мечами...и бросаться использованными подгузниками
    Bars90
  16. Gonoriy 1 августа 2015 14:04
    Америкашки все в звездные войны поиграть хотят.Посмотрим.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня