Military Review

"Mirror plane": The US press suggested why a special reflective coating is being tested

19

The American company Scaled Composites is known for its original products that attract the attention of the military and intelligence specialists. Last week one of the creations of the company's engineers was seen over the Mojave Desert - a small jet Ares, which flew accompanied by Model 401 aircraft, called the "sons of Ares."


Tyler Rogoway writes about this in an article published yesterday by the American edition of The Drive.

So in the United States, a promising jet aircraft was tested. He was spotted near the Mojave Air Force Base, where the Scaled Composites are based. The plane attracted attention with its mirrored metal coating and an unusual antenna resembling a "barcode".

Presumably Ares and his "sons" are involved in testing reflective coatings. It is possible that the ability of air objects to reflect waves of certain lengths, primarily of the visible range, is being tested. But why? The version of the American press about the purpose of using a special reflective coating is that it is applied to a "mirror plane" to reflect the beams of combat lasers. It should be reminded that the RF Armed Forces are armed with the Peresvet laser combat complex. Similar complexes are being developed in the USA and China.

Scaled Composites' Ares was created about three decades ago as an experimental test platform.
Photos used:
Scaled Composites
19 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Insurgent
    Insurgent 14 December 2020 11: 14
    +4
    "Mirror plane": The US press suggested why a special reflective coating is being tested

    "Mirror", and there was also a "Transparent" plane, which is now perceived as a technical curiosity.

    The head of the aircraft design department of the Air Force Academy S.G. Kozlov began working on reducing the visibility of aircraft in the late 1920s.
    Until 1934, its activities were limited to theoretical research and primitive experiments that could be carried out without any appropriations.
    The lack of an order allowed Kozlov, without haste, to thoroughly think over ways to minimize the visibility of the aircraft and the direction of bypassing all the obstacles that stood in this way. The designer divided the problem that arose into three tasks: reducing the visibility of the skin, airframe and engine frame, crew, weapons, etc.

    To solve the first problem, Kozlov chose a transparent coating. Having studied several, the most suitable materials, he settled on cellone (cellon is cellulose acetate, obtained by the action of glacial acid and acetic anhydride on cellulose in the presence of a catalyst. In terms of mechanical properties, it is somewhat inferior to celluloid, but, unlike it, non-combustible, more resistant to action light, acids, alkalis and organic solvents A significant drawback of cellon is its hygroscopicity, which is twice that of celluloid). With further improvement, it was cellon that had the greatest chances of becoming a full-fledged material for transparent cladding.


    1. Kuroneko
      Kuroneko 14 December 2020 11: 38
      0
      If this is an attempt to protect the aircraft from lasers, then a DSLR is the way to nowhere. Ablative coverage will be much more effective. And cheaper and MUCH less labor intensive both in production and especially in service. You get bogged down to polish-clean.
    2. Reviews
      Reviews 14 December 2020 11: 43
      -2
      Quote: Insurgent

      "Mirror", and there was also a "Transparent" plane, which is now perceived as a technical curiosity.

      Before the era of radar, this is not a curiosity. It would be non-opaque material, it could find application on scouts and spotters, for example.
      1. Insurgent
        Insurgent 14 December 2020 11: 56
        +1
        Quote: Avis

        Before the era of radar, this is not a curiosity.


        And what was written?

        Quote: Insurgent
        now perceived as a technical curiosity
        1. Reviews
          Reviews 14 December 2020 12: 02
          -2
          Quote: Insurgent
          Quote: Avis

          Before the era of radar, this is not a curiosity.


          And what was written?

          Quote: Insurgent
          now perceived as a technical curiosity

          Is the sailing battleship of the XNUMXth century also a curiosity? Like a technical curiosity now the aviation multiply charged DRP is perceived - because we are armed with a message and we understand that Kurchevsky had no chances, so, indeed, a curiosity. A transparent plane was quite adequate to its time, as well as combat sailing ships - to theirs. And it can be a curiosity only when you try to revive it now. But no one is making this attempt and will not do it.
    3. Bad_gr
      Bad_gr 15 December 2020 01: 11
      0
      Quote: Insurgent
      "Mirror", and there was also a "Transparent" plane, ......

      "..... The unusual began as soon as the engine started. It was expected: the rumor that it was necessary to wait for the start of the engine had already passed through the base, so the audience remembered all the details. It came, as expected, weakened by the distance" From the screw! " and "There is from the propeller!", then blue jets of the first exhausts burst out of the pipes on the sides of the hood, and immediately, simultaneously with the increase in speed, the plane began to disappear from view.
  2. Victor_B
    Victor_B 14 December 2020 11: 16
    +1
    I always thought that a radio-transparent "stealth" plane (and in fact always stealth emphasizes that the skin is radio-transparent) is nonsense!
    Imagine that a completely transparent (glass) plane is flying across the sky, and you see the pilot, a bunch of boxes with instruments and a hefty piece of iron from the engine.
    And here is a perfectly mirrored surface, well, bunnies, sometimes, and so the sky and earth are reflected in it ... Beauty!
    1. ender
      ender 14 December 2020 11: 31
      0
      the cladding is not radio-transparent, from the word - at all.
    2. Reviews
      Reviews 14 December 2020 11: 37
      +1
      Quote: Victor_B
      an ideal mirror surface, well, bunnies let in, sometimes, and so the sky and earth are reflected in it ... Beauty!

      There were also such projects in the 1920s and 30s. in the USSR. The author of the idea stated that at night the plane can be made invisible to the air defense searchlight if its bottom and side surfaces are smooth and mirrored - it was expected that the searchlight beam would be reflected from the mirror and, according to the rule "angle of incidence = angle of reflection", the beam would go into the distance without giving any light spot towards the spotlights. Were worked out several aircraft suitable for "mirroring", but in practice, nothing was done - experiments on the "stands" showed that the inventor's expectations were not met - the plane will be visible.
    3. Avior
      Avior 14 December 2020 11: 55
      +2
      and after all, stealth always emphasizes that the sheathing is radio-transparent

      by no means.
      there is a lot of things under the skin, engines and so on, it will still reflect
    4. Lycan
      Lycan 14 December 2020 14: 40
      0
      Apparently, it was about the fact that "a completely transparent flying object", which at first glance has only mass, influence on air currents and some sound.
    5. nznz
      nznz 15 December 2020 23: 43
      0
      all radar works not on transmitting a signal but on reflecting it, along the way, using the Doppler effect, and the speed is estimated. so the coverage is like a black hole to absorb the radar signal-cho loya just and will mean that there is no target once there is no reflected one.
  3. Reviews
    Reviews 14 December 2020 11: 27
    0
    I wonder if I didn't know Ares was still on the wing.
  4. gridasov
    gridasov 14 December 2020 11: 58
    -1
    Within the framework of the theory of ionization of the surface of the outflow in mobile and elastic media, it is possible to select for practically any flight speed the effect of such an ionization level when a cold plasma of any energy level appears in its radiation. In other words, the plane flies flies and suddenly disappeared not only in the range of perception, but also visual. But there is also another way corresponding to the modern level of people's perception. Create a fiber optic screen from any object. But this is primitive.
  5. Reviews
    Reviews 14 December 2020 12: 19
    +1
    Ares by Scaled Composites was created about three decades ago as an experimental test platform.

    What nonsense? It was created for the light attack aircraft competition.
  6. pytar
    pytar 14 December 2020 12: 31
    +1
    Such an interesting thing this Ares ...



    Mirror coating test tezza not confirmed. It is quite possible that they simply made a more effective design painting. Only the glider on the upper side and part of the tail are painted "mirror-like".
    1. Reviews
      Reviews 14 December 2020 12: 44
      0
      Quote: pytar
      Only the glider on the upper side and part of the tail are painted "mirror-like".

      "Glider" in the narrow sense is a combination of the fuselage, wing, tail.
      1. pytar
        pytar 14 December 2020 13: 52
        +1
        "Glider" in the narrow sense is a combination of the fuselage, wing, tail.

        I accept the note, it is! hi The photo shows what they painted there "mirror-like". It is hardly possible to draw far-reaching conclusions on this.
  7. nznz
    nznz 15 December 2020 23: 40
    0
    the problem is not so much to create an absorbing material - look through the patents - there are materials that absorb 99,99% and I read it in 83-86 .. when the device was developed just for measuring the reflection of absorbing coatings. Only in the court industry, there is the same problem, especially after the Falklands events. Argentina's planes easily loaded and fired missiles at British ships.

    So the main problem is to create such a coverage that would work in a wide frequency band.
    And today it is easy to bypass the invisibility as well, it is invisible at some narrow frequency band, if the signal is broadband, then in some range of a pip from the target will appear.

Военное обозрение

«Зеркальный самолёт»: В прессе США предположили, для чего испытывается специальное отражающее покрытие

19

Американская компания Scaled Composites известна своей оригинальной продукцией, которая привлекает внимание военных и специалистов разведки. На прошлой неделе над пустыней Мохаве было замечено одно из творений инженеров компании – небольшой реактивный самолет Ares, который летал в сопровождении самолетов Model 401, называемых «сынами Ареса».


Об этом пишет Тайлер Роговей в статье, опубликованной вчера американским изданием The Drive.

Так в США прошли испытания перспективного реактивного самолета. Он был замечен неподалеку от авиационно-космической базы Мохаве, где базируется Scaled Composites. Самолет обращал на себя внимание зеркальным металлическим покрытием и необычной антенной, внешне напоминающую «штрих-код».

Предположительно Ares и его «сыновья» участвуют в испытаниях отражающих покрытий. Возможно, проверяется способность воздушных объектов отражать волны определённых длин - в первую очередь видимого диапазона. Но зачем? Версия американской прессы по поводу целей использования специального отражающего покрытия заключается в том, что оно нанесено на «зеркальный самолёт» для отражения лучей боевых лазеров. Напомним, что на вооружении ВС РФ имеется боевой лазерный комплекс "Пересвет". Подобные комплексы разрабатываются в США и Китае.

Самолет Ares от компании Scaled Composites был создан около трех десятилетий назад в качестве экспериментальной испытательной платформы.
Использованы фотографии:
Scaled Composites
19 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Инсургент
    Инсургент 14 декабря 2020 11:14
    +4
    «Зеркальный самолёт»: В прессе США предположили, для чего испытывается специальное отражающее покрытие

    "Зеркальный", а был ещё и "Прозрачный" самолёт, что сейчас воспринимается как технический курьёз .

    Начальник кафедры конструирования самолетов Военно-воздушной академии С.Г.Козлов начал работать над уменьшением видимости самолетов в конце 1920-х.
    До 1934-го егодеятельность ограничивалась теоретическими изысканиями и примитивными экспериментами, которые можно было провести, без каких бы то ни было ассигнований.
    Отсутствие заказа позволило Козлову, не спеша, и основательно продумать пути максимального уменьшения видимости летательного аппарата и направления обхода всех препятствий, стоявших на этом пути. Возникшую проблему конструктор разделил на три задачи: снижение видимости обшивки, каркаса планера и мотора, экипажа, вооружения и т.д.

    Для решения первой задачи Козлов выбрал прозрачное покрытие. Исследовав несколько, наиболее подходящих материалов, он остановился на целлоне (целлон - ацетилцеллюлоза, получается путем воздействия ледяной кислоты и уксусного ангидрида на целлюлозу в присутствии катализатора. По механическим свойствам несколько уступает целлулоиду, но, в отличие от него, негорюч, более стоек к действию света, кислот, щелочей и органических растворителей. Существенным недостатком целлона является гигроскопичность, в два раза большая, чем у целлулоида). При дальнейшем усовершенствовании именно целлон имел наибольшие шансы стать полноценным материалом для прозрачной обшивки.


    1. Kuroneko
      Kuroneko 14 декабря 2020 11:38
      0
      Если это попытка защитить ЛА от лазеров, то зеркалка - путь в никуда. Абляционное покрытие будет эффективнее на порядок. И дешевле, и НАМНОГО менее трудоёмко как в производстве, так особенно и, в обслуживании. Задолбаетесь полировать-чистить.
    2. Avis
      Avis 14 декабря 2020 11:43
      -2
      Цитата: Инсургент

      "Зеркальный", а был ещё и "Прозрачный" самолёт, что сейчас воспринимается как технический курьёз .

      До эры РЛС никакой это не курьёз. Было бы немутнеющий материал, это могло найти применение на разведчиках и корректировщиках, например.
      1. Инсургент
        Инсургент 14 декабря 2020 11:56
        +1
        Цитата: Avis

        До эры РЛС никакой это не курьёз.


        А что написано было ?

        Цитата: Инсургент
        сейчас воспринимается как технический курьёз
        1. Avis
          Avis 14 декабря 2020 12:02
          -2
          Цитата: Инсургент
          Цитата: Avis

          До эры РЛС никакой это не курьёз.


          А что написано было ?

          Цитата: Инсургент
          сейчас воспринимается как технический курьёз

          Парусный линкор XVIII века тоже курьёз? Как технический курьёз сейчас воспринимается авиационная многозарядная ДРП — потому что мы вооружены послезнанием и понимаем, что никаких шансов у Курчевского не было, так что, действительно, курьёз. А прозрачный самолёт был вполне адекватен своему времени, как и боевые парусники — своему. И курьёзом может являться только при попытке возродить его сейчас. Но этой попытки никто не делает и делать не будет.
    3. Bad_gr
      Bad_gr 15 декабря 2020 01:11
      0
      Цитата: Инсургент
      "Зеркальный", а был ещё и "Прозрачный" самолёт,......

      ".....Необыкновенное началось сразу же, как только заработал мотор. Этого ждали: слух, что ждать надо именно запуска мотора, уже прошел по базе, поэтому зрители запомнили все детали. Донеслось, как полагается, ослабленное расстоянием «От винта!» и «Есть от винта!», потом из патрубков по бокам капота вырвались синие струи первых выхлопов, и тут же, одновременно с нарастанием оборотов, самолет начал исчезать из виду. Начал, как говорил капитан Вагуль, истаивать, растворяться в воздухе...
  2. Victor_B
    Victor_B 14 декабря 2020 11:16
    +1
    Вот всегда думал, что радиопрозрачный "стелс" самолет (а ведь всегда стелсовость подчеркивает, что обшивка радиопрозрачная) - это нонсенс!
    Представьте себе, что по небу летит совершенно прозрачный (стеклянный) самолет, а вы видите пилота, кучу ящиков с приборами и здоровенную железяку двигателя.
    А вот идеально зеркальная поверхность, ну зайчики пускает, иногда, а так небо и земля в нем отражаются... Красота!
    1. ender
      ender 14 декабря 2020 11:31
      0
      обшивка не радиопрозрачная, от слова - совсем.
    2. Avis
      Avis 14 декабря 2020 11:37
      +1
      Цитата: Victor_B
      идеально зеркальная поверхность, ну зайчики пускает, иногда, а так небо и земля в нем отражаются... Красота!

      Были и такие прожекты в 1920-30-ых г.г. в СССР. Автор идеи заявлял, что ночью самолёт можно сделать невидимым для прожектора ПВО, если сделать его нижнюю и боковые поверхности гладкими и зеркальными — ожидалось, что луч прожектора отразится от зеркала и по правилу "угол падения = углу отражения" луч уйдёт вдаль, не давая никакого светового пятна в сторону прожектористов. Были проработаны несколько самолётов, пригодных для "озеркаливания", но на практике так ничего и не было сделано — опыты на "стендах" показали, что ожидания изобретателя не оправдались — самолёт будет видим.
    3. Avior
      Avior 14 декабря 2020 11:55
      +2
      а ведь всегда стелсовость подчеркивает, что обшивка радиопрозрачная

      ни в коем случае.
      под обшивкой ведь много всего, двигатели и прочее, оно то отражать будет все равно
    4. Lycan
      Lycan 14 декабря 2020 14:40
      0
      Видимо, речь шла о том, что "летит совершенно прозрачный летающий объект", обладающий на первый взгляд лишь массой, влиянием на воздушн. потоки и некоторым звуком.
    5. nznz
      nznz 15 декабря 2020 23:43
      0
      вся радиолокация работает не на прпускании сигнала а на отражении его, попутно с помощью эффекта Допплера и скорость оценивают. так что покрытие лоджно как черная дыра впитывать сигал-чо лоя радара как раз и будет означать что цели нет раз нет отраженного.
  3. Avis
    Avis 14 декабря 2020 11:27
    0
    Интересно, не знал, что "Ares" всё ещё на крыле.
  4. gridasov
    gridasov 14 декабря 2020 11:58
    -1
    В рамкаx теории ионизации поверxности истечения в подвижныx и упругиx средаx можно подобрать практически для любой скорости полёта зффект такого уровня ионизации когда возникает xолодная плазма любого уровня знергии в своём излучении. Иными словами летит летит самолёт и вдруг исчез не только в диапазоне восприятия ,но и визуального. Но есть и ещё другой способ соответствующий современному уровню восприятия людей. Создать из любого объекта зкран из оптиковолоконныx нитей . Но зто примитивно .
  5. Avis
    Avis 14 декабря 2020 12:19
    +1
    Ares от компании Scaled Composites был создан около трех десятилетий назад в качестве экспериментальной испытательной платформы.

    Что за бред? Он был создан на конкурс лёгкого штурмовика.
  6. pytar
    pytar 14 декабря 2020 12:31
    +1
    Интересная такая штучка этот Ares...



    Тезза о испытаниях "зеркальное покрытие" не потвержденная. Вполне возможно просто сделали более эфектная дизайнерская покраска. Покрашен "зеркольно" только планер с верхней стороне и часть оперения.
    1. Avis
      Avis 14 декабря 2020 12:44
      0
      Цитата: pytar
      Покрашен "зеркольно" только планер с верхней стороне и часть оперения.

      "Планер" в узком смысле это совокупность фюзеляжа, крыла, оперения.
      1. pytar
        pytar 14 декабря 2020 13:52
        +1
        "Планер" в узком смысле это совокупность фюзеляжа, крыла, оперения.

        Принимаю заметку, так и есть! hi На фото видно чего они там покрасили "зеркально". Вряд ли на этом можно делать далекоидущие выводы.
  7. nznz
    nznz 15 декабря 2020 23:40
    0
    проблема не столько в том чтобы создать поглощающий материал-полистайте патенты -есть материалы поглощающие 99,99% причем читал я в 83-86.. когда приборчик разрабатывали как раз для измерения к-та отражения поглощающих покрытий. Только в судпроме-там такая же проблемаюособенно после Фолклендских событий.Самолеты Аргентины легко онаруживали и пуляли ракетами по британским кораблям.

    так вот основная пробдлема0-это создать такое покрыти которое работало бы в широкой полосе частот.
    А сегодня мржно обойти невидимку как-ну невидна она на какой то узкой полосе частот, если сигнал широкополосный то в каком то диапазоне пипка от цели появится.