Military Review

US to test new tactics against China at exercises with F-35 and F-16 fighters in Guam

22

Northwest Field on Guam



Recently, the United States has shown increased attention to the air force bases in the Pacific Ocean. There is no doubt that the reason for this is the growing activity of China in the Asia-Pacific region. It is becoming increasingly difficult for Washington to control the situation in Southeast and East Asia as the power of the Chinese weapons is growing, and today even the famous Andersen Air Force Base in Guam is already vulnerable to Chinese ballistic missiles.

Reanimation of the airfield during the Second World War


The Pentagon concluded that the American aviation new bases are needed in the Asia-Pacific region. After all, if the airfield on Guam is disabled, the United States will not be able to maintain an air presence over the Pacific Ocean. From these considerations, the Pentagon began to expand the capabilities of basing aviation on the Wake and Tinian Islands. It is possible that the February 2021 exercise will aim at testing the capabilities of air bases.

The most interesting thing is that during the upcoming exercises, American aviation will use the Northwest Field - an old military airfield on the island of Guam, which was equipped during World War II, but was closed in 1949. Subsequently, it was used only for auxiliary purposes. Its resuscitation in the current conditions is very interesting in itself.

Brian Everstein of Air Force Magazine was the first to report that F-35 fighters from Eilson Air Force Base and F-16 fighters from Misawa AFB will be deployed in the Northwest Field of the Andersen Air Force Base. It is on their basis that the United States is going to work out tactics to pass China in exercises.

Previously, only Lockheed C-130 Hercules helicopters and transport aircraft were based in the Northwest Field. But quickly adapting the field for fighters is a daunting task, even given the vast financial and technical capabilities of the US Air Force.

Agile Combat Employment Tactics


Nonetheless, the Pentagon expects the Cope North exercise to hone the Agile Combat Employment tactics of less predictability in aviation deployments and more agility achieved by using small groups of aircraft. Within the framework of this tactic, it is planned to create bases with minimal operational requirements, as well as to ensure the possibility of rapid redeployment in order to confuse the enemy and complicate his plans to build defense and attack.

Tyler Rogoway of The Drive writes that before the start of the exercise in February 2021, an emergency braking system will be installed at the airfield to prevent abnormal situations with jet aircraft.

In addition to aviation, the Northwest Field of Andersen Air Force Base also hosts other important military installations, including the THAAD missile battery, which protects the island of Guam from enemy ballistic missiles, and satellite communications stations. However, this is where the infrastructure of the North-West Field ends: Rogoway draws attention to the fact that the field has a minimum of structures common to air bases. Even basic hangars are missing. Therefore, plans to use the Northwest Field as a key base for exercises, according to the analyst, look quite ambitious.

On the other hand, the aircraft participating in Cope North will be able to land, refuel, rearm and take off in conditions similar to those if they operated from remote and poorly equipped locations in real combat. Fulfillment of assigned tasks on a remote runway, without many important support components, will allow American aviation to work out tactics of operations from remote islands.

Thus, the upcoming exercises in the Pacific Ocean will not be called ordinary maneuvers. They promise to teach American aviation many interesting lessons, and if the Pentagon can draw useful lessons from them and reformat its bases in the Pacific Ocean in accordance with the requirements of the time, then its capabilities in terms of confronting the Chinese threat will increase significantly.
Author:
Photos used:
Twitter / PACAF, Wikipedia / USAAF
22 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Thrifty
    Thrifty 28 January 2021 12: 48
    +1
    Previously, there were just exercises or maneuvers, but now all the same is being "announced" to the misguided "Russian and Chinese threats to the interests of the United States," as if without such a verbal postscript the US military would not be given money for these exercises! !!!
    1. yehat2
      yehat2 28 January 2021 13: 18
      0
      Americans have done so much already that they feel obligated to explain many of their actions. In other words, these comments are completely empty.
      In the same way, they can explain everything by preparing for the attack of the Martians.
  2. rotmistr60
    rotmistr60 28 January 2021 13: 02
    +1
    today even the famous US Andersen Air Force Base in Guam is already vulnerable to Chinese ballistic missiles.
    And so the Americans wanted them to be able to get everyone, and none of them. As the Russian proverb says - "Not all the Shrovetide cat".
    1. Orange bigg
      Orange bigg 28 January 2021 13: 14
      -4
      F-35 rare G.
      American fighter pilots began to complain of very serious control problems with the fifth generation American F-35 combat aircraft. Among the key circumstances are the problems with the control system of these aircraft - during even non-combat missions, numerous problems with on-board computers are recorded, which in the event of a real air battle practically guarantees that the fighter will be destroyed by the enemy.

      “The biggest problem with the F-35 Lightning II touchscreen monitors is the lack of feedback when working with them, especially when overloaded. The pilot assures that about every fifth interaction with a touchscreen monitor leads to an error, "- reports the Russian information resource" Lenta.ru ".

      A similar problem manifests itself on all fifth-generation American fighters, and, apparently, the American manufacturer is well aware of this problem, however, they still cannot solve it.

      https://avia.pro/news/piloty-f-35-massovo-zhaluyutsya-na-sboi-v-sistemah-upravleniya-istrebitelem
      1. kit88
        kit88 28 January 2021 14: 58
        +9
        Would you bypass such "authorities" as avia.pro and lenta.ru
        laughing
    2. Revolver
      Revolver 29 January 2021 02: 26
      -1
      Quote: rotmistr60
      today even the famous US Andersen Air Force Base in Guam is already vulnerable to Chinese ballistic missiles.
      And so the Americans wanted them to be able to get everyone, and none of them. As the Russian proverb says - "Not all the Shrovetide cat".
      The Chinese, if they are not completely wicked, should understand that if they launch missiles at Guam, then whether they will reach the target or not, given the presence of a sea-based missile defense system, is a question. But that the response will fly not to some islands, but to Beijing and Shanghai, and reach the goal, this is not a question, but an objective reality, which will be given to the Chinese in sensations, regardless of the results of their blow or even the complete absence of such.
  3. Lord of the Sith
    Lord of the Sith 28 January 2021 13: 06
    -2
    The Pentagon came to the conclusion that the American aviation in the Asia-Pacific region needs new bases.


    The Yankees are completely crazy wassat

    Well, let's. Diffuse the forces.
    Spend money and resources.
    1. Petro_tut
      Petro_tut 28 January 2021 21: 53
      0
      They will uncover the old Japanese bases that were on the Carrolin Marshall and Mariana Islands and will receive at least five more airfields request
      1. Lord of the Sith
        Lord of the Sith 28 January 2021 22: 07
        0
        It remains only to find denyuzhki for it)))
  4. rocket757
    rocket757 28 January 2021 13: 12
    0
    if the Pentagon can draw useful lessons from them and reformat its bases in the Pacific in accordance with the requirements of the time, then its capabilities in terms of confronting the Chinese threat will significantly increase

    It's always IF or BUT!
  5. askort154
    askort154 28 January 2021 13: 17
    +1
    Thrifty ...... as if without such a verbal postscript the US military would not be given money for these exercises! !!

    And second, you need to constantly voice the name of the enemy. This makes the situation more concrete, not only for the international consumer, but also for the domestic one in the US. Now they have a split and a "glove compartment", and the best way to stop it is to find an external enemy, to connect all the media so that the people forget about their feuds and unite. hi
  6. pytar
    pytar 28 January 2021 13: 20
    +1
    An interesting picture is being drawn! During World War II, the Pacific Ocean was a battlefield between the USA and Japan! Shas is turning into a battlefield between the US and China!
    These are the most beautiful heavenly places!



    1. Ros 56
      Ros 56 28 January 2021 14: 58
      0
      I mean, one rocket and everything in heaven?
      1. pytar
        pytar 28 January 2021 15: 15
        +1
        I mean, one rocket and everything in heaven?

        Nuuu ... if we believe the GDP, not all! laughing And here are some of them, during their lifetime and have long settled in these awesomely beautiful places! Unpatriotic, but nice! wink
  7. Constanty
    Constanty 28 January 2021 13: 20
    -2
    Does the distance between Guam and China make it extremely impractical to use F-16s and F-35s in relation to China?
    How many flying tankers will you have to use?
  8. Bradley
    Bradley 28 January 2021 14: 05
    +2
    The exercises are always conducted against a specific enemy, be it Russia, China or anyone else. It's just that the States are not trying to disguise it, that's all.
    Teachings without specifics are nothing more than a farce, which by themselves do not give any sense. So do not be surprised that exercises are being conducted against a potential enemy.
  9. APASUS
    APASUS 28 January 2021 14: 20
    0
    So I understand these will be the first goals of China in case of conflict, something like the second Pearl Harbor. The Americans just need a provocation and they carefully build it.
    1. The comment was deleted.
    2. pytar
      pytar 28 January 2021 15: 33
      0
      So I understand these will be the first goals of China in case of conflict, something like the second Pearl Harbor. The Americans just need a provocation and they carefully build it.


      Aha, here they are throwing themselves with thermonuclear charges! laughing The fireworks will be arranged!



      There are no fools sitting there! Neither China nor the United States is drawn to suicide! No.
      1. APASUS
        APASUS 28 January 2021 16: 42
        0
        Quote: pytar
        There are no fools sitting there! Neither China nor the United States is drawn to suicide!

        No suicide. It's just that the Americans need a reason for tougher manipulations with sanctions and other actions. The Chinese will sink a ship or plane, the Americans just need that.
    3. antivirus
      antivirus 28 January 2021 21: 11
      0
      the first should be Taiwan, Okinawa. then ..and the Philippines? too much
      on the coast of the Chinese lives and works.
  10. Ros 56
    Ros 56 28 January 2021 14: 56
    +2
    Do the striped ones want to remember the 40s when they messed with the Japanese? So now is not the time, one missile-bomb and there is no island, and with it the airfield and everyone who was there. Something like this.
  11. kventinasd
    kventinasd 28 January 2021 20: 03
    +2
    as the power of Chinese weapons grows, and today even the famous US Andersen Air Force Base in Guam is already vulnerable to Chinese ballistic missiles.

    I think the Chinese will not only be able to reach Guam, but they can also make the rest of the US bases "famous". And even on the North American mainland.
    The Americans are haunted by their megalomania, the great carriers of their crap.
    Hike their tail was seriously pinched. Interestingly, the European grunts have the same opinion with the owner or hope to sit out in the event of a big nix?

Военное обозрение

На учениях с истребителями F-35 и F-16 на Гуаме США протестируют новую тактику против Китая

22

Северо-Западное поле на Гуаме



В последнее время США проявляют повышенное внимание к военно-воздушным базам на Тихом океане. Нет никаких сомнений, что причина тому – растущая активность Китая в Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе. Вашингтону становится все труднее контролировать ситуацию в Юго-Восточной и Восточной Азии, поскольку мощь китайского оружия растет, и сегодня даже знаменитая военно-воздушная база США Андерсен на Гуаме уже уязвима для китайских баллистических ракет.

Реанимация аэродрома времен Второй мировой войны


В Пентагоне пришли к выводу о том, что американской авиации в Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе нужны новые базы. Ведь если аэродром на Гуаме будет выведен из строя, США не смогут обеспечивать присутствие в воздухе над Тихим океаном. Из этих соображений Пентагон приступил к расширению возможностей базирования авиации на островах Уэйк и Тиниан. Не исключено, что февральские учения 2021 года будут ставить своей целью, в том числе, и тестирование возможностей авиационных баз.

Самое интересное, что на предстоящих учениях американская авиация будет использовать Северо-западное поле – старый военный аэродром на острове Гуам, который был оборудован еще во время Второй мировой войны, но в 1949 году был закрыт. Впоследствии он использовался лишь для вспомогательных целей. Его реанимация в текущих условиях сама по себе очень интересна.

Брайан Эверстайн из журнала Air Force Magazine первым сообщил о том, что на Северо-Западном поле базы ВВС США Андерсен будут размещены самолеты-истребители F-35 с базы ВВС Эйлсон и F-16 с авиабазы Мисава. Именно на их основе США собираются отработать тактику пройти Китая на учениях.

Прежде на Северо-Западном поле базировались только вертолеты и транспортные самолеты Lockheed C-130 Hercules. Но быстро адаптировать поле для истребителей – довольно сложная задача, даже если учитывать большие финансовые и технические возможности американских военно-воздушных сил.

Тактика Agile Combat Employment


Тем не менее, в Пентагоне рассчитывают, что учения Cope North помогут отточить тактику Agile Combat Employment, которая заключается в меньшей предсказуемости развертывания авиации и в большей маневренности, достигаемой использованием небольших групп самолетов. В рамках данной тактики предполагается создание баз с минимальными эксплуатационными требованиями, а также обеспечение возможности быстрой передислокации, чтобы запутать противника и усложнить его планы по выстраиванию обороны и нападения.

Тайлер Роговэй из The Drive пишет, что перед началом учений в феврале 2021 года на аэродроме будет оборудована система аварийного торможения, позволяющая предотвратить нештатные ситуации с реактивными самолетами.

Помимо авиации, на Северо-западном поле базы ВВС Андерсен размещаются и другие важные военные объекты, включая ракетную батарею THAAD, которая защищает остров Гуам от баллистических ракет противника, и станции спутниковой связи. Однако на этом инфраструктура Северо-западного поля заканчивается: Роговэй обращает внимание на то, что на поле – минимум сооружений, обычных для военно-воздушных баз. Даже базовые ангары отсутствуют. Поэтому планы по использованию Северо-западного поля как ключевой базы для учений, по мнению аналитика, выглядят довольно амбициозными.

Но, с другой стороны, самолеты, участвующие в Cope North, получат возможность приземляться, заправляться, перевооружаться и взлетать в условиях, схожих с теми, если бы они действовали из удаленных и плохо оборудованных мест в условиях реальных боевых действий. Выполнение поставленных задач на удаленной взлетно-посадочной полосе, без многих важных компонентов обеспечения, позволит американской авиации отработать тактику действий с удаленных островов.

Таким образом, предстоящие учения на Тихом океане нельзя будет назвать заурядными маневрами. Они обещают преподнести американской авиации много интересных уроков, и если Пентагон сможет извлечь из них полезные выводы и переформатировать свои базы в Тихом океане в соответствии с требованиями времени, то его возможности в плане противостояния китайской угрозе значительно возрастут.
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
Twitter/PACAF, Википедия/USAAF
22 комментария
Объявление

Подписывайтесь на наш Телеграм-канал, регулярно дополнительные сведения о спецоперации на Украине, большое количество информации, видеоролики, то что не попадает на сайт: https://t.me/topwar_official

Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Бережливый
    Бережливый 28 января 2021 12:48
    +1
    Раньше были просто учения или маневры, а сейчас все тоже самое "повещается "преловыутым "Российской и китайской угрозам интересов сша " , как будто без такого словесной приписки военным сша денег на эти учения не дадут! !!!
    1. yehat2
      yehat2 28 января 2021 13:18
      0
      американцы уже настолько много всего натворили, что чувствуют себя обязанными объяснять многие свои действия. В прочем, эти комментарии абсолютно пусты.
      Точно так же они могут объяснять всё подготовкой к атаке марсиан.
  2. rotmistr60
    rotmistr60 28 января 2021 13:02
    +1
    сегодня даже знаменитая военно-воздушная база США Андерсен на Гуаме уже уязвима для китайских баллистических ракет.
    А так американцам хотелось, чтобы они могли достать всех, а их ни кто. Как гласит русская поговорка - "Не все коту масленица".
    1. OrangeBigg
      OrangeBigg 28 января 2021 13:14
      -4
      F-35 редкостное Г.
      .Пилоты американских истребителей начали жаловаться на очень серьёзные проблемы с управлением американским боевым самолётом пятого поколения F-35. Среди ключевых обстоятельств называются именно проблемы с системой управления этих самолётов – во время даже небоевых вылетов, фиксируются многочисленные проблемы с бортовыми компьютерами, что в случае реального воздушного боя практически гарантирует, что истребитель будет уничтожен противником.

      «Важнейшей проблемой сенсорных мониторов F-35 Lightning II является отсутствие обратной связи при работе с ними, особенно при перегрузках. Пилот уверяет, что примерно каждое пятое взаимодействие с сенсорным монитором приводит к ошибке», - сообщает российский информационный ресурс «Лента.ру».

      Подобная проблема проявляется на всех американских истребителях пятого поколения, причём, судя по всему, о данной проблеме американскому производителю хорошо известно, однако, её до сих пор не могут решить.

      https://avia.pro/news/piloty-f-35-massovo-zhaluyutsya-na-sboi-v-sistemah-upravleniya-istrebitelem
      1. kit88
        kit88 28 января 2021 14:58
        +9
        Обходили бы Вы стороной таких "авторитетов" как avia.pro и lenta.ru
        laughing
    2. Наган
      Наган 29 января 2021 02:26
      -1
      Цитата: rotmistr60
      сегодня даже знаменитая военно-воздушная база США Андерсен на Гуаме уже уязвима для китайских баллистических ракет.
      А так американцам хотелось, чтобы они могли достать всех, а их ни кто. Как гласит русская поговорка - "Не все коту масленица".
      Китайцы, если они не совсем дypные, должны понимать, что если они запустят ракеты по Гуаму, то долетят ли они до цели или нет, с учетом наличия ПРО морского базирования, это вопрос. А вот что ответка полетит не по каким-то островам, а по Пекину и Шанхаю, и долетит до цели, это не вопрос, а объективная реальность, коя и будет дана китайцам в ощущениях, независимо от результатов их удара или даже полного отсутствия таковых.
  3. Лорд Ситхов
    Лорд Ситхов 28 января 2021 13:06
    -2
    В Пентагоне пришли к выводу о том, что американской авиации в Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе нужны новые базы.


    Янки совсем с ума сошли wassat

    Ну давайте. Распыляйте силы.
    Тратьте деньги и ресурсы.
    1. Petro_tut
      Petro_tut 28 января 2021 21:53
      0
      Расчехлят старые японские базы которые были на Карролинских Маршаловых и Марианских островах и получат минимум еще пять аэродромов request
      1. Лорд Ситхов
        Лорд Ситхов 28 января 2021 22:07
        0
        Осталось только денюжки на это найти)))
  4. rocket757
    rocket757 28 января 2021 13:12
    0
    если Пентагон сможет извлечь из них полезные выводы и переформатировать свои базы в Тихом океане в соответствии с требованиями времени, то его возможности в плане противостояния китайской угрозе значительно возрастут

    Всегда это ЕСЛИ или НО!
  5. askort154
    askort154 28 января 2021 13:17
    +1
    Бережливый.. ...как будто без такого словесной приписки военным сша денег на эти учения не дадут! !!

    А второе - нужно постоянно озвучивать имя врага. Это конкретизирует ситуацию, не только для международного потребителя, но и для внутреннего в США. Сейчас у них раскол и "бардачок", а лучший метод его приостановить - найти внешнего врага, подключить все СМИ, чтобы народ забыл про свои распри, и объединился. hi
  6. pytar
    pytar 28 января 2021 13:20
    +1
    Интересная картинка рисуется! Во второй мировой Тихий океан с эго атолый был поле битвой между США и Японии! Шась превращается в поле битвой между США и Китаем!
    Это прекраснейшие райские места!



    1. Ros 56
      Ros 56 28 января 2021 14:58
      0
      Это в смысле, одна ракета и все в раю?
      1. pytar
        pytar 28 января 2021 15:15
        +1
        Это в смысле, одна ракета и все в раю?

        Нууу... если верим ВВП, не все! laughing А вот некоторые еще при жизни и давно обустоились на эти обалденно красивые места! Непатриотично, но приятненко! wink
  7. Кonstanty
    Кonstanty 28 января 2021 13:20
    -2
    Делает ли расстояние между Гуамом и Китаем крайне непрактичным использование самолетов F-16 и F-35 по отношению к Китаю?
    Сколько летающих танкеров придется использовать?
  8. Bradley
    Bradley 28 января 2021 14:05
    +2
    Учения всегда проводятся против конкретного врага, будь то Россия, Китай или кто-нибудь еще. Просто Штаты не пытаются это завуалировать, только и всего.
    Учения без конкретики не более чем фарс, которые сами по себе никакого толку не дают. Так что не стоит удивляться, что проводятся учения против вероятного врага.
  9. APASUS
    APASUS 28 января 2021 14:20
    0
    Так понимаю это будут первые цели Китая ,в случае конфликта ?Что то вроде второго Перл Харбор. Американцам как раз нужна провокация и они тщательно ее выстраивают.
    1. Комментарий был удален.
    2. pytar
      pytar 28 января 2021 15:33
      0
      Так понимаю это будут первые цели Китая ,в случае конфликта ?Что то вроде второго Перл Харбор. Американцам как раз нужна провокация и они тщательно ее выстраивают.


      Ага, вот шась забросаются с термоядерные заряды! laughing Фоеверк устроят!



      Там не дураки сидят! Ни Китаем, ни США не тянет к суицида! no
      1. APASUS
        APASUS 28 января 2021 16:42
        0
        Цитата: pytar
        Там не дураки сидят! Ни Китаем, ни США не тянет к суицида!

        Никакого суицида.Просто американцам нужна причина для более жестких манипуляций с санкциями и прочими действиями.Потопят китайцы корабль или самолет собьют ,американцам только этого и надо.
    3. антивирус
      антивирус 28 января 2021 21:11
      0
      первыми должны быть Тайвань, Окинава. потом ..и Филиппины?слишком много
      на побережье китайцев живет-работает.
  10. Ros 56
    Ros 56 28 января 2021 14:56
    +2
    Полосатые хотят вспомнить 40-е годы когда они с японцами месились? Так сейчас не те времена, одна ракета-бомба и нет острова, а с ним и аэродрома и всех, кто там был. Как то так.
  11. kventinasd
    kventinasd 28 января 2021 20:03
    +2
    поскольку мощь китайского оружия растет, и сегодня даже знаменитая военно-воздушная база США Андерсен на Гуаме уже уязвима для китайских баллистических ракет.

    Думаю китайцы не только до Гуама смогут достать, а могут сделать "знаменитыми" и остальные базы США. И даже на североамериканском материке.
    Американцам всё покоя не даёт их мания-величия великих переносчиков своей дерьмократии.
    Походу им хвост серьёзно прищемили. Интересно, европейские подхрюкиватели одного мнения с хозяином или надеются отсидется в случае большого шухера?