Military Review

American prototype assault tank T14

12
England-US Collaboration on Exchange of Ideas in the Field tank Politics, as well as the development of requirements for tank weapons, began in June 1940, when a British tank mission arrived in the United States to select tanks for the army. The first result of this collaboration is the order of the M3 Grant medium tanks. M3 - a modified tank in accordance with the requirements of the UK. The head of the ATC, Major General C. M. Wesson, sent an American mission to the UK in September 1941 to obtain first-hand information about the combat use of the tank, the British assessment of American weapons, as well as their views and requirements for future vehicles. Among the ideas discussed was the idea of ​​a tank with heavy armor and a larger caliber gun, the need for which at that time was felt by the British armed forces in connection with the experience of fighting in the Western desert with German troops. (Due to such reasoning and because of disappointment in the first modifications of the Churchill tank, the British started developing the A27L (Centaur) heavy tank. Modifications to this project soon led to the creation of the A33 assault tank - a possible replacement for Churchill.)

American prototype assault tank T14


This British view in September 1941 found understanding among the American artillery and technical services, which at the time was developing the heavy M6 and advocated the need for heavy tanks for the US Army. In December, the 1941 of the year the artillery and technical service began a study of an assault heavy tank that met the British requirements and included some design solutions similar to the Т1 (М6) and the medium М4 tank, in order to use the units and components of the latter. The tank was to be armed with an 75-mm M3 cannon with the possibility of replacing it with the British 6-pound (caliber 57 mm) cannon. Maximum armor thickness from 75 to 100 millimeters. It was planned to use a tank Ford and then replace it with a more powerful one.

In the US, in March 1942, a new tank mission from the UK arrived mainly to solve supply problems, but the possibility of building an American assault tank T14 in the United States for the UK was also considered. With the PBX, an agreement was reached on the supply of 8,5 thousand machines, after which a detailed study of the project began. Two prototypes built in the 1943 year, but tests have shown the need to refine the suspension and tracks. In 1944, one of the tanks for tests and modifications was sent to the UK, but by that time in British tank policy priorities had changed in favor of using cruiser tanks with strong weapons. As heavy infantry tanks, it was decided to retain the modified Churchill. Thus, British interest in T14 disappeared. In December, 1944, the PBX stopped the project refinement. The tank never reached the production stage.

The assembled T14 tank had a transmission similar to the M4 tank and the standard Ford tank engine. But to reduce the maximum speed reduced gear ratio. In general, the armament repeated the M4, and the tracks and suspension were taken from the M6.

Specifications experienced assault tank T14:
Combat weight - 38102 kg;
Crew - 5 man;
Dimensions:
Length - 6197 mm;
Width - 2773 mm;
Height - mm 3128;
Armament;
Gun - M3 caliber 75 mm,
Machine guns - Browning calibers 7,62 mm and 12,7 mm;
Reservations - from 19 to 133 mm;
Engine - carburetor, 8-cylinder, V-shaped, Ford GAZ, power 520 hp;
Chassis single-sided - 8 interlocked pairwise supporting rollers, 4 supporting rollers, front drive wheel;
Maximum speed - 22 km \ h;
Cruising on the highway - 160 km;
Obstacle obstacles:
Wall height - 0,62 m;
The width of the moat - 2,70 m;
Wade depth - 0,90 m.
12 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Kars
    Kars 28 August 2012 10: 54
    +5
    never reached the production stage.



    But then the American soldiers mastered the profession of welders and collectors of scrap metal.
    1. igor67
      igor67 28 August 2012 15: 18
      +2
      Kars,
      ne po ceme. Andrei, not a lot off topic, but I know this is your favorite car, I once uploaded the pictures, but yesterday on the occasion I shot a video, though it didn’t work out very well
      1. Kars
        Kars 28 August 2012 15: 38
        0
        Thank you so much. If you get it, take a photo or video of the Israeli Super Sherman with a 105 mm gun.
        1. igor67
          igor67 28 August 2012 15: 41
          0
          I think I’ll take pictures for the occasion, and again I have a question on our cars, how tall were they expected, barely fit the driver’s seat was folded?
          1. Kars
            Kars 28 August 2012 15: 44
            0
            Quote: igor67
            how much growth they expected

            Well, we have the acceleration of the population.
            And so there was a joke about German submarines --- they joked that when they were designed, the designers forgot to say about the crew. I think about the same.
            1. igor67
              igor67 28 August 2012 15: 50
              +1
              do not you know . how to put a few pictures in a row. not something new every time
              1. Kars
                Kars 28 August 2012 15: 52
                0
                I torture HF 2. I will choose or make a supermerman or Centurion Shot.
                He wants something from the Arab-Israeli one. And so there are Merkava 2 and 3. I will wait with the four for now with all the stuffing done.
          2. igor67
            igor67 28 August 2012 22: 16
            +1
            frozen cars
    2. igor67
      igor67 28 August 2012 15: 54
      0
      back view..
      1. Kars
        Kars 28 August 2012 15: 56
        +1
        A sign to translate?
        1. igor67
          igor67 28 August 2012 16: 09
          +1
          Attention. Climbing onto the tank is dangerous.Kars,
          I like Centurion Shot. I like a child to get on it. These are the levers of a Shot driver
    3. igor67
      igor67 28 August 2012 16: 24
      +1
      Kars,
      do centurion shot. beautiful machine. still English
  2. Northerner
    Northerner 28 August 2012 11: 21
    0
    So, people make a monster out of iron and think that it is an invincible and invulnerable tank, and here more intelligent people appear, discover the cumulative effect and come up with the great-great-grandfather of the RPG and away we go!
    1. Kars
      Kars 28 August 2012 11: 30
      +1
      Quote: Northerner
      smarter people discover cumulative effect

      For every sage, quite simplicity.
  3. kotdavin4i
    kotdavin4i 28 August 2012 11: 27
    +1
    To start the war, booking a 100 mm and 75 mm gun was good ... it’s a pity they didn’t.
  4. AlexMH
    AlexMH 28 August 2012 12: 16
    +1
    The end of 41 is not the beginning of the war. The Germans at this time began to design a "tiger". The requirements for the tank, especially in terms of weapons, indicate a complete lack of understanding by the Americans of the development trends of armored vehicles. If our KV was developed with a 76 mm cannon in 39-40, and even then it was clear that this was not enough, then at the beginning of 42 a heavy tank with a gun, which is rather weak for the average, was perceived as an anachronism of the mid-30s.
  5. Andrei
    Andrei 28 August 2012 15: 40
    0
    AlexMH,
    in general, I agree with you, but this is not surprising ... the Americans did not pay as much attention to tanks before the war as, for example, the USSR, respectively, they had almost no design experience, but they had highly qualified workers and the necessary power + they did not have so many the commanders of the early ripeners, like ours, paid more attention to the training of crews, so that the design flaws and imperfections of the structures, even if they did not always meet the requirements of the time, were compensated by the quality of the manufacture of armored vehicles and the training of crews, but with us it was the opposite. Everything comes with experience and it also came to them over time.
  6. White Brut
    White Brut 5 September 2012 17: 55
    0
    T-34 drives !!!

Американский опытный штурмовой танк T14

Сотрудничество Англии и США в отношении обмена идеями в области танковой политики, а также выработки требований к танковому вооружению началась в июне 1940 года, когда в Соединенные Штаты прибыла британская танковая миссия чтобы выбрать танки для армии. Первый результат данного сотрудничества – заказ средних танков М3 «Grant». М3 – модифицированный танк в соответствии с требованиями Великобритании. Начальник АТС, генерал-майор Ч. М. Вессон, в сентябре 1941 года направил в Великобританию американскую миссию для получения из первых рук информации о боевом применении танка, британской оценки американского вооружения, а также их взглядов и требований к будущим машинам. Среди обсуждавшихся идей была и мысль о танке с тяжелым бронированием и орудием большего калибра, потребность в котором в то время испытывали английские вооруженные силы в связи с опытом боев в Западной пустыне с германскими войсками. (Благодаря таким рассуждениям и из-за разочарования в первых модификациях танка «Churchill» англичане начали разработку тяжелого танка A27L («Centaur»). Видоизменения данного проекта вскоре привели к созданию штурмового танка А33 – возможная замена «Churchill»).

Американский опытный штурмовой танк T14


Этот британский взгляд в сентябре 1941 года нашел понимание у американской артиллерийско-технической службы, которая вела в то время разработку тяжелого М6 и защищала идею необходимости для Армии США тяжелых танков. В декабре 1941 года артиллерийско-техническая служба начала исследование штурмового тяжелого танка, который соответствовал британским требованиям и включал некоторые конструктивные решения, аналогичного Т1 (М6) и среднего танка М4, с целью использовать агрегаты и узлы последнего. Танк должен был вооружаться 75-миллиметровой пушкой М3 с возможностью ее замены британской 6-фунтовой (калибр 57 мм) пушкой. Максимальная толщина брони от 75 до 100 миллиметров. Планировалось использовать танковый Ford с последующей заменой на более мощный.


В США в марте 1942 года прибыла новая танковая миссия из Великобритании в основном, чтобы разрешить проблемы поставок, однако также рассматривалась возможность постройки в США для Великобритании штурмового танка Т14 американской разработки. С АТС была достигнута договоренность на поставку 8,5 тыс. машин, после чего началась детальная проработка проекта. Две опытные машины построили в 1943 году, однако испытания показали необходимость доработки подвески и гусениц. В 1944 году один из танков для испытаний и доработок направили в Великобританию, однако к тому времени в британской танковой политике приоритеты изменились в пользу использования крейсерских танков с сильным вооружением. В качестве тяжелых пехотных танков решили сохранить доработанный «Churchill». Таким образом, к Т14 британский интерес пропал. В декабре 1944 года АТС прекратила доработку проекта. Танк так и не достиг стадии производства.

У собранного танка Т14 имелась трансмиссия, аналогичная танку М4 и стандартный танковый мотор Ford. Но для снижения максимальной скорости уменьшили передаточное число. В целом вооружение повторяло М4, а гусеницы и подвеску взяли от М6.

Технические характеристики опытного штурмового танка T14:
Боевая масса - 38102 кг;
Экипаж – 5 человек;
Габаритные размеры:
Длина – 6197 мм;
Ширина – 2773 мм;
Высота – 3128 мм;
Вооружение;
Пушка – М3 калибра 75 мм,
Пулеметы – Browning калибров 7,62 мм и 12,7 мм;
Бронирование – от 19 до 133 мм;
Двигатель - карбюраторный, 8-цилиндровый, V-образный, Ford GAZ, мощность 520 л.с.;
Ходовая часть одного борта – 8 сблокированных попарно опорных катков, 4 поддерживающих ролика, ведущее колесо переднее;
Максимальная скорость – 22 км\ч;
Запас хода по шоссе – 160 км;
Преодолеваемые препятствия:
Высота стенки – 0,62 м;
Ширина рва – 2,70 м;
Глубина брода – 0,90 м.


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 12
  1. Kars 28 августа 2012 10:54
    так и не достиг стадии производства.



    Зато потом американские солдаты осваивали профессии сварщиков и собирателей металолома.
    1. igor67 28 августа 2012 15:18
      Kars,
      ne po ceme. Андрей, не много не по теме,но знаю это твоя любимая машина, я когдато выложил снимки ,а вот вчера по случаю снял на видео, правда не очень получилосьи
      1. Kars 28 августа 2012 15:38
        Огромное спасибо.Если получитса сделай фото или видео израильского Супершермана со 105 мм пушкой.
        1. igor67 28 августа 2012 15:41
          Снимки кажется есть видео сделаю по случаю, и опять же у меня вопрос по нашим машинам на какой рост их рассчитывали , еле влез хороше сидение водителя было сложено?
          1. Kars 28 августа 2012 15:44
            Цитата: igor67
            на какой рост их рассчитывали

            Ну у нас налицо акселерация населения.
            А так была шутка про немецкие подлодки---шутили что при их проэктровании конструкторам забыли сказать про экипаж.Тут думаю примерно тоже.
            1. igor67 28 августа 2012 15:50
              не знаешь . как выложить несколько снимков подряд. а не что б каждый раз по новому
              1. Kars 28 августа 2012 15:52
                Домучаю КВ 2.Буду выбирать или делать супершерман или Центурион ШОТ.
                Хочетса что то из арабо -израильских.А так есть Меркава 2 и 3.с четверкой подожду пока уже со всем фаршем сделают.
          2. igor67 28 августа 2012 22:16
            замерли машины
    2. igor67 28 августа 2012 15:54
      вид с зади..
      1. Kars 28 августа 2012 15:56
        А табличку перевести?
        1. igor67 28 августа 2012 16:09
          внимание.залезать на танк опасно.Kars,
          мне нравится Центурион ШОТ.я как ребенок по нему лажу.это рычаги водителя ШОТа
    3. igor67 28 августа 2012 16:24
      Kars,
      делай центурион шот.прекрасная машина.все таки англичане
  2. Северянин 28 августа 2012 11:21
    Вот так, люди делают монстра из железа и думают, что это непобедимый и неуязвимый танк, а тут появляются более умные люди открывают Кумулятивный эффект и придумывают прапрадедушку РПГ и понеслось!
    1. Kars 28 августа 2012 11:30
      Цитата: Северянин
      более умные люди открывают Кумулятивный эффект

      На каждого мудреца,довольно простоты.
  3. kotdavin4i 28 августа 2012 11:27
    Для начала войны бронирование в 100 мм и 75 мм пушка было хорошо... жаль что не довели.
  4. AlexMH 28 августа 2012 12:16
    Конец 41 года - это не начало войны. Немцы в это время начали "тигр" проектировать. Требования к танку, особенно в части вооружения, свидетельствуют о полном непонимании американцами тенденций развития бронетанковой техники. Если у нас КВ был разработан с 76 мм пушкой в 39-40 году, и уже тогда было ясно, что этого недостаточно, то в начале 42 года тяжелый танк с орудием, которое слабовато и для среднего, воспринимается как анахронизм середины 30-х
    AlexMH
  5. Андрей 28 августа 2012 15:40
    AlexMH,
    в целом согласен с вами но в этом нет ничего удивительного ... американцы танкам до войны не уделяли столь большого внимания как например СССР соответственно опыта проектирования у них почти не было зато у них были высококвалифицированные рабочие и необходимые мощности + у них не было такого количества командиров "скороспелок " как у нас и вопросам подготовки экипажей уделялось больше внимания так что конструктивные недостатки и несовершенства конструкций пусть даже не всегда отвечающие требованиям времени слихвой компенсировалось качеством изготовления бронемашин и подготовки экипажей а у нас было всё наоборот . Всё приходит с опытом и к ним тоже со временем пришло .
  6. Brut 5 сентября 2012 17:55
    Т-34 рулит!!!
    Brut

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня