Military Review

Family of armored vehicles VBTP-MR. For Brazil and other countries

12

Armored personnel carrier VBTP-MR


Currently, the Brazilian ground forces are gradually transitioning to new armored vehicles. A number of samples of outdated types give way to modern machines of the VBTP-MR Guarani family. The process of such a replacement started at the beginning of the last decade and should be completed by the beginning of the thirties.

Modern replacement


The decision to create a new family of armored combat vehicles was in the late nineties. At that time, the Brazilian army was armed with American-made M113 and EE-11 Urutu armored personnel carriers, EE-9 Cascavel reconnaissance vehicles and other products. All of them were of great age and did not fully meet modern requirements.

In 1999, the army launched a program to develop a new family of armored combat vehicles. It was required to create a wheeled platform of modular architecture, on the basis of which it would be possible to build armored personnel carriers, infantry fighting vehicles, command-staff, ambulances and other vehicles. In the future, equipment of this family would have to replace the old EE-9, EE-11, etc.


VBTP-MR in BMP version

Initially, the development program for the new AFV was called Urutu-3, which indicated the continuity of generations. Subsequently, the finished sample was named Guarani. Several different projects were considered under this program. At the end of the XNUMXs, a joint project created in the framework of cooperation between Brazilian and foreign companies was chosen as the winner of the program.

The lead developer of the platform called VBTP-MR (Viatura Blindada Transporte de Pessoal Média de Rodas - "Medium wheeled armored personnel carrier") was the Italian company Iveco Defense Vehicles. The armor protection was created by the Brazilian companies Usiminas and Villares, various equipment was supplied by the local IMBEL, and the weapons were purchased from the Israeli Elbit Systems. In the future, the list of project participants has been expanded several times.

Features of the project


The core of the VBTP-MR Guarani family is an armored wheeled chassis capable of carrying various combat modules and other target equipment. A machine with a three-axle undercarriage was recommended for serial production. Iveco also offered an eight-wheeled chassis option, but it did not interest the Brazilian army.


Ready platforms without combat modules, 2014

The Guarani building was built taking into account modern trends and accumulated experience. It is welded from steel sheets providing bullet and splinter protection. Measures have been taken to strengthen the bottom to protect against explosions. The hull layout is standard for modern armored personnel carriers - a power unit is placed in the bow, and the driver is located next to it at the left side. Other volumes are given to the combat and airborne compartment.

The platform is equipped with a 10 hp Iveco Cursor 383ENT-C diesel engine. The automatic transmission provides drive to all wheels and also transfers power to the two propellers aft. The three-axle chassis has independent hydropneumatic wheel suspension. For the correct weight distribution, the distance between the axles is different: the first and second are located closer to each other.

The base chassis has a length of 6,9 m, a width of 2,7 m and a height of less than 2,4 m. The combat weight in the configuration of an armored personnel carrier is 16,7 tons. When installing other target equipment, this parameter changes. All modifications can be transported by C-130 military transport aircraft. The maximum speed on the highway reaches 110 km / h. It is possible to cross water obstacles at speeds up to 8-9 km / h. The power reserve is 600 km.


Modifications of "Guarani"


The main modification of the VBTP-MR is an armored personnel carrier. Such a vehicle is operated by a crew of two and carries nine paratroopers. To protect against explosions, the seats of the crew and troops are attached to the roof; the floor of the troop compartment is suspended with them. The armored personnel carrier is armed with a REMAX remote-controlled weapon station with a large-caliber machine gun.

An infantry fighting vehicle has been developed in cooperation with Elbit Systems. It is distinguished by the use of an Israeli-designed fighting compartment with a 30-mm Mk 44 automatic cannon. The installation of such a fighting compartment reduces the available volumes for the landing.

At the level of projects and technical proposals, there is a reconnaissance vehicle with advanced optics and a 105-mm gun and a self-propelled mortar of 120 mm caliber. Also offered are command and staff and communication vehicles, artillery reconnaissance, repair and evacuation and sanitary modification. Earlier it was reported that some modifications, such as BRM or ARV, can be built on an elongated eight-wheeled chassis.


In fact, the VBTP-MR Guarani project has realized the full potential of the universal chassis. The customer is offered a whole set of unified armored vehicles for various purposes, quite capable of covering the bulk of the needs of the army and providing certain advantages. However, so far not all the proposed modifications have gone into series.

Family in series


In November 2009, Brazil officially announced the launch of the production of experimental equipment; a corresponding contract appeared in December. At this stage, the Urutu 3 project was renamed Guarani. The first order provided for the construction of 16 armored personnel carriers for field and military tests with delivery in 2010-11. In parallel, the project participants had to prepare the full-scale production of new armored combat vehicles.

"Guarani" of the first batch successfully coped with the tests, and in August 2012 a contract for 86 units appeared. first series. Due to the previously created reserve, this order was completed by the beginning of 2013. Soon this technique was distributed among combat units for study, mastering and determination of optimal operating methods, independent and in conjunction with old types of equipment.


To date, the Brazilian ground forces have received more than 500 units. VBTP-MR in the configuration of armored personnel carriers and infantry fighting vehicles. Not less than 24 units delivered to the Marine Corps. In total, by 2030, the Brazilian army plans to purchase 2044 armored combat vehicles of various types of the Guarani family. In 2009, the cost of such purchases was estimated at US $ 6 billion at the current exchange rate.

In the international market


Quite quickly, the VBTP-MR project interested the armies of several foreign countries. It was reported about the possible sale of such equipment to Argentina, Colombia, Chile and Ecuador. Potential buyers were interested in the three- and four-axis versions of the platform. However, only negotiations with Argentina reached a real contract. Since 2012, several dozen new armored personnel carriers have been handed over to her.

In 2017, it became known about the signing of an agreement with Lebanon. As part of the first batch of his army, 10 armored personnel carriers were sent. In the future, additional orders for vehicles of various modifications were not ruled out.

Not so long ago, the Guarani project took part in a tender for the Philippine army. In December, he was declared the winner, resulting in a new contract. Philippines will be supplied with 28 units. Armored personnel carriers with a total value of 47 million US dollars.


Armored vehicle Iveco SuperAV

Based on the eight-wheeled version of the VBTP-MR, Iveco has developed a new SuperAV platform with a number of important changes. This sample was offered to the Italian army to replace obsolete amphibious transporters. Last year, the SuperAVs became the subject of a contract with the United States Marine Corps.

Success concept


VBTP-MR armored vehicles are built in large series. The bulk of such equipment goes to the Brazilian army. She has already received about a quarter of the necessary vehicles, and by the end of the decade plans to complete the rearmament. Also Guarani competes with foreign samples, wins some tenders and is supplied abroad in limited quantities.

The reasons for such success are simple and understandable. The VBTP-MR project is based on well-known and proven ideas and solutions in the field of armored vehicles. In fact, the project offers high-quality modern AFVs with fairly high technical and economic characteristics. However, in this respect, "Guarani" is not a unique development, which is why it has to face serious competition.

The prospects for the VBTP-MR family of armored vehicles are obvious. Brazil will continue to order armored personnel carriers and infantry fighting vehicles, as well as other types of vehicles. As a result, this will make it possible to carry out the planned rearmament, probably even meeting the deadlines and budget. It is also possible to continue deliveries to individual foreign countries and receive completely new export orders. Thus, the Urutu-3 / Guarani program copes with its tasks and can be regarded as successful and successful.
Author:
Photos used:
Brazilian Defense Ministry, Wikimedia Commons
12 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. The leader of the Redskins
    The leader of the Redskins 19 January 2021 18: 42
    -1
    I think they will have some success in the countries of Latin America and Africa.
    And also, in the light of the latest statements, some kind of joint turmoil with the Ukrainians is possible.
    1. voronin
      voronin 19 January 2021 23: 24
      +14
      Quote: Leader of the Redskins
      And also, in the light of the latest statements, some kind of joint turbulence with the Ukrainians is possible.

      Unlikely. They have already taken everything they can from the Ukrainians.
  2. FIR FIR
    FIR FIR 19 January 2021 20: 29
    0
    In total, by 2030, the Brazilian army plans to purchase 2044 armored combat vehicles of various types of the Guarani family. In 2009, the cost of such purchases was estimated at US $ 6 billion at the current exchange rate.

    For $ 3 million apiece! with a simple arithmetic calculation, for such a vessel?
    1. Flooding
      Flooding 19 January 2021 20: 48
      +2
      Philippines will be supplied with 28 units. Armored personnel carriers with a total value of 47 million US dollars.

      Less than two. Which is also not cheap.
  3. FIR FIR
    FIR FIR 19 January 2021 21: 10
    +2
    Quote: Flood
    Philippines will be supplied with 28 units. Armored personnel carriers with a total value of 47 million US dollars.

    Less than two. Which is also not cheap.

    Expensive, but compared to the German Puma and its $ 7 million, it's just cheap wink
  4. Arthur 85
    Arthur 85 19 January 2021 22: 50
    +1
    In general, unification is good, but when looking at this creation of the solar Brazilian genius, for some reason a child's horror story came to mind: "girl-girl, the coffin on wheels has already left ..."
    1. SiberianGun
      SiberianGun April 13 2021 06: 30
      0
      Better look at our BTR-80 / 82M. Better yet, a coffin. We do not take into account promising long-term and short-term construction projects - developments are underway, and in the army, as there were improved coffins of the last century, everything is massively there to this day ...
  5. Ratmir_Ryazan
    Ratmir_Ryazan 19 January 2021 23: 14
    0
    I wonder why the Brazilians abandoned the four-axle variant in favor of the three-axle one?
    1. ProkletyiPirat
      ProkletyiPirat 20 January 2021 00: 59
      +1
      shorter length, better maneuverability, the latter is especially important for working on public roads in a dense traffic of civilian vehicles, as well as in narrow aisles in villages, favelas, etc. There is nothing new in this, they do the same in the EU countries.
    2. Sergey Aleksandrovich
      Sergey Aleksandrovich April 14 2021 13: 41
      0
      Save money on tires and propeller shafts.
  6. V.I.P.
    V.I.P. 20 January 2021 13: 54
    -1
    The car is better than the BTR-82/80. Keeping pace with the times (front engine, energy absorbing seats, propellers, ramp exit). Produce in normal quantities. They make good transport planes.
  7. GKA72
    GKA72 20 January 2021 14: 12
    0
    on the other hand, we have embarked on the development of police cassette variants.

Военное обозрение

Семейство бронемашин VBTP-MR. Для Бразилии и других стран

12

Бронетранспортер VBTP-MR


В настоящее время сухопутные войска Бразилии осуществляют постепенный переход на новую бронетехнику. Ряд образцов устаревших типов уступает свое место современным машинам семейства VBTP-MR Guarani. Процесс такой замены стартовал в начале прошлого десятилетия и должен завершиться к началу тридцатых годов.

Современная замена


Решение о создании нового семейства боевых бронированных машин было конце девяностых годов. На тот момент на вооружении бразильской армии состояли бронетранспортеры M113 американского и EE-11 Urutu собственного производства, разведывательные машины EE-9 Cascavel и другие изделия. Все они отличались большим возрастом и не в полной мере отвечали современным требованиям.

В 1999 г. армия запустила программу разработки нового семейства ББМ. Требовалось создать колесную платформу модульной архитектуры, на базе которой можно было бы строить БТР, БМП, командно-штабные, санитарные и другие машины. В перспективе техника такого семейства должна была бы заменить старые EE-9, EE-11 и т.д.


VBTP-MR в версии БМП

Изначально программа разработки новой ББМ носила название Urutu-3, что указывало на преемственность поколений. В дальнейшем готовый образец получил имя Guarani. В рамках этой программы рассматривалось несколько разных проектов. В конце двухтысячных победителем программы выбрали совместный проект, созданный в рамках сотрудничества бразильских и иностранных компаний.

Головным разработчиком платформы под названием VBTP-MR (Viatura Blindada Transporte de Pessoal Média de Rodas – «Бронетранспортер средний колесный») являлась итальянская компания Iveco Defence Vehicles. Броневую защиту создавали бразильские компании Usiminas и Villares, различную аппаратуру поставила местная IMBEL, а вооружения приобрели у израильской Elbit Systems. В дальнейшем список участников проекта неоднократно расширялся.

Особенности проекта


Основой семейства VBTP-MR Guarani является бронированное колесное шасси, способное нести различные боевые модули и иное целевое оборудование. К серийному производству была рекомендована машина с трехосной ходовой частью. Также компания Iveco предлагала восьмиколесный вариант шасси, но он не заинтересовал бразильскую армию.


Готовые платформы без боевых модулей, 2014 г.

Корпус «Гуарани» построен с учетом современных тенденций и накопленного опыта. Он сваривается из стальных листов, обеспечивающих противопульную и противоосколочную защиту. Приняты меры по усилению днища для защиты от взрывов. Компоновка корпуса стандартна для современных БТР – в носовой части помещается силовой агрегат, рядом с ним у левого борта находится водитель. Прочие объемы отданы под боевое и десантное отделение.

Платформа оснащена дизельным двигателем Iveco Cursor 10ENT-C мощностью 383 л.с. Автоматическая трансмиссия обеспечивает привод всех колес, а также передает мощность на два гребных винта в корме. Трехосная ходовая часть имеет независимую гидропневматическую подвеску колес. Для правильного распределения веса расстояние между осями различается: первая и вторая расположены ближе друг к другу.

Базовое шасси имеет длину 6,9 м, ширину 2,7 м и высоту менее 2,4 м. Боевая масса в конфигурации бронетранспортера – 16,7 т. При установке иного целевого оснащения этот параметр меняется. Все модификации могут перевозиться военно-транспортными самолетами C-130. Максимальная скорость на шоссе достигает 110 км/ч. Имеется возможность пересечения водных преград со скоростью до 8-9 км/ч. Запас хода – 600 км.


Модификации «Гуарани»


Основной модификацией VBTP-MR является бронетранспортер. Такая машина управляется экипажем из двух человек и перевозит девять десантников. Для защиты от взрывов кресла экипажа и десанта крепятся к крыше; пол десантного отделения подвешен вместе с ними. БТР вооружен дистанционно управляемым боевым модулем REMAX с крупнокалиберным пулеметом.

Совместно с компанией Elbit Systems разработана боевая машина пехоты. Она отличается использованием боевого отделения израильской разработки с 30-мм автоматической пушкой Mk 44. Монтаж такого боевого отделения сокращает доступные объемы под десант.

На уровне проектов и технических предложений существуют разведывательная машина с развитой оптикой и 105-мм орудием и самоходный миномет калибра 120 мм. Также предлагаются командно-штабная и связная машины, артиллерийский разведчик, ремонтно-эвакуационная и санитарная модификация. Ранее сообщалось, что некоторые модификации, такие как БРМ или БРЭМ могут строиться и на удлиненном восьмиколесном шасси.


Фактически в проекте VBTP-MR Guarani реализован весь потенциал универсального шасси. Заказчику предлагается целый набор унифицированных бронемашин разного назначения, вполне способный покрыть основную часть потребностей армии и обеспечить известные преимущества. Впрочем, пока в серию пошли далеко не все предложенные модификации.

Семейство в серии


В ноябре 2009 г. Бразилия официально объявила о запуске производства опытной техники; в декабре появился соответствующий контракт. На этом этапе проект Urutu 3 переименовали в Guarani. Первый заказ предусматривал строительство 16 бронетранспортеров для проведения полигонных и войсковых испытаний с поставкой в 2010-11 гг. Параллельно участники проекта должны были подготовить полномасштабное производство новых ББМ.

«Гуарани» первой партии успешно справились с испытаниями, и в августе 2012 г. появился контракт на 86 ед. первой серии. За счет созданного ранее задела этот заказ выполнили к началу 2013 г. Вскоре эту технику распределили между строевыми частями для изучения, освоения и определения оптимальных методик эксплуатации, самостоятельной и в связке с техникой старых типов.


К настоящему времени сухопутные войска Бразилии получили более 500 ед. VBTP-MR в конфигурации БТР и БМП. Не менее 24 ед. поставлено морской пехоте. В общей сложности к 2030 г. бразильская армия планирует закупить 2044 ББМ разных типов семейства Guarani. В 2009 г. стоимость таких закупок оценивалась в 6 млрд долл. США по актуальному курсу.

На международном рынке


Достаточно быстро проект VBTP-MR заинтересовал армии нескольких зарубежных стран. Сообщалось о возможной продаже такой техники Аргентине, Колумбии, Чили и Эквадору. Потенциальные покупатели интересовались трех- и четырехосной версией платформы. Впрочем, до реального контракта дошли только переговоры с Аргентиной. С 2012 г. ей передали несколько десятков новых БТР.

В 2017 г. стало известно о подписании соглашения с Ливаном. В рамках первой партии его армии отправили 10 бронетранспортеров. В дальнейшем не исключались дополнительные заказы на технику разных модификаций.

Не так давно проект Guarani принимал участие в тендере армии Филиппин. В декабре его признали победителем, в результате чего появился новый контракт. Филиппинам поставят 28 ед. БТР общей стоимостью 47 млн долл. США.


Бронемашина Iveco SuperAV

На базе восьмиколесной версии VBTP-MR компания Iveco разработала новую платформу SuperAV с рядом важных изменений. Этот образец предлагался итальянской армии для замены устаревших амфибийных транспортеров. В прошлом году машины SuperAV стали предметом контракта с Корпусом морской пехоты США.

Успех концепции


Бронемашины VBTP-MR строятся крупной серией. Основная масса такой техники идет в армию Бразилии. Она уже получила около четверти необходимых машин, и к концу десятилетия планирует завершить перевооружение. Также Guarani составляет конкуренцию иностранным образцам, побеждает в некоторых тендерах и в ограниченных количествах поставляется за рубеж.

Причины подобных успехов просты и понятны. В основе проекта VBTP-MR лежат хорошо известные и отработанные идеи и решения в области бронетехники. По сути, проект предлагает качественные современные ББМ с достаточно высокими техническими и экономическими характеристиками. Однако в этом отношении «Гуарани» не является уникальной разработкой, из-за чего ей приходится сталкиваться с серьезной конкуренцией.

Перспективы семейства бронетехники VBTP-MR очевидны. Бразилия продолжит заказывать БТР и БМП, а также машины других типов. В итоге это позволит провести планируемое перевооружение, вероятно, даже уложившись в установленные сроки и смету. Также возможно продолжение поставок отдельным зарубежным странам и получение совершенно новых экспортных заказов. Таким образом, программа Urutu-3 / Guarani справляется со своими задачами и может рассматриваться как удачная и успешная.
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
Минобороны Бразилии, Wikimedia Commons
12 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Вождь краснокожих
    Вождь краснокожих 19 января 2021 18:42
    -1
    Думаю, в странах Латинской Америки и Африки будут иметь определенный успех.
    А ещё, в свете последних заявлений, возможна какая ни будь совместная муть с украинцами.
    1. voronin
      voronin 19 января 2021 23:24
      +14
      Цитата: Вождь краснокожих
      А ещё, в свете последних заявлений, возможна какая ни будь совместная муть с украинцами

      Маловероятно. С украинцев уже взяли все, что можно.
  2. FIR FIR
    FIR FIR 19 января 2021 20:29
    0
    В общей сложности к 2030 г. бразильская армия планирует закупить 2044 ББМ разных типов семейства Guarani. В 2009 г. стоимость таких закупок оценивалась в 6 млрд долл. США по актуальному курсу.

    По $3 млн. за штуку! при простом арифметическом подсчете, за такую посудину ?
    1. Наводлом
      Наводлом 19 января 2021 20:48
      +2
      Филиппинам поставят 28 ед. БТР общей стоимостью 47 млн долл. США.

      Менее двух. Что тоже недёшево.
  3. FIR FIR
    FIR FIR 19 января 2021 21:10
    +2
    Цитата: Наводлом
    Филиппинам поставят 28 ед. БТР общей стоимостью 47 млн долл. США.

    Менее двух. Что тоже недёшево.

    Дорого, но в сравнении с немецкой Пумой и ее $7 млн. просто дешевка wink
  4. Артур 85
    Артур 85 19 января 2021 22:50
    +1
    Вообще, унификация это хорошо, но при взгляде на это творение солнечного Бразильского гения, почему-то вспомнилась детская страшилка: "девочка-девочка, гроб на колёсиках уже выехал..."
    1. SiberianGun
      SiberianGun 13 апреля 2021 06:30
      0
      Лучше посмотрите на наши БТР-80/82М. Ещё лучше гробик. Перспективные долгострои и недодолгострои в расчёт не берём - разработки идут, а в армии как были улучшенные гробики прошлого века, так там массово всё и до сих пор...
  5. Ratmir_Ryazan
    Ratmir_Ryazan 19 января 2021 23:14
    0
    Интересно, а почему бразильцы отказались от четырехосного варианта в пользу трехосного?
    1. ProkletyiPirat
      ProkletyiPirat 20 января 2021 00:59
      +1
      меньше длина, лучше манёвренность, последнее особенно важно для работы на дорогах общего пользования в плотном потоке гражданской техники, а так же в узких проходах в сёлах, фавелах и т.п. Ничего нового в этом нет, аналогично поступают в странах ЕС.
    2. СергейАлександрович
      СергейАлександрович 14 апреля 2021 13:41
      0
      Экономят на покрышках и карданных валах.
  6. В.И.П.
    В.И.П. 20 января 2021 13:54
    -1
    Машинка получше чем БТР-82/80. Идут в ногу со временем (двигатель спереди, энергопоглащающие кресла, гребные винты, выход с аппарели). Производят нормальным количеством. Они и транспортные самолёты хорошие делают.
  7. GKA72
    GKA72 20 января 2021 14:12
    0
    зато у нас ударились в разработку полицейскоинкассатарских вариантов.