Military Review

Foggy Albion armor: the history of tank building in England

16

On July 28, 1914, one of the largest-scale armed conflicts began in stories Humanity - World War I. To turn the tide of battles, the participating countries constantly invent new means of destroying the enemy. In these years, flamethrowers, poisonous gases, appeared, the first fighter planes took off. And it was then that Great Britain brought the first Tanks Mark I.


Sir Ernest Swinton is considered one of the creators of the Mark I heavy tank. Thanks to the support of Winston Churchill, the ideas of the engineer were able to be embodied in metal. On September 15, 1916, about 30 British tanks attacked the German positions and were able to break through the defenses. The British gained a tactical advantage, but most importantly, they were convinced of the effectiveness of their invention. By the end of the war, Britain was already producing cars of all classes - heavy Marks, light Whippets, and medium Mk. B and Mk. C.

A quarter of a century later, tanks became the main force of most land armies. The largest European powers constantly improved the designs of their combat vehicles and developed doctrines for their correct use in battle. The British command, in turn, adhered to a clear plan for the release of breakthrough tanks, infantry and cruising equipment.

The Achilles' heel of British vehicles (especially cruising ones) was the low reliability of the engine-transmission group. Improvement work was carried out constantly. A breakthrough for British tank building was the Rolls-Royce Meteor engine, which was installed on the new Cromwell tank. The car accelerated to 60 km / h, and the 75-mm gun seemed to be able to solve most of the tasks. However, by this time, the Germans were already armed with Tigers and Panthers, which were much more effective than British equipment.

Only after the end of the war did Britain acquire a tank that met the requirements of the time - the Centurion. The vehicle had good armor slope angles and a 76mm cannon, which was later replaced by the 105mm L7 rifled cannon. Centurion was in service with the British army until the 70s of the XX century.

After the victory over the Nazi bloc, relations between the countries of the anti-Hitler coalition quickly deteriorated. Perceiving the USSR as a potential enemy, the British developed special heavy tanks Caernarvon and Conqueror. In theory, they could give battle to such a formidable enemy as the IS-3. However, after the production of about 180 machines, work was curtailed.

For more details on the history of British tank building, see the video from the creators of the famous game World of Tanks.

16 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. martin-159
    martin-159 2 February 2021 06: 25
    +10
    Eight-year-old YouTube video.
    1. Aerodrome
      Aerodrome 3 February 2021 08: 09
      -2
      what have pounced on? do better ... "everyone imagines himself a strategist, seeing the battle from the side ...". and the picture has already saved the class.
  2. Konnick
    Konnick 2 February 2021 06: 36
    +13
    It is bad manners to use the World of Tanks resource as a source of knowledge. And the Cromwell tank originally had a 57 mm cannon, then a 75 mm gun, and then a howitzer was installed.
    1. Catfish
      Catfish 2 February 2021 06: 55
      +7
      About bad manners, I completely agree. good
      1. The leader of the Redskins
        The leader of the Redskins 2 February 2021 08: 40
        +5
        And the description "from the fifth to the tenth." If you analyze the tank building of Great Britain, then there are many samples with different solutions (the same "tetrarch"). The name also does not match. The "armor" includes armored vehicles and armored personnel carriers.
        1. Petrik66
          Petrik66 2 February 2021 15: 59
          +6
          and also Vickers who became the basis for the tanks of half the world
        2. Catfish
          Catfish 2 February 2021 18: 12
          +4
          True, and the British wheeled armored cars were traditionally good.
    2. antivirus
      antivirus 2 February 2021 17: 16
      -1
      how everything started - the anonymous authors of the site were offended - they let me watch the old video
      and "12chairs" does not get old?
  3. Torins
    Torins 2 February 2021 07: 02
    +10
    Not tired of publishing other people's videos?
    1. The leader of the Redskins
      The leader of the Redskins 2 February 2021 08: 41
      +5
      Here is another nuance - publish who owns, start to write "advertises itself." Another thing is, you can and should upload fresh programs, interesting!
  4. The comment was deleted.
  5. The comment was deleted.
  6. iouris
    iouris 2 February 2021 11: 51
    0
    It's not so hazy.
    1. Gato
      Gato 3 February 2021 21: 14
      +1
      It's not so hazy

      Yes. And not so Albion. And the tanks aren't that scary laughing
  7. Vinnibuh
    Vinnibuh 2 February 2021 15: 55
    +2
    Strictly speaking, what is the article about?
    1. Catfish
      Catfish 2 February 2021 18: 14
      +3
      About "tanks". laughing
  8. SaLaR
    SaLaR 2 February 2021 16: 00
    +3
    TOG II rules bully
  9. Gato
    Gato 3 February 2021 21: 20
    0
    However, by this time, the Germans already had Tigers and Panthers in service, which were much more effective than British equipment.

Военное обозрение

Броня туманного Альбиона: история танкостроения Англии

16

28 июля 1914 года начался один из самых широкомасштабных вооруженных конфликтов в истории человечества — Первая мировая война. Чтобы переломить ход сражений, страны-участники постоянно изобретали новые средства уничтожения противника. В эти годы появились огнеметы, отравляющие газы, взлетели первые самолеты-истребители. И именно тогда Великобритания вывела на поле боя первые танки Mark I.


Одним из создателей тяжелого танка Mark I считается сэр Эрнест Суинтон. Благодаря поддержке Уинстона Черчилля идеи инженера смогли воплотиться в металле. 15 сентября 1916 года около 30 британских танков пошли в атаку на германские позиции и смогли проломить оборону. Англичане получили тактическое преимущество, но самое главное — убедились в эффективности своего изобретения. К концу войны в Британии уже выпускали машины всех классов — тяжелые Марки, легкие Уиппеты, а также средние Mk. B и Mk. C.

Спустя четверть века танки стали главной силой большинства сухопутных армий. Крупнейшие европейские державы постоянно совершенствовали конструкции своих боевых машин и разрабатывали доктрины их правильного применения в бою. Английское командование, в свою очередь, придерживалось четкого плана по выпуску танков прорыва, пехотной и крейсерской техники.

Ахиллесовой пятой британских машин (особенно крейсерских) были низкие показатели надежности моторно-трансмиссионной группы. Работы по ее улучшению велись постоянно. Прорывом для британского танкостроения стал двигатель Rolls-Royce Meteor, который установили на новый танк Cromwell. Машина разгонялась до 60 км/ч, а 75-миллиметровое орудие, казалось, могло решить большинство поставленных задач. Однако к этому моменту у немцев на вооружении уже стояли Тигры и Пантеры, которые были намного эффективнее британской техники.

Лишь после окончания войны у Британии появился танк, отвечающий требованиям времени, — Centurion. У машины были неплохие углы наклона брони и 76-миллиметровое орудие, которое позже заменили 105-миллиметровой нарезной пушкой L7. Centurion находился на вооружении британской армии до 70-х годов XX века.

После победы над нацистским блоком отношения между странами антигитлеровской коалиции быстро ухудшились. Воспринимая СССР как потенциального противника, англичане разработали специальные тяжелые танки Caernarvon и Conqueror. В теории они могли дать бой такому грозному противнику как ИС-3. Однако после производства около 180 машин работы свернули.

Больше подробностей об истории британского танкостроения смотрите в видео от создателей знаменитой игры World of Tanks.

16 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. martin-159
    martin-159 2 февраля 2021 06:25
    +10
    Восьмилетний ролик из ютуба.
    1. Аэродромный
      Аэродромный 3 февраля 2021 08:09
      -2
      чё набросились то ? сделайте лучше..."всякий мнит себя стратегом,видя бой со стороны...". а картинка класс аж сохранил.
  2. Konnick
    Konnick 2 февраля 2021 06:36
    +13
    Это моветон использовать в качестве источника знаний ресурс World of Tanks. И у танка Кромвель была изначально 57 мм пушка, затем 75 мм , а потом и гаубицу ставили.
    1. Морской Кот
      Морской Кот 2 февраля 2021 06:55
      +7
      По поводу моветона полностью согласен. good
      1. Вождь краснокожих
        Вождь краснокожих 2 февраля 2021 08:40
        +5
        Да и описание "с пятого на десятое". Если разбирать танкостроение Великобритании, то там много образцов с различными решениями ( тот же "тетрарх"). Название, также, не соответствует. К " броне" относятся бронеавтомобили и БТР.
        1. Petrik66
          Petrik66 2 февраля 2021 15:59
          +6
          а еще Викерс который стал основой для танков половины мира
        2. Морской Кот
          Морской Кот 2 февраля 2021 18:12
          +4
          Верно, а колёсные броневики у англичан были традиционно хороши.
    2. антивирус
      антивирус 2 февраля 2021 17:16
      -1
      как все запущено --обидели анонимные авторы сайта --дали посмотреть старый ролик.
      а "12стульев" не стареет?
  3. Torins
    Torins 2 февраля 2021 07:02
    +10
    Не надоело ещё чужие видео публиковать?
    1. Вождь краснокожих
      Вождь краснокожих 2 февраля 2021 08:41
      +5
      Тут другой ньюанс - опубликуй кто свое, начнут писать "себя рекламирует". Иное дело, можно и нужно выкладывать свежие программы, интересные!
  4. Комментарий был удален.
  5. Комментарий был удален.
  6. iouris
    iouris 2 февраля 2021 11:51
    0
    Не такой уж он туманный.
    1. Gato
      Gato 3 февраля 2021 21:14
      +1
      Не такой уж он туманный

      Да. И не такой уж Альбион. И танки не такие уж страшные laughing
  7. Vinnibuh
    Vinnibuh 2 февраля 2021 15:55
    +2
    Собстно говоря, об чем статья?
    1. Морской Кот
      Морской Кот 2 февраля 2021 18:14
      +3
      О "танчиках". laughing
  8. SaLaR
    SaLaR 2 февраля 2021 16:00
    +3
    TOG II рулит bully
  9. Gato
    Gato 3 февраля 2021 21:20
    0
    Однако к этому моменту у немцев на вооружении уже стояли Тигры и Пантеры, которые были намного эффективнее британской техники